Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Meridian Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL!

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend finding a lot of scholarships! MCC's prices are not terrible but like everything the cost of living is rising, along with the price of education.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for, and what you put into it personally! I have not regretted anything since i became an MCC Eagle!

    Am enjoying being here

    I would not trade MCC for anything! I love being here!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a tremendous amount since i enrolled in MCC!

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the athletic games and go to the basketball court and play ball or either go to club eagle and play the game system.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is great, we have four meals a day breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is a little over protective.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic program is wonderful each teacher makes sure that their students are doing the very best they can to make sure they know what they are taught in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    always go to class and make sure you want to get an education.

    In three sentences

    meridian community college is a great school they are always willing to make every student feel comfortable. the instructors work very hard to make sure that each and every student is doing their very best. in my eyes i would rate meridian community college as a 5.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the top things that I love about Meridian is the safety. We have some awesome officers that patrol our campus. They are very good about handling any problems that may occur on campus, as well as enforcing the laws and rules of the school. They also are more than willing to help you out in any way possible.

    Greek Life

    Being that Meridian is a community college, there are not any sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    MCC has some of the best clubs and activities in the state. The main two are Phi Theta Kappa and the Baptist Student Union. All of the clubs welcome any students that are eligible and always have something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    MCC is great for students that want to learn in a friendly atmosphere. It is also great for students that need to have a flexible schedule. MCC is set in a city that is also great for students that like to go out and have a good time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not familiar with any unusual traditions or locations on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, what you pay to attend MCC is worth it. It is not too expensive. This school is very helpful with keeping money in student's and parent's pockets. Financial aid helps out a tremendous amount as well.

    What to do for fun

    The college has many different campus activities and clubs to choose from. The athletic teams are all really good and are normally free to students. There is also a fitness center and track for those who like to exercise. The surrounding area offers other activities such as skating, bowling, putt-putt golf, movies, the mall, and extensive shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at the college is amazing. They have a large selection and variety of foods. For those living in the dorms, they have meal plans that you can purchase so you can eat every day; breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food is very tasty as well. If you do not like the cafeteria, the city offers many different food choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Meridian is very nice. I live in the apartments on campus and I wouldn't have it any other way. All of the dorm parents and housing representatives are very nice and if you have a problem, they are there to help you out. The dorms and apartments are well kept and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Meridian's academic rigor is very high. Education is number one on their minds.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any prospective students, I recommend taking a campus tour. All of the tour leaders are helpful in answering any questions you may have. You can also meet with advisors during your tour to discuss what classes would be best for you. The advisors are very good at helping work around your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Meridian is an amazing school that is set on making sure students receive the best education possible. It has a wonderful atmosphere and all teachers are more than welcome to go out of their way to help you. I recommend Meridian to anyone that wants a great community college experience.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are always activities to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    i am not familiar with dining.

    Dorm Life

    i don't know about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are very challenging but the teachers are competent.

    Tips for prospective students

    you need to study hard and pay attention in class.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy my time at mcc. the staff works with me and is good about keeping me informed and well educated. i am enjoying getting to know other students.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're from a lower income family, want to increase your chances of getting a job by learning a trade, or are just starting out in the college world, MCC was made for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many of the surrounding colleges, MCC is much more affordable and easier to get into. Going to MCC before heading on to another college is a great idea, monetarily speaking.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the courses offered at MCC are easy, but only if you do the work and study like you're supposed to do. If you are having trouble, most of the teachers will take the time to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research online before signing up for classes. Some of the advisors at MCC do not know what they are doing and if you're not careful, you could end up wasting a lot of time and money on classes you don't need. I'm not saying don't do to MCC as this could happen at any college you go to. Just make sure you know exactly what you want to take before you sign up for it.

    In three sentences

    MCC is definitely not the best college out there, but it does have it's good points. MCC has a broad range of courses available to take. It's also affordable, convenient, and you're not likely to get lost on campus.

  • 02/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    The learning atomsphere is so great. It has been real enjoyable at MCC.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much since I have been at Meridian Community College. When I graduate from MCC I will have learned alot.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to have enough money saved up if you do not want to take out a loan because the cost is a little higher than other community colleges; and scholarships are not as abundant as other schools. I graduated valedictorian of my class, but since they did not offer a full scholarship for that, I ended up taking out a loan for my books.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    With a laid back atmosphere a student will find it hard to not have fun. A student will make friends quickly and gain instant study groups. During both Fall and Spring semesters there are festivals with booths of food and games, to give students a chance to relax after their classes.

    Am learning a lot

    I love this college. The class sizes are small so if a student needs one on one help then no problem. The staff is really helpful and works with you to reach your full potential. If you need an extra class to keep you a full time student then the course advisors will work with you to find the perfect match. The course advisors will also help you get all the classes needed for a possible transfer to a 4 year university.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study

    In three sentences

    Small community college with instructors who care you will learn a lot and feel like a family with classmates. I like the school.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety on campus is very good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Club Eagle

    What to do for fun

    Activites they have for students are really fun.

    Food and Dining

    Need a little more work on the food.

    Dorm Life

    Its good.

    Academic Rigor

    Good academic

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your head in the books.

    In three sentences

    I rate Meridian Community a 8.9 because, they care about there students they give the information you need, and the teachers are good on one on one.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is around at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    just want to pass and move on

    What to do for fun

    nothing to do for fun here, besides club eagle, but they dont have much to offer.

    Food and Dining

    grilled food is great.

    Dorm Life

    never stayed on campus so i would not know.

    Academic Rigor

    if you study this shoild not be a problem

    Tips for prospective students

    listen to students, they have books to sell and will tell you which teachers are the best, or the easiest.

    In three sentences

    teachers here are nice for the most part. Sometimes you have to bug them to get help though. I wouldnt do a program here though just stick to general education classes and transfer.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always on hand.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, join the swim team or any of the many sports and activities offered.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There's a verity of food choices. The dining area is very organized. Enjoy!!!

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Respect and patients will take you a long way.

    In three sentences

    This college is excellent for traditional students. The instructors are patient in taking the time needed with each student. This college has a wonderful facility and a great environment.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    baseball

    In three sentences

    It is a great college. The teachers are great. The activities are great.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety really go the extra mile. Sometimes I feel like they are trying too hard because their cars look just like real police cars. I will say they do keep us safe!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!!! Full time and Part time students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an affordable school in a convenient location. Its cheaper than a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    Join an organization or be apart of a team such as tennis or softball.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good!!! You will be ready to eat lunch and dinner because they serve some old fashion southern cooking.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorm so I can't rate that.

    Academic Rigor

    I give MCC 4 out of five stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay two steps ahead of financial aid to avoid a delay in funds. Also, keep your grades up so that when scholarship opportunities come, you will be eligible. Make friends because a buddy system helps when your absent.

    In three sentences

    Meridian Community college has an excellent nursing program. Meridian Community college has a wide variety of programs for people to study. Meridian Community college has excellent teachers that really want to help students learn.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police patrol for a 24 hr period. They will assist students to their cars at night. They strive to keep every student safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Meridian Community College has a second computer lab called the Success Center. Not only is the internet, Plato, and nursing assessments offered, but there is free tutoring.

    Bang for the buck

    Local students from Lauderdale county are guarenteed free tuition. Local businesses contribute for this to take action. Financial aid is also very reasonable for students who are not local.

    What to do for fun

    There is multiple activities that can keep a student occupied on Meridian's campus. Students have in season games, the Fitness Center, different clubs, plays by the Arts, concerts from the Dimensions, chorus, and guitar ensemble, and seasonal festivals. The town of Meridian also provides many activities: the mall, a variety of food, the Park, and the Bonita Lakes.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria gives a student many options. There is a salad bar, a variety of beverages, the Grill, and then regular cafeteria food. Each day is a different food. The Caf is very spacious and has TVs for students' enjoyments.

    Dorm Life

    The ladie's dorms are very convienent. They are located very close to all of the main buildings as well as the campus apartments. All dorms and apartments are overseen by security officers. The campus apartments are also gated, and all guests must sign in. The only complaint is the gentlemen's dorms are across a very dangerous highway. The speed limit might be 35mph, but it is 5 lanes of traffic.

    Academic Rigor

    The education presented by Meridian Community College is at a college level. They give classes to prepare students for core-based classes. Meridian Community College strives to help students succeed to their very best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meridian Community College is a great choice for first time and returning students. The one on one experience with the staff is very helpful when it comes to succeeding in the classroom. I highly recommend this school for local, state, and out-of-state residents.

    In three sentences

    Meridian Community College has excellent teachers who take time out of their schedules to help as much as possible. The education is at a sophisticated level, and the staff is very kind and reasonable with all questions. It might be called Harvard on the Hill, but the students get real help, actual conversations with their instructors, and a great first step at college.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on duty 24-7

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa, College Activities Board (CAB), Ivy League and way more!

    What to do for fun

    There are campus organizations available for everyone to join and stay involved. From Phi Theta Kappa to Ivy League Stident Recruiters, the fun is never ending!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just strive to keep up in class, strive to stay ahead!

    In three sentences

    Meridian Community College is hands down the best community in the state of Mississippi. There are so many opportunities at MCC for each and every student. Quality education at a reasonable price can definitely be a huge advantage to the students!

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security on campus at all times and you are required to wear name tags and have car decals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really enjoy the atomsphere and the library.

    What to do for fun

    I am an older student with a family, so I enjoy spending my time with them. I enjoy working in my yard.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but with hard work they can be passed with high marks.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a first rate college. Dedicated in helping the student reach their full potential and goals.

    In three sentences

    The school academic program is designed to help the student achieve maximum potential. The instructors are helpful in helping the student reach their goals. The school also provides the student with the tools they may need if a problem arise.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Meridian Community College has very good security. The security guards are always on top of their game and always keep everything running smoothly. MCC has one of the safest campuses in Mississippi.

    What to do for fun

    Meridian Community College has very many things to stay occupied. The library offers students time to do their work, a quiet environment, and somewhere to go to just get away. MCC also has different sports which can keep someone occupied and always have something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food at MCC is very tasty. The cafeteria always has good, fresh food. The cafeteria also stays very clean.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at MCC are very clean and healthy. The facilities are very nice. MCC has one of the nicest dorm facilities for a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    MCC has a very good academic franchise. The teachers are very caring and work with the student to help them improve their skills. The facilities are very clean and nice, and the environment is wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meridian Community College is a great school to begin your college career. MCC has very good academics, athletics, and facilities. The instructors know what they are talking about and work with the student in every way possible to help improve their skills in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    Meridian Community College is a great school to attend. MCC has outstanding facilities, great instructors, great academics, and has a great environment. Meridian Community College is a great college to attend.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This community college is great for students that want to go to college for an affordable price and close to home.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun, I don't have any insight because I was a full-time student and a full-time employee at a local hospital. My main focus was my education.

    Food and Dining

    The main place to eat on campus is in the cafe. Honestly, the food selection there is pretty decent. Every day, there is a variety of healthy foods versus your typical meal. There's a large variety for beverages, also. The only complaint that I would have about the dining services here would be the hours of operation. The meal plans are extremely affordable and are offered to students even if they aren't living on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms and apartments on campus. I lived at home since I lived in Meridian, MS. I've visited the apartments of friends there and they seemed like your average college dorm and apartment. Although they are labeled apartments, there are strict visitation policies and should be viewed as dorms. They do not allow you to bring your own bedroom furniture. You are required to use their bed that is twin sized.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic perspective of this community college was moderate. There will be assignments, tests, and homework expected just as in high school. Depending on the instructor, some are leniant and will try to work with you, while others are strictly-by-the-book and no questions to be asked. I would advise to ask around about the instructors before registering for their class. A lot of the instructors don't know any more information about the class than you do in the beginning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If possible, try to find former students to purchase your books to avoid buying them from the bookstore at such a high price. The price difference between a new and used book isn't much.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college to start off with. It offers a great education that prepares students for a future at a university. There are tons of functions and organizations to become involved in.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch baseball games.

    Food and Dining

    Did not eat cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    i don't know! i did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but you will learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Be on time for classes.

    In three sentences

    Nice campus. Classes are small enough to have one on one with professors. Classes are challenging.