Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Maryville University of Saint Louis Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Maryville specializes in a few different majors: Health Profession students, Education, Business, and Art majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are passionate about your schooling and look to be ahead of everyone else...then this is the college for you! Classes may seem hard, but they are making you the best that you can be. Study, study, study and always ask for help if you are confused....it is there! Have fun it is college and this college is never dull especially for a smaller school!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Maryville may be a bit on the pricey side but you will get your money's worth. The admissions staff looks for ways to assist you with your financial needs as much as possible. You will come out of school being well prepared for the real world and confident with yourself and your abilities!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is never a dull moment at Maryville!! There are activities going on wherever you and there is something for everyone. If you are not interested in any, you can create your own group! The SNL, comedians, and water balloon fights in the Quad will keep you on your toes!

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty and staff of Maryville University provide a great opportunity to learn and achieve more. They want you to do great in the path that you have chosen. Even if you struggle with a subject there are student aides there to provide help along with the very approachable teachers.

  • 11/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -People who like to have some really close friends, not tons of semi-close friends. -Both partiers and non-partiers alike. -People who like to be involved. There are plenty of clubs who need members. -People who love sports. There is so much team spirit. Intramurals are a blast too!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Expect change from yourself. Change isn't always a bad thing. -Stay open-minded about everything. There is so much to explore. -Don't forget to eat and sleep. Believe it or not, it's important. -Have fun. Time goes by much too fast.

    Bang for the buck

    I won't lie, it's expensive, but which college isn't. College is like food. I don't mind paying a lot for it if the quality is good.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never been happier. I made friends within the first day I was on campus and those same people are still my best friends. I consider Maryville my home now. When I go back to my real home, I miss school so much.

    Am learning a lot

    Maryville has helped me figure out who I am and who I am becoming. It sounds a little cheesy when I put it that way but it's true. The people here are so kind and understanding. Everyday I learn something new about either myself, others, or something school related and I love it!

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Im not sure I know what this is

    Great for these types of students

    Chem labs are great and we are getting new bio labs and a swim team

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel in the center of campus

    What to do for fun

    Ping pong, walking on trails, campus events, clubbing in STL.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't miss class.

    In three sentences

    Maryville has great food. It has a personalized teaching structure. It has friendly students.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus has a 24-hour safety policy whom you can call upon at any time. They are always super friendly and willing to help anyone out at any point in time.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Clubs and Activities at Maryville breach from Physical Therapy or Occupational Therapy clubs to A Capella groups, sports clubs, and volunteer groups. There's a little something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a few trails that lead through the woods around campus that bring a little home away from home to all of us small town folks who attend Maryville. We really enjoy this. We also have many deer and geese who like to habitat on campus that will walk down our roads and bring joy to all of the students.

    Bang for the buck

    Something that gives Maryville their bang for their buck is the outrageous academic program. They offer the best programs around and with the best teachers to accompany them.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, most of Maryville's students attend the comedian nights or movie nights! The campus sets up a movie theatre in our auditorium and we have a night to ourselves after all of our studying.

    Food and Dining

    We recently revamped our dining hall at Maryville and might I say it is just beautiful. You get the opportunity to choose from a variety of different foods from stir-frys to salads to hamburgers and the list just goes on! And if you don't feel like eating inside, we have beautiful outdoor seating for students to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    In Dorm Life at Maryville, there are a variety of activities to become apart of. You can have a roommate of your choosing or of their choosing. The R.A's are always on watch and keep a careful eye on what is going on at all hours.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Maryville are quite challenging...it is one of the 100 top colleges after all! There's no room for slacking off here, which only makes you into more of what you are searching to become.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maryville welcomes each prospective student with open arms. Just within the first few weeks there, you get the opportunity to meet so many other great people who have chosen this college as their home that you will be amazed how many friends you make!

    In three sentences

    Maryville University welcomes all students right away. There are great teachers to learn from, students to become great friends with, and extremely helpful and energetic faculty members always there to help you along the way. Its definitely a home away from home.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No threat of danger, ever. Seriously, the safest campus I've ever seen. Unfortunately, security knows it.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything is small, just like high school. Nothing really great offered. Few make an actual difference in the surrounding community. One of the few lacking parts of the university.

    Great for these types of students

    Straight A, hard working students. Taking short cuts don't work, but the charismatic B students can still thrive here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sledding on the huge hills during winter is wonderful, 100+ people come out and have a huge snowball fight. Don't miss it!

    Bang for the buck

    This university costs a lot of bucks, so there should be a lot of bang, right? Well, some things are great: free movies in auditorium, wet campus, great education, very safe. Some things are not: Slow responding front offices, you must have a car to leave campus because of an on highway location, and because the institution is so tiny you can run out of people you wish to accociate with.

    What to do for fun

    The foam party is a blast at the beginning of the year, and dances throughout the semesters are generally well attended. The apartments are where the parties are at, movie nights in a dorm is always a good time, and St. Louis downtown is within 20 minutes.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is wonderful tasting. A gastronomical masterpiece as far as a college cafeteria is concerned. However, finding healthy options can be difficult, especially on weekends.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are one of the safest in the nation. Laptops are left in lobbys and never stolen, no one breaks into dorms, and everyone is generally friendly. Unfortunately, about 1 out of 6 R.A.'s take their job too seriously and will make en effort to ruin good times, alcohol driven, or not. Mostly, there is no complaints. Quiet hours are 10pm to 10am during the week, 12am to 10am on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work hard. An excellent education such as this requires sacrifice, especially if you are in the five year master in occupational therapy, the six year doctorate in physical therapy, the actuarial science program, or nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Socially, be outgoing, all new students are going through the same transition you are. Try to be friendly to anyone you may meet because chances are you'll see the same person twice. Academically, the key is to understand and use the resources available to you. This is not high school and most of your learning will be done on your own, not in class. Make an effort to stop by the Center for Academic Success if you are having any trouble and they will do their very best to help you through tutors, research tips, etc., etc.

    In three sentences

    This small west county university on the outskirts of Saint Louis is known for it's physical therapy, occupational therapy, nursing, sports business management, and actuarial science programs. Because its petite size, there is an influx of St. Louis commuters and campus life is similar to high school in that everyone recognizes everyone. Despite the fact Maryville is a wet campus, this is no party school because academics are so rigorous; not to say good times can't be had.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Accessible to the St. Louis Metropolitan area with its many options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do the work.

    In three sentences

    Maryville University is extremely receptive to the needs of returning students. Its programs reflect the changing global environment and recognizes what students will require to effectively enter, re-enter or advance in the job market. Maryville presents a friendly, welcome face that encourages its students to reach out and connect with other students and their broader community, making the college experience an excellent one.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not had any of the food

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not taken any courses yet.

    In three sentences

    I have just signed up for classes at Maryville for the fall. I find that the staff and the current attending students are very helpful and nice.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I can't tell you that just yet, but I can tell you that the scenery is stunning and there's a lot of trails and trees all around the campus, so I would opt for a walk!

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried the food, but every area that had food on the campus, my mouth watered it smelled so good!

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living in the dorms I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know just yet... but I can't wait!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all of the scholarship opportunities!! And fill out the FAFSA, there are a lot of opportunities for scholarships and grants!

    In three sentences

    I love the school because there's a lot of opportunities for scholarships. The staff is extremely helpful and I really felt like they cared about my future. They offer a wide variety of degrees so the school is well fitted for most students!

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety and custodial staff are two of the most helpful numbers to have for meeting project deadlines. The Campus Safety should be recognized for their 24 hour dedication to keeping students informed and safe!

    Greek Life

    Non existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Poor! Practically nonexistent

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, Self-Starters.. This is the school for you. If you like to party, check into a community college!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I suggest taking the time to walk the trails especially when you feel you have had enough. Maryville is tucked away in a bit of woods and it is worth your time to get in touch with nature.

    Bang for the buck

    For as much as I had to devote to school supplies and tuition, I do not feel I got my money's worth because I do not equate stress with a reward. I would say that some of my classes were worth while and that many of my professors were and still are excellent mentors.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends in your classes... Make homework fun. There is a lot to do academically and not much time for anything else, so enjoy your courses as much as you can!

    Food and Dining

    The food prior to the new Gander Hall dining was delicious. The new system is too repetitive and not very good. I suggest going to the Woods Mills center for tasty, inexpensive eats!

    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus...costly.

    Academic Rigor

    Great courses, lots of work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not enroll unless you have money! A lot of students who attend this school have the financial backing to be able to attend school without having to work. I hate to say that I only slept 3-5 hours a night and sometimes less than 10 hours a week just to keep up with everything while working to pay for everything.

    In three sentences

    Maryville University is a great place to go because of the classes they offer and the quality of the education. However, they are not understanding that people exist outside the campus. Therefore, I urge you not to apply if you have family, friends, etc. you want to keep for the four years you are in school.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none...kinda stinks

    What to do for fun

    Its in a great location you can easily get to pretty much any store you can think of within five or ten minutes and downtown isnt far so there are alot of fun places to go. Although there isnt much actually ON the campus to do you can find things to do in St.Louis

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as many programs at school as you can

    In three sentences

    Maryville is small, has great teachers, and has great resources. The campus is very nice, although it is small. Everybody is very friendly and willing to help

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel 100% safe on campus, there is someone there at all times when needed. The parking lots are comfortable and not out there.

    Great for these types of students

    Busy schedule, not a problem! The professors are more than flexible in tough timing situations.

    Bang for the buck

    A buck above a trade school or community college with the quality, knowledge and professionalism of a major university.

    What to do for fun

    A mall is literally right down the street! There are also tons of other shopping strips and stores to go to. A public library is very close as well. You are close to an event holder to purchase tickets and attend concerts and shows!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help with the computer software if needed. Utilize your academic advisers.

    In three sentences

    Hard working and helpful academic advisers. Knowledgeable professors. Schedule Flexibility.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have only been attending for 2 weeks, as I transferred from Capella University Online. This is my first time going to a physical campus and I love it.

    What to do for fun

    At the main campus there is a work-out room with different exercise machines.

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced the food and dining at the main campus yet, I attend one of the branches close to my home.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently taking 2 classes in the evening/weekend program due to the fact that I work a full-time job. I really enjoy the classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the schools that you are interested in and make sure if you are transferring, you choose an accredited school, there is nothing worse than doing all that hard work only to find out your credits won't transfer.

    In three sentences

    I love the way the staff worked hard to get me qualified to attend. They were able to transfer all my previous credits towards my enrollment of classes and degree program. I transferred with a 3.50 GPA.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at Maryville.

    What to do for fun

    Different organizations on campus are constantly planning events throughout the week, weekends, and nights on campus. Attend what sounds interesting- you'll make friends and have fun!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food in Gander Dining Hall.

    Dorm Life

    All but the 3rd floor of Mouton Hall are co-ed floors.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but as long as you study you will pass. Professors are always available via email or by appointment for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rain boots! Prepare to study hard.

    In three sentences

    Rigorous academics with helpful professors and small class sizes (10-30 students). Safe and relatively small campus, with lots of activities. Everyone and everything here is for the students' benefit.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Affordable excellence in education rigorous faculty.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is fairly secluded and safety is never in question

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of sports and clubs for any interest. Ability to start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small or rural towns who don't want to go to a large college. Small class sizes (20 people) and establish relationships with professors.

    What to do for fun

    St. Louis is a wonderful city with plenty of things to do within a 20 minute drive. Maryville is located in West County which is more suburban but offers a large amount of restaurants, bars, and malls within ten minutes from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The new dining hall is very nice and clean but the food isn't the best in the world, you have to find what you like best. The food is also overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    3 dorms on campus and 5 apartments. Fun to live in dorms and get to know people on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly challenging depending on your program. Best know for Health Professions and Actuarial Science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to teachers and students involved in the program/major you are interested in to get a better idea of how they operate

    In three sentences

    Maryville is a great university with good credentials and nice people. Many of the degrees and the reputation the school has means guaranteed jobs once you graduate. The small class sizes and involvement of the staff really makes a big difference in your academic experience.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have their own safety department and is in a really safe area also next to a hospital.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rugby, Roller Hockey, and more.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private small school I think the price to attend is really fair compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on campus, explore St. Louis which has a lot of history to it. go and visit Forest Park.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good on campus.

    Dorm Life

    They are in the process of expanding the dorms and updating them. while the apartments are limited in number on campus so they are only for the upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but there is alot of support to and tutoring options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get connected with your advisers and fellow students!

    In three sentences

    The school is very welcoming and professional. They really care about you graduating and getting a job and help you look for internships while attending.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Campus is very well lit in the evening.

    What to do for fun

    Residential life, the campus activities board, and Maryville student government plan awesome activities that keep both residents and commuters involved in their campus. Also, the location of the school is great because of its proximity to shopping, the zoo, the science center, and various sports arenas.

    Food and Dining

    The options in the dining hall are endless and the dining staff is phenomenal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great! I am currently a resident of Potter Hall and absolutely love it. There is a gym downstairs and most importantly, free laundry!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not easy by any means however the professors are great about helping you when you speak up and ask. As long as you are willing to utilize the resources available on campus classes will go smoothly.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending Maryville I would strongly suggest a visit to campus - my visit is what finalized my decision to go here.

    In three sentences

    Maryville University is a fantastic school, especially if you are looking for a small campus. They are most well known for their business and health professions programs but have great professors in all academic areas. The campus is small enough you run into people you know all the time which fosters a great community vibe.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus so parking lots aren't too far from any building. I don't see security driving around a lot but they are easily accessible with safety poles up around campus. I am from the St. Louis area so I already know that the campus is located in a good, safe community.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and Business

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday there is a Food and Faith group that meets in the Church for discussion. Every Sunday there is Catholic mass that welcomes all faiths with a Bible study afterwards. There are movies during good weather set up outside for students to get together for a night out.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports events to watch and intramural teams to join. There are also Christian groups (it is a Catholic university) and other groups to be part of. There are events for everyone scheduled all academic year long.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I cannot rate dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your homework on which classes transfer and which do not. If you are going into a field such as nursing, make sure you apply at several different colleges to get on waiting lists (unless you have a 4.0 GPA) so you don't get stuck. The counselor will make you feel like acceptance is guaranteed as long as you complete their checklist and it just isn't so.

    In three sentences

    It is a small university with small classes taught by instructors who really make you feel like they care. There are a lot of majors offered and classes can be taken on campus or off. The cost of tuition is affordable for a university.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Maryville is located just 22 miles from the bustle of downtown St. Louis. It is located in one of the richest suburbs of St. Louis and there is rarely security issues on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Maryville.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large amount of student organizations that continues to grow and it is really easy to start a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that love a great connection with the professor would fit perfectly in. Maryville is a smaller campus, but it provides a friendly and open environment to those who love to get to know others. It also provides great internships and an interesting honors program as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition seems to be a little pricey, but there are so may free events/things on campus that really may pay for itself.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events at Maryville that provide fun and exciting events ranging from music to sporting events, and voluntary activities to campus friendly events and so on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but it can get old at times and may seem a bit pricey, but Maryville provides a decent quality and variety.

    Dorm Life

    On holidays or breaks the dorm life can be quite quiet, but you get to really know people depending on which dorm you choose to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Maryville offers a variety of classes that range differently in difficulty level. The Honors Program especially gives a unique and challenging outlook much different from the ordinary college education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to attend the excursions and the events that Maryville has to provide, so you can get to know people before you plan on attending.

    In three sentences

    Maryville University was ranked by U.S. News & World Report as one of America's Best Colleges in the National Universities category and the number one performing university in America. Whether a commuter or on-campus resident, the students enjoy a lifestyle that is decidedly Maryville. If you ask, students will tell you they don't just go to Maryville they Live Maryville.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Maryville may be a bit on the pricey side but you will get your money's worth. The admissions staff looks for ways to assist you with your financial needs as much as possible. You will come out of school being well prepared for the real world and confident with yourself and your abilities!

    What to do for fun

    There are sooooo many different clubs you can join here. Te 1st week of school, they host a university fair where you have a chance to sign up for all the clubs here. Cheer leading, sports, debate, decorating team, etc. Like I said, Maryville does a great job at getting you involved and making everyone feel welcomed

    Food and Dining

    Maryville has a wide variety of foods to eat. Deli, Grill, Pizza, etc that is cooked right in front of you. They also have an on campus Starbucks called Koldi's where you can get almost anything if the dining halls are closed. The bookstore also has things to eat. Overall, the meals are fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    They're dorms are AWESOME! There are 2 buildings, Mouton and Potter Hall. The rooms are a very nice size. They also do their bet to pair you up with someone perfect for you buy using the roommate matching profile.

    Academic Rigor

    Maryville is in the top 5 of mostly every major passible. That is 1 of the reasons I attend Maryville.

    In three sentences

    Maryville has a very peaceful campus. They also help everyone get involved in school activities and clubs. They make me feel like this is the school for me.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe walking alone, even at night. Public Safety patrols and is always on call. There are also call boxes located all around campus in case you need Public Safety right away.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a loner type get a room in Mouton and prop your door open. Random people will drop by and you'll make new friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some students think that the basement in my dorm is haunted so we would wait until late at night and take 'tours' down there and then scare them really bad. Incoming freshmen shouldn't have to worry about that though because they are knocking the building down this spring.

    Bang for the buck

    Maryville is a great school and if you make the most of your experience there, it's worth the price. Take advantage of all the activities and get as many free shirts your first year as possible.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something happening on campus. Get a schedule from the Campus Activities Board and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    I loved the dining hall! After a couple weeks, all the chefs knew me and made my food just the way I like it.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the dorms. It's a great way to become independent and make new friends, especially your first year.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but you will learn a lot and there is plenty of help if you struggle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to personally introduce yourself to your professors either before or after your first class, get involved on campus, and make sure to take advantage of all the academic help offered on campus.

    In three sentences

    Everyone at Maryville is supper friendly. The teachers are amazing. The food at the dining hall is really good!

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is outstanding. They will help you with any need you have with your car as well, including lockouts.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, Maryville has no Greek life. Many of the students are trying to bring Greek life to Maryville.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Many employers hold a degree from Maryville at a much higher standard than many other institutions.

    What to do for fun

    There are many attractions in the St. Louis area to go to such as forest park. Forest Park includes the Zoo, the Art Museum, the ice rink and so much more. Maryville offers many on campus fun activities. These activiteis can include Saturday night live ( SNL), which is a comedian, movie nights, presentations, fairs and much more. Check out Maryville's Campus Activities Board (CAB) on the Maryville Website for more information.

    Food and Dining

    Maryville just built a new dining hall. You can choose from the deli, the frill, stir fry, pizza, home zone or the salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Maryville currently has 3 options for living on campus. Mouton Hall, Potter Hall, and the Apartment complexes. Mouton is you typical dorm with 3 floors, 2 people to a room and a common lounge room on each floor. Potter Hall was once a Marriott hotel so that is what it looks like, workout room and all. The apartments can be 2 or 4 bedrooms. They include 2 bathrooms, a kitchen and a living room with furniture.

    Academic Rigor

    Very intense academic classes. HIghly recommended and accredited programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in college. Go to maryville.edu for information. Take a campus tour during the school year and see what Maryville is all about!

    In three sentences

    Maryville University of St. Louis has a great environment for learning. The professors and the students alike care about you and your individual needs. Maryville offers tons of great programs, so a student can be involved in anything they are interested in.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know many of the P-Safety officers by name, and at least by face. I have never felt like I was in trouble, even walking around campus at 3:00am by myself as a small female.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    CAB (Campus Activities Board), Newman Center, Physical Therapy Club, Maryville Student Government, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Medical field-related majors, people who are independent, people who want others to know their name (the school is truly a tiny pond), and people willing to take their classes seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Huge Cram Jam right in the middle of finals week - students gather in the dining hall late at night and study; basically we eat pancakes, play games, and enjoy each other's company since we don't see each other while studying all week.

    Bang for the buck

    You WILL be nickeled and dimed. Students just learn to get crafty with their money, especially when it comes to books and supplies. If Maryville can charge for it, they will. It's probably one of their biggest flaws. Sometimes I wonder where my tuition dollars are going, and why they can't cut us a break.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is in the center of everything to do in the city - you're always 15 minutes or less away from everything including the city. On campus is lacking, but there are still plenty of activities that CAB and other programs put on, even with limited funding which the school cut this year.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive, but so long as you budget yourself you won't run out of dining dollars. The food is mediocre and repetitive, but then again Maryville doesn't really promote its dining anyway.

    Dorm Life

    Although they tore down my favorite dorm this year, living on campus is still pretty popular. CAB has a bunch of events for residents all year. But beware; if you commute, you will not know as many people on campus unless you work twice as hard.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many classes that I have flown through. There are also classes that keep me constantly in the academic help center. My major isn't exactly an easy one, and Maryville is certainly making me work for my degree, but I think I prefer it that way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please try to live on campus, Maryville is much more resident-friendly. Plus, living in the dorms is really something to experience here.

    In three sentences

    It may be a little pricey, but I cannot imagine going to school anywhere else. I have struggled, succeeded, grown, and made some of the best friends I have ever had. Maryville is not just where I go to school; Maryville is my second home, 300 miles away.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events taking place on campus almost every day. You feel welcomed and comfortable to go bowling or to a small get together with some of your classmates. It's easy to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The chefs are nice and friendly. There are a variety of food and beverages to choose from. There are healthy options and vegan options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I don't know what it's like.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are amazing. Maryville is considered an over-performing university. Education is taken very seriously here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be openminded. Be friendly and patient. Be nice to your professors.

    In three sentences

    Maryville University is a small private college so everyone knows each other. Everyone is friendly towards one another. The professors are friendly and understanding and very helpful.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the city.

    Food and Dining

    It can get old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    Potter Hall used to be a hotel.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a car to Maryville. Stay involved.

    In three sentences

    Maryville is a small campus. It is great if you like having close relationships with teachers. Its a great school.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety constantly scans the campus and makes sure the students are safe. They will check the dorms to make sure that students are following the University rules and regulation. Even though they make sure everyone follows the rules, Public Safety are very friendly people.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs! There is a club for a variety of interest. Campus Activities Board (CAB) plans a great deal of events that occur around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Maryville is great for all types of students. Everyone gets along a great deal and are always open to assist others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Maryville has unusual and fun traditions. They always have a Fall Festival where the students participate in Lip Sync, Mr. Maryville, and a Bonfire. These traditions bring the student body together and provide a fun, safe experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Maryville University is a great school for a variety of majors. They have fantastic programs that ensure success. The down side is that Maryville is pricey with tuition, dorm life, books, food, and other services. On the plus side, the parking is free!

    What to do for fun

    Maryville University constantly has events going on around campus. CAB (Campus Activities Board) makes sure that there are events to keep the students busy, such as movie nights! Some weeks there are events every day!

    Food and Dining

    At Gander Dining Hall, students are braced with a wide variety of food selections. The campus offers a salad and fruit bar, Deli, Grill, Stir Fry, Home Zone, Pizza, Desserts, and many drink options. At Maryville's Dining Hall, you will never go hungry and there are a wide variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of the highlights of the campus! The dorm is cleaned every day by a sanitation staff! Dorm life provides you with an easy way to find friendships that last a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    Maryville University has a wide variety of majors to offer, which means that each major will come with different academic rigor. Courses in the a program, such as nursing, will require the student to memorize and apply a great variety of information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students should remember to take a tour and get to know the faculty. The closer you are with the faculty, the easier it is to succeed. Always remember to get involved with campus activities! Remember to remain open and get to know other students; they become great resources!

    In three sentences

    Although Maryville University is an expensive school, they have fantastic, direct entry programs (Nursing, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, etc.). The classes are small, which means the teachers are always there to assist you. The campus is very clean and everyone is friendly!

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel comfortable walking around there. There is a lot of lighting and the public safety officers are always driving and walking around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a LOT of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like small colleges with big expectations.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little on the costly side, but they do really offer a lot.

    What to do for fun

    I don't really live around the college, but they do have lots of clubs that do lots of cool things.

    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of food options and there are plenty of places around to get food.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived here but from others it seems that they like it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for small class sizes. It kind of has a community college feel to it, but I love going here.

    In three sentences

    I think it's a great college! The staff is readily available to help and responds to questions quickly. Although I don't live there, the place is beautiful and it seems that people who do love it.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go into the city of St. Louis, there isn't much going on at campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Maryville is so small that you really need to attend your classes. The teachers know you personally, and they will note when you are absent.

    In three sentences

    Maryville University is a good university that gives lots of support and recourses to students. It is a nurturing and close-knit community. However, it doesn't offer many opportunities.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well, the safety officers have a mile radius to patrol and campus is in the middle of a forest, so it tended to be on the safer side.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs? Activities? Since when?

    Great for these types of students

    Um, if you love school and school only then this is the place for you. Since the campus is mainly composed of athletes the cliques were already formed and it was hard to meet new people. I mean, that is supposed to be one of the best parts of college right?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The coolest thing I encountered at Maryville was the foam party. Yes, I couldn't believe it either.

    Bang for the buck

    I attended Maryville for two semesters and then transferred to Illinois State. I have nothing bad to say about Maryville academics. As for Maryville's office staff- they are unorganized, unprofessional, and one might even say incompetent. Do I recommend Maryville? No. I would rather spend my money elsewhere. I would not recommend this school to anyone unless it is your last resort. I am an honest person and I felt like some truth needed to be told about this place other than it being daisies and roses. Just for the record, the entire school experience was not bad, but I have had enough bad encounters with them to put a dirty taste in my mouth. I wish someone would have told me this before I dropped 30 grand there.

    What to do for fun

    Um, homework?

    Food and Dining

    Salad bar was amazing, but other than that it was fine. The small gluten free section was a nice touch.

    Dorm Life

    Nothing exciting. Most people go home on the weekends. At least then you do not have to fight for a parking spot!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics were very challenging at Maryville University. That was my favorite part.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school if you never have to talk to anybody about loans, school procedures, or anything else business wise. Also, campus is uneventful so you will have nothing to distract you from your studies. I guess that is a positive thing?

    In three sentences

    I felt like I was pushed academically, so that was great! However, the staff at Maryville are very unprofessional, unorganized, and frankly just rude. I would not recommend to others.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes provide security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes it's offer

    Bang for the buck

    Maryville University very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are plent of things to do, if you have the time.

    Food and Dining

    Very good good

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to attend.

    In three sentences

    Maryville University is one the top notch private school. I must say it is an honor to be attending Maryville. I am very proud of myself, because I just been accepted into the Nursing program starting fall 2014.