Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Metropolitan Community College Area Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At my campus, there is always a guard on duty. I feel extremely safe at my college.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't had much time to join any clubs, but I really want to be a part of them sometime.

    Great for these types of students

    My campus is very art-oriented. There's photography, design, cinematography, among many other types of artistic classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Commons is a great place to hang out and catch up with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many colleges, Metropolitan Community college offers a lot for very little tuition. Right now I am in the photography program and at any other school I'd be paying $30,000 per semester. That isn't the case here, yet I'm learning just as much as a $30,000 school.

    What to do for fun

    Metropolitan Community College has non-credit classes that are really fun to be a part of. I've taken a couple of classes that are not part of my current curriculum just for fun. There are also plenty of clubs to be a part of such as the Photo Club and Creative Writing Club.

    Food and Dining

    My campus has a cafe that is great for those days when I've studied hard the day before and needed a quick breakfast before heading to class.

    Dorm Life

    My campus does not have dorms, but life outside the college is a very new experience that every college student would benefit from. It really gets you ready for the real world while still in school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very fast paced since the school year is divided into quarters instead of semesters. It can be very challenging, but also very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan Community College is great for students starting out in college. The campus is very welcoming and it is very easy to make new friends. My experience so far at Metro has been so much fun that I wish I could extend my time as a student there.

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1. People who work part-time 2. People who want to discover their true vocation 3. People who want to enrich their lives 4. Public, private, and home-schooled High Schooler's who want to get a year's worth of school done in a quarter. 5. Anyone with a willing attitude to learn and have fun doing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Although I did mention that the tuition is cheap, be wary of prices of the books you're planning to buy before you head into the book store, I once bought a text book that was $280 dollars at the campus book store and then later found out that I could have gotten it for $90 online. 2. It is crucial to take advantage of the resources available to Metro students in most campuses; I previously mentioned that you can access a math lab with very knowledgeable tutors on most campuses, but if you're more on the writing-side, there is also a Writing Center on most campuses, as well. The people there massively helped me write really good personal statement essays when I was applying to college. If you need to access a computer with all the software necessary to succeed in any course where computer-use is necessary, there is also often an Academic Resource Center (ARC) on most campuses. 3. Be sure you're putting in the time necessary to succeed in your courses. I know that there's a lot of people at Metro who work part-time/full-time and many with multiple jobs, but be aware that for every hour spent in class, you need to be spending two hours outside of class studying - so make sure you can handle you're life before you stack more courses. 4. If you're planning on attending MCC, be aware that most incoming students will need to take the COMPASS assessment test, which is basically a computer program that tests your current knowledge in areas of Math, English, and Science. If you're planning on taking the COMPASS Math exam, I STRONGLY encourage you to visit the math center and ask for any preparation materials available; a well-prepared skill set will save you time and money from taking classes that you know are lower than your actual math knowledge. 5. Be sure to visit with your instructor on a regular basis - If it means only about 5 minutes a week during office hours, you're still going to cash in on huge dividends because once you build a relationship with your instructor, they're most likely going to give you hints on what is on the next exam, if not, grade you on a more lenient basis.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously you cannot go wrong with the superior value of the knowledge gained in most of the courses compared to the cost of tuition at Metro CC. To give you an example, I'm going to the University of Michigan in an engineering discipline, and it costs well over $3,000 to attend a physics course there, but at Metro, it only costs $225.

    Did enjoy being here

    One of the most spectacular things about this school is the amount of resources available to students, including my favorite place to be: The South Omaha Campus Math Center. Here, you can really connect with peers in solving major homework problems and ask almost any math-related questions to the knowledgeable tutors from pre-Algebra all the way to Differential Equations. On top of that the Math Center is truly becomes a support group and helped me to get a 102% final grade on my last physics course (Oh, and did I mention that they do chemistry, as well?).

    Did learn a lot

    The school is comprised of several campuses across the Omaha metro area, hence the name, Metropolitan Community College. In all of the classes I have attended, I definitely learned a lot of material but it all depends of what type of attitude is brought to the table on the student's part.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online degree applicants. Busy stay at home Moms. Military wives.

    Food and Dining

    I participated in an online degree program.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher you choose for a class, but most are fair; if you study hard, you will receive a good grade. It is all about how much effort you're willing to put forward.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are searching for an exceptional online degree program, you should really consider MCC. Although, I had taken a few years off from school, when I enrolled in MCC they made me feel welcomed and made enrolling simple and quick.

    In three sentences

    MCC has great online degree programs. Student advisers are easily available through the phone. MCC does a amazing job at keeping textbook costs low for students.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Metro Campus just built a new dining hall and they have the best Dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty cool and have quite a lot of space.

    Academic Rigor

    The hard thing to come across at metro is getting your tuition and books payed on time. The deadline is pretty lengthy and you should be able complete on time, if not earlier, if you do what is necessary before then.

    In three sentences

    Metro Fort Omaha Campus is great school! Even though it's small and not every bodies first choice I love it here. It's very great for first College Freshman.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    students that don't like big classes and a lot of hard homework. students who want to get started into a college environment but not ready to get into a big university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of

    What to do for fun

    there is nothing. it is a community college. there are some clubs you can join.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    i feel the courses are easy and not much of a challenge. some of the teachers don't know what their doing and some are too easy with their coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to get financial aid done as early as possible so that there is no delay and no problems. make sure to have a backup plan in case financial aid falls through because their books are costly. and metro always changes edition of books frequently.

    In three sentences

    the classes are small and teachers are easy to talk to for help. financial aid is a pain to get and their not very helpful with payment options. books and tuition are very costly for a community college.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    depends on which campus

    Greek Life

    unsure

    Clubs and Activities

    get invovled early!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have dollar meal deals at sarpy campus certain days just bring your student i d and during finals they have a free drink and snack coupon.

    What to do for fun

    they have a cultural events calendar to keep you infored of events. i highly recommend the pow wow best een they host annually.

    Dorm Life

    i have never lived in the dorms they have apartments near by sarpy campus

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your syllabus on hand you can stay ahead of the curve make good impressions on the teacher they will help you get further with recommendations.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy having small class size. i enjoy the personal relationships built with my teachers. i enjoy the small campus now but would like to experience more.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I bring my own.

    Dorm Life

    Living off Campus.

    In three sentences

    The college has teachers who are professionals in the areas of Human services I plan on serving in. I feel I am taught in a professional manner to prepare me for the job in the future I am to hold.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All the campuses seem safe and ive never had any kind of problem.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students, the new to college kid and the back to school mom/grandma.

    Bang for the buck

    At the Sarpy Center there is a nice sized public library.

    Food and Dining

    At sarpy center there is a small shop area with hot fresh food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get a class in the afternoon, you can save on tuition.

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan Community College is a college for people of all ages. Its smaller more person classes, which makes it a more comfortable learning experience. Since the classes are smaller you also get more one on one learning.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always look around you when you are heading to your car.

    What to do for fun

    A person should go to a movie or gather with some friends and play games.

    Food and Dining

    Save money and cook at all cost.

    Dorm Life

    If you are a student who lives in the dorms have some fun. But you are there to learn and get your education.

    Academic Rigor

    Always be on top of your grades and dont let them fall.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that i would give to a prospective student is to ask questions when you are enrolling with school about your financial aid, And when you get into your classes pay attention to your professors and ask questions if you don't understand.

    In three sentences

    I really love that the staff at metro is very informative and they are willing to help you succeed in school.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of people to hang out with and there is alot of programs and things to do with the college or with other students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and made hot and ready.

    Dorm Life

    I here the dorm are nice but could be fixed up a bit. However, i don't have a dorm so i don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes are very easy, but require work on your part. If you come to class and do the homework it will be easy and you will get the best grade for you. You just need to show up and pay attention and not slack off, like at any college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, you should start at somewhere else because it is hard to transfer and there is a lot of classes that don't transfer over equally.

    In three sentences

    It is a great started college for people coming out of high school and don't know what to do or people that are older and starting all over again. It has nice small classes with lots of teacher attention.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always there to make sure every student is treated fairly

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars

    What to do for fun

    Simpecks bowling/ family fun center

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food/beverages resonable price

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Attendance is very important. Instructors are willing to.stay after to help those that can't get there work done

    In three sentences

    Very affordable. Instructors work one on one when you need it Wonderful math/career/writing centers are to help those in need available anytime of day.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always campus security on duty so you'll always feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    I don't spend much time on campus unless I'm there for class or to study.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria but some school locations do have areas where you can get food and where you can sit and eat, which is nice when you're in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Metro doesn't have dorms so there isn't a dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions just make sure you go to student services. They're super helpful and always there when you need them.

    In three sentences

    Metro is definitely very helpful. You have small classes which makes it easier to get to know your professors. There is also a ton of help from people in student services.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    fun? what's that!

    Academic Rigor

    I was once on the dean's list, and hope to get back there!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for student aid and then soar from there!

    In three sentences

    A college where you can start there and end there! A place where you are accepted know matter what you are or where you have been. A place where you can get free tutoring if you need.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Absolutely fantastic for adult learners who have a very busy schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    I love that MCC pricing is not as expensive as other schools, for the same classes.

    Food and Dining

    Food at MCC is priced decently.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a Dorm, but I'm sure it would be a great experience if I did.

    Academic Rigor

    I love MCC because they help you build study habits. I work full time, Military, and I go to school full time as well. Education for me is challenging, but MCC pushes me to go that extra mile to achieve good grades!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep yourself informed. This is easy to do because everyone is very helpful. I have spoken to the dean- very dedicated man! If you're looking for general classes, or credits to transfer, this is the route to go. Not that expensive, but high quality education!

    In three sentences

    The teachers are absolutely sociable! The Homework is not difficult because teachers are always helpful! they maximize your learning potential.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At night there is a cop on campus plus during the day there is some always in the office or a cop walking around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most the campus are easy to find.

    What to do for fun

    After or before you can get on school computers or laptops and play games. Some campus have an activite going on.

    Food and Dining

    There is normal one day a week they serve FREE popcorn. There is also many pop and candy mechience around. One down fall is that the only the big campus have dine in places. But there place close to also eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at MCC but you can stay at home or rent a place with friend. I picked to stay home.

    Academic Rigor

    the changeling part of MCC is not dropping out when it get hard. I took the same class over and over for 3 to 4 time before passing and moving up a stage.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. do not put off testing or meeting with teachers. 2. STUDY STUDY STUDY 3. use a calendar

    In three sentences

    I would rate MCC at a 3 to 4. The financial aid office is very stressful at times. Other then that it is great.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MCC has good security on all three campus.

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of fun things to do in the Area!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for All Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of the education is so much more than the cost of it!

    What to do for fun

    There is bowling, movies, different clubs, lots of fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of restaurants to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important at MCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on the program you are interested in. It is very important.

    In three sentences

    MCC has the best rating for their Respiratory Program. The teachers are awesome at Metro Community College. The Financial Aid department is also very helpful.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very present and visible.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities available for those who are looking to be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    There's a little something for everyone if you look hard enough

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their annual Native American Day that is held on-campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The plethara of services that MCC offers would definitely count towards getting a bang for the buck.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, however, there are tutoring services available, upon request.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start with the Student Resource Center. There you will find assistance with scheduling your classes, financial aid as well as tutoring. Whatever your need; if they're not able to assist they can point you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan Community College is a excellent choice for someone looking for flexibility in scheduling their classes. I work full-time and have lots of choices when selecting classes that will fit around my schedule. The student center is also an awesome resource to assist with scheduling and seeing how you can make MCC the right fit, for you.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of safety, well lit parking lots to walk out in at night

    Great for these types of students

    returning adults

    Bang for the buck

    Very resonaible price, with discounts after 3 p.m. for classes.

    What to do for fun

    Many local organizations to join,

    Food and Dining

    quality, brings in local vendors for dining in the evenings

    Dorm Life

    no dorms avaiable

    Tips for prospective students

    Make learning fun, Enjoy your career goals, and become a part of groups.

    In three sentences

    Good locations throughout Omaha. Knowledgeable instructors for learning. many opportunities for career choices.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities here such as Trio, POPS, Pow Wows, Multi-Cultural Day. There are always job fairs here on campus. Other colleges coming to recruit students for their 4-year college. There is always something to do and be apart of, if you ask the right questions.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are just out of high-school with bad studying habits or you don't know what you are wanting to major in yet, come to Metro. If you just need to get started somewhere without paying a lot of money on classes, come to Metro.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are just starting off at school and need to get your studying habits down, or even need to just get some credits so you can go to a 4 year college, Metro is the way to go. They are the cheapest school I have seen so far. I absolutely love every aspect here, because there is so much to do and take advantage of!

    What to do for fun

    I hang in the cafeteria with classmates and we do group studies together.

    Food and Dining

    The Fort Campus has the Culinary School, and there is a restaurant called the Bistro, right off of Sorenson and the food is WONDERFUL and the price is reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many great teachers here. The teachers I have had personally, I feel are the best! They were and are all willing to go the extra mile to help you understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the college tour. Get involved as much as possible. Use all of the Centers available to get you and keep you ahead in your classes. Ask questions if you are lost. Try the different groups and programs available, such as Trio and POPS.

    In three sentences

    Metro is very resourceful, such as the Math Center, Writing Center, Academic Resource Center, Science Center. Has great teachers, advisors, and staff. Wonderful benefits for students, such as passes to class (bus passes), Car-pool, free parking permit, tours for new students (and you recieve a little package for attending), and much more.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The building and grounds are kept secure every morning and night with multiple door and gate locks. There halls and grounds are constantly patrolled by on-campus security guards and maintainence members, none of whom have presented a threat to the safety of current students, regardless of gender, race or creed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and on-campus activities for students. There are quite a few sports and leisure clubs, many diversity-based clubs and quite a few on-campus events, such as the yearly Native American festivals.

    Great for these types of students

    Metropolitan Community College is perfect for transfer-credit students looking to get some of their basic degree requirements out of the way. It is also perfect for any nursing, auto tech, or culinary students.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is superb, especially for the price. To any potentially-hesitant prospective students: this is not your typical community college. The staff is well-trained, knowledgeable and friendly, upkeep of the grounds is impecible, and the campus locations and class scheduling is perfect for any student's needs.

    Food and Dining

    The on-campus Einstein Cafe is fantastic! The food is prepared by the students of the Culinary Institute on the Fort Campus, and the students' cooking skills shine with their ever-changing menu. The prices are also rather affordable for cafeteria-based meals.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on campus, so I cannot properly attest to the quality of MCC's dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are geared to students of varied learning levels. They test the knowledge of both seasoned and new students alike, while still being set at a comfortable pace considering MCC's quarter-based academic year.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, be sure to keep in mind your overall goal at Metropolitan Community College. For transfer students, be sure to work with the counselors to address your overall goals and needs in order to get the best out of your education and to ensure that your schedule is filled with applicably transferable courses. For technical-degree-minded students, be sure to work with the advisors to determine which campus and schedule will properly accomodate both your goals and needs based on your current living situation.

    In three sentences

    With multiple campuses throughout the Omaha city limits and beyond, Metropolitan Community College offers a diverse list of technical programs and associates degree programs for a wide dichotomy of new and returning students of any age. The scheduling is flexible, the cost per credit hour is more than affordable and the staff is generally friendly, knowledgeable and filled with the desire to help the student succeed and attain the most they can with their college experience. Metropolitan Community College is quickly becoming an Omaha mainstay and will continue to flourish as it continues its strong emphasis on education and advancement.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a police officer on each campus. Metro also has it own police force that are still real police officers, not rent-a-cops.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for culinary students and trade students.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is right, especially for the classes that require more supplies than a notebook and pencil.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student organizations that new students can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food on the campuses is decent. The food from the culinary student bistro on the Fort campus is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Only one campus has dorms and I have never used them.

    Academic Rigor

    With shorter class schedules the subjects can be a little more condensed than the traditional university but I feel that if you apply yourself you can learn just as much, if not more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to explore the different areas of interest such as photography, history, or culinary. Always go to class, you can't learn if you don't want to be engaged. Never be afraid to ask for help from the teachers.

    In three sentences

    It is a decent school for people who don't like being in school. The quarter systems allows for more subject exploration opportunities than the traditional university semester system would allow. The Culinary program is one of the best in the area.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    across the street is a Menard's, Bucky's, US Bank, Arby's, Burger King, a little ways down the street is a tiny strip of different stores.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't even think MCC offers Room & Board just because of the size.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had any problems with the academic work here, I show up, get my homework done and leave.

    Tips for prospective students

    show up to class, make sure to get any homework assigned done, and try to work ahead of schedule.

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan Community College is a great school to get your prerequisites out of the way. MCC is also very cheap, and the faculty is very friendly and understanding.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some campuses have security and some don't.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Although there are plenty of organizations to join, they don't do a very good job of encouraging you to join other than a designated day.

    Great for these types of students

    Diversity is something big on the campuses. Age, race, and gender all vary.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a cheap school, but the work is hard. You get the same education as anyone else and for much cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of organizations to join. Plenty of volunteer opportunities as well.

    Food and Dining

    A few campuses have some small cafe type of eateries, but other than that you would have to go off campus for food.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    It's not Harvard, but it's still challenging. I believe i'm an average student, Metro challenges me intellectually. I believe that it's more challenging because the classes are smaller than at a University so there's time for the professors to come up with harder material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Metro is a great school. Very professional on every campus and very willing to help. I would suggest meeting with advisers and planning out your future. It's also very easy to take classes that you want to do.

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan Community College is a diverse school that is open to everyone. It's easy to get your classes scheduled to fit yours. Overall I'd suggest Metro to anyone who was okay with giving up the traditional college experience (i.e. dorm life, parties, clubs and activities).

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any issues with security. They seem to always be present and watching, which in itself is a deterrent.

    Greek Life

    There are many different areas on the school campus to gather and mind meld. Unfortunately although I am a 4.0 student I am not involved with any groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    I really can not comment on this as I am 46 years old and have a full time job, I do not get involved or have the time to.

    Great for these types of students

    Me and everyone else that attends. Really and seriously thou there is good vibes here and it works for all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a Frisbee golf course!

    Bang for the buck

    At only $54.00 per credit hour this is a good as it gets. They offer Rental books, buy back book program as well as electronic books. I think you get all you need for a decent price.

    What to do for fun

    Sorry I am no fun, I study then go to work then study some more, sad huh?

    Food and Dining

    Einstein's Cafe is delish and has great chicken salad sandwiches. Staff has an outgoing, friendly and delightful attitude.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Paced perfectly, with opportunities to get help and tutoring in every facet of education required. So far I have not picked an Instructor that hasn't kept me challenged and on my toes. If I ever need help their Library (Study Center) is always available to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for your placement exams, this could decrease the time it takes to get your degree immensely. Seek out a career counselor, ask other students of the same interest in education who they like and who works with them. Stay involved, inside and outside of class time, with discussions, events and communication with instructor. Do not miss class, your attendance here is looked at by future prospective employers. Show them you are dependable.

    In three sentences

    Metro is very convenient and extremely flexible. Offers a plethora of credited courses and occupational degrees, as well as possibility of transfer credits four year colleges accept. Although any continuing education is expensive, MCC is only $54.00 per credit hour, which rocks in my books (which are still very expensive).

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit campuses that are patrolled.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional , non traditional, online.

    Bang for the buck

    Half price or less tuition compared to all the state universities!

    What to do for fun

    MCC has a lot of student life options and cultural events. Also, since all of the locations are in Omaha, you have easy access to everything in the city.

    Food and Dining

    Basic cafes at most campuses. The South Omaha campus has an excellent culinary institute with an awesome cafeteria. That bumped the rating an extra star.

    Dorm Life

    Im not in the dorms. I haven't heard anything bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Not an ivy league by any means, but the courses give you the foundational knowledge required to be successful in your degree field and competitive when entering other academic institutions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study your basic comprehension skills before taking the mandatory assessments. You can save money by only taking credit courses in math, english, etc.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a great option for busy professionals that need the flexibility of online, evening, and weekend classes. With affordable tuition, transfer agreements at most colleges and universities in Nebraska, you can get your bachelor's degree at nearly half the cost of attending most other schools.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always see Security Guards all over South Campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students, transfer, undecided majors and non-traditional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very culturally diverse!

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck, currently resident students pay 51 per credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    Different organizations and clubs: Phi Theta Kappa, Lesbian and Gay and MCC Corps.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeterias available in 1 campus that I know of on Fort Omaha Campus, South Omaha Campus has outside vendors Mon-Fri during lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are nicely balanced to accommodate those who have been out of school and for those needing advanced material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like I stated previously, awesome starting point.

    In three sentences

    I think MCC is a great starting point for students. Whether you are a high school student who is not sure what to study, people changing career paths or for those juggling home, school, work and family. There are many locations all over the Metro area and wonderful resources.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    GREAT EDUCATION, CREDITS TRANSFER EASILY

    Dorm Life

    NONE.

    Tips for prospective students

    THERE ARE SOME CLASSES IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY, SO BE PREPARED TO NOT GET CLASSES BUILT AROUND YOUR PERSONAL SCHEDULE.

    In three sentences

    VERY AFFORDABLE, COMPARABLE EDUCATION. GREAT VALUE, AND JUST AS GOOD AS OTHER SCHOOLS.MANY ONLINE CLASSES OFFERED FOR GREAT FLEXIBILITY.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There were not a lot of activities that I found that you could join. They don't really advertise the clubs so I was baffled when I found one for student government or what not that I liked but then saw that it was too late to register/join.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at the campus. They did not really cater to the student so there weren't a lot of options to eat on campus anyways.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in their dorms but have seen the ones on the Fort Omaha campus and they do not look too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    I thought the curriculum is quite easy unless you actually challenge yourself. The required classes I took were super easy but when I had to choose others to satisfy the credit requirements, I made sure to pick ones that were somewhat difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to talk to your counselor as much as possible, they really helped in answering questions and planning out an educational prospectus. Be on the scout for good teachers as well. If you don't like a class or are afraid to fail because of the poor quality of the teacher, make sure to drop the class ASAP.

    In three sentences

    Decent curriculum, plenty of classes to choose from, and pocket friendly. I had some very good teachers but not so great ones as well, overall all though it was a good college for students transferring to a University like myself (to save a bit of money) and for people who want to brush up on their education. They only down side would be the diversity of the students, it is more of a college for mature students then ones just starting their educational journey.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    So far, it does seem to be good. There is a small menu, but they cover each meal.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live at a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the instructor. My psych instructor takes his class very seriously. He is funny, which makes it a little easier. A lot of out-of-class reading. I haven't had an exam yet in any class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a brand new student, my advice is get your books before your 1st class. And yes, your 1st class is important. Some think it's not, but your instructors will note if you skip it. Also, read the first couple chapters before your 1st class. It will help.

    In three sentences

    I've only had 2 classes so far, but I am enjoying myself & I am glad that I chose Metro. The instructors/professors, know their field of study. The other students are very friendly & helpful. I feel that I will learn a great deal while at Metro & am excited for the rest of my time here.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never experienced any kind of trouble at the campus with anyone or myself. This campus is safe and the staff is very friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who aren't sure where to start for college. Now I totally know what I can expect at a major university. And if anything, I feel very excited to attend the university. I say bring it!

    Bang for the buck

    I love it here. I am getting many credits fulfilled that I will need to transfer to my university, and it is worth the money. It is virtually free when I applied for the Pell Grant, which almost anyone can get.

    What to do for fun

    Since the campus I attend, Sarpy campus, is very small, it doesn't support activity clubs and such. However, there are small activities for the kids on weeknights in the library.

    Food and Dining

    There is this great little cafe inside run by a wonderful and cool woman. She makes almost everything and it is delicious. There are also snack and pop vending machines around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, so one must have a private residence. There is no on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a lot of chapter reading and note taking. But it's all good and necessary to prepare for a real university. It can be simple as long as you stay on track and ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress too much about missing a class. But attend as many of the classes as you can, because it may be difficult to stay on schedule with the class and difficult to receive sufficient test scores by taking notes in class.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm at this location.

    In three sentences

    This college make it easier for me to attend classes online because of my work. Also the professors are very helpful and will work with my schedule when it come to handing in homework.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Multiple security guards at each campus. On constant duty.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good for getting your basic requirements for a fraction of the cost of a four year.

    Food and Dining

    Eating facilities vary from campus to campus. The main two - Fort Omaha and South Campus - have good food choices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging without being completely overbearing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the online MyWay login system. Make sure you have your financial aid in order.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school, great classes for a good cost. Very diverse student population. Very helpful faculty.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Depends on which campus you attend

    Dorm Life

    It's a two bed room dorms with shared bathrooms with two addition students in connected rooms

    Academic Rigor

    They have many academic programs of your choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask questions and obtain help. There's a few great resources there.

    In three sentences

    Is very competitive

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap. 53 a credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    Study!! That's all I do.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes they have stuff between classes, never eaten though.

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own house.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are dedicated! Want to see you do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid stuff in early.

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers are very easy going and understanding. Very culturally diverse, I had a 60 year old in my class once! Financial aid sucks though.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm big into music (playing, writing, sing, etc), and I do a lot of church activities as well, but I've made some friends at metro and we go to the movies sometimes and things like that. That is something I never thought I'd do, so that's a very cool aspect of Metro as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and the cafe has a lot of healthy options which I appreciate, and portion sizes are good, but pricing is on the expensive side.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on my campus so I can't speak to that.

    Academic Rigor

    The intensity of the class depends on the subject as well as the professor, but you will never end a class without your academic boundaries being pushed. Each class that I've taken has stretched me in one way or another and it's a very satisfying feeling.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest signing up as early as possible for classes because they do fill up quickly, and don't over load yourself. The class load is something to get used to because the semesters are a tab bit shorter so don't pile on to thick you're first semester.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking to get a university level education at an extremely cheap price, then you need to visit Metro! Being a student at Metro has brought me a wealth of experiences and opportunity in my learning. I've been provided with top notch teachers, who are more than qualified in their fields, and who bring lots of dynamic flavors to the classroom to provide the best possible learning atmosphere.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at this campus. When leaving my night classes I usually see security around the building and feel very much at ease.

    Great for these types of students

    Beginning/Returning to college. Working professionals. Switching careers.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have a dining hall but in the main commons building there are coffee shops, a couple of restaurants, visiting vendors, and vending machines. I've bought food from pretty much all of them and have no complaints, especially considering I only attend night classes!

    Dorm Life

    Not any dorms at the campus I attend but there may be some at other locations.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigors always depend on the professor teaching the class. So far, I have been pleased with my selection and have also been challenged in my courses. This is a serious school so come to study!