Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

McMurry University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to get involved because it has a small student/teacher ratio almost the size of Highschool classes.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will be participating in the athletic department as a soccer player and will also run track.

    Will learn a lot

    I do well in the smaller classrooms.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is constantly patrolling at night, making sure that things are going well and no danger is apparent. You may also call them for help with things that you may not have help otherwise with, and they are very gracious and helpful. Locked out of your car in the middle of the night? Call!

    Greek Life

    I am a freshman about to go into my second semester so I am only just about to experience Greek Life! But I know it doesn't fit the stressful stereotypes that are found at bigger schools. There is definitely sisterhood and brotherhood, but at a smaller university there is less competition and therefore less pressure to do things that would put you outside of your comfort zone in a bad way.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very welcoming and excited to meet incoming students. They hold their members accountable, but are also very understanding of other time commitments and studies.

    Great for these types of students

    McMurry is great for all students I believe, but it is especially accommodating for the students who may feel nervous being on their own for their first time, and those who may feel dwarfed or suppressed by the impersonal, intimidating feel of a big state university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is a big event unlike any other at McMurry. With its old Indian roots, every year the school puts up Tipi Village, a huge circle of tipis all over one of the school's fields. Each social group has their own tipi, and the night before homecoming there is a race to see which group can put theirs up first. In the middle of the tipis, after the race and food, is a chili cookout and a big bonfire! Another option for freshman, a really cool tradition and opportunity is to beat the drum, a huge Native American drum that one can sign up for a slot to beat. It must remain beating the whole night leading up to the game, for good luck. There's a huge tailgate on game day, with food and booths for shopping, as well as big bounce houses set up behind the school. It's a fantastic time to be a war hawk, as the whole town is full of excitement.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun clubs to join, from Religious Life, to Greek life, to intramural sports! Homecoming is a huge event, with a big tailgate and a huge university-wide party on the field. The university also has its own fitness center with treadmills, elliptical machines, and a weight room. There is also an activities gym, open for people to go swimming or play in racquetball tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    McMurry has the Village Market, which serves as its regular cafeteria with a large buffet and salad bar with at least 3 choices of meals on weekdays (usually only 2 on weekends). There will always be pizza and hamburgers, but every day has a different dish ranging from pork chops to spaghetti to barbecue sandwiches. The breakfasts are great, featuring a big Belgian waffle maker and a sweet lady ready to take your order for breakfast burritos and omelets, among the other choices like donuts and cinnamon rolls. Also, it's great to have homemade desserts every day, not to mention a Blue Bell ice cream bar, with new flavors every week. The Sports Grille serves as a restaurant, with certain sandwiches and burgers you can order, and Java City is the university's personal coffee shop with frozen treats as well as warm, and bread and scones available for purchase.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in Martin, the all girls dorm on campus, and I can say that you are guaranteed to make friends with at least one girl in your hall, it's pretty impossible not to when so many cool and friendly girls are put in one building. The visiting hours for the opposite gender are from 12pm to 12am in all dorm, which are rather generous for a Christian university. Also, the RAs hold a program every month, and though not mandatory, these little get togethers can be pretty fun and range from movie nights to tie-dying to cooking lessons!

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Biomedical Science major with a Music minor, so I can speak for the science and music departments when I say that A's aren't going to be easy. Of course tests will count a lot towards your final grade, but be prepared for a pretty demanding homework load as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since McMurry is a United Methodist university, they are pretty active in their Religious Life group, a great group of people who are always doing something, whether it be lunch on a Thursday afternoon or going away on retreats. Everyone of all ages, genders, and social settings are welcome, and I recommend you join in as well, they'll change your college experience for the better!

    In three sentences

    McMurry is a small university with a big name in the college town of Abilene. It has a very welcoming atmosphere, perfect for the nervous student afraid to leave home, and also great for those who would easily lose their way on a large, impersonal campus. The faculty and students are all very friendly and excited to help you build your new home at this great university.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid and try it out because you will probably be surprised.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite expensive, however the experience in the classroom is well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    McMurry is the place where you can find friends and make a family that you will never loose.

    Am learning a lot

    I was surprised how much help was available to me at McMurry. They truly want you to succeed.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved in activities around campus and make friends it will make things easier to bare.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive about 11,000 a semester, but out of the three four year colleges here it does cost a little less

    Am enjoying being here

    It is alright, it has a nice campus and a great history. The mascot was just changed and named so that is pretty awesome. I really think that I would enjoy the school more if I lived on campus because while it does have things and groups that help make good friends they don't do as well at all when it comes to the people who transfer in and dont live on the campus

    Am learning a lot

    Many classes do push you to do your very best

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    great for people who are ready to learn!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on homecoming a drum must me bang all day and night until the homecoming football game kickoff.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of activities that the school emails us such as movie night and video game night.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great but the bad thing about it is that i doesnt open on sunday's.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty good you will enjoy your stay here.

    Tips for prospective students

    the help is here and teachers are willing to help you anytime.

    In three sentences

    i think its a amazing place to learn. it is really easy to get help at mcmurry. this college can help you reach your maxium potential.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually try to play sports and exercise. Buffalo wild wings and the local sport bars are usually where all the fun and peopl are.

    Food and Dining

    If you like mexican food then you will love it here. All your regular resturants are here as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Abilene weather is very bipolar, come in open-minded, try to get familiar with the campus and its website before attending and visit the place before you get a surprise.

    In three sentences

    I think McMurry is a good University. The staff is really helpful and knowledgeable in their profession. Academics really challenge students to do their best in class.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good security, very small

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    academic ,social, athletic

    Great for these types of students

    wanting small school atmosphere with good academic environmnet

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Teepee building...come see for yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a privat school, but does offer many academic scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Small town, but there are many community cultural event and campus life tries to keep many activities going.

    Food and Dining

    I have food allergies and it is difficult for any food institution.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are dorms in any college. They are good enough for the few hours of sleep a biology major gets.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is hard, but great insturctors to tutor and help you through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect a quite community.

    In three sentences

    Nice location to business for students. Great teacher/instructor to student ration. Great instruction in academic courses.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends!

    Food and Dining

    The foods pretty tasty!

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be tough but are surmountable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet new people!

    In three sentences

    The staff is competent and helpful, the courses offer a decent challege and the campus is beautiful!

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security that patrols the campus giving us an extra cushion of safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to participate in, you just have to find the one that fits you the best.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beside our education building we have a area where stray cats come and hang out. It is unusual because they are always there eating. It is just not what you expect to see.

    What to do for fun

    Fun here comes and goes, it is just a matter of what you are looking forward to doing

    Food and Dining

    The food there could be better but it does the job of filling our stomach.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is wonderful. Everyone cares about each others needs and respects each others privacy and wishes.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic rigor would be my upper level science classes simply because it is a lot to store in my brain.

    Tips for prospective students

    PRIORITIZE! Time management will be a skill that you must master if you want to succeed in college.

    In three sentences

    The school is small so it gives you abetter connection with your teacher. The staff really wants to see you succeed so they are always willing to help. The students there all get along.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No worries at all, I walk around alone and never worry.

    Greek Life

    There is social groups: 6 girls and 5 boys.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing people will definitely enjoy McMurry but shy people can find their niche also.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our homecoming is super fun because we have tipi village and set up actual tipis and have chili cook offs! it's so much fun with the bonfire blazing:)

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount i pay, i get the education i pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There is tons to do on campus. Social groups, intramurals, theater, religious life, the list goes on.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of variety in the caf and thye always serve salad and fruit which I love.

    Dorm Life

    I personally didn't like living with other people but the double rooms are spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you but not beyond what you're capable of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all the classes you need to take saved several months in advance, they might fill up.

    In three sentences

    McMurry University is small. You get to know everyone, including professors. It's a great place to go to school.

  • 03/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They do what they can to award scholarships and grants and make sure you're excelling in their atmosphere.

    Will enjoy being here

    Great community with an encouraging atmosphere and the teachers are fun to talk to. Abilene is also a fun and friendly atmosphere throughout town.

    Will learn a lot

    Teachers get to know their students and help keep them on track without spoon-feeding them.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A student looking for a small, close knit college environment where they can excell at a specialty of the University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to immediately contact the Financial Aid office on campus upon acceptance, theres allot to be done for attending in that office.

    Will enjoy being here

    The faculty I met was really approachable and willing to help with anything I might need.

    Will learn a lot

    When I visited, the teachers from the department I'm entering really showed they had taken a personal intrest in my success at the University.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that do well in small crowds and like the kind of place where everyone knows everyone. People that wouldn't have a chance to play their sport at a larger school get the chance to play.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Try everything at least once.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite expensive, but it is a private university

    Am enjoying being here

    The key to being happy here is being involved in student activities. McMurry has opportunities for everyone to be involved and even to lead. I pledged and found the best friends I could ask for.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at McMurry genuinely care about their students and the small class sizes make it easier to learn.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many available. I will have to investigate these when I get to campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I think McMurry would be great for students that are from smaller town or who enjoy being in a family type surrounding.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The recent change of the school mascot has made lots of changes occur on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I hope that I get the education that I desire at McMurry.

    What to do for fun

    I will be playing baseball at McMurry so I will be doing what I love. I will have to explore other activities for fun once I arrive.

    Food and Dining

    There are a couple a dining choices that I am looking forward to trying when I get to campus.

    Dorm Life

    I will be moving in to the dorms in about 3 weeks and I am eager to get there.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I am not attending classes yet, I can not be sure, but from my visits to campus, I think I will be challenged in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up and work in the classroom because that will pay off not only with your knowledge, but in financial ways as far as scholarships offered by McM for grades.

    In three sentences

    I love the family feel of the campus. I feel that I will get very individualize instruction/help when needed.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shopping and pretty much go to class.

    Food and Dining

    I have not personally eaten in the cafeteria, but all of the restaurants around town are great!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate this school as great. It is hard but you learn a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to financial aid if you need any help with payment. Also, if you have any questions just ask them if they don't know they will find somebody that does know.

    In three sentences

    McMurry is a great University. The staff is very helpful in anyway possible. They are also so friendly to everyone.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part the campus is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    cheerleading, clubs & activites are good.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a quite atmosphere and live a quite life. McMurry is a small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We take of the week of homecoming. Have a great bon-fire.

    What to do for fun

    Be involved and make friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the university is terrible but the restaurants around the town are good and plentiful.

    Dorm Life

    Its alright but my dorm is old and the double room is not very big. Dorm life is what you make of it.

    Academic Rigor

    This college isn't as hard as other colleges but it's hard enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your studies.

    In three sentences

    The University is small. The classes are small. You get to be one on one with your professor.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go watch movies with your friends in the theaters or in the drive in. Their are also bars and clubs you can attend if you're are of age. Usually Thursday nights students go to Guitars.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafteria is not the greatest at all. You get tired of it really quickly. Their is also the Grill on campus, but you get tired of eating the greasy food as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing and you meet so many amazing people. It's nice that their is a kitchen to cook in and they have a pool table and air hockey, so when you have company over y'all have activities to do. Also during certain holidays they have activities for everyone in the dorms to attend if you want.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the school is okay. If you do poorly on your SAT then you will take a remedial class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would apply for scholarships because it is not cheap to attend here and I would come and take a campus tour to get a feel of the place.

    In three sentences

    McMurry University is a wonderful university to attend. The professors are friendly and know you by your name. McMurry really wants you to achieve your goals and will help you get there.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different ways for people to get involved on campus. There are many different clubs that match everyone's personality.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends after classes and play sports. We usually go to somebody room to watch tv after everything is done.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, but it does give you options on a balanced meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Students get to relax in the dorms after classes and have a good time while still getting work done. Most of my friends i made in my hallway

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many oppurtunities to pass and excel in classes. Free tutoring is offered everyday to all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you keep up with your grades and be sure to get the money to get here.

    In three sentences

    McMurry University is a very good school. It has a very small student population which makes the classrooms smaller. I love the community around the school and glad i chose to come here

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and sports on campus. And one always finds a group of people just hanging out in various spots on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is edible, sometimes good, often not so good. But there is always a wide variety of foods to pick and The Grill if one does not like the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be pretty loud and pretty gross at times, but I definitely feel it is a key part of the college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is usually given in large loads but is due over the entire semester so it makes it easier to get it all done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most teachers are not strict about attendance as long as the work for the class is excellent. Though, for most classes, attendance is essential to the class work to be comprehended fully.

    In three sentences

    A school that gives plenty of opportunities to succeed. While very costly, the administration will work with their students to get their tuition paid for. If one, tries at McMurry University they will always succeed.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since I have been here, I have never seen nor heard of anything unsafe happening on campus. It is a very safe place to be, even at night.

    Great for these types of students

    McMurry is great for EVERYONE. Everyone has a place on campus. You never see a student without a friends here.

    Bang for the buck

    McMurry is worth every penny you spend. You couldn't find a better place to be for this low cost.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening on campus. Of course there is always the athletic teams, as well as intramural games you can participate in. There are a bunch of social clubs you can be with.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious. If you would rather not eat on campus, there are great restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun, which is great for incoming students who have never been away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. Anytime you need help, any professor will be willing to help you. The professors get to know you and will always be flexible with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because McMurry is a private, Christian university does not mean that if you are not religious you can't still attend. McMurry welcomes all religions and even those who are not religious themselves. As a warning, you will always have a friend here because McMurry is an extremely friendly place.

    In three sentences

    McMurry is a great, family orientated school. With having only 1400 students, anybody and everybody will ALWAYS feel home. The atmosphere at McMurry is unbeatable.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Obviously this school is for students who like to get involved both with their school and community.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but definitely seems to be worth it. They've really helped me out with finding the money with scholarships, grants, and loans.

    In three sentences

    I really cannot wait for August to come. I am soooo excited to attend. Just counting down the days!

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food isn't bad. It is a all you can eat type of system. Pretty Good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great! You make soo many friends! Yes the rules may be a little strict but it keeps people safe and fair.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers work with you day or night! They are totally willing to help you whenever you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into McMurry! As check out the religious life group! They are awesome!!

    In three sentences

    McMurry is a fun loving, easy going, active school. There is soo many ways to get involved. The teachers are easy to talk to as well.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is the best place for a student to be. The food is in more times than none exotic. You could have a little of anything.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always interesting. There are always cook outs and free food. There is also fun group gatherings of all types, whether you are a gamer, athlete, resign solely on academics, or just like to have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    This is another one of the best parts of McMurry. The teacher to student ratio is the best. You can always get the help you need.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, there is not a whole lot to do other than basketball, a gym, and a pool, but in Abilene you can find many things to do, like going to one of the many movie theaters, going to prime time (a huge arcade for all ages) as well as a modest size mall for tons of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria may not be the highest quality food, but it is always consistent and isn't too bad as long as you don't have to eat it for every meal.

    Dorm Life

    McMurry has a little bit of everything when it comes to dorm life. There are older dorms that are a tad run down but are cheaper than anything else on campus. There are also some nicer, newer, recently renovated dorms that cost a bit more but come with a significantly improved quality of living. There are also really nice, fully-furnished on campus apartments for those students who qualify (30+ hours, first come first serve basis, etc.)

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be extremely difficult but professors will do their best to work with you and help you with whatever you are struggling with. There is also an on-campus AEC or Academic Enrichment Center at which teachers are there, specialized in various subjects, ready to help you with whatever problems you may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for class each day and make sure to show up on time and with the correct supplies. Do not skip class because professors will drop you from a course without a blink of an eye, though they will usually call and talk to you about the possibility of you being dropped, heed their warning.

    In three sentences

    This is a small campus with a big campus feel. Professors are well trained in each of their fields. The campus is located right in the middle of town.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lived on campus for two years, I personally never had a problem. Over those two years I only heard of two rooms having issues, but there was a direct personal conflict with the rooms. The security is often bothersome and suspecting, annoying for the innocent, but a student can know that the security is out and monitoring.

    Greek Life

    No nation-wide fraternity/or sororities, however, the school and the people in this school take the abilene based groups very seriously!

    Clubs and Activities

    The effort is there, but the student base is not, only around 300 students live on campus and less than 100 stay for the weekends, its hard to do much with such a small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While the education may be rough, the students are a blast, and the social life is a must! The homecoming is a blast! However it is sad that one of the biggest attractions for students is the light show that is put on old main for the Christmas holidays.

    Bang for the buck

    McMurry charges over 30k a year which is obsurd. I would rank this lower if possible. For old run-down classrooms and pitiful technology and staff, the schools education is worth less than 6k a year.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do in abilene worth bragging about. I suggest meeting people and getting out as much as possible!

    Food and Dining

    From my first year to the last, the quality of food dramatically increased, however, so did the price of food. The two available places to get food were only open at inopportune times of the day, and not on sundays. Which is awful for students who live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Lived in the lower-class dorms, but had the time of my life! the small campus is great for meeting people and always staying busy.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor, for the most part the classes are very easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers....ALOT! everyday, go by office hours, whether one knows the information or not, play dumb.

    In three sentences

    McMurry University is a great institution for those who fit the mold. Excellent for students who enjoy the small atmosphere, and teachers who prefer attendance grades and class participation other than actual work.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is quiet and safe at night, but not the surrounding area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety both political and a-political in nature.

    Great for these types of students

    Military, serious, reserved, smart and older students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drum banging for the Homecoming week-end.

    Bang for the buck

    A bit on the expensive side, but value wise worth it if you prefer small classes and individuality.

    What to do for fun

    The campus puts out a lot of information on sporting events, school and student sponsored and other social events on campus. Several clubs to get involved with, there is at least 2 or 3 per specific individual interests. There is a shopping mall, strip centers and book stores plus hang-out places. The town is in the heart of bible belt country and the locals pride themselves on having the most churches per square capita, so not too many bars and clubs in the town - not necessarily a bad thing for the serious student who is really seeking a fine education. Great sights for the history buff.

    Food and Dining

    Fair. Breakfast would be the best meal, but if you don't get to the cafeteria within the first 45 minutes of opening, your choices are slim at best. Lunch and dinner are great the first few weeks, but become repetitive after that. A lot to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    Average at best. Dorms are older and even the ones recently refurbished have a lot to be desired. When problems arise, be pro-active and persistant and things will be addressed. Poor Wi-Fi.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors know how to make you work to strengthen your academic strong points. It is not for the lazy or carefree students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your applications in on time even early. There is financial help, but the sooner you apply, the better. Make at least two to three visits to the college before you decide, do not decide on first impressions.

    In three sentences

    The Professors are great and very helpful and generally concerned about students, especially first year students. Classes are small, so attendence is noticed and students are expected to be in class and on time. Abilene has a small town feel but yet has enough to do to keep life interesting.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are on campus security, so no worries.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social clubs, again, are great along with student events and activities that are organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Social clubs are great for social people looking to find new friends and enjoy college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TP village is a fun annual event that reaches out to the community.

    Bang for the buck

    McMurry, I feel, is pretty expensive, but the smaller the better. Classes are better smaller.

    What to do for fun

    Sports are probably the funnest thing. Going to games are pretty exciting sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not all the great, however sometimes they do make some descent stuff.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a great way to meet new people, but I think the on campus appartments is where its at.

    Academic Rigor

    McMurry is challenging in certain ways. The science classes are well taught, especially the A & P class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, make friends, and go to the football games.

    In three sentences

    McMurry is great for people who enjoy smaller classes with more one on one with the teacher. The nursing program along with the education program are amazing and are taught by great faculty. Everything is within walking distance, which also a good characteristic.