Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Menlo College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Menlo is a great school & if you choose to come here, you will have an awesome experience because you are in Northern California & their is a lot to do up here like going up to San Francisco & having a good time up there. There's a lot on the agenda and Menlo is willing to offer students that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some advice that I would offer prospective students if they plan on either applying or attending Menlo, they should really look at what they really want to do because Menlo has connections around Silicon Valley & if you perhaps meet people who know people, you will then start working your way up the rank. I would also recommend that students should apply to some outside scholarships because some students might not get the full academic scholarship & it could be hard to pay for at the start of school.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure what Bang for the buck means but I'm kind of thinking that it means the financial part here at Menlo. Menlo is an expensive school here because it is a small school & it is in one of the richest cities in the nation. But the pros for coming to Menlo due to it being so pricey are the education that it offers which I had explained earlier, the school events that are always going on around campus, and also the scholarships they offer you. You can come to Menlo usually all on academic scholarships. They give you a good amount of money for you to come here at Menlo to learn how to come an entrepreneur & own your own business one day.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoyed my freshman year here at Menlo because their were always events going on that was keeping you busy. Their are music nights in the student union, carnival events on campus, & the list keeps going on. The Hawaii Club puts on some cool events that a lot of people like to attend. We have the reggae jam session which features a lot of reggae groups from Hawaii & California. And towards the end of school year, the Hawaii Club puts on their Luau (Hawaiian Party) that brings a lot of attention from other schools, public, & students and staff on campus. I enjoy being here because I feel that I can fit in with everybody here at Menlo.

    Am learning a lot

    The education here is awesome. Since the school is kind of small, you get more one on one sessions with your teachers which then helps you out more because you get ask more questions, get the feedback you need right then & there, & if teachers are not available, their are peer tutors, writing labs, & a program that we call Study Slam & that is where some of your teachers come in & give you one on one help as well. They also seduce students to come to Study Slam by buying pizza, ice cream, & soft drinks which not only lets them to be serious while working, but just having more of a good time.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Menlo's administration has retained the services of a privately held and highly experienced security firm based within the San Francisco Bay Area. The efforts of security guards whilst on duty are chiefly emphasised on repelling strangers from campus property as opposed to addressing in-house security issues--(because there are so few) However, in the event a student has the audacity to commit a vile act of littering, rest assure that our unyielding, five foot two inch Menlo Guards, shall pursue them with a black, spine-chilling MagLite flashlight.

    Greek Life

    There are reports of Greek Life arriving on campus in the near future, I believe a sorority of some sort.

    Clubs and Activities

    In addition to the abundant selection of clubs already in existence, Menlo College has permitted the procedures for formation of new clubs on campus to be quite simple. The completely unbiased Allocation Board Committee even supplies clubs with funding totaling a generous 400 dollars per semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Small atmosphere, business oriented, academically competitive, financially content, culturally accepting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In a vast majority of events held on campus, food is never in short supply. Free gourmet pizza and wine may be found at any study event on most Tuesdays from 7-9pm.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course! Menlo College is the Stanford quality education without the Stanford price. (most full-time professors posses a Graduate degree from Stanford, Berkeley, Harvard, Yale, etc.)

    What to do for fun

    Attend any or all Stanford Parties... Go to San Francisco by car, bus, Caltrain, taxi or just obtain a free ride with one of the students here during the weekend... Tavern night is always fun: free alcoholic beverages, exotic juices, sodas, ice cream, food, flirtatious exchanges and KAREOKE!!

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is the company which caters to Menlo College. Most days, the food selection is phenomenal; their best days consist of an unlimited buffet style of options including a variety of salads, Chicken Parmesan and Alfredo Linguini, Asian style beef with spicy Thai noodles, a hamburger bar or taco station. I strongly commend Sodexo for employing individuals on their staff whom are diagnosed with cognitive disabilities and encourage management to replace employees that display poor attitudes toward Menlo staff and students.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls, with the exception of El Camino, smell of pristine tree:)

    Academic Rigor

    If you consider yourself highly talented in subject matter such as mathematics, you are mistaken. Come take an advanced Math 102 or Statistics course with Professor Loe, a retired Lockheed-Martin aeronautics engineer and we shall see who the talented one is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think twice: attend Menlo College. It is not nessesary to declare a major your freshman year, there is plenty of time to decide.

    In three sentences

    At Menlo, you don't get what you pay for, you get more than what you pay for.

  • 02/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for Business/Accounting and Psychology Majors!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to College with an Open Mind! Chances are they are as scared as you are! Be open to new experiences and making new friends! Don't try to attend a college where all your friends will be. The point of college is to move on from High School, so choose a school thats best for YOU, not for your FRIENDS.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a pretty expensive school, but the education and friends you meet are worth it! Based on your High School GPA, they give you money from the start! So the higher your GPA, the more money you get!

    Am enjoying being here

    Coming from a small private school in Honolulu, Hawaii, I was hesitant to go to a large college. Menlo was a perfect transition for me because Menlo is also a small school, but bigger than my High School. Everyone is very friendly here and there are a lot of Hawaii students which makes it feel a lot like home. The faculty is always around to help you with anything you need. The CalTrain is only a few blocks away so its always easy to get to the Movies or the Mall or even San Francisco!

    Am learning a lot

    The education here is awesome. The teachers are always willing to help you out with any problems you may have whether it be with school work or personal problems. The faculty is really dedicated to the students and making sure that they are happy. If we are having trouble with school, there are weekly study sessions where professors come to help students and fellow student tutors are able to help each other. There's also free pizza!

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Business, people who like one on one attention

    Tips for prospective students

    Menlo may be small, and look quiet, but it packs a punch.

    Bang for the buck

    Menlo College is a private small college, as a result it is very pricey. However, they do offer many scholarships. The people that you get to meet, the professors that teach, and the opportunities that this college offers you is well worth the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending Menlo! It is a small school, and it has so many programs for the students. If you are struggling with anything, anything at all, there is a program for it. What's even more amazing is that the programs are free. Every Tuesday you can go to study slam, where professors go to a common area and help you if you need any help. If that isn't enough, the students that attend Menlo are bright, and more often than not you can ask a fellow student for help.

    Am learning a lot

    I found that the education offered at this institution is superb. The largest class I have been in consisted of no more than 25 students. However, most of my classes consist of 10-15. The smallest class that I have had was of 5 people. Since the classes are so small, speaking to your professors is easy and painless. They provide you with an atmosphere where not only are you free to express your views and opinions, but you can also challenge others' views and opinions. As also, the professors here are the best in their fields. Not only that, but most professors not only teach at Menlo, but they work in the fields that they teach and are very successful.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because I do not drink, party or have sex, because I am extremely religious, I do NOT feel safe at menlo college. It is clear with the facts I stated above, allows drinking, allows sex and students in eachothers dorms, they just want the money don't care about anything else.

    Clubs and Activities

    Need more if they want to pull off students for some strange reason attending here.

    Great for these types of students

    Like I said, if you want to fish out 50k of daddy and mommy's money at a pathetic college to bang around, attend menlo college.

    Bang for the buck

    I've stressed this over and over, they don't even accept Cal grants. Another thing the college at financial aid won't tell you. You have to be messing up somewhere to not be able to take in Cal grants, means the college might not be accerated, too many transfer out or students not finding a real job once graduating. From what I saw, more then half of graduates work at the college just so the college can say hey our students do have jobs

    What to do for fun

    I was only there touring the campus for a full 12 hours and I could tell on the students faces there's nothing to do there. Besides the obvious drinking and sleeping eachother for time kill. The isolation and being out of no where will drive a student insane. You need a car to go here.

    Food and Dining

    Average, same food and way over priced. Wouldn't be happy and would feel stuck going out in san fransico to stock up on food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm's are TINY. This is the real reason why they won't show them to you on a scheduled campus tour for prospective students. They also allow drinking at the college and additionally they allow men in a girls dorm room or girls in a guys dorm room. It's easy to open the opposite sexes dorm room. Everyone sleeps with everyone because the college is small.

    Academic Rigor

    cannot say I did not attend

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a different college, choose one that isn't Menlo College or Pacific Union College if you can't afford it. Neither or worth attending.

    In three sentences

    Over priced, selfish, small.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think it will pay off because you are getting a higher education and you know that you will have a lot of help.

    Will enjoy being here

    College is a great way to meet new people and since this college is kind of small class wise then you would be able to get to know a bunch of new people.

    Will learn a lot

    I believe since this college has fewer students that you will be able to get one on one help rather than going to a huge university and not getting much help because there are so many students.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Menlo College is very diverse and a good school for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the school and your college experience will be a hundred times better than expected.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Menlo College is a bang for your buck yes the school is expensive but the resources that are provided make up for the cost. Through out the school year there are plenty of giveaways of free Menlo gear, free food, free printing, free backpacks, free tutoring, tavern card (free beer 21+ on Thursdays) everything that the school puts one besides the two major dances are free for all students and even the day students get to eat in the cafeteria throughout the year free on certain days. (And all sporting events are free for students)

    Am enjoying being here

    Menlo College is an amazing place to be although Menlo College was not my first choice after visiting the school with my parents I knew this was the school that I wanted to attend. The people at Menlo College are very open and friendly there are no outsiders because the school is not just a school but a community family. Besides the school the community around Menlo College is amazing we are in walking distance of downtown Menlo Park and we are close to San Francisco.

    Am learning a lot

    No one class at Menlo is taught in the same way, each class is different whether it is a straightforward subject such as math or a diverse subject like the study of anthropology. After finishing off a semester no one student can say that they have the same mindset they had going into the class or that everyday something new was not learned.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in the business career I suggest you take a look at Menlo College. We are known for the prestige and acceptance of all major coorporations and businesses that look at our resumes once we leave Menlo College after four years.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is definitely very accepting of anyone that joins our Menlo community, so if you ever decide to join Menlo College it is very easy to make friends and learn a lot of new things you never knew about yourself before.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive, but Menlo College does help us out a lot with scholarships, grants, and jobs on campus that make the payment process through your four years here a lot easier. You are also able to get all the classes you want unlike state or UC colleges that can barely offer you three classes a year.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I realize it is known for being a small school, you create so many close bonds with everyone that goes here. As long as you join clubs and other extracurricular activities, it is definitely worth your time to go to this school. Menlo College is awesome!!

    Am learning a lot

    You learn so much at this school. By the end of the year you finally realize how much more prepared you are to go out in the real world and start your career.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I Loved going to see Menlo you fall in love with all the benefits it brings once you reach the campus you must really know what it is that you want to do with your life because changing your major can be expensive because Menlo does not offer much choices. If you love a small learning environment and enthusiastic teacher you should go to Menlo. For quite students a great time to see the world move away from how and explore education in a completely different way. I hope that you chose carefully and do not make the same mistake I did go to Menlo if your sure that's what you want in your in. You will get a feeling like you belong! :)

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you like small colleges (650 students or less) and want one-on-one help with any school administrator, this is definitely the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking into majoring in business, menlo is definitely a great school because it specializes in business and is located in the heart of silicon valley.

    Bang for the buck

    menlo is a pricey school but you receive so much financial help from the school. they award scholarships for students with high academics in high school so it's worth it in that part. you also receive financial aid which helps eliminate high costs for this school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I currently live off-campus so I don't really get that whole college feel yet. I hear the campus has a lot going on, but if you're into parties, Menlo doesn't do much of that.

    Academic Rigor

    the thing i enjoy about menlo is that the professors definitely know what they're teaching. most professors here have ph.d's and teach what they truly know. you wouldn't be disappointed education-wise.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are securities around the campus to monitor and to ensure that the campus is a safe environment to live in. The dorm doors have locks, thus not anyone can just go in. There are poles in the school where students push the button that signifies there is a threat going on.

    What to do for fun

    We have a student union where students can hang-out during their free time: billiards, TV, and Tavern. We also have activities in front of the cafeteria where students in each dorms compete and get prizes. Every Sunday from 4pm to 6pm there is a Hula Practice, anyone can join to learn the traditional dance of Hawaii.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is very clean and convenient. We have a variety of food every single day. Food are mostly organic. The staffs in the cafeteria are really nice, they make sure students are getting treated equally.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are maintained clean by the janitors: hallways, bathrooms, and lounges. The doors have locks so no one can just come in, only those who live in that certain floor can go in. Each dorm has laundry place and it is free, no charge.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are willing to help with any questions that students have in mind, thus makes the work easy. Homework are mostly assigned 1 week before the deadline. Teachers in several departments are always in study slams during Tuesday nights where they help students and answer their questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in school's event such as: homecoming, club signing, and volunteering. Always study or read notes before going to class. Go to study slams, tutors, and writing center to get help in academic aspect.

    In three sentences

    Menlo College is a great school for Business. Professors, Counselors, and Staffs are very kind to everyone. Everyone in this school is treated with equity.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because the campus is so small, it's easy for the campus security to monitor everything. The dorms require an ID card to get into and each dorm room has a special code, so it is difficult for people to get into them unless they know someone inside the college.

    Greek Life

    There are no frats or sororities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different types of clubs. Some have really fun activities, but most don't send out information until the last minute and sometimes don't contact you at all.

    Great for these types of students

    Business majors. Especially people that have a car and money.

    Bang for the buck

    The college charges a flat rate for tuition, so you will pay the same amount whether you take 12 credits or 19. The college also offers a dining plan along with housing costs. Clubs are free to join (sometimes you have to pay $5 for special activities) and they help alleviate the boredom you would otherwise face on the weekends.

    What to do for fun

    If you have money, there is a lot to do outside of campus. There are many shops within a mile and Stanford Shopping Center is less than two miles away, but the stores there are too expensive for most college students (it has Louis Vuitton, Juicy Couture, Coach, etc). You can also reach San Francisco in less than 45 minutes. On campus, there are activities almost every night (karaoke nights, game nights, movies, etc), but most of them do not appeal to everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is very hit-and-miss. On some days, there will be really great food, but on most days, it's always the same dishes- tacos, hamburgers, chicken with herbs, or beef with gravy. The only consistent food is the salad bar, pizza, and hamburgers. The organic fruit is rarely ripe- it is always either green or overripe.

    Dorm Life

    There are five different dorm buildings here. Two of them are new and have nicer facilities than the others (larger rooms with carpet, cleaner showers and toilets, more space for dressers, etc). Most halls have about 10-15 people per hall (usually two single rooms, one triple room, and the rest are doubles) and you must have your ID card to get into your hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education courses are pretty weak (some of them don't transfer to other colleges/universities) and the teachers have their favorites, just like in high school. The core curriculum teachers are a little better and expect a lot from you. You can be sure that you will have at least an hour of homework per night if you're taking more than 12 credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, visit the campus and stay here for a night before you make a decision. The size of the campus has a lot of advantages, but it also has its drawbacks. Sometimes it feels like an extension of high school because everyone knows everyone else and gossip gets around fast.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus with less than 1,000 students enrolled annually and the class sizes are pretty small, usually with less than 20 people per class. Menlo has a good reputation for turning out successful management majors, but lacking a little in the finance and accounting department. It also offers an undergrad program for psychology, but the college is focused mostly on business degrees and the best education here is in business.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe. The campus is small so everyone knows everyone. Security is around 24/7. Their office is always opened or you can also call them if you need anything.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. They welcome anyone to join and host many events. Most of the time there are activities happening around campus. Most of them are free and they always have food!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of entertainment around Menlo College. Palo Alto, Redwood City, and San Jose are all near by cities and they all offer a variety of places to go. San Francisco is also near so you can take the Cal Train up there and have a blast in the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is from Sodexo. It is not always great but they do offer a variety. The food is also all organic. The dining hall is opened for breakfast (7:30am -10am), lunch(11:30am-2pm) and dinner(5:30pm-7pm).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are basic. They are all boy and all girl halls but students can have people of the opposite sex in their room. Being that the campus is small dorms are definitely not the place to party. The RA's are all very nice and helpful. Most of the halls are boy halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are very laid back but they expect their students to try their hardest. The core classes are definitely the harder ones but the professor are very good and are always willing to offer extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Menlo is a business school so the school is focused around that. if you are not interested in business Menlo is not the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Menlo College is a small campus with about 650 students. While it may be small it is a very good school if you are interested in pursuing a business career. Menlo has many connections and most students have a job lined up for them when they graduate.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is open to the whole community and nothing dire happens. the most fiendish thing that ever happened in the neighborhood was that a bike was stolen. Security patrols daily and are always available to call for anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs that like to throw festivals and do daily activities. Many offer SERV hours and often make food. some even plan trips.

    Bang for the buck

    small class sizes, and the people who work here really try and help you as well as understand you. they are concerned with your well being and you are not seen as just a couple thousand dollars making your way through life.

    What to do for fun

    many on campus activities as well as opportunities to network among business related functions. San Francisco, San Jose and San Mateo are also only 30 minutes away if you want to hop the train and find something out of the area.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food is really good. and then there are some days where it is a miss but they offer many options so you are not forced to eat the same thing, and you can ask the grills men to make you something too.

    Dorm Life

    spacious rooms, but triples can be interesting to figure out since its a desk attached to bunk bed. Usually calm but can be active on weekends. facilities well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are usually laid-back, some professors can be challenging or certain assignments. However they offer weekly tutoring sessions, and a study slam where your professors will assist you in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    the better your GPA, the more scholarship money you receive. Try to snag on campus jobs in early fall before they are all applied for.

    In three sentences

    Very small and everyone knows your face if not your name. Classes are easy to switch into and drop. A great place to network due to the area.