Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mercer County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Complete homework. Study. And have fun while doing it.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is reasonable and affordable for most.

    Am enjoying being here

    Other students are helpful and friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors take the time to make sure you understand material. There is also a learning center available on campus to help students with work.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not to expensive and ok

    Tips for prospective students

    attend to class, do your homework and work hard

    In three sentences

    MCCC is a good school. Good teacher who take times to listen to you and help you. People are really friendly.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well protect with officers the are on duty and focused all the time. Emergency phone booths are scattered throughout the school just in case an issue comes about.

    Greek Life

    mercer has a few honor societies, Phi Theta Kappa being one of the for academics. There is also honor societies for language and psychology.

    Clubs and Activities

    so many clubs are available at mercer, naming them would defeat the purpose of actually looking at mercer as a choice of school.

    Great for these types of students

    if students like to save money, a community college is the way to go. Mercer is especially welll known for its music department and nursing department.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    mercer county park, again, is a huge park to do recreational events and sports.

    Bang for the buck

    Again, going to a community college as a first step helps one figure out an official career and save money.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a decent gym, with basketball court, swimming pool, and workout area. apart from the gym, mercer has an enormous park, in which to play various activities such as baseball, soccer, basketball, football, even canoeing. If a student wishes not to go far from the campus, mercer has a big field in the middle of the campus known as the quad in which students would hang out, and toss frisbees and/or hold events. Mercer also offers various clubs to join, to attract its students to participate and become part of the school

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent enough and the cafeteria is clean. It includes various televisions, of which students can connect video game consoles during their own break. Besides the cafeteria food, mercer is close to various restaurants and fast food places, making a meal worth driving

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life at mercer.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any other college, mercer expects its students to exceed and move on to a four year university/college. Mercer offers future scholarships by joinging various clubs such as the honor society Phi Theta Kappa

    Tips for prospective students

    The advice i would give to upcoming students is not to be ashamed of a community college. it is the perfect place to save money and juggle between majors. I feel like career changes are encouraged and easier to do.

    In three sentences

    Mercer county community college was a perfect foundation for my future in the career for music. Apart from saving a lot of money , i enjoyed the 2 year stay, with its spectacular music department teachers and curriculum. Mercer prepared me very well for a four year college, and i greatly appreciate the school and music department faculty for everything they have done for me.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved by being apart of Student life and make contact that will help you make pick classes for example. Try to get full time professors because they are able to help bit than par time professors. Take the time to meet your advisor and to meet with the advisors in career services.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play the piano in the music room with my friend, hang out with my firends during breaks in between classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    always stay on point with your work and never fall behind

    In three sentences

    this is a good community college. they help you when you need the help. they love their students and i rate this college a nine.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are trying to figure themselves out. Individuals who wish to stay close to their family. Individuals who do not have a lot of money, yet have a drive for education.

    What to do for fun

    There's always a lot of free stuff, always a multitude of events which occur year-round. The tennis courts were just renovated and are fun to play tennis on with friends.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to hand everything in on time. Yes, you are actually expected to come to class and work on the first day, just as all successive classes.

    In three sentences

    Mercer County Community College is an institution which provides a cost-effective, yet very qualified and dignified education.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Very affordable in college for food plan. Most likely food is good. Its good to have snacks between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Have fun, but be responsible. Enjoy freedom without your parents there. Teaching you how to be responsible to keep your room clean and get ready after college, when you buy a house.

    Academic Rigor

    Our parents work so hard for us to be better them in school,and work place.We had to maintain good grades in college like we did in highschool, if we dont they can kick us out. We just wasted our parents money.

    In three sentences

    Mercer County Community College is good school to start off, finishing or continuing your education. Good reason to go to Mercer County Community College because its affordable and they challenge students to go farther. I rated Mercer County Community College 7 out of 10.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I was a member of the Math Club, Spanish Club, PTK, and Alpha Mu Gamma.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who live at home.

    Bang for the buck

    Great.

    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs, take on a position of leadership or service in the clubs, or start your own study groups.

    Academic Rigor

    It was challenging, although some courses you need to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    MCCC is a great school. The teachers are fantastic. I got a good education there. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the library where you can access the internet and browse the internet or check out the book selection.Meet new people who can become lifelong friends. You can also join clubs and play sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. It is also very affordable. There is also a good selection.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. However, there should be! It would maybe even make the student community even more close.

    Academic Rigor

    Every major offers accreditted credits. Teachers and students make you feel comfortable and help you. The course work will surely help you after you transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Surely go to Mercer County Community College if you have the oppurtunity too.

    In three sentences

    Mercer County Community College is a great place to begin your college journey. There is a great atmosphere, students, and teachers are very friendly. Mercer County Community College also offers a great variety of majors.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I work and have a very balanced lifestyle. I try to stay active either with my dogs or with friends. I do things that will take the stresses of school off my mind for a while.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly never ate at the college because I always came from work and picked food up.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I am giving the biology department 4 stars because I felt like they really prepared me for my nursing program. All the professors were competent, very knowledgeable and made you want to learn. I was very pleased and happy with that department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to speak with someone when you go to the financial aid department and know that you will most likely never speak to someone on the phone. Make sure to receive an academic adviser and stay up to date with your school work.

    In three sentences

    The biology department at this school was challenging but in a way that made you learn and enjoy class. The facilities were up-to-date and the professors were very capable in teaching their curriculum. The financial aid department is horrific.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers are very active and ensure safety. If feeling uneasy to get to a certain destination, they are available to walk beside you. There are phone numbers to call posted around the hallways. The only issue is that students do smoke.

    Greek Life

    There are a few Honors Organizations available.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of club-activities and sports to join; creating a new one is also a possibility.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that wish for a second chance after high school, paying a low tuition fee for good education, and attending college with great proximity. Transferring credit is not too difficult; most credits are transferable anywhere since MCCC offers numerous majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a park adjacent to the college that holds numerous events. The campuses are in great locations, not only for most students living at home, but also for going out. Near the student parking lot are some gazebos that seem refreshing to sit in.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition fee is very reasonable for the education. It is also open enrollment, giving most students a second chance in raising their GPA. Most students are eligible to receive a good amount of financial aid. For those that are in the NJ STARS program will benefit greatly.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous club-activities and sports to join, and the possibility of creating a nonexistent club is a possibility. The Quad is a good area to hang around during breaks to study, meet with friends, eat, get active, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than what is on the standard high school menu. Most selections are about three or four dollars which is a great value. There is also a decent variety to select from. If the food is unsatisfying, there are many nearby places for food off campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are available Honors programs for students that wish to take on some challenges. Most professors do care about quality education, helping students become well-rounded, and are available for students that need help. There is no problem in academic success as long as he or she puts in effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Early enrollment, registration, and financial aid are priorities since scheduling becomes hectic around mid-to-late August and into the semester. Making a payment plan or paying the full tuition fee as soon as possible after scheduling is important to lock-in registered classes, otherwise enrollment services will remove them which may be difficult to reclaim any available seats if too late. Visit the college and ask any questions necessary. As always, putting effort in and submitting work on time is the key to successful achievement. Making at least a friend and getting to know the professors will go a long way.

    In three sentences

    MCCC has a welcoming environment with an overall diversity of staff and students. The tuition fee is reasonable for the education gained at the school. Not only will students gain insight and a foundation for pursuing their goals, but will also prepare an individual to face society.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of other than fun day on Cinco De Mayo in the Quad.

    What to do for fun

    Work out, go to dance, join a club.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and take advantage of all the opourtunties available such as college fairs and job fairs.

    In three sentences

    It is a comfortable enviroment, not overwhelming and great to decide what you want to do with your life. Affordable which is important for college to many. Finally it was simple way to get your feet wet into the college life.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a quad in the middle of the campus where student can sit and talk or study, or play ball or frisbee. There is also county park nearby where students can walk or bike to. There is also gym on campus which is free for full-time students.

    Food and Dining

    Simple cafeteria serves grilled food, pizza, soup daily, salad bar, Italian station, and a health food station (serves yogurt raisins, granola, etc). The dining area tends to be loud especially on days with inclement weather. There are tables and benches outside where students and faculty eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because this is a community college doesn't mean its academics are any less, which many people believe. MCCC is an excellent school, and of course with anything, you get out of it what you put into it.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good. Well lighted parking lot.

    What to do for fun

    Large sports complex and theater.

    Food and Dining

    NICE cafeteria

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the College Academic Success course. It give a lot of tid-bits, on how to be successful in community colleges.

    In three sentences

    I really lIke Mercer because I think the professors are great teachers and grade the your work fairly. Most of my professors were easy to reach via-email for clarity on questions that I had for homework. The college has diversity in which programs to choose from.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Food and Dining

    The food court was nothing to brag about.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very difficult.

    In three sentences

    Decent teachers. Easy Classes. Nice Facilities

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to the gym

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but if you do the work and pay attention you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just work hard .

    In three sentences

    A good school with good teachers. Very helpful with getting you into a four year college. Helps you really understand the college life.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Seek help if you need. Always talk to your advisor and make sure you follow up with your credits and curriculum.

    In three sentences

    Great school to star your career even though if you are not sure what you want to major in. I would give a 9 out of 10.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's located in West Windsor. It's super safe, no one comes there to cause trouble.

    Greek Life

    I believe there is one greek life cult--i mean club, or whatever it is on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    People that are self driven.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cheap education, I'd say I got what i expected.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the library. Do your work, be satisfied knowing you wont fall behind.

    Food and Dining

    I try not to eat the cafeteria food, its not bad...it just happens to cost more than I'm willing to pay. However there are vending machines around just about every corner and on every floor. The machines will even accept your card. Since they dont charge a crazy amount for tuition they definitely make it up with all the food persuasion.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I went to WWP, I took mainly honors and AP's, I also took a summer class at Rutgers working full time, compared to my experience with that Mercer isn't exactly challenging...just time consuming. However there are teachers that are more challenging than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone gets into this school. However there are so many programs that are offered that no one ever hears about. For example theres an honor program that has seminar styled class and focuses on class discussion rather than lecture.

    In three sentences

    Do your work. Go to class. Get to know your professors.