Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

McPherson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/10/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town, rural community types of kids!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus! It's amazing! Just the right size if you're coming from a small school and don't want much of a change!

  • 08/29/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It will help you though i you are really trying to go to college.

    Bang for the buck

    KU is almost $10,000 cheaper then McPherson though.

    Will enjoy being here

    It sounds like a place i would enjoy going to.

    Will learn a lot

    They explain their majors and minors clearly and efficiently.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad happens on this campus. It's too small to have its own security force, but the local police station are less than a mile away.

    Greek Life

    There's none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for virtually every major there is in McPherson. We also have many, many service clubs like the Roteract Club (A subgoup of the Rotary organization)

    Great for these types of students

    Pre-Professional students Automotive lovers History lovers Science people Actors/Performers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once a year we have a Campus Blowout, where the entire city of McPherson has a whole day off during the week. During that day the city and college team up to set up all kind of activities for citizens and student to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    The school does a great job with Career services and internship programs. They help students get internships as early as freshman year. It's great for learning how work in the field you want to pursue is.

    What to do for fun

    I'm an actor so I act for fun and the theatre program here is amazing, as I freshman I've been in two shows thus far, it's been a blast. There's also a couple of clubs in town, and a movie theatre the a lot of students frequent on Tuesday night when the school sponsors a $2 tuesday where students pay $2 to see brand new movies. The school is also great about scheduling things like comedians, stunt men, and other acts for students to watch.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fantastic, great variety. Once a week there's a different ethnic option that they haven't done before.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great, I love my room. The internet is very fast and there's a deluxe cable subscription for each room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've had haven't been too challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and visit many, many times. By the time I had enrolled a lot of professors knew me and the entire admissions staff and I were on a first name basis.

    In three sentences

    McPherson College is a fantastic school, it's the perfect size and people here really care about students. They have great extracurricular programs and student employment opportunities. The only down side is a lack of degree options.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful, very safe community.

    Greek Life

    Check out their website.

    Clubs and Activities

    Check out their website.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of $2 movie nights.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, and read.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing, your definitely not in high school anymore.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all nice. I prefer the co-ed ones.

    Academic Rigor

    All the professors are great, and a willing to help you acheive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just keep your grades up and you can always afford to go, it will take hard work but it's worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Great school. Can't wait to further my education there.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get with your adviser right away and stick with them they will walk you through every step.

    In three sentences

    Great smaller college where everyone knows everyone. Teachers and administrators look out for you. Loads of activities.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is always under watch by the on campus police that sleep on campus as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    so many activities to join along with multiple clubs to join as well.

    Great for these types of students

    any student wanting a small town outgoing private college, this is the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every dime including meal plans to the dorm room to your education.

    What to do for fun

    Kansas City is about 45 minutes away filled with various stores and restaurants. along with on campus volunteering or sports to attend and help cheer on your fellow student athletes.

    Food and Dining

    the food is wonderful and you are applied with many options on what to eat whether it's a hot meal or a cold sandwich with a salad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are perfect for any student. The rooms are perfect size and the community areas are filled with many activities for any free time you might have.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher to student ratio is outstanding. I know I will be able to learn well and be able to ask any question and get an answer quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, and dont be afraid to ask questions the staff and students are so helpful and honest.

    In three sentences

    When i visited McPherson College i felt at home. None of the other colleges I visited made me feel like i belonged. The campus is perfect and the soccer team accepted me and my skills in no time.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Dont really know much but if they have the right sports for you go there. they didnt have mine only reason im not going there.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We dont have campus security but the campus is very safe. The police in town patrol every now and then and all the trees are cut up high so you can see across campus and it is well lit at night. Also, all the buildings with classrooms are locked up at a certain time and the dorms are locked 24/7. You have to have a key to get in.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have SGA (student government association) SAB (student activeties board) and we also have the auto restoration club which is the only four year automotive restoration program in the United States. It is also supported by Jay Leno.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are serious about school but who still want to get the college experience. Its for every kind of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When the freshman get here for orientation we have a tradition where they do a walk around campus accompanied by bagpipe players and everyone watches and cheers them on. We also have the senior drive through where the seniors get to drive through the gazebo in the middle of campus for graduation. Also we have spirit week and bulldog madness where the different dorms compete against eachother for prizes. We also have $2 Tuesdays. A deal with the movie theater that College students can watch new movies for $2 every Tuesday.

    What to do for fun

    Well there are always events on campus going on and when there isnt we have a gaming store for those who like to play different card games or like comic books and its open until 11pm and then we also have The Well which is a coffee shop that sometimes also has live entertainment from the two colleges in town. We also have a theater and an opera house. And we are only 20 minutes from Hutchinson, 30 from Salina and an hour from Wichita.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good and the dining atmoshphere is comfortable and laid back. Its not too formal or anything so its nice eating in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The RA (resident assistants) and the RD (resident director) make sure that everyone feels welcome here and they let you know they are here if you need them. I accidentally got locked out late one night and my RD woke up in the middle of the night to let me in and was totally cool about it. Everyone in the dorms are great and they make you feel welcome here right off the bat with movie nights and game nights. We even decorate the halls for holidays and we do secret santas and things like that.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are great! They arent too hard but they arent so easy that you get bored. They keep you challenged and on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like smaller settings then go for smaller schools, there is more one on one with teachers. Here at McPherson College you walk across campus and everyone knows you by name. Also, make sure that you feel comfortable wherever you decide to go. Take a tour and if it seems like a good fit then go from there. If it doesnt then find one that does. There is a school out there for everyone. Make sure if you are looking at McPherson College that you come for one of our scholarship days or visit days. They are a lot of fun and everyone is so nice.

    In three sentences

    It is the best school. Everyone here is welcoming and I feel at home here. I thought I would be home sick but I love it here.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no campus security guards but you have to have a key to get in dorms and the parking lots are well lit along with the sidewalks.

    Greek Life

    There are no Sororities or Fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different clubs in the college. Cars club is big here. I'm in the National Honors Society.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like small classes and a small town feel, it's perfect for you. Professors are always available and you get to participate in class.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition isn't much different from the other private colleges around. The prices in stores around here are cheaper than a lot of other states as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are several activities put on by the college. We have two dollar tuesdays, where every other tuesday you can see a movie in theaters for two dollars. There are DJ events and several fun contests. At the end of the school year there is an All schools day where there are many contests and a parade downtown. There are also two towns thirty minutes away that are bigger and one an hour away Wichita that's the second biggest town in Kansas.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. They usually have two meal options and a vegetarian option as well. There is also a sandwich bar, a salad bar, and a pasta bar. Their cookies are amazing that they make. There is also an ice cream machine. If you don't want to eat at the cafeteria, there is a McDonald's, Arbys, Freddy's, applebees, Montana Mikes (Steak Place), Pizza Hut, Little Caesars, Perkins, Subway, Several Chinese restaurants, KFC, Long John Silvers, Braums, Dairy Queen, Several small diners, Wendy's, Quiznos, and several others. If you want to eat something else there several restaurants in nearby towns.

    Dorm Life

    I don't actually live on campus but I have been in the dorms. They are pretty nice. There is an all girl dorm, two all guy dorms, a co-ed dorm, and brand new apartment like dorm. I recomend tour the diffrent one's before deciding where to live. You will have a room-mate and in the new apartments you will have more than one room mate. Some of the dorms are a little old but there are tv areas, lobby's, laundry rooms, and a little kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. There are several different majors and minors. I'm in psychology and the department is amazing. Professors are supportive and always willing to talk. If you are slipping in classes they are willing to help you out. We even have an entrepreneurial major and a new masters in teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to start your paperwork early so you don't have to pay a fee for turning it in late. It's alright if you don't have a major picked out. There is an undecided course you can follow until you figure it out.

    In three sentences

    A small campus community. Great class interaction and small class sizes. Lots of different majors and minors to choose from.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's not your every homemade meal, but its also made in bulk.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on the hall you're in, this college is very old.

    Academic Rigor

    The sciences here are definitely demanding. Not that the others aren't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared as a science major, the work load is rigorous compared to most other majors. Don't expect the best roommate, even if its someone you picked, if you can choose someone you know very, very well. Expect the best, prepare of the worst.

    In three sentences

    They could improve how they communicate with students concerning financial aid and other administration issues. The small community provides a sense of a second home, it allows you to get to know more people and people are more willing to make new friends, creating new bonds. It may not be for everyone, the small town vibe, you have to really know what you want.