Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

McLennan Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This school is perfect for the students who are nervous for college, or who also need a flexible schedule because they will work with you anyway they can. Just work hard and you will definitely be able to get great grades and transfer to a great four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is awesome because I am learning just as much as I would from a four year university yet for a cheaper price and I am getting more one on one help.

    Am enjoying being here

    I moved from a small town and came here by myself and found myself making many new friends and love the atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are very nice and helpful. Whenever you have a problem or a question they are very eager to help you out.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MCC is great for all types of students! From freshman trying to get started, to seniors finishing up their degree through the University Center, MCC is fit for all. I have met a lot of people at MCC that are there for different reasons and for all different degrees but everybody seems to really like that they chose to attend MCC. If you attend, I don't think you'll regret it, I definitely don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students: 1) Get to know your teachers- teachers are more likely to help you out if they know you and know that you are concerned and are willing to put in the effort. 2) Take morning classes- I know it's early, but it is better to get it over with so that you have the rest of the day. For me, if I take later classes I am more likely to skip my classes if I have been up and have already started doing something else. 3) Apply early/ send in financial aid early- Always try not to procrastinate, especially when it comes to trying to get financial aid. 4) May not be really be a tip, but I always look up ratings on professors before I pick classes. ratemyprofessor.com allows you to see ratings of professors, but keep in mind anyone can post on there so if you usually do well in school then the ratings saying that some of the teachers are really hard may be due to the students lack of effort and not the teachers difficulty.

    Bang for the buck

    I will be transferring from MCC with an A.A degree, and I really enjoyed attending. I attended because I had to pay for my school, my parents were not able to offer me any help, and MCC is a great way to get a good education or get started on your education without having to take out numerous student loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending MCC, I know people that attend universities and they have a hard time getting the schedule that they want. At MCC I have been able to pick my classes to my liking so that I can take my classes back to back and then work the rest of the day. The campus is laid out fairly well and there is a campus shuttle that you can catch to you next class if you need. I love being close to home and being able to have small classes so that I can get to know my teachers.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are always willing to help you with anything and everything you need, I have always been able to meet my teachers during office hours or make outside appointments if I didn't understand. In fact, I have a teacher this semester that said she would meet us for lunch if we needed her to. The teachers are there, it is all about how much you are willing to put in. The classes are moderately challenging, some more than others.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is an average size. not too small, but not very big. it has at least three campus patrol cars that i always see roaming the area 24/7. they do a great job at keeping the campus safe and the people of mclennan safe as well.

    Bang for the buck

    i believe you get the bang for your buck at mclennan community college because first off, it doesn't cost much to go to school here and the professors here are amazing. they truly love what they are doing and want you to succeed in their classes. its overall a great school

    What to do for fun

    at mclennan community college, they have a great athletic program. the games are a blast to go to and cheer your school on. there is also cameron park about five minutes from the school. it's a great place to walk around with your dog, friends, or just by yourself. there's a great picnic area, studying, playgrounds, everything you can think of is at cameron park. it's a very beautiful part. then a little bit farther into waco is downtown. downtown is a pretty happening place at night. there are a lot of great things that waco has to offer

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining at mclennan community college is good. they serve breakfast, basically anything you want. lunch is always salad bar, sandwiches, pizza, wraps, chicken, fries, burgers, and then a new special entree each day of the week. it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    mclennan community college does not have on-campus dorms. for athletes, they have duplexes that we stay in. some are paid for, some are not. there are quite a few nice apartment complexes around the area which would suffice.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor at mclennan community college is pretty good. i believe the professors do a good job at giving us problems that make us think but then be sure to go over until we understand exactly what it is we are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    some of my tips for prospective students would be to get an advisor, keep in good touch with your professors, and just don't slack. i would say an advisor would be very helpful because they can help you plan financially as well as academically at mclennan community college. keep in good touch with your professors because if you stay on their good side and do your work, you will have a great time here. which brings me to the not slacking comment. do your work on time. do it ahead of time if possible. the sooner, the better when it comes to college!

    In three sentences

    mclennan community college has a great athletic as well as academic program. the teachers and coaches have taught me great responsibility and given me knowledge that i will carry with me for the rest of my life. mclennan is also a great transition school for those who may not be comfortable with change.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very affordable here and in most cases, the credits will transfer to universities to continue with your education

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of fast food around as well as restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your classmates, it will be easier to ask for help from them and better off to study with. Also do not be scared to approach your teachers on any questions. Most are glad to help and their main focus is to help you pass their class.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse community college which is great to interact with all types of people. Professors are friendly and are willing to help you with any problem arising. Small classes which is a better environment to learn.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    McLennan Community College is good for students off all kinds especially if you have to work while attending school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take the time to look at all that MCC offers.

    Bang for the buck

    McLennan Community College is very affordable and it also offers a program so you can attend a four year university at MCC.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy going to MCC.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I am learning very much the teachers are very knowledgeable.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    mcc is a very safe college. there are campus police and shuttle services out and about every time i am on campus. the only statistic i could find when researching this college was one that said there was some theft from a car.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a wide variety of clubs and organizations on campus. i've noticed that this college has a large number of music/drama artsy things going on.

    Great for these types of students

    great for any type of student. there is a great diversity of students here. many different ages as well as ethnicity. no dorm, so must live close. i am fifty two and feel quite at home here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some of my favorite spots is what i call the window walls. several of the buildings have areas with comfy chairs, tables, computers etc located in alcoves or corners with either huge windows or a wall of glass so that one has a wide view of the beautiful campus and surrounding area. one of these is on the second floor of the learning technology center, off of the library. it even has rocking chairs placed on the edge of a curved window that people of all ages enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    good place to start, inexpensive as colleges go and transition to many four year colleges here on campus so one doesn't have to pay all the expenses of a four year but still get a diploma from one.

    What to do for fun

    as i am an older adult student, i don't participate in the same things the majority of students do. the college has a river stage which is an outdoor area on campus close to the river. all the local communities use this venue for local talent during nice weather of course.

    Food and Dining

    the campus offers the usual college dining with a fantastic salad bar at the main eatery. for those interested in something more there is a large selection of eating establishments within three miles.

    Dorm Life

    mclennan community college offers no dorm so i can't comment on that.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would encourage prospective students to visit the campus, talk to some of the students. check out the bulletin boards on campus and the face book page to get a feel for the college and see if it is a fit for you.

    In three sentences

    mcc is an excellent college on a beautiful campus. mcc has some fantastic professors, i'm actually learning that i can do math! the college has a hometown feel but offers much of what a larger college does.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    McLennan Community College is a great school. It is small and the teachers are very helpful. I enjoy this school very much!

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are always patrolling the area, and i've never noticed any crime while i've been enrolled. it has just been ranked 5th safest community college in the u.s.!

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty student body organizations who are always looking for new members if you are willing to go to the student organizations office and check.

    Great for these types of students

    hard workers. slackers go away.

    Bang for the buck

    fantastic teachers, especially for such an affordable college. and all the campus resources are fairly pried as well. you are better off buying textboks online somewhere else, but once you are enrolled and have textbooks, you should eat, print, and all that other college-life stuff there on campus.

    What to do for fun

    plenty of student organizations and goings-on. something happening at least every-other week.

    Food and Dining

    a great wide variety of foods in the dining area of the ltc, and a bookstore with all sorts of snacks. plenty of fast-food places near by as well.

    Dorm Life

    it's a community college with no dorms, but there are plenty of ads for apartments and room-mates wanted near by.

    Academic Rigor

    i annot stress it enough, the harder teachers are not that hard, but you just have to be willing to do the work i was taught to give my best for everything i try to do, and so working hard is seond nature to me and i have gotten all as every semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    ratemyprofessor.com is great for finding the best teachers here. go for the teachers that most students dislike, because if you work hard these are the teachers who will be willing to help you the most in-class, and be willing to write job or scholarship referrals for you.

    In three sentences

    just be willing to work hard, and every teacher will be willing to help you succeed. if you are looking for blow-off classes, then you are going to dislike some of the best teachers. they give you your money's worth, and is the best community college you could hope to enroll in.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe place. I have left my belongings laying around all the time and they have not ever been stolen. People are very friendly and do not have bad intentions.

    What to do for fun

    MCC offers a variety of sports, clubs and even classes that make your experience a lot more enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. I've ate in the cafeteria plenty of times and I enjoy it every time. I have no complaints about the food.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The grade you get in a course will depend on how hard you decide to work for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending McLennan Community College, plan on working for what you want because you must work hard to achieve success.

    In three sentences

    McLennan Community College has been the best decision I have made so far. Its entire staff is very caring and they help us students in any way possible in order to be successful. I have learned a lot through the many courses I already taken and I plan to continue my education there for the next years to come.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MCC is a really safe campus. The campus police are always patrolling and are very helpful

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at MCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are awesome contests and clubs to become a part of through MCC's LEAP program

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a family atmosphere on campus and in classrooms

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's really fun ride the elevators on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    A really good education with a very cheap tuition.

    What to do for fun

    You can watch Highlander sports, watch various plays the theater program develops, and go to live ensamble performances MCC's music program performs.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a great food selection in the school's cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload isn't bad at all. The professors are very aware of students' time, and are also very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register for classes as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    MCC is an excellent and affordable community college. They have great staff, whom love to teach as well as get to know you as a person. I recommend this school to everyone.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable!

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a gym and tennis courts and even a indoor swimming pool for students to attend.

    In three sentences

    Its a very good and affordable Community College. It has a very friendly environment for students. Its a perfect college to start from.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is usually pretty quiet - once in a while you may see a police officer checking in on things, but it is a very calm, laid-back campus - no fighting or bullying of any kind.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for many students of different ages and backgrounds, whether you are old or young.

    What to do for fun

    Study groups can be formed with classmates and the college sponsors different play productions and other events to entertain students.

    Food and Dining

    There are snack bars and cafes is several different buildings, so long as you have the money to pay for it.

    Dorm Life

    My home is thirty minutes away from the college, so I stay at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are not too difficult as many students here are of different ages and backgrounds, so the subjects may not be as rigorous as some other classes, depending on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take notes in each of your classes. Be sure to ask whatever questions you have regarding any subject at hand. Do your work and turn it in on time, and just do the very best you can do.

    In three sentences

    McLennan Community College has many diverse students. Our professors are down-to-earth, fun, and very knowledgeable on what they teach. Great care is made to make our learning experience an enjoyable and enriching as possible.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police monitor campus very close. Will make you feel very safe on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Vey fun and exciting

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, greqt school.

    What to do for fun

    Join groups, teams, and attend the activites around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Smaller cafes around campus are much better than the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really do know the subject they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Got to check out the library. Very friendly staff and teachers of all degrees.

    In three sentences

    I am in the Social Work program and I love it! The professors are very helpful and will go that extra mile to help you. Very student friendly campus. Great library.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I work full time as well as go to school full time so I do not participate in any of the extracurriculars unfortunately.

    Food and Dining

    Some things are a little pricing but it is good food.

    Dorm Life

    It is a junior college, we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my only college experience but I believe it is more above par than other junior colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help, they will help you.

    In three sentences

    I have had many different experiences here at MCC for the last 3 years I have been attending. I have taken day class, night classes and even online classes. All of my teachers have been great help in all of these different types of environments.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security around to watch your cars or students to make sure nothing bad happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs here are opening and accepting of everyone here.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here is very reasonable and affordable to students.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out by the college fountain with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has excellent food. They make various meals that are fresh and delicious every day and I love having lunch there every day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side of this school is amazing because all the teachers want students to suceed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would go online to ratemyproffesors.com. before you take any class because this helps you be able to find a teacher with your learning techniques.

    In three sentences

    This is the best school to go to after high school. I believe I made the right choice for my transition from high school to college. Mclennan community college is an amazing college to attend.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is situated in an area between a stretch of country and the edge of a less than ideal neighborhood. The apartment housing that surrounds the campus might be fine for a male but I would caution females living alone.

    Greek Life

    Not offered

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional Newly graduated from high school Any others

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None known.

    Bang for the buck

    I am very grateful to be attending at MCC. I think their professors are definitely competent. This school is ideal for me as a mother in need of night classes and flexible scheduling.

    What to do for fun

    They have community free events and visiting music bands on campus. They also have a donation driven art museum that is very nice.

    Food and Dining

    MCC sorely lacks dining options on campus and even surrounding the campus. A coffee shop would do great as well as a cheap but good eatery!!

    Dorm Life

    Not aware of any on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only heard of the highest standards for teachers and students at MCC. I am really impressed with their choice of professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should send multiple emails to different people if you are trying to contact the different departments during the summer. It was difficult to complete my registration because of not having answers to my questions. I would suggest follow up with any communications or ideally a trip to campus would be best for getting assistance.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a great college for nontraditional students returning to complete their graduate. It is also a great school to take dance lessons, music classes and other fun 6-10 week courses. It is also great for people that need science prerequisites in order to apply to medical school. Their science professors are great.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several things to do for fun such as band, athletics, and student organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rate your professors before you take them and don't be late.

    In three sentences

    This is a pretty good school and I enjoy the professors a lot.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a pool, weight room, or gym. Other than that go out with your friends there are tons of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food seems great. All normal fast and cheap!

    Dorm Life

    I've never been in their dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up online, it's quick and easy. Then go tour the campus and find your classrooms.

    In three sentences

    Easy to find and apply. The teachers seem friendly and the classrooms are easy to find!

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is affordable and not expensive at all. If you are trying to go to this school with not a lot of money this is the school for you. Very nice and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Their is tennis courts. Also soccer fields and baseball that you can play in. You may work out at the school gym.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is awesome. The food is very good not like jail or prison food. Very good and delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have dorms. It is a community college apartments are close by.

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher are nice depending on who you get and how much you really want to learn. Very affordable and cheap. This is an awesome college.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an awesome college for good short careers. Has a lot of different majors to choose from. Also very affordable.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a great family college. It's a nice friendly environment. Very comfortable and peaceful.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports

    Food and Dining

    Looks new

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early

    In three sentences

    Nice enviorment to walk around has good administration help. Lastly they have a nice cafeteria.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Five-star service. We have safety devices located all over campus for immediate assistance. You can request a personal escort by campus police if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Greek like-unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs to satisfy various interest.

    Great for these types of students

    The college has campus police year round on campus. We have a horse stable for the Veterinarian students off campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have and open air theatre by the Brazo river on campus. We have Cosmetology, Massage and facial treatments available by appointment.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus continues to expand, has well manicured landscapes, just opened a new community clinic and last year a wonderful new science building. There are representatives for six graduate universities located on campus. You can stay on campus and complete your degree from a graduate university.

    What to do for fun

    Many free concerts on campus, gym, tennis court, student lounge and you can rent bikes to commute to and from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Local facilities are within walking distance for good food. Small supply of drinks and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Students live off campus but access to various apartments within walking distance to college.

    Academic Rigor

    Make a schedule that allows enough time for study, classes and personal obligations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a student advisor, to assist you in making the right choices for classes.

    In three sentences

    Excellent degrees to prepare you for the future. Many resources to assist students to succeed. Wonderful staff from admission to Instructors located on a beautiful campus.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities around the campus. There are sports, clubs, and many outdoor activities in and around the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students must be comfortable with computers and must be responsible for their own work and goals.

    In three sentences

    McLennan community college is a great school. It provides me with the education I need to succeed. It a great school to start off at.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I take evening courses and there is not one single time I have left without seeing security driving around. I feel safe at MCC.

    Great for these types of students

    For the younger students, they offer outdoor concerts down by the river.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Again, my age plays a part in any on campus activities or traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is reasonable, but being a single person, financially, I could not return without help.

    What to do for fun

    I am 50 years, old, the fun for me now is studying.

    Food and Dining

    I take evening courses, so I cannot comment on the food and dinning. However, when I went to get my automobile sticker, they had a very nice area for dining and food being prepared. They have the bookstore which is open until 6 that carries a wide variety of snacks, and not just the junk food kind of snacks, but some healthy snacks.

    Academic Rigor

    McLennan Community College challenges its students to preform well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up on yourself. I am 50 years old, single, no children and am just now pursuing my education. I wish I had done when my parents would have paid for it. Take advantage what you are offered and don't just throw it away.

    In three sentences

    The instructors want you to learn. They are knowledgeable in their respective fields. They treat all students equally, no matter how they preform in class.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has a small police force at the school and there is usually a security officer monitoring the parking garages and parking lots. The school is very safe and relaxing.

    What to do for fun

    The school usually has things going on around the school you just have to be aware of whats going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is OK but there are local restaurants not to far from the school to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    The school offers no dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    While being a low in price the curriculum the teachers provide are that of a University. While being tough and difficult at time the teachers are willing to help and teach you the materials that are needed in order to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time and learn the teachers are willing and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Mclennan Community College is a great school offering University type courses at a low price. Its great for students who are non traditional who hope to transfer to a 4yr University. The professors there are very knowledgeable and great to work with.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will save a lot of money for your basic classes. I decided to come here to take my basics out first then transfer to a 4 year university so I wouldn't spend a lot of money and pull out a loan for basic classes at a university.

    What to do for fun

    If i have free time on campus, I would go workout or play basketball in their small gyms. I bet there are other things on campus that you can do, but I personally like active activities. Their weight room is well structured and gyms are managed good. Now if i have around an hour or so left until my next class, i would talk to friends or ride the shuttles they provide for students who have a class in a far building. I enjoy the breeze of air and it lets me refresh for my next class.

    Food and Dining

    To tell you the truth we do have a cafeteria. In my opinion the food isn't that good. They have good sub sandwiches of course, but their other foods are fried and not healthy. They don't have a variety of food, but it is a community college so of course it doesn't compare to the university food courts.

    Dorm Life

    I gave it a three stars because i don't live on campus. Since we are a community college, there are no on campus dorms. there are however some apartments near McLennan Community College. I heard from my friends who live in them that they love the apartments because it's five minutes away from school and its the basic apartments for a college student.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it a four star rating because the professors teach pretty dang good. Of course you get those professors who don't know how to teach well, or you get the professors who have a different style of teaching. People learn different ways. Some learn in person where the teacher does homework by the book, one on one, or others learn better when the homework is online. They challenge you here to learn more. They are not here to fail you, but better yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would come to this college because first, it's affordable and cheap. Universities make you pay more for a basic class while here; you get the education for a lot less. If youâ??re looking for a more one on one, the teachers here communicate well with their students and are willing to do anything to help their students be successful not only in the class but also in life. They advise what to do with their education path and it's like everyone here is equal. of course the professor will still be in charge of the class but knowing that your opinion counts is one thing I like. When coming to McLennan Community College, I would advise to make as many friends as you can. Since there is almost 10,000 students here there is no way you can't make any friends. Make friends so you can have study partners and of course you make friends to hangout when youâ??re done studying. My first time on the campus, I already knew a couple people from high school, but also from other school because of basketball. Then I met their friends and it seems like every day when Iâ??m on my way to class, I get at least three or four â??hiâ??sâ?? left and right.

    In three sentences

    McLennan Community College focuses more on the academic part and less on the hands on side. I enjoy coming to school here because the campus beautiful scenery and diverse community makes me feel like i am at home. The people on campus are basic people who are trying to change their status in life by taking classes, which is affordable for anyone.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police very present on campus. I always feel very safe.

    Food and Dining

    Healthy options easy to find on campus. Starbucks offered.

    Academic Rigor

    The various programs offered at MCC create very high standards for students? I enjoy this aspect greatly, because I enjoy going to classes with students who are as committed as I am to my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Get in touch with an advisor early in your college career. My advisor has been such a tremendous aid and point of reference during my time at MCC. Also, get to know your professors as soon as possible. It is much easier to succeed when the lines of communication are open with your professors and they can get an idea of who you are as a student and a person.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a wonderful asset to our community. It gives students who would have no other option for higher education a chance to better themselves and their families. I am so thankful to have an affordable, personable institution to help me achieve my dreams of being a nurse.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    MCC has many fun things to do around the school including basketball games and student activities.

    Food and Dining

    The school has great food in the cafeteria and is very reasonably priced

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms but have heard they are great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too hard if you attend and pay attention to the teachers. My experience has been very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to go to class and pay attention. If you do this the teachers at this school will help you out any way they can.

    In three sentences

    Mclennan Community College is a great college for those wanting to transfer to 4 year universities. The school has great teachers and small classes. I recommend this school to everyone.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have wonderful security and their always walking and driving around and there are security phones every where

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and alot of activities that go on On and off campus

    Great for these types of students

    Young and Old I have a disability and Im not treated any different and there are so many things for me to so

    What to do for fun

    Ther are so many activities. There is so many sports or arts and musicand plays. Always something gong on in and around the campus

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excellent. The campus has wonderfu food and there are many restaurants within walking distence

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in a dorm I live off campus but its a wonderful town

    Academic Rigor

    I would give it a five star. The staff is thereto help you learn and are always eager to help at anything they can

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont ever say you cant go to college or Im too old. Its possible to do it. After 20yrs. Im returning and I love eery minute of it.

    In three sentences

    McLennan Community College is a wonderful school. I havent been in a classroom in almost 20yrs. They help you with any little quetion

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus security building, as well as several officers always on patrol in their marked cars. There is also tons of emergency markers all over the campus that you can press in the event of an emergency, calling the security office.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is cheap, I personally take a full load of credits each semester (18), and my tuition is always under $2K.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student clubs that you can participate in, as well as off-campus classes that allow you to study abroad, such as the Geology program, or the Marine Biology program in Honduras.

    Food and Dining

    Inside the University Center, they serve lots of Starbucks products including mocha or caramel frapuccinos, and many hot coffees. There is also a cafe.

    Dorm Life

    This campus does not yet have dorms, but the student government is looking into it.

    Academic Rigor

    The other students tend to transfer after attending MCC for their first couple of years to complete their degrees. MCC offers a multitude of classes that are all guaranteed transferable, especially at the University Center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to have an understanding of what you may want to do, or be sure that you are advised properly, because all of the schools in Texas adhere to a rule that you may only drop 6 courses over your entire college career.

    In three sentences

    MCC has a beautiful campus. With the new University Center, other Texas universities' degrees are offered through the MCC campus. You can earn a degree from these universities without ever leaving Waco.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    lot so new fun people to meet

    What to do for fun

    go to lake play put, put

    Tips for prospective students

    be a big fish in a small pond!!!

    In three sentences

    I love the small campus, and closeness.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    big town lots of things

    Food and Dining

    havent eaten there yet

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    medium

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early

    In three sentences

    Students are friendly Proffessors are very helpfull campus is nice

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The mcc cops are always area somewhere, they are always driving around campus checking everything.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not in any of the activities but they have tons of them. I have friend that are in some of them and they love it.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria serves really good food. They even have a Starbucks in it. During lunch time there cafeteria gets pretty busy and there isn't a lot of seats so get there early.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about the dorm life because I don't live on campus. But I've heard they are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    All their teachers are very helpful. If you have a question they will try there best to answer it to the beat of there knowledge. there has only be a few teachers I didn't like and that were not helpful in anything. But overall it is good.

    In three sentences

    I really like all the support they have and nice teachers. It's a very calming environment. They also have a counseling center if you ever need that as well.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any problems on campus or felt threatened and I attended many evening classes on campus. However, I lived in the neighborhood on North 19Th St and I was sexually assaulted while I lived there. Many break-ins, both home and vehicular, occurred frequently and there were active drug dealers in that neighborhood. I have heard that the crime rate in Waco has risen significantly since 2008.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at MCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    I found except for taking a class that lead to getting into an activity, such as Honors Choir, Newspaper(which does not exist anymore) or Theater, it was difficult to find clubs on campus. I tried to start a club a few times and there was no interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get their basics out of the way so they can transfer. Also, the Nursing & Music programs are very well respected so I would suggest people attend here for that as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They play bagpipes at the commencement ceremonies!

    Bang for the buck

    MCC is very reasonably priced, but the bookstore is highly overpriced and is the only place to buy many books and supplies required. Also MCC doesn't give students any software rebates or access to things like Nexus or Jstor, so you may have to shell out for those sort of things. Also keep in mind that this is a commuter campus and you need to factor in cost of gas, insurance, and car maintenance. The bus system in Waco might as well be nonexistent and it is too dangerous to ride a bike in most of Waco.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to do in Waco if you are underage. You can see movies at the theatre off Valley Mills Drive, or go hiking in Cameron Park.

    Food and Dining

    The food offered in the cafeteria was akin to what was offered in my high school cafeteria. There is a Sonic, Subway, Dairy Queen, and a Church's Chicken near by. You can easily drive to restaurants in the area though. There is not a coffee shop anywhere near this campus and that is a shame.

    Dorm Life

    MCC does not have dorms, there are apartments close by, but BEWARE-they are horrible! I would recommend renting a house over an apartment in the neighborhood.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said, I never felt challenged, even in many of my minimester classes, though I did have classes I enjoyed. Many teachers wanted to foster discussion but a large majority of students that I encountered were not interested and wanted to learn and do the bare minimum. I will say though that I loved my History classes with Professor Cruseturner, music courses with Professor Wade, and all the profs I took in the Philosophy department.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Go to class -Live near by so you can walk because parking was pretty horrible when I went there. -Take advantage of the Tex-share option through MCC's library that enables you to check out books from Baylor and TSTC's libraries. -MCC still has a wet process darkroom, if you are interested in art or photography, take advantage of this!

    In three sentences

    The education I received here ranged from poor to adequate. I never felt challenged by my classes, but the teachers were friendly, if not the most helpful at times. I was extremely frustrated when they eliminated the Journalism program while most of us were in the middle of our degree program and made us all switch majors.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Musicals and play auditioning; and Acadmeic Groups

    Tips for prospective students

    MCC offers free tutors for students in need of a subject. Study groups may also be available around campus; also extra activities oppurtunities are offered at MCC.

    In three sentences

    Rate on Mclennan Community College is past satisfactory; Thumbs up! The professors and advisors are very helpful in merging students to success. I recommend this college to anyone who wants to make a difference in getting a degree that MCC offers.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is always available ate the cafeteria. and you can pretty much eat any where.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms are on campus. its an off campus college.

    Academic Rigor

    you learn alot here. there are many opportunities for any students.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus! Alot of security driving around and emergency phones located in different areas on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs and activities. Love going to activities, you are always getting something out of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to get involved in things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities that MCC puts together, whether it is a concert or free pizza for lunch. Always giving away items and giving away free tips on being successful!

    Food and Dining

    Great food and good dining areas where you can study and eat. Very clean!

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are difficult to get in but you feel accomplished when you do get in. Study and concentration on your goals will give you a positive outlook. You can do anything you put your mind too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities and make friends. You can be more successful and learn of many things that can help study wise.

    In three sentences

    Mclennan Community College has many resources for helping students with their needs. The professors really care about their students well-being in class. The college also has many activities and alot of encouragement to get students involved.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have yet to see and accident. Campus police tend to respond quickly to any kind of disturbances. Shuttles going between classes can constantly be seen picking up anyone that would have trouble getting to their class, making it a safe trip for anyone handicap or something similar.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just look around in each department of the school There's more than likely some kind of activity going on at multiple times during the semesters, such as concerts and things.

    Bang for the buck

    Get involved with the school activities, or set up events with the school to get some awesome things going.

    What to do for fun

    MCC is right down the road from the main street in town, but across town from a major university. There's a decent amount to do between the two schools, depending on what you consider fun anyway.

    Food and Dining

    Food provided by the school is decent but can be a bit pricy. Look at going into town (down the road) for more options.

    Dorm Life

    Well, there's not really a dorm, but there are housing and apartments very close by. Living with three others at the moment, and it's not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are pushed to work for what they want. Instructors keep you on your toes, but are willing to work with students to help them get things done in a timely manner. The instructors in the area I'm studying have about twenty to forty years of real world experience in the fields that they are teaching, and for what I'm looking at doing, something like that is extremely important

    Tips for prospective students

    Faculty is good and has interest in their students. Instructors are very willing to work with any issues a student may have and help them to push through tough situations.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. It has plenty of lights and police around.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth your money

    What to do for fun

    We'll not much to do for fun

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is newly done and it has good food.

    Dorm Life

    You would gave to get an amparment.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very competive

    Tips for prospective students

    I would give it 5 stars.

    In three sentences

    It has a nice campus. The professors are helpful. The technology is up to date.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Amazing campus, very modern classes

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police can be called for an escort to your car at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents, working full time, etc. MCC offers weekend and night classes, as well as a huge variety of online classes.

    Dorm Life

    No Camus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't a joke, but most aren't nearly as hard as classes from 4 year schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn about and use the resources MCC has provided. Also, communicate with your professors. Most are very understanding and will help how they can.

    In three sentences

    MCC is very student focused. They are constantly finding ways to give their students new resources. It's wonderful!

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The saftey of the campus is superb. There are campus police located throughout the college.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not currently invloved any clubs, because I have a job. I do see flyers all the time around the school representing clubs though.

    Great for these types of students

    MCC is great for students who want to stay close to home, have a close realtionship with the proffessors and be in smaller classes(10-25 studets). It is great for students who don't know exactly what they want to major in yet, but want to get started.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since I am only taking dual credit courses through MCC, I am not sure of any of these.

    Bang for the buck

    MCC deffinetly gives you your bang for the buck! I have never encountered a problem with students or teachers! The classes and food is awesome, and you get to stay close to home while attending this college.

    What to do for fun

    There are tables located all over MCC so you can talk and hangout with new poeple and get to know most that are on the campus with you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful! MCC offers such a variety of different types and styles of food. All of the choices are delicious!

    Dorm Life

    MCC does not offer dorms or on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    MCC offers a variety of basic classes that you will gain alot from if you apply yourself. The classes are tough, but you learn so much and the proffessors are right there by your side helping you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Intorduce your self to the proffessor and be respectable and they will treat you great. Study and be an active listener to the lectures and you will do just fine.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a great college to get started with. The proffessors and students are great! MCC is helping me get my feet on the ground and start heading toward my major.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have many different activities to do on and off campus at MCC, including: The Spring Crawfish Boil and Cookout, and April Highland Games Day which are very popular events and many college kids come out to hangout with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning at MCC is excellent and about as good as you can get. Also there are many places near by that you many go to and enjoy as well.

    Dorm Life

    McLennan College does not have dorms at this time. They do have apartments and housing near by that are very cheap and reasonable for college kids.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of classes that are challenging here at MCC, and also a lot of classes that are perfect for everyone. Don't be shy when you see that you have a hard class on your list, take it and go for it! Everyone there is willing to help out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for a prospective student would be that no matter what major or subject you are interested in, you will always find what you are looking for here at Mclennan Community College.

    In three sentences

    I love how Mclennan Community College has many different types of majors to choose from. I am currently enrolled in forensic science and the building is beautiful. Everything is easy to find and very easy to get to.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't think they have any?

    Great for these types of students

    Doing basics, not a whole lot of money but want a good education, haven't decided a major yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The area for the art students is really interesting, and all of the trails lead to Cameron park.

    What to do for fun

    Cameron park, movies, George's

    Food and Dining

    Good choices

    Dorm Life

    Not required to stay in one

    Academic Rigor

    Professors care about you.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a really good school for a cheap price

    In three sentences

    The instructors actually care about your success. The price is really good. The courses are good quality.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Mclennan community college has a great dining area with great food!

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on campus, but a few of my friends do. They seem to enjoy where they live. Its a good studying environment.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are strict on when your assignments are due, but they are very considerate and lenient when you have a plausible excuse

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and make sure to take notes! Your notes wikl be your key to success

    In three sentences

    Mclennan community college was the right choice for me. The profesors are very attentive and want to teach you. Out of 1 in 10, I would rate this scool a 10.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always on patrol.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for less than $2,000? You can't beat that.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is open and inviting. The food is actually good and not to pricey.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    As all colleges, some classes are easy and some are difficult. The business classes are insightful and the teacher's are professionals in their fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a place to start your college career without breaking the bank, then MCC is for you.

    In three sentences

    Friendly and diverse culture. Affordable tuition while staying close to home. Easy going atmosphere with great teachers.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have great campus safety. They have campus police of staff in buildings and also driving around campus. There are also several phones located outside to place emergency calls if need be. The police will even help you if you lock your keys inside your car!

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for your money. Why go to a four-year right out of high school when you have a great local community college?

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun to do at McLennan Community College. There are all kinds of sports, theatrical performances, and academic clubs to keep you busy!

    Food and Dining

    Great dining facility, many options with fresh, healthy food!

    Dorm Life

    There are currently not any dorms at McLennan Community College

    Academic Rigor

    McLennan Community College is a great learning environment. Professors make themselves available to help you and want you to succeed. Any college is work and you should expect to put the work in to further yourself but there are many tutoring programs should you need any help along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the scholarships and programs that the school has made available to students. There are many great caring individuals on staff who are willing to help you make the best of your college career.

    In three sentences

    McLennan Community College is a great local college in Waco, Texas. Don't let the term community college fool you, this school has many degree plans and opportunities for motivated students. The teachers are caring, the campus is nice and clean, and it provides a great foundation for students who eventually want to transfer!

  • 05/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe when i go to school; like it should be, always. Their police officers are very nice and communicative with the students, too.

    What to do for fun

    Their are sports games, dance competition, theater plays, and art showings. Their are also concerts from time to time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. If i get hungry while at school, their food will hit the spot. Everyday they have different choices for morning and lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in a dorm. I live with my parents to save money and stress. But i heard that they are very comfortable, and have good ratings.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are amazing and very few are horrible. What ever major you pick, their are good teachers that teach the classes very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't mind getting up in the morning or don't have a great deal of patience to find a certain parking spot in the morning, try to register for 8:00 morning classes. After that time, you wont find one, just at the parking garage on the 2nd floor. If you like your sleep and don't mind what parking spot you get and love the walking, then register for 9:35 morning classes. :)

    In three sentences

    It is one of the most gorgeous places i have seen. Its small and very peaceful. If you go here, you will feel cared and important.

  • 06/01/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not an expensive school.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, I would always get a wrap and tea(:

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I loved all my instructors!!! I mean it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students keep up with your schedules, homework, because you will not be babied like I was in high school. Be willing to learn, come prepared, and make time to study. Everything will go great!

    In three sentences

    MCC has been a stepping stool into a four year University, it is great! Love the small classes, instructors willingness to help, and everything that I have learned there. I made a great choice by deciding to attend McLennan Community College first.