Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mercy College of Ohio Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mercy College is great for students who are willing and eager to learn and are able to do work on their own and have it in to their teachers by a set deadline. It's also for those types of students who want a smaller school size. Students have to be motivated, however. Teachers are there as equals, not superiors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're unsure about the college, call them and ask them for a campus tour and to talk to a student representative. Come to an Open House and see what Mercy is all about. I'm sure you'll love it.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are very good for the school, and you get teachers who care.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school even has a meditation room where you can go to work on homework and not be interrupted. It's almost always open. There are chairs, a zen garden, soft light, and a cd-player where you can play music from just to relax.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great and are really willing to help. There are free tutors available, and they even have a therapy dog and free counseling services. The teachers really want you to succeed, but they do challenge you.

  • 12/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for student who like small schools. This is not a party school and it is for students who want to be very focused on school.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good, the hospital has campus security and the school is apart of that security.

    Greek Life

    There is a chapter Phi Theta Kappa for honor students that the school is a member of.

    Clubs and Activities

    None really offered that I am aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, older aldut, those looking for a career change and a resident in the area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Catholic College and apart of the St. Elizabeth hospital in Youngstown, therefore some classes are held in the hospital and there is a lot of heritage with this school and hospital.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable for the state but it is a Catholic college and they do require you to take 2 religion classes that I DO NOT AGREE s/b charged at full cost as the nursing classes.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of participation in charity and volunteer work in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Hospital food - you be the judge

    Dorm Life

    It does not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It is fair but a lot of students my class have dropped out d/t overload from not having their pre req's completed before beginning nursing school therefore they were taking them during nursing school and getting overwhelmed. I recommend getting these all completed before beginning the program!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately read your med surg book to completely understand the teacher's lectures.

    In three sentences

    It has a wonderful, caring staff that direct you by name. They offer review classes and have officer placement within the class to give the indivual class a voice when meetings are called together with the director of the college. They actual take direction and utilize the student surveys we submit at the end of the semester to enhance the college experience, learning and tactical/clincal experiences for advancement. Clincals begins about 5 weeks after your 1st semester and they offer descriptive and hands on experience once you pass that check off in clinical. Teachers, faculty and advisors are wonderful here!!

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious students. Students that want the college experience but don't want to be at a huge university. Non-traditional (older) students. Students that like to be in smaller classes and have a lot of interaction with their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many science and math courses as possible in High School. This will give you a great foundation when you start these classes on the college level.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is awesome at Mercy. They make sure that you have their number saved in your phone in case you would ever need them. They offer to walk you to your car if it is dark out. During the day they drive through the parking garage randomly through out the day.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Mercy College.

    Great for these types of students

    Students are looking to pursue a career in the medical field and enjoy one-on-one contact with the teachers. It is not the school for you if you are looking for the true college experience though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love that the only time that I have to go outside during the school day is to and from my car. All of mu classes are inside two towers so it is perfect.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that the amount of money that I am paying to go to school here will definitely be worth it. It has a very good reputation and will make it easier for me to get a job as a nurse.

    What to do for fun

    There is not very much to do for fun here. I is not like a normal college, the students right out of high school are the minority. There are some clubs they have like book club and an ambassador program.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in the basement of one of the towers. They have a nice variety of food there, the only complaint I have is that they aren't open the whole time I am at school. There are also a couple of vending machines though out the school.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my parents so I do not know very much about the dorm life but from what I have heard it is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I usually spend about 3 hours a day studying for all of my classes so that I know that I will be prepared for all of my test. When I have test I increase the number of hours. The teachers are very helpful when it comes to be studying and making sure that I understand all of the content.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will meet alot of new people at Mercy. Make sure you are open to all of them because they all have a similar goal in life. Try hard in all of your classes. IT WILL PAY OFF!

    In three sentences

    I love Mercy College. I would give it a 10 out of 10. Everything is perfect for me there.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security can and will walk anyone to their car.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional and commuters.

    What to do for fun

    The Toledo Museum of Art is just a few blocks away. Fifth Third Field (home of the world-famous Toledo Mud Hens) and The Huntington Center (home of the Toledo Walleye hockey club and many concerts) are both withing one mile of the school.

    Food and Dining

    Hospital cafeteria and snack machines offer a great variety on campus. There are many restaurants in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    All programs are fully accredited as well as the Mercy Catholic Health Partners System. Mercy is the second largest hospital/medical facilities system in Toledo with full access to doctors, nurses, and other health professionals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of the student success center.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes allow for great student/instructor interaction. Full accreditation ensures that students will be fully prepared for the real life after graduation. Mercy has a great reputation for putting qualified, professional people in the work place.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Only problem is a rare break in to a vehicle in the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in many study groups, but haven't had time to join any clubs due to my hour drive to and from classes.

    Great for these types of students

    You must be focused to complete the program, there is little time for goofing off.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is more expensive than a community college it is worth it, as long as I get my education.

    What to do for fun

    I don't have time for fun, I'm too busy studying and taking care of my family.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class prepared!

    In three sentences

    I drive an hour one way each day to attend Mercy. It is worth the drive because I am getting a good education that I've waited for 3 years to try to get into programs in Michigan. Most teachers are extremely helpful and want to help you succeed!

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities and there is a mall close by.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many restaurant near campus but if you drive downtown, there are alot of sandwich shops.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but Mercy does offer apartments beside the college. They are reasonably priced and they are big.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school

    In three sentences

    Mercy College is a very small school. The professors are very nice and they are interested in helping the students throughout the challenging journey of nursing school. I recommend Mercy College to anyone who is interested in a small but well known college for nursing.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has their own police force and they are very good at what they do.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about the Greek life here cause I am not a part of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the student that is ready to become a professional in their field of study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I would not say that they have any unusual traditions, but you will see many Ohio State Vs. Michigan game parties.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that its a little expensive, but the bang for the buck is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of things to do for fun in Toledo, and the Mercy campus is close to downtown dining and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Mercy has a very nice cafeteria and the food there is healthy.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorms so i do not know much about them, but i do know that they are right across the street which is very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Fast paced and intense, but well worth it because you will know the material you are there to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you fully understand financial aide before you take extra out to help pay your bills while in school, it was explained wrong to me and i am now paying for it.

    In three sentences

    Intense, strait forward teaching methods that reward the student with a education that is hard to put a price on. The faculty here is able and willing to help the students in any possible way they can, love it!

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online learners and traditional students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A part of the college used to be a hospital.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy the malls in Toledo.

    Tips for prospective students

    I loved taking online classes. They were easy to follow and understand.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very professional and easy to contact.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers are awesome! If you ever need them to escort you to the resident life apartments or even if it's just an escort to your car they will.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's food is great however, it's not open all of the time. I wish it was open later because some of our classes may not start until 6pm and its hard if you're in class all day and you don't have time to leave campus to go eat.

    Dorm Life

    I've lived on campus my entire time here and at first, I did not like it but there have been so many changes that have made it much more enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! A lot of the courses at this school are difficult but in the end you truly learn a lot and even if you dislike the professor, you can learn so much from them!

    In three sentences

    I truly love this school. All of the staff at this school from the janitorial staff to the professors and even the president of the school are so friendly and helpful.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mercy College is great for students that are looking for small class sizes. Professors know who their students are rather than considering them a number or seat in their lecture. Students are very likely to know or at least recognize all of the other students in their program of study and even those not in their program.

    What to do for fun

    Mercy College is located in downtown Toledo. On Adam's St there is a wide variety of nightlife such as bars and dance clubs. There is also a big mall about 5 minutes away from campus that includes a movie theater and a variety of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafeteria at Mercy College but they do serve good food at cheap prices. The only catch is that they only accept cash.

    Academic Rigor

    Although a starting GPA to get accepted into the BSN is pretty low compared to other colleges, the BSN course work is very challenging. The grading scale is different and obtaining an A or B is a lot more difficult. If in need of help, professors are always willing to meet with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mercy is a smaller school with smaller class sizes. Expect to go to every class because your professor will know if you skip. Bring cash because the cafeteria only excepts cash. Enroll in classes as soon as possible because classes fill up very fast.

    In three sentences

    Mercy College cares about their students. You are not just a number or a face in the crowd. Mercy staff knows their students and genuinely cares about them.