Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mercyhurst University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The ones who really want to learn and be the best they can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved with clubs, the community, and everything else.

    Bang for the buck

    While a little expensive, the financial aid is pretty good. They even check which of their scholarships apply to you.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do, from events every weekend to games and various school clubs.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great and really care about you personally.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with drive, determination, and dedication to learn in any perspective field of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and stay with it. This is a great school for anyone.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police and safety advertises their number everywhere and they are always driving around to make sure things are safe. They are always sending our emails when there is something wrong so that students can pay attention and be safe.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know there is nothing special about Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of intermeral sports such as basketball, softball, dodgeball, hockey, soccer, and plenty more. And there are A LOT of clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about their education, and have a little more money to pay the high tuition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    St. Patricks day seems to be really big on campus. Our school color is green and there are shamrocks on our clothes. So we seem to be an Irish traditional school is seems. St. Pattys day is really big on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Mercyhurst is a very expensive school. It is a very small campus but it is very benificial to your education. The teachers are able to give you a little more 1 on 1 attention and help you out when needed they truely do care. The campus is very nice and the people are just great!

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on on campus. At the begining of the year there is a big party for the freshmen called the Black light party where everyone goes to the gym and there is a Dj and games set up upper class men also can join at the event. There are sometimes concerts or standup comedy or even movie nights on campus. You could also take classes in the rec such as pilates or cycling classes or sign up for things like dodgeball. There are also yoga classes.

    Food and Dining

    The only options to eat are at the school cafeteria which is called Egan. The food there isn't great most people try to eat at our second option which is the Laker. There you can get better food but you need to use money to get it.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen have the chance to stay in the building called Warde. This dorm is co-ed and can hold a lot of students its very nice! Each floor has their own laundry room and study rooms. One of the floors has a work out room, another has a media room and another has a kitchen. The building has air conditioning. Its really nice for freshmen. As you become a sophomore you then move into the apartments where there is two rooms and a living room, bathroom, and kitchen. They can hold 3-4 people. You could also go in for a bid to get into a town house.

    Academic Rigor

    Mercyhurst College is a trimester school. So the work load is more than it is at a semester school. The work load may be a lot but the education is well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have your financial aid situations taken care of. The student financial services are not a help at all and they can be very rude. So Make sure you have your tuition paid for right away and that your set for your 4 years of being here.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst College has a very nice campus. The teachers are great. The campus spirit is great!

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of students will find friends and a path to follow to succeed in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your college life, attended your classes, and make lots of new friends. Join some groups or clubs, it is not only ok to be in totally different groups but a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The food here is great. Housing is comfortable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Mercyhust and was very sad to see summer come. The students and faculty are kind, funny, and helpful. There are clubs and activities for all.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are challenging but fun. Classes, clubs, and the students and faculty have helped make my first year a great success.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    most people attend the sports events on campus for fun or party on the weekends. other than that people just chill with their friends in their rooms and around campus.

    Food and Dining

    as with any cafeteria food it is not very good but it is pretty good compared to most.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is very clicky but also extremely fun. most everyone is friendly with each other and it is a very relaxing atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is rough, but steady flowing. most classes have about an hour or two of homework that is due for the next class and if someone does not study for tests then they will probably not do well on them.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips for future students would be that they should not come if they are not willing to put the time into studying and working hard for their grade. they should come here if they want a great quality education, especially in the field of history. they should be sure to make many different types of friends so they do not get lost within the clicks.

    In three sentences

    mercyhurst is a very good academic school with outstanding teachers. the student population here is low compared to most colleges and can be very clicky as was in high school. overall mercyhurst is an awesome college.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety can be seen driving around campus at all points of the day. as a small female, i have never felt uncomfortable on campus even late at night.

    Greek Life

    mercyhurst does not offer greek life, but does offer many of clubs for students to be involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    no matter what you are interested in, mercyhurst has a club for you to get involved with. club fairs are held throughout the year to help students get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    mercyhurst is the perfect place for students like me who want a big university feel and pride, but want the class sizes of a traditional college.

    What to do for fun

    mercyhurst is known for their d-1 hockey. these games are often packed with students and free t-shirts are often provided for spirit nights. there are also activities planned every weekend such as comedians and student planned activities such as fallfest.

    Food and Dining

    mass production food is always not as good as mom's, but services such as parkhurst dining (the main dining hall) and the laker (made to order food) do an excellent job of making sure even the pickiest eater has something to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    warde hall is the place to be if you are a freshman. newly built, it offers many accommodation that will make adjusting to life away from home much easier. other freshman area housing is also good, and apartments are available for sophomore students and above.

    Academic Rigor

    the difficulty of classes ranges depending upon major, but mercyhurst's trimester system keeps students on topic and busy. by focusing on less classes, for a shorter period of time, students must develop strong study habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you want a small college feel. mercyhurst has plenty to offer, but is by far not a large campus. get your applications in early, and don't be afraid to call admissions for help.

    In three sentences

    this college, now university, offers the perfect balance of social activities, sports, and most importantly academics. my decision to come to mercyhurst is the best decision i have ever made for myself. it is definitely the place to build memories that will last forever.

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    They have student events every Friday and Saturday. Most of them are pretty fun, last year I rode a mechanical bull!

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are almost always police & safety driving around in vehicles either on campus or around the outskirts of campus and they are always just a phone call away with a guarantee answer.

    Greek Life

    we do not have fraternities or sororities, but we do have nu delta alpha which is for the national dance association.

    Clubs and Activities

    so many to choose from!

    What to do for fun

    being involved in clubs, volunteering, athletic events, the near-by mall, movies, restaurants, etc.

    Food and Dining

    there are so many options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    warde and baldwin freshman girl and guy dorms are lovely and have a very homey sensation.

    Academic Rigor

    academics are excellent!

    Tips for prospective students

    put yourself out there and make the most of your college experience.

    In three sentences

    definitely worth the amount of tuition when it comes to getting an education, being an athlete, volunteering, involvement in clubs, and balancing things to do with your social life.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is seen driving around all hours of the day, but i wouldn't step off campus alone.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at the hurst.

    Clubs and Activities

    all the clubs i have tried to contact are unorganized and bad at getting information out to their members.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are interested in going to college with great professors who know their stuff, but not really interested in the social aspect of things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    most people smoke in garvey park or play floor hockey in the 24/7 lounge at the library. talk about a distraction.

    Bang for the buck

    could have had the same experience and education at community college.

    What to do for fun

    hockey games are fun, but lack of attendance makes you feel like you're at a high school game and not a d1 event. mercyhurst also tries its best to have events on friday and saturday night, but usually there is a small fee, which few college students are willing to pay, even if it's just a few dollars.

    Food and Dining

    egan dining hall, the main dining hall on campus, is known to have some variety, but never has a lot of options. as much as their meal plans cost, you would think that they would expand their facility. usually, i can't find an open table because the cafe is so small and i usually end up eating cereal for dinner. peas and rice are their favorite things to serve, probably because they're cheap.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are great, especially if you get in warde hall. but the dorms are misleading because your sophomore year (if you decide to live on campus) requires you to fit 4 people in a 3 person apartment. also, maintenance usually doesn't get around quickly and many of my friends have leaks and broken windows that have yet to be fixed. such a downgrade from freshman dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are longer here than at most schools, and even the core curriculum is a challenge for most students. many people in my core classes, even dance appreciation, say that they are harder and involve more work than major classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you look at large schools, too. also, make sure you understand that the majority of your breaks will not be the same as your friends.

    In three sentences

    mercyhurst university looks great during your visit and all the ambassadors beef it up to make it sound like you're making the right choice. little did i know that mercyhurst isn't always helpful and usually screws you over on important stuff. also, the trimester system makes it hard for athletes and people with jobs to schedule classes.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though we are located in a large city, campus police do a great job at keeping us safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs for everyone to join

    Great for these types of students

    If you are very academically prepared and competitive

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a very typical campus

    What to do for fun

    I participate in activities that the student activities counsel have planned for us on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    We have many options for food on a daily basis

    Dorm Life

    The student housing needs to be updated

    Academic Rigor

    The grading scale is high (A being a 94 and up)

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for weather extremes. Erie is very unpredictable.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst is a small liberal arts catholic school that focuses on its students. Their class sizes are very small and you get to know the professors well. Here you are a name not just a face on campus.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety to me would be the best in the country you can enter the dorms without your student ID and there is 24/7 security.

    Clubs and Activities

    You have to choose between 80 clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It would be great for a student who likes one on one attention from professors and student who want to be successful without being scared to ask for help.

    Bang for the buck

    At Mercyhurst you get the bang for your buck because your doing more than just getting a great education you are going to develop strong relationships with great people that will last you the rest of your life.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many club and activities to join you will not be bored. You can play varsity athletics to being on the student government there are so many opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing its a buffet style food with all types of food you will love it.

    Dorm Life

    I have taken a visit to the campus and let me tell you the dorms are amazing. The rooms are spacious and their are great people.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics you can say are hard but with the help you will be receiving it wont be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student I advice you check the campus out and apply early.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst college is a great college with a good atmosphere. The people here want you succeed and they wont let you fail. Also their are lots of great clubs and activities you can join.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure yet, but I've heard about the many clubs and activities they have going on all the time. I can't wait to get started!

    Food and Dining

    When I had a campus visit for Music, I ate lunch there. The cafeterias are really organized and modern. The food is also really good, and there's even a choice of organic, as well as many other meal options.

    Dorm Life

    The have nice dorms, and even new Freshman Only dorms. Those are really nice for music majors, because it's right across the parking lot from the Music Department building. Other than that, I don't know a lot about the dorms yet.

    Academic Rigor

    I think their academics are at a high standard, from what my initial impression is. The music program, especially, has a pretty rigorous schedule and a lot of credits per semester. It will be a lot of work, but it will teach you good time management and work ethic.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm not a current student, but I have put in my deposit. Therefore, I'll be attending this coming fall. If you're a high school student looking into Mercyhurst, I would suggest making meetings with the professors or other people in your major or interested field of study. I recommend this college and absolutely love how unique and welcoming the campus is and how passionate the people are.

    In three sentences

    I love the feel of the campus! Everyone that I met and talked to about the college was so nice and really informative. I'm excited to attend and represent a college that is warmly welcoming and passionate about creating a brighter future.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    When I went to visit everyone was very welcoming and the campus is beautiful. The students and faculty really went out of their way to make me feel at home. There are so many classes that I am really looking forward to taking.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't had a problem yet

    Greek Life

    none that i know of

    Clubs and Activities

    All sorts of clubs but it there is one that doesn't fit you then you can make your own!

    What to do for fun

    There are always some kind of activity on campui and if its nice there is always lake Erie beaches or other such activities in town.

    Food and Dining

    The Laker Inn has wonderful food and a nice variety of it.

    Dorm Life

    I commute

    Academic Rigor

    Core class are not too bad. Major classes are harder depending out your chosen major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and have fun!

    In three sentences

    I love it there. The Professors are awesome and always willing to help out when need. Some of the classes are hard though.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always present since there are trained security that take care of the campus. Some of the security officers are retired police officers and know how to help everyone while keeping their approach to the greater good view. They are wonderful and have worked with me to make my stay enjoyable. Although there are great security officers the safety of the campus also falls on the students.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are almost two hundred clubs and organizations one can belong to. Clubs can range from those in the persons major to those that a person has as a hobby such as the outdoor adventure club.

    Great for these types of students

    Mercyhurst University in my experience is wonderful for criminal justice and psychology students. The professors are wondeful and give the best insight into the fields. They always help when they can and never complain about going out of their way for you. There is tremendous sociology professors that are always more concerned about your wellbeing than you attending their class and since I had been laid up to recover from surgery they always helped me. In my experience there are just way too many areas that Mercyhurst University is great at preparing students for.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is definetly worth it. You get the best professors telling you their experiences and making the information more entertaining for the students. The college has one of the best programs for criminal justice in the area with extremely experienced individuals that have been working in their fields for many years. I would definetly say that Mercyhurst University is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my close friends and discuss my field of study with my professors for fun. I'm kind of a bookworm and love to do the work, but there are sporting events that are entertaining especially our hockey teams. There are a lot of clubs like the criminal justice club and the outdoor adventure club which gets you out and enjoying the outdoors by rock climbing, skydiving, and other great activities. There is a lot to do around the campus you just have to look under your nose.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good depending on what day it is and where you go to eat. The main cafeteria sometimes has great food, but they sometimes have some really interesting selections. Their food is prepared by some great chefs and is supported by Eat 'n' Park restaurant which makes it enjoyable. I recommend the portobello mushroom burger they are to die for.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is sometimes a pain, but there are great people that you will meet and get to know. They keep up with the repairs and offer great choices of where to reside. Like everything there is cons to living in the dorms because there are people out there that will be deviant, however, there are more pros than cons. It is always enjoyable to just kick back and have some people from your floor come over for a study session.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is difficult and will take time to complete to the fullest accurate manner, but there is time to finish everything. Projects may be conducted strictly to an outline, but there are those that allow you to take them in a completely different manner which will give you free range to tackle them in a more entertaining and enjoyable way. Depending on your professors there is a lot of studying and homework, but they will assist you in finding the information or help you with performing your best on the exams. Mercyhurst University is not the easiest college, however, if you take it seriously and do your best you will not fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend if you come to Mercyhurst University that you always do the work because it is extremely necessary to obtain the best education you can acquire. Then join the clubs they are always entertaining and help with social networking to become better in your field of study.

    In three sentences

    I would give Mercyhurst University a B+ overall since there are major pros to attending this institute like the professors being very open to assisting the students and the number of clubs and organizations that you can join. There is an advantage of going to this college because the class structure is normally very educational and there is an advantage of having the professors being experts in their field with experience in their fields and not just a college degree. Everyone is friendly and willing to help you succeed.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst has a great campus with friendly professors. It isn't a difficult school, but you learn all that you need to.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have great festivals, which are free for you and family!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead of the office.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst is very unorganized when it comes to the finance department.I do like the academics though.The nursing classes seem very up to par.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each dorm had monitors. I'm not sure at this time. Haven't stayed in the dorms yet The campus is small and located in a quaint little town

    Clubs and Activities

    They had many choices for Intermural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located in lake Erie. Very beautiful

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is about the same as my other choices.

    What to do for fun

    I love running and they started a track team this year. Also, they have a volleyball team

    Food and Dining

    We ate in the cafeteria and the food was very good. Different stations with many choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were fairly new. I loved the pods. There were three choices of dorm living. One roommate, five roommates, or townhouses.

    Academic Rigor

    Mercyhurst just became a university. I'm not worried about their accreditations, which was a worry for me with my second choice

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus was very nice. They are I the process of renovating sne of the buildings. Their sports and intermural sports at continuing to grow

    In three sentences

    I loved the small atmosphere, and the amount of attention the staff and students gave us on our visit. I have heard a lot of good things about their physical therapy program. The just became a university!

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Careful walking around at night - general safety tip, but it's important here. That said, I never had a problem.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of choices, lots of involvement, lots of opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    If you have a great scholarship or you're coming for a specialized program, it's worth it. Coming for education or business or something common? They're great programs, but don't get yourself $100,000 in debt to come here for a communications degree.

    What to do for fun

    Get off campus! Erie pretty much sucks until you're 21, but it's a blast afterward, and possibly the cheapest place to go out anywhere in the US (trust me, all the alums come back and buy us too many rounds because they can't believe how cheap it is). Campus has a lot of alternative activities like magicians, movie nights, and music.

    Food and Dining

    I never really ate on campus, but the food service became much better once they switched to a different provider.

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful freshman dorms. Apartments available for everyone after freshman year. However - the apartments have not all been kept up very well, and there is a shortage of housing so they may add extra students to the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the program. The core classes are generally not too bad, but major classes can be extremely demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! It's a small campus, take advantage of the opportunity to become the leader of a club your sophomore year, or even start your own club! Also, talk to the professors and develop relationships with them as soon as possible. They will help you not only in your four years at Mercyhurst, but in your post-grad life as advisors and friends.

    In three sentences

    If your reason for going to Mercyhurst is to receive a top-notch liberal arts education, you've found the right place; in my four years there, I had maybe two professors that I didn't like and learn a great deal from, and almost all of the professors I've met are not only excellent teachers, but extremely invested in making sure their students succeed. That said, it's not perfect; it's expensive, and there are major issues with the administration that frustrate a lot of students (specifically the allocation of resources). If you are going into a specialized field like intel or anthropology and don't mind putting up with some BS from residence life or financial services (which is common at most schools), I would highly recommend the school.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those focused on life post-college; not a place for partiers

    What to do for fun

    If you are 21+, it's great

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy yourself

    In three sentences

    This place is great. Small campus and classes. Very personal attention.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life

    What to do for fun

    I play football school that takes up most of my time.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst is a up and coming school. There is a lot of one on one attention. Teachers are really helpful.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There was a great variety of clubs available and each one had a pamphlet or brochure explaining what they are about and when they meet.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a friendly place to better your education!

    Bang for the buck

    The cost can be expensive but my financial aid package I was offered was amazing!

    What to do for fun

    You can go outside and play sports, join new clubs, or even start a club of your own.

    Food and Dining

    The food was very good there and there were so many different foods from different cultures. One of the places to eat at has a different feature food each day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Every teachers from every one of the wide variety of majors are very set on trying to help you do the best you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in this school but you aren't sure, go for a visit. You won't regret it, guaranteed.

    In three sentences

    The teachers were so nice and encouraging! And the campus is gorgeous and very welcoming. I love love LOVED it!!!!!

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police and Safety do routine drives around campus at night and I have not heard of any mischief in my several semesters here.

    Greek Life

    I am personally not aware of any other Greek life other than Tri Beta the Biological Honors fraternity (that is available many places)

    Clubs and Activities

    Geology club, Biology club, Archaeology clubs, and a Newman's club, among others.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a good Intelligence program here, and this is one of the few schools that I could find with a good Paleontology and Archaeology program.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is quite expensive, one of my professors said In today's society where gas is $4 a gallon, I will not only give you what you pay for, but more! That being said, prepare for a big bill, but if you study hard your education here will pay off.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to get involved in, like the Geology Club, which goes to different places around the US. There is yoga available, and since it is located in Erie, there are many places that are close to campus, like the Erie Zoo, or the Millcreek Mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, incoming freshmen are required to get a meal plan which can get pricey. There is an all you care to eat buffet open all day and a cafe style place attached to the bookstore. The student union also has already made sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the adult dorms which are quiet, I do not know how the underclassmen dorms are. There are apartments affiliated with the campus I have not had experience there either.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the ones that are the hardest are the classes a student should learn the most in. The teachers that I have had are very enthusiastic and eager to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do before you enter, so you can get the core classes out of the way, then focus on your major, and always study hard.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst almost has the feel of an English campus, from the old buildings. The professors here are very helpful and will go to great lengths to help the students succeed. The one thing that I consider a double edged sword is all the required classes for a liberal arts education.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Regular bus schedule takes you all over Erie. There's a zoo and Presque Isle has a beach.

    Food and Dining

    It's not bad for cafeteria food, but it's not wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice; some have AC and some don't. After freshman year you live in townhouses/apartments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't want the big campus or city atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    The campus is wonderful. Teachers are great. Food isn't terrible.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police and Safety is always riding around campus and ALWAYS busting parties. ALWAYS. Plus there are blue light systems around campus. They are just poles with buttons that you push and they come.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities at MU.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't really comment specifically on them but there are a lot to choose from and this year they held a campus involvement fair where you could go around to booths and get information about all the clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are ready to work hard but definitely hard to make friends here if you are socially awkward or introverted.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are rumors that MU is haunted. More can be found online about this.

    Bang for the buck

    Mercyhurst isn't always filled with different activities for students to have fun but it is a great school academically.

    What to do for fun

    Most people just got to parties at upperclassmen apartments. But all students can use the Erie bus system for free which even goes out of town. People also go to clubs downtown. There are on campus activities as well such as the Fall Ball (a dance), poetry nights, movie showings, dance classes like zumba and more.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans at MU for freshman are all unlimited and higher priced meals include more guest passes and spending money across campus, while the lowest included 2 passes and $50. These plans can be used at Egan Dining Hall. The food is simply okay on most days but sometimes they have really really good options. There are always unique flavors of ice cream that change multiple times a day. The Laker Inn is another dining hall type of place but only dining dollars and cash can be used here. Mostly an upperclassman place to eat but it has a grill, chinese, snacks, etc. and is open til 1am while Egan closes at 11 and puts food away at 10.

    Dorm Life

    For freshmen, there are the options of an all-girl (Baldwin) or all-guy (McAuley) dorm or the newer co-ed one (Warde). I live in Baldwin and the rooms are decent with a pretty good sized closet, bureau, desk and bed. Also, every two rooms has a bathroom inbetween so there are no communal bathrooms (expect in McAuley). Baldwin is pretty quiet but there are some opportunities for good friendships to build. It also has a lounge on each floor with a TV and couches and also a microwave, oven, stovetop and sink. Warde is the newer dorm and has beautiful and spacious rooms and each one has its own bathroom. There are also lounges and a small gym on each floor as well as a convenience store downstairs. I've heard more parties go on here and it is louder. All upperclassmen live in apartments on campus if they don't commute.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a freshman in my first term, so I am only a little over halfway through my first three classes here. In my classes there is a LOT of reading and writing every week. Professors expect a lot from you but if you do what they assign you will be perfectly fine. Especially the reading. Also, some majors require a minimum GPA, so be conscious of that.

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't have to be religious to come here but it is a catholic school. Therefore, you will be required to take a religious traditions class. Sometimes in class it is expected that you know things about religion that one who doesn't have that background would not. Aim for high grades, it'll get you more financial aid of course. Also, if you're an Education Major, you receive a $15,000 scholarship right off the bat. MU has its terms split into three trimesters instead of the usual two semesters, but will be switching next year to two semesters plus one term in January where one intensive course is taken.

    In three sentences

    A great school academically with a very small campus. Financial aid is awesome. Became a university NOT college during the 2011-12 school year.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of events going on during the week and on the weekends. The student union has televisions and video systems along with Foosball tables, and it not to far from other city events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your teachers during their office hours and get to know them. Don't be afraid to talk to your teachers either.

    In three sentences

    The teacher are great and they really care about their students. The classes are great and really expand your thinking. The campus is beautiful and the apartments are roomy.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing labs are excellent.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pricey, but it works with my work schedule. So it is a toss up. Will it be worth it in the end? Yes, you can't go wrong with an education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different activities in which students can attend. I however need to work full time and have family responsibilities, so plan accordingly.

    Food and Dining

    Has went up in price.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are demanding, however, not everyone continues on with the career path they chose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid is best reached by email.

    In three sentences

    The part-time nursing program is excellent for working parents.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Those police are out 24/7 literally, you see them always driving around especially throughout the night. Oh and make sure you pay attention to where you park because they love giving tickets out lol

    Greek Life

    No Greek life but instead we have houses like the soccer house, lacrosse house etc..

    Clubs and Activities

    I think there's like almost 50 clubs. One for basically every major then a bunch for what ever you can think of like fencing to anime to outdoor to equestrian (horse back riding) etc...

    Bang for the buck

    Yes great school but make sure you have everything figured out before you come since their registration and money/financial aid office's tend to mess things up

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs to join land even sport clubs (if you like playing) and there's activities that the student government puts on every weekend

    Food and Dining

    The food over all is very good and in the cafe you pay one price either breakfast, lunch or dinner and its all a buffet (all you can eat basically)

    Dorm Life

    I live in the apartments and their pretty decent with 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and living room. The maintenance is pretty good with fixing things if they need to be fixed.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd say its kind of hard but the teachers are extremely helpful and if you need they have Free tutors that are very helpful as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate, its is soo hard to get back on track if you do. If you think oh I have three more days to get that done, no do it right away since that day its do will sneak up soooo fast here its crazy.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to sporting events, there is some type of activity every week whether it is yoga, holiday activities, and bowling.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but I wont lie there are days where the food can be off.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean, and nice. If you live in the Redemptorist Hall, then you will have up to five roommates. You will share a room with one, but will have a main room where everyone can relax. You have one bathroom and shower inside your pod. I've never been in the townhouses but they are pretty nice. You have downstairs where you have your main room, and a decent sized kitchen as if you were at home. There is one bathroom downstairs, then one upstairs along with a shower, and a tub. The bedrooms are also upstairs, and you also have five other roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will be challenging, but during your freshman year you will have to take freshman experience, where they teach you about the school and good skills to study. You want to take time out of your day to make sure you know the material for your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your financial aid set before you go off to school. Fill out as many scholarships as you can, that way you won't have to take out loans. In high school I never started mine, and now im struggling to find ways to pay for my spring term. I've been filling out scholarships so hopefully my prayers come true.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst University is a great two year degree program. The courses are a bit challenging, but the staff is always there to help you. I'm glad I made the choice to attend the school, and after this year I will have my degree.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their is a plethora of clubs to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students searching for a small yet challenging school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many traditions for incoming freshman that continue all four years.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private institution it is expensive but scholarship opportunities are rampant.

    What to do for fun

    I play water polo so sporting events are always a hit. If you arent sports minded the student government host weekly, free events that are fun. Otherwise the bus, which is free for students, can connect you to downtown and the mall.

    Food and Dining

    While its a typical college caf the variety and options is great, even for a vegetarian like myself

    Dorm Life

    Foster community is key in dorm life and on campus living for upper classmen is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging but teachers are extremely willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going to visit try scheduling in the fall or spring when the weather is nice!

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst has a great, small community feel with an excellent teaching staff and challenging courses. If your looking for a small college that builds a community atmosphere you should look at Mercyhurst.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! Campus security will escort us at any time we need them to! They have a cell number we can call and we also have security poles all around campus so if there is an emergency all you do is hit the button and it alerts campus security. I never had a problem on campus, I felt completely safe but it was nice knowing they were easily accessible if I did need them!

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek Life on our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have clubs ranging from sports-comic books. If you're looking to join a club Mercyhyurst most likely has it. There is wide array of clubs and people that there is almost a guarantee you will find a club for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Mercyhurst has a wide variety of people and I do believe this school is for everyone who doesn't want to be in a big city. It's a mix of jocks, nerds, internationals, locals, etc. Everyone fits in and everyone gets along no matter what you labeled yourself as in High School.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have many beautiful building on campus. It is said Egan hall where Egan dining hall and the offices are located is haunted! Every year on Halloween, Mercyhurst does a Haunted Hurst tour and explains the history of the haunted areas! It's a cool tour-and a little frightening!

    Bang for the buck

    Mercyhurst is pricey but they offer a wide variety of scholarships and financial aid. It's definitely in the end worth it for the education you receive, the nice living arrangements, and the friends/connections you will make at Mercyhurst.

    What to do for fun

    Mercyhurst has so many fun activities going on every weekend. Hypnotists, Festivals, Plays, Musicals, and many other events that are free for students right on campus. Presque beach is relatively close and so is Millcreek Mall! There is a lot of shopping in Erie. It's such a tight knit campus that you could find someone to just hangout in the dorms with even and it's still a blast!

    Food and Dining

    Freshman year I had an unlimited meal plan which was incredible. I didn't have to worry if I had any meals left on my plan or not. The dining hall was open everyday for the whole day. Mercyhurst has so much to offer us for dining, unlimited soup and salad bar, pizza, a deli bar, and numerous other every day options that were always available.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living on Campus. Mercyhurst is unique when it comes to college living. The new dorms (Frances Warde Hall) they built are magnificent. It was like living in a hotel freshman year. The other two freshman dorms are also cozy. All the dorms have open common areas on every floor so there is a place to lounge. Laundry at the Hurst is free for students which was a huge perk. Along with that, Upperclassman all get to live in apartments or townhouses owned by the college instead of dorm rooms, without it being a cost difference.

    Academic Rigor

    Mercyhurst academics are challenging but not so challenging that it would be impossible to succeed. Mercyhurst professors will go above and beyond and work with you if you're struggling or have a questions. Mercyhurst is preparing you for your career or for graduate school. If you're doing your work and communicating with your classmates and professors you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind, Mercyhurst is a small campus but they do offer so many activities for students along with ways to get into town. Don't rule out the campus just because you find it small! Remember great things come in small packages!

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst is and was one of the best experiences of my life. The professors and faculty are committed to helping students succeed. The life I had at Mercyhurst and the Education I received was impeccable.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police everywhere at basically every hour of the day. The blue boxes are located all throughout campus. Police and Safety come right away when called and are very good about handling situations. Found in the dorms a lot and are always protecting the students.

    Greek Life

    There are not Fraternities or Sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs at Mercyhurst, basically one for anyone and everyone. They get involved and really advocate for what they believe in.

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent students, students looking to really succeed and put in lots of hard work towards good grades. Intelligence Studies majors and dance majors. Athletes also love the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MSG really does their best to get students involved and entertained. Often do free events and give away free food/t-shirts.

    Bang for the buck

    The sporting events are free, the spring fest concert is free, freshman meal plan is unlimited, the dorms are extremely nice. Campus is beautiful and perfect size for walking distance.

    What to do for fun

    There really is nothing to do for fun...Erie is boring and Mercyhurst isn't in a great location. The bus can take you to the Mall, but the mall doesn't have a wide selection of stores. At Mercyhurst there are always sporting events, but you'll find the school spirit is horrible and not many people attend them unless they have a reason to.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, sometimes awful though. It depends where you eat. At the Laker, it is a wider variety of foods and usually most anyone can find something they like. At Egan, it is a hit or a miss. Some days it is amazing, other days you go and just eat cereal.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Warde and the dorms are absolutely beautiful. For a freshman dorm, the greatest I have ever seen. Own bathroom, sink, and shower to every dorm room. Very spacious, carpeting, heat/AC, two closets, plenty of room. Apartments are nice, but have flaws and you can tell they are getting old.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging and not all the professors who teach the same class have the same syllabus and grading scale. Very frustrating because the same class two people can have totally different amounts of work and difficulty of work and still get the same grade. Most feel it is very unfair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to students who go there IN YOUR MAJOR. Don't expect small class sizes. Look into the grading scale for the classes you'll be taking. Apply for scholarships ahead of time. Do your best in high school. Set aside a lot of time for studying, especially for the core classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus at Mercyhurst is beautiful and the campus size is perfect. I wish the class sizes were smaller, as I was told they were when I applied, and the grading scales are challenging. I love the passion some professors and employees have for helping the students succeed.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Definitely an Irish based school...there are tons of potato options at Egan and St. Patty's is a big thing

    What to do for fun

    Watch movies, go to on campus events, hang out on Peach St. Usually there is something to do

    Food and Dining

    Egan usually has ok food; Thursdays are always questionable however since they have a low impact day. The Laker Inn is a lot better, though usually you have to wait a while for your food...Worth it though!

    Dorm Life

    Love my RA! She puts on fun events like finger painting for us and has often sat with us in the lounge to talk about anything. Warde Hall is a great dorm; no matter what the tour guides say, you get to know most of the people on your floor and quite a few in the building as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes move quickly enough for me but still provide some challenges. Some teachers challenge their students more than others by adding additional work and being slightly harsher in grading. Most classes I have taken are not very hard to pass, however.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to eat on campus (in Egan) on a regular day; whenever events happen at the school with prospective students, the food is ten times better than it actually is. And don't be too scared to talk to current students who are on campus at the time; we usually are fine with answering a question or two.

    In three sentences

    Small campus where you can make friends quickly...and get across in a few minutes if you are running late. The food is not the best but usually it's ok, just stay away from the wheat pizza. Overall, glad I chose this school, great program and staff.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are different events on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    The new dorm building is really nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take a campus tour!

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst is a really nice environment. I like that it is like a little community. It is a really nice place.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to go to a really good school for a particular major, make sure it's for forensic science when going to Mercyhurst. Every other major is not all that impressive for getting jobs. The F.B.I. employs students from Mercyhurst who have done well in the forensic science courses.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going out to the lake is the funnest part, having different beach sections to pick keeps things from getting old

    Food and Dining

    The food at the all you can eat buffet is delicious, but it gets tiring eating the same thing over and over everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very connected and close knit, but do not expect to actually get a single room.

    Academic Rigor

    Intelligence studies is incredibly challenging and you have to keep up with it, but it is also very satisfying when you make it through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to not be able to bring your car to campus for the entire duration of your freshman year.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. The teachers are supportive and are always available to give assistance. The city is a little small, and not many fun things are in walking distance.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities at Mercyhurst, especially during welcome week. There's so much to do.

    Food and Dining

    From what I heard, the food could be better, but I don't stay on campus so I wouldn't know.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not positive because I do not stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many different majors and clubs that go along with each major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get everything done as soon as possible. Check your bill and schedule for what books you need consistently and make sure to contact the financial aid office every day until they get back to you if there is a problem with your bill.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst offers many majors, clubs, and programs for everyone. They're very good at helping the students interact with each other. However, the only negative thing I can say is that the people in financial aid office are rude and don't communicate well at all.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get to know your fellow students!

    Food and Dining

    Great variety of fresh hot foods, cold foods, and sushi!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are like apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    You are challenged by the coursework assigned by professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded and sign up for a wide variety of classes.

    In three sentences

    The setting and small size affords students the opportunity to establish relationships with their professors.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    'Not too much to do for fun' is a complaint of many students.

    Food and Dining

    I only ate in the cafeteria once, but the food was better than expected.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Great! Everyone is motivated for everyone else's success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Regardless of your age, you're never too old to go back to school. The diversity amongst the student body has made my experience a more rounded one. I feel so much more comfortable back in school even though it's been more than 10 years for me!

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst may not be the most modernized campus. However, the professors they have on staff are truly amazing. They care about your personal and academic success. This helps student succeed more than a highly modernized campus.

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses in the country, we have emergency buttons all around, including by the apartments that connect directly to campus police and safety. No one really knows how much happens when one is pressed, because nothing has happened where one had to be pressed.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about their studies will greatly enjoy this University. There isn't a lot of messing around. The library is my favorite place on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus, from going to one of the many dance performances to the annual concert by an actual famous group that comes to campus (this year it will be New Politics and Mayday Parade). There is also a really nice coffee shop connected to the bookstore. Being very close to the city and having free bus transport is also a good way to go out and have an adventure (Mill Creek Mall and Tinsel Town Movie Theatre are popular destinations).

    Food and Dining

    Mercyhurst has two on campus cafeterias, Egan and the Laker. Egan is the main cafeteria with a deli, main course, grille, brick oven pizza, and salad bar. The Laker has a variety of options including a grille, Chinese place (with sushi too), burrito place, and sub station.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the all girls dorm, Baldwin, and we have the best little community here. Everyone hangs out in the common room to watch movies and play games and it is really a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, the amount of work will vary. Intelligent Studies students work for hours into the night, but I have a very moderate work load comparable to an AP class.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you care about school, you will fit in well here. Everyone is nice and helpful when it comes to having questions about anything and everything.

    In three sentences

    Mercyhurst is a great place to be. The campus is beautiful, almost Hogwarts-esque with it's Gothic architecture. It is small enough that it isn't overwhelming and the teacher student ratio is phenomenal, the professors really care about their students.