Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

McKendree University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go into education, music, or business would fit in very well here. Also, students that are involved in sports or band (especially marching band) will probably get a scholarship. If you are willing to put some effort into your education and are not afraid to really work to earn your grades, this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and sororities/fraternities; just get involved! Involvement leads to networking, which could lead to everything from job opportunities and internships to scholarships to new friends. Also, try to live on campus if you can. I've made more friends and gotten more involved in my campus community living on campus than I did the whole year I commuted.

    Bang for the buck

    McKendree is a bit of a pricey school, I'll admit. BUT, it offers SO MANY SCHOLARSHIPS! And, the school offers quite a few free programs that would not be if not for the tuition, and ARE not free at other schools in this area. McKendree has been voted one of the best value colleges in the country this year (like it has for the past few years now).

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is JUMPING! In Fall 2011, two brand new dorm buildings will open. New student groups are always being created and are coming up with new activities for commuter and resident students alike. I have made more friends here than I did even at my high school! McKendree is home to me, now.

    Am learning a lot

    Small class sizes allow students to really get to know their professors, and vice versa. One-on-one time with all of your professors is available daily, and the Writing Center and tutoring services on campus are fabulous free resources for students of all ability levels.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a small school experience.

  • 05/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    McKendree encourages dedication to studies, but the school is a great place for any individual, with many activities such as movie nights and live entertainment.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get 30 or above on the ACT, you will have better chances at getting a larger scholarship. Make sure you contact the school about it the fall or early spring before your planned first year so you don't miss the scholarship events.

    Bang for the buck

    A fairly expensive college for the area, but they do offer large scholarships for students with good grades. Also, it is consistently ranked in the top ten colleges in America. They say that a McKendree degree is worth more than other schools due to the quality of education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very nice, and has a lot of new buildings as well as historic ones. Overall, the atmosphere is great. The Hett center for the arts showcases excellent talent from around North America, and there are two brand new dorms.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty are friendly and are dedicated to your success. One of my professors is even offering free help sessions over the summer.

  • 05/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -who need one on one attention -who wants their ideas heard and taken care of

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy yourself and take advantage of every opportunity.

    Am enjoying being here

    I was worried about fitting in because im from a big city but quickly made friends within my first month of being there. I am now a senior and have become so involved and have a plethora of friends that will be hard to let go when I graduate.

    Am learning a lot

    You will use your brain at the school. But dont worry if you get stuck every teacher is there to help you. Some teachers even give ther home number so you dont have to worry about missing them during office hours

  • 05/29/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    kinda expensive

    Will enjoy being here

    small campus

    Will learn a lot

    love small class sizes

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    nursing students

    Tips for prospective students

    i highly recommend continuing your eduction at mckendree.

    In three sentences

    i have enjoyed my experience at mckendree. the instructors are wonderful and truly care about the students.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most of the officers are very kind and helpful, but McKendree does not have a police force like many other universities.

    Greek Life

    I am not part of Greek Life, but many students enjoy it.

    Clubs and Activities

    McKendree has quite a variety of activities and holds two involvement fairs so organizations can present themselves to students.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like the small town feel with quick access to the city would like it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The President hands out ice cream on occasion.

    Bang for the buck

    McKendree can be quite expensive, but when one takes advantage of the activities here it can be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    McKendree offers a broad range of activities, from debate to sports to music to a newspaper. Almost anyone could find an activity to enjoy here.

    Food and Dining

    McKendree has two dining areas. The selection is good, but more vegetarian and vegan options should probably be provided.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can sometimes be challenging, but the professors are always there to help. Most of them have an open door policy. Some classes are only offered once every three years, so be sure to get those in ASAP.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take advantage of the extra activities McKendree offers. Being involved will help you to feel like you are really a part of the campus, and you will be provided with opportunities you would not even think of through your involvement.

    In three sentences

    McKendree has a great campus, but the science building could use some improvement. The professors are wonderful and create personal relationships with their students. There are many opportunities here.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and groups that you can get involved with, as well as weekly brown bag meetings that you can learn new things. It is also located in a cute little historic town with great shops that are fun to explore.

    Food and Dining

    There are great choices and it's all at a reasonable price as well.

    Dorm Life

    I am an off-campus student and don't know much about dorm life here, but there are new dorms that were just built last year that I have heard great things about.

    Academic Rigor

    You do have to work hard to acheive your goals, but if you are truely interested in you field of study you will enjoy your course work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be Sure to visit the campus so you can get a feel for what it is like. If it is the Uni for you, you will know.

    In three sentences

    This is a small campus that makes me feel right at home. Everyone is very helpful and polite. It feels like you are a part of a family.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    McKendree is great for students that want to get away from the daily hustle of life. McKendree has a very laid back and friendly atmosphere. The students are mainly athletes so athletes are welcomed.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends is something most people do. You can also participate in sports or go workout on your own or bring your friends along. There are also malls near by where you can hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the best!!! The food is always fresh and on point. The cafeteria is clean and neat and can handle the lunch rush.

    Dorm Life

    McKendree built new dorms. The dorms are amazing and i get to live in the new dorms. Eveyone inside the dorms are amazing too.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not easy. I strive to go for the hardest subjects and I try to be the best. I love every minute of my school year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you are absolutely ready to be on your own. Make sure you have everything you need when you first arrive. Lastly, make lots of friends because school will be a lot easier of you do.

    In three sentences

    McKendree University is an amazing school with a family atmosphere on campus. All the professors and the coaches are there to help us succeed in life and they make sure we know they are there to help. On a scale of 1-10 I rate McKendree University a 10.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They pretty much patrol all through the night. They go from dorm to dorm and do a quick walk through of the bottom floor to make sure every thing is okay. If you have any trouble with a car not starting they also would give a jump. Very friendly for the most part.

    Greek Life

    APO CLIO TriZigma

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of different clubs, t name a few such as: The Speech Team, Debate, Black Student Organization(BSO), Black Men of McKendree(B-McK), Dance assemble, Community Service, Campus ministries, Gospel Choir, A.L.P.H.A mentoring group and more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school does a family event before the foot ball games. They would have bouncing houses out and food. They also like to support homeless week every year by picking a day to build a house out of cardboard and sleep out side (optional).

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little on the expensive side, but it is worth it and ot looks really good on your resume after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of things to do for fun. The school has a Campus Activity Board also known as CAB and they pretty much come up with all kinds of activities such as: bingo, trivia, game day, free food give away, concerts, comedian shows, and much more. If you like sports you could also go to the games and support. Along with CAB there are other groups that students can join such as mentoring groups and sororities and fraternities

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has its good days and its bad. After a while eating the same food becomes old. They do however have a nice taste to their food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what you make it. Do not be afraid to go out and meet new people and gain new friends. It is better to go through college with a support system than be alone and unsure of things.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards that the school sets is how because they expect and would love for every student to do the best that they can do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come in with your head on straight and be able to learn how to manage time and other priorities. Seek help if you need it and do not be afraid to ask. Last, just try to get the best experience out of college as you can in a responsible manner.

    In three sentences

    Mckendree is small which means better student-teacher relationships. Its is a great school to do net working at. The value of the teachers are great.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who can appreciate a high class education and are full of school spirit!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, McKendree is the oldest college in Illinois, and our campus is home to a TON of rich history and historic buildings. One building in particular, Eisenmeyer, started out its life as a stable in the early 1800's. It was converted to a gymnasium in the early 1900's, and later became a fine arts building, which it still is today. The gym has been converted to a black box theater and a dance studio. Also, our campus chapel, Bothwell, has been around since the college was founded. Bothwell Chapel is home to THE oldest bell in North America. It was first cast in the 8th century, and then later recast in the 14th century. Someone bought it at an auction many decades ago and donated it to the campus. Now, it rings every hour and half hour.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay a lot , but you get it all back in free resources (nurse, career advising, tutoring, writing center) and in the value of your degree.

    What to do for fun

    McKendree always has something going on. In the Hettenhausen Center for the Arts (the Hett), there are performances and movies all the time, most of which are free or dirt cheap for students. Sporting events go on all year round, also cheap for students. Also, Campus Activities Board has concerts, comedians, game nights, movie nights, and other fun activities weekly (not to mention all of the other student organizations who plan activities--all free!). If you're not into campus life, we are about 30 minutes from downtown St. Louis, one of the few big cities left in the country with free attractions everywhere! The St. Louis Zoo, art museum, history museum, and some seats at the Muny (outdoor theater) are all free. Also, go up in the Arch for a small fee. St. Louis is a great city for broke college kids.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for any and all scholarships you can! Also, take a tour of campus before you jump on the boat; it's a beautiful campus, but you can't be sure if it's the right fit for you until you come and test the waters yourself.

    In three sentences

    McKendree offers a huge state university education in a small town, close knit package. Tuition isn't fantastic, but there are a ton of scholarship opportunities, and all of McK's scholarships stack, so you can build upon what you've earned. Come and be a Bearcat!

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At McKendree University, every sport field available including a sand volleyball court. It also has a pool and workout center and a pool table to help students relax.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten in the cafeteria before but I have eaten at the smaller cafe. The food is fairly priced and you get your money worth, taste good too.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but from what I hear dorm life is pretty great here. Some of the dorms are a bit older; however there are newer facilities available.

    Academic Rigor

    The homework follows along with what I'm studying in class. As long as your committed to school and don't put entertainment above your education, you can take on full-time credits without worry of not having enough time to get homework done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to visit the campus and fill out the necessary paperwork to see where your at tuition wise. Have someone show you around so you can easily find your classrooms and other areas of interest. Also, McKendree University offers a SAFB program that may fit your schedule better especially if your a working student who needs night classes.

    In three sentences

    The staff at McKendree University are very helpful. The many amenities offer a wide variety of activities to get involved in. Students are also very helpful and have a great attitude about education.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I give Campus safety a 10 out ot 10. There is mobile security on the campus and everyone tends to look out for their fellow friends, students and classmates.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek life on campus, but I am not interested in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Presently, I have not joined any clubs, but I have recently started taking a Zumba class.

    Great for these types of students

    McKendree University is great for students who fear being left out of the crowd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an Indian burial mound on campus. It's great to hear the stories about it.

    Bang for the buck

    McKendree University is a little bit more expensive than some colleges, but with all that it offers, it's worthwhile.

    What to do for fun

    Every week there is something on schedule. There's either religious services, athletic games, dorm activities, movies, shopping, and exercises. There's everything a college kid needs.

    Food and Dining

    I eat most of my meals in the dining hall at school. They have a fully staffed dining area, and there is always something for everyone, no matter what your diet is.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has just been amazing. One thing they told my mom during registration was to let me make my decisions. If I should need help with anything while I'm in the dorm, I must first try to figure it out on my own, ask my RA, and even ask some college friends. This has worked out so far, and I have adjusted well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is not tough at all. As long as you keep your mind on your studies and stay focused on obtaining that degree, it's one challenge you will overcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for that one on one relationship when you need help from a instructor, you may want to consider McKendree University. Everyone there has been very cordial and helpful from the time I registered. I don't think any student who is ready to continue their studies would not enjoy attending McKendree University.

    In three sentences

    McKendree University has a great atmosphere about it. There's a feeling of family there. It's a smaller college, so I don't feel like a number.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those students wanting small class sizes and having their professors know them by name.

    Bang for the buck

    expensive, but they have generous merit scholarships for good gpa and/or act scores.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do not attend classes on campus. I participate in an external program.

    Greek Life

    I do not participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I do not attend classes on campus, I do not participate in clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have a thirst for knowledge. The external programs are great for those who work full time and still want to obtain a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    The knowledge you receive is well worth the tuition. Even though the tuition rates are higher than a college closer to me, the academic program is much more fulfilling.

    What to do for fun

    I work full time and go to school full time. I do not participate in campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study and set aside the time to complete the work required for each class. This is definitely an institution that focuses on academics.

    In three sentences

    McKendree is a great institution that offers programs for those students that work full time. The programs are flexible without sacrificing the academic quality of classes. I have recommended this school to many working adults wanting to go back to school to complete a degree.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is slow to respond to non-emergency calls, but they do keep the campus safe in my opinion. I feel safe walking outside at night as long as I don't make stupid decisions, like walking in dark places without others or straying from my destination.

    Greek Life

    Lots of choices in greek life communities, especially for honors in your field.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of choices for everyone. Almost too many greek life communities to choose from. All sorts of clubs for every kind of major.

    Great for these types of students

    Music Majors (Education, Performance, Church) Psychology Majors Sociology Majors (Social Work or Criminal Justice emphasis) Communication Majors

    Bang for the buck

    Academically, McKendree is an amazing and well rounded education and I love it for that. On the downside, everything here does cost a lot of money, especially the bookstore and our food centers. Free entertainment at the Hett for students. The Suites on campus are the best bang for the buck housing wise (most space for least amount of money; little issues that come with older housing).

    What to do for fun

    Usually, you should check out our Center for Activities Board for extra activities for fun or the Hettenhauser Center for the Arts.

    Food and Dining

    Average variety this year. Good choices with the amount in the Ames Dining Hall and 1828 cafe, but the chefs don't very often stray from the normal pick of the night. You do get a good amount of food for your money, though, even with the 10 meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Average dorm life. Not everything is new, and a lot of the places have problems with electricity, plumbing, cable, etc. Internet here is less than average, especially from the dorms. Net goes down quite a bit.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent challenge for those who want one on one academic critical thinking with professors. 10 point grading system. Only downside is some professors do not stick to school-wide 10 point system. Very challenging for the mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know the general education requirements and try to finish these credits before coming here or do them during the summer breaks.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have no knowledge about campus life; I've never even been on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have no knowledge about campus life; I've never even been on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have no knowledge about campus life; I've never even been on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging but flexible enough to allow working adults to complete them when they have time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are self-motivated and have enough computer skills to navigate online assignments.

    In three sentences

    I chose this school because it had reasonable rates per credit hour for graduate school. I'm in the MAED program and also liked the rapid pace. The program is offered in 8 week modules; 2 classes are taken per module.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I havent heard much.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard good things.

    Tips for prospective students

    I've never attended but am looking into it.

    In three sentences

    I am concerned about tuition. I dont know if McKendree has a limit on income. I dont know if my household makes too much or too little.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I haven't been involved yet however plan to my sophmore year.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting a personal experience, like home.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty good. McKendree is a little expensive but the school works really hard at offering financial aid

    What to do for fun

    Attend activities; hang out with friends; participation is the key

    Food and Dining

    Good Food; wish there was more of a selection

    Dorm Life

    New Dorms - are awesome!!!

    Academic Rigor

    McKendree offers many great classes; Professors have high expectations, however are more than willing to assist. McKendree has many great resources to assist. Just have to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Determine the size of the school you'd like to attend by visiting at least one small, medium and large. Selecting a university that fits makes all the difference in how you feel about the school.

    In three sentences

    McKendree is an excellent University. The professors truly care and are available at all times to assist. McKendree provides many great opportunities.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You'll always see a Public Safety car driving by or parked in the open during high-volume class times (from around 10 am to 5 pm). Once it gets dark, they physically make sure all of the dorms are secure and then patrol campus and parking lots in their cars. I haven't felt unsafe on campus, which means they're doing their jobs. Also, the police station is relatively close by, and if there is any kind of external event (robberies, etc.), the campus safety directors don't hesitate to inform everyone. It's a pretty safe school.

    What to do for fun

    Most people go out - the school is pretty close to St. Louis, where college students can get in to clubs on specific nights. But there are things to do on campus that can be pretty fun - bingo, movie nights, and comedy shows, among other things.

    Food and Dining

    Ames dining can seem pretty repetitive, boring, and not always as flavorful as you may be used to - especially the first year when you're used to eating at home. The food at 1828 café is DELICIOUS!! Hey accept cash, credit, or Flex Dollars, which are included in the meal plan. 1828 is usually pretty crowded, and would probably be more crowded if it were bigger.

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes it seems that roommates aren't necessarily matched up well. The RA's are really helpful, though, if someone should feel the need to move. The dorms are pretty safe, and if you put in the effort, it's pretty easy to make friends with people on your floor or in your building.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can pose a challenge, but most classes, especially first years, are pretty easy. The teachers make things fun, so even if the work seems overwhelming, there's always a little bit of a bright side. As long as you do the work, the results are generally positive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't assume that just because this is a private school that attending is absolutely impossible because of tuition, room and board, etc. McKendree gives out a lot of scholarships and hosts events for invited students to obtain more. Always apply for scholarships, because you never know. Also, the older students, teachers, and faculty members are extremely helpful, so don't be afraid to ask if you need help or anything. Getting involved is easy, but with so many options, it can be overwhelming. But, everyone is willing to help.

    In three sentences

    McKendree is a small school where the teachers know your name and friends are quickly made. It's one of the best schools in the area. Coming to McKendree has been described as coming to a very family-like environment.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    McKendree is a wonderful college. I would recommended to anyone that is an older adult wanting to go back to college. Great learning opportunity.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is okay on some days but it is not always something to look forward to.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life gets you a chance to meet everyone from on your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are really good at Mckendree

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a visit here before you plan to go here. Make sure you enjoy the night life to understand before you come.

    In three sentences

    Mckendree is a good school for small town students. If you come from big cities you will most likely not like it here. Academics is what comes first though.

  • 05/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Research. Ask questions. Be open minded. Be proactive. Change and grow.

    In three sentences

    Great education. Great professors. Great opportunity.