Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

McNeese State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone who is considering McNeese, you have found a place that you wouldn't call school, but you would call home. McNeese has the small town feel in the city world. Most students and teachers get to know one another because of the low student to teacher ratio, and also because the teachers are so nice, helpful, and personal. Also, get involved on campus. It is a great way to meet people and make lifetime friends.

    Bang for the buck

    McNeese is one of the most cost-efficient schools throughout the state. It also awards $15 million is scholarships to students annually and accepts TOPS awards.

    Am enjoying being here

    McNeese offers many student organizations to meet eveyone's needs. Being involved on campus is a great way to meet new people and make a lot of friends, and to also get yourself known throughout the campus. From student clubs and organizations, Greek life, student government, and academics, there is something for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    McNeese has such a broad spectrum of academics to appeal to everyone. You can receive a great education and a great reputation by attending McNeese. 86% of pre-medicine students were accepted into medical schools in 2006, which is a great number.

  • 10/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mcneese is great for students who want to be in active in organizations, as well as have good interractions with teachers. There are many different clubs to join, and there is always some type of activity going on. Mcneese has a very upbeat environment and is great for any person who is optimistic about their future.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to schedule classes around times that you will be able to attend regularly and on time. If youre not a morning person, then schedule classes in the afternoon. Its ok to have gaps in between classes, and your advisors are always willing to listen to you in case you have any questions about the school . Dont be afraid to ask questions.

    Bang for the buck

    You definately get bang for the buck here, there are computer labs that are open all throughout the days that let you print anything that you need, and use their computers for as long as neccessary. They also stay open at night in case you need to get some work done. there are study rooms, and many other different facillities that you may use and there are two student unions halls, that students use for socializing and relaxing.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoing being here, i have me a lot of new people and friends. There is always something going on at this campus and most of the time it involves food, that is free. Different organizations may be around doing contests, or sometimes there are job fairs.

    Am learning a lot

    Mcneese University has a broad variety of courses and majors available to students. The professors are very caring and they try their hardest to help students learn as much as possible. They also welcome students on their office hours to ask any questions they may have about a test grade or assignments. Also, professors update their blackboards frequently and will email students promptly if they have any questions or concerns.

  • 10/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    McNeese is a great place for any and every type of student. The people are friendly, and you will make friendships that will last a lifetime, as well as memories. So, if you don't like making friendships and amazing memories, McNeese is not for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors may seem intimidating at the beginning of the year, but they are only trying to get rid of the students who will not take the course seriously. That being said, this is college. And while most professors are more than willing to help you out, you will not be spoon fed the answers. 1) READ THE BOOK, you have to buy/rent it for a reason. And I would recommend renting your books. Most of them you will not need after the course, so Textbook Rental has great deals. 2) GO TO CLASS. Not only will going to class guarantee that you are familiar, and perhaps understand, the current chapter, the professor will be able to see your face and realize you are serious about the class. THAT being said, try to become familiar with your teachers and make a good impression (not texting, loudly talking in class). Professors are more willing to help someone that they know who is genuinely trying in their class. 3)ASK FOR HELP. If you are having trouble with anything, find out the professor's office hours, and swing on by. They give you their office hours for a reason. They will help you, ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS ASK. 4) STUDY. STUDY. STUDY. Make use of the library, and try to read a chapter, or few pages every night. This is college, and the biggest component is studying. Being over prepared for a class will not hurt you. Better safe than sorry.

    Bang for the buck

    Aside from rewarding thousands of dollars in scholarships a year, McNeese offers various activities and privileges exclusively to the current students. Whether you enjoy working out, want to rent out a room in the library to study, need to print something out, would like to attend a sporting event or any event on campus, ALL you have to do is present your student ID, and everything is free.

    Am enjoying being here

    McNeese has a respectively large campus, with something always going on. A variety of organizations offer activities to the entire student body nearly every day. Free lunch is also a regular occurrence throughout the week. The overall air of the campus is a positive and relaxed one, and it makes going to campus all the more enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    McNeese offers a broad spectrum of courses, appealing to many different types of students. Realizing that there are indeed, many different types of students, most professors are more than willing to help students in any way. The professors are also very knowledgeable, most of them with numerous degrees in numerous fields.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a more personal college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend going to ratemyprofessor.com and asking older students about professors before registering. Getting the best teacher available will help greatly

    Am enjoying being here

    McNeese is big on campus involvement. The student union board has after school activities frequently, that all students are invited to. They host game nights, a mardi gras ball, and lunches throughout the year.

    Am learning a lot

    McNeese offers what larger schools generally cannot: professors who take the time to assist their students. From my personal experience, the professors at McNeese are more willing to take extra time with their students and more available for questions and concerns. It helps when you are studying for a big test and your professor has set up a study session or a class forum, which the professors often do.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student

    Tips for prospective students

    I think this is a great campus

    Will enjoy being here

    After visiting the campus I truly believe I will enjoy attending McNeese

    Will learn a lot

    I feel I will learn and will have really good teachers teaching me

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe! never had a problem

    Greek Life

    fun! i'm currently in a sorority :) go greek!

    Clubs and Activities

    lots to choose from!!!

    Great for these types of students

    great for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    great classes, easy to learn campus, very nice and helpful people!

    What to do for fun

    lots of campus organizations and clubs plus their is greek life.

    Food and Dining

    i eat on campus every day. not bad for school food.

    Dorm Life

    never lived in collete dorms but currenting living in suites on campus. their nice. mcneese also has apartments on campus that are nice as well. suites and apartments come fully furnished.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on what your classes are, who your professor is, and what is your weak subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    go greek! join a fraternity or a sorority. stay involved on campus. you'll always have friends and something to do.

    In three sentences

    mcneese has great professors that get to know their students. mcneese has a fonominal greek life and on campus activities. mcneese is a smaller campus and it is easy to get to a student's class.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alert system is fast and efficient.

    What to do for fun

    Attend sporting events and on campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    excellent

    Academic Rigor

    Not that complicated depends on life's goal for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it slow but have a goal.

    In three sentences

    Excellent school

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety here at McNeese State University is superb! They have the best police out watching the campus and making sure the students are safe. The McNeese Police are even available 24/7 so anyone who needs their help can get it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many nice locations for students to visit or hang out at on campus. Some that are great in particular are the quad, which gives students a nice peaceful place to study, or the New Ranch. The New Ranch hosts many events and there are always new people to meet here.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun on campus. There are many seminars offered from the different colleges. Also, there are many events held by S.U.B.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at McNeese State University is outstanding. There is just about anything a student or even a guest could want on campus. The cafeteria is also very remarkable and very flexible with their menus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a great start for those who are younger and not yet financially stable. The only thing for students to consider is adjusting to a new and independent lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, this school is the place a student wants to be when learning. The school's curriculum challenges and even motivates the students. If you want to truly learn, this is the place to pursue knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some good tips for striving to be the best student you can be are very helpful. One great tip to keep in mind is learn to adjust to campus life. There is no one watching you and telling you how to study or live. This is a very new thing for many students, and it can either enhance or ruin some.

    In three sentences

    McNeese State University is a wonderful and affordable school for anyone searching to further their education. It really is excellence with a personal touch. The school has much to offer for students that are planning to enroll.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    McNeese police are always looking out for us.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing! It is one, if not the best way to get involved on campus. The greeks at McNeese are always giving back to the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a organization for everybody at McNeese!

    Food and Dining

    We have cafeteria that has ok, it's a cafeteria. We also has two little restaurants that pretty good, along with two coffee places!

    Dorm Life

    I can't really give an accurate ratting, I don't live in the dorms, but I have friends that do, and it all depends on what dorm you stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    Every major has difficult classes, but if you truly love what you're going into, you probably want find them hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have a umbrella and rain boots. Try to get involved on campus as a freshman. You'll make friends for a life time and great memories.

    In three sentences

    McNeese is an amazing school. It is filled with professors who thrive on seeing their students succeed. They truly live by our motto Excellence with a Personal Touch.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police here everyday. Even at night, if one is in the parking lot and is scared to walk by themselves in the dark, call the campus police and they will walk you back to the dorm. They are always there if someone needs assistance.

    Greek Life

    Although I am not in one, there are sororities and fraternities for every type of student. At orientation, everyone can explore the Greek's endless possibilities and choose the one that is right for them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that people can enter. There are christian clubs, the Student Union Board that puts on many activities on campus, clubs that focus on volunteer work, and a variety of others. How can one choose?!

    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student is welcome here. This is a college that does not discriminate against anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the fall semester there is something called amnesty day. Maybe someone did not realize where they were parking or there were simply not enough places to park. Either way, they received a ticket. On amnesty day, that ticket is removed from their record free of charge.

    Bang for the buck

    All of this fun stuff is going on yet this college is still very affordable. The prices are not sky-high and this college works with anyone having financial issues.

    What to do for fun

    There are on-campus activities everyday. Football games, petting zoos, circuses, open-mic night, back-to-school parties and many other things to do await anyone attending MSU. There are also over 100 clubs to attend. The interests of everyone are accommodated here.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is different everyday. The lunch ladies are wonderful and very hospitable. There is home-cooked food, as well as, fast food, a salad bar, and dessert. There is also all-day breakfast foods, soft drinks, milk, juice, and flavored water. Everything anyone could ever imagine is there.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is great. The dorms are right on the side of campus and very new-looking. They have a very inviting feel to them.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, the classes are challenging, but there are ways to avoid stress. Just go to class everyday, pay attention, and study. There you have it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college for anyone. The professors are very friendly as well as the students. Classes are challenging but nothing that a new or old college student cannot handle.

    In three sentences

    McNeese State University is everything I thought it would be. The professors and classes are amazing. I feel at home here because it is very personable.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Near my home and very relaxed atmosphere.

    Will learn a lot

    Plan on enrolling for teaching. Excellent teaching and nursing programs.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are an international student or if you are pursuing nursing

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY AND GO TO CLASS

    Bang for the buck

    Somewhat expensive for those who do not have financial aid

    Am enjoying being here

    Good atmosphere

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that whether you are learning a lot or not learning much is based on your own actions

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun i go to the rec or get involved in the various activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food isnt that great but ediable lol.

    Dorm Life

    mcneese dorms are very homey. looks like little apartments.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your work

    In three sentences

    mcneese is a very diverse school. are known for their great nursing and liberal arts program have an excellent student teacher ratio

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the bars they are awesome

    Food and Dining

    food good, great selection and the pizza is amazing

    Dorm Life

    piles of fun had in the dorms and the new rooms are very nice

    Academic Rigor

    the school is very academic but not overly hard and teachers are very good

    Tips for prospective students

    go there make as many friends as possible and go to the bar cowboys

    In three sentences

    an awesome place with great teachers and great students and everyone loves to have fun

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have no time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Decent for school food.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Dedicated professors who want to see their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your adviser often!

    In three sentences

    Great professors. Friendly students. Small campus.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Panic buttons in every room and on every light pole outside. Plus campus and Lake Charles police are NEVER far away.

    Greek Life

    It's pretty cool. It's on a comeback still from Hurricane Rita and Katrina with so many leaving.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of things to be involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes Greeks Nurses Communication/Theater

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pretty up to date school. Most buildings and dorms are new. Nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive to be a DI university.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, The Mall, Festivals, The Beach. Plenty of restaurants, and some decent shopping. Also plenty of sporting events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up and get involved in different activities.

    In three sentences

    A great school! Academics and athletics are top notch. There's not much to do though.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lake Charles is a culturally diverse city so there are many things to do for fun such as karaoke, listening to local bands, delicious variety of foods, water sports on the lake, and beach-side hangouts.

    Food and Dining

    The New Ranch is pretty great. The cafeteria offers a wide variety of foods in a buffet style set-up. If you do not have a meal plan, and even if you do, the other food booths are really good for a quick meal.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the time your roommate profiles are right on point in terms of getting along with who you're going to be living with for the next five months. The dorms aren't bad to live in if you can get into Bel Gardens, Sallier, or the courtyard suites. Do not go for Colette just because it is cheap, you will regret it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major the amount of rigor will either be very strenuous or relatively relaxed, as is the case with most institutions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to call or visit the campus for any questions because emailing is about as indirect of a response that you will receive. If you wish to aquire information the employees in the enrollment office can and will make any materials necessary available to you.

    In three sentences

    Some departments are a little unorganized. Some professors are very indirect and unhelpful. In its entirety, though, the school is a fine institution in a good location.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Perfect security! Just watch out when walking for unlawful drivers when crossing. And NO J Walking!

    Greek Life

    Superior!

    Clubs and Activities

    Agriculture Sports Academics

    Bang for the buck

    Really worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for ME! Know your academic history! Don't be shy and mingle.

    In three sentences

    I would recommend McNeese State University to anyone who has problems with working under presssure and loves to communicate with others. I say that McNeese is a very well-rounded university throughout this universe. I love it and I know you would also, if you put in the time to visit McNeese.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't reside on campus, so I am unable to comment.

    Food and Dining

    I don't reside on campus, so I am unable to comment.

    Dorm Life

    I don't reside on campus, so I am unable to comment.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is pretty basic. The have classes broken into sessions, so if you wanted to take 12 units, you can take six units, the first 8 weeks and the other 6 units the last 8 weeks. It works perfect for the working student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would like to give to prospective students would be to stay in contact with your counselor. The counselors are there to help schedule your classes and to make sure that you aren't overloaded. They have been a great asset to me.

    In three sentences

    I think McNeese State University has an excellent program. I am currently enrolled in their online program and it is awesome. It is allowing me to complete course work online in two 8-week courses, instead of a 16 week course, while still being a full-time mother and worker.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus over here is pretty safe. There is always something that will keep something from being perfect, but there isn't much trouble here though or danger.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life here are usually doing something around campus. They are usually trying to do some fun thing on campus and create activities to help make the campus fun. It helps fight being bored and joining those clubs will keep you from being bored.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is really good in rodeo. They won a lot of competitions in that sport. I don't really hear about rodeo in every school and a school that is successful in it, until I came here.

    What to do for fun

    Over here you can play sports. A lot of people always doing some sport anywhere around the area. The gym here is nice here. Their is a lot of things you can do their and you wouldn't be bored their. There are frats and clubs people can join to keep you busy. You can work and do volunteering jobs also.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is o.k. They can have their bad days and really good days. They are kinda expensive also. If we pay that much, I would wish they let us do and have more for what we payed for. They can improve their hours in the cafeteria. It would be nice if they change their rule, by letting us take out food, instead of just eating in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is o.k. We have nice people overall and we have some things to do here sometimes. They can improve by doing more and do more exciting things.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of this school may vary. Some students needs to make all A's for their major, so that makes any academic challenge difficult. But overall, if you study enough, it is not too hard of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    For anybody for who just wants to focus just on school, this school would be perfect for you. Try to find something fun for yourself during school, so you won't be bored of school just doing school work. If anyone has any trouble with school, the teachers seem to care more than bigger schools, so don't be afraid to ask for help. They don't mind helping students.

    In three sentences

    McNeese State University is o.k. I rate it a 7 out of 10. It does not have too much excitement, but if anybody just want to be focused on just their school work, this school would be perfect for them

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have the best coffee I have ever had.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms but my best friend did. It wasn't bad but their suit had a lot of problems.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are always willing to help. The classes are small so you are able to connect with the teachers on a personal level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where you are allowed to park or else you will be given many parking tickets.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are always willing to help. It has small campus with a lot of different people. There are so many different ways to get involved.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel comfortable after and before classes to walk anywhere on campus and not be totally scared, water drains well, no where really dangerous either, even with all of the construction.

    Greek Life

    Very involved and there are many, many, many different types.

    Clubs and Activities

    This campus is very active.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard worker aiming for passion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DON'T STEP ON THE MCNEESE SEAL IN THE QUAD!

    Bang for the buck

    I've never loved anywhere more, people could be kinder though.

    What to do for fun

    Recreational activities, amazing parks, amazing trails, Downtown at Sundown, too many festivals to count and learn about rich Louisiana history.

    Food and Dining

    This is Louisiana. Of course the food is great! I've only good things to say and I have only good things to say as well, lol.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have an opinion on this but I heard that half of them were nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are amazing. I've never felt more challenged and more comfortable with what I'm being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go crazy spending money at places you don't need to. Save, save, save.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing. I grew up here and I will never support another place more. The small city with the university has my heart.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    traditional and non-traditional

    What to do for fun

    Small town atmosphere with a few local usual places to gather.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of local places to eat both on and off campus with easy access.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing college courses are top notch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should make every effort to get to know the faculty in this close knit community. The smaller class sizes are conducive to academic progress and the student make up is varied with both traditional entering college freshmen and non-traditional students.

    In three sentences

    McNeese is a great, local small college with incredible alumni support. The nursing staff is professional and very dedicated to the student nurses and their progression toward a nursing career. I highly recommend this college to prospective nursing students.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I always see postings as to what activities are going on.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!

    Bang for the buck

    All of my professors so far have been nice, patient and helpful. Regardless, college is expensive and McNeese is one of the more cost efficient universities in Louisiana.

    What to do for fun

    Unable to determine since I do not live in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Unable to determine.

    Dorm Life

    Unable to determine since I do not live in a dorm, but I did consider it. The dorms looked nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save, save, save your money so you do not have to take out too many student loans. Prepare yourself for long nights of studying. Get enough rest. Remember to relax and take some time to yourself so you don't get too overwhelmed. Get involved in the community and make good contacts. Get a planner and organize yourself. If you attend the university: GO TO CLASS. If you take classes online: CHECK IT DAILY AND KEEP UP! Most importantly, these are the years where you grow and develop your own thoughts and start to become independent- Embrace that independence and use it wisely.

    In three sentences

    I am attending McNeese State University online and have to say I have had a decent experience so far. It can be difficult gathering all information online rather than physically going to the university but the staff has always responded in a timely manner. Everyone is very polite and it is a great university.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is awesome at McNeese. There are cops everywhere for your protection.

    Great for these types of students

    McNeese is a school for very involved students.

    Bang for the buck

    McNeese is not an expensive school. It is very worth attending.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sporting events to attend and frats to join.

    Food and Dining

    Food is well obtained and nicely handed out. The dining area is also very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    McNeese takes their academics very seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you buckle down and do your work. There are many distractions, but you must push forward to make your dreams come true.

    In three sentences

    McNeese State University is a great college. This college offers many degrees and it has a large social network. McNeese State is very involved with their students and I give McNeese a 10 on a 1-10 scale.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    McNeese Campus is safe, and the police is always on campus and available to give you a ride at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is ok, although theft alternatives are stronger than the sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs, I think there are way too many, compared to the number of students.

    Bang for the buck

    The are scholarships for international students (usually a tuition waiver).

    What to do for fun

    There are organizations on campus, and the homecoming events are fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not so good sometimes

    Dorm Life

    If you are living in the suites, you might not interact with the rest of the people in your hall, this is different for those that live in the traditional dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to visit the school. It's always good to have an idea of what you are getting into

    In three sentences

    McNeese is not a very big school. If you are looking to get more attention from professors, it's a good place to be. The business, nursing, and engineering programs are good.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely not the highest place in the world to get an education, but the tuition is low enough that the education you do get is worth the money you put into it.

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't say that the food choices are phenomenal, but they are decent most of the time. Along with the cafeteria there are a few other non-chain food places that are located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Personally I don't live in the dorms, but I have a couple friends that currently live there. The rooms that you are able to live in are nice, but housing isn't worth putting up with sometimes. They don't really want to help the students in any way. Another thing is that rent keeps increasing every year. That definitely isn't pleasing anybody.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending here, but aren't sure if you'll find a place to fit in, you have nothing to worry about. There is something to do for every type of person out there.

    In three sentences

    McNeese is close to home and the place where my mother got her degree, so for me it was an easy choice because of its location. I have been here for 3 complete semesters and I'm in my fourth, and I just love coming here. I would recommend this University to anybody.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    McNeese police are always out.

    Greek Life

    Fraternities and sororities on campus

    Bang for the buck

    average prices

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my fraternity friends

    Food and Dining

    pretty decent food but prices

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in a dorm but they are not bad at all

    Academic Rigor

    They are known for their nursing but they are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for greek life you wont regret it. get everything done ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    Mcneese is an overall good school. The professors are nice. There is a one on one connection with professors.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    When I visited McNeese for my personal tour, the staff was so nice and welcoming! They were like friends more than workers. I got along with them all so well.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police on campus are concerned and well equipt to respond.

    Greek Life

    Plenty of opportunities to join and well enough that one will enjoy the experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Its very diverse and very good place to be if one likes sports or majors in nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad is an outdoor social event.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and Mcneese has an excellent athletic program so to go watch games is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    Its not the best but its healthy.

    Dorm Life

    It is very diverse

    Tips for prospective students

    Use rate my professor when making your schedule it wil help get the best teachers for a better semester.

    In three sentences

    Mcneese is extremely clean campus. This university has fair amounts of good programs on campus. The student life is awesome for all students.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus safety is very active. The people on duty take their job very serious sometimes a little too serious, but they make sure that if you step foot in this campus that you will not put your life of the lives of anyone else in danger.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here is very active. They host so many events and do so much to get the students evolved.

    Clubs and Activities

    The different club and activities that are offered are endless. They have from christian clubs to Veterinary clubs

    Great for these types of students

    There is not just one things for students there are many. There is a different type of club or activity or even class for every type of person that could possibly attend Mcneese.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is Greek week and for a whole week all the greeks host different events to get the whole school involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Mcneese overall tries to make sure that they provide the best for their student and try to tend to every need. There a few bumps along the way but they push through it to better the education of the people attending.

    What to do for fun

    There is not very much to do in Lake Charles, but they do have a couple of clubs. the good thing about being so far down south is that if we want to go to different places we just jump on the interstate and drive.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining can be a little different. It just depends on what days you go and what special occasion is going on, but we do have different areas to go and eat in if the cafe does not have anything appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is convenient. it makes getting to class a lot more easier and you get to make new life long friends and experience the different types of people that you have to look forward in the world.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip would be make friends, do your work and talk to your professors if you do not understand something.

    In three sentences

    Mcneese has become my new home. Since day one they have treated me like i was apart of a family and made sure that every need i had was met. I would recommend Mcneese to anyone who is looking for a school that is not too big but not too small, family environment and great education.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is always out there.

    Clubs and Activities

    organizations are the way to go. You can do paid internships through a lot of organizations.

    What to do for fun

    I love church

    Food and Dining

    eat at home

    Dorm Life

    stay home

    Academic Rigor

    the class was small. The appropriate grades are required. Tutoring is available

    In three sentences

    has an outstanding professor that teaches the only available safety class. He tells you the good bad and ugly. He even recommends how to dress for an interview and other interviewing tips

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food made on campus is pretty good, There is the cafeteria and a cafe area with a bagel/coffee shop and other lunch type menus. There are a lot of food places withing a 3 mile radius including grocery stores for those who don't want to eat fast food everyday.

    In three sentences

    There are a large numbers of smaller classes with about 50 at most students. Not too big to where you can get to know your professor. Close to home and not too expensive compared to other universities.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    McNeese is a rather small school with helpful people. I went to visit the campus and it was beautiful. I would recommend this college to anyone planing to take their learning to the next level.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling and take their jobs very seriously. If there is any trouble they are always there to help.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is truly inexpensive compared to other universities. The education and the air about you truly make the college experience every one hopes for, for less.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities happening on campus. Football is big in the fall semester and homecoming is the best. In the spring semester they host an annual spring fling with a concert and free food. In between all that, the organizations are always having fun games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. Some days are better than others but be sure to wake up for breakfast on time or you'll miss out.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly new and a nice size. The individual rooms give enough space and the neighbors are always nice.

    Academic Rigor

    McNeese teachers are highly educated and are always expanding their education as well. The classrooms are nice with open windows and the class sizes are a nice size to not feel overwhelmed. This school is always giving an opportunity for a student to move on up either in the classroom or in the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is always scary your first semester of college but do not worry because the residents on McNeese campus are truly helpful in every way. It is a small campus but big enough to get confused on your first couple days of classes, so visit the class buildings before hand.

    In three sentences

    McNeese State University is a wonderful campus, that is every bit of the southern hospitality you need. It is an open, beautiful campus with helpful students and teachers. McNeese is a small university that helps you fulfil your big dreams.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Distant learning student

    Food and Dining

    Distant learning student

    Dorm Life

    Not an campus student; distant learning

    Academic Rigor

    Family and Consumer Science is the major to help families, learn what is needed so that an individual or families have the needed information to overcome life obstacles.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should make sure they studied hard and seek tutors if they feel that school is becoming overwhelming. Do not let school get the best of you. Seek advice and do not quit.

    In three sentences

    McNeese is a school aimed helping students achieve their academic goals. The professors strive in helping students use their knowledge to make the top grades and be the best they can be and have a prosperous future.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Like I said before it is a really small town with very little to no nightlife. If you are looking for something to do you have to travel at least an hour out to Lafayette.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is my least part about this campus. The cafeteria is very dated with very little option when deciding what to eat. The cafeteria only had food three times a day, so if you got hungry around one in the afternoon you were stuck with cold leftovers from lunch. Other dining option such as restaurants in the student union are awesome, but they close early.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms very nice and spacious. They range from apartment style to the traditional. I was in a suite with five other girls and it worked out okay.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors here are very helpful. If you show that you are trying the majority of them will help you.

    In three sentences

    It's a very small university. The majority of the students attending are from the high schools in the surrounding areas. It is a good school, but it needs to be more diversified.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad, there aren't a lot of options though.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a commuter school, the dorm life is low. Burton, where I live, probably has the most active dorm life and it is still fairly low.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not too hard and there is a lot of one on one availability with the professors.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling. Putt-putt. Bars. Movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good if you want to stay in town, but if not, find somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    Good nursing program. Too much construction on campus at once. Library is closed and it sucks.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Zip lining and oozeball (mud volleyball)

    Food and Dining

    There is a bigger variety of food on campus than you would think, considering how small campus is.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus, so I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    McNeese is known mainly for being the best university in Louisiana for nursing students.

    Tips for prospective students

    McNeese is a great choice for a small-town student!

    In three sentences

    A small-scale university with huge opportunities. Can walk across campus in the allotted ten minutes between classes. It is easy to get to know your professors because of the smaller class sizes.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally, my fun comes from spending time with my family and friends. But, Lake Charles does offer some entertainment value with several festivals and celebrations throughout the year. There are also a few clubs or bars that one may find to their liking. As always, Lake Charles is not far from other locales that may offer more of what one is looking for in the way of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Rowdy's Cafeteria offers a buffet-style meal for breakfast and lunch. For those that don't wish to eat in the cafeteria, there is a convenience store, Einstein Bros., and 2 small eateries. Also, there are several fast food locations and restaurants within limited distance from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    McNeese has many programs for students looking to further their education and are taught by instructors who will do their best to teach you what is necessary to pass the courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be mindful of how you schedule your classes in order to give yourself time to do your work and breathe. Be willing to ask for help -- ask other students, your instructors, and friends. Give yourself time for you -- no matter how stressful classwork and homework see -- always allow a little time to do things that make you happy and keep you sane.

    In three sentences

    Diversity is high among students and instructors - many locals, some from out of state and even some international Opportunities exist for different outlets from theater, music, academics, etc.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Mcneese gives you a great experience of college life.

  • 06/14/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and the college is very open to any student who want to create a club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a crayfish boil at the end of the Spring semester for students!

    Bang for the buck

    McNeese does provide many scholarships for students, so the college is affordable. A student at McNeese will get what they put into the college.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, you can go to the usual music performances and sport games, but there are many things to do in the city too. Lake Charles is medium sized city that offers a bit of everything. You can do outdoor things like fishing, hunting, boating, and water skiing. There are also many shops and theaters in Lake Charles.

    Food and Dining

    There is medium sized cafeteria on the campus, and there is also a convince store and an Einstein's Bagel in the student union. There are many places to eat off of campus too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are adequate, but the college apartments are newer and have more room. The only downfall about the apartments is that they are very expensive, and it will be hard to get a suite mate that you get along with well.

    Academic Rigor

    I was was rarely challenged by my professors. My Nutrition professor challenged my the most, but all other professors were very easy on their grading and had very easy tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to stop into a professor or faculty's office even if you don't have a class with them. If you are confused or need academic advice, the McNeese staff is happy to help you,

    In three sentences

    McNeese offers many opportunities for an eager learner. The diversity of people and philosophies are more challenging than the actual academic rigor. The weakest area for McNeese is their professors; most professors are apathetic and lazy, but the truly great ones are few and far between.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems to be a pretty safe campus, many campus cops.

    What to do for fun

    There seems to be a lot going on most of the time. Sporting events are always fun!

    Food and Dining

    Never eaten in the caf so I'm not sure how the food and dining are but Einstein coffee is really great!

    Dorm Life

    I went to another college before attending MSU so I haven't experienced their dorm life, but I have friends living in the apartments and as much as some complain others love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but comfortable. Work load is all dependent on the professor. Grades are earned not given. Many opportunities for one on one help or teacher conferencing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small campus so it is easy to navigate and there are 10 minute breaks between classes which gives you plenty of time. ALWAYS pack umbrella because there is not much cover from the rain!

    In three sentences

    McNeese is a small campus which makes it easy to navigate. The teachers/professors are great. Many people are willing to help new students and old students anytime.

  • 07/24/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, even the most basic dorms have a keycard entry with Help Boxes scattered around the campus. Always have people on patrol and on standby.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a good bit to choose from and they have events going on every week. You'll here of free food being held at the events all the time! At LEAST one day a week you can score free food and some type of activity!

    Bang for the buck

    Much cheaper than other big caliber colleges but you still get a good education for what you pay!

    What to do for fun

    Around town there is downtown Lake Charles with bowling, a couple clubs, the mall. McNeese has events go on every week!

    Food and Dining

    Average selection and quality. They have a cafeteria which offers a buffet.

    Dorm Life

    There prices range from about $400-500 a month. Includes all bills, cable, internet, utilities, etc. I have a large 2 person dorm by myself from one of the options. There is a parking garage next to the campus housing which is also right in the middle of the campus and next to the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Plenty of opportunities to excel academically. They offer a special Honors College that covers full cost of tuition if accepted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the advisors! They are very helpful! The McNeese nursing program is one of the best around. Lots of construction is going on because of expansion!

    In three sentences

    McNeese is a small college with good value. McNeese won't leave you in crippling debt. Their Financial Aid program is a better one.

  • 10/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    McNeese cops everywhere.

    Greek Life

    I do not participate in them because I work full time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities available at McNeese but I do not participate in them because I work full time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The quad is where people hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    GREAT value education.

    What to do for fun

    Lake Charles is limited on fun.

    Food and Dining

    I love the restaurants that are available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I really do not know.

    In three sentences

    I love it here at McNeese. The teachers are great. The only bad thing is the lack of parking spots for students.