Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marylhurst University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not waste your time or money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Due to the incompetence of the counselors at marylhurst university I am missing my graduation date and have to take extra credits that I was not aware of. I spent half a year talking to my counselor who told me I had a certain amount of credits just to find out during the last term that she has been wrong this entire time and I will not be graduating. During the last month, I even sent numerous emails to the counselor saying that I think I need more credits then she was saying. She responded, saying that I was wrong and she was right. Don’t waste your time and money on this diploma-mill. For how expensive this school is, one would think the counselors would know how to do their job.

  • 08/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    --You work full or part-time: they offer a wide variety of classes including evening, weekend, and online classes. --You have a family and need to take college at a slower pace: Marylhurst is not your typical, traditional university. They work with their students. Each student has to come up with a plan and timeline for finishing. --You want to save money on room and board: Marylhurst does not have any on-campus housing or dorms, so you are forced to live off-campus. Relatively cheap housing can be found in surrounding areas. --You are transferring from another school: Marylhurst accepts almost any type of transfer student. They have many options for prior earned credit and prior life experience you can get credit for to finish sooner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started right away on the application process. Sometimes it can take a couple months to process especially during busy times in the admissions office. Sign up for Explore Marylhurst.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is credit-based, so you pay per credit.

    Am enjoying being here

    Marylhurst has a beautiful campus, a very welcoming and academic atmosphere

    Am learning a lot

    Staff and faculty are very supportive and encouraging. They really push you to learn a lot!

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art majors and students seeking a graduate degree in Art Therapy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out schools that offer the same majors before spending the money at MU.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the pla option for gaining college credit for my lengthy career experience is an outstanding opportunity!!

    In three sentences

    as a returning student, i have been very impressed with my interactions thus far with staff, how friendly and helpful they are to a person like me, who is returning to finish a degree started many moons ago! everything seems to be a great fit between myself, and how the university is organized, and my ability to really personalize my degree for my needs.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Choose Graduate Theological Union instead! I wish I had!

    In three sentences

    Interfaith program that welcomes all students, however not a lot of academic rigor. Crazy powerpoints and some outdated sources.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You have to get out what you put into it. You must be a self-motivated learner who does not need hand-holding or mentoring. The professors do not have extra time to spend with students.

    Bang for the buck

    I achieved the degree that I paid for.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are good, some are not. When you attend the program online, you don't get to make up for absent professors except by peer learning. Make sure to make friends with classmates in case your professor is a no-show.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are considered full-time before applying for scholarships. I thought I was and received the scholarship, but the school declined it and sent it back. Bad memories....

    In three sentences

    It was a pretty good program and I received my MBA, but I'm not sure I would recommend this school as an online program to others. The positive side is that I was able to receive an MBA degree with a specialization that I wanted, which was only available at Marylhurst.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't know, I'm an E-learner.

    Greek Life

    ????

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know, I'm an E-learner.

    Great for these types of students

    Probably, for many of learners, but I can recommend E-learning and Saturday courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know, I'm and E-learner.

    Bang for the buck

    Less expensive than many programs and resonable number of credit hours.

    What to do for fun

    I do not know. I'm an E-learner.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent, organic, local offerings, I'm quite impressed.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know. I'm an adult learner.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, you can not slouch, but will take back valuable information to your place of employment.

    Tips for prospective students

    When taking E-Classes, time requirements will be signficantly higher than expected, but learning practices very successful.

    In three sentences

    Marylhurst provides an excellent flexibility in MBA programs for the standard or adult learner. Professors are experienced in the coursework area in which they teach. Ethical solid education are standard.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are talent shows, and lots of events like concerts and free Shakespeare in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    Great food on campus and lots of good eats in the neighborhood.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think there are any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a campus without tests! Most classes require a paper instead of the midterms and finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    See the campus, visit the classrooms.

    In three sentences

    I love being at Marylhurst! The classes are small, which helps to create an environment where group discussion and participation is encouraged. Also the average age of the student population is 37, which means the students attending Marylhurst are there because they truly want to learn.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and clean environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are student councils and multiple programs to get involved in. Much of the activities are embedded within community activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative people, writers, artists, communicators, and those who desire to be creative in business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Beautiful atmosphere and wonderful people.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on campus. Great hiking around the woods and river.

    Food and Dining

    There is a bookstore café that offers a small selection of food and beverages and there is a cafeteria that is open Monday-Friday for lunch but little is offered.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any academic setting, the higher expectations you set for yourself, the harder and more rewarding it will be.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a writing school, so if you are uncomfortable with 10+ page essays per class, this might not suit what you are looking for.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, the curriculum is fantastic and the instructors are supportive. It is a college that embraces the unconventional student and thrives on collective learning. The class sizes are small and it is easy to get one-on-one help whenever needed.