Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 out of 27 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Only if you love to study all the time with very few extracurricular activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want any type of college experience, here is not the place to go. I thought I could go with the it's what you make of it slogan, but it's proving to be very unenjoyable. No athletics, one building, we use other colleges cafeterias and gym facilities.

  • 07/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 19 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get active but not in sports but in student government or in your preprofessional organizations and can handle studying your butt off and working your way to earn your degree, it's worth it. There are literally no sports teams in the school. I don't know if you'd count our cheerleading team as a sport, even. At the school, you'd find mostly students who study and try to do well and pass all their classes. You also find people who don't fall into this category and depend on getting answers from others or copies of previous exams to pass the class. Those, usually don't do as well as those who actually study and learn the material thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wish I can reverse time to save money. Don't think that everyone is going to laugh at you because you're going to a community college. I've learned it the hard way. Take all your core classes at a 2-year college, verify the credits will transfer, before you come to MCPHS. Even if those credits don't transfer, don't think MCPHS is your only option. Once you get all your core classes completed and it meets the requirements of other colleges/universities, you have a better chance of getting into that college. This school can be a real pain in the butt because the administrative make it that way. These past few years or so, they've accepted more students than there are seats to fill in. Professors have to modify their teachings to accommodate the levels of these students. It also means that they'd have to hire more faculty and construction workers to tear up small spaces and create bigger lecture halls, etc. Be weary, the school tends to rip you off on financial aid money but be persistent. Solve the situation yourself since they go after you for financial problems and if that doesn't work, get your parents involved, you get the idea. Do not buy books from the bookstore across the street. They rip you off. Try to sign up for the accepted freshmen class of whatever year on facebook and connect with former students of anatomy, etc. class to get the book. They're at a better price and it's way cheaper than the bookstore's price. Don't borrow more than you need but if you do, excess funds become refund checks, which you can get after each semester starts. Be on-time for everything!! Punctuality is important!! You don't want to get yourself into trouble with professors, deans, or your financial aid officer!!! Get to know your peers and get together. Sometimes you guys can share books which can cut back costs of textbooks, etc. You don't have to buy everything listed for each class. There are some professors who don't even use the book but suggests you to use it as a guide. The library has most of these books anyways so you can either photocopy them or have a friend scan the pages and just print it from your email account. Use all your print pages!! They're not refundable so use as much as you can even if it means killing trees!! You can recycle paper at the bins provided in the printing room or whenever you can find a recycling bin elsewhere. Bring leftovers or learn to cook!! You'd save a lot of money!! There are 3 microwaves in the school; one in the atrium, and two in teh student lounge. Don't buy food from the snack machine, soda machine, or the cafeterias around the school. They're overpriced!!! Try to use public transportation even if the T has technical difficulties here and there. Give enough time like an hour or more to commute to anywhere to better save yourself. Walk or ride your bike if possible and don't park at the school because it's expensive!! If you can please, do not use the computers at the school to go on facebook, myspace, etc. or to watch a video!!! It's so annoying for students to find every computer taken esp. when they need to use it to print or type something up!!! Check your email frequently!!! Make it a habit!!! Everything from the school will be listed there. Remember, stay out of trouble, go to class, study, be on top of assignments and payments, double check your APA/MLA formatted papers, ask questions, ask for help when you need it, talk with your professors, use public transportation, bring your own food, and learn to balance your busy life and you'd do fine at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    The school doesn't overcharge tuition as much for other majors. For the 3-year accelerated majors like nursing, dental hygiene, and radiologic sciences, it's like going to a private 4-year university/college. If you're even lucky enough to score a high score on your SATs or have a very high GPA and other attractive qualities, you'd get scholarships that go for $5000 or even $12000.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone, despite whether it's just being a MCPHS student or a student at another school will not like their school the first, I don't know, days, weeks, months, whatever. As a nursing student, I was shocked I got accepted to MCPHS vs. other schools I've applied for. I still dislike the system at the school but I know, once I graduate, I will definitely have a better chance of getting a job because of my clinical experience and my connections.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning how much and what material really depends on the professors. Some professors would be very laid back and just gives easy quizzes, assignments, etc. Professors who fall into this category might be there to just get the salary without putting much effort or care in whether or not students will pass the class. They also tend to be the ones that have many things to do so they give everyone a B or A just to make things easier. Other professors really get you to critically think or give supposedly unfair rules. Despite the enormous load of papers to grade or exams to make, they really are there to enlighten the students. They want the best for the students. They actually pay attention to the students' needs and concerns and addresses it. You don't have many professors who push you so hard yet still hope for the best of their students. I cannot say I didn't learn from MCPHS. I've had difficult and easygoing professors but having both sets of professors, I've learned a lot. College is not like high school where you can ditch class and pass if you do well on assignments, etc.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are absolutely sure that they want to have a future in the medical field. Students should also be very dedicated, responsible, dependent, and hard-working.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be hesitant to apply, they accept a wide range of students and are very helpful throughout the admission process. If you are looking for an excellent school to study any type of medicine or pharmacy with a fast-paced curriculum, this is the college for you! Simply be prepared to constantly be studying and completing assignments to work toward your goal of a future in medicine.

    Bang for the buck

    For me, the high price of a private college education was very difficult at MCPHS. They offer a few merit scholarships, which were helpful. The financial aid was fairly generous, but the overall cost was still in a higher price range. After freshman year, housing is not available on campus. As a result, students have to find their own apartments for the rest of their time at school. Boston is a very expensive place to live, and finding an affordable apartment is close to impossible.

    Did enjoy being here

    I found the curriculum to be very stressful and time consuming. However, most of the professors were absolutely wonderful and helpful. There isn't much of a campus, this college only has two buildings where classes are held. It is surrounded by various medical buildings and hospitals, offering a wide range of volunteer and work opportunities while in school. Boston is a wonderful place to live, a lot of attractions, plenty of residential areas, and great people.

    Did learn a lot

    For my freshman year at MCPHS, I completed a total of 32 credits as a Pre-Medical and Health Sciences major. I took many courses that satisfied my area of interest, including two biology courses, two chemistry courses, two calculus courses, and psychology. I learned an overwhelming amount of material and feel more than prepared for my sophomore year in any school I attend.

  • 12/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you see yourself working in the health care field, are serious about education and knowledge, focused on long term career goals, and willing to put in the work, MCPHS might be the place for you. You will come out confident and prepared thanks to MCPHS's curriculum and resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you really want. If you're willing to put in the work, you'll do well. If you love what you are studying, you'll enjoy it at MCPHS. It won't be easy, and you won't always be able to go out and party (as most freshmen hope to do because they are finally free, away from home, and on their own), but you will be well-prepared for the real world. Stay on top of everything and reach out for help when you need it.

    Bang for the buck

    Knowledge is priceless. We have no career, so we don't have the money and we often rely on scholarships, grants, and loans. However, know that the education that you are given at MCPHS is worth every penny. You'll graduate KNOWING everything you need to know and confident in your field. When you consider how much you'll be making after college with your knowledge and practice, it'll all be worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because MCPHS is so much smaller than a lot of other colleges or universities, you know most of your classmates, your professors know you, and your voice is heard in the classroom, clubs, and other school organizations. It's convenient, considering that all your classes and resources are all in one building. There are always club activities going on, so you'll have something to do. MCPHS is part of the Colleges of Fenway, so you can cross-register with Simmons, Wheelock, Emmanuel, Wentworth, or MassArt and take a class not offered by MCPHS, such as a language class. You can also use the resources and attend events hosted by the other Colleges of the Fenway. MCPHS is located right by the green line, which makes traveling to various parts of Boston very convenient. MCPHS is also walking distance from Fenway Park - you should go see a game! There's not much diversity with respect to fields of study - In that aspect, it can become somewhat boring with everyone virtually studying the same thing you're studying.

    Am learning a lot

    You will never get bored, that's for sure! I am a third year PharmD student at MCPHS, and let me tell you, MCPHS is very serious when it comes to academics. Although you'll find that there aren't too many homework assignments like those you get in high school, there is a lot of material that you need to know and understand in order to do well in the course, labs, and internships. The workload will seem overwhelming, but it's fair. As a future health-care provider, you have to KNOW your stuff -- you can't just guess like you could on a multiple choice exam. You'll feel good coming out, KNOWING the material and confident in your field. Don't let the workload scare you away from pursuing a career in health care or from considering MCPHS for your education. The professors are there and more than willing to help you. My professors LOVE what they do. They're so passionate and so knowledgeable in their field. They're funny too, always cracking science jokes in class. They're so friendly, so don't be afraid to drop by a professor's office hours and receive one-on-one help. Because MCPHS focuses on health care and the sciences, you have no trouble finding resources. MCPHS also provides tutoring as well as help from the Math and Writing center. Given the resources, excellent professors, and the strong academics, there is no doubt you'll learn everything you need to know.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I thought housing was pretty expensive but since it's Boston it's consider cheap. The tuition is ok b/c URI has the same program I'm going into but cheaper

    Will enjoy being here

    I'm a really studious person so I think this place will be great for me

    Will learn a lot

    I'm expecting to learn a lot at mcphs since there aren't any sports or activities going on

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Any student planning to attend this college should know one thing that I have learned the hard way. Be prepared to work extremely hard in study all of your classes, or else be prepared to fail. It may seem a bit daunting to read this, but if you are like many students who slack off their first year in college you will find that you regret it. Work hard and will find that your efforts will be noticed.

    Am enjoying being here

    Be prepared to give it a 100% and more when at this college. If you can establish good time managament you will find this school has a lot to offer then just education. This college knows that its students work hard to get the grades they want, and because of this the college holds special events everyweek to reward you for your passion of learning. These events adds a new dimension of excitiment and memories that will last a life time.

    Am learning a lot

    If you are a person dedicated to learning and are willing to put in that extra mile to apply yourself in your studies, then this is the college for you. At this college you will be engrossed in a number of subjects that professors enjoy teaching. With their excitement and your willingness to learn you will be rewarded with the greatest of knowledge a student can wish for.

  • 10/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science nerds, anyone wanting to go int the medical field, people who love Boston.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study always, do not slack off at all, get involved.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a really pleasant environment and there is always something to do, whether it be exploring Boston or a school sponsored event.

    Am learning a lot

    Some of the classes that I was able to take in high school are being refreshed by courses I have to take now, but some I am learning a lot from.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to be alone and study day and night and who do not like to sleep. I spent so many nights with the lights on and I am not a procrastinator. My roommate and I were both in the top of our high school class and somehow even after these three long years we never caught up on our readings.

    Tips for prospective students

    If another school has your major go there its probably much cheaper and you will have more time to hang out with your roommates and friends. Always read before class it really does help and never ever wait till last minute. If you have a problem with your roommate tell them right away and don't let it boil.

    Bang for the buck

    This all depends on how outgoing you are. If you are willing to stand in line during your lunch break and get tickets from the cardinal booth then you will get your money's worth. If you have clinical on the cardinal days then you miss out on all the free stuff (my second year). Take it from me and be out going and go on the ski trips and get those cheap movie tickets. I didn't understand why tuition was so expensive either we never figured that out. You are basically paying for the glory name but its not worth it. I am a graduate and this name MCPHS has not gotten me a job nor does the school help you find one even though they tell you they do during open houses and orientations.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed being in a new city and meeting lots of new and exciting people but I did not enjoy not having fun if that makes any sense. My three years were consumed by studying and arguing with my roommates. I stepped out of my comfort zone going into Boston and it was definitely a culture shock but that was all part of the experience. I loved getting to know the city of Boston and to learn all the cool places to eat and shop. But studying ALL the time was not what I was expecting. I literally spent every min of my free time doing homework or catching up on reading even on the weekends and vacation time.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot in classes that were for my major only (radiography). These were the classes where I learned about what I am going to be doing for the rest of my life. Freshman year classes were mostly a review for me because I had taken intro classes for them in high school. I learned a lot about time management and how to get along with the people that you share a room with.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You should go in with an open mind and give the school a chance. Going from High school to college is a huge adjustment but If you have an open mind and put yourself out there to meet new people you will love it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have already made alot of good friends and am looking forward to spending my college years here.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning more than ever expected

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good, cant go in without a lanyard.

    Greek Life

    a couple of fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    many people are involved in clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    involved students

    Bang for the buck

    expensive!

    What to do for fun

    tons of museums around also the school has discounted tickets to movie, the museum of science, and the aquarium.

    Food and Dining

    mediocre cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    met a lot of great people and its in a good location. classrooms are right downstairs too!!!

    Academic Rigor

    work is time consuming if you haven't taken ap courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to study but also have a lot of fun.

    In three sentences

    mcphs is small but diverse. it can be competitive, many people do well. some courses are rigorous making it more rewarding.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus, 24 hours public safety. campus is minutes away from the boston police departments main headquarters as well :)

    Greek Life

    limited, however there is an existent greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    over 50 clubs and organizations to get involved with, volunteer, get leadership experience but most of all to make friends and have fun! the more involved you get, the better your college experience will be!

    Great for these types of students

    all students will a drive to succeed!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    boston is a great city, lots of fun things to do when you are not studying!

    Bang for the buck

    great overall college experience and education.

    What to do for fun

    explore boston. this campus is located right near the train. plenty of things to do, you will never get bored!

    Food and Dining

    not the best, but some great options.

    Dorm Life

    great experiences, i have been an ra for the last two years, and i haven't found a freshman who has not enjoyed living on campus. only houses freshman though, so upperclassmen can either commute or find an apartment in the area!

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging curriculum, however it is manageable if you put the time and effort in,

    Tips for prospective students

    time management is key to be successful in college.

    In three sentences

    i absolultey love the experience that i had while attending mcphs. the community is very welcoming, education is superb, and the faculty and staff are very welcoming. overall great college to attend,

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are officers guarding every entrance into the school. One has to wear his or her lanyard with the school ID to be permitted into the school. One also has to scan his or her card before entering the dorms since two of the dorms are located in the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs here. In the beginning of the year there is a club fair with many displays of clubs. There is Asian club, Indian society and many more. There is photography club, campus activities board (for free things along the year), intervarsity fellowship for religious people, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The newer part of the school was build around the old building. So from the inside, one can see the outside walls of the old building with its columns and stairs.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm attending MCPHS for the pharmacy program. This school is the cheapest school for pharmacy and the graduation rate is very good.

    What to do for fun

    MCPHS is surrounded by many other schools. It is located near many hospitals. There are parks around here and the school is within distance of Prudential, movie theaters, symphony hall, and many more. The T is right in front of the school so you can go anywhere you want.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is shared with an art school across the street. The food include subs, pizza, salad bar, and many different types of drinks and desserts. There is also sushi but it is expensive. There are daily special. The amount of food given is generous but it is a bit pricey.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are ok. There are many different dorming styles including a suite which is like an apartment and a hotel room which many students share. Dorming is only offer to first year students.

    Academic Rigor

    The core classes have a lot of information and you have to be willing to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard and learn to adapt! (No complaining!)

    In three sentences

    MCPHS is a small school. During finals week there are students everywhere trying to find a place to study. There is no cafeteria here so the students share a cafeteria from an art school across the street.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do around the city of Worcester - shows, movies, dining, sports, etc. It is also fairly close to Boston!

    Food and Dining

    There is decent food available on and off campus for reasonable prices.

    Academic Rigor

    A very challenging program, but it is not impossible to do, and you will feel very accomplished after having gotten through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford the time and commitment needed to attend this program, and that you are able to meet the standards of professionalism that they expect from you.

    In three sentences

    This is a high-quality school with a rigorous program. The instructors push you hard, and there is a lot for you to learn. If you work hard, however, it will be worth it!

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students are required to wear their lanyard/ID around their necks at all times. People who do not attend MCPHS are required to be signed and checked in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many students are not involved in clubs and activities because the clubs just aren't that great. However, there are a couple of school-wide events such as dances and barbecues that many people attend to.

    Great for these types of students

    MCPHS is a good school for those who are dedicated to academics and studying. It is good for those who don't want to be distracted by extracurriculars such as sports and other activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus consists of only 2 large buildings. There is no campus, which takes away from the college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    MCPHS charges way more than it really should, as it lacks what a lot of other schools have; such as sports teams, a gym, a campus, and other facilities such as lounges. Also, there aren't enough places to study; the library and quiet study are both extremely small.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Boston. Although the school has no sports teams, you can still get involved through intramural activities. There are also other school clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food is good, there is no variety. The cafeteria is shared with another school (Massachusetts College of Art and Design).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, simple and clean. You get to meet and make friends with the people on your floor. Dorms are reserved for the first year students, so all other upperclassmen have to go find their own apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it may not seem like it, MCPHS is academically challenging compared to many other colleges. Make sure to go to class, study on a daily basis and to get to know your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like to study, this school is not for you. In order to excel here at MCPHS, you have to study everyday to make sure that you cover the material being taught.

    In three sentences

    Massachusetts College of Pharmacy is the perfect school for those who want to pursue a career in the health industry. The school places a lot of emphasis on academic excellence and has high expectations for its students. This college is perfect for those who aspire to be a part of the health industry.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security at all entrances and everyone is required to wear their IDs in order to get into the school at all times of the day.

    Greek Life

    There's not too much of a Greek life on campus. There are fraternities and sororities with plenty of students but they have to live off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are willing to put in the time to actually do the work you need to do. There is rarely any substantial mandatory homework but you still need to study and work on extra problems. If you do that then the rest will probably be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be a little expensive, but compared to the other schools I looked at it was actually cheaper. It's a good school and at the end you'll get a degree that will definitely be worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Being in Boston there's plenty of stuff to do in the area. And if you're willing to take a bus there's plenty more to do. There are beaches in South Boston and several malls that you can get to fairly quickly from the school. Laser tag, a trampoline park, and sports games are just a few of the things I have already done there.

    Food and Dining

    The food available at the school is sometimes good, sometimes bad. It's not worth the price without a meal plan. But being in Boston, there's many great places to eat right near the school. There is a very popular pizza place that's not too expensive right near the school.

    Dorm Life

    It's mandatory to live in the dorms for the first year you go there but not an option for any other year. Living in the dorm was a great experience and I made a lot of friends through it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are kind of tough but it should be. This is a school for medical professions and we wouldn't want our society's health professionals to not be challenged and pushed in school. For the first year of the pharmacy program at least, as long as you actually do the work, the rest wasn't too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a good school to consider going to. If you want to get accepted try to both do well in school and be over all well rounded. When i talked to other students scholarships through the school seemed to be awarded somewhat randomly, but that might have to do with extracurricular activities and the program you want to enter as well.

    In three sentences

    It's a really good school even if it is kind of expensive. They try to give the money back to the students as much as they can through student activities and events. I don't know much about the other programs but the pharmacy program is very good.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top notch and I mean that literally, we have cameras in every hallway and secrete ones you could not believe. Although there is none in the dorms but the security is tight and you are required to wear your lanyard with your photo id at all times or risk the consequence.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for hard working students who rather have a good job after college and would give up the college experience for it. It takes a lot to always be studying and you have to be attentive to every minor detail or you will be left in the slums.

    What to do for fun

    The School holds many events to give the students more chances to mingle and experience new things but the activities are very small based. Things like dinners, outings and little mixers with some guest of some sort. Unfortunately it is a dry campus and the rules are very strict about that. Besides minor parties, there is much to do but study and go out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not totally horrible because we get food from the Mass College of Arts building across the street. The menus are always the same so you rarely get variety. The food is plain so don't expect much and depending on how much meal points you have you may end of without money before the semester ends so plan according.

    Dorm Life

    We have two sets of dorms in our one main building and two separate dorms on other campuses. The school holds many events to introduce people to one another so depending on who you are you can jump into your own clique or create a new group of friends. Not everyone is out and about, most of the time people are studying so personal lives are a bit lacking.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a very tough school to transition to but once you get the hang of it than it becomes a bit easier. The classes are very tough most of the times and depending on your prior education you can easily flunk if you don't stay on top of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't have a scholarship, get some and keep searching for more. Make sure you study a lot, although the school starts off easy it become very difficult so watch your grades. Make sure you stay on top of your school work and complete everything.

    In three sentences

    The school itself is very small, we currently have only have one building and collaborate with other schools in the area so our students can use their facilities. The school is kept in very clean order, with study space available everywhere and easy chances to print and copy materials. Due to its small size the campus life is very high school oriented, you have small cliques and groups that don't really all mingle.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You're in Boston, there are a ton of fun things to do depending on your personality. The school does sponsor events during Activities Period on Tuesday/Thursdays mid-day and throw dances/balls throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    We share a cafeteria with MassArt, and a variety of COF dining areas are available to us. Not the best food, but there are restaurants in the surrounding area that balance it out.

    Dorm Life

    They told me I would be living in either Fennell or Matricaria (both within the main building of MCP) but I ended up 15 minutes away on another college's campus. MCP students are spread throughout a select Colleges of the Fenway campuses. The quality of the dorms varies. After the first year, students move out into apartments off-campus, not affiliated with the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Because the programs are constructed to accomplish very difficult information in a timely manner, the academic work is rather rigorous. Time management and dedication to studies is required to do well after the first two years, when most programs go from undergraduate to professional programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to as many advisers and students in your program as possible, there are a lot of details that are overlooked during visits and orientations. Students work in the Admissions office that work as guides, many are rich in information and can give specific tips.

    In three sentences

    MCPHS is a very focused school, students who attend and succeed are those who are diligent workers as well as people who are passionate about their career path.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food prices are reasonable and good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, so I can't answer this question.

    Academic Rigor

    MCPHS is very tough, because they offer a lot of accelerated programs. I'm in the nursing 3 year BSN program and it is very demanding. The work load is a lot and it is important to stay on top and not fall behind.

    In three sentences

    I love MCPHS, because the teachers are great and available to help you outside of class. The tutors are awesome. I like the fact that if a person doesn't know an answer, they will find out for you and not give you the run around.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security are always around the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so much to do on/off campus. MCPHS is located in the middle of the city of Boston, easy to commute.

    What to do for fun

    enjoy the city life and hanging out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Great price and delicious!!!

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm on campus, but I heard from friends it's great.

    Academic Rigor

    MCPHS has top notch education, plenty to do and great faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you thinking about becoming a future health profession, MCPHS is the college to attend. Professors are very helpful always ready to help and teach.

    In three sentences

    MCPHS provides a unique academic environment to guide and support students toward successful, sustainable careers and leadership in health care. Great faculty and staffs always willing to help students succeed. MCPHS ROCK!!!

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe the security is very tight and will only let people enter with a MCPHS ID card around their neck, and you are in the middle of the city as well so if anything happens people will always be around to help.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great achieving students ready to learn the desired professions and of course have fun at the same time. As this university is not as big as the many others around it , MCPHS has built itself into a very prospective career school and you will end up graduating with your desired degree without a doubt.

    Bang for the buck

    The university is pretty expensive if you do not get a scholarship but the good thing is MCPHS is pretty giving with money so they will find a way to lower the price for in one way or another.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun; you can go to baseball games, hockey games and basketball games with a MCPHS discount of course. You can visit other universities nearby as in a 5 mile radius there are over 8 universities right near MCPHS so you can make friends not only at your university but others as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty nice and the dinning atmosphere is to the highest capacity as this university is pretty small in and of itself. But I have to admit there are not as many chocies of food as I thought there would be.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are amazing with spectacular views to the city right outside your living room. And in your second year even though you have to find an apartment, the choices are endless which range from walking about 10 blocks to stepping right ouside the university. So you will always find a place to live in this huge city.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of this school is pretty chill in the beginning as are all colleges but as you advance in your professional degree and studies the classes get smaller and harder as well. But that was obvious as you are planning to get a high level degree you have to go through some pain to get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in charge of your studies and remember to have fun as well. As a student of MCPHS you get discounts off all sporting events including Red Sox games, Celtics Games and many more. This college gives a huge opportunity for professional level students as you are in the heart of Boston and there are hundreds of job opportunities to go around.

    In three sentences

    This college is not for people who want to party all day long with a huge campus and get in trouble. This college is for aspiring medical students who want to make a difference in the world, in a small campus with tiny classes which help you focus on your future medical profession.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is really good. You should always remember to wear your lanyards.

    Greek Life

    Not much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs day, we call it Activities period (its usually on Tue) its fund :)

    Great for these types of students

    Its good for all types of students who are willing to work. Let me remind you this is a Pharmacy school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If You take room 307 from the Fennel Dorms you end up in Matricaria.

    Bang for the buck

    Its not up to standard for how much we pay for it but it can get up there if standards increase by a bit.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Boston, its the City. Watch Celtics games. Fenway Park is only walking Distance. If theres nothing you can always walk around and you'll find something to be interested in.

    Food and Dining

    They improved it this year. The food has got a lot better and the service is good. I like the meal plan that they provide, you get to eat as much as you want and will never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice, its totally worth to dorm in college. It provides you with everything you need and you only have to worry about paying for it. The sad part is you only get to dorm the first year at MCP.

    Academic Rigor

    This college does challenge you academically. However I feel like the school can do better with the way certain teachers teach. The staff can improve by a lot. I don't have a PhD to say whether the staff (professors) know their material or not, but for some professors, their communication with students are off.

    Tips for prospective students

    For a affordable private institution, this place is not that bad. Its a small school so you get enough attention. Its not really a party school, you really have to work hard to stay in the program. Some of the teachers for certain classes can organize their curriculum better. If you come here one thing you should do is start finding cheap housing immediately because you don't get housing after first year.

    In three sentences

    MCPHS is just an okay school from my perspective. Its somewhat affordable for a private pharmacy school but has its flaws as well. It isn't the best school in the nation and I believe it can has more potential to get better.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the curriculum and opportunities you'll get, it's not half as expensive as other schools that wouldn't do as much for you.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals, you're surrounded by a bunch of other schools like Northeastern and BU's down the street, so if you can't find a party around MCP, you've never far.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options for food, and you're in the middle of Boston so there's always new places to explore!

    Dorm Life

    Good for freshman, but there's only off campus housing options after that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard and devote a lot of time to your work. Don't be afraid to get help, it's free and it never hurts. There's a lot of help opportunities for you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Rigorous, but rewarding and worth it. Not for those faint of heart, or those who don't want to make a difference in people's lives. A once in a lifetime heart attack, with a lifetime of opportunities to follow.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its boston, you can find something

    Food and Dining

    ate there once and it was good

    Dorm Life

    I didnt move in yet

    Academic Rigor

    I didnt start classes yet

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for loans early and make sure you have a good cosigner

    In three sentences

    It has a nice campus and small class size

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only reason Iâ??m giving Campus Safety five stars is because they are as strict as they come. If you walk in the door without a lanyard, you will get stopped. If you try to get into your dorm without your lanyard, they sometimes will make your roommate bring it down to you so you can get in. If you are drunk and not walking in a straight line past them, you will get in trouble. If they catch you drinking in the dorms, you are getting written up, no exceptions.

    Greek Life

    There are four professional fraternities at this school, but they are not your typical Greek Life fraternities. They are more focused on career-based opportunities, and making connections to further their careers.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no sports at MCPHS. There are a few clubs that you can get involved in that can help give you something to do other than studying. There is a mix of professional, career based clubs, and fun gives-you-something-to-do type clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that already have a set plan and idea of what they want to do with their lives. They need to have a good work ethic to keep up with all of the school work and tests given at MCPHS. They have to be willing to stay in and study, instead of going out every night. It also helps if you do not care about going out, or having the most active social life.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, I do not think that MCPHS should be as expensive as it is. I think that many people come to MCPHS because it is the quickest way out of school, not because it is the best education you can get for the money. For instance, not many schools have a 6-year PharmD program that you can go straight into your professional years without taking a test, or reapplying. Also, the Nursing program is only 3 years instead of 4 years. The only thing that brings it close to being worth the money is the close proximity to Boston Hospitals. Since many people aspire to work in a Boston Hospital, or in the Boston area, clinical rotations at these hospitals give you a great opportunity to experience the Boston Hospitals first hand.

    What to do for fun

    1. If you are 21, go to one of the many bars that saturate Boston. 2. Go to the aquarium. 3. Go to the Museum of Science 4. Explore Boston. 5. Go shopping 6. Find a park to play outdoor games in

    Food and Dining

    We eat at MassArtâ??s cafeteria across the street from MCPHS, or Wentworthâ??s cafeteria down the street. The food is your average cafeteria food, with nutritious options hard to find. The salad bar is one of the few healthy AND tasty options at MassArt. Otherwise, most food choices, besides the specials on occasion, are not very appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on the dorm you have, dorm life can be great. If you live in either Fennel or Matricaria, you will be living in the same building as your classes, which is great for winter time because you usually do not have to go into the cold to get to your classes. Evans, Rogers, and Peabody are a short walk from the school. Matricaria is composed of suites, with up to three single and double bedrooms. You have your own living room, kitchen, and bathroom to share with just your suite mates. In Fennel, you either have a double, triple, or quad for your room. Each floor has its own community lounge area, and community kitchen. The floors alternate male/female bathrooms. Evans Way is also a suite-style dorm, with around 5 rooms connected to a common area. They also have a big bathroom that they all share. Rogers Hall has its own bathroom, and kitchen and one bedroom with up to three people. Peabody Hall is two bedrooms attached by a hallway with a bathroom for the two rooms to share. DORM-LIFE IS ONLY FOR FIRST YEAR STUDENTS! YOU NEED TO EITHER MOVE TO AN APARTMENT IN BOSTON, MOVE HOME AND COMMUTE, OR BECOME AN RA AFTER YOUR FIRST YEAR. THERE IS NO ENOUGH HOUSING FOR ANY STUDENTS AFTER THE FIRST YEAR.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, prepare yourself to be challenged. Many professors expect you to think outside of the box in class and on tests. You are expected to know, not only what was taught, but also how to apply it. Most tests will test how well you understand a concept, instead of how well you memorized it. Also, expect to be tested on multiple chapters at a time. For example, if there are 16 chapters that the class will be covering with 3 tests and a final, the first test would most likely have chapters 1-4, test two would be 5-8, test three would be 9-12, and the final will be 1-16 (they expect you to be able to review 1-12 and know it, and learn 13-16). Try to find a way of studying before you get to MCPHS. Many people do not do well during the first few weeks of freshmen year because they do not know how to truly study. Although most people could get through high school studying the night before an exam, or even looking over flashcards for the first time walking into the test, it does not work at MCPHS. Find a study technique, such as flashcards, reading the textbook chapters a few times, or making tests for yourself, and master it before you get to school. Although MCPHS challenges us, Aâ??s and Bâ??s are not impossible to achieve. As long as people put the effort in and work towards their goals, they will succeed at MCPHS. As long as you really want the career you are aiming for, you will put the effort in to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT come here if you are not SURE of what you want. Some majors do not have the same prerequisites, so if you complete a year or two of school before you decide you want to change majors, you potentially are starting completely over with year 1 of classes. For example, if you completed two years of Dental Hygiene, and then decided that you wanted to transfer into Pre-Med so you could become a Doctor, you would have to start completely over in Pre-Med because they do not have the same prerequisites, and it would ultimately take 6 years to complete a 4 year Pre-Med program. Also, MCPHS is not your typical college experience. There are not many parties, rules about drinking/smoking/tobacco use/drug use are actually enforced, and you need to be wearing your MCPHS lanyard to walk through the door without having to sign in with your actual license. Some people go as far as saying the â??HSâ?? in â??MCPHSâ?? stands for high school, because we have just as little freedom in college as we did in high school. Get involved with the school as much as you can. Not only will it look good on your resume, but it gives you something, OTHER THAN school work to do. For instance, you can join CAB (Campus Activities Board), and help the Student Activities Office hold a fun event every Tuesday or Thursday. They do things such free food, games, contests, and more. Sometimes they do themed days with a variety of activities going on at once. An example of this would be when they did a Nickelodeon Day, where they slimed people during a trivia type game. Also, there are more professional clubs such as SNA (Student Nursing Association), NCPA (National Community Pharmacistsâ?? Association), and APhA (American Pharmacists Association). You can also apply to work as a Peer Mentor, Orientation Leader, or Student Ambassador. Also, use the campus resources to your advantage. If you need help with a subject, sign up for tutoring. If you need help writing, make an appointment with the writing center. If you are struggling with math, go to the math center. If you are feeling stressed out, make an appointment with counseling services. If you have questions about classes, or want advice on how to lighten your class load, but still want to stay on track, make an appointment in the ARC (Academic Resource Center) or go to their walk-in hours. All of these resources could make a difference as long as you put them to good use.

    In three sentences

    If you already know what you want for a job, and are willing to work for it, then MCPHS is a great school to go to. Classes are manageable, as long as you are willing to study and put the effort in. The professors that teach you about your major are also able to answer general questions about working in the field because they usually also work in the profession outside of teaching (Nursing professors are RNs, Pharmaceutical professors work in all over in the Pharmaceutical field, ect.)

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are public safety officers positioned in the dormitories 24 hours and in each building on campus during open hours. The school has a pretty safe atmosphere even though it is located in the middle of a city.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on the Worcester campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities sponsored by the school throughout the semester as well as off campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafe that is not on the main campus. It has a very limited selection and high prices.

    Dorm Life

    The school does a good job in creating a comfortable living environment for students who live on campus. The dormitories are nice and there are different options.

    Academic Rigor

    The greatest challenge in the program is the amount of time that must be devoted to studying, this includes most evenings and weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think this program is ideal for students who already have a high level of education in the sciences, such a PhD or a Master's. The most successful students in this program are those who already have a firm background in pathophysiology, medicinal chemistry and biochemistry.

    In three sentences

    The three year accelerated pharmacy program on the Worcester campus is an intense, fast-paced program. It integrates pharmacy practice rotations throughout the curriculum so you can get a feel for what a pharmacy career will be like while you're still in school. It is a challenging program and is a good fit for highly motivated students.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is their # 1 priority. You could not get into any of the building without an a student ID card.

    Clubs and Activities

    The have plenty of clubs and activities, but I have not joined any yet.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a serious learner and also want to have some fun doing, that is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm transfer student and I found out that, they school held balls every fall.

    Bang for the buck

    Transportation is great!

    What to do for fun

    I go home to my children or study. Never have time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is at Mass Art. Great food and there are other shops and restaurants around the area.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but I hard its great!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic dishonesty is taking seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very prepare to especially, if you have no college learning experience.

    In three sentences

    Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Science is a good school, however, it is very expensive. All the faculties are nice and very accommodating.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is awesome! They will help you out at any instance. If you don't feel safe walking alone then an officer will walk you to your destination.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though our school doesn't have a great deal of clubs, the other Colleges of the Fenway do! I participate in theater at Mass Art and orchestra at Simmons. There are so many extracurriculars to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, determined, and successful students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any. We don't even have an actual campus. The college consists of two buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is ridiculously overpriced and the tuition cost is increasing. Only come here if you are serious about your chosen major.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly the city is so big so exploring is one of the best things to do. That and creating little traditions with friends. My Saturday night tradition is watching SNL with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food options could be a lot better. Freshmen also shouldn't be forced to have a meal plan. All the food is overpriced anyways.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of the best experiences I've had. You make a ton of friends that way.

    Academic Rigor

    My time is divided into 60% spent studying and 40% spent doing everything else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here if you are looking to party. You are wasting your money if you do.

    In three sentences

    Easy to get accepted, difficult to stay. It is a hard college but in the end it all pays off.

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    hey am planning on joining the this school but am abt to start takin my preliquisites but am not sure wat science classes they can take from a 2 yr college

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention in class. Do not skip classes. Always ask questions. They can only benefit you. Do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    MCPHS is a great school for serious students who are prospective health professionals. It builds a foundation for you in whatever career path you are choosing. The professors and faculty are always there to make sure you are getting to the level you need to be at to become an awesome health professional.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is just like police, beware!

    Greek Life

    there are a lot of different Greek clubs although I am not part of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to list. There is GSA-gay straight alliance, Green Science, Humanities, Red Cross... etc.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive so get your wallets ready! Your looking at 30,000+, its a private college.

    What to do for fun

    JOIN GROUPS! and there is also thrower and day-glow parties. Even though its a DRY campus, it is still fun OUTSIDE of campus...

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining also are horrible although you do get a Fenway card which is like a debit card and you can go to other campuses of the Fenway and eat there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is horrible, besides the fact that you meet new people, I highly do NOT recommend it. The heating/ AC system is always messed up and you don't get paired with decent people that match you.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is very heavy you have something to do 24/7 you'll never stop and have time for yourself everyone is constantly complaining of the amount of work we have to do it is NOT easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    - ask students about their experience. -shadow someone in the school. - be prepared for the heavy work load!

    In three sentences

    Massachusetts college of Pharmacy is a very invasive school with the most up to date medical technology in Massachusetts. It is a school that is very involved with the students are truly helps students succeed in their major/profession. If you are proactive with school activities then you will fit right in!

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This i give 5 stars because there is always a Boston Cop at the front or side door making sure the students are wearing their lanyards. Also if you live in the dorms on campus you must sign in and sign out any guest that enters the building no matter what time of day it is.

    Greek Life

    There are Fraternities and Sororities here on Campus. They are very involved in MCPHS and they help many Pharmacy Majors acquire jobs after graduation.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities offered here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that love to do homework and spend nights studying for large exams.

    What to do for fun

    We are located in Boston, a wonderful city to explore and do anything. We have shopping on Newbury street or just a train ride down the street we have the Prudential Building which holds a Pinkberry (ice cream), Forever 21, and many more stores.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know that you want to help people and be dedicated to a lot of homework and readings. If you are not 100% sure that health is what you want than you might not be happy here.

    In three sentences

    Mass. College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences has a very specific goal, and that is to educate its students in health care for the future. The professors do a very wonderful job at teaching their student about health care and the future we are building for ourselves. Overall, it is a wonderful school if you 100% know you want to be in health care.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being a closed campus, security is strict which makes me feel very safe! Nobody can get into the dorm buildings unless they reside there or check in by switching their ID with a visitors pass. Entering the building, public safety makes sure no one enters without their school-issued lanyards. Another great thing about the security is that the students get emails and/ or text messages when there has been any suspicious activity in the surrounding Boston area, and if someone is near that area and feels unsafe walking back to school, an officer will pick you up and drive you to the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    MCPHS is a very diverse school with students from around the world. There are so many clubs that everyone will find at least one that suits them the best.

    What to do for fun

    Boston is full of fun! MCPHS is a two minute walk from the green line which means easy access to pretty much anywhere in Boston. Also, the Fenway area is only a 20 minute walk from school as well if you want to catch a game or go to the surrounding restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Since the Fennel Building doesn't have kitchens, I tend to go to the Mass Art Dining Hall for most of my meals. They have very good food! always plenty of options including a sub shop, salad bar, pizza place, and three other units that cook various meals. Also, being at a College of the Fenway (COF) school, we can use other COF colleges dining facilities too.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love living on campus!! I live in the Fennel building at MCPHS and live in a double. The rooms give plenty of space even though first look they seem small. Living in Fennel makes it much easier to socialize because the rooms are only beds and storage, no bathrooms or kitchens, so people like me, who are somewhat shy, get to go out with other floor mates rather than sitting in my room. The only downside is that there is no girls bathroom on my floor, girls have to go either upstairs or downstairs to use the restroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Being in the accelerated nursing program, the work is tough. The speed in which the teachers cover the chapters is pretty fast, but offer plenty of help outside of the classroom to give every student the best opportunity to succeed.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this college a 9/10. I only take a point away because it is expensive to attend, but entirely worth it! The staff and students both are very welcoming and helpful with anything and everything.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    In order to well in this school, you must study a lot. It may be difficult but your hard work will pay off in the end. You will do good by keeping yourself on track.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for students who know what they want to major in. Especially in the health care field. It gives them an opportunity to see what their future will be like as well.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Armed guards at all entrances

    Bang for the buck

    wish there was more dorms

    What to do for fun

    campus activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Study study and more study

    In three sentences

    A very professional school. be ready to study because it is competitive. also it is kind of pricey to go here.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't gotten the chance to try out the food but the dining is a nice little place to go grab a bite before or after class.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is only granted for first year students but it's Boston so you shouldn't have a problem with finding an apartment close to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small but that just means more individual attention when needed. Teachers actually want to help the students.

    In three sentences

    MCPHS looks to be a great school. I'm excited to be attending here because I love the city of Boston. Small campus but closer friendships!

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several security checkpoints on campus and in various academic buildings. Security is a high priority on this campus.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware of Greek Life on campus. This is not a party school and the campus is %100 dry. Most of the students here are pretty serious about what they are doing.

    Clubs and Activities

    It looks as though they have a decent amount of groups and organizations that meet regularly on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I cannot tell you about the undergraduate experience, but the graduate students work very hard. They are dedicated to their programs and professional development

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I would not know

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey, but not too bad compared to the other schools in the area that offer similar programs.

    What to do for fun

    They offer discount tickets to local concerts and sporting events for students. My tour guide said she had some great experiences going to a celtics game with everyone in her program.

    Food and Dining

    I don't believe there are a lot of food options on campus, but there is a lot available in the surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't much available for students attending the school. They have a few places on campus for students, but most of it's students live off campus. There is nothing available for graduate students.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not begun classes yet, but I have heard that the students at this school work very hard. Unfortunately I have not met anyone in my program yet, but I am hoping to get a feel for what it is like.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you thinking about applying to the school and you are excited about one of the programs, don't let a few admission requirements hold you back from trying. I did not meet there requirement for a GRE score, but I was still accepted into my M.S. program at MCPHS. Having industry experience might help.

    In three sentences

    Great facilities for my program. Numerous professional, academic, and social opportunities for students. The School is in a fun and exciting area near Fenway Park.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top notch. Guards at every door with a strict landyard policy where each student must wear it at all time while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I joined the Colleges of the Fenway choir. It was a great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school, but it gives you a great education and sets you up for a great career.

    What to do for fun

    The city is Boston of very lively and there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I am more of a bag-lunch student.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be better since housing is only offered for the 1st year. But having to get an apartment and live with roommates and have a landlord helps you learn what the real world is about. It helps you grow up.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a difficult school, but if you want it enough, you can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you read before going to class. Ask questions. Give it your all and let nothing deter you.

    In three sentences

    Great Nursing program Helpful professors and staff Great location in the middle of Boston hospitals

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can shop at the Prudential and there are always parties in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't too bad. However, there are plenty of non-dining hall areas to eat at nearby that I would suggest giving a try every now and then.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are only offered to first year students, but this is a good environment for meeting a wide variety of people and making good friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are only as hard as you make them. There are plenty of tutoring and help session opportunities available for all students. It is important that you put the time and effort into your studies to get the most out of this university.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's important to take advantage of where you are located and explore Boston during the school year during study breaks. It is a good idea to also look into the different fraternities that are present at this university and consider joining one of them!

    In three sentences

    This university offers a great opportunity to be in the city of Boston. This university has a lot of highly qualified professors that help students on a regular basis. This university takes pride in the fact that it helps students get through their majors.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security makes sure everyone wear their lanyard for security purposes.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and Fraternities. They are professional and they contribute to school events and communities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many many clubs and they all have free food at meetings. There are many Club events for the students like carnivals, freebies, t shirt, dances. ..

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, likes to study, intrested in the medical field, wants a school in the city

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The building had and older building inside of it. There is a glad elevator. We have a Chinese soldier statue.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the cheapest pharmacy school in the area.

    What to do for fun

    There is so many thingsto do in boston. You can take the train anywhere.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is shared with the art college next door. The food is ok. The turkey Burger is my favorite there. There is a sale bar, burgers and fries, subs, sushi, fruits and many more.

    Dorm Life

    There are many types of dorm buildings but it is only offered to freshmen because there is not enough. The buildings range from very new to pretty old.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a professional school so class will be hard but it is doable. Just make sure you know how to manage your time. The professors have office hours and are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepare to work hard because this is a professional school. The students here study a lot. It is a small school so you will get to know your class pretty well. There are many clubs so get involve and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy going to mcphs. I'm in the pharmacy program and my class is pretty big. It is a tough program and many have dropped or already. But if you are willing to work hard, it will definitely be worth it in the end.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can't even walk into the building without an MCPHS ID and lanyard, so you know you're safe at all times.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is awesome. It's a small school, so there's only four fraternities on campus. Once you're in, you make so many connections for the future and have so much fun with all your new brothers/sisters.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many opportunities to join a club at MCP. Also, we are very open to new clubs, so you could start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to get a lot out of their education, are focused on academics, but want to have a little fun-time on the weekends.

    What to do for fun

    Take the T anywhere! Go to a movie, shopping, to a restaurant, or just walk around and see the sights. Boston is a very historic city.

    Food and Dining

    On-campus food is mediocre. There are a lot of options, but the cafeteria closes rather early. The good thing is that you can eat an any of the Colleges of Fenway.

    Dorm Life

    Even though the dorms are pricey, they are very nice. They are very secure, as you need an ID to get in. I lived in the suite-style room and loved it. However, there are no dorms for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs at MCPHS are very rigorous. The first few years may allow you to ease in, depending on the academics you're used to, but once you get into the later years, the hard stuff comes out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're comfortable living in the city. Also, if you're looking for a school where you see a lot of the same people everyday, MCPHS is perfect!

    In three sentences

    MCP can feel very small at first, but when you get used to it, there are endless opportunities. Clubs and organizations meet every week, and the small size makes it easy to meet people. Plus, living in the city is great!

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The college doesn't have its own cafeteria, it shares it, as well as a gym, with other schools.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not very nice, quite small and very dark.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I can tell, you will have to be studying 100% of the time to be successful here.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are located at all building entrances, requiring students to put on their lanyard around their neck at all times. The ID is needed to enter the dorms, and print since both have a key card scanner. Most students however do not actually keep their ID on their neck

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that appeal to a wide variety of students, such as an Asian culture club, Indian student organization, LGBT clubs. Students can also register classes at another college in the College of Fenway group.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have excellent time management and know their priorities will do well in this place.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost slowly increases as you progress through the school year, which leads to a very large amount of debt.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located in Boston, which a train stop conveniently located near the school, so let your imagination go wild.

    Food and Dining

    The school shares a cafe with another college, Massachusetts College of Art and Design. The food is pricy and most of it it just fried food which leads to unhealthiness.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in a dorm, as it is only available for first year students. The commute is not the best either. The Green Line on the MBTA can get crowded at times and driving has large traffic, even during non rush hours.

    Academic Rigor

    The schoolwork is plentiful. On the first day of class, a professor told us that optimally, students should be spending 2 hours studying for every 1 hour of class they have. Time management skills will definitely be tested.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors here are not the highest quality for the amount that you pay. The curriculum for all students include mandatory elective classes, which sounds counter intuitive. I personally regret picking this school, but others may think otherwise.

    In three sentences

    MCPHS is a private school with high acceptance rate but low retention rate. Because of this, the financial aid is very little. The Boston campus is one a few buildings but there is plenty to do in the city.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Your in the city so the more suitable question might be what isn't there to do for fun. Boston has to much to do for college students because of the amount of students and schools that are in the area. MCPHS for starters host different activities that the students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    You have this thing called Fenway cash to pay for your food. This allows you to get food from the different Fenway schools and local restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    MCPHS being part of the Fenway Colleges allows you to experience college in a different way one being housing. YOu can choose to live in housing with just MCPHS students or to live with students from the other schools with other majors.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses involve a lot of time studying and preparing for class and exams. The school also offers you study groups and tutors to ensure that you understand the material you're studying and you pass your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let distance scare you! If you love far from the school but like it , go for it! The school makes you completely forget how far from home you are and intrudes you to a beautiful city!

    In three sentences

    MCPHS is the same size as the high school that i attended but it has one major thing different about it then my high school did, its energy. The school is so alive and friendly at all times, the faculty, students and the community around it make you feel so comfortable and welcome no matter were you're from. The school also has a lot to offer and ways to help succeeding in your major easier.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! Security is at every door, and you must have your lanyard around your neck (not in your pocket or hand). Students are allowed guests, but they must be signed in and out.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are hard working, focused on their education, and who do not like to party all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools, MCPHS University is not that expensive. Please do not listen to anyone who says the cost will progress throughout the year. There is a set tuition each year, and of course it will go up each year, but not throughout the year...just like any other school.

    What to do for fun

    Go bowling, the movies, out to dinner. The school also offers movie nights, bingo, trivia, ski trip, dances, clam bake, etc.

    Food and Dining

    For the most part the food in the dining hall is very good, and there is a variety. If you feel one day there is nothing on the menu that you like, you're in Boston and there's tons of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    You're only in a dorm for the 1st year, after that you get your own apartment. Fennel and Matricaria are great (not sure of the others). Dorms are a lot bigger than other schools I have seen, such as URI and St. John's.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work to do, and for some classes like orgo, studying should be between 2 and 2 1/2 hours for each lecture. You definitely need time management skills, but there is also time to socialize. If you feel you don't understand a class, there is tutors who will go over and help you understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to work and study hard, especially during finals week. We all study a lot, sometimes from 9 am until 11 pm. It is a small school so you will get to know people fast and see a lot of the same students in your classes. Professors are wonderful, know how to teach their students and are available for help.

    In three sentences

    MCPHS University is the perfect school for those who want to pursue a career in pharmacy or the general health industry. The school has high expectations for its students. You will find it easier to get a job after graduating from here vs. another pharmacy school due to the better program.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. Must have a valid college id to get on campus and must sign in with drivers license if not a student. Security guards are at every entrance and dorm room to make sure people sign in.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking and goal-oriented, don't come here if you wanna go to a big party school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prayer room located on campus

    What to do for fun

    Go to museums, walk around Evans way, play an inter mural sport at wentworth.

    Food and Dining

    MassArt cafeteria is like any other college cafe. Food is alright, they have a lot of options to pick from and also have Peet's Cafe which has awesome coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are nice but I personally didn't like living in a dorm room. Dorming is only available for incoming freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard but if you study a lot and go to extra help sessions you should do fine.

    In three sentences

    This school is awesome for students who wish to be health professionals. The professors are awesome but the classes are challenging and require a lot of studying. The school is rather small and the students are an extremely diverse group.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    so many parties and stuff to do in Boston

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard, not an easy school.

    In three sentences

    Great school to seek coursework in the medical field. Located in Boston which is wonderful. Great intern and coop opportunities

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is near a neighborhood is Boston which is home to many of the MCPHS University students, Mission Hill. The neighborhood is no safer or more dangerous than some other college town areas, but being well educated on safety is definitely important to be aware of all your surroundings. The school itself is very safe, requiring each person that walks into the building to show their MCPHS University ID to be allowed in. Students must scan their ID to get into their own residence building, and must sign in anyone as a guest that does not live in that building. The school is safe, and knowing safety precautions while adventuring around Boston is the best way for each individual to stay safe.

    Bang for the buck

    The school itself is expensive as well as being in Boston in general, so definitely weigh out your options and take the cost of the school into account.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located in a prime location in Boston. Located on Longwood Ave, its centered near the majority of the hospitals in Boston, perfect for the school itself. There is a stop to the E line branch of the Green Line on the T right outside of MassArt Cafeteria, easy transportation to just about everywhere. From the University, its about a 15 minute walk to Fenway Park, about 15 minute walk to the Prudential Center and many other things to do in Boston. If you're looking for something to do, you'll be able to find something to do no problem. The school itself offers a lot of clubs and organizations to get involved in, and the school puts on activities almost weekly offering things to do on campus. If you want to get involved, you won't have to look far or hard; theres many opportunities around you.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeterias at MassArt and Wentworth are the dining halls for MCPHS University. You will get sick of eating the food after a while, its not that good. The only 'good' things really aren't healthy, so be aware of that and try to balance out what you eat. The C Store, a convenient store shared by all the Colleges of Fenway also take meal points, where you can buy snacks and whatever else you need. The food is subpar, so be aware of other meal options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms vary depending on which building you live in. Fennel Hall is a typical dorm setup, standard rooms with one bathroom for the floor. Fennel seem to be the 'worst' building to live in based off of building set up alone, but Fennel seems to be filled with people that are very friendly and keep their doors open to meeting new people. Matricaria Hall is setup apartment style, with two bedrooms, a kitchen, mini living room and a bathroom. Matricaria is one of the ideal building styles, but seems to be more reserved since you barely have to leave your room. Treehouse is the newer building that is shared with MassArt. The building is absolutely beautiful and innovative, including the hallway walls and doors being whiteboards. The rooms are suite style, set up as two bedrooms that share one bathroom. The school added on Rogers Hall at Wentworth for dorms this year as well. Rogers is setup apartment style as well, with bedrooms, common room and a kitchen. Each residence hall has its own advantages and disadvantages, and each differ completely from each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is tough, but manageable if you set out time and get your work done. The professors are there to help you if you ask for it; if you're struggling ask for help. There are tutors for the majority of the courses offered, take advantage of them! The tutors are amazing and can really make a difference in your academic performance. When you go into school set up a solid schedule to plan out when you will do homework and studying and stick to whatever works for you! If you put in the effort and keep up with it, you can do well at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect that you are coming to a school with a huge campus, that has the sports life and community aspect of many larger schools. Be open and put yourself out there to join as many clubs to be as involved as you can. College is fun and exciting, stay positive and you will do fine!

    In three sentences

    MCPHS University is in an amazing location in Boston, MA. The campus itself is very small, but the school is always offering ways to get involved through clubs and organizations.The school would definitely benefit from having a large campus, but MCPHS makes up for it by allowing the students many opportunities to get involved.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is often annoying to always have to have your ID and lanyard around your neck while on campus, but it is a true definition of the safety of our campus. There Campus Police are very strict about making sure everyone who enters each building had proper verification for enrollment, and if not, a guest must be signed in to the building. Every building is very closely monitored.

    Greek Life

    There are two fraternities and there is 1 sorority on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    MCPHS is great for dedicated students with a desire to learn. It is difficult to come into the school without knowing what you want to major in because it is very hard to switch degrees, so I would say MCPHS is great for students who really know what profession they want to pursue.

    Bang for the buck

    The accelerated programs are amazing 2.5 year opportunities for students who know what they want to do and want to get it done fast. The 3 year alternative to the normal 4 year bachelors programs help students save money and still receive an amazing, quality, private college education. This can also be said for programs such as PharmD where it takes only 6 years to achieve your doctorate, and never have to switch schools unless so desired.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Boston- Residence Hall Committee activities- School sponsored events such as dances, Red Sox games, apple picking, paint balling trips, etc- University's Club sponsored events

    Food and Dining

    We share two dining halls- one with MassArt and one with Wentworth. Nice to have two because you always have lots of options!

    Dorm Life

    There are many different options for dorm housing and MCPHS seemingly does a great job with generating roommate pairs. Housing is only available for first year students, and then students are expected to find an apartment or commute from home. The dorms are very close to campus (1-7 minute walk) and are a great way to make friends your first year on campus! One downside is the fact that weekends are basically empty... it is very much a suit case school given that we do not have a real campus and that only freshman are there, anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    Because this is a school where everyone is striving for some form of medical degree, the work load is tough. It is not uncommon for students to be in the library on Saturday nights instead of spending time with friends. Though this seems awful, it is important to consider that everyone in this school is going through the same thing and you will, without a doubt, learn to make studying enjoyable with your friends. We are all there with intentions of completing a medical degree, and whether is be nursing, pharmacy, radiation therapy, dental hygiene, etc, we're all in it together!

    Tips for prospective students

    MCPHS University is a great place for people of all different backgrounds. The professors are always willing to help in and out of the classroom and love seeing their students engaged in class. Never hesitate to ask for help! There are a great number of help sessions for just about every course available on campus, whether that be free peer tutoring sessions, professors' office hours, private tutoring, academic resource counseling, etc.

    In three sentences

    MCPHS University is a great place for students who are willing to work hard to achieve their professional career goal. The professors are very helpful and the school provides a great number of opportunities for students to get help when needed. Fellow students are friendly, helpful, and everyone is going through the same stress as you are so you always have someone to commiserate with!

  • 06/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe being in this school. The security guards are very serious about making sure everyone has their student ID to get into the building, ensuring no intruders. We also receive campus alerts of any suspicious happenstance in our area which makes me feel even more safe.

    Greek Life

    There are two male fraternities and two female fraternities (weird I know). I personally did not choose to get involved however I have plenty of friends who are and they love it. This is a great way to get involved and create new opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy small classes and also those who don't mind seeing the same faces everyday. People who really care about their education and understand not to mess around!

    What to do for fun

    Well, Boston is your campus. Fenway park is a ten minute walk from the school so clearly Red Sox games are in your future. The Prudential Center and Newbury street are a 15 minute walk for anyone who enjoys shopping, eating, and just enjoying the nice weather Boston has to offer. There is also Copley Square, The North End, The South End and really anywhere else the T will take you is guaranteed to be a great time.

    Food and Dining

    Well, being that MCPHS is an incredibly small school and part of the Colleges of the Fenway, we share two dining halls with Wentworth and MassArt. The two dining halls offer pretty much the same things other than there being a culinary creations in MassArt. The subs are pretty good, waffle fries are great but as for the healthier options they could really use some improvement.

    Dorm Life

    Housing is only offered for first (and sometimes second years) so that is a bit of a drag. The campus is essentially in one main building with two dorm buildings attached, and then another two close by. If you're lucky you'll get put in Matricaria which is apartment style suites and attached to the building where the majority of your classes will be. Fennel is also attached to the main building and is your typical down style, with shared bathrooms on the hall. The treehouse is a building combined with students from MassArt, this building is extremely cool however a bit of a hassle if you want to go back and nap between classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are difficult being that they are mostly science and math. However, being at a medical school this is obviously expected. The school offers so many tutoring sessions, resources, and other students are always a great help! The courses here are all about what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important for students coming in to understand that although it is not an extremely difficult school to get into, it is not the easiest to get through! Due to the fact that it is a very small school people get very close to their groups in the beginning of the year so it is important to get involved and meet as many people as possible! Networking is huge in this school.

    In three sentences

    After being at this school for a year I can honestly say that I love it! Although it is a rigorous course load it is without a doubt a great school good for anyone who enjoys small classes. Being in the heart of the medical center of Boston is one of the most important factors of being at this institution.