Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Marymount California University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small, and there are security guards posted around campus as well as in the dorm complex.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many student clubs on campus that anyone is able to join if they are interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want the one-on-one experience with the professors. Students who like the small town environment, and like to know everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount is a very small campus, and puts all of the students first. The student to teacher ratio is 9:1, so the professors really get to know you on a first name basis. It is a private school, so it is more expensive than others, but classes are pretty much guaranteed, and it is worth it in the long run because of the one-on-one experience and the ability to graduate on time.

    What to do for fun

    Marymount has a lot of clubs on campus, and the small student body tends to congregate together and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Marymount has a very nice cafeteria and dining area that offers really good food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Marymount offers a dorm apartment complex for students.

    Academic Rigor

    College is harder than high school. Every day counts, and it is really important to show up and really put all of your energy into your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take initiative: your parents are not responsible for you anymore. It shows maturity and self-accomplishment if you do everything yourself. Always ask questions if you need help; don't be afraid.

    In three sentences

    Marymount College is a wonderful place to begin the transition into college. It is small, beautiful, and all of the staff are there to help you out. My experience with them so far is incredible, and I cannot wait for it to get better throughout my four years.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at school, it's in a nice residential area and I often see security on campus as well. I feel very safe at the resident as well. Security is very visible at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am on the soccer team and enjoying that very much. It's hard work, but anything worth doing takes hard work. I am also involved in the Boys & Girls Club Program at Marymount. I want to work with children who have hearing disabilities as a speech therapist, being part of this program allows me to learn more about children while making a difference.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students. I am from a small town and I will say that I was so afraid to attend a huge University. I knew everybody I went to High School with and there is something secure in that. Marymount is small, but has a University type academic setting. I love the smaller classrooms and getting to know my teacher's, just like at home. It's a family setting. I love it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fact that this campus sits on a bluff overlooking the ocean, makes this campus location breath taking. I look forward each day, going to classes, seeing the ocean and feeling the ocean breeze everyday.

    Bang for the buck

    For me, Marymount provides a well rounded academic environment along with community involvement as well. I love the diversity of the students and the selection of classes available. I really believe, that I am going to school in a place that wants me to succeed. From the classes, to the teachers and staff, to the location of the school, I can say, that Marymount has so much to offer. I am happy with my college selection!

    What to do for fun

    I like being around people, when I am not doing my homework. I often go to the common area and find friends just hanging out and join them in fun conversation. Sometimes, my roommates and I will take a drive to the beach, which is 15 minutes away or go out for dinner at the Redondo Beach Pier (when we have the money to spare).

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is really good and the variety to pick from is great! I love the salads my self and the fruit. But it's nice to pick up a burger from time to time and enjoy something that isn't so healthy. The dining area is nice and sunny and over looks the ocean, who wouldn't enjoy relaxing during a nice meal in that type of surrounding.

    Dorm Life

    I really love the residential set-up at Marymount. We live in a community type setting, with a common area to play volleyball, read, eat, etc. Each resident has a full kitchen, so it's easy to save on food, by way of cooking at home. My roommates and I love having family night, where we all sit at the table (yes, the homes are full furnished) and share our days with one another. We have a 24-7 security guard (entry), I feel very safe and I don't worry about bad people wondering through. It's feels like I am living in my first apartment, but with all of the safety nets that I had at home. It's ideal for the freshman student, who hasn't been on their own before. Love it!

    Academic Rigor

    I really like the flexible class schedule. What a huge change from High School. When choosing my classes, I kept in mind, that I needed to challenge myself academically, but didn't want to overload myself to where I wouldn't be successful. I feel that I have, with the help of my advisor selecting classes that would help me achieve my future goals and challenge me. I like my teacher's and classes, but will always hate math, it's just not my thing. I have lots of homework, but it's all do-able, which was my goal as a freshman in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suppose the best tip I could give to a new student, is to be open to meeting new people and become involved in activities. It's hard to leave our childhood friends behind, but I have found that by attending school functions and events, that I have added more people to my circle of friends. Marymount has wonderful events all year long, get out and meet your fellow students!

    In three sentences

    Marymount College is ideal for those who don't want to get lost in the University/Larger Colleges. I have found that the smaller classrooms allow me to feel more comfortable in seeking further help from my teachers. Their study hall, as been a wonderful place for me to do my homework and research paper's I need to write. Being a new student, I am often not sure of many things, I have made many trips to the Administration Office and everybody I have come in contact with has been kind and helpful. This school really does make you feel like you matter and that you are important. I am enjoying everyday at my new school, I like my roommates and team mates. This school has everything I was seeking for college!

  • 11/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who wants a proper education, who wants a great experience, fun, friendly environment, and great sceneries.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to save money. Be ready to take on new things and do not be afraid to go out there and experience.

    Bang for the buck

    This school may be expensive, but as long as you apply for scholarships, FAFSA, and grants then it wouldn't be a problem. There is a lot of help out there and Marymount also offers scholarships as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are a lot of activities to do in and out of school. There isn't a moment where you are bored.

    Am learning a lot

    You really do learn alot. Not only about classes, but also about being a true leader, the environment, and helping out in the community.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    marymount events

    Food and Dining

    i love the food at the cafeteria! they have a bit of everything!

    Dorm Life

    it is really beautiful! we have houses instead of dorms. there's a pavilion were all events are held. you also get to meet new people and also everything is provided there.

    Academic Rigor

    i love it how they have my major which is business. i also like the fact that there's a lot of tutoring so there's no excuse for failing a class.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its okay.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Rotrac, latinos unidos, residential life, PTK

    Great for these types of students

    Very educational no activites.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing this school is very broing.

    Bang for the buck

    The view.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Hollywood or the beaches around the area.

    Food and Dining

    Not great at all.

    Dorm Life

    Very boring and dull.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not very rigorous but it can be intimidatiing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take what people say with a grain of salt.

    In three sentences

    Educationally a great school to attend. Has a very beautiful view. Small classes and great professors.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe, never has been any incident

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Small on campus clubs who hold extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Didn't get into their dream school, and want to transfer into it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many social events on campus but many students do not attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Be ready to meet students from very rich families, the student parking lot is nicer than the faculty

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, downtown Los Angeles and visit Long Beach.

    Food and Dining

    I have ate at many other college cafeterias and Bon Appetite is very clean and has many diverse choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are two story town houses that have security guards 24/7. It is very safe but it is not a true college dorm experience. Many students commute from near by areas.

    Academic Rigor

    Very high transfer rate, just opened a 4 year institution and is planning to expand very soon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors like relatives, ask many questions about others walks of life and careers. Take advantage of the location, many beaches and historic areas near by.

    In three sentences

    A small, family based school where you can focus and receive plenty of help from the faculty and staff. The students are very motivated and each department is equipped with the tools you need to succeed, Marymount College is expanding and is taking their to the top.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our homes are in a gated community where no one without a pass can enter so we are safe and we have security 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a number of clubs i met during my campus visit like the GSA or gay straight alliance, peace core and many others there is a diverse number of clubs and they are all very nice

    Great for these types of students

    great for nature loving people and for layed back people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the moonings are interesting i cant wait for my first one. oh and we have a snow day where the staff brings piles of snow to our housing doors

    What to do for fun

    we have a shuttle that takes us to the beach and to the movie theaters so transportation isnt an issue we also get 5 dollar disneyland tickets and also of discounts to aquariums and theme parks. we also have moonings where bands play at night during full moons in the court yard for the students

    Food and Dining

    the food is really yummy the cost is reasonable there are delicious meals for 5-7 dollars. we get free inn n out burgers on certain days and free starbucks as well. i love the food there.

    Dorm Life

    from what i've seen the doorm life is very comfortable and energetic everyone knows everybody and it is a very homelike setting

    Academic Rigor

    classes are able to challage the students here and it makes it an interesting expereience. also the teachers are so well prepared and always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    choose a school that has small class sizes if you want more one on one help with your learning expereience. choose a school in good geographic location with favorable weather. choose a school that matches your career choice

    In three sentences

    What amazed me most about my new college is the welcoming atmosphere. The staff and students were so nice and full of energy and the unity between everyone on campus is great. The size of the campus is small so that there is a small student to professor ratio I believe this will allow me to achieve more knowledge then in an average community college.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Priceyyyyyy.

    What to do for fun

    There's always events going on!

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a school where the teachers will know your name, keep your up-to-date on your grades, and are always willing to support you; Marymount College, PV, is for you.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a very small campus but the student life is awesome. We are a very diverse community with very friendly staff. I believe the student's can agree that the teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security that patrols both the campus and the dorms to make sure everything is in order. Whenever a guest enters a residential site they are asked to hand over their driver's license so they know who is in dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    At all residential site there is Wi-Fi available in every unit as well at the campus, and there is transportation available to and from campus as well to Target and the Redondo Beach. There are dances that are available at the the residence and there are special events that are planned that take you to Santa Monica Pier or Hollywood .

    What to do for fun

    Being so close to beaches and Los Angeles, students have the opportunity to visit beaches for a day out in the beautiful beaches of California, or they can go to Los Angles and enjoy the varies cultured areas that the city provides. If they decide that they don't want to leave the dorms, at North there is a basketball court that available all day.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is always available, from the food made daily in the kitchen at the cafeteria to the varies restaurants available around the city. If you decide to dorm you get the option of having a meal plan where you have the option of choosing how many free meals a week you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life varies for where you decide to stay, Marymount College has two different sites in which can decide to live: Marymount Palos Verdes North, or Marymount Palos Verdes West. At North is typically where freshman tend to stay along with few other upperclassmen. The dorms are actually houses, making North into a fun community with something always going on in the pavilion. The housing at West are like apartment buildings, it is were most upperclassmen decide to stay. It is quieter settings were you won't have to worry about it being too loud outside.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty at the school is challenging to a certain point. The reason why I gave it four stars is because with all the time the professors set aside for their students makes the material easier to understand, making it less difficult.

    In three sentences

    Marymount College is a small private school in the quiet town of Rancho Palos Verdes, CA. The fact that it is small makes the material easier to learn because classes are small and the professors have time to answer any questions one may have. Meeting and making new friends is so easy to do because on the campus everyone is friendly, so it makes the first step of being in college exciting.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security 24/7. No one will be able to hurt you or get away with anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that you can join. Every club has something exciting to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount offers so much grants and scholarships. You don't have to pay so much for college. Here, you can get a great education, have a fabulous time, and not pay as much as other colleges make you pay.

    What to do for fun

    The buses can drop you off at the mall, target, gym, and even a food joint. You don't have to waste your gas because shuttles are available. We have a gym membership with LA fitness and a dance company. You can either relax or let the shuttles take you where you want to go.

    Food and Dining

    OMG!!! Gourmet food every single day! Marymount has their own cafe which is actually owned by the cafe itself. Here you have gourmet elections with tea or starbucks coffee. There are salads ,fruits, and desserts.

    Dorm Life

    The lower-division dorms are practically houses. We have a garage, a driveway, kitchen, living room, bathrooms, closets, and rooms with beds. There is 24-hour security and a cafe that offers snacks and drinks. There is a basketball court and volleyball court. There is also a fireplace and a big dining are for outdoor events which are held all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Every woman and man know what they are doing here. They will succeed in helping you in whatever you need help in. There is a learning center, a library, and a tech center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club because their are interesting clubs for every person. Make sure you are taking classes that you want and need. Don't take boring classes if you don't have to.

    In three sentences

    Marymount College is a beautiful campus that overlooks Catalina Island. No matter if you want to stay here for 4 years or transfer, they will do whatever they can to make sure you are on the right track and happy. All the teachers are dedicated to make sure you learn in an experience that you will never forget.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Right next to the ocean. Pool.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small Classes. Easy to get help.

    In three sentences

    Excellent with one on one with professors. Small Classes. Not an impacted college.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on campus and at the dorms at all times.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life since it is a Catholic school.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only bad thing about the school is that it is a 15 minute shuttle ride away from the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount is a great school in general.

    What to do for fun

    There are constant activities being put on by 'dorm life'. There is also a movies theater within walking distance from the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Study hard -Don't slack off -Take advantage of the academic advising department

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a great school. I may be a bit pricey, but financial aid advisors are willing to accommodate your needs. The school also has a great academic advising program.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's right next to the beach so... what can;t you do!?

    Food and Dining

    Yummy food!

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you do the work and stay commited, you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Very small school. If you don't like the hustle and bustle of huge Colleges, Marymount is right for you!

    In three sentences

    Very helpful staff. Beautiful campus. Small class sizes & great school!

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hours security

    Clubs and Activities

    Green Student Initiative LGBT Ductus Exlempo Marymount Events Team Music Club Nursing Club Dance Club Science Club PEACE Club Black Student Union

    Great for these types of students

    Who want to be able to learn in smaller classrooms which means more help from your professors,if your feeling nervous about going to college marymount california university is a very warm welcoming school. Easy to make new friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We were able to have the opportunity to have a anchor transferred from out of the pacific ocean into our school weighing 10,000 pounds. It was a gift to our 2012 class Seniors from our 2014 Sophomore class. The anchor is a symbol for school spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    If it wasn't for marymount california university i don't think i would have become the person i am today because i feel as if i have grown as a person. I have learned a lot about becoming and independent person. I have learned it takes knowledge to know what to say but it takes the wisdom to know when to say it.

    What to do for fun

    I go to first Thursday Art Walk in san pedro every first of the month. Also everyday in the student center there is always an even going on where a lot of students usually spend most of there time hanging out in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    At the Freshmen Class and higher Residence Halls there is an on-site Cafe. On main Campus there is an Cafe which food is provided by Bon-Apetit for both.

    Dorm Life

    There are two residence halls. One of the residence halls are for Freshmen Class and higher and they are Townhouses. The other Residence halls is for Sophomore Class and Higher are apartments which is more for independent students.

    Academic Rigor

    There is very much help always given whether its in the learning center or the Library tutors available at your request.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be ready for the unexpected and its ok to be nervous. Be able to transition into College Life- meaning be aware that adjustments to your life will be made for the better. Last but not least Live and Grow each day in some way.

    In three sentences

    I think Marymount California University is a Wonderful school with a beautiful campus view. I feel as if Marymount California University is my second home because it seems as if we are all a family. Even though Marymount California University is smaller than most schools it allows me to get to know people easier and better.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sometimes, the school may have some activities the students can get involved in. Besides that there is a nearby mall, theater, gym, and beach. Students can go shopping, watch a movie, workout, or just hang out at the beach.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is very good. They have a salad bar and many other foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms but in between my classes, I would go over to my friends dorms, and so far everything is very convenient. The dorms are not like most dorms. Instead it's a house in which four to six people live in. The houses make you feel at home. They provide laundry rooms, cable, basketball courts, a kitchen, and etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a college student, you prepare to enter the adult world, and learn to be more independent. Of course, we all know college is one of the steps we have to take in life in order to achieve our future goals. Although, it may not be cheap, there are things you can do. For example, getting a job on campus or off campus to have extra money on hand and some money to pay for college. Apply for financial aid before you meet the deadline and apply for scholarships.Also, as a student always be prepared for class, be on time, and last but not least, get involved in school activities.

    In three sentences

    Marymount California University has a very beautiful view of the ocean. Staff and students on campus are very nice and helpful. Also, the cafeteria food isn't your average cafeteria food because the food is really good.