Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Methodist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I hope you like golf. :) One of their top majors is business with a concentration in Professional Golf Management. There's a legit 18 hole golf course on campus! (but no mini golf)

    Tips for prospective students

    Methodist University used to be associated with the Methodist church, but as of now, they are not. You can make it as religious as you want. There is a chapel on campus and chapel os held every Wed at 11 and they purposel don't schedule classes then that way you can go.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a efty sum, but nobody pays the sticker price.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's small, but it's okay. They've also got this little bus that will take you down the street to the walmart in Fayetteville if you (a) don't have a car// (b) don't have friends. The student givernment also plans somthing every week.

    Will learn a lot

    They put a lot into their academics. when I went there in April 2009, they were finishing one building ( i believe it was the science building) and starting a new theater.

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Professional Golf Management students. We are the top PGM school in the Nation. Also, Biology students. We have brand new facilities as well as the Physician Assistant school that has just expanded and the Nursing Program opened this year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit!!!!! I never thought I'd actually want to go to Methodist until I went and visited! It is a beautiful campus fully equipped with a golf course, fountain, and beautiful landscaping. The best advice I can offer is to simply go and take a tour of the school and see first hand what it is like. I loved the school as soon as I set foot on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Methodist University is expensive tuition wise. On the bright side, I don't know many people who actually have to pay the full tuition and scholarships are very promising for most students! Our tuition money goes to maintaining the campus. We are currently expanding so most of the money is going towards modernizing some of the older buildings as well and breaking ground on new houses and on campus living.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely LOVE it! Yes, it is a small campus, but I know almost everybody! A small campus does not have to be a bad thing! I also am very heavily involved in Greek Life which brings a large university aspect to our small campus. There are also a ton of clubs and organizations to get involved with that make it easier for a transition from high school to college. Methodist University has a very friendly environment that makes everyone feel welcome! We also have a very diverse student population with a high number of International students. This adds a great cultural enrichment for all American students and many opportunities to learn about other countries and lifestyles! I love having friends from all over the world!

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love the student to professor ratio. Other than the general Biology classes, none of my classes have more than 30 students which makes a world of difference when it comes to academics. My professors know me on a first name basis and if I need extra help, they are more than happy to set up a time for me to come see them in their office hours that they have set. We also are expanding our buildings and updating the technology in our classrooms. Our simulation lab is top notch for the criminology students and there is a brand new science building for all Biology and Chemistry students. There is also a brand new Art building for the more creative students.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very upscale at Methodist. We have our campus police riding around on campus all day. We even have booths set up around campus that you can use to alert campus police if anything happens.

    Greek Life

    Methodist has 2 sorrorities and 5 fraternies. The greek life is always hosting events on campus like cookouts that the students can attend.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus. The most popular club is the Student Activites Commitee (SAC). SAC is who host most of the activites on campus. We've also recently formed a step team on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After a long day of studying my friends and I would take a trip to the fountain and relax. There were also days we would eat ice cream under the gazebo by the basketball courts. It gave us a chance to unwind and relax.

    What to do for fun

    Methodist has a lot of activites to do. There are so times when they will show movies on the softball field or even take trips. One year we took a trip to Key West, Florida and it was only 30 dollars. It was worthwhile.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is very good. Methodist has a lot of international students so somedays the cafe will serve international food. The workers are very nice and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. The RA's are students and they help you alot especially for students who are entering their first year.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Methodist are great. The professors are very easy to talk to and the class sizes are small compared to larger universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to use your campus resources. The are many resources on campus that will help you academically.

    In three sentences

    Methodist University is a very friendly college. The professors are very helpful and they're really easy to talk to. The small class sizes is excellent which means more one on one time with the professors.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MU holds Safety in its highest regards. They have campus security always on guard and watch. Its not state of the art technology, but you are safe once you are inside.

    Greek Life

    Its recently been revived on campus and is going strong. They are a tight knit community and are always eager to talk to anyone they cross. They accept everyone and anyone who is deemed worthy to cross those hallowed steps into brotherhood, or sisterhood, and all are welcome to join. The Greek life also hosts events such as Lip Sync Band Competitions, Inter-murals, Rock Climbing, Bowling, and Paintball games.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life especially. They have things going on every day, and every month. The schools campus activities organization, CRIMP, always has fun stuff right around the corner for students. Not just the watermelon smashing events, but things like tournaments for sports, games, foam parties, water activities, cookouts, and so much more!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy smaller classes, one on one help with professor's who know you by name, and don't mind walking to classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right before exams, the library is buzzing with the sounds of papers rustling, book pages turning, pencils etching. That would be your go to place for help, and or study time.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but with the progress the school is going through, it's understandable. All the different activities held by the Campus life Group on site make the stay well worth it. Trips to Key West, ski-ing, the beach; all are great activities that the Campus has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Go out with friends! Join the Greek life! The student union is always buzzing with activity. The basketball courts usually always have a game. The gym is readily available to all who need a run, workout, or just want to play an indoor sport.

    Food and Dining

    Always a good meal at MU. Whether it's in the Cafe, or in the Lion's Den. Good variety, and cater's to all the different cultures.

    Dorm Life

    I give it a three because the dorms are a bit outdated, but they are planning a remodel to bring them up to par.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, but with difficulty, comes learning. The teachers are always ready to help as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus. That will help kick start your social life. Then, join a Fraternity or Sorority. Those will help you tremendously with finding work, with school work, and a social life.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus, and is easily accessible. Very progressive in its future endeavours. All around a fun, and worth while University to attend.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    don't slack although its a friendly environment, college is not like high school where you can pass a test even if you didn't study. you have to do the work in college of you fail. there's no getting around it. when they say zero tollerance policy they really mean it.

    Am enjoying being here

    you beging to know everyone and get tons of friends in the process

    Am learning a lot

    methodist university is small but powerful. each teacher gived you office hours to go and see them and if you can't make it in those few hours you can send them an email and request an appointment to talk to them. by the end of the semester they know who you and will even talk to you as you pass them in the halways later on even when your not in their class. your a million in one at this school instead of one in a million!

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Get involved, most clubs are free due to the student activity fee. Very little items get a cost added, like free printing in the library or events in the Reeves are most free with a student identification card.

    Am enjoying being here

    The library staff is laid back compared to other libraries I have been too. Everyone is nice courteous to everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    Every professor here at Methodist is a pro in there subject. They instruct every class with so that you are engaged and wanting to come to class. The professors are caring, they even willing to hear your questions whether it is during office hours, during class, before or after class.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has controlled access points to enter by car. There are also patrols and phones in case someone needs to be walked to their car after a late class.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Physicians Assistants, Education, Biology, English, and Religion

    Bang for the buck

    Methodist is a private school so it is a tad expensive. However, the location and small class sizes make it worth it for me.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on. Sporting events, volunteer opportunities, and other typical college events such as pep rallies are constantly happening.

    Food and Dining

    The food options on campus are great and inexpensive. There are several small set ups in some of the building if you need to grab a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuting student so I know virtually nothing about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and the professors expect you to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grades are not handed to you at Methodist. It requires studying and asking questions. Two hours of studying a week in Biology, for example, is not going to cut it. The material is in depth and if you do your part you can learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    Methodist University class sizes give each student the opportunity to learn from the professors and not become lost in the system. The professors are dedicated and passionate about their subjects. Each student is given the opportunity to excel.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always feel safe at Methodist. Campus police are visible almost all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social work Club Phi Alpha National Leadership and Success Society SGA

    Bang for the buck

    Because Methodist is such a great school, the education you receive exceeds the cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities you can get involved with on campus at Methodist University. Clubs are always fun to join. There are also other opportunities to do fun stuff close to campus. One example would be bowling. There is a bowling ally directly across from the University.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus is great. Starting 2013/2014 school semester their will be opportunities for even better food and dining experiences.

    Academic Rigor

    At Methodist University you get the best education ever!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused. One of the hardest things to do as a Freshman is to stay focused. Stay organized. when you are organized you are able to manage your time wisely. Get to know your professors. All of the professors at Methodist University are highly educated and enjoy knowing their students on a one-to-one basis.

    In three sentences

    Methodist University is a diverse school that offers a quality education for people from all aspects of life. At Methodist you can expect to receive personal attention from your professors because of the smaller class sizes. Methodist offers a great learning and social atmosphere, and is dedicated to academic excellence.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Methodist University has the #2 Student Activities Committee in the nation!

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious! The dining area is clean, and the people serving the food are polite,

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are roomy and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging, but unlimited enriching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as possible. to get acquainted with the school and the staff.

    In three sentences

    Methodist University, would be an excellent choice for college searching students. The financial assistance is great. I believe I wouldn't find a better experience anywhere else.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is great! Join!

    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do this thing where all the international students put on a show and it's awesome to see other cultures!

    What to do for fun

    Museums, shopping, hiking trails, hang out with people that go to MU!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself. Ask other students about professors before you sign up for their classes. If you're a guy become a Pike! If you're a girl, meet the pike guys they're great!

    In three sentences

    It's a small, private school. Though expensive, it is worth it. Overall, it is a great school.

  • 10/27/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    join every orginazation and participate in everything

    Will learn a lot

    the campus setting is small but all the faculty are very nice and personable. they make sure that you have everything you need. i love this school

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    this is a very expensive school for reasons unknown.

    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do for fun at methodist university if you are not on an athletic team.

    Food and Dining

    the food is very poor.

    Dorm Life

    residence life is not what i was expecting after visiting the school for the first time.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is the best part of the school. needs to be highlighted more in the schools marketing agenda.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the school in detail before deciding to attend.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy methodist university and its cultural diversity. i how ever do not like the housing and resident life. methodist university is a great academic school, it just lacks school spirit.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has police and security. Overall there is good lighting and has an escort service for students to different areas on campus

    Greek Life

    Really popular on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Methodist has so many clubs and activities that a student will never be bored.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who are somewhat extroverted, but students who are introverted will not be left out. Methodist's curriculum will help you to come out of your shell.

    What to do for fun

    Methodist has various activities which just about anyone can find something they like to do.

    Food and Dining

    Methodist has several good cafes and a great dining room.

    Dorm Life

    Most students who live in residential seem to enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is very rigorous and will challenge you

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like to be engaged and come out of your comfort zone for the better this is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    A great university to grow and increase your knowledge.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    What safety? The campus security is overweight and many have physical problems that make them incapable of performing certain tasks.

    Greek Life

    There are several organizations that are greatly involved in the activities that occur on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of activities for students to do on and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to be recognized by name by their professors, as well as, students who are looking for a small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are yearly events that occur but nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little overpriced but the small class sizes make it worthwhile. Some of the professors do not stick to their syllabus and make many extensions.

    What to do for fun

    There are weekly activities ran by an activities committee, intramural sports, collegiate teams, ping pong, and pool tables. Off campus there is a variety of things for people to do in the city.

    Food and Dining

    The pizza makes many people sick. Other than that, there is no great variety in choices and the food is okay at best.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are livable, there is no loud music or people, but the people in the dorms are sometimes rude.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are better than others but that is with every school apparently.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect a party school. Do not choose friends over sleep or studying. Work hard and use the resources.

    In three sentences

    For the price, the education isn't up to par. There is lots of activities for students to participate in though. Overall, adequate, but many people leave.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I wish it was a little cheaper....

    What to do for fun

    There's alot to do in Fayetteville.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here! They have many different options!

    Dorm Life

    I've heard that some people don't like living in the dorms but they seem alright to me.... I will be commuting since staying in the dorms is a little expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started school yet but my mom is in the nursing school and is always studying but she made good grades.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols regularly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great activities and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a small campus with friendly people and ready to learn!

    Bang for the buck

    Methodist isn't cheap, however financial aid and scholarships are generous and help A LOT!

    What to do for fun

    Methodist has numerous campus activities. In addition, Fayetteville has just about anything you could want to do: movie theaters, shopping, restaurants, putt-putt, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a good variety of places to eat on campus and close by campus.

    Dorm Life

    Housing at Methodist is nice and accomodating to different students.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are really good here. Professors are passionate about what they do and learning is very enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being at a small campus is what YOU make it!

    In three sentences

    Methodist University is a small, friendly campus that is easy to stay focused at. Methodist is a great choice for Academics because classes are small which makes learning easier and more enjoyable. I would recommend Methodist if you truly want to learn!

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The one thing I really liked about Methodist was how many activities they offer for their students. They have every sport you can think of, student clubs, student activities, and Church.

    Food and Dining

    They only have a few places on campus that offers food. The student center has a small eatery next to the book store and the student gym also has a smoothie bar.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you went to a community college you would not get the type of education that you do out of a privet college. On the other hand, you will also pay quite a bit more for a privet school then you do for a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Day students pay more in tuition, but are offered more grants and scholarships for them. I am currently a night student and made the Dean's list last year. I came back this year hoping I would be able to get scholarships to help pay for school. I found out that they don't offer scholarships for night students because the tuition is already discounted. If you are wanting to go to Methodist University, I recommend going during the day so you could apply for scholarships to help pay for school.

    In three sentences

    I fell in love with this school when I first applied last fall. The campus is absolutely beautiful and the buildings for classes are not to far from one another. I liked the fact that they offered night classes so I could still work during the day. The only problem I am have with Methodist is that they don't offer scholarships to night students.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LAID BACK

    What to do for fun

    THEY HAVE A LOT OF GAMES YOU CAN ATTEND AND THEY ARE ALWAYS HAVING DIFFERENT ACTIVITIES FOR YOU TO PARTICIPATE IN, AND IF YOU LIKE TO WORK OUT BUT DON'T HAVE MONEY FOR A GYM MEMBERSHIP THEN YOU RECIEVE A FREE ONE AT METHODIST

    Food and Dining

    THE DINNING HALL IS VERY REASONABLE IN PRICE AND STAYS OPEN AT AN REASONABLE TIME.

    Dorm Life

    I'M A COMMUTER

    Tips for prospective students

    VIEW THE WEBSITE AND SIGN UP TO VIEW THE CAMPUS IT'S WELL WORTH IT.

    In three sentences

    METHODIST UNIVERSITY IS A VERY GOOD COLLEGE TO ATTEND. IT HAS A VARIETY OF OPPORTUNITIES FOR YOU TO GAIN. I WOULD RECOMMEND METHODIST TO ANY UP COMING FRESHMAN OR JUST FOR ANYBODY WHO WANT TO GET A DEGREE.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 campus security

    Greek Life

    There are Greek Village houses on campus. Fraternities: Kappa Alpha Psi, Kappa Sigma, Lambda Chi Alpha, and Pi Kappa Alpha Sororities: Beta Sigma Phi and Alpha Delta Pi

    Great for these types of students

    athletics, business major, resort management, nursing major, PAs too!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Exam Breakfast at 10pm served by faculties on the night before reading day; followed by other fun activities until 2am

    What to do for fun

    RCs and RAs are planning programs in their dorms for students. CRIMP planning multicultural events and activities and long distance trips for the cheapest price for students. Every Wednesday night, there is Monarch Madness, music, free food and free stuff for students

    Food and Dining

    the chefs are trying to cook food from other countries everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The new North Hall is like a hotel!

    Academic Rigor

    It is really depending on each individual instructor

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the heat during summer if you are planning to stay here over the summer. Go to all activities and events on campus, there are free stuff and CASH for you!

    In three sentences

    Methodist University is small private school. It has a beautiful campus with many sports practice grounds. The faculties, staffs, and students are very friendly.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a great university and the education you receive is equally awesome. I just think the tuition is a little bit steep.

    What to do for fun

    SAC (student activities council) always has something set up from video game tournaments to karaoke to movie nights to cookouts. You name it. And if they don't have it, just talk to SAC and they will try to get it done!!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the caf is decent. There is a Lion's Den where we have a grill, sub shop, and starbucks. I normally go there.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are appropriately challenging depending on their level (100, 200, 300, or 400).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you are aware of what credit you will get for any AP/IB classes you may have already taken. I went in thinking I was going to get one thing, but had been misinformed. Check the actual paperwork regarding credit, rather than relying on a staff/faculty member's word.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing university with a diverse student body. There are always student activities and functions going on. The professors are all very helpful and concerned with students' achievement of success.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you are getting to your dorm late, you can call and someone will escort you back to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    Methodist is continuously adding new greek houses, they hope to reach eight sororities and eight fraternities in the near future.

    Clubs and Activities

    Methodist is always looking for new clubs and activities, and usually allows anyone to start their own club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have disabilities, they are very helpful in accommodating you! Also, for younger students who are not quite ready to go to a large university, this is a great place to feel at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chris' House - the hangout where people just chill and watch tv. Berns Center - you can listen to students playing the piano, play ping pong or pool, or just socialize.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall it is a great value for a private school.

    What to do for fun

    LOADS of things to do! There is even a hangout on campus for people to chill and watch tv or movies.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little pricey, but there is variety.

    Dorm Life

    Every wednesday there is something free going on on-campus to do!

    Academic Rigor

    Methodist has great opportunities for furthering your education with internships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as possible; they award numerous institutional scholarships on a first come first serve basis.

    In three sentences

    Methodist University is a great, small campus. It is highly diverse, but not as overwhelming as a public university.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of activites on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Methodist might be small, but it is a great learning environment.

    In three sentences

    One of the best schools for learning. Professors are very concerned with students.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Due to security always roaming around campus, you are always safe. They make sure of that and they always there to help answer any questions you need.

    Greek Life

    The best thing I have done for myself. My social and leadership life has improved tremendously since being a part of the Beta Sigma Phi. I would never traded my sisters for anything. They are supportive, encouraging, helpful, understanding, loving and trust worthy. Through them I have gain community service work and many more things.

    What to do for fun

    Join a frat or sorority. Ever since I joined the BETA SIGMA PHI, my social life has changed completely. They are fun and there is always something to do. We do community services, we organize activities for students to do, we do bake sales, we play football with the other soroties and frats and etc. MU has a crimp life, which sets up many activities, such as hiking, and etc, you name it. There is always something to do. It's never a dull moment. I am part of the band dance team. It is always a pleasure to perform and cheer for my football team. The thrill, excitements and enjoyment of watching them play and win is such an amazing feeling.

    Food and Dining

    The foods are great and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I wish I did. I am a commuter. Due to being a member of the BETA SIGMA PHI and having friends that live on campus, I have slept in campus, I would advise freshmens to live on campus. It is a great experience, very fun activities that is always happening and these activities keeps you on your toes.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't speak for everyone, but I can speak for myself. I am a transfer student, and I must say since coming to MU my grades has improved tremendously. I give my all, and to help matters, my professors know that too because I always go to them for help. Sometimes I get a one on one lecture or tutoring from my professors, because I am not the type to catch things in group tutoring. I am grateful to them for taking time out to help clarify the information for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school isn't just like other school. It is different and has many things to do, such as joining frats, sororities, being a band member to play instruments or if you want to be a dancer for the band. I love that this school has many different sports that you can join such as volleyball, football, track and field, soccer, baseball, golf and etc you name it, so you are not limited. One thing I love most is that the professors all want to see their students succeed in every aspects of their life. They are willing to listen to you and try to accommodate to your needs, I would know because I am partly deaf, I am the first deaf student that MU has had and through me, more deaf students have entered here, why? because MU was able to help me, and provided everything I needed. So come to MU, you are a good hands and you won't be disappointed.

    In three sentences

    A nice, quiet, small, peaceful, and spectacular school. Coming to this school, has been a blessing for me. It has helped me grown and I have learned so much. It is an honor to have so much support, being thrown to me from my professors and students. I couldn't ask for a better school and I can't wait to proudly graduate from MU.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is regularly going around campus checking conditions. Plus, the security at the front gate are extremely nice and helpful.

    Greek Life

    They have a goal of creating a few more sororities and fraternities. But the ones we have now, participate in a lot of volunteering and charities. They aren't as bad as the Greek Life on other campuses, but still know how to have fun!

    Clubs and Activities

    It is easy to become part of a club here. There are signs everywhere about meetings and opportunities to join. They are also pretty accepting of new club ideas.

    Great for these types of students

    Our school is well known for the PGM program and the nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a nature trail in the back of campus that is beautiful during fall time with all the colors.

    Bang for the buck

    Methodist University may be on the expensive side but absolutely nobody that I have met has had to pay most of the large amount. Scholarships help out a lot and also the money we pay goes into renovating our campus and making it better than it already is.

    What to do for fun

    There is an event every Wednesday night planned by SAC (Student Activity Committee) that is free to all students. Also during special occasions there may be many more events planned throughout the week by SGA and SAC working together. When there is nothing planned, the Berns Student Center has pool tables, computers, music, a piano, and ping pong tables that students can use to pass the time away.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly lovee the food on campus. Although it is a little more expensive eating in the cafeteria, it is worth every cent. There is a wide variety like larger colleges but our food actually tastes really good! It's a pleasant surprise. Also if a student is in a hurry, we have a Lion's Den which is like a mini cafe with Starbucks, a sub station, a grill station, and a variety of snacks and drinks to buy in a hurry.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student since I already live nearby. But I have heard about a lot of activities that the dorms have and that the RA's make it enjoyable. For many it's like a home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    So far so good. The teachers are always willing to help out and reply to emails regularly. It doesn't consist of the awkward atmosphere that a student would find in larger universities. I feel like I am being prepared not only for my classes and college career but also my graduate career, especially since I plan on attending the Physician's Assistant Program through Methodist University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to speak to the financial aid advisers if money is a problem keeping you from applying to Methodist. They do everything possible to help students out and get us where we need to be. Be sure to check out and ask about the different aspects of typical college life and how it is on campus.

    In three sentences

    For the small size, there is always something new to do and activities planned that students can participate in. Methodist University is everything I wanted in a college and was afraid I would not be able to find. It is definitely worth looking into and visiting.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The intramural sports at Methodist makes the experience at Methodist much better. All students are allow to participate in intramural sports. Methodist SAC program hosts event that also improve campus life for students.

    What to do for fun

    Methodist has pool tables and ping pong tables in which students can entertain themselves. They are host of activities for students to partake in.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dinning hall is satisfactory for the most part. It offers a variety of choices for students to choose from; the only downfall is the dinning hall is not open late for students to grab a quick bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The first year of dorm life was uncomfortable for; having a roommate and community bathroom was whole change of scenery. Dorm life improves as students change class status, and students are allowed to choose their roommates. There are on campus apartments, but a meal plan is not included.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Methodist are challenging in the own way. The professors go out the way to make each class intriguing. The classes provide students with knowledge they will need post graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    For new students at Methodist it's an easy place to fit in and make new friends. Don't be afraid to speak with you professors they are here to help you. Lastly improve your skills as a writer.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Methodist has been worth while. I found a group of people that I could identify with, and made feel at home even though I am away from my home. The small environment makes it easier for students to learn.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are call boxes located all across campus in case of an emergency. Also many of the dorms host nights where people will come in a teach self-defense or other tricks that will help a student feel safer. Besides that there is a front gate but over the years I have learned that the security is slightly lacking.

    Greek Life

    There are 3 fraternities and 2 sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and sports to keep students busy around campus if that is the type of things that you are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a small student-to-teacher ratio would love this school. I have been in classes before where there are only 5 of us to a teacher.

    Bang for the buck

    From an educational stand point I do feel like I have learned a lot while attending Methodist University. I do feel however that the University costs are a little high for the quality. If changes were made to the dorms, food, and other aspects of campus I feel like the cost would be justified more.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do close to campus that is fun. There is Walmart, which is where most of us go for fun, and then a few dives that are at times questionable because of the location.

    Food and Dining

    At MU there is only two dining options. You can go to the cafe' or an upstairs eatery that we refer to as the Lion's Den. In the cafe' the food tends to be your typical pizza, burgers, and questionable meat dish. It's nothing different from the cafeteria at a high school. The Lion's Den is a better option but it is more expensive and only a part of certain meal plans. Although there are many meals that leave a student hungry and wanting real food there are some nights that truly good food is served, but those nights are pretty rare.

    Dorm Life

    For three years now I have taken countless amounts of cold showers. The dorms that we are forced to live in are extremely out dated. The walls are off white cement blocks with a hard tile flooring that doesn't remotely match and the tile in many of the bathrooms are pink.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I have come across multiple teachers who truly helped me achieve a higher-level of learning it seems that I have found equally as many who haven't taught me anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Methodist is a very big sports school but because it is D-3 there are no scholarships and, although promised by some of the coaches, most students that come for a sport aren't actually given the game time. The location of Methodist is quite tame for a college town. Although there are a few things to do off campus it can be quite boring at times. Although those are a few not-so positive points Methodist is very small which allows students to gain a very personal relationship with teachers unlike at other schools where there are 100 students per class.

    In three sentences

    Methodist is a very small school, much like a high school. It is located in the middle of Fayetteville, NC and is very open to the public. Also the tuition is high, yet the dorms and other amenities are quite out dated for the high price.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It could be a little more cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I just go around and see what is happening. If there isn't anything to do then I start something fun on my hall and try to get people involved so it wouldn't be so boring.

    Food and Dining

    I don't see anything wrong with the cafe. I'm never at fault when i go to the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I love staying on campus in the dorms. We have a lot of international students here and it is great to see there customs. As well as, meeting new friends too.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are not that hard. The teachers are great. You just got to show up to class and be vocal. Don't be afraid to ask for help also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make your experience here what you want. I say that it costs too much to go here not to get your moneys worth.

    In three sentences

    Methodist is a great university for those students who are not comfortable with being on a big campus. Great teachers and to me there is always something to do. I love it here at MU! Go Monarchs!

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall the school campus is safe. It is well lit and plenty of emergency boxes throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    Plenty of options to join the different fraternitys and sorioritys. Pledge week and rush week give you an opportunity to check out the houses. They provide activities during rush week. More room and quiet space for studying.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities for everyone from frisbee golf to intra-murals sports. No reason not to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    School is very affordable with plenty of scholarship opportunities, grant aid and financial aid available.

    What to do for fun

    Attend the various sports events throughout the year. Music concerts put on by the Student Activity Committee

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafeteria is adequate. Better use of meal plan in other food establishments throughout the campus. Card may also be used off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a little hectic. Study areas are very limited if you live on a noisy floor. Look at joining a fraternity or sorority for the comrade and for more space and privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many class options and the classes challenge you. College courses are more difficult than high school. Need to learn to make the adjustment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in extra curricular activities. Time management is important. School first then all other activities on free time. Be prepared that college is not high school.

    In three sentences

    If your looking for a small school, Methodist University is it. The people are very friendly and helpful. There is always something going on campus on the weekends.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they security here is amazing. if you have a late class or late work study they will walk you to your car or drive you to your dorm

    What to do for fun

    I play pool and go to the nimocks to have fun and do campus activities

    Food and Dining

    food is amazing

    Dorm Life

    great Resident advisor they make sure you have something fun to do

    Academic Rigor

    every thing is free here the tutoring and writing center

    Tips for prospective students

    come to Methodist they teacher and staff will you reach your goal in life

    In three sentences

    ill give Methodist a 10 out of 10. the teacher and staff here are amazing. they will help you succeed in life

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always 24/7 police watch on campus. A police officer is always at the entrance of the school to let students or guest in. If you are afraid to walk back to your dorm then all you have to is call campus security and they will take you back to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    If you are interested in a fraternity or sorority then Methodist will give you the Greek experience. Greek life at Methodist is an experience to be part of. The staff is charge of Greek life is incredible and willing to help students. Students become involved in their communities and the philanthropy of their organizations when they become part of a fraternity or sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs at Methodist University. There is a club for everyone and if a student does not find one they can make a new club. Friendships are formed at the clubs you join. During the club fair, club members are so enthusiastic as they discuss their clubs to new students. It is incredible to see the pride students show as they introduce their clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions here. Unusual locations would be a building where students have to get a parking sticker. This building has an unusual location because it is on the other side of campus secluded by trees.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities that can be done on campus. In Berns, which is the upper floor of the cafe, people can play ping-pong or pool. Also, there is a piano where students can come and play for fun. Many people go to Berns to watch football games or cartoons. The Nimocks fitness center allows people to check out bikes and ride them anywhere they choose as long as students return it in good condition. Students can join teams to play intramural sports. There is never a dull moment on campus.

    Food and Dining

    From hearing students, the food has included more options this year than in the past. I would not say the food is gourmet or five-star because there are times when the food has no flavor or is the same for a few days. There are hardly any options for those who are vegetarians. The cafe includes a salad bar, deli, fast food, main course, and dessert. The dinning experience gets a rating of average.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are decent. There is ample space to walk around if you move the furniture. The freshman lobby in the dorms of the girls are larger than the boys. In the freshman dorms, there are four people who share a bathroom The bathroom is average for incoming freshman, and there are two sinks. You make your first friendships at your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Methodist challenges you to think outside the box. Critical thinking skills will be helped by the assignment teachers give. The Biology department has the most rigorous course but because the course are intense it makes the department one of the best at the school. Many students from around the world come to study at Methodist because of its excellent Business and Science programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for students would be take full advantage of the resources offered at the school. Do not hesitate to ask for help from any of the faculty becomes they are always willing to help students. Also, build connections with club advisors and professors because they will help you when it comes time to ask for letters of recommendation.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere as you enter Methodist University is very welcoming. Students have the opportunity to engage in many clubs to become leaders in their community after graduation. There are many offices to receive help, whether it is from writing a research paper to building a resume.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe.

    Greek Life

    I do not participate

    Great for these types of students

    Student athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Do know know of anything.

    Bang for the buck

    It takes a lot of bucks. Very expensive, but I wanted to play baseball here and I have had a great time.

    What to do for fun

    Not much!

    Food and Dining

    Food is not good.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms were not that great but the sophomore dorm is new and exceptional. I also like the upperclassman dorm as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a biology major and it is not easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Study from the beginning.

    In three sentences

    Methodist has been an interesting place to go to college. I have made very good friends while playing baseball and being active in other organizations. I enjoy college life.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very evident and the guards are very friendly. Blue light system is in place and everyone is encouraged to travel in pairs, especially at night.

    Greek Life

    there is Greek Life, but I'm not involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs and activities to attend or join. First week at Methodist there are all sorts of activities going on so making new friends is easy.

    Great for these types of students

    Very type of student is welcome at Methodist, whether your into sports, or choir or just want to get a good education.

    Bang for the buck

    If your grades are good in high school Methodist offers great scholarships and grants.

    What to do for fun

    Sports events, concerts, SAC activities, there is always something to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good food when ever you want it, Starbucks and the POD make those food cravings easier to control.

    Dorm Life

    LOVE my roommate. We met on the colleges social media page and became instant friends. Highly recommend using the social media site for finding a roommate. The dorms themselves are nice, freshmen woman's dorm had just been updated. Free laundry, air conditioned and heat are controlled in each room.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were harder then I expected, but I do believe that it also depends on how well your high school prepared it's students for college. My high school didn't do such a good job and I needed to work harder at keeping my grades where they needed to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    All types of students attend Methodist, from business majors to pre-Med.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly atmosphere with a diverse population of students attending this college. Plenty of clubs and sports to join, along with activities each week. As a freshmen form out of state I felt right at home and I am 100% happy with my decision to attend Methodist.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of sports and clubs to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Methodist University because it has excellent programs,diversity and a range and of activities and clubs to participate in.

    In three sentences

    Methodist University has excellent programs. I like the diversity of the college and how proficient everyone is in returning answers.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus seems to be really safe nothing has happened ever since I've been here to anyone I know

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a huge thing here at methodist I am not involved in it but probably over half of the campus is! It is extremely expensive compared to Greek organizations at other campuses though

    Clubs and Activities

    We have inter mural sports and clubs that help with fun things going on around campus

    Bang for the buck

    To be completely honest the price sucks for what your really getting until you get up into your upper classes then that may change a little

    What to do for fun

    Honestly there isn't anything interesting to so for fun unless you play a sport. Sometimes the campus holds fun events but not often

    Food and Dining

    At times the cafeteria has good food but for the most part not really.we just got a very good soup salad and baked potato place that is very good along with chick Fil a and Starbucks

    Dorm Life

    The dorm are like bigger prison cells, the only good thing in the freshman girl dorm is that we have our own bathroom haha! In my opinion these dorms here are a waste of money, you can live at hone or an apartment for much cheaper

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are great and know how to teach and interact while the other half are either to aged to be up to date on how to teach us or they are brand new first year teachers and haven't really figured out how to teach us yet!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a huge difference from high school. You can give up any professors cutting you any slack on anything! That's at any college though. Freshman be ready to be put on lock down, no guys in the dorm or rooms after like 11! Same goes for the boys. It's a lot of hard work so be ready to put it in or don't come because they will drop you so unbelievably fast!

    In three sentences

    Overall not a bad school. I don't like how on lock down the freshman and sophomores are, were adults now we should know how to make right and wrong decisions therefore let us make them, they don't. Housing is way too expensive and overall for me the school is too expensive for what I'm getting out of it. This wouldn't be a top pick for me now that I've been here for a year.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always nice and willing to walk you to your dorm if you feel unsafe.

    Great for these types of students

    PGA, students with a career path/goal, students who like small/personal classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Great if you're in PGA or PTA program, on the G.I. Bill, or generally know your major. If you have no clue what you want to do, MU is too expensive for basic classes. Also, the financial aid/business office workers can be a hassle to work with.

    Food and Dining

    Long hours with a lot of options (POD, car, Chick-fil-a, Wedge, Starbucks)

    Dorm Life

    Newer/renovated dorms are nice, but the older ones are outdated.

    Academic Rigor

    Nice professors and small classes. Very personal