Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Meredith College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 22 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for those who are leaders or want to be but never thought it would be possible. The campus is very welcoming to all students regardless or race, ethnicity, documentation, or sexual orientation.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning on applying to Meredith, attend all the visitation days and programs that the college offers for prospective students. You'll be able to meet current students, learn your way around campus, and see what it's like to live in the Meredith Community. And get involved! The school loves students with innovative idea, ways to keep the campus more green, and diversity too.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the college is private and very expensive, the education that you will find here is better than any other school. You're paying for quality professors, small class size, and personal relationships you won't find anywhere else. Plus, Meredith gives great scholarships and job opportunities that will make those tuition dollars well worth the while.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college is very tight nit and has some of the best school spirit there is! I love being at Meredith because no matter how diverse or out of the ordinary you are, everyone fits in. There are so many traditions that all classes get involved in and it is truly a home away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    At Meredith College all of your professors will know your name and how well you are doing in their class. They continually strive to challenge and introduce students to new topics and conflicts that our generation faces and provide students with the tools they need to be leaders and overcome these struggles.

  • 06/05/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 out of 19 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think you can get away with not going to class. At Meredith the professors will call you and ask why you're not in class! It's a real close-knit family.

  • 12/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, potential leaders, those not wanting a large university but still desiring some amount of anonymity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many students go home over the weekend, but that doesn't take away from the feeling of community here. The honors program is definitely worth looking into.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private college, the tuition is high, but there are many scholarships available to help pay for you education. The technology initiative also helps. You receive a laptop as a freshmen (as long as you are classified as a full-time student), and you turn that laptop in and get a new one your junior year, which is yours to keep upon graduation.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community here is excellent. The whole college truly is a sisterhood, and the ring is an excellent way of identifying family you never even knew you had. Also, Cornhuskin' (you just have to experience it!) is a major way that the entire campus comes together.

    Am learning a lot

    Don't expect to escape homework just because you escaped high school. Meredith makes you work to learn, and it's worth it. The professors are nice and care about you. Sometimes, they're even more than a little bit crazy. What's great about Meredith is that put an emphasis on undergraduate research and study abroad and are willing to provide financial assistance for both.

  • 04/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want a family-like community, but also want the ability to spread their wings and fly. Its great for those who are moving far away from family, or are not able to rely on family through-out college. THe college is highly self-sufficent and everything needed to survive is right there on campus. This college is also good for those who truly want experience. Unlike at big universities, experience is very easy to get. Countless oppurtunities are given and students are strongly encouraged to gain some experience. 80% of students intern or study abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school. Take advantage of all the oppurtunities the school offers. Don't pass up on the 'big sis-lil sis' tradition. If you decide to go, make sure to fill out the form to recieve a big sis (aka, a junior level mentor).

    Bang for the buck

    I will admit that the college is expensive. However, they do not waste your money. They put it to great use. From unlimited meal plans, tutoring, counseling, fitness center, library, pool, sports, activities, and more. THey spend your money on things for YOU.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a beautiful and warm-hearted place. Many of the commuters I know, wished they chose to stay on campus because its just a big sisterhood full of things to do. The students clearly run the school, because the staff actually listen to what students want. Because of this, I have found Meredith more fit for a young student than any other college I visited.

    Am learning a lot

    Before I write: I just wanted to say that I wrote a lot due to lack of student reviews on this college. When I was researching this school, I wish I had more student reviews. You will learn a lot at this school. This college does its best to help you succeed. The teachers care about you, they have free tutoring for full time students, and more. THe smaller class settings allow you to ask more questions, and the fact its all girls makes the classes a bit more chatty.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are more concerned with the quality of education than the quality of boys they will meet. In case you haven't heard, we don't have any.

    Tips for prospective students

    If possible, try to meet a current student at Meredith and spend a night in the dorms. The more you're here, especially outside of the tours and Q & A sessions, the more clear it will be if Meredith is the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    As has been mentioned, Meredith is expensive. My experience, however, is that the merit scholarships are generous and the experience is definitely worth the excess cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    The friends I've made here at Meredith are some of my favorite people in the world. I've met plenty of new people and a couple of really close friends. I have enough free time that I get to do the things I love even when they don't line up with the classes I'm taking.

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are challenging but generally not painfully difficult. There are occasionally classes that are either very easy or ones that are a constant struggle, but most are engaging without sapping your will to live.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Meredith College is of the utmost importance. Ensuring the safety of students is a top priority, and there are always security guards on call to escort students anywhere on campus if they ever feel uncomfortable walking alone at night or in inclement weather. The security call number is posted everywhere around campus and is always known by someone who can provide it to other students. Not only is the campus guarded by around-the-clock security, but is also gate-secured after a particular hour of the night. If residence leave campus and return after a given time, they are required to present their Meredith College i.d. cam card to the night guard present at the security post. If a student is being dropped off by a male driver, or is accompanied by males, their i.d. or i.d.'s are requested and kept in the security office and are returned when the male guests exit the campus at the designated boy hours curfew. The campus police are continually available to provide their services and keep students safe at any cost to themselves. Protection and safety are always ensured at Meredith and students are never without peace of mind.

    Clubs and Activities

    At Meredith College, students have access to an array of clubs ranging from language-based and academic clubs to common and personal interest clubs. Students are encouraged to join as many clubs as meets their available free time and academic schedule, but are also advised to select only the quantity that will not overwhelm them. There are designated days on which clubs set up information tables and boards in the court yard to display facts about activities and to provide students the chance to sign up and explore options. As far as activities go, those available at Meredith could fill a novel. Apart from clubs, there are annual activities that connect students, advocate community, and incorporate fun. Activities on campus range from religious community gatherings and socials to annual student art sales and regular student on-stage performances. Whatever a student's style and preferences, there is something to fit every personality.

    Great for these types of students

    Meredith College is a fantastic place for young ladies who are interested in receiving a quality education in an atmosphere that promotes the success of women and provides a learning environment without common distractions. With a variety of available majors, including an excellent art department, Meredith College is a versatile learning facility that caters to students' interests and goals. With so much faculty and staff concern for the success of their students, Meredith provides an environment in which students can prosper and develop at a rate that is right for them. Meredith College is perfect for students that are self-motivated and driven. It is also a great advocate of athletes and performing art students. Meredith College is focused on the creative energy that students have to offer, as well as embracing the career skills that abide in every woman. It is also a fitting place for those who prefer smaller, more individualized and focused learning experiences that a private school has to offer. Meredith is a remarkable institute for any young woman to discover success and a home away from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Though Meredith partakes in numerous traditions and activities throughout the school year, I would have to say that the most outrageous and memorable tradition at Meredith is the annual Corn Huskin' event that takes place over the course of a week during October. Corn Huskin' consists of immense student involvement in class skits, competitions, games, songs, and a final performance at the end of the week, to which family and friends are invited. This outrageous and thrilling tradition is a fantastic way to get connected with the peers in your class and participate in a little friendly competition. There is so much that goes on during the week of Corn Huskin' that is it difficult to recall all that happens. The summation of the week-long event is fun and interactive for everyone, whether in the audience or in the performances.

    Bang for the buck

    I highly believe that Meredith is well worth the price of tuition. Students receive the entire package deal with the Meredith College experience. The education, connections, friendships, activities, and campus life are all rewarding in more than one way and are specific to every student who attends. Meredith offers so much to students and firmly believes in giving women the opportunity to pursue their dreams and do so successfully with the support of the college.

    What to do for fun

    If there isn't a social or campus-wide activity going on, there are plenty of pass-times around campus to occupy free time. The campus offers nature-based attractions and activities such as the green-way (available for walking, jogging, running, and bike-riding), as well as a lake-side gazebo, a wide open amphitheatre (for campus concerts and ceremonies), and a regular outdoor film showing. Since Meredith College resides directly on Raleigh's well-known Hillsborough Street, there is an array of fun locations off campus. All of Hillsborough is loaded with restaurants, shops, coffee houses, markets, and other fun attractions. The down town area of Raleigh is all filled with these same attractions and more! Also, no more than ten minutes down the highway is the Crabtree shopping mall, packed with restaurants and stores of all kinds, which is always a plus in a college city. There is also fun around Raleigh and Meredith's campus that I'm sure are yet to be discovered, and students are encouraged to come and seek them out for themselves!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Meredith College is definitely well-equipped with a variety of food to meet the needs and wants of students. With different labeled areas designated for home-cooking, pizza/pasta, sandwiches, daily specials, and vegetarian meals, the dining hall is well organized and loaded with options for every student. The food is tasty, and if there doesn't seem to be anything a student likes on any given day, there are also salad and cereal counters. In addition to the dining hall, there is the Beehive Cafe which is located on the second floor of the campus Cate Center. Here there are a variety of food options including burgers, fries, pizza, and plenty of refrigerator goods such as salads, wraps, sandwiches and lunch-ables. The Beehive also comes equipped with a sub station where a cafe assistant creates a sub sandwich to meet your requests. Chic-fil-a options are also available throughout the week, and quick snacks and goodies are always in stock to keep tired students going, as well as health-conscious choices to satisfy a healthy lifestyle. Apart from the cafeteria and Beehive Cafe, there are several snack and drink machines located around the campus to ward off thirst and the munchies.

    Dorm Life

    Meredith is comfortably nestled in the Raleigh, North Carolina, with the city's beautiful green-way trail wrapped around the campus. With quad dormitories and on-campus apartments, the living conditions at Meredith are excellent. The dorms have suite-style rooms that share a joint bathroom between two rooms that house four people total, though some of the dorm building fourth floors have community bathrooms with rooms for two people. The suites are surprisingly spacious, making a comfortable environment, and the hall-mates are easy to connect with due to hall socials organized by the RA. The on-campus apartments, reserved mostly for juniors and seniors, house four people at a time with a kitchen, bathroom areas, and individual bedrooms. Both the dorm buildings and the apartments have stunning views of the very green and well-kept campus. The Residence Life staff at Meredith seek to make every student's dorm experience comfortable and memorable, and are always willing to work through kinks that may occur. There are, of course, rules and restrictions to maintain the safety of the students, and since the college is an all-female school, there are designated boy hours that are specifically for weekends. These guidelines do not take away from the dorm-life experience, however. With a lounge located in the center of the hall there is always an opportunity to microwave some dinner, stare out at the campus, and bond with other dorm-dwellers. Dorm life at Meredith is fun and is definitely a home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standards at Meredith College are very high and are expected to be met. The professors are paid for their education, instructing capabilities, and knowledge, and it is expected of students to harness the education they provide and make good use of it. It is not the responsibility of the instructors to force school work upon a student. It is a student's duty to perform the necessary tasks and meet the important requirements of the classroom. The classes are challenging, but they allow the mind to develop and entice you to work hard. All of the courses at Meredith require thought and dedication to working rigorously, but the outcome is rewarding. The general education program might seem tedious and difficult, but it works toward creating a well-rounded student and a future successful member of the community and society as a whole. Once a student dives into courses involved in one's major, the work becomes more time-consuming and commitment becomes necessary, but that is to be expected. And if the major is something a student is passionate about, then the required work becomes a goal instead of a just school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending Meredith College means that one is genuinely interested in receiving the highest level of education possible, as well as realizing and achieving one's dreams. Enrollment at Meredith is a wise investment in one's future and is not to be taken lightly. College life at Meredith, or any school, must be well-balanced. This balance can be achieved by responsibly appointing time to both a social life and school work. Procrastination is the enemy. Don't allow it to be an option. Meredith is a private college, and at a private college there are smaller classes where individualized attention is encouraged by professors if it is needed. Don't hesitate to make use of this opportunity. A private school is designed specifically for asking questions and getting answers. Don't be afraid to connect with the instructors. Their job is to help you. Don't be intimidated by the other students. I promise they are just as nervous as you are about making friends and finding classrooms. Being nervous is actually a pretty good ice-breaking topic. Talk to someone and the two of you can be scared together! Get involved. There is a ton of stuff that happens on campus year round. Take advantage of all the chances to interact with other students and get to know all of the school's activities and traditions. There is almost always something to do with all the clubs, dinners, socials, and get-togethers. Have fun! Make time to relax! College is meant to be a growing experience, so give yourself room to do just that! Take a breather, go for a run, enjoy the campus and schedule some down time! Most importantly... take a lot of pictures. Your college memories will last a lifetime. Make them count and let them live long past graduation!

    In three sentences

    Meredith College exceeded all of the expectations I had for a college during my application process. I did not apply anywhere else in my search for a location as my future education home, because I immediately felt the connection I had with the campus and the people. Meredith is a spectacular learning and living atmosphere with instructors, peers, and faculty that are truly concerned with the well-being and advancement of the students.

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a tad expensive but, for being a private school, it has many things to do, see, and learn.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful and small. The city it is in has a lot to offer. I really admire what there is to do here.

    Will learn a lot

    This college has many opportunities not only at this school but at many other schools they are partnered with including NC State. If you can't find what you want at Meredith, you can take classes at one of their partnered schools while still enrolled in Meredith.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students who like to be involved in clubs and athletics. For students who love to sing and dance, there is a huge music program that Meredith offers (my suitemate is a music major and loves it). For students who like to be a part of the campus life and participate in exciting events!

    Tips for prospective students

    Discuss the benefits Meredith College offers within the tuition and do not just shoot it down because it is a high number. There are multiple scholarships to apply for, so do it! Do not think of it as an all-girls school when you have NC State boys right down the street! Look into being a part of an athletic team.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Meredith College's tuition is high, people tend to forget about the benefits. You have a secured, fenced in campus with active security, receive a laptop as a freshman and have it updated as a junior, rewarded amounts on you cam-card per each start of the semester, and great athletic facilities (Brand new track and turf soccer field). Located in the best part of Raleigh with NC State right down the street and the campus is beautiful!

    Am enjoying being here

    Meredith College has a variety of events every year from Cornhuskin, Ring Dinner, Dances, Formals, Big Sis Lil' Sis, and atheletics. There is always something going on, so there is never a bland weekend. I love how updated the dorms are with suites that share a bathroom instead of a community bathroom. The location is perfect with Crabtree Mall three miles down the road, NC State two minutes down the road, and various shops and restaurants along Hillsborough Street.

    Am learning a lot

    Besides learning a ton from my General Education classes that Meredith requires you to take in order to graduate, the classes I take for my major is where I find myself learning the most. The teaching staff is wonderful and teaches from their own experiences and knowledge of each subject, rather than following a syllabus.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel Meredith College is very safe. They have gates in the front and back of campus and campus security is located in the middle of all the dorms. After eleven o'clock p.m. the back gate closes forcing people to have to drive through the front gate where campus security checks people's ID's and if there is someone who does not go to the school they take their driver's license and do not give it back until they drive by to exit the campus. I honestly feel very safe. Plus all the dorms cannot be accessed unless you have your student ID which is also known as your cam-card if you don't have that you cannot get in any of the dorms. Overall the campus is a pretty secure place that covers all their bases. You even have to know about fire safety and what to do if there is a fire and how to prevent starting one. Also drugs and alcohol are not permitted in the dorms and when they have open house hours which are when boys can come in the dorms they have to leave by 1 a.m. on Friday and Saturday and 9 p.m. on Thursday and Sunday.

    Greek Life

    Since Meredith is an all women's college we think of ourselves as one big sorority so we don't have any form of Greek life. We have Greek affiliated clubs like if you get a certain GPA you can get inducted into the Kappa society and tons more.

    Clubs and Activities

    Meredith College has over 100 clubs and if they don't have one you really want you can start your own. I girl I knew wanted to have a cheer-leading club and she just started one this past semester. Also there are a variety of sports such as softball, lacrosse, soccer, volleyball, and track and field.

    Great for these types of students

    Since Meredith College is a private all women's school you have to be female. You also have to be a student that loves to learn and wants to find themselves and grow into a prosperous woman in an atmosphere full of loving and supportive people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I absolutely love the traditions. First there is Cornhuskin which is this big event that happens at the end of October and lasts a whole week. Basically it's a huge competition between the classes this year it was 2013 2014 2015 and 2016. It's so much fun to participate in and so amazing to watch everything come together over the weeks of practicing. Honestly you really just have to experience it. There is also Stunt which is like a field day for our school in the spring. They have a program called the big sis lil sis program where juniors become big sisters to freshman and help and guide them until they graduate. Most girls become best friend's with their big sis I know I have and a lot other girls have as well this one is my favorite tradition. Lastly there is the onyx ring tradition which is where students with 60 credits or more in the fall semester of their junior year get a ring with an onyx stone in the middle of it. This tradition is the big one for most students and they say this is when they really feel unified to the school.

    Bang for the buck

    I think for the money you pay to go to Meredith you get an excellent education with professors that challenge you and want you to succeed. Meredith also requires their students to have an internship to graduate so that they can know for sure rather their field is the right place for them saving them a lot of money in the end.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do on and off campus. Meredith holds plays and dance festivals during the weekends. They also have Meredith and a movie where they screen a movie in the courtyard. Off campus you have a wide range of chooses. Since we are located in the heart of Raleigh the mall is fifteen minutes away and there are hundreds of restaurants to go to and hang out at after hours. Also there are clubs no too far away. Plus Ben and Jerry's is right across the street in a little mini mall with a lot of other great restaurants. There is also something to do even if you are just hanging around in your dorm room.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and you have a wide range of options to choose from in the dining hall. There is a salad bar, pizza station, fast food station, vegetarian station, sandwich making station and already made sandwich station, a sushi station, and a sauteed station. Every meal is a buffet and there's a ton to choose from. There is also the beehive which is like a mini gas station in the top of one of our student centers which has a fast food area and a self serve smoothie machine and lots more.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love the dorms. The dorms are really nice depending on the one you get. I live in Poteat and I love it. There is plenty of storage space and the beds are nice and comfortable. We had a few issues with the shower flooding and the sink leaking but once you send in that work order the handy men get right on it and everything returns good as new or sometimes even new.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not going to lie and say this past semester was a breeze but it wasn't horrific either. You have your busy times and your lax times but for the money you pay you are getting an excellent education and are sure to graduate with tons of jobs lined up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go into this college thinking that you are going to fail. College is nothing like high school you have more time to do homework and focus on time management skills and studying habits. If you still have doubts Meredith holds workshops for students that feel they are lacking on those skills as well.

    In three sentences

    Meredith College is a very welcoming place with a loving atmosphere. Everyone is nice and willing to help you and you will make life long lasting friendships. There is not a person there that does not want to see you succeed and prosper in the real world.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are eager for leadership opportunities, who respect tradition, and who feel comfortable in a close campus environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, and make sure the environment is right for you. The all female environment is truly empowering, but definitely not for everyone. Also, talk to current students, and attend the prospective student days.

    Bang for the buck

    As the others have said, the private school status makes tuition naturally higher, but the school really works hard to maximize financial aid. I pay almost no tuition just due to scholarships and basic financial need. Sign up for the scholarship database on the website.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is really the definition of a community. You'll know almost everyone after just one year, even professors and students you haven't even taken a class with yet. The traditions make the school unique.

    Am learning a lot

    You can choose to challenge yourself, or you can choose to relax more. In other words, the curriculum is really accessible to all. The classes are very interesting, the professors are very knowledgeable, and the discussions are always engaging. Just remember to do your work. The small class size makes it evident when you haven't done your work.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is the legendary honor code tradition that says you can leave your books and purse in the middle of campus and it will be where you left it when you come back tomorrow. very safe with no problems reported.

    Greek Life

    sorority life is active on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and activities-local, collegiate, and nationwide. many networking opportunities to further advance in your future careers.

    Great for these types of students

    girls who want to bond with other girls from all over the world to learn in an supportive environment without all the distractions of coed education. you will make friends for lifetime. the college is large enough to have a variety of programs and people, but small enough for lasting personal touches.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this school is all about traditions: the bathtub ring, odds/evens, cornhuskin', little/big sisters, canterbury tales, and the dolls. you would have to see it to believe it.

    Bang for the buck

    my daughter is a graduate from 2002. i was so impressed with the atmosphere of the school that i transferred for the education and adventure of this college life.

    What to do for fun

    located in the capital city, there are many popular nightspots, restaurants, arts and entertainment within a stones throw of campus. also located beside nc state university, which provides a variety of campus experiences.

    Food and Dining

    excellent campus food.

    Dorm Life

    don't live there myself, but hear nothing but good reviews. there are apartments on campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    writing intensive school, but gives you an outstanding foundation for your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for the all-girl experience. no guys on this campus, which makes for a more relaxed and bonding experience. friendly to the older student returning to college also.

    In three sentences

    the best school i could ever have attended. the staff is so professional, warm, caring, and helpful. the campus community is more like a family.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good no need to worry.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs so definitely you will find one.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of students; there is many types of ethnicity and religions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have their own little beach area.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive no doubt but that's way you can apply for many scholarships and a have job.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of clubs you can join and a lot of traditional activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafe so it good and nice dinning area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always visit the campus and make sure you ask a lot of questions. Always have a backup plan because you will never know what kind of situation you might fall in. Make sure to ask if you have more opportunities later on to apply for their scholarships.

    In three sentences

    It is a small and private school . The people are really nice and helpful. I rate this college a 10 and the campus is really beautiful.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have very good campus security. There is 24hr security, and after 11pm males are carded at the gates (we have strict male policies)

    Clubs and Activities

    They have plenty of clubs and activities for every interest and major.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want more than just a degree. They offer experience and friendship.... Meredith is also very self sufficient which means that its great for students who can't rely on their families or who are moving far away from family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do I even need to mention Corn Husking? I'm sure everybody else would have explained it.

    Bang for the buck

    This school costs a lot of money but its worth it! My older sister attends a community college and while its cheaper, she doesn't enjoy it and doesn't have much experience to put on her resume. After being at Meredith for only a year and taking part in the opportunities they offer, my Resume is larger and more impressive than hers (and she has been in college for 3 years)

    What to do for fun

    Meredith is a sisterhood, so we often like to hang out together and simply relax.

    Food and Dining

    For a small college, their food and dining and exceptional. The employees are really nice! They have at least about 3 different hot food options available at each meal, and always have sandwiches, pizza, burgers, salads, cereal, and bagels available. Not to mention they have an ice-cream machine (with toppings!) and will provide weekly special cuisines (like Indian food, or vegetarian specials, etc). The meal plan given to students is unlimited (which is nice) so you never have to worry....

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great! All dorms offer free cable, and most of the dorms have bathrooms within the room (rather than the hall). Each floor has a small kitchen area for cooking, baking, and heating up food.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't doubt for a moment that this school will be easy. They may accept in more students but they are equally challenging to any top university. There is a reason why we have such great test scores, and pass rates....

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school!

    In three sentences

    A Sisterhood. An Experience. An Education.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Corn Husking, Hiding the Crrok

    What to do for fun

    Go to State's library, get involved in clubs (here or at State), Make friends at State

    In three sentences

    I love this college. The campus is beautiful and the teachers are amazing. It's small enough feel like a small campus but close enough to North Carolina State University that you can get the large campus experience as well.

  • 09/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a relationship with their professors and classmates, students who want to be involved on campus, students who are looking for low student-faculty ratio, students who do not have a Y chromosome!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small school with easy access to the downtown lifestyle, this is for you! It's like living in a gated community. But don't wait till the last minute to apply for scholarships. Free money is wonderfully helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school, so of course it is expensive, but there are plenty of work study opportunities as well as financial aid available. The amenities are great if you choose to live on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've only been here for a month, but I love the atmosphere here!

    Am learning a lot

    Because this is a Liberal Arts college, there is a wide selection of classes that you can take and that you are encouraged to take. Even some of the fun classes will fill a Gen-Ed requirement!

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Incredible! The campus police are so nice and they won't let anyone bad get on campus. They are very attentive and monitor closely what goes on at all hours of the day.

    Greek Life

    there is none but the personal atmosphere at Meredith doesn't need it.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many available

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a personalized college experience. Students who want a small school other than a large school. Students who want there professors to recognize their strengths and weaknesses and help them to grow. Students who want to build relationships with professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are SO many traditions at Meredith. These include Big Sis Lil Sis, Cornhuskin (the most amazing thing ever - you just have to experience it to see for yourself), fire and water dinner, ring dinner, tea for two, guardian angel dance, class day, crook hunt, honor code ceremony, charming evening, and so many more! The traditions really make Meredith unique and special and they bring the campus together!

    Bang for the buck

    expensive but so worth it!

    What to do for fun

    there are so many clubs and organizations on campus - you just have to get involved!

    Food and Dining

    This depends on who you talk to - some people love it and some hate it. There is a little cafe (the beehive cafe) that has pizza/subs/burgers/chick-fil-a/snacks, if you don't like the cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    This is pretty good. There are pretty strict rules on male visitation hours, but it makes the dorms more personal/homey.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging but professors are very kind - for the most part - and will help with anything. they all have office hours where they encourage students to drop by. there are special programs like the honors and teaching fellows program that provides additional academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    have excellent recommendations! Also spend time on your essays and prepare for your interview if needed. They really look at the whole person rather than just your test scores when reviewing your application.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful college that offers so many growth opportunities. Everyone on campus - professors, staff, upper-class students, etc. really care that you are growing as a person. There are so many support systems for first year students such as the big sis lil sis program and student advisers.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I moved from the country to the city and there is always something to do!!

    Food and Dining

    Belk Dining Hall makes sure to cater to everyone's needs however I wish they had an even larger variety and more convenient times.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life makes it hard to get lonely at Meredith. People are extremely friendly and always up for a chit chat. Sometimes living on the lower levels can suck because water temperature is bipolar and you can literally hear everything.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take and what instructors you choose is how hard your class is going to be. Typically most of the instructors are willing to work with you one on one and we have plenty of tutors available as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pack plenty of pajama pants, leggings, and shorts because being an all girl school; nobody takes the time to dress up. Come with an open mind because you will meet a variety of people you would not have encountered otherwise. Get involved and become known at the school.

    In three sentences

    Meredith College is a family in and of itself. Freedom of choice and expression is admired and encouraged. Free thinking is a must and traditions are what make the school so special.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Life outside of classes is never boring at Meredith, for there is always something to do. Whether it be going down the street to Ben & Jerry's for ice cream, having a party at the Cate Center, or just having a movie night, fun is never out of reach. There are also events that Meredith puts on such as: The Fire and Water Dinner, The Guardian Angel Dance, Tea for Two, and so many more traditions and fun activities. The main event that everyone loves is Corn Huskin' week, but I cannot tell you about it, because you just have to experience it for yourself.

    Food and Dining

    On Meredith's campus there are two places to eat, the dining hall (Belk Dining Hall) and the BeeHive Cafe, which is located in the Cate Center. Recently, the dining hall was redone. There is now a fountain on the wall that reads Meredith and nice new tables and chairs. The food selection in the dining hall is pretty good, complete with a pasta bar and a vegetarian alternative. The BeeHive Cafe is where you can by food and some other products like toilet paper, if you ever cannot make it to the store. It is nice to have an alternative to cafeteria food every now and again.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Meredith is pretty nice. In each dorm there is an RD (residence director) who is in charge of the entire dorm and the RA (residence assistant) who is in charge of my floor. They are both really helpful women. One time I got locked outside my room, but I did not lock the door, it got jammed. I went to the RA's room and told her my situation and within 10-15 minutes I was back in my room. However, she did not only just help me then, she placed a work order on my room and soon after it was fixed.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Meredith are challenging, but also very beneficially in the overall scheme of things. My freshman year I took this course called PRISM that seemed pointless and a waste of time, but I soon learned otherwise. The course was a stepping stone to learning how to think critically. At first I thought that I already had that concept down, but later I found that thinking critically is more than just thinking, but having a deeper, more-in-depth thought. As of now, I am taking a philosophy class. I don't really understand about what is so important about deciding whether or not I believe the world I am in is reality, but I know eventually it will all make sense.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would give to the incoming students is to use all the resources that Meredith has provided for you. Everyone in the faculty are well versed on where to lead you in the right direction for your future; whether it be a question about a potential major, financial aid, or just asking where to find a classroom, they are ready to help. One facility that was personally very helpful to me was the student learning center. This facility is a place that students can come to get help on any given subject by students who have already taken the course and done really well in it. The tutors are paid through Meredith, so it is of no extra cost to you to come and get help.

    In three sentences

    Meredith is a wonderful all women's college that focuses on the idea of sisterhood. Freshman year there is a program called big sis, little sis that is designed to help incoming students to feel comfortable in their new surroundings, to be able to understand where everything on campus is, and how to use it by interacting with a junior big sis. This is a great way for the freshman to get to know people and make friends, because without the friends to keep you going life can get hard alone.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You see campus security a lot and after 11pm men on campus have to give their ID to campus security, no one without a Camcard can enter dorms and even commuting Meredith students find that after 11pm their cam cards no longer work.

    Greek Life

    thankfully Meredith has no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over a hundred different clubs and activities, everything form the SGA executive board, class presidents to things like anime clubs and angles for autism. Meredith College has a club for your passion and if you don't find one the process of creating a student group is very simple.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, Curious students. Even young women who find it hard to find their voice will be ale to find their passions and their voice here. Meredith does a fantastic job of getting women comfortable in their own skin and ability to articulate themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cornhuskin Class Day Stunt CSA Day Crook hunt A performance of Alice in Wonderland every 4 years The Onyx T shirt sales You just have to experience it all to understand.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money but there are going to be days where you want to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, you can rent Wii systems and recreational equipment from the library, along with DVD's there are places across the street to get ben and jerry's icecream, a gaming boutique and of course NC State is a free wolfline bus ride away. There is cameron village (mall) and lots of other places to explore. get a CAT pass from the Cate center and you can ride CAT (Capital Area Transit) buses fro free! Also, Meredith is very close to downtown Raleigh. The possibilities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    Belk Dining Hall (BDH) can be very hit or miss, also watch your plates and silverware, if it doesn't look clean send it back and get anew one. Meredith also had a new initiative about campus sustainability, green takeout trays are given to students to use for take hall food with you . but PLEASE return your dirty ones before you pick up a clean one. the Beehive cafe, located on the second floor of the cate student centers has lots of made-to-order options but there is generally one person behind the grill at a time and it takes longer, but the food is higher quality

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice but there are of course occasions where roommates will not get along and if you live near the kitchen, don't be surprised if you hear microwaves slamming at midnight. Some dorms are better then others but that is about the dorm floor culture and not the campus itself. if you find yourself in a dorm where people will dump your laundry out of the machines, contact your RD and/or bail.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a women's college but don't let that fool you, were not graduating women with MRS degrees and nothing more. If you try to use lazy high-school tactics you will fail. do the readings talk to professors, uses the learning center, study with others.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to find a map of the campus and keep it with you. Make friends with your professors, lots of student working opportunities are found through them and Meredith pays nicely the longer you work as a student on campus. Don't be afraid to run of offices on campus, in your admissions essays or interviews be confidant.

    In three sentences

    Tradition-rich, No Mean girls style Drama, Academically challenging.

  • 02/10/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 7 people found this review useful. 20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    see campus first

    Bang for the buck

    duhh

    Will enjoy being here

    sports are great

    Will learn a lot

    i sure hope so

  • 12/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because Meredith is a liberal arts College there us more on the table to feed from.The seasons,summer,spring and winter makes it even more natural and interesting to study at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being a hard worker is the key to success.Persistence,dedication and devotion are also the keys to achievement as a student.

    Bang for the buck

    Every time when i sit to read, i start with the Meredith par-cage i got this year.I really get motivated and my hopes arise every single time i read the par-cage.

    Will enjoy being here

    With my all,I will enjoy being at Meredith.The fact that it offers Dance studies and theater is the most outstanding opportunity for me because i would love to take part in those fields as minors because i would love to take biology as a major.The fact that undergraduate students are allowed to take two majors is also a `wow` to me.

    Will learn a lot

    I will hopefully learn a lot from Meredith College.After I read the International packet they had send me, I found no reason why I should Meredith would not be a fit for me.Actually the par-cage made me feel like one of the students.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe!

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the motto is you just have to experience it! all the traditions meredith has is what solidified my choice.

    Bang for the buck

    a little pricey.

    What to do for fun

    meredith is great about giving students opportunities to do things together. my student advising group, resident hall floor, teaching fellows group, honors program group, and more all have individual events i can choose to participate in.

    In three sentences

    meredith college has a great sense of community that allows you to be as connected or disconnected as you like. additionally, i have found my support system of advisors and previous teachers who act as mentors in my life to be wonderful. lastly, raleigh, nc is a great city; this part has a small city feel while the larger section of raleigh is waiting minutes away.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of culture in Raleigh.

    Food and Dining

    Really good

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus but I've heard good things.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but the professors give you the tools to do well if you want to.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get out of school what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for students who want to really learn and not jut be a number at a University.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very comfortable leaving my stuff in one spot & seeing it when I come back. I also feel comfortable walking around campus at night. Meredith is a very safe place and makes you feel comfortable being there. Have fun at Meredith!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something to do at Meredith!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are outgoing and friendly. Also good for shy people but you just have to work harder to get yourself out there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a tradition only at Meredith called CornHuskin'. People would ask what is it?! any Meredith student would say You just have to experience it!

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth the money you're spending here!

    What to do for fun

    There's clubs and traditions as I said earlier and there's parties close by.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good! They have so many options (vegetarian, healthy, not healthy). It's a nice atmosphere and a good place for you to just chill.

    Dorm Life

    It's really nice living the campus life. It's probably weird for you if you don't know your roommate personally but they're nice and willing to get to know you. At Meredith you can learn how to settle conflicts with your roommate/suitemate so you'll be fine!

    Academic Rigor

    The work is really hard, but that's just college! The teachers are nice and are willing to help you. There's also tutors on campus you can go to for a specific subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's weird being around a lot of girls at first but after a while you get use to it. Make sure you know that Meredith is an expensive college and you can pay for it with financial aid and/or your parent's help. Oh, and time management is everything!

    In three sentences

    Meredith is a great place! I really like it here. The people are very nice and make you feel very comfortable. There are so many traditions, clubs, and sports you can join. Meredith truly gives you everything!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i love it

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safest place in Raleigh by far. We have guards at the main gate for most of the day and all night, and they will be there for whatever safety concern you ever have.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wasn't big into the traditions, but they suck you in anyway. Cornhuskin', big-sis lil-sis, Stunt, Crook Hunt, 12th night, Fire and Water, and Tea for Two are only a drop in the bucket when it comes to traditions. There is always a t-shirt involved and everyone gets involved in some way.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're a good student then there is usually a good bit of aid available to you that gets it down close to in-state.

    Food and Dining

    Scott plans amazing food that might take you out of your culinary comfort zone, but also has the regular comfort foods when you don't want to be so adventurous. There is also an on-campus deli/market/smoothie shop/coffee house if you don't want to go to Belk.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have their quirks, but they are still really nice to stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a stretch depending on what major your in, or how much you know about your learning style. All the majors can be hard, but some components of that major are easier than others. You can step up the rigor by trying to get into the Honors Program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start networking at the events (they send you a lot of postcards). Meet teachers and students who are volunteering to meet with you.

    In three sentences

    You will dance. You will buy a tshirt. You will never want to leave.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always active. You can call them for just about anything and they will respond quickly to your call.

    Greek Life

    The school has a few sororities for the leading women on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Meredith College offers many clubs and activities for students. There are many sports and clubs to chose form so that the students never get bored or have a hard time fitting in.

    Great for these types of students

    Any female that is ready to lead

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year, the school holds a tradition that they call Cornhuskin. All students come out and participate with the staff and even parents. It is the biggest tradition on campus and everyone enjoys it.

    Bang for the buck

    The school may be expensive, but they offer many scholarships and even a list of outside scholarships on their website.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and traditions to participate in on campus. However, Raleigh has many attractions, hot spots, and movie theaters to hang out at.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! You have three meal plans to chose from. And if you don't feel like eating in the hall, then they have different offers in their beehive cafe!

    Dorm Life

    Most rooms are suite style and big enough for two! The dorms are all renovated and have an amazing staff.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but don't worry. It's easy to handle if you have patience and control

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school, get to know the staff, and make friends!

    In three sentences

    A welcoming environment for students and parents. Amazing pre-med program. A great place to live for 4 years

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a gate that closes off the campus at a particular time every night. With this gate there is a campus security guard at a booth in which all cars entering campus have to pass through.The doors of each dorm room and halls are also always locked;making it merely impossible for break ins or burglaries.

    Greek Life

    The college is considered a Sorority in itself among the community.Therefore there are is no true Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a growing number of clubs and activities on campus.Students are allowed to propose new ones often.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who wish to experience the college life without the over sized class sizes.Those who wish to get away from home but still feel secure and loved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is full of traditions.Some are not even to be spoken of.The best thing is to simply experience them.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is full of many traditions.The Most popular is Cornhuskin'. The students are not to give any details as to what it is exactly. But students plan for more than three months for this event that they say is Homecoming times one thousand.

    What to do for fun

    Aside from the on campus clubs and activities the campus is within walking distance of NC State football games and a large strip of shops,cafes and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    First year students are all given a meal plan in which they have unlimited meals in the buffet style cafeteria.Plus each student is given fifty dollars on their cam card to spend on snacks at the Bee Hive Cafe if they please.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite larger than the average dorms of other schools.With movable furniture and built in storage,there is room for everything.And the free washer and dryer usage is an added plus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are willing to work with you because the classes are particularly small. The average class size is one that gives you a one on one advantage that you might not get at a larger college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the school is not co-ed it is not like you will never see guys.The school is no exaggeration within five minutes of NC State.

    In three sentences

    The campus feels safe in many ways.The honor code and the campus police guarding the gate makes me feel more secure than while on any other campus.This school is a home away from home.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and secure and located in safe nice clean area.

    Great for these types of students

    Good for all students especially ones wanting small campus life with opportunity to have instructors that know your name.

    Bang for the buck

    It has been worth every dollar we have borrowed,received and been awarded. This college is more expensive but worth the extra for the extra care and attention you receive.

    What to do for fun

    Meredith has many on campus activities to enjoy and meet new friends.

    Food and Dining

    Enjoy the food and dinning with students. The food is good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced dorm life but have never heard any negative remarks about dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    I am studying History and elementary education. Finally on track due to great advisor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research before you choose the college you attend. Smaller colleges treat you as a person not a number. Larger universities seem to be an honor when excepted once you attend you are lost. The ratio of students to staff is unbalance.

    In three sentences

    1-Great student advisers very interested in guiding students with career choices. 2-Financial aid staff helpful with securing your future dreams. 3-Instructors that help make learning enjoyable.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good security, can only access rooms using your cam card and boys have to be off campus at a designated time during the week and weekend.

    Greek Life

    Meredith is an all girl private school so it is a natural sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs and activities like softball, volleyball, basketball, Spanish, soccer, lacrosse, and others.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like small class sizes, small campus and low stress.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One upcoming tradition is Cornhuskin, also the teachers do a production of Alice in Wonderland.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool on campus, various events during the week and the campus is near the Raleigh area which has many things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria with good food, good selections and various options of a main course, and health course.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, I have a roommate and three suite mates, and have to share a bathroom. Not too bad so far.

    Academic Rigor

    So far it is OK. Small class sizes and great instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a nice small campus and has great instructors. Make sure you visit the campus to see what it is all about and experience it first hand.

    In three sentences

    So far my experience at Meredith has been outstanding. We have small classroom sizes and great teachers. My roommate is great and fun to be around.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a lot of security measures like restrictions on boy hours, checkpoints with guards, checking in and out guests, etc. that are kind of annoying and pointless since the greenway leads straight from the side of the highway into the back of the campus where no guards are... so anyone can just walk on in, but only the students driving in get checked. But generally the security is good.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have a car, you live close to campus with your parents for the first couple of years (so you can skip the dorms and go straight to the apartments here), you have stuff to do on the weekends like going home or staying with your boyfriend (since everyone else is going to leave too)- Meredith will be great for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Waaayyy overpriced, paying for the dorms and dining hall is SO much more expensive than just having a decent apartment close to campus and grocery shopping- but you get much less space, privacy and edible food. The apartments on campus are much better since you can cook for yourself, and it costs about the same (only for Juniors and Seniors though).

    What to do for fun

    Tons of stuff to do in downtown Raleigh (if you have a car- the bus is not reliable). There's a few areas to walk to, right across Hillsborough is a miniature mall type thing with a bar and coffee shop and some good areas to study, and behind the school is Whole Foods- also serves coffee with some nice hangout spots.

    Food and Dining

    The dorms include a meal plan at the dining hall which is horrendous- things can get gross in there, and there are few really healthy options (unless you consider sugar-laden granola or boiled to oblivion greens healthy) unless you stick to the salad bar for every meal. The Beehive is a convenience store type thing on campus that is obscenely overpriced, although it is cleaner.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awful (small, old, in disrepair), but they did close down the one that I was in. Everyone leaves on the weekends to hang out with people at State or their boyfriends, so there's no community here. There are apartments on campus, and these are much better.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major- I'm a psychology major and crime and justice minor, and these are both good departments with some great teachers who know what they're talking about and expect you to do real work.

    In three sentences

    Bad food and awful residence halls, not much of a community, not a great location if you don't have a car. Beautiful, small campus, friendly students and faculty, short drive away from a million things to do, and great apartments. Psychology program is great.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think its one of the most safety campus on North Carolina.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many organizations that give students the opportunity to develop skills such as public speaking and team work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cornhuskin is the best tradition in Meredith College. If you ask me what is it about I only have one sentence response: You have to experience it!

    What to do for fun

    We have many traditions and community service projects. Since we are downtown Raleigh, Meredith College has many restaurants and parks around.

    Food and Dining

    We have amazing and friendly staff that cooks really good.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus give you the ability to experience more. Its really helpful especially with academic schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    The small environment gives students the ability to develop critical thinking techniques.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will recommend you to visit the campus and experience Meredith College.

    In three sentences

    It amazing college; it has been ranked third on the 2013 edition of U.S. News & World Report list of the South�s Best Regional Colleges.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I used to think our security guards took their jobs way too seriously, until I recognized all potential dangers. There are guards in front of the gate after a certain time every night, so while you are sleep you can rest assured that no one will break into your room. Also, they I.D. anyone that comes in after a certain time & hold their I.D. until they leave the premises. Men are not allowed on campus after certain times, either. It may sound like a pain, but it is worth it- especially, because we are attending an all women's college.

    Bang for the buck

    Our campus is very diverse. Strive to do your best, and they will strive to help you along the way. I'm sure you will love this school : )

    What to do for fun

    The possibilities are endless! Meredith has so many clubs that involve dance, singing, acting, foreign language, sports, cosmetology, religion, heritage, nature, and more. There are many campus traditions as well, and being involved will definitely help you adapt to your new home, and put you at ease with your work load. Also, events will work around your class schedule so there will be little to no conflict regarding them.

    Food and Dining

    I do not like the dining hall food. For your first year, it might not be so bad. Towards the second semester it seems like they just stopped trying. I would definitely recommend not having a meal plan, even though your first year is mandatory.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy living in the residence halls, but choose your roommates wisely, ad if you decide to have them choose one, be honest about your habits. For instance, if you know you like to be a little messy- do not ask for a clean roommate. It will affect your living quarters negatively.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give this institution a four, because it is a challenge for me only because I never had to apply myself in high school. Once I went to college, I realized that I had to study differently for every class. Your academic experience is what you make it! Also, we have a place called the Learning Center, where there is tutors for every subject you can think of. The good thing about those tutors is that they are students, just like you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply for scholarships as soon as you know you are gong to this school. It is very expensive! My parents had to pay almost $30000 out of pocket, and that is per year. Financial aid may not help very much, because student funding is being cut from all angles. Also, please be honest with your teachers. They will be your best friends if you just inform them of any issues you are having: both in class and personal.

    In three sentences

    Meredith College is small, and personal. The campus is safe, and reliable. The staff is courteous, and caring.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome security of all students and guests; entering and leaving.

    Greek Life

    The whole campus is pretty much a huge sorority if you think about it ;)

    Clubs and Activities

    JOIN EVERYTHING

    Great for these types of students

    Understanding, Open-minded, Artistic, Leaders.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Where can I start... SO many traditions. Look them all up online or find an Angel and ask them; they will be happy to share!

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let expenses intimidate you if you are truly driven to receive an education. Take control of your expenses.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Raleigh, volunteer, visit NCSU, lay out on the lawn.

    Food and Dining

    You're always going to get tired of the food being served to you.. but at Meredith, it's always different. Healthy options are always available!

    Dorm Life

    AMAZING memories made in the dorms. Trust me.

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes, but still a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study up on all the school as to offer, and GET INVOLVED IN EVERYTHING.

    In three sentences

    Meredith has a great and lively campus where all girls feel comfortable with themselves; allowing them to continue in all their efforts. At Meredith, young ladies are turned into mature young women who are aware of their communities in need and the world around them. In the few years spent on the campus as a student, an everlasting bond is created with fellow students. Once and Angel, always an Angel

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always about on campus when you need them to assist you in car trouble, killing bugs in your dorm... lol

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life but being in an all girls school is really like one big sorority!

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who is looking for a school where they can gain more focus and attention in class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cornhusking! instead of Homecoming

    What to do for fun

    Go support your avenging angels in sports or play sports! Cornhusking, weekend events like movie showings on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! and There are plenty of options for healthy choices and people who have alternatives diets.

    Dorm Life

    You are required to stay on campus your first two years and you either have a room that you share with one other person and a communal bathroom or suite style .

    Academic Rigor

    Your classes should be small and intimate and you will have relationship with your teacher. Every department is kinda top notch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about not having guys! Some cross register classes at Meredith from local schools like NC State, Shaw, William Peace College and St. Aug. Meredith students can do the same depending on the course.

    In three sentences

    Meredith College is more than just an all girls school, but a window of opportunity.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meredith is close to neighboring colleges, clubs and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    There are several food options both on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Meredith does a fair job of keeping all of the dorms maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    Meredith is a challenging school but graduates from this school are highly respected and sought out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in class, don't skip. Show up and do the work and the professors will work with you to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Meredith College is a safe, diverse environment that allows women to grow into the best they can be. Small class sizes encourage women to have their voice heard. The diverse options for majors offers great opportunities.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe I have lived on campus for a year, I have never had issues with campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Meredith Fashion Association

    What to do for fun

    Meet new girls each semester and hang out with them in the evenings. The fun part is to study together and experience many great things at Meredith. We also follow the traditions, such as cornhuskin that is our favorite part of Meredith.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and great company to share each meal

    Dorm Life

    We meet many girls and it feels like home. We experience great moments with other girls.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    Meredith College is great college to be and because the professors care about students. At Meredith we grow and experiences many great things that helps us grow as women. We are going strong!

    In three sentences

    Meredith College is great college to success as women. The school offers great programs as others universities. I am very proud to be part of Meredith College, and I believe I will can change my future with my education in this institute.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Meredith College has its own campus security team available 24/7

    Greek Life

    We don't have greek life and we don't need it since the whole school is like a big sisterhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    - Cornhuskin' is a yearly tradition, maybe the most important. The only thing that we are allowed to say to anyone who hasn't been to it is: YOU JUST HAVE TO EXPERIENCE IT! - Honor Code ceremony: all freshmen are taken outside with candles in a beautiful ceremony to pledge that they will uphold the Honor code. - Guardian angel: Sophomores will have a very intimate father-daughter ball - Tea for two: Sophomores will have a great mother-daughter tea party -Ring dinner: this is the moment we all look forward besides graduation, Juniors receive the ONYX (the Meredith ring).

    Bang for the buck

    For your money, you get: - Great education with well prepare professors. - A safe environment - A lot of traditions, activities and clubs. - Unlimited food plan if you live on campus - Parking (extra cost) - Room for 2 and bathroom for 4 people - A nice campus with everything within walking distance. - A lot(not even kidding) A LOT of resources - Great location, in the middle of NC State

    What to do for fun

    For fun inside the school you can always find an interesting social, like a crafts social, sports social and more. There are a lot of clubs and organizations that often have events to promote their purpose. Meredith has a lot of traditions! You can get a big sister, participate in Cornhuskin', crook hunt, Class day, and many more. If there is nothing going on in Meredith which is not very likely.. You can always go to NC State which is down the street and enjoy College life.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has great space! they just renovated the space so now is very chic. Breakfast is the best food, so do not EVER miss it. If you are vegetarian I have to be honest, they don't know what tasty vegetarian food is. the rest of the food depends but it is very convenient since most of us don't know how to cook or we just don't have time to.

    Dorm Life

    In general, Meredith girls are amazing, very welcoming and helpful. The dorms are a little old and they could use some good renovations. The space is way better than most colleges around. Dorms have great locations because Meredith is a small campus compared to NC State, we have every building in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    College is nothing like high school where you had a nice first week of classes without a lot of homework and just a few lectures, Meredith will start lectures from day one because the syllabuses are very rigorous and will demand a lot of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    - If you like to get involve in traditions, this is the place for you! - get to know your faculty, they are really flexible and will always help you in their office hours - have priorities. Meredith has a lot of activities going on at all times, but education comes first! - If you live on campus, give the girls you're living with a chance, you are all moving in with strangers for the first time and you all have to learn how to live away from home.

    In three sentences

    Meredith College is great in academics, classes are small and faculty is well prepared. The resources on campus are really amazing, from tech services, to health center, dining hall, library, relaxation room, gym, fitness center, campus security, and many more. The Meredith community is very welcoming and will work hard to make you feel at home.