Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marymount University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I really recommend Fashion, Medical, and Bussiness interested students. The school is well known for those studies. But i encourage many students to look into this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into school with a business mindset, because either way you are going to have your fun. And if you come to school because you want to get away from home, think twice. A good percent of students who do go to college for the purpose, sets them on Academic probation, or even expelled. Then you will be very upset because you ended up back at home. Second tip, do not try to befriend everyone, because no matter how cool they might seem, everyone is not for you. Many of your friends will turn there backs and start to change fast, either in a good way or a bad way. Choose wisely who you want to surround yourself around. Third tip, Network, network, network ! Learn how to have a elevator conversation, which means, when you are around someone you don't know: -greet them - tell them who you are - tell them why you are here - What you want to get out of this experience and maybe they will know someone to help you get there, or they might help you themselves. Lastly, write out goals that you want to accomplish each semester, and yearly big goals that you want to accomplish, for example semester: get all A's Yearly: Complete a full (20 piece) line of garments. And if you do not succeed, do NOT shoot yourself down but gain motivation to complete them and then the new ones your going to have. but reflect back to why you did not complete the goals.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount is a pretty expensive school. But for the amount of accessible networking opportunities, the teaching experiences, and also the available internships provided at the school is more than enough to think twice. especially if you are serious about your future and how it may turnout.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being at Marymount, its a metro ride away from being in the Washington, D.C and many other wonderful sights in the area. i thought because Marymount was a private school, it was going to be tremendously strict and the population was to small for me. Marymount fooled me again, unfortunately. the class sizes are perfect to the point, where your professors recognize who you are, and how you've been acting in that class. For the school to be small in population, its a very diverse school, which i love also, back to the learning factor. You not only learn about your major/minor, but about yourself and other cultures as well. The students/staff, is very welcoming also, I've know a lot of people who come to Marymount with mean attitude, and by the end of the semester has a totally different attitude, and they have changed tremendously. There are lots of places in the Metropolitan area to have your fun, but also get your work done. Because at Marymount we make successful careers!

    Am learning a lot

    At Marymount University, you will learn a lot, not only the needed necessities for your intended majors, but just all around information that is vitally important. Right now i am a freshman in the 2009/ 2010 school year, and I am a Fashion Design major, minoring in business. My drawing and technical skills, before starting my drawing classes were horrible and at the end of the first semester i was able to draw wonderful still life's, and my portrait with my face on it, which is really difficult if you ask anyone else. Marymount is also known for Fashion, so its a wonderful school to attend if that is where your heart lies. We also have a really big Medical program, which is important because the campus population is really small, but you will learn above and beyond your expectations, because i surely did.

  • 10/26/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 19 people found this review useful. 3 people found it offensive. 4 people found this inaccurate. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NONE!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont waste your time! Maybe the education is decent but the life is horrible!

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely horribly run school! Don't waste your time coming and visiting! It is totally over rated! If there are any good reviews on this school its probably butt kissing students that were aimed by faculty to write good reviews!

    Will enjoy being here

    Ever been sold a horse and given a mule! The dorms at the school are horrible and very old! The meal plans are horrible! They have commuter kitchens that smell horrible! Many students are very stuck up and rude! When you ask for help from the students (that are paid to be courteous and help you) they are very rude and act like they are doing you a favor!

    Will learn a lot

    The professors in the program are very young and still treat the students as if they were in high school. The catalog is not written correctly. A student I know there signed up for classes, then found out by ear it is not recommended to take two of them at the same time. Why was it not written in the catalog! Not to mention you have to stay up till midnight cause most classes fill up with in minutes!

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is so nice and friendly, they really look out for students, if you just feel uneasy walking to your car at night because it freaks you out, they will walk you there or to your dorm or whatever, even if you park 12 blocks away because you haven't bought a parking pass yet.

    Greek Life

    None. There are maybe one or two small chapters, but no one is really joins, and there are no houses, MU is not really a fan of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    MU has an unimaginable number of clubs and activities for students to get involved in, and if you cant find it, it is super easy to start and establish one.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a small community, access to DC, a private school education, small class sizes. People of all shapes, sizes, religions, and interests all go to MU.

    Bang for the buck

    MU is expensive, particularly if your parents aren't helping pay for it, but they have many financial aid options that help to reduce the cost. However, there are some perks that come with it, MU has 3 campuses that you can take classes at, Main (Arlington), Balston (most of the business classes are here, about a 7 minute shuttle ride), and Reston (about 20 min away, interior design classes, and health and nursing classes are here sometimes). There are shuttles run every 15, 20, and 30 minutes depending on where you are going and if you take an Express shuttle. The shuttle also stops at MU's graduate apartment buliding complex and the Ballston-MU metro stop. All of the shuttles are free to students and faculty. Also, if you are 18 (normal age is 21) and have a valid license you can rent a car through Hertz.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities always going on at MU, the student community is really active in making sure of that. there are festivals and fairs, activity clubs, sports events, movies, and DC is a shuttle ride and metro stop away.

    Food and Dining

    MU has 3 main places to eat, and one more at another campus, all owned and operated by MU, the food is pretty good and they try to give healthy options as well. However, if you want different food, then you have to take the free shuttle to the Ballston mall and Ballston-MU Metro stop (about a 10min drive).

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but have plenty of friends who do so I have a pretty good idea of what it is like, the size is comparable to other colleges, but you do have the option of getting a room to yourself for a higher price. Currently, the girls' dorms are being redone, with the next few years the boys' dorm halls will be tore down and completely rebuilt. However, there is a co-ed dorm that is only about a year old and is very nice. Noise during the day is pretty loud, and at night as well, but if you need quiet, students are generally pretty respectful of requests.

    Academic Rigor

    I am part of the Honors program at MU and take both normal and honors college courses, as well as an online course. Some classes definately require more work than others, but teachers are really good about making sure you get the help you need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    No sororities or fraternities, if you are expecting a party school, don't, that scene is mostly in DC in the clubs. Generally the campus is quiet and peaceful which is nice. MU offers various scholarships and grants that make going here a pretty reasonable price. I work and live off campus and pay for college myself, but MU offers on-campus employment as well.

    In three sentences

    A small private school in the midst of big changes in the upcoming years. Good community within the school that reaches out and makes use of the surrounding community as well. Teachers and advisers on the whole are very supportive and will do what they can to help you.

  • 08/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come, live on campus!! It is the best time of my life, you'd love it here!

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount is little expensive, but its totally worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    Marymount has a great environment. This area is a great place for commuters and people who want to live here. The main campus offers a free shuttle to the Ballston campus/metro so you can hop on and get anywhere you need to go!

    Am learning a lot

    Marymount has a huge variety of courses you can take. I am personally an Interior Design student and love the classes I am in! All the professors are so helpful!

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always someone around if you need any help. There are security guards around and a lot of safety posters and everyone is always taken care of.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is definitely something for everyone here: psychology club, international club, gaming club, science club, etc. There are always activities on campus that are lots of fun and are enjoyable to go to.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to succeed belong here. Students who want to work hard to get somewhere in the long run belong here. Hardworkers belong here at Marymount. Students who want to balance work and college and fun belong here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rain garden behind the library that cleans rain water and recycles the water to grow wonderful plants.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive but there are scholarships and grants available to everyone. It is worth it in the long run. Everyone here wants to make Marymount affordable and fun for the students.

    What to do for fun

    Marymount is right next to Washington, DC--it is literally just a bus/train ride away and that's what makes it so great. In DC, there is always something to do--go to a museum, go to music festivals, go sightseeing. But also, on campus, there is always lots to do--throw a frisbee around on the lawn, fallfest, springfest, midnight madness.

    Food and Dining

    There is all kinds of food on campus and even more all around campus--just a bus ride away.

    Dorm Life

    With new buildings being built, Marymount is great. Everyone gets along and you really feel like you belong.

    Academic Rigor

    Here, we are expected to work hard to earn the best we can. The work can be overwhelming but it is most definitely rewarding. Professors and tutors are available at any time because everyone wants to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school because grades always count. College is going to be harder but also very much more rewarding in the long run. Don't ever think you can't get into any college because you can. If money is an issue, there are so many scholarships and grants out there and there are so many people who want to help you succeed. Don't ever give up on your dreams because they are achievable and here at Marymount, everyone is rooting for you.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a small University with great professors and people who are genuine and kind-hearted and make you feel like you belong. Everyone wants to help everyone else succeed. Marymount prepares us for the future, which is important because everyone believes we will be great one day.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is located at the Front gate and also the back entrance through the parking garage. They provide email and text alerts when anything is happening on campus and are always surveying the area.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life on campus, however, there are sorority/ fraternity opportunities in the DMV area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Marymount has a club/organization for nearly everyone. And if there isn't a club you're interested in? Make your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to feel that they are part of a community and get involved. Also great for those that want small class sizes and hands-on experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Marymount is home to an on-campus cemetery and the famous Washington Golf Course is only steps away. Marymount has activities such as Springfest and Dancing with the MU Stars.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount provides a lovely campus, high quality education and great meal plan and rooming opportunities while still keeping the prices affordable. They give out many scholarships as well.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun! Washington D.C. is only a metro ride away and there are many things to do in the NOVA area as well. This includes going to the Arlington National Cemetery, Pentagon City Mall and Pentagon Memorial. Fun is only footsteps away on the campus of Marymount, there are even shuttles that transport you to and from the Ballston metro stop. If you prefer to stay on campus, there is always something going on as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining opportunities at Marymount are endless, there is Lola's, the main Gerard Dining Hall, Bernie's and even Ballston Campus dining. No matter what you are in the mood food, there is always a place to go and something for you. Marymount provides a look into the cuisine of many different areas, and spices up their menu on a daily basis; asking the students what they like and dislike.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus provides you the opportunity to meet many new people from areas of the world and even the country that you have never been to. Dorm life is unique because the RA's always plan socials and there is always something to do. Living in the dorms is like living in a small interconnected community where everyone knows each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Marymount is not terribly difficult, if you work cooperatively with your professors and always attend class and turn in assignments, you will get excellent grades. You must be willing to put in the work to get good grades at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get involved on-campus, whether in a big or small way. The campus is very small and close-knit, so getting involved in just one activity will open your eyes and your opportunities up to endless possibilities. 2. Take advantage of the LRC (Learning Resource Center), this is a great place for tutoring or taking tests at an earlier or later date than posted by your professor. 3. Never be scared to talk to your professors (either face to face or through an email), they are always willing to help and work with you if you are behind on an assignment or simply need help with the material.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a school centered around community,with its small class sizes and many clubs and on-campus activities there is always something to do and someone to hang out with. There are many ways to get involved around campus and take advantage of the many opportunities that Marymount has to offer. Everyone at this school is very friendly, and the professors are always willing to help.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    self determined students

    Tips for prospective students

    just work hard Marymount will understand if they noticed you put effort into the class.

    Bang for the buck

    hmm depends on the scholarship package.

    Will enjoy being here

    I have family that come here with that added support the sky is the limit.

    Will learn a lot

    with the nations capitalbeing nearby the school enviroment will be reliavle because of the information and the history surrounding the area.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Not saying it isn't a great school, but it is a budget buster.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out and do some major research. It if is in your price range then go for it, but if you have low income, then don't.

    Bang for the buck

    Sort of. It is really expensive, and they don't even give you any money for books.

    Did enjoy being here

    For a little bit. They don't cater to working adults so I constantly had to take filler classes to be full time. The don't give you any financial aid if you're not full time, so that was a major challenge.

    Did learn a lot

    Yes, the teachers are as good as any other school.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety people are really nice and you see them around everywhere checking on people and security.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus, but I know that there are some nearby fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 40 clubs at Marymount. The activities that are set up on campus are always a lot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Fashion students will love it here; we're very big on fashion. We also have a lot of Criminal Justice majors which is great because the FBI and CIA are next door to us.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Midnight Madness and Halloweenfest, which are lots of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    To be honest, Marymount is a bit expensive, but after spending two semesters here, I would say it was worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus and we're right next to DC.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and there are a lot of places on campus to grab food.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live, the dorms are quiet and spacious. The dorm I have now is just fine.

    Academic Rigor

    I know I struggled a bit with a few of my classes, but I've pulled through by attending SI sessions and asking for help. Marymount is a great place to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out. You will gain so much from attending Marymount.

    In three sentences

    It is a great university right next to the Capitol. It's small enough that I know everybody and made a lot of friends. The classes are small enough that my teachers know who I am.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I met an officer at orientation and he actually offered his personal contact information. Campus Safety truly cares about every student, on and off duty.

    Greek Life

    I haven't seen any here, and I'm okay with that. Marymount feels like a community for everyone to join without excluding anyone. There is a small prescence of Greek chapters, but no dorms for them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs! Check them out. As an incoming freshman, I have exploring left to do, but so far, I'm satisfied.

    Great for these types of students

    Marymount's great for all types of students. It's great to have a school diverse in types of students. If you procrastinate, you might meet someone who spends all their time in the library. The two of you could rub off on each other and create two students with perfectly balanced lives.

    Bang for the buck

    I suppose it can be expensive, depending on one's point of view, but there are tons of scholarship opportunities, student employment, work study, and internship opportunities. If you work hard, you can make things work and Marymount is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many, many clubs for students to join and you can always find orgagnized activities around campus. However, if you feel like exploring, Marymount is only a short shuttle + Metro ride away to Washington D.C! The possibilities are endless and the shuttle runs every fifteen minutues.

    Food and Dining

    Marymount University supplies students with amazing cooks and chefs in all of its dining halls. There are even different types of dining, from restaurant style with a menu and specials to buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    Due to renovations, I have yet to see the dorm that I'll be staying in, but the overnight orientation in a different dorm was nice. The building was located close to every other building on campus. It'd be near impossible to get lost.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only attended mock classes during orientation so far, but it was great and very interactive with the professor and my classmates. I made friends in class without breaking any rules because we were encouraged to talk with each other! And the course list is neverending so you can always be academicall challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest going to see the campus on Senior Day; that's when I made up my mind to apply. The school's constantly evolving to form a better Marymount University.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus and the size is just perfect to feel big, but not intimidating. Every faculty member and student has been nothing less than fantastic and very outgoing. Before moving in, I already feel like I'm a part of the community.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are easy to talk to! They are really there to protect your safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    homecoming, saudi night, bollywood night, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    well you could share your stuff with your room mate. plan accordingly when you do this.

    What to do for fun

    hang out in Washington d.c., go to plays, movie nights, and night clubs

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay. It could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Life was great in my dorm. People respected each others space. Be on a look out on what you say because people might be able to hear what you say.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take, depends on the rigor of the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont fall for the peer pressure to drink and smoke. Be yourself. Worry about your grades.

    In three sentences

    Great place for fashion majors. Great location to get involved in Washington D.C.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    -get a meal plan thats a little more than enough -dont get sucked into the party seen (its ok sometimes but not every night) -TALK TO YOUR ADVISORS OFTEN

    Am enjoying being here

    I meet people from all over the world. I love that MU is so diverse.

    Am learning a lot

    Im a graphic design student and the advisors for arts ad science are VERY helpful. They help you map out the classes to take and help you stay on track

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus safety on site at all hours and all students definitely feel safe no matter where they go.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join as many as possible!

    Great for these types of students

    Marymount is great for the types of students that want to be able to have good and available communication with professors. The professors will get to know you personally and offer office hours if any student is in need of any kind of assistance. All the professors are very personable, and some even offer their personal cell phone number to get in touch with them for homework help or emergencies.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a good solid education at Marymount University, but a lot of students take it for granted. If you are paying roughly $25,000 a year for tuition, students need to really take full advantage of all the services Marymount University offers in order to get the true bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Ballston area for some great dining and bar places, or a quick trip to downtown Washington DC for a great night out on the town.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but not too bad!

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter I haven't had the opportunity to live on campus but I have visited on-campus residents' dorms and have not been too impressed. Marymount is an old school and the dorms are in dire need of touching up.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Marymount University depends a lot on your choice of study. But the program requirements for all majors offer many classes that will put your knowledge to the test. The academic rigor also depends a lot on the professors- some are more easy going, others are very stern.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in school activities as soon as you begin your attendance to Marymount. There are so many clubs and student activities that will surely allow you to experience many new things and meet wonderful people. The more involved you are, the more you will enjoy attending Marymount.

    In three sentences

    Any student, whether on-campus resident or commuter, will feel at home when attending Marymount. Because the student base is so small, its almost like everyone knows everyone and with so much diversity, this is a great way to meet new people and learn about different cultures. The best part about the size of the school is that as a student, you're viewed at as a real person, not a number!

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very friendly and personable. Work hard to ensure safety!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount is very expensive and their financial aid is sub-par.

    What to do for fun

    Marymount is so close to Washington D.C. and the Ballston metro. There are endless possibilities of things to do!

    Food and Dining

    Very expensive!!

    Dorm Life

    So expensive! I had to live off-campus I could not afford to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are top-notch and work hard to help all of their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    E-mail advisors about your prospective classes and the admissions process.

    In three sentences

    Marymount has small class sizes so students get individualized attention. The cohesive environment and excellent advising. They conveniently have multiple campuses all over the DC area.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Not bad if you find something you're passionate about

    Bang for the buck

    Pricy but has a lot of scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Go to DC, hang out in friends dorms

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on where stay at and what your personality is

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you're willing to do your work you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live there don't just stay on campus. Go out to DC when you get the chance.

    In three sentences

    Its a relatively small private Catholic school thats . The majority of the students are commuters. The minimum requirements to get in are very low.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is ok. Their trained staff knows what they are doing and to get people through crisis. They also give tickets.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    What to do for fun

    There is a metro station, Ballston-Marymount University station, that goes into DC. Enjoy DC night life, as well as visit the museums and memorials.

    Food and Dining

    Food is owned by Sodexo and Marymount probably gets food that is a little better than prison food. Not the best food in town, but Ballston is about 2 miles away so you can eat there.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best place for dorm life, with freshman dorm is really old and disgusting, but the New Ostapanko hall is really clean and it is apartment styled, the only downside is that the wall is thin as a paper.

    Academic Rigor

    Marymount is known for their PT and Nursing major. You have to meet their grade for you to pass and graduate with that degree. Despite it's hardness, the professors are always looking the help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a Catholic university that cares for it's student. Despite the small school, it has a lot of well known professors that care about students.

    In three sentences

    Marymount University is a small catholic university that cares about student's learning as well as development. Because of the size there are a lot of unintended drama. Great school for everyone who is looking for a small college.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, but students have little interest in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MIDNIGHT MADNESS

    Bang for the buck

    A little expensive for what you receive but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to DC to the museums for free .

    Food and Dining

    Depends on the day.

    Dorm Life

    Rowley is kind of small but Gerard is nice and offer a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    Faculty tend to have more expectations than adjuncts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you budget money for metro fare, it adds up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Easy to get to know people. Great location, close to DC. The professors are awesome and have a lot of unique knowledge.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is perfect for students who need one on one assitance with assignments. Work well in a small classroom with 30 or so students.

    What to do for fun

    The school is just down the street from the nightlife of Arlington and just outside our nations capital. There are several restaurants, bars, malls, and parks to attend on a day off. A trip to Washington DC to visit the monuments is always an exciting thing to do. The city of Arlington and Washington DC offer events on the weekends ranging from 5k runs, food festivals, baseball games, soccer games, and other fun community activities. There is plenty of things to do in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The course can be a challenge, however, how can we better ourselves without challenges? There will be times where you are overwhelmed with homework, projects, studying, etc. however the professors are their to help you. The LRC is a great place to go for tutoring. I have used it myself and recommend it to others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips: Incoming students, if you are thinking about the opportunity to attend this university please do so. I was born and raised in the area so I am very familiar with the city. It is a very nice town. I have noticed a lot of reviews state that this is not the place to go away to because you will not succeed with the night life in your backyard. With dedication and effort you will do just fine. The university offers great professors who work in small classrooms to assist every student. I excell at this school with the support of my professors. The people here are also great. It is a very diverse school which also gives everyone an opportunity to learn different culture. So I ask you take a chance visit the school and get to know your professors. Look forward to the new incoming students on campus!

    In three sentences

    Student centered univerity. It strives on working with each student in the classroom. Small and local it is a great school to attend.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    An arrest or two has taken place in the year I have been there...

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a part of Delta Epsilon Sigma, and it is great so far.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know any, I have only been there for a year.

    Bang for the buck

    I am happy with the education I am getting here. It is a lot of money though.

    What to do for fun

    I don't participate in much of the extra-curriculars here.

    Food and Dining

    The food court is acceptable, there could be more options.

    Academic Rigor

    4 1/2 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good school, especially if you are student looking to get a Master's in Interior Design and don't have an undergraduate degree in Interior Design.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a good school that challenges me to do my best. I really enjoy the program that is offered since it is unique and tailored to my situation. Professors are good but the facilities could be a bit better.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    mall near by

    Tips for prospective students

    nice school

    In three sentences

    it right near my home

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a safety guard house as soon as you come in and to get into the buildings you need a marymount pass.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and you can even create one, you just have to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want a good education, want to live in the city, be involved in sports(other than football), and if you have a good GPA and SAT score the scholarships are nice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its a catholic school so there is a chapel and they hold mass every day, so its great if you are religious. The gym is nice and there is a pool but its kind of small. For Halloween there is a big thing where kids come in to get candy and there are scary parts for the kids, it is a lot of fun to be a leader.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount is a very good school depending on what you are looking for. If you are looking for a movie college experience then its not really at Marymount because there is no football team and school spirit isn't too big. But the school is great, sports teams are fun. Its super expensive but they offer scholarships and financial aid opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club and make friends! lots of activities on campus and sports to play. There are great events all around the year from learning how to dance, to work outs, to charity events and more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a buffet that is expensive for commuters but always has soooo much to offer. Balston campus always has yummy food and get the most for your buck. I love Lola's sandwiches and they come with chips.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm but I have been in them with friends and they are super small but I have heard they always have a good time in them. Hopefully you like your room mates though, that is what makes or breaks the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher your class can either be very chill or will work you a lot. Over all very good academically and makes learning interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    For commuters like me- Dont take early classes!! getting up early is torture! Do your HW and try not to procrastinate... even though we all end up doing it.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is very friendly and the guidance counselors are amazing, at least mine is! The classes are small and teachers take the time to know your name. Campus is nice and the area is near dc so there is always something fun to do.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The neighborhood itself is pretty safe. Dorms need cards for access. Security is always around. There's usually always someone at the entrance to see who is coming in too. The campus is also tobacco-free so I guess that contributes to your safety in some way.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, Roman life maybe because it's a Catholic university.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 30 clubs for student participation such as the fashion club and gaming club. The process is also very easy to start a new club. There are also sports and intramurals.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like to serve will feel right at home here. Service is just as important to Marymount as your education.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth the money and you get a lot from your time spent here. You have access to people, events, and attractions that only D.C. has to offer. Also, Marymount is active in providing what their students need and want. Many renovations are underway. They have a shuttle bus that takes you to the metro. They also try to have many events within each month such as dances, concerts, comedy shows, and sporting events.

    What to do for fun

    Want to go clubbing? Your twenty minutes away from one of the hottest club scenes in the country. You like concerts? The music scene is just as big. Want to stay on campus? You can play ball in the gym or on the field, eat and enjoy live performances at the cafe, or hit up a party up in the apartments.

    Food and Dining

    There is something for everybody. The food is healthy and above average for college standards. Marymount has a diverse population and they factor that into their selections by offering many international dishes and options for vegans/vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    Simple. There won't be a lot of parties and crazy stuff happening but it's not completely boring. First year boys and girls are in separate dorms but they are not far from each other. You can socialize in rooms or in the lounge but there are so many things to do you probably won't want to stay in that often when you're not studying.

    Academic Rigor

    No pressure whatsoever. Marymount starts off students in the classes they belong and the classes will prepare you for whatever comes next. The majority of students here have a lot of free time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your scholarship game up because Marymount is expensive. Also, come with a lot of energy! Marymount isn't all that interested in couch potatoes. Students here are active and involved which helps keep the campus fun and interesting.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a culturally diverse Catholic university right outside D.C. Here you will feel like you are a part of one big family and you can feel comfortable to talk to anyone. Marymount works hard to produce the most capable graduates and has a passion for serving the community.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved on campus or go explore DC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really just evaluate if a smaller campus fits you better, that's what my decision came down to. There is plenty to get involved in at Marymount and a lot to see in the surrounding area. The quality education is there, so really it's just a matter of not being another face in the crowd. You have the ability to stand out at Marymount, that is what helped make my decision.

    In three sentences

    Great location. Great internship opportunities. Great individuality.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist

    Bang for the buck

    Its pretty expensive. It becomes significantly less expensive because they are usually generous with scholarships and fafsa. I'm not gonna lie, you could go somewhere else and get the same thing cheaper. the programs aren't anything spectacular or out of this world, but with the right amount of financial aid, you should be fine.

    What to do for fun

    There are events posted on the board all the time you can go to, though they are rarely booked up. Join clubs, that's the most fun you'll probably have. Take a swim, go to the gym. Etc

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good at first, but gets old after a while, which is to be expected. The main dining hall closes early so I'd have food in your room just in case you get hungry when its late.

    Dorm Life

    If you're a freshman boy, you'll stay in Berg hall, which is decent. The rooms are kind of smaller than i would like but the beds are comfortable.There are community bathrooms and a kitchen on every floor. There are apartments on campus, but they're alot more expensive than every other dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't too bad depending on your major. You pretty much take general classes with maybe one or two major related courses. As long as you don't lollygag and get the work done, you'll be fine. With a little time management, its not that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in partying and lively events every week, this is not the school for you. I suggest joining as many clubs as possible so you wont spend all your time just going to class and studying. Marymount is what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    A small university, that has offers a variety of majors that everyone would like. Not huge on school spirit, but its to you make the best out of it. If you're looking for an intimate university with small classes with good programs, Marymount is probably the school for you.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    it doesnt exist

    What to do for fun

    Go out to DC, no on campus events

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont go here

    In three sentences

    This school is horrible, I hate everything about it.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small. And the campus is very safe. And the campus safety officer Marco is the best!!

    Greek Life

    There's not a Greek Life at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    Fashion Majors, Lacrosse and Basketball Players, and Biology/Nursing/Pre-Physical Therapy Majors.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do for fun is to get off campus! Go explore the city of Washington D.C. via the Metro. The Metro is the best way to travel around the city. D.C. and the surrounding cities are full of amazing restaurants, clubs, stores, theaters, museums and anything else you could possibly ever want!

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good! There are plenty of options of things to eat for every meal. Plus the staff in the dinning hall are amazing and so funny!

    Dorm Life

    My experience of living in Rowley, the all girls dorm, was far from good. All year the building was under construction. The construction started at 6am and lasted until 5pm. During the summer, it is terribly hot. And the small amount of washer and dryers does not cater to the hundreds of students who need to use them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not terribly difficult but they keep you busy. Some words of wisdom, its easier to keep up then it is to catch up!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get active from the beginning! By becoming active, you meet other students and upperclassmen. Don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. If you want to try something new and different, go for it! The older students are very accepting, nice, and helpful!

    In three sentences

    A small but great community of students and teachers. The amazing location near Washington D.C is full of various opportunities. By the end of the year you will know everyone!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe UPPER middle class neighborhood

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small school feel (think IVY league class sizes) without having to pay as much.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a good education in a great location with really great internships and potential jobs while attending a small suburban school that is devoted to your success and has really great class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    Go in to D.C. See the sites, museums, walk around the national mall. There are plenty of movie theaters and malls, and all the normal things to do for fun. Beaches are a few hours away, as are skiing, etc. You can go to NYC for a weekend via bus for as little as $15 each way.

    Food and Dining

    The food always makes me sick when I have to eat it, and it doesn't satisfy enough to make up for that, despite several changes in menu and vendor. Buy your own food as much as you can.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very outdated compared to some schools, and not always in a charming way. They are in the process of updating the dorms, almost constantly, so be prepared for that. Again, no expectations and expect the unexpected.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers make it easier to get away with not coming to class, but they still expect you to know the curriculum and know it well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never base Marymount on other schools, because the number one rule to survive Marymount is don't have expectations and expect the unexpected.

    In three sentences

    The professors are wonderful and very invested in your success. The location couldn't be better, in suburbs right next to Washington D.C. The food at the cafeteria is terrible, plan on spending money on your own food/takeout.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From what I've seen, the security systems at the school and what the dorm students have to go through, I think they have pretty good safety.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, I don't know much about the greek life in this school yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to join. During orientation they tell you all the different clubs that you can sign up for. And weekly events and activities are listed at the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all type of students. I don't think a certain kind of person is going to fit in better than another type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't really discovered any unusual traditions at the school yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a private school the tuition and total costs are going to be a little expensive, but the school offers a lot of scholarships for the student that the cost will seem like any other college or university.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to choose from, it's hard to not stay busy during your free time.

    Food and Dining

    I personally love the food they offer at the university. They don't just offer fast food choices, but they also have healthy choices on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    Since I am a commuter I can't really rate the dorm life. Although when I went for orientation the dorms did look kind of small compared to other universities.

    Academic Rigor

    I can�t speak for the whole university, but being a freshman I don't think it is that hard. Although the difficulty might increase depending on the type of classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would give is to be to visit the campus, since it can get a bit confusing at first.

    In three sentences

    During my first semester in Marymount everything seems to be going great. One of the best things to be is that the professors know that freshman are adjusting to the school and respect that with no trouble. I definitely think that I am going to stay here for my undergraduate degree and maybe even my graduate.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Hard work and dedication will pay off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trust the guidance and recommendations by your student advisor. They will help you navigate through your college career quickly and efficiently.

    In three sentences

    Marymount University is diverse. The Professors are nurturing. The courses offered are challenging.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do off-campus and they bus runs until 2 AM on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The foods not bad but I don't really eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't like it. They aren't bad but I prefer to live on my own. It also could get pretty loud at night.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do the work, there is no reason to fail the class. Also, the teachers are very understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to pick classes right when they become available and don't wait.

    In three sentences

    It's a good little school, with small classes. There is a lot to do around the campus and off campus. It's a very quiet little campus.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a chapel were one can go.

    What to do for fun

    After school activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help when you need it because someone is always there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Marymount University is a place to be were you are treated with kindness and respect. All professors are there to help you and make sure they are there when you need them. It's a school I would recommend to future students who are getting ready to attend college.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not enrolled so I do not know

    Greek Life

    I have not enrolled

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not enrolled

    Great for these types of students

    Me I guess because I have been accepted,but yet again I have not enrolled

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know because of the fact that I have not enrolled

    Bang for the buck

    It accepted me,and I am glad about it.

    What to do for fun

    Its literally outside of D.C.,you'll figure it out.

    Food and Dining

    Have not eaten any,because again, I have not enrolled.

    Dorm Life

    Have not enrolled

    Academic Rigor

    Have not enrolled

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply,and do what you have to do to be noticed,and stay involved you never know who's watching. The order

    In three sentences

    It is a seemingly good school,being that I have not enrolled,but from my visit I can see that the core is pretty solid,and any school that accepts me is cool with me.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore DC, join clubs, volunteer.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't the greatest but it is edible and there is always something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be better but that's the case with almost every school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are probably on the same level as most schools, not too hard but not too easy either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Marymount is a great fit for all levels, just apply!

    In three sentences

    Marymount is a small school with a superb location just outside of Washington DC. It offers a very close knit community and personalized experience you won't find at some larger schools. Classes are small and you really get to know your professors.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe.

    Greek Life

    There is currently no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I participated in the Spirit Crew and I am currently the treasurer for the Residential Hall Association.

    Great for these types of students

    People who would enjoy small class sizes, and a chance for building a student professor relationship with professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Free Laundry machines.

    What to do for fun

    Going out to eat, shop, and see attractions around Arlington, VA and D.C.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small family like university located not to far from the nations capital Marymount might be the choice for you.

    In three sentences

    Marymount Univeristy is very diverse school, you get the opportunity to meet people from all over the states. Marymount Univeristy is similar to family like community, you always feel welcomed. Marymount University classes and professors encourage me to keep up with my future dreams.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have mainstream artists such as We The Kings come to perform. Various clubs and organizations. Fashion shows. An entertainment center with pool tables, pool, and places to socialize.

    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of varieties of places to choose from. A Panera like restuarant, a cafe. Including a new WOW Wingery place. Food is really good. However, the juice in the dining hall has little to no sugar in it.

    Dorm Life

    Gerad Hall is the best for freshman. It is largely spaced and right about the dining hall. So easy access to food. Rowley has an extended room so there is a place for you to study across the hall from your room as well as study rooms in the lower level.

    Academic Rigor

    They do their very best to make sure you are doing well in school. They have tutoring centers and professors are there to help you. As well as academic advisors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best, and manage time wisely! Parents are not there to be on your butt about grades. Always make time to eat and visit the fitness center regularly to avoid Freshman 15!

    In three sentences

    Its a fun yet learning place to be. Food is great! And buildings are newly renovated.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The servers in the cafeteria were absolutely wonderful to speak with! Loved the fro-yo machine and there was a decent variety of foods.

    In three sentences

    Stayed on campus for a week-long camp and it is a gorgeous area, even despite the construction. Love how the campus is completely tobacco-free.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! I take most of my classes at night, and I don't feel uncomfortable while waiting for the shuttle at 10:00 pm at all. The campus is well lit and there are security personnels roaming always.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, I do not participate in any extra curricular activities offered by the university because of my tough schedule, but there are plenty of clubs that one can join in Marymount. That includes: art, music, fashion, dance, a lot of sports, drama, ministry, etc etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are looking for a place where they can learn a whole lot. Those who are looking for a campus that is safe, lively, and friendly. Those who are looking for a smoking free campus. Those who are looking for opportunities to study abroad in the world's best universities (like Oxford) in a student exchange program. Those who are looking for a Christian school, that is basically a Christian institute but has plenty of room for diversity too. Those who want to see a variety of people from around the globe in their classes

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely! I am so glad I chose to go to Marymount for my undergraduate degree. I have learnt so much, made great friends, went to amazing places in the world and learnt about them under the guidance of the best professors there can be. Marymount University is in a location (Washington DC Metropolitan area) where one can find internships with great organizations. With Marymount's good repute, it is not too hard to get these internships as well. Good internship means a jump start to one's career.

    What to do for fun

    I am a full time student and I work full time as well. So, I have not been able to explore this area in particular due to my tight schedule But I know that they have an International Students Group that meets every week. Marymount regularly show movies, especially the ones that just got off the theaters for free. Marymount volunteers a lot to help homeless, children with disabilities, veterans, and seniors in different ways, which can be fun as well as fulfilling. The campus ministry holds meetings regularly, which is a great way not only to learn but to meet new people and make new friends. Also, Marymount University is very close to the Arlington city's heart, where one can find a whole lot fun things to do. Arlington city has one of the most beautiful parks. So, the location of Marymount University adds to the fun too.

    Food and Dining

    Since, I commute, I have not eaten from the campus cafeterias that much. But, whatever I have tried has been good. The cafes are clean and there is plenty of seating area.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, and have not unfortunately visited any either. But, I have friends who live in the dorms and say that they are fine. They are pretty safe. We don't hear any horrible stories of an incident that happened in the dorms. The RA's (Resident Assistants) do a pretty good job in maintaining a good environment for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found Marymount to be excellent when it comes to the academics. The professors are great, and willing to give you the extra help you need to excel in your class. Marymount has a great library as well. Marymount University offers a wide range of studying abroad opportunities, from a week's short term programs to up to two semesters throughout the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are having financial problems and cannot pay the tuition, always talk to the Financial Aid Office. They will help you in whatever possible ways they can. They are very kind and courteous and understand the problems that you might be having--- something that I have found very unusual in this era, where education is a business more than a service. But Marymount still remembers that it is a service first, then, a business. If you do not know which major you would like to take, get enrolled as major Undeclared. Marymount offers great counseling that helps you make the right decision. And you have until mid of your Sophomore year to decide your major. If you are looking for part time jobs, Marymount has plenty to offer on campus. If those do not work for you, talk to someone at the Career Center at Marymount Main Campus, and they will help you look for a job outside Marymount.

    In three sentences

    Marymount University is a not-for-profit organization, and offers a lot of tuition assistance to its students. The campus environment is excellent, with smoking and alcohol prohibited throughout the campuses. Marymount University has one of the best professors in the state.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security close by, but their presence is not overwhelming.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life in Marymount.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Blue Crew is fun and exciting.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody with the desire to be near our nation's capital.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bernie's caf���© and the commuter lounge are great hang out spots, especially for meeting other students.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer many scholarships for incoming freshmen, but it is a bit expensive for students to live on campus, even with some scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    The campus usually has cool things going on. For example, a mentalist performed last night, but you can always catch the train to DC for fun if there's nothing interesting happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The catering company for dining halls sometimes experiments with food with unpleasant results, but they have a wide variety to choose from. The cafes are better and more comfortable.

    Dorm Life

    It is easy to become friends with people in your dorm floor because everyone is welcoming and friendly. The bathrooms and dorms could use some remodeling, but they remain clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging from the first days, but professors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the dorms before making a final decision if you will be living on campus. Decide whether you would be fine with attending a college that is not well known.

    In three sentences

    Marymount is excellent for residents and good for commuters. It always has something interesting and free going on. It has an extremely diverse student body.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Diverse community. It's a great Location. Many opportunities to increase your learning experience.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe and secure even walking around campus really late at night.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs that always have activities going on. The thing you will here most is GET INVOLVED and it impossible not to.

    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student. We are really diverse and everyone will find a place at our university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While Marymount is a small school, we have a pretty good basketball team in our division. Every year to kick off basketball season we gather together for an event called Midnight Madness. During which the spirit club does a dorm storm this involves running up and down the halls of every dorm yelling and banging on the dorm doors in order to get the whole school pumped up for the upcoming events.

    Bang for the buck

    Marymount is not a very expensive university and offers some amount of scholarship and financial aid for almost every student.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going into the city, we have Georgetown and Eastern Market close by and accessible by metro. There are shuttles which run from the university to the metro, so everything is really accessible and I love it. Along with this the university has a diversified collection of clubs and the Association for Campus Events plans trips that any student can attend, including a trip to New York, which is awesome! Whether getting involved on campus, going to see a movie or grabbing a bite to eat you can always find a way to entertain yourself in between your academia.

    Food and Dining

    Really the only downside to the school is the dining hall, don't get the biggest meal plan possible, you will regret it.

    Dorm Life

    I love the whole setting of the campus and what makes the dorm life is the people you are around.

    Academic Rigor

    It is definitely a step up and even though it doesn't have the prestige of an ivy league, I think any university is going to have rigorous academic programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Marymount University, we rock!

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy going to school here, it is a great environment. I love the small school atmosphere and everyone is very friendly, this includes other students and staff. I am proud to be an MU Saint!

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is the best! There is never a feeling of bing scared or feeling like you are in harms way. The President's daughter came to camp last summer and Washington Officials use campus facilities daily.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are social and academic clubs. You are encouraged as an incoming freshman to become involved in activities and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everytype of student on Campus. The only reason you would not find an interest is if you did not want to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As I have just finished my first semester of my freshman, I am sure that there is a lot to learn and ways to become more involved in at MU. One of the things that I thought was neat is that all the dorms and buildings were decorated for Halloween. The resident students donated candy along wiht MU. Underprivileged childeren came to the campus to go trick or treating. If they didn't have costumes, the school provided costumes for the children. The kids were so adorable and excited. It really touched me to feel the energy on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    As Marymount is a private school, the tuition can be pretty expensive. The large amount of accessible networking opportunities, the teaching experiences, and also the available internships provided at the school makes it well worth the investment for your future.

    What to do for fun

    I ride the metro into DC with my friends and teammates. There are so many attractions and sites to visit. There are also great places to eat and shop.

    Food and Dining

    I find that there is a large variety of food choices. Due to the large international student population, it is great to try different cuisines. The only issue that I have as a student athlete is that I usually have daily practice during dinner hours. When I get out of practice at 7:30 - 8:00 pm, the cafe is closed.

    Dorm Life

    All freshman must live in gender specific dormitories. The dorms are clean and welcoming. The RAs make the freshman feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are samll which is an advantage for the students. You are able to become involved in the class and are known by name verses a number. The smaller class size makes it easier to ask questions and not feel intimidated by being in a lareg lecture hall full of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and see what it has to offer for your personal growth as well as academic career. Make sure it is a good fit for you. If your are an athlete, inquire about the posibilities of playing your sport. Talk with current students about their experiences at Marymount.

    In three sentences

    This school is located just minutes form Washington D.C. There are many opportunities for leadership and service within a very diverse community. Marymount inspires the students to become active in the community, to be lifelong learners and leaders who desire to serve and become citizens of the world.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Basically none existent.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Basically it is a hit and a miss, they always have posters hanging up but it is either: 1. Not well attended 2. Or extremely boring.

    Great for these types of students

    People who can not find an excuse not to go here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Too much money for the caliber of education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    Go to D.C., hang out with friends, on campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    It is not that bad, it is a buffet that gets old rather quickly, but occasionally they will mix it up to shut you up.

    Dorm Life

    I do not spend a lot of time in Rowley, but in Berg it is what you make it. It is just a small room with four walls you make it better or worse. It is your choice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not hard, just do your work at the best of your ability and you will do fine. One does not have to be the next Bill Clinton to do well at this university.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of people transfer after their first semester, first or second year; my tip is to make sure you know this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Honestly the school is not all that bad, it really just depends on what you are looking for. If you are the type of person who really is a fan of: grand architecture, a large campus, and school spirit, this school is not for you. How ever if you are looking for a small intimate campus, this may fit you well. Beside Georgetown and the Catholic University of America is just down the road. They are actually making a new metro stop for Georgetown, for greater accessibility. I do recommend you make a trip to GU when you get a chance.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I mean, I don't know i feel pretty safe. This is Arlington, VA

    Greek Life

    None, unfortunately. There's only one sorority, AKA, and the university doesn't even acknowledge its presence on campus. I found out from my RA...because she was in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of interesting clubs on campus that I've joined and they make it super easy for you to make your own club if you find something missing on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    -love DC & want to be near it -want small classes

    Bang for the buck

    Soooo expensive. Not even sure if i'll be able to afford it to come back next year

    What to do for fun

    Parties aren't on campus they are usually at one of the houses, either sports or upperclassmen that live around campus. Going to DC is always a big option since there are shuttles that take you to the Metro station and it's very convenient. Night life in DC is really fun! I love going to concerts and being close to DC with all those concert venues is definitely a bit plus.

    Food and Dining

    They have stuff like pasta bar, fried rice bar, sandwhich bar and etc which is usually pretty good. Sometimes they have healthy Monday and most of the things are disgusting. The Omelet bar is always usually good and their is usually always fries. Their is a salar bar for those who want to be healthy and instead of ice cream they have frozen yogurt. The food is not always the best but i like it enough

    Dorm Life

    I hate my dorm, it's so small. If you want bigger dorms you have to pay a couple of hundreds more which is annoying. Community bathrooms are challenging as I'm not comfortable pooping with people around but you'll snap out of that quickly. Nice lounge but it's very imaginative. Their is just a fridge (that nobody uses) a stove, microwave, a couple of couches and very large TV. I know for a fact that the boys dorm has a pool table but the girls don't have such luxuries.

    Academic Rigor

    What I think is difficult might not be difficult for others so I'm not sure how the best way to answer this. But as I'm not like a nursing major (they have a HUGE load), I don't think my classes are too difficult. The only real challenge I face is time management. If i was good at time management I don't think it would be too hard to get Straight A's or at least close to that. But then again, I'm a Freshman.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club Try to go to all the events they have planned for you as a freshman, you get to meet a lot of people that way

    In three sentences

    The location of Marymount is wonderful. It's in a suburban community so not in middle of nowhere. You can walk to Chipotle, Starbucks which is always nice. The Shuttle system is amazing cause it gets you to the mall, Chipotle and the Metro. There are not many options for food and dining: Only the Caf and like two other places on campus. One of them is just all greasy food which can grow old really fast and the other you have to buy with money. The campus can get quite boring and I know a lot of my friends are thinking of transferring out.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School is fairly safe so campus security consist of students, retired elderly people and normal security guards.

    Greek Life

    Not on campus, affiliated with others schools

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus Ministry History Club Student Government Black Student Association International Club Dance Team Cheer Team Formerly had a Step Team

    Great for these types of students

    Great for highly religious students.

    Bang for the buck

    Other schools offer the same thing for a cheaper price.

    What to do for fun

    Go to D.C. There are parties around twice a year here as well.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of places to eat and the dinning hall closes early (7:30pm), they stop making food at 7:00pm.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what dorm you have you might have a nice room or a very old one. A big one or a small one and they all cost the same. We do not have a lot of dorms on campus. Some are connected to classrooms and offices.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are good but not too challenging, also depends on your major. Majors like nursing and physical therapy are one of the most challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) Not a lot of activities on campus during the weekends. 2.)You can't have a car until Junior year so get familiar with the metro. 3.)Small classes, so the professor will know your name. 4.) Not a lot of options to eat. ( Dinning Hall closes at 7:30), so buy a green box.

    In three sentences

    Marymount University is a small school. Almost 50 percent of the students who go to the school are commuters, transfers from North Virginia Community College, or are from the DMV area ( District of Colombia, Maryland and Virginia). Rooted in the community.

  • 10/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities on campus from comedians to movie nights. Don't forget Marymount is close to the nations capital so if you can't find something you want to do on campus you are still close to endless possibilities.

    Food and Dining

    There are very few dining options so hopefully you like cafeteria food!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and there is a communal bathroom for all freshman dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class and major. I have found that the nursing major is hard and competitive but very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about school and work because if you get behind it will be hard to catch up! Have fun, DC has so many opportunities! College is all about time management.

    In three sentences

    This school is great if you want to go to a small personal setting! I love that my teachers know my name and try to get to know all of the students. Even the president of the university cares about every student here!