Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mendocino College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply it's a really good college and it could save you a lot of money.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes I will enjoy to attend this college.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes I hope

  • 02/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    study

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for people who can't afford to go to a four year university for four years, as well as people who are working and want to learn in their free time. I also have a friend who flunked out of a major university, but now he's really applying himself and is doing great in his classes here. If you couldn't handle the large university pressure, then a small college like Mendocino College is a good choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    I enjoy it here, and it has given me time to get a job and consider my future. The Career and Transfer Center offers counselors to help you decide where to transfer to or what job to get in the future.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely. Being a 2 year college, Mendocino is cheap, and has many ways to save more money, from book vouchers to fee waivers. There are also free computer labs and tutors to help you study.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes very much. It's great to be able to study what interests me, which is computers. Last semester I also took guitar and it improved my guitar skills a lot. I've met many new people who I'm now good friends with. Classes are much more interesting than they were in high school.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, I am learning more than I did in high school. The computer faculty is small, but I really like the computer teacher I have for most of the classes. The teachers have time for individual students in every single class I've taken, and quite a few take an active roll in encouraging and helping their students.

  • 08/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's relatively inexpensive to go here. My 1 complaint is the Financial Aid Dept. To be quite honest, I have been talked to better by enemies. I have asked questions to only be told I shouldn't be asking questions. I have been talked to as a second class citizen, very rudely. My financial aid counselor has made huge mistakes that a fill-in counselor caught ( this has happened 3X's in 4 semesters ) and I would have been shorted over $2,000 in Fed Aid. So, my advise is to learn about Fin Aid, and thoroughly look over your awards if a Mendo counselor has handled it. This review shouldn't be banned by this site!

    Am enjoying being here

    Ive been to a big unv. so this place is a bit boring. although Im here to study, so Im not looking to party

    Am learning a lot

    Good Faculty

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    shatts bakery, yum!

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    manage your time wisely, you are in college now. deborah white is an amazing math teacher.

    In three sentences

    i really like mendocino college because it is very personable. you quickly know a lot of people on campus and have multiple classes with them. coming from a small school you get a lot of personal attention from the faculty, and i have really enjoyed my time here.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus security thats there to help always

    Bang for the buck

    we have special days where students and teacher get together and have bbqs and have tickets sales for prizes

    What to do for fun

    there is a lot of baseball games, basketball games, women and men

    Food and Dining

    schat's bakery is awesome

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    very hard you have to keep up on all work and school work

    Tips for prospective students

    come and check everything out we have tutoring and career center jobs

    In three sentences

    very helpful to all students the campus is very open to all

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot here

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student

    What to do for fun

    Go to Mendocino Lake, go to the Dams, and go looking around town

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work and to learn alot

    In three sentences

    A great place to learn with teachers that care. A small class ratio to the teachers. A beautiful place to go to school.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play Sports! Meet friends!

    Food and Dining

    Go eat at BE-BOPS!

    Dorm Life

    I have enjoyed living off- campus

    Academic Rigor

    The acedemics is very encouraging here and the teachers make you feel heard if you have cincerna about your grades or learnign process.

    Tips for prospective students

    The counselors are very helpful! meet with one and see all your opinions with Mendocino College. Study hard, don't get lazy!

    In three sentences

    I have found all of the staff to be very helpful and encouraging at Mendocino College. As a student-athlete it has been a nice transition from high school to college thanks to the coaches and staff.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    None.

    Food and Dining

    Shawtts Bakery is a nice, healthy morning meal.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers really know their education, but I do believe they all grade hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise people to apply early and register as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    I have to drive 35 minutes to a science class. The classes at Mendocino college are only offered at certain times. There are rarely any classes open during a semester.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities offered on campus

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for all types of students, especially later in life students.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to community college is a very economical way to get a degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is Schats Bakery on campus and they offer lunch options, snacks and beverages

    Dorm Life

    Mendocino does not have Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is very important to attend your classes so that you get the necessary information in order to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many ways to attend classes at Mendocino College. They offer online, distance, day and evening classes. Be sure to pick classes that you will be able to handle because they have a strict dropping policy.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Capus saftey is good

    What to do for fun

    I just read my books outside in the tree/park area.

    Food and Dining

    The Shats store that they have here is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books online!

    In three sentences

    Mendocino College is a wonderful school because of how close it is to my home. Its lovley homey feeling is one of the best I've seen. THe teachers a great.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus. Most if not all happens at the Ukiah campus. Sporting events, plays, musicals, and student activities are just few of the things to do at school. If you are a full time student you don't get much time to have a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a little deli / restaurant on the Ukiah campus and I really like their food. However if you are on a budget I would not recommend eating there and would recommend buy food at the store and bring a lunch to school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know what the dorms are like. Honestly I don't even think there are dorms. I like having my own space to do my school work. I can plan better for my success.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take with any instructor will depend on how easy or hard a class is. Many teacher will require you to read everything in which they base their quizzes on. Some teachers will require you to read a chapter and have a class discussion on what you have read.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of what you need to do for your current classes, when you can see a counselor, when to apply for fasfa, who to talk to about issues you encounter, and stay involved with your own learning. Find resources that will help you stay organized because that will help you be more effective with your learning.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy being a student at Mendocino college because I like how inexpensive it is to attend. I feel welcome at my college. I like the atmosphere of where I can learn as much as I would like to.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Just one place to eat: Schat's. It's a sandwich place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of office hours and be sure to really understand the instructors' syllabus!

    In three sentences

    Mendocino has a beautiful campus and a helpful staff. It's small enough to get an intimate feel, but big enough to meet new people in each class. There are plenty of resources here to help any student.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    16 dollars to get classes with the board of governor fee wavers, books as i said if you price match you will make your money back.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the disk golf range and eat some food and walk throughout the beautiful campus.

    Food and Dining

    Shats is a wonderful cafe that has a diverse range of daily cooked and fresh foods.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms due to it being a community college

    Academic Rigor

    For a college, it seems to be much easier than high school was, its difficult depending on the class, and some teacher let things slide more, but some teachers are very strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and sell back books on first day of buy backs, making the most for your money, and also price check the books. (i've made money nearly every year, one year i made 80 dollars selling books back) Utilize the on campus computer labs and library to do any research, also is a store that carries food on campus. Find many new friends that have very diverse activities, living in a very diverse area and everyone is for the most part very friendly.

    In three sentences

    Mendocino College has enough space to accommodate the amount of people that live in Lake and Mendocino county. The staff is very friendly and will go to any length to make sure your needs are met. The new lake campus has a wonderful design and the Ukiah campus also is very decorative and beautiful.