Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

McHenry County College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For any student that wants a broader outlook on life, take the philosophy classes. I've only taken one so far and the way I see the world around me has changed drastically. For anyone that has no idea what they're going to be doing, the advisers are a MUST-SEE. I had no idea what I was doing until I saw an adviser, and I hate initiating my future with people. I've talked to the same adviser every time I'm in the office but from what I can tell, they are all extremely kind, helpful, and actually caring.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there's anyone thinking that MCC is a bad choice, think again. As for myself: I'm closer to home, still get to see my friends over break and when I visit their colleges, and get to see my family and the remaining bits of my siblings' high school days. McHenry County College is probably the best choice I've had to make, and I still get to transfer in a few semesters to wherever my little heart desires. Just don't fail MCC101, because that class is unfortunately required to graduate!

    Bang for the buck

    Going to MCC was definitely the best decision, money-wise. I'm taking generally the same classes anyone would at a bigger college for an incredibly smaller price. Although my parents are the ones forking the bill, I know that I'll probably have to pitch in some day and going to MCC makes that a whole lot easier on all of us.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although the majority of my friends went on to many different colleges, the time I'm having at my community college isn't that bad at all. My best friend goes there as well and despite what others may think, I'm making more friends than I thought I would. The campus is easy to navigate and from my experience, everyone is friendly enough to randomly say hi to.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I'm learning more than I did in one semester than I did in high school! And these semesters are much shorter considering I only attend class twice a week. My math skills have shot up greatly, more than partially due to the wonderful teacher I had. My mind is jam-packed with philosophers and ideas that go beyond what I have ever imagined. Whoever looks down on community colleges definitely has the wrong idea about college at all.

  • 03/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to know their classmates would love it here. It's a close atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid! All the other students went through the same things. Also, don't ditch school just because you can. Keeping up with school is easier if you attend.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than any University, but it still has the same activities a University offers. There are many clubs and sports that MCC offers to its students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met so many new people! The students are friendly and helpful. My English teacher made me feel welcome the moment I walked in.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much! My teachers have found ways to interact with their students in a positive way.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MCC is great for all types of students. They have young, and old students. Those that have may different passions. They all come to ether an learn. It's a great place, and everyone can fit in there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to MCC, it's cheaper financially. If you choose to go to MCC be very proactive in getting to know your instructors, and other classmates. It'll make the experience more enjoyable for you, and it will help your GPA greatly. Go to every class, even if you don't like it, go anyway. It'll prove to be more beneficial because you won't miss any of the material that is given out in class. Most of all cherish your time there. You are there to learn, and get a higher education. It is a college so act like you are a college student because that's what you are. A college Student!

    Bang for the buck

    Going to MCC is worth the money. It'll save you a lot than if you were going to a 4 year university. They teach you time management and help prepare you more for the pace that universities do. You'll come out of MCC more mature, and ready to take on anything that comes in front of you.

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes, I very much enjoyed my time at MCC. The classes were very interesting to me, and they were enjoyable because I actually got to choose my classes. The instructors were great, and they don't treat you like a number, they treat you like a student. They are always available to help out if you ever get stuck in your studies. The advisers are very helpful in deciding what classes to take that will interest you.

    Did learn a lot

    I have earned a lot from taking classes here. Not just the information that was given out in classes. But I also learned time management. How keep up with my studies while have to work work, do community service, and do other activities at the same time. I have learned how to critically think more when I am either reading a passage, listening to a lecture, or chatting with friends. Also I have learned that I have discovered a new passion of learning at the higher levels of education because the instructors clearly show their passion for teaching the material.

  • 08/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper way of getting a great education. I say go to MCC. Great way to get your core credits without spending all your money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great place to meet people that are interested in what you are interested in. Also the faculty are very nice and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot just in my first year of MCC. It is a great college to get back on your feet if you didn't do so good in high school. I encourage many to go to MCC.

  • 08/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MCC excepts everyone and anyone. Here its a great place to meet new people and when you meet someone new its nice to know people go here for the same reason you are going their. Overall its a great place to go but then at times its like you want to just leave.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for students is that go to MCC because one its cheaper and you can get your general classes done for less instead of going to a University for a lot more money.

    Bang for the buck

    I like MCC because it is cheaper then other places. I would go here because get your general classes done for less then go off to a University to get your degree in what you really want to do.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being at MCC but not always. I get bored very easily and when I'm their by myself with none of my friends its hard to enjoy yourself. Then again I do like being by myself because I can get a lot of stuff done with out them around me.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot because most of the teachers that I have had know what they are talking about. Then their are times when some teachers you can't understand them and its difficult to finish stuff. Overall I can say that I am learning a lot here.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there are some

    What to do for fun

    hangout with other college students

    Food and Dining

    there is only one cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    packing glocks now.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs are always up to something cool, and there is enough of them to kill any spare time you may have.

    Food and Dining

    area is full of great food!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    you can skate through the college not even speaking english, as long as you do homework and show up its hard to fail anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay away from paper work! do as much as you can online, its a much easier choice.

    In three sentences

    the school itself isn't bad and course content is up to the instructors, so pick wisely! the cafeteria is not too bad, and the culinary students definitely make it more livable. the issue the school faces is the admins, they always have to form committees, do research, hire a few secretaries, etc, etc, nothing ever gets decided and when it does it usually involves interests of one group over another.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no issues

    Bang for the buck

    can get all gen eds done for very little money

    What to do for fun

    in town community college

    Food and Dining

    decent cafeteria

    Academic Rigor

    most classes are fairly easy

    In three sentences

    it is convenient and inexpensive. the classes are pretty easy and the homework isn't too much. there are resources available if you need help

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good safety many guards around.

    Greek Life

    the only fraternity is the honors fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    they offer a lot of sports and other activities. most of these are student run, and very unique. there are lots of opportunities for community service. there is even a study abroad program.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who do not know what they are looking to do with their life. great for adults returning to education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are not any unusual traditions at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    this is a great opportunity to save money and get an associates degree.

    What to do for fun

    there are athletic programs with a lot of home games. there are a lot of other student run clubs and programs.

    Food and Dining

    i do not eat at the school much, but it looks like they have a lot of variety. they also have a student run restaurant for their culinary students.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on this campus it is strictly a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are of average difficulty. i feel that they are a great transition from high school classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    i encourage prospective students to explore a lot of classes like art. i think that the advisers help a great deal, so prospective students should not be scared to visit with them.

    In three sentences

    i think that this school is a great idea for students who are not sure with what they want to do yet. it's a great way to save money. the teachers are great and the programs are a lot like high school classes.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    various clubs and activities. campus has a g.s.a. group.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to further their education. however, they are not ready for attending a four year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    p.a.d.s fundraiser for helping spread awareness homelessness. college student life allows students to spend the night, no matter what weather conditions, in card board boxes on the campuses front lawn.

    Bang for the buck

    for general education classes very much worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    student life organizations and activities.

    Food and Dining

    prices on cafeteria food is very high for the quality of food you get.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms avaliable.

    Academic Rigor

    very good. students can pick how challenging they what their semester to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    justin hoy is one of mchenry county college's best teacher's.

    In three sentences

    very good for students continuing with education plans right after high school.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria but the food is expensive and is not that good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This school is pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an easy college. Be sure to just come to class and take notes.

    In three sentences

    I personally do not like McHenry County College. Most of the teachers I have had so far don't seem to be college level teachers. There also are not many options for classes.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security guard whenever you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of options to choose from. They have a wide variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing especially.

    Bang for the buck

    Very nice on how cheap it is. It is about $2000-$3000 for books and tuition

    Food and Dining

    It has good quality food. A little overpriced. Nice outdoor sitting area.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any.

    Academic Rigor

    If you're going into nursing, their nursing program is amazing and comes at a cheap price than most colleges. Although I don't recommend taking any art classes, they don't really meet the needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm currently just working on my general education done and pushed to the side that way. If I were you I would do the same; that way you are able to really focus on your major later on.

    In three sentences

    McHenry County College is one of the best places to get all your general education from. They give you a lot of opportunities to further you in your education and college experience. All in all McHenry County College made me the best I can be.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People living with parents, or single parents, trying to afford and education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The computer labs are on the bottom floors, or in the E building. Which is a walk from the A main building.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good college if you are trying to finance your education for cheap. Online program is very good. Also very flexible and offer many night classes.

    What to do for fun

    Go for walks around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria lacks in good food, and since it is a bit of a drive to town, other than McDonald, food is at least 10 minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, so all off campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The math department lacks in good teachers. Some can hardly speak English, others teach math from a power point. Overall the teachers have been good, and the classes stay on topic. Great online, and telecourse program. School really works around all types of people and different schedules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to research your teachers before you take a class. Don't trust the guidance counselors. The counselors do not seem to know much more than what you could look up yourself on the internet.

    In three sentences

    Mchenry County College Is a good school, but reminds me a bit of high school without the 7-3pm schedule. Some teachers seem a bit uneducated, especially in the math department.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They do have sports teams and clubs that you can join, but most students go to class and then leave.

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food, nothing great.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a junior college, so of course it is not as premier as a university, but they get the job done, along with your help.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not as bad as it may seem. Just go to class and use your resources wisely. It is not hard to succeed as long as you set goals and apply yourself.

    In three sentences

    Attending a junior college for my first year has been better than I ever expected. I was able to start my GPA on the right foot, and set myself up for success. It was definatey a good experience and has prepared me for a four year school.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    MCC Has a bunch of activities going on all the time, however, I have never been to any.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at MCC but they have plenty of vending machines all over the building and a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use Rate My Professor website to find some great teachers here.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a good place to get some general education classes done for a cheap price before going to a more expensive school. There are some great teachers here as well. This is a prefect school for a student that lives near by that is planning to transfer after a year or two.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very active at MCC. There are emergency phones in all classrooms, hallways, and parking lots. Cameras are on at all time, and if there are any accidents, the school has their own police officers that will take reports.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at MCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and organizations for almost any topic or social group you can think of. Student Life is very active in hosting activities and events.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is not ready to leave home, still looking for a college, or is short on time or money should attend MCC.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college. You can't expect the best, but if you give an honest effort, you will learn and get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club if you would like to socialize. There is always, always, always an event happening at MCC (and almost always free food!) The building also has wifi available to students.

    Food and Dining

    MCC has a great cafeteria that serves hot lunches, made-to-order dishes, salad bars, Starbuck's coffee, and hot/cold breakfast. There are also many vending machines throughout the school, some that serve coffee as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms at MCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are challenging, and the teachers are very determined to get as much of the content taught in each semester as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your professors; not all have the best teaching strategies or as dedicated as others. If you desperately want to make friends, join one of the many clubs and organizations that are offered.

    In three sentences

    MCC is has a great tutoring center, and a handful of very dedicated teachers. There is a good amount of classes to choose from, and If money is tight, MCC is a great choice before transferring to a University.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police always on patrol. Very safe school. Police call booths all over the outside campus in case of any type of emergency.

    Greek Life

    I think they have one greek organization, for Honors students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities. Too many to name. Some that come to mind are student congress, Latinos Unidos club, and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to stay close to their home, and want a quality education. Most teachers are very nice and friendly and want to help you succeed. If you are the type of student that is willing to try, you will breeze through it!

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are so much cheaper then going to a University. I would recommend you get an Associates here and then transfer to a University. Help your GPA go up and also it shows that you have shown commitment to a prior schools. Most universities don't deny transfer students.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs you can possibly join at this college.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria, although the food is expensive. You will most likely find a better deal at McDonald's. Vending machines are convenient and take credit cards.

    Academic Rigor

    Writing papers is so important in college! Always be prepared to get multiple paper assignments throughout the semester, as they are a true test of your knowledge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest while you are in college, even if it is a community college like MCC. It is really a matter of trying, and you get recognized for your achievements!

    In three sentences

    Its a really good school because it is very local and close to home. It has a very small campus feel to it. Also all the teachers that I have had are very nice and ready to help you out!

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Walking around campus you can always spot the campus security, they are everywhere always making sure people are safe whether it's inside or out in the parking lot.

    Great for these types of students

    MCC is great for students who want to go to college and work almost as much. It's great for students who need to save money or need/want to be close to their families.

    Bang for the buck

    Being able to get the same college credits for most schools within Illinois at MCC for less than half the tuition price is amazing. I've saved almost $20,000 just this past year and a half by going to this community colllege and can now transfer to a University with all my credit hours.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities held at MCC. Everyday you see a sign on the wall for a new and upcoming club. It's always a growing community over there and you can easily get involved!

    Food and Dining

    The dining area is being remodeled this school, 2012-2013 and it looks beautiful. There are tons of vending machines around campus which have a lot of variety of snacks and drinks! I think the best part of the vending machines now is you can use your debit card instead of having to carry around cash.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life for McHenry County College because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    McHenry County College definitely has Academic Rigor. The teachers there are always making sure you are developing the right skills or information for each topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like your teachers and use the Sage Learning Center, it's a free tutoring center and helps out a lot.

    In three sentences

    McHenry County College is an awesome college to attend when running into budget issues. The teachers are always wanting to make sure you understand and the classes seem easier because the size of them aren't very big. Going to MCC is a great way to stay close to family and save up for future finances.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, organizations, theater and band performances.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria with a very large selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    There is plenty of freely available help for any and all subjects!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class every day! Attendance = success

    In three sentences

    A small community of educators and students. Wonderful environment with small classes and very involved professors.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at MCC has recently been remodeled and offers many good choices for students. The cafeteria is open 7:30a.m.-7p.m. Monday through Thursday and 7:30a.m. to 1:00p.m. on Fridays with grill service 8:30a.m. to 5p.m. Monday through Thursday and 8:30 a.m. to 1p.m. on Friday.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards and expectations that MCC has for its students seams to be positive. In addition to course quality and difficulty being comparable to 4-year institutions, the learning philosophy seams to be that professors expect as much for their students as they do from themselves. This is a philosophy that can benefit everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Early application was a good idea for me. I was able to apply, gain acceptance, and enroll in a short time-frame. By doing this early I was able to complete placement testing early as well allowing me to register for the courses I wanted to take before they were filled. Go to MCC for some of their community events while you are still in high school, it makes the college feel more comfortable for you when you do go in to transfer. Talk to the admissions and financial aid offices, everyone is very nice and extremely helpful....our success is their success!

    In three sentences

    McHenry County College is a great community college and offers an excellent education opportunity at an affordable price. MCC allows students to gain college credit while living at home and working part time to continue to save for their undergrad. MCC offers a variety of courses that transfer easily to 4-year institutions.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Either you go to the Cafe or the bordering restaurant around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is fantastic because the food is fresh everyday.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming

    Academic Rigor

    The work is very easy if you do it at a constant pace and not let you course work pile up and try and do it all in one night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Treat college as just another form of school and don't act lazy.

    In three sentences

    Mchenry College is a school where you are able to grasp the concepts in class by the above and beyond methods of the teachers and when you do not understand a concept you are able to get help from the MCC tutoring center. MCC is also a place where the councilors will help you make very difficult decisions. If tuition is an issue at MCC the finical aid office will help you figure out a solutions to help you avoid stress of money and help you focus on you school work.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are on campus at all times, and in the parking lots they offer emergency phone boxes. Also, they police will gladly walk you to your vehicle at night if you feel unsafe walking alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to join, with all interesting people in them. I highly recommend getting involved as you will make new friends, and perhaps discover new interests.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a small community college, so of course tuition is cheap, but if you are going for your 2-year associates degree, then McHenry County College is your best choice.

    What to do for fun

    McHenry County College offers a workout room, large library, and brand new lounge/dining area. These are the three hotspots at McHenry County College, and are your best options to hang out with your friends, and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    McHenry County College just finished a complete overhaul of their cafeteria/lounge hall. The cafeteria has plenty of choice from salads, desserts, and pizza. Also, if you want something, just feel free to ask one of the cooks, they are willing to make something just for you.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at McHenry County College, the students who attend here are traveling from their homes to school.

    Academic Rigor

    I hear often from people that going to McHenry County College means you will take easy courses. This is not true, the teachers at McHenry County College are not there to be easy on you, they are there to help prepare you for going onto a 4-year university. There are plenty of interesting courses to take, and I left each any every classes feeling I learned something new.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any high school students, or returning college students, I recommend taking your general education courses here because its accredited the same as it would be at a larger 4-year university. You will save a lot of money, and it gives you time to decide where you want to go afterwards. Lastly, don't go into McHenry County College expecting the worse, no matter what the rumors say, it is NOT high school all over again.

    In three sentences

    I jumped at the great opportunity to attend courses at McHenry County College right out of college because of financial reasons and academic reasons. At McHenry County Colleges, all students from the county have equal opportunity to complete basic general education courses to work towards a wide range associates degrees. I would highly recommend McHenry County College to any prospective student wanting to save money, experience college-level courses, and be able to decide where to transfer to after completing the 2-year degree program.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Campus Security patrolling the parking lots and halls usually.

    Greek Life

    I have applied and heard nothing back and it's been almost a month. I know I meet all of the qualifications so I am not sure what is going on with that.

    Clubs and Activities

    We do not have very many that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are trying to figure out what they want to do and move on to a university, people who are low on cash, and who want to get an associates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't have any.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very inexpensive and you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, not a lot. If you like sports thats about all we have besides religious groups or cultural societies.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and brand new cafeteria, but they are expensive and can be rude.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I went to private catholic school prior to MCC and it was harder than my classes at MCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your teachers out on ratemyprofessor.com before you register. Do NOT take chemistry with Sokol. You will fail. Always double check what advisors say, 70% of the time they are new and know nothing.

    In three sentences

    MCC is an ok starting point. It's nice to have the option to go here and get general classes done while trying to figure out what you want to major in. The teachers are either awful or excellent, ratemyprofessor.com is a must here.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    GenEds then get out.

    What to do for fun

    Art classes are quite impressive and so is the Art Club that takes regular fieldtrips and does several projects throughout the semesters.

    Food and Dining

    While the cafeteria was remodeled the food is still the same just in a fancy new wrapping.

    Dorm Life

    Zero.......

    Academic Rigor

    A hit or miss situation with faculty, the forced purchase of custom made books that are not re-sellable is a negative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not plan to achieve anything more than an associates worth of education, and the price of tuition matches the education worth.

    In three sentences

    McHenry Community College or just MCC, is a rising college with constant expansions and classes added. Perfect for the student wanting to receive an associates before transferring or just to receive one of several certificates. Overall if undecided on where to go MCC is a nice resting place.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Crystal Lake police officers stationed on campus the whole time the school is open. The officers on duty are always more than willing to accompany students to their cars in the parking lots at night if need be, and there are call boxes located in the parking lots as well in case of any emergencies or unnerving situations.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for anyone. The have different facilities to aid all types of students, and the school makes everyone feel like they belong. It doesn't matter how old or young you are, or if you have a disability, you can attend this school.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable for many people, and they also have financial aid available for people who may need it. The financial aid office on campus is great about trying to help out.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know what the food tastes like, but I see many of the students around campus eating it regularly, and it smells fantastic every time I walk through the commons/ cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm, it's a commuter school, but as near as I can figure, it's not too far for people to commute from the surrounding communities. Some of my classes have people coming from Marengo, IL.

    Academic Rigor

    I definitely find some of my classes challenging, but I kind of like that because it'll prepare me for a university beyond MCC. Some of the professors are strict, some are lots of fun to be in the classroom with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about much. The school is very affordable, and a great place for a freshman in college to start. There are many programs available at the school to help you get acquainted with life at the school. Class schedules are flexible, and the academic advisers there are fantastic about getting you the best schedule possible.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a really great school with fantastic programs. The schedules are flexible, and you can plan your schooling around jobs or any other conflicts in your life. It's also a very diverse school, with many different clubs and groups to make everyone feel welcome.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a number of clubs you can join. And, if you don't agree with any of the clubs already set up, you can always start your own with permission from the school board and a teacher backing you!

    Food and Dining

    The school has a brand new cafeteria and serves very good food ranging from simple snacks to whole meals that you can enjoy in the newly renovated eating space.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college so there are no living arrangements set up.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes were very simple for me and the coursework was never that overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're ready for a more high school-like vibe rather than a college one because it really does feel like you're not going to go through the college experience there. Other than that, make sure to stay in constant contact with your advisors so that you stay on the course you set for yourself.

    In three sentences

    The school is great for those not ready for university life. It provides interesting classes and multiple opportunities for mental growth. And it provides many classes to choose from for any major.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are everywhere, and there are a number of telephones to each parking lot for emergencies. Overall a very nice system.

    Greek Life

    Is definitely not a big thing at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I feel like the options for these are never ending but I knocked out a star for quality and organization since a lot of these things are organized by students who have never had experience organizing clubs before. Although, I do find that a lot of these groups run themselves pretty well and they're always having displays in the main cafeteria area or just amongst the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who doesn't want to attend a four year, unsure of what four year they would like to go to or even what they'd like to major in, anyone who is interested in one of the available certificate programs, and of course someone who wants to go to school but needs a cheaper education option.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    E building is known as the area where the Magic card playing people assemble and walking by you never know what you're going to see or hear in that area. Also, Student Life at MCC is amazing and I feel like they're handing out FREE treats at least once a week. It's awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    I do not find the school overpriced at all! They say you can't put a price on education but it's nice if you can actually afford it and MCC is extremely accommodating for that, as well as having many qualified teachers for their prices.

    What to do for fun

    There is an excessive amount of groups on campus, and if there isn't one that suits your taste you have the freedom to create your own. Attending sporting events can also be fun if that is your thing, but since there are no dorm options for this school there really aren't too many options for entertaining yourself. I say meet people and utilize the lounge areas so you can relax with friends and unwind on breaks between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Variety is wide enough to feed people of all tastes and diets, and a good portion of those options are well beyond the expected quality of food at a community college. However, the prices on the more filling and nutritional choices is a bit more pricey, but there is a salad bar that reasonably charges by weight and other cheap food options, they're just not as nutritious.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    This is very dependent on the teacher and not necessarily upon the school. Thankfully is a wide variety of classes with a wide variety of teachers teaching them. Even though ratemyprofessor.com is helpful in finding these, I assure you, there are many over qualified teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use www.ratemyprofessor.com when selecting classes and teachers. Educate yourself on what is required for your degree and the transfer policies for perspective schools if you have any beyond your associates degree. Put an effort to learn from your general education classes and how this influences your personal goals; don't just sit there to get through them.

    In three sentences

    Great affordable opportunity with great access to resources that don't only apply to students, but the community at large. Everyone should seek a basic higher education post high school and MCC well exceeds the job. Basic associates program really helps you figure out your own personal direction for life post education.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    McHenry County College is very safe, they have security roaming the halls, and patrolling the parking lots. I never think twice about my safety when I'm at school!

    Greek Life

    I don't think that there is a greek life at McHenry County College being that it is a commuter college, however they do have an Honors Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be many clubs that students can join along with sports as well. McHenry County College has activities for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    McHenry County College is great for all students, there is something for everybody!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's always free give aways such as candy, water bottles, notebooks, and pens. Great for the student whose always on the go!

    Bang for the buck

    McHenry County College has amazing prices. All colleges should be as affordable as this one!

    What to do for fun

    I haven't done any of the sponsored activities, but student life is always advertising fun things that they sponsor.

    Food and Dining

    They just built a new cafeteria and the food is great! Not to mention that the prices aren't half bad. The cafeteria is perfect for in-between classes, they have lots of seating and tables to do work.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms, McHenry County College is a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    McHenry County College is academically challenging. Just because it is a junior college doesn't mean that you won't receive a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look up who your teachers are and do a little bit of research, not all of the teachers have the same teaching style. Make sure to keep an open mind, you learn so much more that way!

    In three sentences

    McHenry County College is great for students who are just starting out, those who are returning for more, and everyone in between. The class sizes are perfect, all of my teachers know my name and I am not just another face. If I had to do it again I would chose McHenry County College .

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good but expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    It is adiquate

    In three sentences

    It is a good place to get a start on your career.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Just redid the cafeteria but there is no dining plans.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    McHenry County College is a great school to take general education credits at. Most of the credits are designed to transfer easily. The tuition is a lot lower then other community or junior colleges in the area.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very active and makes their presence known.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome class prices.

    What to do for fun

    To be honest not a lot kids usually just show up for class and head home.

    Food and Dining

    Got an awesome new cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    MCC has some very intelligent people that attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take English 1 and 2 in your first year.

    In three sentences

    Mchenry County College is a good college to attend if you are like me and unsure about what you want to do with your life. Its a great way to knock you gen eds out of the way.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a safe campus especially at night. If you are not comfortable walking outside in the dark to your car, a simple call will have an officer walking out with you.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs I took part in were great for the experience. I met a lot of friendly people I can add to my social network and possible professional network.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is wanting to come back to school or those who are not sure what they want to major in. It allows for a lot of sampling at little expense!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a special area in E Building for those who still enjoy role playing games and Magic Cards.

    Bang for the buck

    After transferring to a 4 year university I now realize that going to MCC saved me a ton of money! I am so glad that I am able to come back to take classes that I still need for my major at 1/3 the cost!

    What to do for fun

    There are sports you can participate in as well as over 200 clubs to join. There is something for everyone even if you are a working parent who may not have a lot of spare time! If you cannot find a club that fits you, you can create one very easily!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is excellent after the recent renovations.

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to do all of your homework if you expect an A in the class. The teachers are not there to hold your hand. There are some very challenging classes that will take a lot of time outside of the classroom so be prepared!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to work hard. Most of these teachers expect you to maintain a mature understanding on what is expected of a student who is serious about their education. If you act like a high school-er your grade will reflect that. Classes can be as easy as you make them if you are willing to spend the time doing your homework. Their tutoring center is excellent and can make a difference if you spend the time to stop by. Make sure you see your advisor at least once a semester to make sure you are on the right track. Keep in mind they will not do the work for you, but are there to answer questions and provide guidance.

    In three sentences

    McHenry County College is a great choice for those just graduating high school or those who are returning adult students. They have a wide variety of programs to suit your needs and are very helpful in making sure you succeed if you are willing to help yourself succeed. The teachers are always willing to help if you ask.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is really nothing to be worried about the campus is very safe

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    i think mcc offers a good amount of clubs for the diverse student body

    What to do for fun

    You can join a club or organization.

    Food and Dining

    there is not to big of a variety. food is good but expensive

    Dorm Life

    there is no On campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    Mcc isnt a hard school at all. it shouldn't be a challenge to anyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Join classes early so you get good teachers and good hours.

    In three sentences

    Its a very affordable college with nice teachers. Its a good way to safe a lot of money if your unsure of your Major. They have a variety of classes that are fairly easy.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police and they do walk around campus. They patrol the parking lots from time to time. Crime really isn't heard of on campus, aside from a few car break-ins.

    Greek Life

    They only have Phi Beta Kappa. Otherwise, Greek Life is just a dream.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs, activities, and sports. However the school will tell you that you really should get involved, they almost shove it down your throat. You can do things like service learning or play basketball. There are things ranging from gaming club or LGBT club to dance club or hospitality club to pro-life club or republican club.

    Great for these types of students

    Those not ready to leave the general area near home, students not ready for a college work load, students who need to get their GPA up, students who cannot afford most other schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to most other schools, McHenry County College is cheap, unless you're an out-of district student. The books are expensive and there are some classes that you really wish were free.

    What to do for fun

    Most students just sit around and talk to each other. Sometimes you can attend sporting events or club meetings, but most people don't stay on campus long enough. You can go to the library or simply sit around and watch movies on Netflix from your laptop via the school's, not too wonderful, wireless internet connection.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's food is not as terrible as you would think. Some foods are better than others, but almost everything is made in the kitchen (things like bread are not for the sake of saving time). They make their own cookies and the area smells beautiful on those days. The culinary students have a dining room that they do during the spring semester and the food is pretty great there. Recently, the baking and pastry students have opened up a bakery that operates on the days that the students have class and their food is to kill for. If they are walking around with free samples, take one, you surely won't regret it.

    Dorm Life

    This is a strictly commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are harder than others (as to be expected). A few of the classes are complete jokes. The great thing is that you take the classes that you want to take. Of course, it is recommended that you complete a degree or certification, but no one will stop you if you want to just waste a full semester taking only fun classes. There are plenty of great 1-credit filler classes, ranging from the physical fitness classes (you must use MCC's fitness facility though) to a practicum or even yoga (be cautious, yoga fills up fast).

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an academic advisor!!! They can get you out of classes and testing in ways that you did not even know. They will also be able to tell you every little class and credit that you need. They have more information than some of the students. Also, do not rely on ratemyprofessor.com because it is not always accurate. If you really want to know about a teacher, ask some of their past students. Plan your schedule out early so that you know exactly which classes you want to be in and when. An academic advisor can even do the planning of class times/days for you. Be sure to take MCC-101 seriously enough that you pass, otherwise you have to repeat it until you do.

    In three sentences

    McHenry County College is a great transitional school. You will either make a lot of friends and learn some valuable things or hate everyone and feel like you wasted time and money there. You will, inevitably take classes that you hate or do not need, but they make you well-rounded, but it is okay because we all hate most of those classes

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus cops and patrol are extremely helpful and nice.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students. Students going into a technical field (MCC had some decent certificate programs).

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and programs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty good. Often it is made by the culinary arts program.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    The advising and financial aid offices are a joke. If you need to do something through them you are best off figuring it out on your own first because you will probably have to walk them through how to do their job.

    In three sentences

    Decent programs and classes that are perfect for if you plan to transfer. Being a community college MCC is reasonably priced.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are social events where students are able to attend and meet other students, they mostly pertain to clubs and organizations.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments given are at the appropriate level for the certain class. They relate and award knowledgeable applications for the topic and are given at a suitable pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    Upon enrolling at MCC, joining as many clubs as you like is essential for building friendships and exploring the definition of who you are. Speak with an advisor before registering for classes in order to manage your classes in the future and prepare yourself as a priority.

    In three sentences

    McHenry County College provides fundamental services from the teachers and staff who are very helpful, friendly, and delivers a positive environment for students. The navigation regarding the student accounts online is beneficial for contacting teachers as well as information on assignments and other school-related material. Additionally, MCC offers a variety of clubs and organizations to join that fits any student and their training programs are excellent for entering the real world.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers constantly walking and driving around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Disappointed with clubs and activities considering they did not have a cross country team.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to breeze by and stay close to home.

    Bang for the buck

    I have met some extremely great people here, especially my math instructor Mrs. Korla who always encourages her students to try their hardest. She also has a great accent because she came here from India!

    What to do for fun

    There is a student life program that gives you different activities to participate in or just a place to hangout.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is large with a huge selection of food starting with a salad bar leading to a grill and even to pizza.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at Mchenry County College.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are easy as long as you study and do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your instructors and use the resources available to you whether it is the library or a tutoring center like the SAGE.

    In three sentences

    Mchenry has great instructors that genuinely care about their students. Students can be successful if they wish to use their resources like the sage center. Mchenry is a good starting place if you wish to continue your education for a low cost.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and play sports

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not know where you are going to major start off at MCC.

    In three sentences

    It is a great way to start ones college career. If one is looking to save money McHenry County College is the place. MCC also helps one decide career goals.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, participate in student activities that are held throughout the week. Make new friends, and enjoy the college life.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, a little pricey for certain items.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms for McHenry County College.

    Academic Rigor

    There are sources available everywhere when help is needed. You don't have to go to your exact teacher if you need help in a specific class. The SAGE learning center is very helpful and gets everyone back on track where they need to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have at least 3 hours of homework per class taken. Don't underestimate yourself. And prove to people you can do what you want if they doubt you.

    In three sentences

    The advisers are extremely helpful with mapping out a years worth of classes. The teachers are always available for questions (either by email, the SAGE center, through Canvas, or office hours). Lastly, the environment of the school itself is always positive.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with security and police officers around at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students who want/need to save a little money on their education.

    Bang for the buck

    A very good school for a great price.

    What to do for fun

    McHenry County College has a bunch of different clubs/activities/sports for all students as well as different types of fairs and fun giveaways.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food in the dining hall as well as vending machines throughout the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I mean it is college so you have to put in the effort and study and do the work assigned to you which can be overwhelming at times but as long as you try it shouldn't be overly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think my tip would be just to keep an open mind. I know a lot of people who here community college and are embarrassed or think that it is not as good quality school as others but that is not true, MCC gave me a great education and allowed me to save money.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I would say that my experience at MCC was enjoyable and I am glad I chose to attend here. The majority of the instructors are very helpful and good at their jobs. It is a great place to get a good college education for a fraction of the price.