Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Merritt College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, no trouble, and is often a nice quiet campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College is a real good route for only $38 per unit, you can save a lot more than paying for classes at a university. Financial Aid is always helpful when available.

    What to do for fun

    There's a track on campus so you can run to blow off stress or just enjoy the amazing view of Oakland and the Bay.

    Food and Dining

    Hot dog guy underneath the D building is the best! Cheap and good hot dogs. The cafeteria food is also a good place to study and dine.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Your course academic rigor will vary between teachers, use ratemyprofessor.com

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselour immediately and take the assessment test so you can enroll into classes early and not have to wait. Use ratemyprofessor.com for reviews on teachers.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful campus that's currently remodeling the older infrastructure. The teachers and professors here, especially in the health sciences department are extraordinary. The faculty is always willing and providing help to students.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is best for California residents. I personally do not know how much more classes cost for non-residents, I'm sure it is still cheaper than university. It is also a great transition for high school students to take classes during summers to get a feel for their future college careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    The bus service runs year-round, however it stops running at 7pm, and as I said Merritt is in the Oakland Hills, where bus service is almost non-existent.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a strong advocate for community college. It is a tool everyone should use. High school students can take advantage of classes, there is vocational education, and two years of general education at a JC is significantly cheaper than the same two years at a four-year institution.

    Am enjoying being here

    For some, Merritt may be difficult to find. It is tucked up in the Oakland Hills, so expect lots of large trees. The campus is pretty quiet, and relatively small. I personally don't enjoy it because it's so local and close to my old high school.

    Am learning a lot

    Although I feel the caliber of classes has suffered due to the federal budget, I have always walked away from a class with something new and interesting in my mind. Contrary to popular belief, community colleges provide just as valuable an education.

  • 08/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Although it is a community college, it is still a college. Do not mistake it to be easier, there are university level classes that are challenging.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable and helpful financial aid. Books are also usually found on websites for almost half as cheap.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful, great people and teachers but it is on top of a hill so there are not many places to go to when you're waiting for another class to start.

    Am learning a lot

    I got accepted to 6 colleges after high school but I did not feel ready for any so I came here. I definitely grew my writing, critical thinking, math, and science skills through Merritt and the Peralta district.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's not alot around as far a resturants are concerned they have a couple of eating places on campus though that are cool.

    Dorm Life

    Merritt College dosen't have a dorm, but if it did it would be great waking up to a wonderful view like that!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor to me means it at times will be hard but if you hang in there the rewards will last you a lifetime.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for students who plan on attending Merritt College in the near future is to focus in on what your educational goal is and you will get it here. Anything you go through in life is just a lesson to help you become the person you are. We are all beautiful people on this great planet earth take all what you can learn and always be proactive when you give back!

    In three sentences

    I rate Merritt College an A plus so far it's unique in that the beautiful location on top of hill with fantastic views. I am in a substance abuse program with Dr. Love who's a great educator, I've learned so much in this my second semester here and am looking forward to finishing the program. I feel this program is my calling and I'm listening all the way!

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School recent install cameras around campus, we also have student/security around as well.

    Food and Dining

    The student cafe have pretty good food. I really like the veggie burger.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorm that i know of.

    Academic Rigor

    The school have a great nursing program. The professor that work on the campus are very supportive and willing to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    The campus have a nice view of the bay area. The staff is great and supporting.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. The Deputy's that are stationed at our college are hott and very personable. Love the safety on campus. In addition we have Safety Cadets who help out as first responders to a variety of situtions.

    Clubs and Activities

    Never see the Clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I dont really care for the food because I am a picky eater, but most people dont complain about it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm access on our campus unless you play ball, then your dormed at Saint Mary's College down the hill.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic the teachers that I have had were great.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Merritt College a 5. There are very good professors that teach at Merritt College and for the most part the people arer friendly.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None to my knowledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    Merritt is filled with programs for students to join. I personally am not enrolled in any, but I know people who are.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working and active.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I spend my time in the learning center when I am not in class.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing prices.

    What to do for fun

    I have a very hard major, so all of my time is dedicated to school.

    Food and Dining

    Affordable prices and pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you you ready for the atmosphere. The teachers do not hold your hand through everything like at other Community Colleges. The treat you as if you were in a 4-year college.

    In three sentences

    I love Merritt College in Oakland, CA. It is very calm and the teachers really care about their students. It is a great school to go to if you are a motivated student.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Down to the Tee

    Great for these types of students

    All is welcome, just have to want to learn and try hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    I am a proud father of five, wanna be able to show them threw examples of my life the right way to go. Talk is cheap, and although communication is a key aspect to achieving ones goals you have to lead by example.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoors, fishing, watching the sunset and rise, just hanging out and staying postive.

    Food and Dining

    5 star

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what College you are at; It's truly what you make it out to be, so stand tall and believe in yourself because anything's possible.

    In three sentences

    Many of the teachers classes i have attended have a problem-posing style of teaching, thriving the student mind to learn for him or herself more about any aspect of history, science and overall life.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Merritt College has a very safe campus. There are classes from early morning into the late evening and there are security, faculty and grounds crew always around to look after the safety and well being of the students and community. The surrounding area too is very safe for a metropolitan are too, and though Oakland California does have a bad reputation for being a dangerous place, this accusation for the most part is false.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Merritt College is not a large college but it does have sports teams and various clubs for people who share interests to meet.

    Great for these types of students

    Merritt College is great for areas of study in natural and health sciences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual locations on campus: the Horticulture department. There is 150 acres of land on one side of the campus that the horticulture department is continually developing with principles of permiculture and well thought out design. This is very special and unusual at any school.

    Bang for the buck

    Merritt College is very affordable. I was surprised at how nice the campus and all the facilities were the first time I visited. The level of knowledge and expertise from the professors is mind boggling too.

    What to do for fun

    Right from the campus there are lots of hiking trails and parks to enjoy. The Chabot Space and Science Center is very close to which is fun to go to on Friday and Saturday nights to view stars, plants and moons through the many telescopes they have there. Being a metropolitan area there are many museums, restaurants, clubs, and art to experience. There is a lot to explore around the San Francisco Bay.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that has standard cafeteria food, but the surrounding area of Oakland has incredible food of all kinds.

    Dorm Life

    This is a Community College and there is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the courses taught here are fully transferable to four year universities thus expectations to 'own' the material presented is high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are wanting to take classes for personal knowledge and growth, wanting to transfer to a four year undergraduate program or fulfill prerequisites for a graduate or other professional program this is a wonderful place to do it. The faculty is extremely encouraging and the level of education you will receive will certainly add to you as a person and prepare you for the next level if that is your goal.

    In three sentences

    Merritt College is excellent. I have been a student here for over full year, experienced various areas of study with several different professors, and am very satisfied with the level and quality of education being offered. The facilities are well maintained, professors extremely knowledgeable, and the college as a whole is very accessible to the community.