Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Maryville College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town. This can't be stressed enough. If something happens, we all know and it is important that a student realize that before arriving. While I think this is great, a person looking to get lost in the crowd and a chance to be alone will find this is not for him or her. Maryville is great and so personable. Professors know their students and it is not uncommon to be invited to their home for a meal. At Maryville, we won't allow you to fall behind because we don't let a friend down. So if your looking for a home, that could be Maryville College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Deadlines!!! Don't let those deadlines pass you by. First to jump on something usually has the best chance so get everything in quick.

    Bang for the buck

    With costs for living and eating, I get all the food I can eat and a bed to sleep. Of course, there is also tuition costs and I definitely get an education worth my money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Due to the size of the school, Maryville is like living in our own community. I love being so together with the entire campus and even if I don't know the person I pass on the sidewalk I can still smile and wave. It is in a nice small town that is so fun and quaint, while at the same time being near a large town that can cover all needs. Also, I have made some friends that I know will stick with me for a lifetime.

    Am learning a lot

    Mostly I have learned about myself and the person I want to be. College life has helped me find my place and I have realized that I want to fill my spot and let others see my light. As a college freshman, I have taken a mixture of classes and delved into some interesting subjects that I have never touched before.

  • 11/14/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 out of 13 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student planning to get a Liberal Arts, Social Science or Humanity degree then you may find a place at Maryville.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would imagine it is sufficient for those pursuing liberal arts, social science, humanities and language degrees, however my advice for science and engineering students is to pick another college. Understand that is indeed a small, rural college and you pretty much have to have transportation available so you can research your projects at good libraries and so you can have a healthy social life.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is unjustifiably overhyped and overpriced. This school fails to understand that occasionally updating your technology is critical to having fruitful science or engineering programs. The library is inadequate just compared to the local town's library, and although you encouraged to use outside research venues the 0.1< MBs internet connection is too slow to get any timely research done. This school has to have tons of money flowing through it because they had just recently built an impressive administration building with a million dollar board room, so I fail to understand why they cannot update the student facilities as they claim are unable to. I did not graduate from this school but I know people who have and have yet to find a job in the career they were planning at this school.

    Did enjoy being here

    This college's student body puts on a show for unity and commradery however this is only true for some. For some it is an insular, elitist community rife with awkward, disingenuous, and uncomfortable social experiences. The student body is highly polarized in political and religious thinking; its hard to live a neutral, questioning perspective and not be alienated by both sides because of your lack of apparent zeal. Dormitory living for is dirty and unpleasant, and you WILL have pay community-issued fines for actions of random hooligans that you could not have possibly have influenced. The cafeteria food was unpalatable and unhealthy. Combining all these aggravations with the dissatisfaction of the science program sums up my negative opinion of this institution.

    Did learn a lot

    This school has excellent, highly respectable teachers mixed with terribly inept teachers and teaching assistants. I've had great teachers in the general education curriculum that have had profound impact on my perspective of education, but my experience here was also spoiled by new, young, recently graduated teachers that did not teach the course adequately and was never clear on his evaluation processes. The library is outdated, the campus computer network is weak and slow, and science department buildings were less furnished than my public high school.

  • 01/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Maryville College is great for any student. There is a diversity in students. The best part is everyone likes each other. It sounds like I'm just being a spokesman for MC, but trust me. I am a two sport athlete here at MC and have never been affiliated with anyone other than athletes Jocks. Now, my best friends are History majors and Art Majors. Trust me Maryville College is right for everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the tuition amount scare you. Maryville College helps anyone who wants to attend financially. Maryville College is a very hard school due to it's pride in academics, but the teachers love their students and help them. With a classroom size of around 20 to 25 students, students get help in the classroom and out of the classroom. Students also have the ability to have one on one meetings with teachers if needed. Again, I love this institution!

    Bang for the buck

    Maryville College is very expensive at a tuition of $38,000. This might scare many prospective students away, but Maryville College has scholarships for everyone! Maryville College gives every student who attends some kind of scholarship. Also, Maryville College has a great academic reputation that is respected by everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Maryville College. Maryville College has become my second home. The teachers are very helpful, and they really care about their students/ students' future. The student body is amazing. Everyone is very nice and polite. Sports and the coaches here are incredible as well. Maryville College has a great view and great atmosphere of the outdoors/Great Smoky Mountains. There is a lot to do here as well on campus and off. I encourage anyone who is interested to invested in this great institution.

    Am learning a lot

    Maryville College taught me how to write a premier college paper. MC also taught me how to manage my time through my freshman classes, faculty, and student body. Maryville College made school interesting and fun through the activities that occur in the classrooms.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constantly security guards around campus that are willing to help you with anything whether you need a ride back to your dorm at 2:00 in the morning, or you lost your phone somewhere on campus. Also, at night, the lighting is amazing. There isn't a single dark spot where you feel unsafe. Another good thing is that since it is such a small campus, you end up knowing everyone or at least know them enough to recognize, so people quickly identify someone that does not belong.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have about 50 clubs on campus, some more known than others. The clubs are constantly putting on different activities for the weekend so that no one gets bored or is alone. Some of the more popular clubs are Ultimate Frisbee, Intramural Sports, Student Programming Board, Student Government Association, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and various academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about your studies, this is your type of college. Also, since it is a liberal arts college, you have to be open to new ideas and beliefs. Many people believe that liberal arts will turn you into a democrat, but thats not true, you just learn how to have an open mind and accept that not everyone believes the same thing as you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the untraditional things here is humans vs zombies. Three times a year, for about two weeks, the students on campus will play a huge game where one person starts out as a zombie and has to try and eat a human. Zombies die out after three days if they don't eat a human, so the game lasts until everyone is a zombie or all the zombies died off.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a science major and I am basically guaranteed a job when I graduate. The Oak Ridge National Laboratory comes to the college requesting students to come work for them, and they will pay for graduate school. No matter what major you obtain here, the price and rigor in the academics is definitely worth it.

    Food and Dining

    Not the worst food I've ever had, but could definitely be better. They offer many home cooked stations, and they also have the stations that are always there, such as cereal, salad, fruit, pizza, and sandwiches. Overall, good choices, but the quality of food is sometimes questionable.

    Dorm Life

    There is definitely a sense of community here. It's an easy way to get to know people that aren't taking the same classes as you. They also have many dorm parties and activities for everyone to go to, so you're guaranteed to have fun while living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you come from a typical, public high school, it can be rough at times. You quickly learn how to study. No worries though, there are so many tutoring sessions and study groups being led for each class, so if you put in effort, you can pull out at least a C. It may seem hard while you're doing it, but when you get to your thesis and comps, it will seem like a breeze because they prepared you so well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your classes, get to know your professors, and get involved with the different activities and recreational sports they offer.

    In three sentences

    Maryville College is a beautiful, historical college; every building tells a different story. You learn so much in your four years here and you graduate knowing all your professors, and some you didn't even have, on a personal level. Beware though: academics have to come first here in order to do well.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have 24/7 security. There is always a couple security guards on campus and roaming around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a festival each year called the highland games. People from all over the country come to join. It is a great deal of fun and you get to dress up in traditional outfits and play the games they play in Scotland.

    What to do for fun

    You can go camping, biking, sledding (when snowing), hiking, and swimming in or near the mountains. There are also a lot of off campus volunteer opportunities the professors will help you become apart of.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food and a good selection, coffee not too great in the dining hall though. Other than that a great tasting experience.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone in the dorms seem really close and they are nice clean dorms but a little old which just adds character to the building and the environment.

    Academic Rigor

    A very good college but not a hard amount of work. From what I have seen the teachers help with anything you need and don't over load you with work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking early and apply for as many scholarships as you can. Don't make money the reason you can't go. Also relax don't stress too much you will be fine as long as you do what you have to do and get everything in by the deadlines. Don't wait till the last minute.

    In three sentences

    Maryville is a beautiful college and has amazing opportunities. Every time i call the people are nice on the phone and answer any questions you need answered, if they don't know the answers they will look it up and get back to you by email in the next couple of hours. I could not be more excited about attending next year.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't know. I'm a commuter.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's so expensive so get as many scholarships as you can. EMAIL, EMAIL, EMAIL!!!

    In three sentences

    The academics are challenging. You get one on one experience because it's a small, private school. The choir is awesome.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    people who do not want a big school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bagpipers

    What to do for fun

    go to the sporting events

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to a school that is basically like HS, this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Maryville college is extremely small. No variety in food options and it is boring.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have everything you need in this small town from a movie theater, to a mall, and even a bowling ally. We are also 20min from Knoxville if you want a larger city scene.

    Food and Dining

    Between Pearsons and Issics there is always something to fulfill your taste needs at the time.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone lives on campus so there is never a dull moment.

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a great small school with few students this is a great school. It is focused on making sure every student succeeds in their highest way possible. This is done by our small student to teacher ratio (15:1)

    In three sentences

    Marville college is a great community! Everyone is friendly and will love to get to know you and help you in anyway possible. The teachers and students are also great at teaching you new ways to stretch your mind.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does a great job of making sure the campus is safe. They patrol the campus and you will often see them around campus and you get to know them. Also, if you need them at any time they are only a phone call away.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alpha Psi Omega (Drama) Alternative Fall Break Alternative Spring Break American Chemical Society Association of Computing Machinery Beta Beta Beta (Biology) Biology Club Black Student Association Campus Commuters and Friends Cheerleading Chilhowean (Yearbook) Circle K College Democrats College Republicans Craftivists Cru Culinary Club Deutsche AG El Club de Espanol Entrepreneurship Club Environmental Action Team Erskine Tutors Face AIDS Fellowship of Christian Athletes Global Citizenship Organization GSA (Gay-Straight Alliance) Habitat for Humanity Highland Echo (Newspaper) Highland Leadership Program History Society / Phi Alpha Theta Humans v. Zombies Impressions (Literary Magazine) Intervarsity Christian Fellowship Intramural Sports Japanese Club Judicial Board MC Badminton Club MC Dance Ensemble MC Equestrian Team MC Futbol Club MC Libertarians MC Literacy Corps MC Scots Pep Band Model UN Mountain Challenge No Woman Left Behind Non-Profit Leadership Alliance Omicron Delta Kappa (Leadership) P.E.A.C.E. Peace & World Concerns Peer Mentors (Orientation) Philosophy Club Progressive Christian Community Psi Chi (Psychology) Residence Hall Association Scotties Dance Team Sigma Lambda Kappa (Sign Language) Sigma Tau Delta Sisters in Spirit (Women's Issues) Ski and Snowboarding Club Student Government Association Student Programming Board The Bicycle Club Ultimate Club Up 'til Dawn Voices of Praise

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of person. Since Maryville is a liberal arts college, you get the chance to meet a variety of people from different places over the world. The main thing is to be very open minded.

    Bang for the buck

    Maryville College is definitely worth the money. The staff and students are very welcoming and you feel like a family versus another number.

    What to do for fun

    If you like the outdoors you can go into the woods around the campus. If you prefer the city then there is not much and many people go to Knoxville for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are two options for food, one is like a buffet style where they have multiple options everyday ranging from pizza to a salad bar. The second option is more like a fast food place where you can sit and watch television while you experience a relaxed atmosphere. The options for food is set in a menu and there is little variety.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshman dorms are nice to live in and there is enough space to live comfortably. The Upperclassmen buildings are newly built and the living accommodations are greatly increased, it's almost like living in a hotel.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you to think outside the box and with all the diversity, you will be exposed to new ways of thinking. The teachers will help you reach your potential by helping any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to go to Maryville, then I suggest that you try to get into activities that you enjoy and that way you make new friends who share your interests.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town is super safe with little to no crime normally. We had an odd outbreak of petty theft my freshman year. The campus security staff is amazing. They are there for you anytime of day or night for the most insignificant events. I once got a ride back to my residence hall from a distant parking lot at night on the security golf cart. They rock.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent. However, secret greek life exists quietly on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a little more from their higher education staff, but with a smaller number of undergraduates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an outdoor classroom where some professors will hold lectures on days with great weather. We are also growing our own campus orchard and garden to be used in the dining halls.

    Bang for the buck

    One word: OVERPRICED

    What to do for fun

    The Smokey Mountains are basically your backyard while attending! Knoxville is super close and offers nightlife, a large mall, and other entertainment options.

    Food and Dining

    Limited options, but decent for the size of the school. You can only expect so much from a tiny college.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's will make you feel right at home, and the residence halls build a great sense of community. You will never be packed into an impersonal dorm. All residence buildings are key card entry only so that unauthorized guests can't get in.

    Academic Rigor

    If you like a liberal arts education, then the academic rigor is awesome. However, those students not looking to take a lot of general education courses may want to reconsider this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit MC before you make up your mind. Seeing the campus and the community is what finalized my decision to go here. It really does help decide if the school is right for you!

    In three sentences

    Maryville College is expensive, but with the right amount of scholarships it will be more than worth it in the end. Small class sizes, strong community, and exceptional professors will make you feel like you truly belong here. The pros outweigh the cons, but a few downsides are inconsistent food quality and no greek life.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Maryville College campus is very safe for two reasons. First we have 24 hour patrolling and 2nd Blount County Sheriffs Department is 1 block away so being safe is not a problem

    Clubs and Activities

    Right now just studying and playing ball is all I do right now.

    Great for these types of students

    Guys

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really like that once a month your parents or grandparents were mailed out paper work to receive baskets with lots of food and once you hit college life a basket full of food is just what your looking for on a late night of studying.

    What to do for fun

    I Play Basketball what else is their to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good but not quiet like Moms. 3 star

    Dorm Life

    Great and Wonderful. WHat a great way to meet new people plus have study buddies to work with. 5 star

    Academic Rigor

    Study,Study,Study 5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepared and try your best to live on campus so inbetween classes you have somewhere to go to study or rest and then still be able to make that very next class.

    In three sentences

    Maryville College is a school that demands alot of studying as well as a must to attend all your classes rain or shine. Maryville College is giving me the opportunity to study English which I love studying. Maryville College is also giving me the chance to play basketball so that oneday when I become a coach I can say I went to the best college around Maryville College.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Wish they had a swim team.

    What to do for fun

    Lots to do if you like the outdoors, hiking, white water rafting and a mounting challenge course right on campus. Maryville is the foothills of the Smokies. And if you like the city life, Knoxville is only a short drive with a variety of exciting night life activities to choose from. There is always a concert or show of some kind around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the course listings and make sure your required courses for graduate school will be offered.

    In three sentences

    Great campus location in the Smokey Mountains. Small class sizes with caring instructors. Cafeteria food isn't the best but lots of local choices for those late night cravings.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is very helpful and take their jobs very seriously.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to join and do. More clubs are being added each year, and the college likes to plan activities for both the students on and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to challenge themselves, for those who like a closer community, those who like small student to teacher ratio, and who like the arts and writing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Supposedly some of the buildings are haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    The school may be expensive but you definitely get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall near by which contains a movie theater. It is located in downtown Maryville which is right outside the city of Knoxville. There is plenty to do ranging from a park within walking distance or going to the mountains and into Ober Gatlenburg.

    Food and Dining

    The food contains a wide variety of choices. Sometimes the choices are worse than others but all in all it is not terribly bad.

    Dorm Life

    The other students do a great job at welcoming new students and creating a warm environment. There are people there to help you adjust to life at college and to help you with any problem that may arise.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes prove a much bigger challenge than others. It is a very writing intensive school which requires a senior thesis paper. The classes can contain a very heavy load, but so long as you study and do your homework it can be overcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maryville is a very good school if you are looking for a lower student to teacher ratio, and if you are looking for a close knit community. The faculty and staff will do everything they can in order to help you so long as you seek the help. The students are friendly and inviting.

    In three sentences

    It is a very welcoming community with people that will do what ever they can to help you through the struggles of college. The board of directors are very helpful and welcoming as well as many of the other staff. There is a very wide variety of possible majors and being undecided isn't as big of a problem for first time students.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Unlike most colleges, Maryville does not have Greek Life.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price tag for Maryville College is usually around 42,000 dollars a year for people who stay on campus, the average that a person actually pays after financial aid and scholarships is usually around 5,000-15,000 dollars a year.

    What to do for fun

    The weekends are usually a bit dull because there is not a whole lot to do on campus. There are a lot of athletic events on campus as well as events held by different clubs and organizations every-so-often. The Great Smokey Mountains and Knoxville are really close by and are top hits for where to go on the weekend. A little farther down the way is Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. These are usually all day trips.

    Food and Dining

    Although the dining services have greatly improved since two years ago, there is still a toss up on the day whether you will need to run off campus to be full or can actually eat your fill at the dining halls. There are two different dining halls. One is an all you can eat more home style kind of food while the other is one meal and is burgers and pizza.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are very old and have quite a lot of maintenance issues. If it rains for awhile, the roofs leak and mold can be an issue. the upperclassmen dorms are a lot nicer and have elevators, unlike the freshman dorms. All the dorms are four stories.

    Academic Rigor

    Maryville College has a very challenging curriculum that pushes students to sometimes spend upwards of 7-10 hours a day studying depending on their class schedule. Finals week, it is not uncommon to have to pull several all nighters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have time management skills and the right mind set. It takes a lot of dedication to course work.

    In three sentences

    Maryville College is a small liberal arts college that has a huge focus on community among the students. The college is a small campus and students can have the ability to communicate directly and often with professors.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY EARY

    In three sentences

    Very Helpful in sorting out the hassles of scholarships and financial aid! Beautiful campus! Close knitted and unique!

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always patrolling the campus, but there are hardly any problems besides parking tickets. Maryville, TN itself is a very safe city, and the college campus is even more so.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life through campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a long list of clubs students can participate in, and there is always something to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a close-knit community and challenging academic curriculum will thrive at Maryville College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Maryville College holds an enormous outdoor space and has acres of woods in which students can enjoy the trails, orchards, and ropes course.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private institution so you will be paying a premium, but it is worth it. The education is very in-depth and the diploma will hold merit.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events on campus, people playing outside, sporting events, and other activities to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food is ok. It is definitely college food, but there is a huge effort by the college being made to make the food better and of a higher quality.

    Dorm Life

    Maryville College requires that all students live either on campus or with a spouse or guardian which creates a huge sense of community and fellowship among the students. There is always a group of people doing something outside if the weather permits, and anyone is welcome to join in.

    Academic Rigor

    Maryville College strives to achieve a high level of academic rigor, but they give you every possible tool and opportunity for success. In today's job climate, employers are more willing to look at those with a liberal arts education, and one from a prestigious, challenging institution such as Maryville College holds a lot of merit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! The campus is wonderful, and professors are more than willing to allow prospective students to sit in on classes and ask questions. Staying overnight with a current student is a great way to get a feel for the community atmosphere on campus.

    In three sentences

    Maryville College is a small, private, liberal-arts college nestled in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains. It challenges you not only in the classroom but also through extra curricular activities, sports, student discussions, among other opportunities. All of the students know each other, and there are many opportunities for growth in and out of the classroom.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security always around. You have to have an electronic id card to get inside residence halls.

    Clubs and Activities

    Black Student Alliance. Fellowship for Christian athletes. Voices of Praise. Gay Student Alliance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Touch a rock as a freshman that men pee on beforehand. Hiking, water rafting, and other outside events required the first week as a freshman.

    Bang for the buck

    Most student events are FREE such as plays, dance ensembles, and concerts.

    What to do for fun

    Go to knoxville. Attend sporting events. Find a social circle.

    Food and Dining

    Choose options wisely. Switch up food places. Do not use up the bonus bucks so soon.

    Dorm Life

    Be social. Bring a shower caddy. Attend the events that your RA assigns for a better connection.

    Academic Rigor

    Study hard. Keep up with deadlines. Participate heavily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. Have a plan (choose your major within the first year preferably). Expect one-on-one with teachers and a solid foundation.

    In three sentences

    A great way towards higher education and writing intensive.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour security guards on campus. Anytime a student needs them they are only one phone call away. and also to mention the police station is not that far from campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life permitted on campus. Because MC puts such strong emphasis on community they feel as though Greek Life goes against that. Of course I have my own opinion on the matter and its simply this. I feel as though they are only seeing the negative aspects of what Greek Life brings and not the positive. Greek Life has major benefits for not only the students but the school itself.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost any person on campus can find a club or activity that interests them on campus. and if they cant its very easy for them to start one up. There are clubs ranging from academics to multicultural religion politics sports etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Cooper success center is for athletes who need academic help in any area studied on campus. If youre a student with test anxiety or just need academic help there is a learning center, Study Groups assigned by professors on campus. For students who are strong in faith on campus a lot of organizations are available for that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I dont know if you would consider this weird but the first Wednesday of the school year MC has a convocation. Its a worship service mainly dedicated to the new freshman and transfers so that they can experience the Presbyterian background which Maryville College is based upon. The campus minister brings the sermon. Maryville College has woods on campus and within those woods we have a house. The House in the Woods its very easy to find and students often walk there to just relax. Also within the woods is a creek and open field which is amazingl gorgeous.

    Bang for the buck

    Every student who applies and is admitted receives some sort of scholarship. Maryville Knows Tuition is high and tries to help as much as possible.

    What to do for fun

    MC has many clubs and organizations that plan events to keep campus fun and alive. The student programming board does majority of these activities other wise there are always games going on whether its football in the fall basketball in the winter baseball/softball/soccer in the spring.

    Food and Dining

    There are two main spots to eat at on MC campus. The official dining hall is Pearsons dining hall which is a buffet style. Its broken down into approximately 8 stations I believe. Two station are do it yourself stations where you get whatever made for you how you want right then and there ( Stir frys, pastas etc.) there is also a sandwich station where you can get a sandwich made grilled or cold. there is also an omolet station. two main lines where you get your main dishes a cereal bar and a salad station. The staff tries really hard to accomodate to student choices but most times they fail in my opinion. Thats why a lot of students eat in the student cafe called Isaacs. they serve mainly on the go food such as burgers fries etc.

    Dorm Life

    At MC there aren't dorms. They are called Residence Halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Any student who is looking at MC , attends MC, or has graduted knows the challenge MC brings. The work load is heavy but the intent of the heaviness is what is going to pay off. MC is a liberal arts college meaning they give their students a broad range of knowledge so that they may be able to go into almost any field of work after graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maryville College challenges you in more than just academics. They challenge you in life lessons. They give you a real chance to find the person you realy are. Don't be afraid to embrace it. MC is a huge support system and will become the family you never knew you had.

    In three sentences

    Maryville College is small in stature but strong in academics and community.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton to do for fun at Maryville College. One thing that everyone has to participate in at Maryville is Mountain Challenge and this opportunity is something no one wants to miss out on. Maryville College has something for every student to participate in almost every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Maryville College is great you can eat at either of the two dinning halls and if your a commuter its pretty cheap to eat there for all three meals.

    Academic Rigor

    Maryville College is not an easy school but all the classes you take will help you in your future.

    In three sentences

    I love Maryville College and hope to continue my education here for three more years. Opportunities at Maryville College are endless and they encourage you to come out of your comfort zone. Maryville College holds high to its standards but there is always someone there to help you along the way.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to find their niche.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education with lots of opportunity for scholarship monies.

    What to do for fun

    Since Maryville is close to Knoxville, anything is available. Outdoor activities abound, any sports that you wish to participate in are here and lots of areas just for walks or reflection. There are also always activities on campus for any interest!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and there is always plenty.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy the camaraderie of dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are definity challenging, but assistance is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you live on campus- it is the best way to get to know people and have the complete college experience.

    In three sentences

    Maryville is located in the scenic Smokey mountains. It provides a high quality education with a personal touch. Anyone that is looking for one-on-one attention can find it here.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does a great job with helping students from giving rides across campus when it's raining to patrolling campus if there are potential threats. A safe campus overall, there are not a lot of dangers here. One time, we did have a bear come on campus, but that was taken care of quickly and no harm came to anyone.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    They have everything from Zombie battles to boxing tournaments. Just have to sign up and see what is coming up. The campus Residence directors are always trying to get people involved. There's volunteer opportunities and work opportunities, internships and other ways to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Thespians, Athletes, Outdoors men/women, Music majors, and that's about it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Top of the World, one of the prettiest spots I have ever seen. It's a drive up to the mountain to see over Tennessee. It's absolutely beautiful at night. Probably some of my happiest memories are at the Top of the World.

    What to do for fun

    We are 30 minutes from Knoxville and 30 minutes from the Smoky Mountains. If you enjoy the more outdoorsy stuff there is always hiking, biking, canoeing, and things like that if you want to make a short drive. Being 30 minutes from Knoxville is nice because it's near the University of Tennessee campus and near things like theaters and malls. There is always stuff to do if you are willing to do a little exploring and find it.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus, Pearson's and Isaac's. Isaac's is more like fast food, it's nice if you want to grab a quick bite or if you want a late night meal because they stay open until 11pm. Pearson's is like a buffet and they have new stuff to offer everyday. The food is getting better, we are supposed to get a new service provider with better options and better quality. So the food on campus is progressing. As an upper class man you will have a small kitchen, so if you like to cook occasionally there is that option after freshman year.

    Dorm Life

    They are clean, they are small, they are tight knit and responsible resident assistance. The co-ed freshmen building is probably one of the best dorms to get in as a freshmen. Over the next four years the rooms are apartment style and a little more self reliant when it comes to keeping clean. When you get into the upper class men dorms it becomes easy to do laundry because you have the elevators. In the freshmen buildings there are no elevators so the stairs make doing laundry an all day task. The people are pretty cool in general, you get to say 'hi and meet people from everywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    I think this school is challenging. Not all of the freshmen courses seem that rigorous, however, as the years progress the more difficult the courses will be. This school is designed to test you on how well your present information. If you are not a writer this is not the school for you. There are essays upon essays every week you have at least one per class. This school does not believe in scan trons, I did not see one until the end of the year when we had to do teacher evaluations. So if you are not the type of person who does not want to write this will be a difficult school for you to go to.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is extremely small, it is best to learn who your friends are and stick with them the best you can. The school can get really clicky and become exclusive to people and groups of people. I also recommend finding activities that suit your interests, this school has a lot to offer from work opportunities to on campus events.

    In three sentences

    The school's academics are fantastic. The school offers great athletic programs, intramurals, and other activities for the outdoors man. There is always something to do on campus.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always patrolling every single area. The school post the securities number everywhere so in case of emergency you'll be able to contact them.

    Great for these types of students

    Maryville College is a small school. It's like a community where everyone knows each other and usually see each other almost all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    This place is a great college to attend to, you will surely enjoy your college experience her.

    What to do for fun

    If you're not an athlete try doing outdoor activities such as mountain challenge and play in as many intramural sports as possible.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria that is pretty much an all you can eat buffet. You can get whatever you like for as much as you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't really dorms they're more of a residence hall. You have a residence director and a few residence assistants. They try there the best they can do for you to enjoy your time living in the residence hall by usually having activities to get everyone to interact and become closer.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are very tough but it's worth it because by the end of the semester you're more knowledgeable than you started off

    Tips for prospective students

    To keep with this school you have to be assertive when it comes to academics because it is not easy at all. Make friends with every individual that you meet because everyone is very helpful and very friendly.

    In three sentences

    Maryville College academics is very top notch. It's a small school where everyone interacts with each other and allows you to create a lot of bonds. It's an amazing school.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus activities. But off campus there the surrounding town of Maryville. Less than 30 minutes away is downtown Knoxville, where there are many places to go and explore.

    Food and Dining

    there are 2 places to eat on campus. Pearsons which is a buffet style cafeteria. The food is not the best, but if your looking to fill up, that's the place to go. Issacs, where you order your food off a menu. The food is generally pretty ok.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. There are many different dorms that you can live in after freshman year. you make many friends living in the dorms. There are also many activities in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but they are fun, and teachers make it easy for you to follow along.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend classes, Even lectures. Have fun and learn.

    In three sentences

    Maryville college is a great school. The work to help their students in every way they can. The college strives for excellence.