Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is worth the price. it is a lot cheaper then most schools and i like that

    Will enjoy being here

    I think I can fit in here the size works to my advantage because it is small, and i was raised in a small town I will be like going to my high school just way may more expensive

    Will learn a lot

    the information that I have seen on this school is outstanding the size counts a lot. I feel I can learn here and get a fun college experience

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes to be active or participate in events. Anyone who enjoys the arts or is studious. Anyone who enjoys nature and beautiful scenery. This college is pretty much perfect for anyone except for those who sit in their rooms and play video games all day because then they begin to feel lonely. No one at MCLA should ever feel alone or bored with the amount of activities going on. Be active, be studious, and most of all have fun along the way!

    Tips for prospective students

    For potential students, I would recommend getting to class on time every day, it helps with your grade, classes are only five minutes from the dorm rooms, and the teachers take notice and you get on their good side. Get involved in clubs that you enjoy, do not just join clubs for the number. Clubs become more beneficial when you actually enjoy them and want to participate. Attend all of the first days activities because it is the best way to meet your friends early on when everyone is still looking to find their place. Paper plates, plastic cups and dining ware are essentials if you are going to be living in a dorm room since it is difficult to wash dishes in the bathroom. Oh, and one last tip; become friends with an upperclassmen so they can drive you grocery stores such as Wal-Mart, or Price Chopper.

    Bang for the buck

    MCLA Is probably one of the only schools that can offer its great resources for a price this low. I considered MCLA at first because of its low price, but when I visited I fell even more in love. The scenery, the people, and the campus itself make you feel at home away from home.

    Am enjoying being here

    I personally love MCLA. My group of friends are probably one of my greatest reasons for wanting to go back. It is a small school so you become closer with your friends than you would at a larger school. You also have a lot of freedom to become active in the school. So far I have joined the concerts committee and got the rapper Sam Adams to our school, and I have started the first MCLA photo gallery through the photo club. The possibilities at this school are endless and there is always faculty or staff that are willing to help.

    Am learning a lot

    MCLA is a great school for students who need or want one on one attention. The classrooms are about 20-30 people so the teachers get to know you well right away. I personally love having a smaller class size because you are not just a number and it is easier to become engaged with the teacher. I have learned a great amount of information from every one of my classes and the work load is not horrible.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for artistic and free students who are looking for a quality education that does not bind them and restrain them. If you want to learn in a fun way and have the freedom to learn, grow, in a creative artistic setting MCLA is your college right from the start.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what you want but go with an open mind to new ideas, people, clubs, classes and everything else the school has to offer. Be open and willing to explore and try new things. Also, get yourself out there! Talk to teachers, do good in your classes and make friends with them after all these people can help recommend you for jobs down the road, they also could have the key to some very important doors you need opened.

    Bang for the buck

    This can be answered in one word: YES.

    Am enjoying being here

    I believe what has kept me coming back is that I am able to be myself at this school. MCLA is an arts school, which gives it this great sense of creative freedom. The atmosphere, teachers, and students all make this experience worth while. It is true what they say about how the friends you make at college will last you a life time. I feel at MCLA I have met my most best friends.

    Am learning a lot

    As an English Major, MCLA has been more than able to teach me the tools that I need to further pursue my career. I truly believe MCLA is bringing me closer and closer to obtaining that goal. I believe no matter what the major or concentration this school will teach you all the tools you need to pursue your dreams.

  • 11/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local students. Very unaccommodating for those that are far from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be kicked out of the dorms for Thanksgiving and Spring break.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is gorgeous, and most of the faculty is wonderful.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ski club- if u love skiing outdoors club- if u love hiking and doing other outdoor activities Biology club- if u like science and want to discuss it with you fellow classmate

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that you are in college to study very hard and make good grades.So give 100 percent effort each semester, and don't ever feel embarrass to ask your professor about a topic you do not comprehend.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is a huge factor at mcla. the safety of the students is the upmost priority.

    Greek Life

    the sororities and fraternities are just off campus and house parties almost every weekend. most are involved in community service and they're always welcoming newcomers.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have every club imaginable. and if there isn't one you'd like to join, then you can make your own. the clubs are what keep the campus up and running all year round.

    Great for these types of students

    students interested in art, english, and psychology seem to flock to mcla.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the library is the most serene location on campus. the campus center is popular, but also a great place to relax and do homework, especially after grabbing a coffee at the starbucks or a sandwich at the subway.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a great education for a very light check.

    What to do for fun

    mcla is in a very small city. there are shuttles to go to the mall and walmart everyday. down town is a very short walk away. there are always on campus activities to keep the students involved and happy. it's up to the student: what you put into your stay at mcla, is what you get out of it.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not great, but they try their hardest to keep it interesting for us. if the dining hall is really not suitable for you, then there are always off campus restaurants and diners that deliver right to your residence hall.

    Dorm Life

    hoosac hall and the townhouses are the best for outgoing, adventurous students. if a quieter setting is better for you, then the berkshire towers are definitely where you want to be.

    Academic Rigor

    the class are challenging, but the professors are always happy to help out beyond the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. buy snow boots- the weather, though amazing, can be overwhelming sometimes. 2. bring a thick jacket. 3. understand that what you put into your stay at mcla, is what you will get out of it.

    In three sentences

    mcla is a tight knit community. it encourages striving for greatest and stepping outside of one's comfort zone. though small, it has so many opportunities to offer its students.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    in recent years there have been some robberies in the townhouse complex, but that risk can be negated if you lock the doors to your apartment. also, our public safety officers are going to be armed within the next six months, so that could make things a little safer.

    Greek Life

    virtually non-existent. there are a handful of organizations, but most of them aren't even acknowledged by the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a lot to do if you just get out of your dorm room!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there isn't anything too out of the ordinary, but there are rumors that a couple of the classroom buildings are haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    the academics aren't as challenging as i was expecting, but the professors are good at what they do. there is a lot to be had from student life as well.

    What to do for fun

    get involved in campus clubs, obviously! we have 55 different student organizations as of the spring 2012 semester.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is awful, but sometimes they'll have something good.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms can be fun, and there's a lot of freedom to be had in the townhouse complex.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics aren't really that hard for me, but i was a really strong student in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    get out of your dorm room and make some friends! there isn't a lot to do in town, so you have to make your own fun.

    In three sentences

    the class sizes are small, so students get a lot of individual attention and have the opportunity to learn a lot. there are a lot of things to do on campus in your free time if you just go looking for them. the cafeteria leaves a lot to be desired, but that's really the only big downside.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at campus. Because its small I can get from one end to the other worry free. I see campus security often.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do at MCLA depending on your interestes. I play a sport and don't have much down time, but there are places to eat, churches, a movie house, museums, grocery stores, trails, ski lodges, and rollerskating all reasonably close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    The caf, as we call it, has a lot to offer and is an all you can eat. A Subway was just added to the campus this year. It's great food.

    Dorm Life

    A great experience for a freshman. I've met many students in my building and the students on my floor have become a big family. My second year I was in a townhouse with five other students. It's been a lot of fun. I plan on getting a townhouse again next year.

    Academic Rigor

    I am enrolled in the Biology program and it is very rigorous. The professors have really helped me to succeed. I am on an athletic team and need to miss classes and my teachers are more than willing to let me make up work missed and get extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes are small for more one on one learning. It is located in the Berkshires. The town of North Adams where MCLA is located is small with everything you might need within walking distance.

    In three sentences

    The college is small and friendly. MCLA offers many different degrees and althetic opportunities. The professors are very helpful and care about helping you succeed.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    President of Cheer Club!!

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater, ice skating rink, and bowling alley very close to the campus! MCLA also puts on a lot of activities for students.

    Food and Dining

    Ara mark is good and we just got a subway!

    Dorm Life

    BT and the townhouses are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and have fun!

    In three sentences

    MCLA sits on a beautiful campus. It is small school which gives students ample opportunity to get one on one attention. MCLA is a great school where you can excel in higher education.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The surrounding area has many attractions and activities but its also important to make friends and make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The Food could be a whole lot better.

    Dorm Life

    As far as dorm life goes, there are a variety of options.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes are rigorous being that they are small and the professors care a lot about student progress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come Visit!

    In three sentences

    MCLA is great for getting an affordable education in a private like atmosphere

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good. The people there are really nice and walk around campus a lot I was once limping around playing with my friend and a campus police pulled over and asked me if I was ok!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs on campus and lots of people are open for always starting a new club if they happen to not have one you are interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very reasonably priced for some colleges that I have seen.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Walmart close by, plenty of restaurants, many museums if you are into art and a movie theater right down the street. Plus the school puts on many activities which will definitely keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat buffet style, is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in a dorm because I am a commuter student but they have many places to offer where you can stay and they all look pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not a really hard school and all the teachers are fair and are always here to help you. Unless you go into a field that is not a weak point of yours you will be fine here no matter how well you did in high school.

    In three sentences

    The staff is wonderful and so helpful! The campus is beautiful i.e. it is clean. It is in a nice quiet town with some things to do and offers a ton of options for majors.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hangout with my friends at the pool lounge, watch television and go to the gym and play basketball

    Food and Dining

    the food is great. i rate the food an 9.5

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is fun because it helps you meet everybody your living with and to make friends. i would rate the dorm life a 10

    Academic Rigor

    i rate the academic rigor a 8.5

    Tips for prospective students

    join clubs on campus to get a better and fun experience of college

    In three sentences

    Massachusetts college is a very great school. i would rate this school a 9, because of all of the great things that school offers.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety does a good job of protecting the M.C.L.A. campus. Every once in a great while there will be a burglary in one of the townhouses, but that is almost always because the students left a door unlocked. As long as the students are smart and lock the doors, the campus is a safe place. Even walking around at night is safe; the community is small, so people watch out for each other. (The campus is also very well lit and has emergency call phones.)

    Greek Life

    Though I am not affiliated with any sorority, I do know that M.C.L.A. has several fraternities and sororities available. Most of them require Sophomore status before a student can pledge, while others allow Freshmen in. Many of the Greek organizations have houses just off of the campus, and will have routine meetings to assist the members academically and socially.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about fifty clubs on campus. M.C.L.A. has everything from an Anime Club, to an Equestrian Club, to Theatre, to Dance, to Arts and Crafts Club. At the beginning of each Fall semester, each club sets up a table on the quad to recruit new members and advertise themselves. This event is simply called The Club Fair, and there are always free sundaes. You'll find that there really is a club for everyone, and making a new club is easy!

    Great for these types of students

    M.C.L.A. is great for students who want an affordable school with a small campus that will nurture their success. It is also perfect for the student that isn't sure about what career they would like, or even what major! The school has a large number of Undeclared students, and offers a variety of classes to them that will help in their important decision of choosing a major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are few unusual traditions that I know of, though every year there is a Drag Dance. It provides free food and lets students cross-dress for an evening of hilarity! A fun location on campus, at least in the winter, is Hoosac Hill. Located behind Hoosac Hall, this hill is the perfect place for sledding!

    Bang for the buck

    M.C.L.A. is priced like a state school and acts like a private school. It is personal and has a small student-to-faculty ratio, and there are many opportunities available. The faculty respect the students and respond to their problems and questions promptly. The teachers are absolutely fantastic, and it is easy to get to know them. If you attend M.C.L.A., the world will open up to you.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown North Adams offers bowling, dining, movies, and shuttles to the mall. Though the town is small, students find plenty of entertainment. On-campus fun times include trips to New York and Six Flags, dances, movies on the quad, and sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Though there will always be people who complain about food, and though college food will never be as good as a home-cooked meal, M.C.L.A's dining services are pretty darn tasty! I have enjoyed many of the meals that they cook up. There is a wide variety of food every day and for every meal. Each meal is all-you-can-eat, so whether you're going in for a quick bite or staying awhile to chow down, the food is easily accessible and there is plenty of it. It is also refreshed quickly, so that students get good, hot meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at M.C.L.A. are fantastic. Freshmen have the option of living in Hoosac Hall or Berkshire Towers. Hoosac Hall is the more typical college dorm, with large halls filled with student rooms. Berkshire Towers, where I stayed, has three suites per floor. Each suite has eight students and a common room. It is a comfortable environment for a nervous college freshman, and making friends is very easy.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on both the teacher and how much you want to push yourself. If you're okay with doing the bare minimum to pass, then the school isn't challenging. However, if you are actively interested in challenging yourself and seeking a great education, there is work to be done! The teachers will provide thoughtful insights at the end of class and thoroughly review material. Homework is not assigned to keep the student busy, but rather to further their learning outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    The single most important thing to do at M.C.L.A. is attend class. Attendance is very important, especially in small classes where participation is a major part of the grade. Also, get to know the professors; they can help you achieve any goal you put your mind to.

    In three sentences

    There are so many opportunities here for students, from studying abroad, to getting jobs on campus, to getting involved in club activities. The student-to-faculty ratio is small so the professors really get to know you by the time you're an upperclassman. The intimate campus and the individual attention received makes M.C.L.A. the perfect place for getting an education, gaining opportunities, and being a successful student.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety, does help you out sometimes. They could improve on helping people out more.

    Greek Life

    There is greek life on campus but I am not sure what they do besides party and drink.

    Clubs and Activities

    Christian Fellowship Club is great! ALL the clubs on campus are awesome!

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing people, leaders.

    Bang for the buck

    MCLA is a very affordable college.

    What to do for fun

    Visit MassMoca, go to the lake, walk around downtown, participate in club and student organized events.

    Food and Dining

    Aramark isn't the best food provider. The salads were not very fresh at times and the variety and health options are limited. However there is a food committee that works on improving the food quality at MCLA. The food committee is an open group, anyone can join and pitch ideas and actionplans.

    Dorm Life

    Berkshire towers is a great quiet living area.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Advisors really help you out if you seek the help. Teachers and professors are also very willing to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student of a non-white ethnic background, make sure to bring some of your ethnic/cultural food to prepare or cook while on campus. Also, if you live far from the school make sure to get a student advantage card so that you can get discounts on the amtrak train or peterpan bus and order your tickets weeks in advance to get the lowest prices.

    In three sentences

    MCLA is a small, student-run college. The Staff and teachers at MCLA are very helpful. It is really easy to get to know other students on campus.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on patrol and are a great resource. If you have problems with anyone on campus or if you get injured they are always there to help you. The campus is a really safe place to be and it's like you are in the comfort of your own home.

    Greek Life

    We have a couple sororities and fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have basically a club for everything and if we don't have a club for it already it is really easy to make a club.

    Great for these types of students

    I think this school is great for any type of student. We have opportunities for artsy kids, athletes, kids focused mainly on academics, kids who want to have a good time, and kids who just want to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school has during your first days on campus a walking through the gates tradition. You wear semi-casual clothing and you walk through the gates as part of convocation and you aren't supposed to walk through the gates again until graduation or it is believed you will not graduate on time.

    Bang for the buck

    I really think that MCLA is worth the money. It is a cheap school and all of the money you do spend goes to good use. It is a really great community and a really great place to learn. There is always something to do and there are tons of really great opportunities every year like a spring concert, different club trips and other really great activities that our student activities counsel puts on.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, a club for everyone. There are also sports games to go to and there are always events all over campus. If you look for what is out there you can always find something to do. We have a volleyball court and lawns to play sports on or just hang out. There is a movie theater and a bunch of art galleries in town that also usually have something neat to check out. There are some shops in town that might also catch your eye.

    Food and Dining

    The campus store and cafeteria don't always have the best variety of food and the campus store is in some cases over priced. We do also have a starbucks and subway on campus that expand the variety of what you can eat but they may be more expensive than the store depending on what you get. The cafeteria closes at 7:30 and the rest of the marketplace, where the other food establishments are located closes at 11. The quality of food is decent but the hours of operation aren't so desirable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cozy and a great place to live, study, and get to know people. One of the dorms was just redone so there are more floors and quads were changed to be super singles. It is also really easy to go between the different dorms as long as you have someone to sign you in. Our school finds safety very important and there are security monitors on the first floor of the dorms to ensure that only people that belong in that building will be allowed in.

    Academic Rigor

    If you show up to your classes and do your work you will have no problem doing well at this school. If you start to struggle there are also many different places to go to get help. We have a great tutoring program and most professors have no problem helping you out if you go to them and let them know you are having a hard time in their class. We also have Teaching Assistance in some classes and they are more than willing to help peers with any problems they are having. Classes have different levels of difficulty and you might be pleasantly surprised by a more challenging class or you may have to switch out of a class that is too easy. Regardless of if the class is too easy or hard for you or just perfect it is also very easy to add/drop classes so you have a schedule that fits your needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should just be calm and go with the flow, everything will work out. Don't let the look of campus or the size of campus get you down. Classes are a lot of fun and while some are quite challenging, others are entry level so you can pick classes that feel right to you. MCLA is also a great place to study because you can get to really know your professors and they will get to know your strengths and weaknesses. This makes it easier for them to aid you in your studies if you go to them for help if you fall behind. This also allows professors to get to know you so if you are interested in going to graduate school and you need a letter of recommendation, they will have an easier time writing you a letter.

    In three sentences

    Despite its lack luster buildings MCLA is a really great community and a great college to get a degree from. The campus is made up of old buildings with new ideas and the two of them together create a great atmosphere that lets students have all of the great perks of today's society with the old buildings of North Adams that give our campus character. It is a well lived on campus and it really feels like a home away from home and is a great place to meet new people, study, and get a degree.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food, like any college, is not Mom's home cooking. Truthfully, it can get old, which makes you appreciate a delicious home cooked meal when going back home for the holidays!

    Dorm Life

    There are two freshman dorms, Berkshire Towers and Hoosac Hall. After freshman year, you can apply to live in a townhouse with a maximum of 6 people. If you are looking for a more quiet and subdued living space, Berkshire Towers is perfect for you. Hoosac Hall is the more traditional dorm living space that is basically an all freshman dorm. Freshman to seniors can live in the Berkshire Towers and can also apply for a single.

    Academic Rigor

    Starting out as a freshman at any college can be challenging, but make sure not to become too involved in activities and forget the reason why you are actually there in the first place! The academics were fairly easy, so make sure to take action and sign up for Honors courses if you want to challenge yourself.

    In three sentences

    MCLA is a small school but has a big heart. The sense of community is empowering. If you like a school where you can have a voice, then MCLA is right for you!

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are on call 24/7. They also do a meet and greet during orientation where they speak to parents and students on topics such as the i.d. cards they issue that only students have that gives each student access to their respective dorms. They offer escort services during the night upon request and shuttles to health facilities for free.

    Greek Life

    Not very large.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most of the clubs are predominantly student-run. There are Not very many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy country, mountainous settings. People who don't care much for expansive cities or urban settings.

    Bang for the buck

    More affordable than most institutions especially if you live in state. If you do live in state tuition is under $20,000.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple trendy cafes in town as well as a movie theater in town. Most people also take an occasional shuttle to the local mall which is about 30-45 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Very wide array of food and very well prepared as well. Though as many would find, after repeatedly eating the same food for a certain amount of time you may get tired and want variety. In the case of an event like this, staying in your dorm and preparing something yourself or going out to eat may be a wise choice.

    Dorm Life

    Newly renovated facilities and many to choose from. There are three residential facilities, two of which are available to freshman. The other hall is apartment style living and is only available to juniors and seniors and some sophomores.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes permit more student to teacher discussions and questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a college that may be overlooked when you contemplate a prospective liberal arts college. When passing this college give some serious thought and you might find it very regarding to attend or even consider

    In three sentences

    I love the small, intimate setting. The staff is very welcoming. The town nearby is very hospitable.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are 4 sororities and 2 fraternities. I'm a member of one of the sororities and it is the best decision I have ever made.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs are worth joining. You meet so many new people that are all extremely friendly and easy to get along with.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater right down the street. If you join a club there is always something going on with them. Also there is a shuttle that will take you downtown and to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is probably the thing I like least about MCLA. The food is not as bad as people make it seem but it could still be better. The dining area is too small and I really dislike how we can't get take-out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classrooms are small and most of the professors are easy to get along with. Depending on your classes the work is just about right on the difficulty level.

    In three sentences

    Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts has given me the opportunity to do the things I've always wanted to do.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a gate on campus(which is gorgeous). When freshman enter they walk through them and are wold not to walk through the gate again until graduation. If you do, you won't graduate on time.

    Food and Dining

    They just opened a subway on campus. The campus store has basic food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent sized. They offer dorms and suites to freshman. There are town houses that upperclassmen can live in.

    Academic Rigor

    It seemed like it was difficult but not imposiible.

    In three sentences

    It is a small picaresque school nestled in the Berkshires. The staff and students are friendly and welcoming. The area in surrounding the school is great for outdoorsy people.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They drive around 24/7

    Bang for the buck

    I am Hawa Ture, the first out of my family to attend college. I'm paying my own way through college, I have no family support so I'm searching for every dollar I can get to help me out.

    What to do for fun

    Dance with floor-mate.

    Food and Dining

    I live on Subway the lunch room food is awful

    Dorm Life

    People are do friendly

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty balance it's hard but not impossible to accomplish.

    In three sentences

    It's not bad

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Poor choices for vegan and vegetarian diets, not a lot of options in general.

    Dorm Life

    Well maintained, safe, and not far off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fairly easy and professors make themselves available for extra help.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is taken very seriously, and I feel super safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports Acapella Black Student Union ALANA Outdoors Club Alot more...

    Great for these types of students

    People who like the winter, cold, and mountains.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes, because it gets cold really fast.

    In three sentences

    MCLA is a great college for someone who wants to attend a small liberal arts college. They have many activities for everyone. The atmosphere is amazing and the the area is fantastic.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're okay. Most are pretty nice, but they are armed in case of something were to happen.

    Greek Life

    It's good if you're a freshman/sophomore, nothing really special unless you are a greek member as a junior/senior.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the club of Dance Company. It has its rough spots but there is a show performed every semester at some point. I learned how to dance and movement of the body because of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, Outdoor, theatre kids.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Masonic temple isn't on campus, but it is haunted and has ghost tours every year.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you get in all honesty. It's not bad, but it can be unpleasant at times too.

    What to do for fun

    Club activites are key, so aren't sports, but only if you're talented enough. Still somewhat clique-y like in high school, but not as bad.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is good if you need something on the go, but too expensive. If you don't use all the money on the card, basically you're paying for nothing. You get what you get. no meal plan senior year, which can either suck or be a good thing.

    Dorm Life

    It honestly depends on whom you live with/are roommates with. It really will make difference.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what major and subject you're pursuing, how badly you want to be a part of that type of academic is really up to you. nobody likes classes they have to take, but try your best to find something that can be interesting and will also count towards a requirement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, don't be stupid, don't get too drunk and look like an idiot, don't sleep around, be yourself and people will actually befriend you. And if you don't like those said people, you won't have to deal with time anymore after you graduate.

    In three sentences

    A small but decent college community of students and professors. Beautifully located in the Berkshires during good weather. Sometimes a pain when it comes of housing situations.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Alot of clubs and activites, but again they seem to be held without consideration of the commutor/working students. I'd love to be more involved like at my last college, but I find the hold alot events at times I'm not available during. Again, I'm employed outside of college though, so this may just be an issue for me.

    What to do for fun

    The Berkshires is the place to be for entertainment, especially during the summer months. There's alot of history and art to be seen in the area, and plenty of winter sport activites.

    Food and Dining

    There is food located on campus which is good, but I'm not sure how great for those who plan to live on campus and eat it regularly. The food in the local area is excellant though! Angelina's, Water Street Grill, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Don't Live in Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Again, things I already meationed above involving administration: Not very commutor friendly, assumes most live on campus Having to chase advisor/teachers around for signitures during add/drop period for the convience of the professor so they know if they have room left in their calss; this is what the computer system/ registrar is for! Again, at my previous college, you could asses online registration during add/drop so it was quick and convenient for everyone! I was accepted to the college in early Dec, and wasn't able to reigistrar for classes until the day before they started, Jan 14th. I was, also, told that there was no one from admisement center I could talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early, otherwise you'll end up registring the day before classes. due to lack of being able to meet with someone from admissions.

    In three sentences

    Lots of extra activites going on constatantly, and lots of care towards fitness/health resources. The adminstration is seems to treat the student population a lot more like high schoolers then the previous community college I graduated from. They also seem to forget that not all students live on campus and are local commuter students.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a gate on campus that you can only walk through when you become a student and when you graduate, or else it's bad luck.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking up Mt. Greylock or snowboarding at Jiminy Peak are fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The staff are the kindest people I have ever met.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus completes the whole college experience.

    In three sentences

    Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts is culturally rich and relatively small. It lies in the beatifully scenic Berkshires. It is a comfortable place to develop and grow academically and as a person.