Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

McDaniel College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I love my school and am not ashamed to admit it, but McDaniel can't be right for everyone It is a small campus surrounded by a small town. While the area is rather conservative, the campus is liberal, forward-thinking, young place. To be comfortable with that is a big step to take. I would recommend McDaniel to: Any prospective teaches (Check out their education minor) Anyone who has no idea (So many people to guide you) Those who wish to meet a lot of new people and friendly faces Anyone who wants an involved faculty Anyone who likes the idea of a small, beautiful campus And finally, anyone who can walk on the campus, and feel that McDaniel could be their new home.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT THE SCHOOL! There is no way around it (and this applies for all schools). When I was searching, there was a gut instinct-type thing involved. Some places just didn't feel right. Sit in on a class. Talk to students (We're all on facebook). Look at the housing and the students. Would you want to live with them? Be honest with yourself. Foremost, do everything you can to do the best in your semesters prior to applying and keep it up. You want that scholarship.

    Bang for the buck

    McDaniel College is an expensive place, though they are very generous with their aid and scholarships. I think the cost is definitely backed up by the quality of the staff (95% hold the highest degrees in their fields), the education that they offer, the varied opportunities that are available, and in the lifestyle that one has the opportunity to experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Hill, a nickname for McDaniel, is a welcoming place. While you have to put yourself out there to meet new people, they are more than kind. That goes for faculty, staff, and students. Anyone you meet at McDaniel, (with few exceptions) will be fantastic. The extra-curriculars are also worth mentioning here: there is something for everyone, and I'm not kidding. Religious groups, movie groups, environmental, international, gender/sexuality issues groups, varied job opportunities, ROTC, sports, creative visual/performing arts groups. Anything.

    Am learning a lot

    McDaniel presents its students with a WIDE array of classes on so many topics. I was able to take a class about the relationship between madness and creativity. There's classes on South Park's take on social commentary, in-depth studies into theatre or science. If you can dream of the class, it will probably be offered at McDaniel at some point. Also, the professors are open and willing to help any student who requests it. They love teaching their classes and it really does show.

  • 12/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Listed in Colleges that Change Lives and A+ Colleges for B Students, McDaniel is the place for anybody that is looking for an amazing liberal arts education and a welcoming community. Slackers beware- This college is not for you. Sure, there are people that skate on by, but you will get the most out of a McDaniel College education if you want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a chance to visit camps, DO IT! This is true for ANY college you are considering applying to. I knew after visiting McDaniel that this was the place for me. Even if you don't come to the same conclusion that I did, you'll at least have eliminated an option. Check out the undergraduate admissions website (http://admissions.mcdaniel.edu/). Especially read the student blogs. E-Ambassadors (like myself) update their blogs weekly to give prospective students an idea of what they're in for. Additionally, McDaniel Admissions has Flickr and YouTube accounts that are worth taking a look at. If you're worried about getting accepted, relax. It is competitive, but SAT scores and grades are not the primary focus of your application. Put most of your time into your essay, because that is the element of your application that will make you stand out. If you're still worried, talk to your admissions counselor. They're friendly and more than willing to talk to you and answer questions.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not going to lie- Tuition is expensive. However, a huge percentage of students receive financial aid and scholarships, and the education you receive is worth the cost. I can honestly say that if you put time and effort into your studies and get involved on campus, you will receive an education worth as much as or more than the money you paid to attend this college. Furthermore, there are so many opportunities to connect with faculty and staff that will help you not only in your coursework, but also in your job search and future endeavors.

    Am enjoying being here

    I know that McDaniel is where I was meant to be. The campus is small (you can walk across it in under 10 minutes), but that's what makes it so great. Students are not mere numbers, and there is a strong feeling of community. In addition, I like to keep busy, and it's so easy to get involved that I'm involved in 5 different campus organizations and hold offices in 3 of them. At a larger school, that would be impossible to do as a sophomore. McDaniel is located in Westminster, MD, which is a quiet little town a couple hours away from Baltimore and Washington, DC. The College, sponsors movies on Friday nights, campus organizations hold clubrooms (dances) usually at least once a week, tailgating is HUGE, and there is usually something fun going on. When there's not, it's easy enough to find something to do. The game room is now free, you can go swimming in Harlow Pool, or play intramural sports. McDaniel is becoming increasingly diverse, and I think it's awesome that I've gotten to meet so many different people. Everyone is so friendly, too! I'm having so much fun and learning quite a bit.

    Am learning a lot

    At any college, you're only going to get out of your education what you put into it, but at McDaniel, the possibilities are endless. First-Year Seminar courses like Music and Words as a Quest for Meaning and Horror Fiction help freshmen adapt to college life. The Honors Program allows you to take special courses in topics such as Great Works of the Western World, A Hero's Journey, and Nanotechnology. Sophomore Interdisciplinary Studies courses feature topics like September 11 and its Aftermath and South Park and Contemporary Issues. Most professors have the highest degree in their field, and I have never had a professor that was not willing to talk to you in person for extra help or even just friendly conversation. Even outside the classroom, students have so many opportunities that promote skill-building and learning, such as internships, campus employment, and a huge variety of extra-curricular activities.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only issues surrounding Campus Safety are that for every polite, professional, considerate, and genuinely good Campus Safety Officer, there is also one who just seems to be out to get you. One officer, for example, apparently hid in a tree and jumped out at some students he believed her smoking illegal substances.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of fraternities and sororities on campus. Though Greek Life isn't for me, persay, I know a lot of girls who are just absolutely ecstatic about pledging and have found a home with their new Sisters.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a good bit to do, despite McDaniel's rural location! The college takes our free time into account, so they provide a lot of new, different, fun events and activities throughout the year (which are generally free to students, which is always a plus)!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want professors to know them by name should look into McDaniel. It's a small campus, so the student:teacher ratio allows for individual attention in the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The McDaniel golf course is great for sledding in the winter! When it snows, the giant hill is crowded with kids on make-shift sleds.

    Bang for the buck

    McDaniel is renowned for its financial aide. While I certainly don't have a full-ride, I know that I am getting an education worth what my parents are paying for.

    What to do for fun

    There are Club Rooms once a month, random little events like Paint Your Own Pottery or a psychic, plays and concerts, and just a lot of cool people to hang around with!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall, appropriately called GLAR (short for Englar), kind of sums up the dining experience at McDaniel. Honestly, it's all edible....but every day it's kind of a hit-or-miss situation. Deli sandwiches and pizza are always safe back-ups, and the baked goods are generally fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    The Freshman Girls' dorm is newly renovated and wonderful. The Boys' dorm, however, should honestly be condemned. Be prepared for one year of living in squalor, gentlemen, but persevere- dorm life gets progressively better each year! By Senior year, you're living in gorgeous apartments or your own house right off campus!

    Academic Rigor

    As a Freshman, I tested out of the required English course, so I took a 3000-level British Literature course in my first semester. I barely stayed afloat, but the professor and the material covered just absolutely blew my mind. I love the English department here and can't wait for three more years in the English building!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all the AP Courses you possibly can in high school, do the best you can on SATs, and good things (like a lot of financial aide) will come your way!

    In three sentences

    McDaniel is overall a wonderful school. While there are a few issues, mainly concerning internet speed, residence halls, and Campus Safety officers, the professors of McDaniel truly make it a place of learning. I do not regret my decision to come here, as I've learned a great deal in my first year.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good for people who obey the rules and such, but for those who drink in dorms and smoke near non smoking buildings campo will crack down on you.

    Greek Life

    Join if you want a social life. it is worth everything if you are at McDaniel College. All the organizations are nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are great. There's a lot of clubs so there is alot for students to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student that wants to learn. However, not so great for students who want to be more socially active since the college is located in a hick town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At orientation, the president would make a speech and walk the incoming freshman to ring the bell at Red Square.

    Bang for the buck

    McDaniel is expensive, so be sure know what you want to do with your life before you waste money. If you enter not knowing what you want then, at least try to get some of the McDaniel plan classes out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    The campus itself is really pretty and makes a walk even more calming and replenishing. However, other than that, there is not too much to do around the campus unless you join a Greek organization. The college is located in Westminster, a hick town, so do not expect to be entertained.

    Food and Dining

    Englar is the dining building. The food there is supplied by Sodexo. best prepare for bad food. Though there was a remodeling, the food itself still is awful.

    Dorm Life

    Sucks if you do not like your roommate. Must bring a fan for your first years, you will die from heat! I almost did. Dorm life is also pretty unfair, because you will be charged if your floor makes a mess or such, so even though one person caused damage, everyone is fined for it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major you can have a real easy time or a hard time. From my experiences Business and Biology majors have the hardest professors. The classes are all very demanding,

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a fan, bring entertainment, and bring bottled water.

    In three sentences

    Good school. Good financial aid. Good professors.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    McDaniel is a small school, so it's very easy to meet people and make friends quickly. The small class sizes also creates a good one on one relationship with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus and in the community. Makes for a lot of fun!

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Preppy, lax, white, middle to upper class, obsessed with disney, loves shitty greek life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not really good for low-income students.

    Bang for the buck

    Over expensive for no real reason. Food sucks, administration is mostly unhelpful, only concerned about appearance, I could go on for days..

    Am enjoying being here

    Not much to do, surrounding town is bleak, sketchy, and boring, and not much access to the outside world unless you have a car, or know someone with a car who is also willing to take you places

    Am learning a lot

    Professors here are usually nice and knowledgeable, and are good at teaching. There are bad apples, though.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do is hang out with friends. There are some parties on campus and we have events like Movie Night and Spring Fling and it's good to attend those. We also have a game room with X-Box and Wii games systems, Pool and Ping-Pong for students to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is mediocre. It's not the best but some days it has really good food. This is usually when there is a theme like Wing Night or Asian Cuisine. The Green Terrace has really good sandwiches and I recommend students visit it.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is fun, especially when students live with friends. Be sure to take care of the furniture placed in the dorms so residents won't get charged for damages. Also, students should get to know their roommate(s) before deciding to live together.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are really good. The professors are usually always over qualified for their positions and can teach several courses. The work will be challenging but the professors are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don;t know what career choice you desire, don't worry. You'll have to take several courses in different subjects so this will expose you to different areas of study. If you need help with anything, feel free to ask the staff of the school.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel is a great small, liberal arts school. The small size of the school makes each student feel comfortable and welcome. The professors are able to interact with students personally when needed.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is always a safe place to be. There is relatively no crime on campus whatsoever. Off campus at night can be a little sketchy but as long as you're not stupid about it, you'll be fine. Pretty much, just don't go walking down Pennsylvania Avenue by yourself at 3 in the morning.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of fun clubs and activities around campus. If McDaniel doesn't have something that you like, you can always start your own club!

    Bang for the buck

    I applied and was accepted to eight different colleges. McDaniel had the best financial aid out of all of the schools by far. None of the rest even really compared financially. They really try to help you be able to realistically afford your education.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I hang out together all the time even if it's just to do homework. The great thing about McDaniel is that it's really easy to make friends. Since you all live near each other, it's easy to always be around someone and find something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Let's be honest, no matter what college you go to, the food isn't going to be great. At McDaniel there are three on campus choices to eat and quite a few places off campus in town that you could walk to if you'd like. You can always find something decent to eat. Just explore your options.

    Dorm Life

    As long as you don't have a horrible roommate, dorm life isn't bad. Sometimes the bathrooms will get a little dirty but they are cleaned 5 days a week so it really should not be a problem. As long as everyone is respectful of each other and their surroundings, the dorms will stay clean and nice to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    McDaniel challenges you and prepares you for your future life after college. Classes are taken seriously and you actually need to show up if you want to pass. The classes are not ridiculously hard, but you definitely need to put in the effort, do the work, and study in order to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small school with dedicated professors, McDaniel is a great place for you. McDaniel is a school that truly becomes your home. If you're looking for a party lifestyle, I'd suggest going elsewhere. Although, of course, there are parties at McDaniel, they're not the kind of crazy college parties you see on television and in movies. I chose McDaniel because I knew I would get a great education and would not get distracted by partying.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel is a tight-knit family consisting of passionate experienced professors and students who truly want to learn. It has the small campus atmosphere with all the opportunities of a bigger school. I absolutely love McDaniel and it is the perfect place for me to receive my education.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers tend to respect you if you respect them (usually). Don't walk around obviously drunk if you're underage and don't be stupid about alcohol in the dorms. As for campus safety, the concept, McDaniel's campus is pretty much safe all the time, with one caveat; stay off Pennsylvania Avenue at night if you can. It's one of the streets bordering campus, and it's not particularly safe.

    Greek Life

    It's present and active, but you can survive happily without joining. The parties are primarily (if not all) Greek-thrown, but not exclusive to Greeks. Chapters don't tend to have their own houses, and there's no Greek row. Parties and other events is where their presence is most felt.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some interesting clubs on campus - puppy club and cheese club to name some fun ones. There are activities, but they're not all interesting or well-attended. Some people go, but I get the sense people just make their own fun for the most part.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to be a teacher, McDaniel is known for its excellent education minor - don't be deceived by the 'minor' title though, it's different from any of the other minors. It's as rigorous as a major, but because you have to major in something else, you get to actually study the subject you might teach. Alternatively, if you have no idea what you want to be/study/do, McDaniel can help you! The broad requirements plus wide variety of interesting classes let you figure out what you're really interested in. I'll add that if you grew up in a big city and like that environment, you may want to skip McDaniel. I come from a huge city and almost transferred out after first semester because Westminster was just too different. I stuck with it and I'm glad, but if you don't think you can stick it out, don't try.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First thing that comes to mind as an unusual location is the peeing rock - so named because it's a kind of strange fountain/rock/thing. Even professors refer to it as such, which I get a kick out of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, no doubt about it. I'm not sure why it's so expensive, but all private colleges are pretty much through the roof these days. McDaniel does a great job of making up for it with financial aid though.

    What to do for fun

    There are quite a few parties. Usually Greek parties, but you don't have to go Greek to have a social life. People watch movies, go out to eat, relax on the quad, or chill in common areas. Sometimes there are decent activities, like laser tag, tye-dye, or a hypnosis show. Also, McDaniel is among the top 7 best schools for tailgating, according to the Weather Channel... because they're somehow the experts.

    Food and Dining

    I think we've all noticed that the food gets a little better on admitted student day (so keep visiting!), because frankly, the rest of the year it sucks. The variety is great, but all the options are still surprisingly edible at best. I've begun rating food on an adjusted scale good-good vs. glar-good. The best food is found on the dessert table, which does not help the Freshman 15 trap. Be conscious, and don't fall back on pizza and cookies - often the best meal you're gonna get on any given day.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman girls' dorm was renovated last year and is quite nice. The freshman boys' dorm is a test in and of itself. Consider packing a hazmat suit... just kidding (barely). If you make it through there, housing gets better. Honors housing is great too. Beyond freshman year, there are lots of options. 3 dorm buildings, affinity housing, and apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here feel like they did at the end of high school, rather than academically the next level, at least not the first year, exception being honors classes. The upside of this is that I have enough time to double major without going insane. The general education requirements (McDaniel Plan) are flexible and push you outside your declared major. (I'll be taking a course about the zombie apocalypse!)

    Tips for prospective students

    If it seems like everyone around you knows exactly what they want to do with their life and you don't, this school is still for you. This school is also tiny, which makes for a close community. If you're looking for a school where the only days you have to show up to class are test days, look elsewhere. But if you're interested in McDaniel, come visit! When I was touring, this is the first school where I was able to see myself.

    In three sentences

    Small, beautiful, private liberal arts college in a small town in Maryland, rumored to change lives. Flexible curriculum including the McDaniel Plan and self-designed majors make getting your degree more enjoyable than taking a bunch of dumb required classes. Home to the Green Terror, something students can only guess at the true identity of (I hear it's a fish).

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    eh…they're okay. sometimes they lack common sense.

    Greek Life

    the absolute worst. i was in a sorority for a year and it was the absolute worst experience of my life. you shouldn't have to pay for your friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs but none of them are really cool or fun or interesting. you join them to beef up your resume, but ultimately, you find yourself not really having much involvement in it. activities…rare.

    Great for these types of students

    students whose parents really want them to go to college, but they really don't want to. not all that interested in school, and not really motivated to continue working hard after high school. students who don't mind towns in the middle of nowhere. students who like to make their own fun. students who are a little…strange.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -you ring the bell in red square on your first day of orientation and when you graduate. -we have a lot of fun sledding on our golf course in the winter. -spring fling (although i think a lot of schools have that)

    Bang for the buck

    as far as education goes, it really depends on which department your in. the psychology program here is awesome. the professors are excellent and they really want to see you succeed. i feel like i do get my money's worth as far as classes goes. additional expenses however, mcdaniel is all off. they charge you for random things all the time. there are always mistakes. money seems to disappear from my (and everyone's) account a lot.

    What to do for fun

    let me know if you find out. pretty much everything costs money, which most college students don't have.

    Food and Dining

    horrendous. the absolute worst. they do not encourage healthy dining at all.

    Dorm Life

    first year females get a great experience in whiteford. first year males, get the worst experience in rouzer. anw has tiny rooms, outdated furnishings, and is always overheated. blanche is nice. mcdaniel hall isn't so bad. north village is awesome. gardens are decent.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not go greek. the greek system at mcdaniel is horribly brainwashing and do not have any moral code whatsoever. do not buy your textbooks or school supplies from the bookstore, they're way overprices. as soon as you're eligible to live in housing with a kitchen, do so. campus dining options are awful. though on tours and in ads mcdaniel raves about the small college town it's actually incredible shady. people (college students) are getting attacked in westminster all the time. and by small town they mean, there is nothing to do.

    In three sentences

    if you're looking for the opportunity to discuss intellectual topics with diverse groups of students—this is not the place. the majority of the population do not care about school. the professors in my major however, are actually really great.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go off campus to see a movie, hang with some friends, or go see a play in their awesome auditorium.

    Food and Dining

    The food there will make you feel like you're at home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are so nice and pretty big.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a liberal arts college so you'll be getting all of the help you need. The classes are small so it won't be hard to talk to teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has all of the basics and more.

    In three sentences

    Visiting this campus was an experience to remember. It's in a small quiet town in northern Maryland with everything your could possibly imagine. I personally loved every minute I spent there.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome, really nice. They'll keep you safe and aren't stiff and unfriendly. They're great people to be on the good side of.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs often do interesting fundraisers and have cool activities. There is probably something for you and if there isn't, you only need like 5 other people to make a club of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Who enjoy small communities, knowing their professors and having their professors know them. Sorry, skipping is a challenge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The theater is haunted! So are a few other buildings but the theater has like 3 ghosts. I'm serious, google that. Other than that, everyone will tell you about the tailgating. Seriously, everyone. It's something to check out for sure.

    What to do for fun

    Well occasionally there are clubrooms, which are club hosted night in the club type deals. Basically a party with no alcohol that you might have to pay to get into. Main street often has cute townie things, a parade, a peep show, stuff like that. If I had a car I'd have more to tell you. But I can tell you that there is a free shuttle, the pickle, that can take you to the Baltimore or DC metro so you can visit the city for the day. The Pickle also has other stops, like the localish mall and stores.

    Food and Dining

    Limited. There are only really two places you can eat. The main dining hall has really restricted hours (while it's open between lunch and dinner, it closes up for the night at 7:30. Weekend hours are rough) and, once again, if you're a Freshman, you are really restricted. However, there are nice places in town with great food. Main street is close by so you can always walk down to grab something or get pizza delivered. If you don't feel like spending extra money? Be very wary of any beef and prepare your digestive system for school food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Let me tell you about the barnacle brained buttfaces I have to live with! Not really. Honestly, my dorm is pretty nice. Lots of stairs, again, but living in honors housing is very roomy. I've heard freshman girls also have roomy housing. Freshman guys...well, good luck. Freshmen are pretty restricted in where they can live but once you get past the first year, you can go anywhere. However, substance free housing is a lie. People are still loud, disrespectful, and drunk. It should be expected wherever you choose to go. Don't have high standards or prepare to have them crushed.

    Academic Rigor

    All depends on what you're used to but I know many people who have taken 21, or even 16, credit semesters (with most classes being 4 credits a piece; fitness and art classes are less as are a few others) and almost died at the end. Again, you're likely to have help along the way so there isn't much to be worried about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to stairs, stairs everywhere. Not all the buildings have elevators either. It's very windy here as well. As for academics, I'm only a freshman but from what I've heard it seems like, regardless of your major or interests, there are at least 5 people willing to support you and have your back.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Friendly staff and students. Awful food.

  • 08/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this is a great school if you are shy at first, most of the people will be just like you which makes it easy to make friends. the party life exsists at McDaniel but it is not over the top. you never have to see a party if you don't want to. there is always things going on on campus which makes it fun to be at McDaniel

    Bang for the buck

    i get a lot of financial aid but it makes it easy for me to afford to go to school here. i know that i am always learning in my classes and it makes it worth it to go to school here

    Am enjoying being here

    i love being on the small campus. it is easy to get to anywhere in a short amount of time. people are friendly no matter where you go and off campus there are many places to go for food/shopping and anything you want to do within walking distance (although you may have to walk a bit)

    Am learning a lot

    all my classes are small which makes it easy for the teachers and professors to get to know you. they are all friendly and available to help you when ever you need it. i know i have learned something new from all of my classes and it is good to know that my money is going to good use

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always very helpful and there are boxes located to call.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are really a lot of interesting clubs to choose from on campus: radio club, anime, animal welfare, volunteer clubs, humans vs. zombies, sororities, and advocacy team just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students fit in here.

    Bang for the buck

    it is an expensive school being that it is small and liberal arts, but large scholarships are offered.

    What to do for fun

    there are always a variety of events happening on campus. at any given day there are likely to either be films being shown, interesting guest lectures, comedians, music, or any other kind of fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    there are a lot of choices for food in the dining hall, so you can usually find something you like. there are also two restaurants on campus which are both delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor is pretty high for most colleges. it depends on the classes you are taking and how much work you are willing to put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    college experience is what you make of it. join clubs, meet people and get involved. stepping outside your comfort zone is rewarding.

    In three sentences

    the campus overall is very welcoming and inviting. it is a small, close-knit liberal arts college that offers a variety of classes and organizations. for the most part, professors are dedicated and very helpful.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always alert and very helpful. This is a very safe, calm campus for the most part.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is okay. I am pledging a national service sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 50 clubs on this campus, maybe even more....I am not sure.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who can adapt to any environment, not recommended for the typical city girl or boy type.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ringing the bell as a new student

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pricey BUT financial aid is what draws every single student to McDaniel. They help a lot.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on this campus. Although it is in a rural area, I am always intrigued by what I find to explore.

    Food and Dining

    The food is typical. It has good days and bad days.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very cool. Typical but with its own style. Each is equipped with carpet and a mircofridge.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes are challenging but well worth the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never procrastinate. Be friends with your professors and study as often as possible, even during breaks if you can.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel is listed as one of the top forty colleges that changes lives. I have only been here a short time, and that is an understatement to describe it. McDaniel has even changed me.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love Campus Safety, they take really good care of us.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all the clubs you could possibly imagine! There's a belly dancing club, an improvisation club, a dog training club, Hispanic Latino Alliance, Allies club, all kinds of things!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the dorms. Also, there are a few shops around in the area, which people can go to. My friends and I mostly watch movies together on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    I LOVE CHICKEN TENDER THURSDAY! Also, the dining hall does theme nights, where they will have southern food, or Asian food, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The girls can be extremely obnoxious, but the dorms are nice. The rooms are a lot bigger than most school's dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are easier than others, but they take education very seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the small amount of students, there aren't very many so its easy to know everyone, and sometimes more than you want to know about them. The teachers care about you, so don't think you can just stop going to class and not have them look into it.

    In three sentences

    The school is very diverse and works to meet everyone's needs. The campus is beautiful and I love the students. There is a plethora of opportunities available to meet new people and learn new things.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good, patrol campus and will offer escort if requested

    Greek Life

    present on campus, but not overwhelming

    Clubs and Activities

    over 75 clubs- sororities and fraternities, academic societies, religious groups, environmental groups, language groups, club sports, and many more

    Great for these types of students

    all types, there are many groups on campus that will suit your interests or you can make your own

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ringing bell on 1st day of freshman orientation and again at commencement

    Bang for the buck

    offers generous financial aid, ability to create your own major

    What to do for fun

    on campus events (movies, trips to Baltimore and DC), off campus (bowling, shopping, visit local orchard)

    Food and Dining

    newly renovated dining hall with many varieties of food, food always improving as chefs ask for student opinions, grille with fast to-go food, coffee shop in library

    Dorm Life

    many of the dorms have recently been renovated, furniture can be moved around many ways

    Academic Rigor

    very good professors who care about their subject, will provide help outside of class time and will collaborate on projects with students, honors program available

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved with extracurricular activities, manage your time between school and fun, take advantage of on campus or cheap off campus opportunities

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus located on a hill in a small town, rigorous academics with many resources to use on campus, and small community of many interests

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    You could start your own club if you don't like any here!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs here! You could golf on the golf course for fun, play games in the rec room, go to the gym, watch a play, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexho provides us with our meals.

    Dorm Life

    There are apartments for juniors and seniors, and dorms for sophomore and freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    There are all types of classes here. With the McDaniel Plan, you must take classes that may be out of your comfort zone, but will be fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to make new friends! With FYS classes, you'll begin your college experience, and find out what McDaniel has to offer you.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel has great professors, great classes, and a great student body. There are many clubs that students can be involved in. McDaniel is a small school, and is one of the 40 schools that will change your life.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have a variety of service, social, and honors greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have clubs based on interests from anime to batmitten. We also have a number of clubs for animal welfare and we train service dogs through one of our clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students with imagination. The Social work department is great here too!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshmen ring in with the bell in red square and seniors ring out at graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    They are great when it comes to financial aid. Also do not be afraid to open up and talk to administrators. They are so great, the president let us pie him in the face for a fund raiser for Vagina Monologues.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs or even create your own club the office of student engagement is awesome! Take a walk into town with friends for coffee or pizza. Grab a soccer ball and head to the fiel or hit the gym. The only limit is yoyr imagination.

    Tips for prospective students

    We are in a small town but do not be discouraged, you will find friends and your only limit is your creativity.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel is a small school full of caring staff. You can get help with anything and everything you need. They give great financial aid packages.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues noted

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts and Gerontology

    What to do for fun

    travel a short distance to Baltimore

    Food and Dining

    Satisfying

    Academic Rigor

    Based on speciality

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Campus...

    In three sentences

    Best professors ever had. Complete dedicated to the success of each and every student. College support staff easy to contact and return calls promptly.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always available

    Clubs and Activities

    kind of fun, many events

    Great for these types of students

    students who don't like to be involved in crowded place.

    What to do for fun

    Talk with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Good food is provided once a while.

    Dorm Life

    Very nice

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school for students who don't like to get involved in crowded place.

    In three sentences

    This is a small, private school. The campus is beautiful.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers are amazing. They are very friendly, but firm with their jobs.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a member of any Greek life, so I really don't know.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am personally a member of the humans Vs. zombies club on campus. We have fun missions around campus, and go to other invitationals. There are clubs for pretty much anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    The College is great for really any kind of student.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is very expensive, and it only seems to continue getting more and more expensive. But I think it is worth it. The faculty is very friendly and helpful, and the classes are worth it.

    What to do for fun

    You can go for walks, watch movies, go skating, go to the mall that is about 5 minutes away, or do anything really.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is a hit or miss. Some days it's good, and other days it's so very bad.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on the dorm. Rouzer hall, the freshman male dorm (soon to be co-ed) was a trash hole, and has been for years. That should change when it becomes co-ed. The other dorms are not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very hands on and the professors are very friendly and supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for work, you have a lot of free time if you can get your work done fully and at a good pace.

    In three sentences

    It is a very hands on college. The faculty is very friendly. The students are also very friendly.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    McDaniel has a lot of clubs to choose from. If there isn't a club you like its fairly easy to start one. Some Clubs at McDaniel: Nippon Ai *anime/manga* Humans vs Zombies BSU ACC Art History International Best Buddies And many more.. On a side-note the club I was in ( not reveling) has some dictatorship thing going on, the current president sometimes forces people to take certain positions for the club. And also some people have left the club due to its immature members. But that's why me and my friends are starting our own club

    Food and Dining

    McDaniel dining the hall isn't the best out there. The Pub though is good. But the dining hall is okay-ish. Every Tuesday and Thursdays are themed nights and they are very interesting. But if you don't like it, the are many restaurants and cafes around the school.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. Sometimes you get the floor with the people who like to party, or the loud neighbors (really obnoxious sometimes), but it's very comfortable in the dorm rooms. The only really thing you have to worry about is damages.if a damage happens outside your room and no one can prove who did it, be prepared for a bill in the mail *the bill is split among everyone on the floor, or the whole building if in a common area (lounge, laundry room...etc)*. On the bright side if you can prove you didn't have anything to do with it you can file for an appeal. Overall the dorm life is really good.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many different teaching styles. There have been some styles that just did not work for me, but I always found another that fitted perfectly. The professors are really into their lessons which makes it all the better. Many professors go beyond the extra mile for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    McDaniel just made freshman dorms co-ed so it'll be easier to make more friends. DONT be afraid to talk to people, everyone's friendly and the professors have proven they are more then willing to help.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel College is great school. It's not to big or small and it's easy to get to know your teachers. The classes are relatively small, and there are many things to do around the campus;most in walking distance.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very strict yet friendly most of the orientation includes conversation about our safety.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a greek life type of person.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not really a club type person but they do have free movies & local stores like the pub & ihop & cold stone. They have a lot of activities that I cant even fit on here.

    Great for these types of students

    Interaction, environment, friendly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition is you get to walk around the campus along with these yellow & green lanterns. You will get a candle & get a lecture in the chapel where you will have to light the candle & wish on the candle then blow it out. I truly enjoyed it.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive but afterwards it is worth it I hope your income is good.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of groups & organizations you can even make your own group. You can meet people or join the facebook group. Many events pop up every now & then like free movies & so much more.

    Food and Dining

    I love eating from the Pub & cause I have the meal plan I eat there nearly everyday but luckily there is a gym not far so if you gain a couple of pounds you can easily go there.

    Dorm Life

    I gotten the chance to choose my own roommate & my best friend from high school is my roommate. Yay! I love it we are comfortable with each other & we can easily share nearly everything. The dorms are nice and proportional.

    Academic Rigor

    I love my classes including my fys class it is my favorite.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do plan on attending be sure that your income is right because this is an expensive school but it truly is worth it.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel is a wonderful college it is comfortable and quiet, it just makes you feel like you are at home and welcomed. If you like a small college that is quiet and safe then McDaniel is the place for you. Everyone is friendly and everyone is nice.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right after the convocation speech at orientation, the incoming freshman class rings the bell on campus to begin their time here. After commencement in four years, they do the same to signify the end of their time as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck! McDaniel was just ranked top for best value for liberal arts colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Many students play card and board games at odd hours of the night. Others play frisbee or pickup basketball. There are a bazillion clubs on campus to keep anybody occupied as well. Many, many options for what to do in your spare time.

    Food and Dining

    Englar dining hall (Glar) is a very comfortable place to get your meals. Sometimes the food isn't all that great, but there are always plenty of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter, I wouldn't know much about dorm life. I hear that they're ok.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are challenging, but the professors want you to do your best. They are not out there to see you fail. They care about your academic success and will help you get on track and stay on track. The academics here are challenging and motivating for students who are eager to push their limits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't make your college decision on factors like where your friends are going, what the food is like, how the college looks necessarily, or other trivial matters. Focus entirely on what your college experience will be like for your four years. Talk to professors, to current students, visit a class or two, walk around campus. If you can envision yourself happy and successful there, then you're on the right track.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel College is a great place to go to school because the professors truly, genuinely care about you. Every one of them is more than happy to help with anything you need at all. McDaniel's faculty and staff is personal and approachable for anything and everything.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    HORRIBLE! They do not make you feel safe at all. After a kid got mugged in the backside of the school, you did not see campus safety step up their security at all.

    Greek Life

    Uhm no. Don't even join haha

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, but still not something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    People who have their own car

    Bang for the buck

    Way to expensive for what the student receives after orientation week. Don't forget that during orientation week, they are still trying to make the school seem so good. It's all a front. Although I will say the financial aid is really good here compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Uhm do not walk downtown, not even in a group of people. It is so sketchy. Orientation week we were actually told not to walk around alone...kinda scary hearing that from the college, especially when the campus safety/security doesn't seem like much of a security. Pay $8 a month and watch Netflix if you need something to do for fun. Or bring a gaming console.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall will make you sick. Many of students have gotten food poisoning from there. If you don't like microwavable meals, you might want to change that. Also I highly suggest eating at the Pub. Although, they'll probably get your order wrong, it doesn't take much energy to lean over the counter and correct them.

    Dorm Life

    PLEASE READ IT WILL HELP! I could barely even give this section one star. I would never want to see my worst enemy live in the freshman dorms. Not only should you bring your own toilet paper for the restrooms since the cleaning people only leave 2 extra rolls for the week, you mine as well clean the shower before you use it since it is probably going to smell like straight urine in the showers. It's disgusting. Also they are not very good at matching up roommates. There's so many issues. Also students will be charged for other kids mistakes. For example, if a bulletin board it ripped down on the 2nd floor, the whole floors tuition bill will be charged. Even if kids from the 2nd floor didn't destroy the bulletin board. That goes along with everything, if the cleaning people have to do a special cleaning in the bathroom ( toilet over flow) you'll be charged, some kids busted the lights in the elevator, you'll be charger. It sucks. Lastly, make sure to bring like 8 fans with you, only one floor gets AC and it doesn't matter how hot it is in your room, you'll probably get denied for a window AC unit.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems like the professors are out to get you and they will make you feel worthless. I've had several encounters with my professors, and talking to other students about how professors make them feel. Its not good, and students have no motivation to go to class when they feel disrespected by their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    BEFORE you commit to any college, definitely go on a visit to that school. When visiting McDaniel ask to go inside of Rouzer Hall, its where some freshman will stay. They will probably say that its under construction, I can promise you its not, they just don't want you to see how bad the living conditions really are. Also try to avoid Englarr (the dining hall), it will make you sick. I know plenty of people who got food poisoning from eating there. Although it may cost you some extra money, try to eat at the Pub, its by the bookstore. If you do decide to come here, bring toilet paper even though there's communal bathrooms. There's never toilet paper in the bathrooms....Also make sure to bring pepper spray or some form of protection, the surrounding downtown area is very sketchy. No one should ever walk alone around here..

    In three sentences

    Workers have horrible personable/customer service skills, food WILL make you sick, dorm situation will make you want to leave.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every student should put Campus Safety's number into their phone at the start of the year and sign up for orgsync and other programs we have to promote safety. You'll get text alerts if the school closes or if there is any threat to the campus, as well as being able to call campo if you don't feel safe-- and then they'll be there.

    Greek Life

    They say Greek Life isn't big here, but it is present. We have certain floors for fraternities and sororities and there are more than you will know of when you start. We don't haze though, so... Cheers.

    Great for these types of students

    We have an AMAZING theater department and our theater is certainly proud of it. That may be one of the most intense things here.

    What to do for fun

    We have various programs for students and things to do (especially on weekends) ranging from comedians and singers visiting to karaoke nights in the pub. We also have certain set events like Spring Fling every year that definitely make our campus life more fun.

    Food and Dining

    Right now we have Englar Dining Hall (our cafeteria) and the pub as our main food, but there is a vocelli's on campus now so you can have pizza on demand (and they'll deliver to your dorm).

    Dorm Life

    There are various dorms throughout campus, and each one is different. Chances are that you won't get an apartment until your senior year though, but all that means is you won't have a kitchen. The nicer the dorm, the more expensive so just make sure you can afford what you get.

    Academic Rigor

    The intensity of your classes really does depend upon what your major is. We're a liberal arts college generally, but some of the biology classes (undergrad) are taught on a grad-school level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit. It is pretty much what you see is what you get.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel is a college with a beautiful campus and some vibrant students. Because of its size, the teachers all get to know their students and truly care about them. The campus is also small enough to get around quickly, from end to end.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I hear its nice

    Bang for the buck

    VERRRRY EXPENSIVE

    What to do for fun

    It is a very small town. not much night life. helps leave time for studying lol

    Food and Dining

    I dont know havent really heard about it

    Dorm Life

    From what I heard, the girls dorms are nice but the boys are bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Ive read Good reviews on the subject

    Tips for prospective students

    Write a good essay. The recognize it and will definitely help you get in

    In three sentences

    Just got accepted. The people who work at admissions are extreamly helpfull and kind. One of my top schools

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're all very nice and helpful, but they can be uptight on weekends.

    Greek Life

    It is so much fun! Being a part of Greek life is awesome, but you don't have to be a part of Greek life in order to feel like part of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There area bunch of clubs, but not all of them are very active. It is easy to start a club though.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're going to get involved this is a great place. There's not very many people on campus who don't do anything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The golf course on campus is really pretty and has a pavilion that not many people know about that is nice if you need a quiet place. It is also the best sledding hill on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    McDaniel gives out lots of scholarship and hardly anyone pays full price.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of cute mom and pop shops to eat at on main street, The student engagement office plans tons of trip that allow you to go places for $20 or less. Otherwise, most students stay on campus and hangout together.

    Food and Dining

    It depends on the major, but if you do economics or math, the classes are challenging.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of dorms an not a lot of apartments on campus. The dorms are up to date. Many people complain about them, but the rooms are bigger than all of my friends rooms at college if they are still in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the major, If you major in economics or math it is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out the roommate survey very seriously or you'll end up with a roommate you won't enjoy.

    In three sentences

    McDaniel professors invest a lot of time into each one of their students. The college has lots of opportunities to get involved. All different types of students are on camps so it's super easy to make friends.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with sorority sisters

    Food and Dining

    GLAR SUCKS

    Dorm Life

    Pretty chilled except the RA's think so highly of themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    It's extremely easy

    In three sentences

    It sucks.