Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Medaille College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education and Vet Tech students/ biology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your Financial aid packet done early!!

    Bang for the buck

    The price is a little high but for the price that you end up paying you get a fair amount of financial aid that helps and you can apply for loans as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even Though Medaille is a College pretty close to the city limits it's campus location is still very quiet. There is Delaware park just across the street from it and the zoo is just around the corner.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are all very warming and they will help you If you ask for it!!! You have to ask for the help or else they will not know that you are struggling with what you are learning in class. I am learning a lot about everything that we are being taught, the classes are a nice small size its just about 20 students to 1 teacher.

  • 12/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vet tech, sports management, communications, undecided or liberal studies majors... anyone really! Amazing school:-)

    Tips for prospective students

    Medaille does not offer many majors, but the reasoning behind that is that they offer the best available program for each major available, so you need not question the strength of any particular concentration. The vet tech program in particular is very popular. All students have the opportunity to complete some type of internship or field experience prior to graduation, which is indispensable experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Medaille offered me a substantially better financial aid package than all of the other schools I applied to, both private and public. They have excellent merit-based scholarships, and seek out the maximum federal and state grants available for each student. I had problems with my FAFSA as a freshman and had to fill out an amended tax return; the financial aid office was very friendly and helpful, and worked to get me the most money possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I originally chose Medaille for their reputable vet tech program (I was a vet tech/biology double major), I have since changed my major twice but I feel that I made a great choice of college regardless. I am now majoring in Liberal Studies, which gives me the option to choose from a wide range of interesting classes. I have made several very close friends, and everyone I meet on campus is very friendly and helpful! I love the close-knit, family-like atmosphere of Medaille and the professors are great!

    Am learning a lot

    The content of the classes at Medaille varies widely, but I have learned a lot! The biology courses are very demanding and contain a significant amount of information, but the professors will give you the tools to succeed.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I love the campus and the people I've met so far all seem nice.

    Will learn a lot

    I am starting classes in the fall and I hope to learn alot that will help me on the road to becoming a veterinarian.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is just seconds away from campus, so there isn't a problem with safety.

    Greek Life

    there is not anything on campus but there are fliers that go around talking about sororities .

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs and activities to do on campus, sga, leadership, i couldn't name them all because so many posters and fliers are out there. if you have a hobby or interest there is most likely a club for it .

    Great for these types of students

    students who don't like big schools, and students who don't enjoy change.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the quad on campus is a nice grass area to sit and relax.

    Bang for the buck

    the medaille experience is really worth the money, in my perspective i have been and will continue to get the bang for my buck.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of sports so games are fun, good parties and a very enthusiastic sga and student activities board that allow for several get togethers and events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is actually good, yet a little pricey the staff works hard and loves what they do, most of them know familiar faces and they try their best to make and serve food for us.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is really great, the dorms in south hall are very spacious and allow you and your other roommate to have a nice bathroom. also in north there are suites/apartments with kitchens that you can apply for. dorming allows for new friends and relationships with people you don't have class with.

    Academic Rigor

    medaille is hard for me due to me major, but all of my friends have been able to manage passing their classes and staying on top of work without being too overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are prepared for the college level of work, and don't be too freaked out because medaille is a college but still has some of the feel of a high school.

    In three sentences

    medaille college is a small school, which ultimately gives you a chance to know your fellow students and teachers on a personal level. this school is great because the size allows for small walks, and a very fun and exciting location. the classes and teachers are great band most teachers will know you personally and go out of their way to have you pass.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small very safe campus, campus safety doesn't have much to do.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs that try their best to provide activities. The end of year carnivals and concerts throughout the year have been a nice addition.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, education majors and vet tech students

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school, so make sure it is offering what you want before you make up your mind.

    What to do for fun

    Leaving campus is pretty much your only option.

    Food and Dining

    It would be nice if the cafeteria was open later and if the snack bar was open earlier, but the fourth floor lounge is nice.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, but I hear it can be boring. The dorms aren't bad though.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of coursework depends on your major. If you are a vet tech student, it seems you will always be studying. If you're a communications or sports management major, probably not.

    Tips for prospective students

    If parking on campus, make sure to get there early because the lot fills up fast. Parking at the zoo is no fun. Try to group your classes together, there is not much to do between breaks.

    In three sentences

    Medaille is a very small, close campus. Everyone is very welcoming and you quickly feel like you are a part of a family. While not as exciting as larger schools, there is a real sense of community and pride.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Mens Soccer is the pinnacle of the institution's athletics program. Go Mavs!

    Food and Dining

    Catered: but it gets old real fast

    Dorm Life

    Its fun. A lot of activites on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the learning comes from attending every class because of most professors do a lot of class discussions and lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a small school feel in a large city, Medaille is perfect.

    In three sentences

    Small, warm and intimate school. Good student/teacher ratio. Great psychology program

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is great campus safety. If you miss the bus that takes you to the zoo if you had to park there the campus will give you a ride there.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have all types of clubs and if there isn't one you like you can make your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are shy. Students that like it quiet. Hard working students. People who don't like drama.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym, and a new gaming room. There is alway computers open. You can go downtown and hangout there or at the marina.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good here. I don't eat it for dinner but they just added a new part where you can get ice cream and stuff which is really cool.

    Dorm Life

    From what I have seen dorm life is pretty cool. It's not noisy so you can study and the students are super friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses aren't the easiest. Teachers push you to be the best you can be. But you will lern at this college and if you don't get something the teacher will help you or there is a tutoring center and it had great tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't want to sit in a classroom with 300 other people this is the place for you. They are super helpful with helping with homework, your fafsa, and if you are having a rough time.

    In three sentences

    Medaille is very helpful. This college is small and has nice sized classes. The staff and teachers here are amazing.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    every week there's something fun to do

    Food and Dining

    good eats.

    Dorm Life

    try it.

    Academic Rigor

    its hard and fun at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't overload. sleep. ask for help.

    In three sentences

    medaille make you want to be here and learn. makes you feel like your part of a family. is there for you throughout the school year to make sure your alright.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i am a student athlete so i play alot of basketball or 2k13 in my spare time.

    Food and Dining

    food is alright could have more variety but its good.

    Dorm Life

    is great its small everyone knows everyone. its easy to make friends, and people are nice

    Academic Rigor

    this school helps push you in class and in life

    Tips for prospective students

    get as much help as possible because the teachers are here to help you. build a relationship with your advisor.

    In three sentences

    this is a great college with a plan to help you be successful.and teachers that care.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You better invent something to do. Unless you wish to join a club or sport.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring Money and food.

    In three sentences

    An interesting college with interesting people. Amazing classes with great professors. Food that could use some major improvement.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students coming from small high schools that are intimidated by large universities. This is a great place for you.

    What to do for fun

    I am a commuter student so I am rarely on campus for events.

    Food and Dining

    I hear good and bad things about the food. I have never personal eaten at the cafeteria. Freshens cafe has smoothies and crepes which I highly recommend.

    Dorm Life

    I have never dormed here.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently in the Veterinary Technology program. I would say this is the most competitive and difficult program at Medaille.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get to school early because competition for parking spots can be rough. Get to know your advisor and professors they will be very helpful in reaching your goal. Even if a class is tough do not give up. Always put in your best work because not all classes can be retaken for credit.

    In three sentences

    Medaille is great for one on one attention with professors. It is a small community with in the college so it is not intimidating for incoming freshman. Parking is a pain.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is a joke, if something is wrong, they will call the real cops.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most clubs at Medaille are inactive.

    Great for these types of students

    Vet Techs.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is more affordable than most similar institutions, but you really have to work hard to get something out of it.

    What to do for fun

    The school is very close to the city/other campuses, so there is usually something to do. Although, Medaille students pretty much just drink.

    Food and Dining

    The food is hit and miss: some day it's good, some days not so much. The prices went up dramatically in 2013, making it a hassle for people without a meal plan to eat on campus. The options also get repetitive very fast.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are much nicer than those at other campuses in terms of size and set-up. You have control of your own heat and in most cases, you get your own bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are too easy (unless you're in the Vet Tech program) and there aren't many choices of free electives so it may be difficult to find courses that really challenge you. Some professors will challenge you more if they know you're capable.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Vet Tech is actually a much more difficult major than most people initially believe, so make sure you're capable of a rigorous program before enrolling -Know what you want to study before deciding to attend; the school does not have a lot of major choices, so being Undecided usually doesn't work out -Find a professor to act as your mentor; it makes any problems you may encounter go a lot smoother

    In three sentences

    Medaille College is far from the best institution you can attend, but the financial aid is better than most of the other colleges in the region. The academics are sub-par and there is a lack of elective options. Don't expect help from campus offices or administrators.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    vet tech students. medaille offers a 2 or 4 yr vet tech program and they really make sure you know veterinary terms and procedures

    What to do for fun

    there are get togethers on certain floors in dorms, many clubs, movie nights, zumba, dodgeball tournaments, etc

    Food and Dining

    good variety. you do get sick of it sometimes, but you will at any school. the workers are very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    south hall has better dorms than north hall. both dorms have bathrooms in the rooms--you dont share them with the whole floor.

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on your major. vet tech students have much more difficult classes and more homework than a sports management major

    Tips for prospective students

    it can be expensive, so apply for all the scholarships you can

    In three sentences

    small. good teacher/student ratio. can really get to know your professors and advisors.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feels like a nice safe campus so far, probably due in part to its size. I do see officers around, and they have posters everybody with the number for public safety, if you need help anytime, anywhere.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    Though I don't have the chance to check any of them out personally, they seem to have a good variety and number of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Vet Techs and those not wanting to go to a large university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of, but I am also only a freshman.

    Bang for the buck

    Though Medaille is known as a more expensive school, I can say from my experience it seems to be worth it so far. The small class sizes, the one on one attention you can get, the hands on training you receive, it all adds up to a good experience where you feel you are actually learning.

    What to do for fun

    I don't know what that is, as I am too busy with schoolwork and do not live on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have just begun exploring the cafeteria this semester, and what I have had has been reasonably tasty and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot comment on this as I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I am in the vet tech program, my schoolwork is pretty rigorous. It is a worthwhile program I believe, but as they will tell you up front, know going into it that it is not easy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard, you only get what you earn! Don't be afraid to ask for help with things, that's what the staff is there for, and YOU are paying for this! Become friends with coffee, even if you don't drink it now, you will! Learn what study habits really work for you, but don't be afraid to try something new to see if it works better or as well.

    In three sentences

    For the semester and a half that I have been at Medaille College, my time there has been enjoyable and I definitely feel that I am learning a lot. The classes are small like they advertise, which is great for me. Almost everybody I have come in contact with really does seem interested in helping me learn and do my best.

  • 06/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go up to the 4th floor café with friend, sit and laugh

    In three sentences

    Great school to apply to, very small great class size. All my professors know me by name and I think that is awesome. Somebody is always there to help.