Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Marywood University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is ideal for people looking for a small, quiet, and mature college experience. It's a great transition for anyone who comes from a very rural town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community service is a very important to Marywood University and they love people who volunteer. Go out and volunteer. Not only does it benefit the community, but it'll help you stand out when applying to Marywood.

    Bang for the buck

    Marywood costs a lot more than some colleges and universities do, but I'd say it's worth it. They offer a lot of financial aid and are very flexible in terms of payment. For the costs of attending school, though, we get a lot of stuff in return. There are free events every week, from comedians and musicians to stress-busters in the student lounge. The dining services have also improved a LOT in the past few years.

    Am enjoying being here

    Life at college is so much more fun than high school was. The atmosphere is really positive and the staff and students are very open-minded. It's a fairly quiet campus which is just the way I like it.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are amazing. They are friendly and well-versed in the subjects that they teach. When they say you can come to them if you have any problems or need any extra help, they sincerely mean it.

  • 01/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marywood University is perfect for student who love to community service and like to learn about different subjects. Students who come here like small schools where people know who you are. Being active in the school community is a good way to meet people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applying Advice: Apply early as possible. There are certain scholarships that have a deadline. Scholarships Advice: Keep up GPA, work hard on SATs (they do matter), volunteer alot, and take APs/honors if possible. ------As of this year Marywood has a scholarship called Marywood Scholars its $20,000 a year ($80,000 overall). To get this you need a GPA of 3.5 in high school and 1200 or higher in SATs. SATs/ACTs: Sudy for SATs- instead of cramming just do one or two problems a day. Take advantage of any prep classes/tutors. ACTs- Take the ACTs if you can. They cannot hurt you. Many people do better on them than the SATs. Plus, it will look good if you have both. Though, it is not necessary.

    Bang for the buck

    Marywood University is amazing regarding scholarships. I applied to over ten school, all of them recognized for giving scholarships, and Marywood gave me the most money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community here is very small and close-knit. whenever you walk you will see at least one person you know on the way to class. Everyone is very nice and are more than happy to help. Plus, everyone say hello to you on campus, whether they know you are not.

    Am learning a lot

    Marywood University is very unique in the fact they offer a wide variety of classes. From art, fien arts, math, history, foreign languages, sciences, etc...Marywood has it. Also, Marywood is a liberal arts college which means the University prides itself in producing well-rounded students. This will better help these students at life by helping them find a job in the current economy.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is really great if you want a well rounded education or if you want to minor or double major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help if you need it. There are so many resources for you. Everyone wants you to succeed so ask for help. Also, get involved. There is so much to do on campus. The best way to get to know people is to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but you learn a lot and you have nice facilities and the staff and faculty listen to you and help you every step of the way. Also, you have a lot of great opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the activities and the people. Also, the food is actually pretty good for school food. The dorms are great. The worst dorm on campus is better then those at other schools.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much. Not only are the professors great but the other students help to teach you so much as well. Also, You get the opportunity to work with and learn from professionals in the field.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    at marywood, there's a club for anything and everything. english, history, campus ministry, dance, writing, you name it and they probably have it. and, if they don't, then it only takes three people to start a new club.

    What to do for fun

    at marywood, they have a gym, plenty of places to eat, tons of cool hangouts and many events take place all the time. there are competitions and guest speakers on special occasions.

    Food and Dining

    everyone raves about the food at marywood. it's very, very delicious and draws in more than just the students for lunch!

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus. but, from what i've heard from friends that do, they like it.

    Academic Rigor

    marywood university has incredible academic rigor. their professors are professional and their courses are based on exactly what you want for your future careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are thinking about attending marywood univerity, i would highly encourage you to go there. if a private campus community and personalized attention is what you're looking for, then you'll love it there.

    In three sentences

    i am very happy at marywood univeristy. i like the teachers, other students, the food and the private campus community. the classes are smaller for the most part, giving more personalized attention to each and every student in class.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seemed a little lacking when I was a student, but that wasn't because there were no campus police or emergency stations, it was really just because there was very little lighting on a sprawling campus. But, during a recent 10-minute trip to get my transcript, I saw two campus police vehicles and a new emergency station in a location where there had once been none and there is now street lighting across campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Posters everywhere. If you're looking for something to do or something to get involved in, just find a bulletin board. There are clubs and memberships (free) all over campus. And, again, why miss out on the opportunities and the friendships?

    Great for these types of students

    Marywood is great for ANY student. Everyone matriculating here is very accepting of everybody else. As it should be everywhere else. And for some reason, Marywood has a large homosexual populous. Nobody cares. And nobody should.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I know it's totally unrelated to the university, but prospective students may want to know: The city of Scranton holds a killer St. Patrick's Day Parade every year. They shut down the city and open the bars at the crack of dawn (kegs and eggs). The nearby city of Wilkes Barre (15 minutes South) has a shadow parade the next day that's never quite as good, but it's still a little of the hair of the dog that bit you.

    Bang for the buck

    New York City, Philadelphia, Atlantic City, Hershey Park (and Spa), and Dorney Park are all less than 3 1/2 hrs away. There are several outlet malls nearby, the Everhart Museum, the Coal Miner's Tour, and restaurants galore. We want for nothing here.

    What to do for fun

    Marywood schedule great shows, not only performed by their able production team, but by famous passers-through. For example, I saw Mitch Hedberg and Demetri Martin perform at the PAC there. They also have a fantastic fitness center where I learned to play racquetball (and learned to nurse large bruises).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in Nazareth Hall (the Student Center) was also recently renovated and is superb. A salad/soup bar, omlet bar, sub bar, ice cream station, variable meal station, etc. Too much from which to choose. And there are various cafes in other buildings across campus with able cooks, so there is no going hungry at Marywood.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter, so I can't speak for living in the dormitories. However, I did visit friends in them frequently, so I will say that they were immaculate and the security was immense. There is always someone at the door to register visitors who can't swipe in, and the dorms have been recently renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    Marywood has resisted oversized classes and their professors maintain the ability to call upon their students by name. And to truly test their knowledge. Most make you get up and do what you are learning to pump your neurons.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your financial aid options (of which you have many) on your own, because they will not help you with them. When you want advice, seek out your advisor, he/she is likely too busy to check in on you and see how you are faring. Join something. There are so many clubs and memberships (free) to be a part of that it would be a shame to miss out on the opportunities, not to mention the friendships.

    In three sentences

    Marywood is a Catholic IHM-run University, so it's not cheap, but it's well worth the money. The campus is beautiful and semi-secluded, the teaching staff is courteous and knowledgeable, and there is something for everybody there. And even though the long-standing University is Catholic-based and they have a church on campus, they DO NOT force religion on their students.

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any kind of student! Marywood is incredibly diverse in the kinds of degrees that are offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join campus activities! Stay busy yet balanced with school work and clubs. Also apply for financial aid and scholarships offered through Marywood.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Marywood and all the opportunities it is giving me. I can tell that my education will take me far in life as well as everything that I am involved in.

    Am enjoying being here

    Marywood is all about being involved. Get involved with a campus activity, sport or club! I completely enjoy being at Marywood because I keep myself busy yet balanced with clubs, the sorority, student government, student activities and being a tutor. Marywood can sometimes be referred to as a suitcase school because a lot of students leave on the weekends or commute... the way to avoid downtime on weekends is to definitely get involved! Don't be scared to join a club or just ask for information on one.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a member of the honors program at Marywood University. The honors classes are a challenge and have allowed me to expand my education even further than I expected.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is a new architecture program that is drawing a lot of attention. We have two buildings for art majors to work on everything from graphic design, to ceramics, to painting, to art therapy. The speech pathology program is ASHA certified, which is important because you need to graduate from a certified school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early- The school is small but once you are accepted you can begin your journey. Also, Loughran is such a nice dorm for freshman!

    Bang for the buck

    Every college is expensive, but with the attention you get from your professors, the clean dorm rooms, the actually decent food, and the safety on campus, being a student here is worth is. Also, most programs give you hands on work so you can thrive before you graduate.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something fun to do and something to be involved in! There are sports teams and intramurals for those athletic people! The student activities crew always has fun events during the week such as coffee houses, tie dying shirts, comedians, etc. There are also over 60 clubs to join, and you have the power to form your own club here if it isn't offered. At Marywood, you can lead yourself to be who you want to be and have fun!

    Am learning a lot

    I have been learning so much in all of my classes and my professors have definitely helped guide me, and my classmates along the way. The professors know you by name and face here and put in extra effort to make sure they are available for any help and are always readily available for office hours. I just spent three years as an undergrad in the Speech Pathology program, and now I have been accepted into the grad program which is preparing me for my career with hands on experience.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marywood is great for art students who are looking for immediate concentrated classes in their major and for students coming from rural areas who are transitioning to a slightly bigger town/city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Realize that when you go on a campus tour of any college, they will not tell you the entire truth. Marywood is very small and in a very quiet town. If you are coming from a large city the transition may be difficult, but you will end up meeting a range of people from across the east coast. If you have a car, bring it! It is difficult to get around Scranton and this will save your life when you need to make a late night run to Walmart for project supplies!

    Bang for the buck

    Ultimately, I came to Marywood for an amazing education and that is exactly what I am getting. The teachers are all extremely understanding and willing to assist you with anything you may need. Marywood comes with a price tag but it is worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Marywood University is a small college directly in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. It was a hard transition for me considering I came from a big city. The City of Scranton can hardly be called a city at all and the only way to access the city is if you have a car or want to pay ridiculous amounts of money for a taxi, especially since Marywood recently got rid of their bus system. Marywood definitely has its ups and downs, but by the end of the year I found myself more used to the atmosphere and had realized I made some amazing friends who make the downfalls of Marywood a little less noticeable.

    Am learning a lot

    As an art major, I was highly impressed by how amazing the art program was. My classes are jam packed with three hour art classes, and though that might seem a bit long, I enjoy every single minute I spend doing what I love. I enjoyed that I was instantly able to jump into my major while still having other core classes such as Modern Belief and History Since 1865 to keep me sane when the concentration on art was so heavy.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    marywood is great for students who want to go to a small, quiet school. there is plenty to do on campus, but the population is small. students should be hard working and dedicated to service.

    Tips for prospective students

    get good grades in high school and get high scores on your sats as this will allow you to have a greater chance of getting a scholarship from marywood. also, start developing time management and studying skills now, so you are ready for the college adjustment. professors are willing to help, but you need to be willing to put forth the effort.

    Bang for the buck

    the biggest negative about marywood is the tuition cost. you are paying for a private school education. thankfully, there are financial aid options available.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have had some great professors, interesting classes, met the best people here. Marywood is a great small school with professors who truly care about the students. This is definitely not the school to come to if you want to be known as a number and not by name.

    Academic Rigor

    i am really learning a lot both in my major and in my liberal arts classes. sometimes it can seem like a disadvantage to be forced to take classes outside of your general interests, but sometimes those are the best classes because you really learn something new and get a new perspective.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Marywood is so diverse, that it is great for every type of student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a college that you love, that way it will be easy to learn and be successful. Marywood is small, which is nice because then the teachers can give you more one-on-one and you will be more successful.

    Bang for the buck

    Marywood is definatly EXPENSIVE. HOWEVER, they offer many, many scholarships and will work with you to make sure that you can attend Marywood if you really want too.

    Am enjoying being here

    In 'dorming' on campus, it can definatly be boring. However, your time at Marywood is how you make it.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers encourage as much learning as possible. They have different teaching methods so that everyone will learn the material and be successful. All teachers have manditory office hours, to help the students and many are in the office more than their scheduled hours, willing to help the students.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Could be better. When I was in Regina Hall, there was absolutely nobody watching the place - no RA, no guard, nothing. The locks are digital, so no one could pick their way in, but it's still a bit unsettling when security is in a totally different building and might send someone over 45 minutes after you call them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, if you're an undergraduate, there's loads of clubs to join. But if you're like me in the graduate program, there's no such luxury. I guess because adults over 25 aren't supposed to have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to become an art professor or you have about $50,000 you can just frivolously throw to and fro, then sure, go here. Otherwise, totally not worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    This place is outrageously priced - $4700 for four days in New York City, not counting food and hotel costs? And you rarely even learn anything either - you listen to people talk about their own successes. Absolutely not worth the cost of tuition - even if it was half the cost, it still wouldn't be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Very little is available for the grad students here - all the clubs and organizations are for the undergrads. Basically, you can walk around and do homework for fun here. I found I was always way too tired every day after class to do much anyway, so this didn't make a huge difference to me.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is quite good and there's a broad diversity of choices (pizza, sandwiches, salad bar, hot meals, desserts), but it's very expensive. There's a communal fridge in the dorms, so you're better off just buying some groceries and bringing a sack lunch.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay - clean, simple, quiet. Security leaves a lot to be desired, though. You could probably steal all the furniture in a room a piece at a time in the middle of the day and no one would bat an eye. Also, the campus is dry - even though everyone's 21 or older, they aren't allowed to have a drink in their own room which they pay a ton of money to stay in. I'm not a drinker myself, but I think this is silly.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments can be challenging and you are given a lot of time to do them, but really, you aren't learning anything new. I've seen people turn in atrocious work and get A's because it was something that totally stroked the professors, but I've seen gorgeous things get B's and C's because the professors didn't like it or didn't understand it. Way to be open-minded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here if you want to grow as an artist or if you want to have a job. Basically you're paying out the rear to do busy work.

    In three sentences

    This school is alright, but in my own experience, I haven't really learned anything new. Basically all we do is work that the professors like rather than what we would like. I guess this is good training for client work, but there is zero potential for creative growth.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is well-lit at night. Not really too much to be worried about. I never had any problems especially when walking back from the architecture building back to my dorm late, late at night. I don't really have any complaints about the safety.

    Greek Life

    There really isn't any greek life on campus. There is a sorority on campus for the girls to join. It's for social and service work.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like the small school atmosphere, Marywood is for you. It's not so small, that you feel like you know everyone on campus, but you do see many familiar faces each day.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I think Marywood is a decent school - really it comes down to each individual. Since it is a small school, you see many familiar faces and it's easy to make friends. The location itself could be better because you can't necessarily walk and be downtown in 5 minutes. Most things you have to drive or take a bus or you will be walking for a while. Academics are good. Some classes can be quite challenging, others not so much. I had some great professors, and few not so great ones, but that is the case at every college/university you are going to go to. Everyone is quite friendly. The weather isn't always the greatest. It rains frequently, so make sure you pack your umbrella and rainboots! :) Everyone has their own opinion about the school, so really to each his own. There are many chances to get involved with campus activities/organizations and that is one of the best things to do because you can many meet new people.

    What to do for fun

    Marywood isn't necessarily bouncing with activities all the time. I think there could be a better job of trying to keep kids on campus especially on the weekends. I didn't do much exploring outside of campus because I'm an iarch major, so I spent a lot of my nights/weekends in the studio. However, there are some malls in Scranton. There are also a few movie theaters/bowling alleys - which is a good way to get off campus and do something else for a change. There are many restaurants within a quick driving distance/bus ride. The University of Scranton is also close. On campus, there is the gym, plus an array of student clubs/organizations that you can become involved with.

    Food and Dining

    In my opinion, I think the food and dining is much better than some of the other universities I applied to. Not only is there the main dining hall (Nazareth), but there are other little places on campus to get food. There is the study grounds in the library, connections, the atrium, as well as First Stop. It's nice having other choices because you can get sick of eating the same thing over and over again. Sometimes, in the main dining hall, sometimes you'll have a really good selection of food, and other times you'll be standing in the sandwich line because there is nothing you want elsewhere. Overall, I think there is a good selection of food. Late Night is very popular. If you missed the main hours for dinner, you can always go get something at late-night. Unfortunately, it is not open on Friday/Saturday, which can be quite a disappointment if you are hungry at like 10pm on one of these nights.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoyed living in the dorms. At times, there could be annoyances, but overall it was a fun experience. I lived in Loughran Hall my first year. It is all freshman. The first two floors were male and the top two floors were female. The campus itself is fairly small so anywhere you live is within a quick walking distance to any destination on campus. Loughran is located right the gym which is of great convenience. There is also a 24 hour computer lab on the terrace level, so if you don't have your own computer or want to just get out of your room and work in another space, the lab is great for that. Also, there are study lounges in Loughran, some even have tv's. Great on the weekends if you want to just chill out with some friends, watch tv, or a movie. Madonna is a sought after dorm on campus because it is nicely kept. There is a movie screen, and a kitchen as well. There are other residence halls on campus, but I'm not too familiar with what those are like because I have never been inside.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, the classes can be quite rigorous. Myself, being an Interior Architect/Design major found my first year classes to be challenging especially within my major. A few of the liberal arts classes I had my first semester weren't all that challenging, but I definitely learned a lot in all of my classes. I guess it really comes down to the professor for any class you have, and how much effort you are willing to put into the success of your performance in the class. For any architect major, the foundation studio and other classes can be quite daunting because there is a lot of work that needs to be done, but in the end, hopefully you leave more with what you came in knowing. There is definitely a lot to learn, but I think the work and effort you put in is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved. Your first semester/year can be quite overwhelming, but trying new things can really help you get out of your comfort zone and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Marywood is a small Catholic Liberal Arts university with a variety of majors to choose from. There are also also an array of clubs, and other activities to get involved in on campus. Overall, there is a really fostering of community and easy to make friends.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Marywood when I have been there to visit the few times I went. I hope I feel safe there when I start school as I had in the past.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a greek life at Marywood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of different clubs such as a dance club. There are always concerts or plays going on at Marywood. Joining a club or getting involved in an activity is a great way to be involved in campus life and getting to know new people.

    What to do for fun

    I have heard there are many things to do for fun from sports, groups, activities, or recreation. People can go swimming or work at the gym. They also can join a group or sport, if someone isn't into that they can also go to a concert or play.

    Food and Dining

    Obviously people aren't going to like everything that the food places at Marywood make. The food that I haven't eaten at Marywood, I thought was very good. The servers also keep food coming so that it doesn't run out.

    Dorm Life

    Although I will not be dorming, the dorms that I have seen seem to be really nice and cozy. They seem to be well cleaned and they are not tiny but a nice size to fit either two, three, or four people.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard that the education at Marywood is really great. Marywood has an amazing physician assistant program, which I am going to be in this fall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to be nervous or scared because they will not be the only one going through it, there will probably be close to a hundred other people including me going through it as well. Try to have a pretty good idea where your first class is before hand so you aren't running late on the first couple of days. Don't worry about having all your books and stuff because the professors will not expect your to have them at least your first week.

    In three sentences

    The students that have been going to Marywood and faculty are very helpful when asking for directions and anything else. Marywood has tons of different groups to join which is also nice for the people who are not staying on campus just like me. I have heard a lot of good things about Marywood and can not wait to start going there in the next few weeks.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police every where and they're so nice. I've never felt unsafe here and if you ever do you can just call and they'll arrive quickly and escort you to where ever you need to go.

    Greek Life

    There isn't one.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have alot of clubs. Everything from math club to theater clubs to Dungeons and Dragons campaigns.

    Great for these types of students

    If your artsy and open minded you'll love it here. Even if your going for something like a science major, you should enjoy the arts if you want to go to Marywood.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drinker St Pizza has secret options that aren't on the menu. I would list them but some have inappropriate words in the names. Definitely call and ask about them.

    Bang for the buck

    the 15 meal plan definitely gets you the most for your money. No matter how hard I tried, I could never use all 19 meals.

    What to do for fun

    SAC is always providing bus trips to paint balling or Dorney Park and tons of other places. We also have bingo and trivia nights at least once a month.

    Food and Dining

    People in the community pay $10 per meal to eat in our dining hall. Just one dinner and you'll understand how people get the freshman 15.

    Dorm Life

    Loughran Hall, the freshman dorm, is amazing. If you can get into Madonna after freshman year, you will be set. Regina sounds bad but it's cheaper and definitely has it's benefits.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be hard but, if you like your major, you'll love taking them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expand your horizon, don't cling to people just in your major. Everyone at Marywood is so nice and a lot of different majors overlap in classes. Also, when enrolling in university 100, try to get Ted Michalowski as a teacher. And Drinker St. pizza is the best place to get unhealthy delicious food.

    In three sentences

    Marywood isn't just a school, it's a community. It's a little old school in the rules, like no members of the opposite sex spending the night, but I think that just makes it more like home.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are everywhere - I saw a car get side-swiped in the parking lot and they were there in a flash to offer assistance. I also locked my keys in my car once and they helped me get in touch with someone to get into it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to branch out and mix with people from different backgrounds and even from different countries - I met a man from Egypt in one of my classes. So interesting .. he'd never seen a squirrel before!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The amount of squirrels on campus kind of makes you think there is a squirrel to student ratio of 20:1.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are worth the tuition, believe me. Aid is available and this private Catholic school is willing to lend a hand when it's needed.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of events on campus for students. I like to participate in the book donations and blood drives mostly.

    Food and Dining

    Their little cafe's offer more than just fried, grease food and they promote healthy lifestyles. The bagel shop in the student center is my favorite, and there is a cafe right in the library where you can grab a coffee in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Comparing Marywood to a public school I went to for three years: I learned more in one semester of English courses than I did in three years of general education and English classes at the state school. It may be expensive and the loan payments may seem daunting, but it is totally worth that degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Shop around for books instead of making a bee-line to the bookstore. There are other options. Also, do not be afraid to go to the financial aid office to request more aid - they are understanding and compassionate people who understand that paying for school is difficult. They want you to stay and better yourself through a degree program at their school. Ask.

    In three sentences

    Marywood Univerity has an aesthetically pleasing campus; beautiful buildings, architecture, and grounds. Marywood also offers a diverse and challenging curriculum that pushes students and helps them to actually learn, instead of being just another GPA. One of the only cons about Marywood is the costly tuition, high prices of books, student parking, and the $500 health insurance fee.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun at Marywood. I'd recommend the fitness center on campus, it has an indoor rock wall and swimming pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Marywood seem's fair so far. However, I never complain about food that much.

    Dorm Life

    I am located in Regina dorm, it is a beautiful dorm and my roommate is not so bad as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the academic standard of Marywood University is very high, it is one of the many reason that I have chosen this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for new students would be to look for as many grants as possible. It really helps.

    In three sentences

    My college is Marywood University in Scranton, Pennsylvania. I love that it is close to home so I can stay close with my family. My father passed away july 20th, 2012 so I need to stay close for my mother.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus safety stations located in easily accessible places all over the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities that offer both on and off campus recreation. ]If a student wishes to start their own, it is very simple.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Scranton offers many activities for students, most of which are free with a Marywood ID

    Food and Dining

    There is always an healthy option for students who are health conscious, and the food is near always readily available.

    Dorm Life

    New dorms have just been added and the facilities are clean and well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small enough for each student to be able to ask questions personally to the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know which building has your classes before hand and don't be afraid to ask questions

    In three sentences

    Marywood University has a very diverse student body. It's campus is very beautiful and easy to navigate. The leaders and staff are helpful and always willing to answer questions.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I myself am in snowboarding club, art club art therapy club. but if i am not mistaken,,,, there is every ind of club you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    artists and musicians. spiritual and cultural people of all types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a really cool and very large cemetery to explore near by. lighting the tree ceremony is a favorite. art auctions. and a rich history.

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you pay for

    What to do for fun

    There is concerts, art galleries, events, sports, field trips, beautiful landscapes, a lot of history, and close to down town Scranton where the night life is great.

    Food and Dining

    OH MY GOSH!!!!! The food is sooooo good here, i would rather eat here than a fancy restaurant. and being a vegetarian, they have many delicious menu items I cant get enough of. you got to try the mozzarella sticks.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, so I don't know much about the dorm life. I have made many friends that live in the dorms and they all seem very satisfied. If I did not have to go home to my children, I would love to live on campus, just for the campus alone.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of hard work, but its worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take care of yourself, body, mind and spirit. Stay true and don't give up on your dreams and aspirations. Be dedicated to your studies and don't be afraid to ask questions. One professor once told me no question is a dumb question and he was right. you never know what interesting things you will find out.

    In three sentences

    Dedicated and compassionate faculty and staff. Kind and calming environment to learn in. Many interesting classes and unique degree programs.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is so safe, we always have a security car around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Diversity Club, International Club, Fraternity, Net Impact; and so many more.

    What to do for fun

    The student association are always doing activities from movie night to trips.

    Food and Dining

    Food is healthy and taste really good.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter for financial reasons, but I do have many friends living on campus, and they love it. I have been told is a great expierence. And the dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Proffesors always make you work hard so when you graduate and go out to the real life you would not struggle in any field.

    Tips for prospective students

    To work hard for your goal, which is the major you are going to choose or you chose already. Always strive to be a better student. Education is the most powerful weapon as Nelson Mandela once said. Try to get involved as much a you can in activities, and try to get to know faculty member. And if you migh struggle with any class just ask one of your classmates to help you or you can go to the tutoring center which is free. The school would always try to help the students in any possible way.

    In three sentences

    Marywood is a great University in every aspect. The faculty member care about students and they are always there for you if you need me. The campus is beautiful, and I always feel like home. Marywood always wants to put in practice its core values. One of them is community service, which is my favorite and I always like to get involved as much as I can.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safety, you need a key to go to any place in campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are over 20 clubs involved with the school and activities are one of the reasons why students stay on the weekends.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food that they offer is good but it would be better if they tried to cook new things.

    Dorm Life

    They are fun and quiet at the same time, sometimes it becomes a very social place.

    Academic Rigor

    exellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Its q really quiet campus and has green areas

    In three sentences

    Very good school

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is ideally for students who like to be in a small and quiet environment

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is quite costly

    What to do for fun

    Great sport teams, and many activities to do sound campus There's something for everyone

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite expensive, and it doesn't have the best taste But it does the job

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you buy the parking pass, which is very expensive and you're not guaranteed parking, if you don't marywood is big on giving tickets

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY safe campus, little to no criminal activity Campus security is always around There are Emergency alert buttons all around campus just in case, but there really is never need for them!

    Greek Life

    Sororities - Yes Fraternity - One (Not surprising because there are very few male students when compared to the female population) Not a big thing

    Clubs and Activities

    1) All sorts of academic/major related clubs 2) Gay Straight Alliance 3) International Club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Christmas, there is a lighting of a Christmas tree in the Liberal Arts Center

    Bang for the buck

    Marywood is a great school and I love it here! Even though we are religious affiliated university, we are very open-minded and accept all that are different/unique

    What to do for fun

    1) There's not much to do around campus but there is a bus system (The COLT system) that is free for students, that will take you downtown, Scranton University, etc. 2) We are a dry campus, but if you are keen to partying...Scranton University is only a few minutes away

    Food and Dining

    1) Food is alright, not first class cuisine or whatever 2) A couple of choices, not many but a few 3) Vegan/vegetarian options are small, but I'm sure if you request beforehand there will be available options

    Dorm Life

    1) All dorms/houses have pretty nice rooms/bathrooms 2) Regina hall is the only dorm with community bathrooms, the others are mainly 4 residents to a bathroom 3) Great community: in most cases, everyone seems to get along with those who live around them. If not, people are still polite enough to say 'hello' and open doors for each other. You don't need to be best friends with your roommate or hall-mates, but you should always be civil at the least.

    Academic Rigor

    - Everybody works hard academically and the professors are always there to help - Academics is definitely a huge focus for the majority of Marywood students

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Get involved in clubs and organizations around campus because it is a great way to get involved and meet new people 2) Themed living is a great opportunity to live together with your friends and help serve your community

    In three sentences

    Marywood University is a small, catholic university that provides for everyone and tries to accommodate to each and every student. The community is close-knit and everybody is so nice. All professors want the best for their students and provide all the assistance they can.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like being home.

    Great for these types of students

    Catholic females

    What to do for fun

    Swim Meets

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early

    In three sentences

    Marywood is beautiful. I am happy that they offer a 5 year masters program. I am proud to be attending a Catholic University

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful. Whether you spot a serious problem, or just don't want to walk across campus at night by yourself, you can always call them. All of the officers are very friendly and helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    Marywood is a little pricey, but they are great with financial aid and you really get so much for your money. We have loads of free services that are included in tuition like laundry, counseling, tutoring, and more.

    What to do for fun

    There are loads of different programs our campus does (scavenger hunts, open mic nights, movies, haunted houses, etc). There is always something going on. If you'd like to go off campus, there are two malls in the area, and downtown Scranton has loads of little shops and cafes!

    Food and Dining

    I have to say, compared to other schools I've visited, our food is pretty great. We have a lot of different meal plans to choose from and we always have many options and a good variety on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life takes some time getting used to, but most of the students love it. It's exciting to be on your own, surrounded by other college students.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that my classes push me to work harder than I thought I could, but I always feel rewarded afterwards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to meeting new people. The whole student body is super friendly, so don't worry about making friends, just enjoy your time there!

    In three sentences

    Marywood has a beautiful campus, dedicated teachers, and amazing programs. I love being a student at Marywood, and could not imagine myself happier at any other college.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, sports teams and other activities to do on campus. Bingo, movie night and trivia are always popping up during the semester thanks to SAC. Off campus there is a bus you can take to get to the mall, it is free for students, and there are a few restaurants in the area to eat at. A convenience store can be found down the road and parties are held off campus.

    Food and Dining

    At first the food is really good during the beginning of the year, but as the semester goes on it goes downhill. The food is repetitive after a while and it is easy to get tired of it. Dining is expensive and constantly increasing, but most of the food is made right there in the kitchens and cafes. There is one dining hall for buffet meals and there are little cafes around campus to grab and go. Depending on what you are in the mood for or where you are on campus will determine what you eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not terrible, but neither is it the greatest thing ever. There are options to joining a themed community after freshmen year; this is for people who have the same interest to live together in the same hallway. Other then this housing is pretty expensive, but the dorms are not in bad shape. The only dorm really worth avoiding is Regina; this dorm to me is the worse one to live in. You can pick your own roommate freshmen year if you meet someone during orientation, but if not you are stuck with the person for at least three weeks till you can switch.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic workload is large and there is more reading to do then actual homework and worksheets. Keep up with the readings and projects otherwise you will get overwhelmed especially applies to art programs. This is not a party school, and most professors care about what they teach and do. They know your name and will know if you don't show up to class; you can loose a letter grade so always attend class. Depending on your major will determine the amount of projects or tests you have to do; art does projects and science and math do tests more. Manage your time wisely and there won't be a problem with keeping up with the work load; always check your syllabus for due dates. Professors are not always going to tell you when something is due, it is your job to check.

    Tips for prospective students

    Marywood is a dry campus and campus safety is always around. Partying is fine, but the amount of school work involved will catch up fast. Art programs and music programs are well known. The campus is one large circle so it is hard to get lost. Freshmen get their own separate dorm. There are plenty of sports to choose from, and intramural sports not as much. You can get lost in the shuffle, so join a club or sport team to make it easier. Try and avoid getting Regina as a dorm; Madonna is the best dorm and Loughran is for Freshmen. Parking is one of the hardest things to find on campus. The security officers love to ticket so be careful where you park. There are no currently made books in the library, it is not updated at all.

    In three sentences

    Marywood is a small liberal arts based university with a variety of majors for different fields of study. The University has a small campus and community of closely knit students. Classroom sizes are small and have plenty of student and professor interactions; professors know the name of students not the number.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good for the most part. It is better than most schools, and is all you can eat in the main dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice, and are mostly suited (2 bedrooms connected by a bathroom). All residence halls offer 24 hour lounges which are perfect for doing homework.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be difficult but I have learned a lot. It depends on the professor, but most are very good.

    In three sentences

    Marywood's campus is beautiful and very safe. Class sizes are typically small (between 10 and 30 students), and professors are approachable. It is a small school, and you are likely to see many of the same people daily.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is always a big issue for people because they want to make sure that they are safe which is completely understandable. Campus safety is always around and they even give you their number so you can call them if you feel unsafe. There are blue lights all around campus which if you push them campus safety will be there in seconds. I remember one time when I was walking back to my dorm late at night after a class and I was feeling very creeped out just because it was so dark. Well a campus safety officer came and walked me back to my dorm just to make sure that I would be okay.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus. If there is a club that you think is worth the time but not a club yet, then you can make it up and get approved. They don't stifle creativity but let it blossom.

    Bang for the buck

    Marywood is a little expensive but it is definitely worth it. The classes are worth your time and you definitely grow into a better person while you are there.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is plenty to do. SAC always has some kind of entertainment set up including bingo, trivia, off-campus trips and so on. Also, there is a volleyball court behind one of the dorms and it is always free to use. They gym and pool are always able to be used also. There is an open space which we call the art field which is huge and people are always playing Frisbee and soccer and all sports. Also, there is a playground down the street which also has basketball courts open.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good. In the main dining room there is always plenty of room to sit down and enough spaces for even a big group of people. The food sometimes gets a little repetitive but they have something for every kind of person (vegetarian, gluten-free, etc.)

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are nice, Regina being the exclusion because it is old. However, everyone is always friendly and if you have to share the communal bathroom you almost never have to wait even for the shower. They keep it super clean and the rooms are pretty big in size.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very into making you the best person you can be, which includes high grades. They make you work for your grade and you aren't able to slack off which just proves that you are getting a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you study, study, study. One failed test can bring you down a lot but you learn so much.

    In three sentences

    They are a very good University where they challenge you in ways you never thought possible. The curriculum is set to help you not hold you back. They do what they can to make sure you are being the best person you can be.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always around. If you feel unsafe at any time on campus, there are blue lights that you can walk to in order to contact a member of campus safety. If you feel unsafe walking from the freshman lot to your dorm, a campus safety officer will walk you back. If there is something going on around campus that doesn't seem right, campus safety is just a call away. They are there to help you. This year with all the snow, campus safety came around during the snow storm to help students shovel their cars out of the snow.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority on campus, Zeta Phi Delta. They are a sorority devoted to service. There is also a fraternity, Mu Sigma Pi. This fraternity is new, started only in 2012. They are a brotherhood dedicated to helping those in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities. Don't be afraid to become involved in something.

    Great for these types of students

    Marywood is great for students who are dedicated to their degree. Professors know your name and make an attempt to be personal with you in most cases. If you're looking for small class sizes and a close-knit student body, Marywood is the place to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since it is a Catholic University, there is a church on campus. The Schwartz Center for Spiritual Life provides Mass for students on Sunday morning and Sunday evening. This is something that many colleges did not have to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy going to Marywood. If I had to choose a school all over again, I would still choose to attend this school. It is an expensive school, but financial aid and scholarships are always available for students in financial need.

    What to do for fun

    SAC (Student Activities Crew) provides many things to do on campus throughout the semesters. Prizes are given out at SAC events. This year, we have had many bingo nights, trivia night, SAC's Quest, open mic night, as well as many other options. For students residing on campus, RAs (Resident Assistants) provide activities throughout the year as well. My freshman year RA scheduled events such as melted crayon art, painting nails, and messy twister. This year, my RA sponsored a H2O Pong Party. Seeing that Marywood has a dry campus, this was an event to learn about the dangers of alcohol.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls here offer a variety of options. McGowan's Atrium Diner offers a selection more like a diner. They serve breakfast all day throughout the week, but also provide lunch and dinner options that will satisfy your hunger. There's also a F'Real milkshake machine located in the Atrium. Regina's First Stop provides a sandwich shop for a quick lunch or dinner throughout the week. Sandwiches or wraps are usually the go-to food here. They also have specials on certain days, such as quesadilla Friday. There are also fast food options here such as a burger and fries, as well as vegetarian options. There are also two cafes open throughout the week, so students can stop and grab a bagel and a coffee before, between, or after classes. Nazareth Dining hall is the main dining hall with 8 options, providing you an all you can eat buffet. The dining hall offers vegetarian options, as well as gluten-free options for students. There are meals served from different countries as well A high variety of food is served at Naz, you're bound to enjoy one of the meal options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are a lot better than most colleges I have visited. For incoming freshman, the set-up is suite style living. This means that each room has their own sink and mirror, as well as a bathroom shared between 4-5 people. The walls are drywall instead of the traditional white painted brick setup in older dorms. Resident Assistants are always around to help you out with anything that you need. Oh, big plus. Upper classmen are there to help you move in on the first day.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are a primary focus. Since it is a liberal arts school, you will be enrolled in classes outside of your major. These classes include philosophy, fine arts, psychology, religious studies, and many other courses you may not be used to taking in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. Right now we are under construction, but it's hard to find a campus that actually has trees anymore. There are activity fields as well as a beach volleyball court outside to go to in the spring. Take a day and talk with your admissions counselor to sit in on a few classes to see just what Marywood is all about.

    In three sentences

    Marywood University is a liberal arts school, focused on an all around education for all students. The class sizes are relatively small, making it easy to connect with your professors on a personal basis in class. Many student activities are provided for on campus students, provided by the Student Activities Committee.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a fun places around Marywood University. There is downtown Scranton, Nay Aug park, and the top of the world, a hike with the best hidden secret that Scranton has to offer. A must do!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't awful, but like most school, the cafeteria gets old after a while. Go to Mggowen, they have the best food on campus with a diner style and a milk shake machine like they have in sheetz!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms that Marywood offers to students Freshman year is the nicest housing you will find on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Working one on one with professors is the great thing about Marywood. Professors doors are always open and due to the small class sizes, you aren't just a number, you are a person and the professors know you by name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that a small school is what you want for your education, because it is not for everyone. Go on campus for a visit, especially if you are an athlete, meeting with the team will help your decision tremendously.

    In three sentences

    Marywood is a small community, which gives students the opportunity to have relationships with each other and professors that cannot be obtained at a larger school. Everyone's experiences are each unique and special in their own special way. If you are looking for a school with small classes, this is the school for you!

  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no idea

    Greek Life

    no idea

    Clubs and Activities

    no idea

    Great for these types of students

    for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no idea

    Bang for the buck

    Fair tution policy

    What to do for fun

    No idea

    Food and Dining

    No idea

    Dorm Life

    No idea

    Academic Rigor

    Easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch application deadlines

    In three sentences

    Good Compact University Nice Location Excellent faculty