Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marygrove College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    marygrove college is one of the most safest campus in the usa. look into for yourself.....

    Greek Life

    greek life is all good!!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    you determine what you want to do and just do it. marygrove will allow you to create your own organization.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great if you like the small town feel. if you are looking for endless entertainment options and a class size of well over 100 then this is not the place for you. your professors will know you, and they will notice you, you are not just a face in the crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    marygrove college will provide an atmosphere of learning and individual spiritual development that reaches into the larger community.

    What to do for fun

    because marygrove college is in the heart of detroit mi, there is never a dull moment. if you don't want to stay on campus detroit offers alot of culture entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    a delightful eating experience.

    Academic Rigor

    marygrove college will challenge its students to go beyond academic excellence, to be reflective, to be committed to the service of personal faith and the promotion of justice-:

    Tips for prospective students

    explore all the opportunities that marygrove offers to help you obtain your degree.

    In three sentences

    marygrove college is an amazing institution it has a lot to offer right in the heart of detroit, mi. the staff is helpful and friendly. marygrove offers a lot of support to its students to make sure they have a successful educational experience.

  • 05/24/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    don't understand

    Will enjoy being here

    yes, i enjoy being around music

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is good.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of sororities and fraternities to become a part of as well as, other organizations such as, the national association of black social workers, which i am considering becoming an active member.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good in the cafeteria and there are other food sources within the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    people who are diligently seeking a higher education, should consider attending marygrove. the classes are small, which allows students to have a more better relationship with professors as well as, other students. the college itself, is more of a city within a city and it's a great environment to learn.

    In three sentences

    marygrove college is an excellent school. i am learning so incredibly much and i am enjoying every moment of it. i look forward to going to school everyday.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get familiar with the history. Marygrove has so mush to offer it's students on just about every subject. Open up and go explore what it is Marygrove offers.

    In three sentences

    Marygrove is welcoming warm and forever friendly. The small campus calls for complete attention from professors and focused learning. Great place of study!

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police literally swarm the campus, and they are always around when you need help with just about anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've personally never joined any, but as previously stated, there are many of different ypes to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    I recommend this school for student in the Detroit area looking for a fun, reliable school that doesn't require a ridiculous amount of money to start. It's also great for freshman students, and those that need the interactive relationships with their professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't really know of too many of these....

    Bang for the buck

    Marygrove isn't as costly as most colleges, and offers a rich learning and schooling opportunity. I recommend it for those who may be working with a budget.

    What to do for fun

    Marygrove has quite a few sororities/fraternities, and extra-curricular activities to choose from, which can make finding the perfect one very easy.

    Food and Dining

    Marygrove has a variety of small eateries, similar to vendors or vending machines, but I've never really eaten their food. However, there are many fast food places around to feed yourself if you're hungry.

    Dorm Life

    I personally live at home, so I've never experienced life on campus.. at least not yet.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are small, perfect for that one on one attention that some students require. The teachers, for the most part know exactly what they're talking about, and make it very easy to get the information you need and take notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although being nervous is natural, it isn't really necessary at this school. This very easy to get the swing of things, and even easier too fit in and carve your niche. Just enjoy the experience.

    In three sentences

    A very intriguing and simple college to get the hang of. The classes are thorough, yet cozy and the school itself is easy to navigate. This college is perfect for those just beginning their college experience.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Try to attend everything that deals with the school and your major

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not listen to other students, find out information for yourself. Stay focused Be organized Be invovled

    In three sentences

    I like Marygrove because of the small classrooms and campus. The Professors are well informed about education in the social work field. I like Marygrove because they are up to date with technology.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn and achieve in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everyone pray's together (all kind of religions) and picnic together we fellowship anyway possible.

    Bang for the buck

    Just know that you must stay focused on the prize yourself, understand that help is available if you need it, they want to see you succeed so that others can follow your lead.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with others

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food

    Dorm Life

    Don't stay in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will make you learn they will involve you in the class room activities and trips and to be honest it's fun and well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay focused on what you want to do and ask questions if you don't know.

    In three sentences

    Marygrove is an exciting school to attend, the teachers are great and you have so many academics to choose from. Each student can actually have a one on one basis with their teachers and the teachers are at arms reach. The staff is friendly and don't mind lending a helping hand.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secure, there is campus safety always driving around somewhere.

    Greek Life

    Many

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and sororities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for younger and older students; there is a diverse population.

    What to do for fun

    There is sorority life. But you a in a metropolitan city., you can always find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria offers good food; watch it you will pack on the pounds; they do have a salad bar for a healthier option.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard, Hard and Hard. It is so worth it when you finish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students need to make sure to stay on top of studying and their financial aid; if you do not know ask questions. Follow this as a basic rule and you will do fine.

    In three sentences

    Marygrove prepares students for future studies. The professors are hard, but they are preparing you for the future. Students need to make sure to stay on top of studying and their financial aid; if you do not know ask questions. It is has a very diverse population just like the world we will work in.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study and write plenty of papers. Keep your a good gpa.

    In three sentences

    The admission process was easy. They offer great scholarship for freshman students with a gpa of 2.5 or higher. Class size is small, allowing for better one to one interaction.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The surrounding area is a bit sketchy

    Great for these types of students

    Reserved, very focused, older students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It takes 128 credits to graduate instead of the traditional 120

    What to do for fun

    There always clubs around and the downtown area is not far away.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you prefer quiet schools this is a good college definitely not a party school.

    In three sentences

    This College is small and quiet. Not very diverse. Good academics

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around making sure the students are safe and not letting anyone on campus that may cause harm.

    Greek Life

    When I first came to the school I did not expect to see as much Greek life as I did. If you want to be a part of a sorority or Fraternity there are plenty to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs students can join from cooking clubs, sports clubs, honors clubs, and many more. This school may be small, but they offer as many clubs as the big schools do.

    Bang for the buck

    With sports being added to the school a lot more things are being added onto the campus life like volleyball courts and basketball courts. The big thing about this school is that all the professors care and will take time out of their day to help you with what ever they can.

    What to do for fun

    Even thought the school is small they still have sports teams where you can go watch the soccer team mens and woman, basketball, volleyball, golf, cross country and track, as well as Lacrosse. On campus they have a nice work out center, sand volleyball court, basketball court, soccer field, and small golf course.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria as the school is very small, but the food is well prepared by always having different meal options each day. They always have healthy options to eat and choose from, and there is always hot sub line, pizza bar, and a salad bar each day if the meal of the day does not sound good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was pretty good and fun for the two years I lived there, but it was not the full university experience one would get if they went to Michigan State University or a bigger school. Overall the dorms were dorms where you met a lot of people and had your parties and still had fun things to during the day, as well as at night.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school is improving tremendously in all their majors that are taught. Their courses are all well taught, but there are always those classes where one wonders how the professor is actually teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    When going to school here make sure it is a small school you want to go to. Marygrove College is a small catholic school and not a big university where there is a lot of parties, but it is nice if you like the small class sizes where the professors actually care.

    In three sentences

    Very good school for one on one learning with professors who care. Marygrove has a well taught science program, as well as mathematics and nursing program. The campus is relaxing and enjoyable to be on everyday.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Marygrove College offers sports of various types which is very fun. It also host parties for the student to enjoy themselves and there are lots more activities there that you can partake in.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is exceptionally well. You get variety of different foods so you wont be forced to eat one type food. Meals are served 3 times per day and food is always hot and ready.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very fun, you meet a lot of people from different countries. You get to learn about different cultures, play alot of video games, basket ball court to play on, big screen television to watch anything of desired, pool table for pools and machine games too.

    Academic Rigor

    Marygrove College ensures every student receives the best education there possible. It provide.s courses of every kind that will help u in the future and The school academic Rigor helps you to do your best not just test you

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for a wild experience to meet and greet people from all over the world with different cultures and religion. You are ensured to receive an excellent education from the school and be prepared for a breath taking adventure with many different activities to do there.

    In three sentences

    marygrove college is a small school that has a strong program in majority of the common areas interested by students. It has very good professors that will guide you through every step of the way. It also

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always present a Marygrove 24/7. I have never had an incident where I have felt afraid or threatened going to the library in the evenings or at night. They control campus safety very well.

    Greek Life

    Not a Greek yet, but I see them on campus. They very are helpful to the student body and like to do a lot of volunteer activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are excellent opportunities to join Soroities and Fraternities here. They really believe in helping the students, and I want to join where I received the most help to give back to other upcoming students.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in teaching, the Marygrove professors offer the challenge. I look forward to each semester now because it places me that much closer to my goal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions. Marygrove College is a very small campus compared to other larger universities.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a return student at Marygrove College. At 47 I am finally at the point of completing my educational journey. I would tell anyone that it is never too late, and don't give up on your dreams. The mental rewards for my journey have been priceless to my self-esteem and my family life. Although I have been told that I am totally out of student loan funding, I am trying with everything in me to tal into scholarships to complete my journey with the 28 credit hours I need to get it done. Never give up, the bottom is full!

    What to do for fun

    I like to attend their English Symposims where we get a chance to meet new authors. I also like the annual poetry nights where students get up and perform their unique poems they've written. It is so much fun!

    Food and Dining

    Not a dorm student so I rarely go to the cafeteria. I have not heard anyone complaining about the food. I guess students are satisfied with it.

    Dorm Life

    Not a dorm student, but the ones I see on campus appear to enjoy it. They have an age limit on living in the dorm. Most of the occupants are young adults.

    Academic Rigor

    Marygrove's English professors have challenged me to do my best writing. I often have friends that have there Master Degree coming to me to proff their writing. They have that much confidence in me because they too see the results of what Marygrove College has taught me.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Marygrove College, it may seem a little tough in the beginning. By all means, hang in there because you will experience the growth process over the continued semesters. You too will feel the rush after you experience the educational growth Marygrove College can offer a persistant student.

    In three sentences

    Marygrove College is a great Liberal Arts college if you plan to become a teacher. The educational experience I have gained her has changed my life for the positve. I feel that I am able to compete against any college student at my level, and my self-confidence has soared.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Allot of us get together and plays pool, ping pong, and air hockey. Or have movie night in someones room and they also have game night we all get together and try to make it fun for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Well the food I dont eat a lot of meat so the meatless pasta helps me a great deal. Everything is good, onlky a few problems. The time the kitchen are open and close, also the time they lock up the doors so you are not allowed to go to the music department and thats abouit it.

    Dorm Life

    Marygrove College has made a wonderful come back for me, they have made it for everyone to feel at home, from the game room to the dorm rooms. It's just amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Truely not that bad, I can deal with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Familiarize yourself with the class you want to take and there timing Review the outlines for that class before picking Try to meet professors before starting Get alot of studying done

    In three sentences

    Marygrove College offers so many great majors and try there best to make it for everyone. The class sizes is very helpful, and is able to give you the help you need. Also offer something from each person culture and tries to make them feel at home and others to learn more about other places.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a convent of nuns that live on Marygrove campus. Also there is a web of tunnels under the school that we call the underworld .

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus: golf, soccer, volleyball, basketball, dance and cheerleading.

    Food and Dining

    with a full line of talented chefs the food here is excellent. They also take personal care of those with food allergies.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is full of great professors who all have real world experience in there fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn. It may not be a large school but its academics are top notch. look at Marygrove for its success and not its location

    In three sentences

    Marygrove Perfect for all types of students with resources to fit all needs. At Marygrove diversity is a key element to our success. It is simply the place to be .

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Love campus, and professors, amazing atmosphere!!!