Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marymount Manhattan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 25 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marymount is great for theater students who wish to also get a degree in not on performing arts. Also great for anyone who wants to be in the heart of New York City.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the school is mainly viewed as a performing arts school, the other programs such as the Science programs are very good as well, so even if you aren't wanting to be a theater major, try exploring Marymount's other programs.

    Bang for the buck

    The only negative aspect of the college is that it is somewhat on the expansive side, especially if you plan on living in the dorms.

    Am enjoying being here

    You couldn't ask for a better location, right in the heart of the Upper East side in Manhattan. The school uses it's surroundings and part of the learning process and provides many opportunities for exploring the city that never sleeps.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many courses offered here that are very interesting. With the very small class size, there is a lot of one on one time with the professors which helps with in class learning.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Comm arts majors, theatre majors, dance majors, any type of artist or person who appreciates art...almost anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Marymount Manhattan College is a great school especially for anyone interested in communication arts, theatre, or dance majors. Small class sizes, its location in the heart of Manhattan, and it's meal plan (lol) are amongst the many reasons people choose Marymount. But search around, this isn't the school for everyone; if you don't like walking (theres a lot of it), you probably shouldn't come here. If you don't like gay guys (theres a TON of them) you probably shouldn't come here. But if you're looking for a phenomenal group of peers and professors in an amazing location... MMC is the place for you !

    Bang for the buck

    The only thing I don't like about Marymount is the fact that it is sooo expensive! And then they charge you for every little thing! It's not bad to the point that you want to leave, it's just annoying, especially for a financially struggling student as myself.

    Am enjoying being here

    The freshman dorms are a ten minute walk from times square, this school is fantastic. It helps that a lot of your first year classes are geared towards the city and gives you an opportunity to explore. It's not hard to navigate your way around, and there are always tours that different clubs host of certain areas of the city. I am involved with the MMC blog team, getting to tell prospective students the inside scoop on MMC from a students perspective! It's just an all-around great school for just about anyone.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love the small class sizes because it allows for more one-on-one time between student and professor. Even though I am an acting major, I am being exposed to subjects outside of acting like stagecraft and economics, they really make sure you are equipped as a functioning member of society, that's the point of a liberal arts college, and I love it!

  • 10/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dance and theater majors, creative and artsy people.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love being in The Big Apple and you want to attend a small, private college that offers the best campus in the world, definitely consider Marymount Manhattan.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount Manhattan College is an inexpensive school for being on the Upper East Side. The dorms are spacious, modern, and have the best view. The school itself is beautiful. There is a wonderful terrace with a fountain where students can eat, relax, and study. The classrooms are new, clean, and comfortable. The teachers are geniuses and the classes are challenging, yet entertaining. Every part of the college is worth the money. However, they do not offer many scholarships for international students. As an international students, I have had to hunt for outside scholarships to help reduce my tuition bill.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am loving New York City. It is so exciting being around tall skyscrapers, the bright city lights of Times Square, and the eye-catching, crazy New Yorkers. Marymount Manhattan has the best campus in the world - NYC! I exit the school, and I can walk down to the Modern Museum of Art for a contemporary art exhibition, or relax by the East River. It is amazing to be here, because you can meet so many interesting people, experience different cultures, and just be yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging, and the teachers want us to learn more every day. Even though I never leave class without homework, a handout, or an assigned chapter from the textbook, I enjoy doing the work because it is attention-grabbing and very interesting. I am taking a thrilling China in Revolution class, a vivid Spanish class, and a challenging Advanced Writing class, as well as many more others. I am learning so much about the world, New York, and myself.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are guards on duty at the school's campus during all hours of classes, as well as 24/7 at both residence halls. You should never feel unsafe!

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at MMC, but there are plenty of clubs and organizations to join!

    Clubs and Activities

    Marymount Manhattan College has all types of clubs ranging from performance groups to those interested in film, the business association, academic groups, special interest groups, and intramural volleyball and soccer! Nobody should feel left out at MMC.

    Great for these types of students

    Students of all kinds of accepted at MMC. There is a large population of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and/or Transgender students, and we embrace all individuals of different ethnicities, religions, beliefs, and races. There is no discrimination, and that is what makes MMC a great college for students who are afraid of being accepted elsewhere or for those who plan on thriving just the way they are no matter what anybody else has to say. It's a win-win environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus in the fall there is Apple Fest and in the spring there is Strawberry Fest at which the school provides an endless supply of apples and strawberries, respectively, and tons of fun! The Campus Activity Board, which all students can join, sets up tons of exciting activities including an opportunity in the fall to sign up for emails from any and all the clubs that interest you as well as a chance to jump on a bouncing castle in the middle of 71st Street! The best part: everybody attends and that's what makes these two yearly events the two best!

    Bang for the buck

    MMC can be pricey at first glance, but the financial aid office is extremely helpful in offering students help to apply for scholarships, and the schools offers grants based on merit or need as well as payment plans to make college affordable for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    In New York City, what isn't there to do? There are tons of free events that go on around the city all year. There are also more inexpensive options as well and, depending on your allowance during the school year, anything is possible! Manhattan isn't the only borough in New York City either; the other four boroughs offer tons of exciting locations at which there are free or inexpensive events to attend or participate in. The city of New York is a mecca of great opportunities for anybody with all kinds of interests. All you have to do is search, or even stumble upon, something, and all sorts of fun will follow.

    Food and Dining

    The food plan is excellent and if used correctly, can last a student all year without having to add money! Although, if students do run out of dining dollars on his or her account, you CAN add money to it via the school's website, which is helpful toward the end of the year. The off-campus dining is fresh, healthy, and extensive in range of items to order. There is a location near the 55th Street dorms as well as within walking distance of the school itself and the 1760 dorm location. Both locations are clean and offer the option to dine in or order out, which is always beneficial if the weather is nasty.

    Dorm Life

    Living with strangers can be tricky. Most students are respectful and will understand living with up to six other people at 55th Street dorms or one or two others at the 1760 location has its challenges. There are also many rewards to living with others, including making new friends and having a support system away from home. Personally, I think the 55th Street dorms are worth every penny students pay to live in them. Having two bedrooms, a kitchenette, and a bathroom to share with a maximum of six other people as opposed to an entire floor of students is a perk that not many other colleges offer.

    Academic Rigor

    Everybody has a different style of learning, but all the professors with whom I've had the pleasure of studying will push his or her students to learn new things, expand their knowledge, share and shape their opinions, and ensures that each individual student is given the attention he or she deserves. Professors teaching major courses have the knowledge, style, and dedication to guarantee understanding of the information presented, and will also be able to help students apply their newfound knowledge in real world situations. There's never a boring class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to live in the city that never sleeps! Some people I've met were unable to deal with living so far away from home, which is understandable since New York City is a tough place to live. If you're sure you can handle it, be prepared to meet all kinds of people and to explore places you've never imagined you'd be! Stay open-minded but also street smart and safe.

    In three sentences

    Marymount Manhattan College is in an ideal location for students interested in all kinds of studies. The college is incredibly helpful in ensuring students get everything they need from tutoring to finding an internship in the city. The professors and students create a collective of individuals who, despite differences, form a unique community within one of the most diverse cities in the world.

  • 08/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for... the musically talented, the theatre junkies, the artsy, the LGBTQ and allies (don't bother showing up if you're a homophobe, we have a zero homophobic tolerance at MMC), the city lovers, the concrete jungle dwellers, anyone looking for a fresh start, the fashionable and the ones who don't care what they're wearing, those who are ready to learn, leaders and followers, pretty much anyone ! Anyone who attends MMC can find their niche in the school and city life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs! Clubs are a great way to be involved in the MMC community and to make friends in different areas of the school. Befriend an RA and not just your own! The RA's go through extensive training and are unbelievably helpful, especially to freshmen and transfers. Go to class! Don't skip, classes are what your parents are paying for, not to mention, the more you show up and participate the more you will enjoy what you are doing and become well adjusted to college student life.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount Manhattan is relatively pricey, yes, but what private school isn't? The education and classes at MMC are worth what we pay for them, as are our dorms and location and all of the activities the school provides for us. Of course there are things that could be changed for the better to make MMC feel like it's worth what we are paying for it, but let's be honest, you're going to find those things at any school you attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    I cannot full express how happy I am to have transferred from Rutgers University to Marymount Manhattan College. This was the best choice I have ever made, honestly. The student body is not much bigger than that of my high school's but that's one of the things I love about it. At MMC you really do get to feel like you are part of a community, and what a community it is. The students are friendly, the upperclassmen are beyond helpful and the professors are down to earth intellectuals who have one great goal; a combination of teaching their students and learning from them as well. NYC is a great college campus, there is always something to do. Whether or not is one of MMC's many school related functions or perhaps visiting a museum or shopping around or even strolling through one of New York's parks, you'll never be bored!

    Am learning a lot

    I transferred as a second semester freshman to MMC and took liberal arts required courses. I loved taking these courses! I learned about philosophy and sociology in two different courses. Although those topics didn't necessarily interest me at first, the professors really made these classes quite enjoyable and I found out i was interested in most of what I learned in the classes. I also took a course called Exploring the Visual Arts during which we would travel to different museums every class and learn about the art in those museums. It was a great way to learn about art and at the same time get to explore New York which is my college campus! Overall I am definitely learning a lot.

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marymount is great for independent kids. If you love and can appreciate the arts and don't get overwhelmed in the big city, this place is for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Although the school is way more expensive than community college, when it comes to the experiences, the area and the people you meet, its totally worth it. The school makes sure to take care of its students, one great example is stress down day before finals where we were given free massages,food,crystal healing and were able to make our own aroma therapy pillows.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is great. The students and staff are friendly and there is so much freedom in the city. There is also so much to do when you have down time.

    Am learning a lot

    Since Marymount is a liberal arts school, we are offered a well rounded education. One class that I enjoy in particular is my Sociology class. It has really opened up my mind to so many things.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 Security.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs. You can always start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Concentrated. Artistic. Ambitious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Harry Potter class.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very easy to transfer here. I transferred in last fall and every credit was accepted and counted toward my degree. You can basically do any study abroad program that is offered at any school, even if it is not offered at Marymount. Because it is a private school it is very expensive and there are not many internal scholarships offered. It makes it hard for students like myself.

    What to do for fun

    New York City is your campus. It's the city that never sleeps, there is always something fun, you just have to look for it.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is ok, but over priced if you do not have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is difficult because the classes are so small, slacking off is not an option. The professors expect 150% at all times. It is great to constantly be forced to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are ready to be fully committed to your major this is a great place. They allow multiple majors and minors as well. If you are looking for a huge school with fraternities and parties, this is not the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a wonderful place to be concentrated on your major. They allow many opportunities for internships which turn into jobs. The small class settings are a great because you are forced to be involved and the teachers really know you.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around and experience the big apple! Central Park is nothing but a couple of blocks away. Get lost in the magic .

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library, amazing and big great to do homework and projects, a variety of resources. Teachers are always alert to emails, and will respond right away.

    In three sentences

    Great location, upper east side. Amazing teachers who really know what they are talking about. Friendly environment.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security on our buildings but NYC is basically the campus so you just have to be smart about it.

    Greek Life

    NONE.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs. I'm actively involved with 3 clubs but still participate occasionally with other clubs too.

    Great for these types of students

    MMC is great for students who want to be in the city and who want to be supported yet independent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Twice a year there is a big festival on 71 street which is so fun. Personally the terrace is my favorite spot on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the least expensive schools in NYC. Keep in mind that college is what you make of it. If you don't try, you're not going to get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and performances to watch. But it's in an amazing part of NYC, so the possibilities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food at MMC! they have vegan options for me!

    Dorm Life

    Great residence hall in a great area. Kind of small but that's NYC. Dry Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard for me to judge Academic Rigor because I think it depends on your background and how seriously you take the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a tour during the school year and really see what the environment is like. There is no Greek life and no sports environment. The school is clearly not for everyone but it's perfect for me and could be for you too.

    In three sentences

    MMC has a fun learning environment with a lot of positive students. The focus for the students is not to be on campus all the time but to actually be prepared for the real world. It's a liberal arts school, and we're proud of that.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Guards at the doors check ID's. Students have lobbied for a place to swipe ID's instead, but no action has been made. Security is generally nice though.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are there for you if you want to join them - most are very active in their respective topics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The terrace connects the two academic buildings. It's a great place to hang out - when it's not frigid outside that is.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're going to go to school in the city, why pay a fortune to be ignored as an undergrad at NYU? Scholarships at MMC are generous, and financial aid office works well with students who are struggling.

    What to do for fun

    IT'S NEW YORK CITY. You can do ANYTHING pretty much.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive and meal plans rarely last very long. Quality is decent, but lacks variety.

    Dorm Life

    Students flee dorms after Freshman/Sophomore year - but those first few years are still fun. Rules can be draconian, but most concern safety (which is understandable living in NYC).

    Academic Rigor

    Studious people should not struggle to get their work done. Those who want to coast though are bound to encounter a few professors who will not allow such habits to go unreformed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is extremely small - so if you don't want people knowing your business, this isn't the school for you. Theater and dance programs rule the school because their reputation precedes them - in the case of theater, it's a whole lot of hoopla over not much. The dance program, on the other hand, has earned its acclaim.

    In three sentences

    Marymount's commitment to a liberal arts education is great - but just be aware that that's what you're getting when you apply. Professors care for their students, and give almost too much personal attention. The opportunities provided by just being in NYC are endless.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore New York

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    Great, good oppurtunity to get close with your classmates.

    Academic Rigor

    Good at working with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save up.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a welcoming school of the arts that offers many oppurtunities to succeed. The school does a great job at providing the foot stool you need to further your career in the liberal arts. The only negative thing I can say about this school is how expensive it is.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Can't get better than the upper east side!

    In three sentences

    I love how immersed you are able to get in this school because of its location.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for outgoing students who enjoy the city life, music, theater, and dance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school holds two festivities through out the year. They are always a ball of fun! Free food, music, give a ways, and games.

    What to do for fun

    Metropolitan museum and central park are a few minutes away from the school.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning is good but a bit expensive.

    In three sentences

    Marymount Manhattan college is very diverse and staff and students are extremely friendly

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Everything and anything - It's New York!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is great, and the C Store has a bunch of options conveniently on the 2nd floor of 55th.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are right in Midtown - a nice 20 minute walk to the school with greats scenery and great people.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not so difficult that you'll go crazy!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like small, personalized classes, go here!

    In three sentences

    This is a great school overall, and specifically for communication majors. There are so many internship opportunities available. The staff is great here, too.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    School is a little over priced, but mainly it's because it's in the city.l

    What to do for fun

    You're right in the heart of NYC! What's there not to do?? The school also offer various activities throughout the year,

    Food and Dining

    Food is fantastic but can be a little over priced.

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful and spacious dorms. Have many locations which is also a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    I wish they offered more but overall the classes teach you a lot. Some of the teachers are eh, but majority are friendly and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Great staff. Great programs. Great housing.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Upper east side is obviously very safe, but stuff happens in the city. Use you're street smarts.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who likes small school and an intimate experience.

    Bang for the buck

    This is my third transfer, and I love this school. It's a fair price, coming form Parsons.

    What to do for fun

    EVERYTHING. concerts, plays, movies, shopping, anything you could ever want to do.

    Food and Dining

    I am only familiar with the cafeteria in the school itself, from the few times I've gotten things there its good, a little pricey but that's NYC.

    Dorm Life

    Unsure, I have my own apartment. It's a very big dorm building, I think around 30 floors. I've heard mixed things about it.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, but not overwhelmingly so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for city life, remember, the school itself isn't that bad on the pocket, but nyc certainly is.

    In three sentences

    Really personal experience, great people, great city experience.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well the school is located in one of the best cities in the world. I honestly never get board because there something that I can always do. The city never sleeps.

    Food and Dining

    The food option at Marymount are vary limited. They are also not really accommodating to different food regimes. The food is something the school needs to improve.

    Dorm Life

    The peeks of being a freshmen at Marymount Manhattan is the housing. As a freshmen you live in one of the best neighborhood in NYC. The dorms are actually apartments so they are extremely spacious. The only thing that some find an issue is having to walk sixteen blocks to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Marymount is a great academic school. The teacher push their students in order to better themselves and push academic boundaries. The teachers are dedicated to helping the students become successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice I could give students that are considering Marymount Manhattan College should come to the school with a open mind

    In three sentences

    Marymount Manhattan college is a school that really cares for their students and faculty. At Marymount Manhattan students thoughts opinions are valued. Compare to many college Marymount is a school that accept all type of people with open arms.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards stationed at the entrance to both school and residence buildings. The security guards at the residence hall I stayed in always made sure to check the ID's everyone who entered as well as their guests. The walk between the residence hall I lived in and the school itself is well-lit on 3rd avenue, and students also have the option of taking a subway or local bus that runs between the two locations.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Marymount Manhattan.

    Clubs and Activities

    Marymount has a myriad of clubs and groups open to all students. Club themes range from event planning to culture, writing to medicine, and much more. They also make sure to keep students updated by email of opportunities to join clubs or attend one of the many events that these clubs host for the Marymount community. They are also always open to students who would like to start new clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Marymount is great for students who do well in a fast-paced, social, urban life. It is also most popular with those looking to enter careers in communication fields, theatre, film, and dance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With a residence hall that reaches 32 floors into the sky, the view from the 32nd floor lounge is a great way to look over the city. Also, being located in New York City makes the entire city your campus. For example, on your daily walk to class you walk by a variety of interesting locations such as the famous Dylan's Candy Bar.

    Bang for the buck

    While Marymount has a lot to offer, it does come at a price. I wouldn't necessarily say that the tuition and other fees charged aren't put to good use, but I would say to be aware that it is a good school with a private college price.

    What to do for fun

    The city location provides many fun opportunities. The main dorm building is within walking distance from Rockefeller Center as well as Times Square and endless restaurants and shops. It is also located just two blocks from a subway station for trips anywhere in the city. Even taking a walk around the neighborhood from time to time and finding a new store to shop in, restaurant to eat at, or public place to relax at is exciting in Manhattan.

    Food and Dining

    Dining options are good, and there are several restaurants near the dorms that also accept Marymount's meal plan. My only caution is not to use your meal plan every time you eat, as rather than meal swipes you have a declining balance. Since food can be more expensive in Manhattan, be careful that you don't spend all of your Dining Dollars before the semester is over. The food tastes great, but also invest in groceries from local stores.

    Dorm Life

    The apartment-style dorms are spacious and the building is well-equipped. Guest policies are a bit strict, but they ensure safety within the large city of New York.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are manageable. Most courses I have experienced provide a decent intellectual challenge, and none were too difficult to overcome. Marymount also has a highly regarded tutoring center. Every professor I have had has always been willing to meet outside of class or communicate via email when a student had questions, and many other students I know said the same of their own professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending and hope to also receive a scholarship, their academic scholarships are based on BOTH grades as well as SAT scores, so give your best efforts in both areas. If you are applying for a major that requires an audition or interview, just be yourself, honestly. Also, if you decide to attend, look for a job around the city or apply for a work study position at the school-living in Manhattan is more expensive than most towns!

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a fantastic school for those interested in the arts, while still providing great options for students interested in other fields such as psychology or communications. Marymount immerses students into city life while still providing a stable learning environment. A good choice for a unique college experience that still fulfills expectations for a college education.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    Bang for the buck

    It is really expensive to go here, and I'm not too sure where the money is going.

    What to do for fun

    Party hard. It is NYC after all!

    Food and Dining

    The food choice is not so hot. Same food everyday, and very overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms. From what I heard they aren't good though. You live with a lot of other people under strict rules.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes really aren't that hard. Just make sure you show up to class and do your work outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with your studies. GO TO CLASS.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    this would be my ideal college to attend this coming year. is there any advice for incoming freshmen?

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at Marymount in my opinion is very safe. Security is strictly enforced which makes both faculty and students feel comfortable and able to have a positive atmosphere.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, Marymount does not have Greek life or athletics.

    Clubs and Activities

    Marymount Manhattan is very involved with getting other students involved. They have over 35 organizations for students to join and an even greater plus is that you can also make up your own--how great is that!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an aspiring dancer or you just enjoy being on center stage then Marymount Manhattan is the perfect place for you. Marymount is one of the most prestigious liberal arts schools in the country and many of Marymount students pursue benefiting careers; some have even been in Broadway shows. So if you are big on performing arts, Marymount should be on your list. Also, this college offers many fields of study with majors and minors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not noticed any unusual traditions/locations on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Marymount Manhattan is located on the Upper East side of New York City which means it is surrounded by multiple attractions. There is always something to do both on and off campus. If students aren't attending a party on the weekend, they are going to concerts, hanging out with friends or attending Broadway shows.

    Food and Dining

    Marymount Manhattan offers a scarce meal plan. Because Marymount is a small-private liberal arts college located in New York City, there is not a variety of meals for the students opposed to larger universities. The dining services are good, however; they lack multiple things. It would be a great idea if the college offered a better meal plan for the students that involved more nutritious and affordable options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Marymount Manhattan college is excellent. The dorms are arranged as mini apartments housing anywhere from 4 to 7 students. There is strict security on duty 24 hours a day to ensure that all students are safe and being responsible. Because most of the freshmen are housed in the same building, it makes the transition smoother, allowing you to meet new people and interact with your surroundings

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Marymount as I've come to know are very rigorous. This college guarantees that you will earn your degree by studying, completing assignments and making sure that all your courses are covered. The professors challenges the students which enables them to succeed in both their course of study and in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending Marymount Manhattan college, you should definitely consider your financial need, although this is a great college it is very expensive. Also, make sure as students that you aren't afraid to ask questions or for help once in awhile if it is necessary. Most professors at Marymount enjoy students being engaged. Finally, if you are looking for the college that seats a numerous amount of students in a classroom you may want to reconsider your decision, as Marymount class sizes range from 15-20 students tops.

    In three sentences

    Marymount Manhattan is a really great college. The academics are set at a high standard to challenge the students. Also, Marymount has an excellent atmosphere and an even greater learning environment.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure. ID check-in at the school and dorms.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not participated in any, but I know they have a lot.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, artistic!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have Apple Fest in the Fall, and Strawberry Fest in the Spring. Vendors, face painters etc.

    Bang for the buck

    To be honest, I would like the school a lot more if I wasn't constantly concerned about getting scholarships, grants etc. It's very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    It's New York City! Go out and explore, see the sights!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and the workers are very nice to you.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in a great location, safe, and generally clean. The worst part is the elevators break a lot, and 22 flights isn't the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The general educations aren't as rigorous, but the classes in your major are intense, but good.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school puts its focus on the performing art majors first. So make sure you are a dance, theatre major etc. The rest aren't that great.

    In three sentences

    A very accepting college! It's a small school. The city is a wonderful place to be.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Can get pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    certain majors are more difficult than others.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only one way to get into the dorm, and one way to get onto the school campus, both are monitered by guards at all times. NYC itself may be another matter, but I have never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic. Open minded. Diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    MMC is expensive in comparison to state schools, but if you compare it to the private schools around NYC it is actually a great bargain. The attention that you get from your professors and the opportunities that you get for internships and traveling make the price an even better value.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and performances at the school, but, come on - it's New York City! There is so much to do here. We walk to Central Park, Times Square, and Rockefeller Center! We go to Saturday Night Live tapings, take the subway to Battery Park, shopping, Little Italy and Chinatown! It's never a dull moment here!

    Food and Dining

    There is a C store in the building which has frozen items, some pre made sandwiches, snacks and canned stuff. A lot of the cooking and meals we make ourselves in our room. Our dining dollars can be used for several restaurants in the area, which also deliver! At the school, there are several dining options, and a lot of choices for those with special dietary needs. Personally, I love the sushi - it is some of the best I have ever had, but only available 2 times a week. As one would expect, food is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorm is a mini-apartment, complete with a kitchen, 20 blocks from the school. We are living real life in NYC while attending college. I was matched with 3 amazing roommates and strangely we all get along and work together perfectly. The dorms are in a high rise apartment building, with its own security, so it is very safe. I love walking to school as I am a part of the city not just a campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are engaging, and many are taught by professionals in their field. Professors focus on real world knowledge and making connections to what they teach. They are always adding new classes to keep up with the demand from both their students, and the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think a visit is the best way to really get a feel for the college and its surroundings. There is an energy here that can't be relayed through the website.

    In three sentences

    A small college in the big (and best) city! Small class sizes, great programs, and engaging teachers make this school a bargain. The city is our campus and there are so many opportunities, no matter what interests you have.

  • 08/20/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    People have said MMC is expensive but they need to put it in perspective. Other performing arts school in Manhattan all fall around 60-65,000 for all costs. I'd much rather pay 40,000.

    What to do for fun

    ANYHING! You're in NYC! Go see a show, have coffee in a shop, walk around, shop, enjoy!

    Food and Dining

    Small kitchen and away from dorms but the college partners with other restaurants

    Dorm Life

    Looks awesome compared to other dorms I've looked at.

    Academic Rigor

    Doesn't seem like the academic rigor is too high for regular studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the college that's how you'll know if it's right for you.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is great for performing arts and they have good dance spaces. There largest major is communication.

  • 10/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for art and theatre students!

    Bang for the buck

    Not too expensive for the environment, life style and great quality of education. The school is a great price, however the dorms are a little too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Being in New York City you have countless options of things to do for fun. In the school you can join all of the different clubs they have and hang out on beautiful terrace.

    Food and Dining

    Really great food! The food always tastes great and seems really fresh! There are so many options including a sushi bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in a great location but overall the lifestyle is okay. Consider commuting if you live close enough. The dorms are expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors and resources! Everyone is always helpful. The classes are very small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress, everyone is friendly and the school is small so you won't get too lost. You should consider commuting if you live close enough. Being in New York City is great!

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a great school with friendly people, safe environment and an amazing location. If you're a theatre or an art student you'll absolutely love the school. I have nothing but good things to say about the school itself.