Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Metropolitan Community College-Blue River Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are nervous about going to college, Blue River is the place for you. It's small, so you can adjust easily into the college life instead of being thrown into a huge university. Also, It's great for people who are going back to college because they offer classes at all different times and levels.

    Bang for the buck

    Blue River is very affordable! They offer many scholarships and financial aid. They want you to get the most out of your money and will work with you to make it possible. I think most of their students are on some kind of financial aid or scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being able to get around campus so quickly. Everything is close together. The classes are small enough for you to get to know the people in your class. Blue River has many great services that they offer that can help you succeed. They have a really good tutoring area and it's free! The staff is friendly and helpful. The campus is safe and you don't have to worry about violence.

    Am learning a lot

    Within the first 2 weeks of classes, I already felt like I had learned alot. The material is well-taught and easy to understand. The teachers are down to earth and want to help you learn. I have learned alot that I never knew before.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are undecided in their majors can definitely find help through the advisors. Always know that there is someone out there to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of your education. Knowing where you're heading is all that you need then you will do fine because the resources are there to help. Always ask for advisor helps.

    Bang for the buck

    Services are always wonderful.

    Am enjoying being here

    Staff are great at helping students.

    Am learning a lot

    You learn that to be self sufficient.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who can't afford a 4 year school yet or are undecided on what they want to study. Blue River is a great place to get the gen eds done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up on your homework, listen to your teachers, but most of all talk to your teachers before and after class. They seem to like that and they will like you more for it.

    Bang for the buck

    anywhere from 1000-2000 a semester depending on how many classes you take. I think it's well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a community college. You're not going to enjoy a community college if you're looking for the college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    It's a pretty good school in terms of teaching. I really love taking history courses with Dr. Worley. He's very knowledgeable when it comes to anything involving history.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this facility is well supervised in security.

    Great for these types of students

    great for determined students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i don't have any

    Bang for the buck

    if you give your all to any worthwhile project as learning, you will profit in the long run.

    What to do for fun

    you have to have down time to let your mind re- build ! i will karaoke, as my means for relaxation.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is very important to focus on the big picture when you are futhering your education. i like to see myself at the place i want to be prior to attending class, i am more focus on what's ahead for me when i have a ideal of where im going.

    In three sentences

    the atmostphere is ***** the appearence is*****, the location is *****

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. However, a rating was required.

    In three sentences

    Very convenient. Friendly staff. Small class sizes.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's a community college, there is not much there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all of your classes, participation is always a key factor in grading.

    In three sentences

    Blue River has a nice, safe, and effective learning environment. With a motivational learning staff. All of my Courses that i am currently enrolled in are informative and fun.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i totally feel safe!!

    Greek Life

    nope

    Clubs and Activities

    i thinks its more for the younger people

    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not that i am ahere of

    Bang for the buck

    Well, it's cheep and when you are working full time it's very hard to save money!

    Food and Dining

    The food is cheep and great for students.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms at this time

    Academic Rigor

    It's great and exciting to be able to go back to school at the age that i am and to find the resources that i need.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think everybody should start at this college. It's fun and very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I think it a great school to go back to. They offer help and assistance in everything from finical aide to returning students. They have help in the learning center as which anytime you can get. It's just a awesome school I think.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public saftey officers are always on campus. The police academy is also located on the Blue River campus. There are also poles throughout the campus with a phone and emergency button incase someone is feeling threatened. The public safety officers will also walk you to your car at night after a late if you feel the need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for everyone. They are all optional and welcoming to all who are interested.

    What to do for fun

    Each MCC campus has many different groups and sports teams. Blue River has a men and womens soccer team. There are also many different fun groups that are all free such as student activities, gamers club, Phi Theta Kappa, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria. It does have good food and a meal card that you can buy if you would like, although it can be kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. You either where you are currently living if close enough, or there are other options such as renting an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you to do your best while also being available and approachable when you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are tight on money and not sure about what career or path you want to pursue, then I really recommend MCC to start taking your general classes at a cheaper cost. You can also looks at other schools you are thinking about and take the classes that it shows you to because then you know for sure that the classes you take will transfer.

    In three sentences

    One of the best choices I have made when transitioning from high school to college because the school is a great place and the professors and staff are very helpful. Great for saving money. I used that A+ program and also had a scholarships, meaning I was paid to attend the school.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officer is always on duty.

    Greek Life

    Peaceful and relaxing at times.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know of any clubs or activities

    Great for these types of students

    Starter and new students with low income.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any traditions. They have many locations. and bus routes in case you don't have transportation.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive compared to other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Not really much to do. They offer students gym time and passes to a fitness club.

    Food and Dining

    Not much of a menu. Lunch room is not always open for all students.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a lot of career opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    There computers are not always up to date. Keep proof of everything you do and check out.

    In three sentences

    This is a good junior college for starter students. Some teachers are friendly, some are not. They need more written information about what they offer

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is great for security! The police academy is there and there is security guard office in the campus center and there are posts throughout the parking lot to call for help if a situation were to occur.

    Greek Life

    Only in my first semester and have not yet ran into any Greek life just yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't enrolled in an art class for next semester so I don't have personal experience with any of the clubs or activities just yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As of yet, I have not developed any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are challenging but passable. I believe this is a good start before heading to MIZZOU to finish my degree.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to just hang our with my friends and family and catch up.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't personally tried the food but it smells amazing and the cafeteria is always packed and they will hold events there, it is a nice environment.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, they make you think, but the teachers are willing to help and there are tutors available throughout the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out your teachers before enrolling in classes to get an idea of the teachers style and other students views of the class.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy this school very much. I love the smaller class sizes while getting aclimated to college courses and everyone is very helpful. Everyone wants the students to pass and are willing to help to make sure it happens.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with lots of security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Small school so the clubs are small.

    Great for these types of students

    School is great for all types of students. Older students are welcome and included. There is a great range of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Pell grants cover most if not all of the costs. The costs reasonable and book costs are not to bad with the rental options the school has.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs on campus. Hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Cafe' food is great.

    Academic Rigor

    There are classes for all levels of students. There is an honors program as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out the on line application before visiting the school. Fill out your FASFA and link your taxes to it. Make sure to get a copy of your transcripts when you come for a visit.

    In three sentences

    Blue River is a great school. It has a small campus and wonderful professors who really care. The campus is great and has great parking. Small class size and plenty of free tutoring.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some teachers play movies on Fridays that anybody is able to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but could be worse.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher the class can be helpful, but if you are able to balance your time and you actually study there is no reason to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't pass up the FREE opportunity of tutoring in the library. Pay serious attention to how many classes you miss because certain teachers will drop you, even if you have a doctor's note for being absent.

    In three sentences

    Blue River is a very nice campus. The faculty is extremely helpful with anything you need. The layout of the buildings makes it easy to move from building to building between classes.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can sign up for text alerts on any violent activity. There are Emergency posts located on each campus. I've never felt in danger here.

    Great for these types of students

    Great if you're wanting to do college a little cheaper. Easy to transfer to a 4-year school.

    Bang for the buck

    An inexpensive way to get two-years of college!

    What to do for fun

    Numerous student activities are held every semester. From pancake breakfasts to rock climbing walls. We even had monkeys visit for a day that you could hold and take pictures with.

    Food and Dining

    Many vending machines available, never tried the Caf food though. I do know that they have coffee.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are good college teachers, no busy work only studying and tests. Other teachers love busy work and assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and don't be discouraged!

    In three sentences

    Convenient location. Great student resources! You'll have some great teachers and some not great teachers.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Young students without a clear career plan or returning adults.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a small cafeteria which you can use financial aid for but it is still a cafeteria, not the best food.

    Dorm Life

    none this is not a live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great place to start if you are an adult/returning student they can help guide you. You can save a lot of money and still get a good education!

    In three sentences

    Blue River has been great! I have enjoyed almost every teacher and class. I feel prepared to transfer to a university!

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is on campus and handy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in contact with a counselor for transferring credits and programs. Keep a plan for your goals

    In three sentences

    The class sizes provide good learning opportunities. I feel valued as a student. My professors are accessible.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Its okay, spend most of my time off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Blue River doesn't have dorms or living.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers challenge you but give you an opportunity to understand everything

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't get too behind in work, it piles up

    In three sentences

    Blue River is an amazing school to attend. Great place to get an education and have other responsibilities. I would like to continue my education there.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have police officers on campus at all times because there is a police academy on campus so I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Minute to win it games.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Blue River is great for anyone because it is about learning and really nothing more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have minute to win it games and those are always fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I have scholarships so I'm getting paid to go instead of paying to go so it is pretty nice.

    What to do for fun

    There really is not anything fun to do on campus itself unless you have friends who are attending Blue River as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay, nothing spectacular but not gross either.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I have learned a lot in most of my classes, but I have had a few that were extremely difficult and one that was a complete joke.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your financial aide because they will try to cheat you out of your money and scholarships you've earned if you do not watch it.

    In three sentences

    For the most part my experience at Blue River has been nothing but the best. The professors are awesome at what they do, or at least the ones I've had have been, and they really care about their student. For being a community college the campus is always lively and fun to be at.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I honestly don't know what to say for this one. There has been a lot of activity between the campuses dealing with safety.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Didn't join a club, There aren't that many.

    Great for these types of students

    Okay.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no Traditions

    Bang for the buck

    I was set with financial aid, but I if I had to pay for some of the classes myself half of them I wouldn't even take.

    What to do for fun

    The Computer Lab, its very Open!

    Food and Dining

    They have very good food that inst that expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is NO Housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Always remember to ask for help if you are unclear about something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your general studies classes first before jumping into your major selected class

    In three sentences

    The Staff there is very helpful but some professors aren't as hands on. The enrollment process was very easy. Make sure to always talk to your instructor if you have any problems.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    New college students, students not ready to move too far away from home, students low on funds

    Bang for the buck

    Way cheaper than a four-year school!

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym -- you can check out basketballs and ping pong equipment in the adjacent office.

    Food and Dining

    I've never tried their food.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms -- it's a community college!

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent teachers. There are a few bad ones, but that will be the case with any school you ever go to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete your basic credits here -- you'll save a ton of money and get the same quality of education that you would get elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    I love the class sizes, the atmosphere, and the resources. The teachers are very competent, and it's a lot cheaper than any four-year institution!

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always officers walking around campus. There are poles set up around campus that by pushing a button can get people in contact with 911 and campus police.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great of students who want to save money and aren't wanting the 4 year college experience. Going here students can have a life outside of school and over all seem more caring of their education.

    What to do for fun

    There are video games and ping pong tables that can be borrowed through campus life. The soccer team is good so their home games are fun. Mostly people hang around in the cafe hanging out.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast and Lunch can be bought and its wonderful. The cafe has the best food that is fresh and tastes like home cooking. There is a wide variety and everyday there is something new. My only complaint is the prices. They seem a little high.

    Dorm Life

    You don't live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall the classes are pretty easy. As long as you pay attention and do the assigned readings the work isn't difficult. A lot of assignments are online so you can use any resource to do the work. It's really like any academic set up. Pay attention, read, do assignments, and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save up your money. Financial Aid will pay for a majority, but maybe not books, which aren't cheap. Books are the biggest cost here which will run a total up to 700+ dollars. Also always talk to an adviser before making changes to your schedule. If you make a change you could risk losing financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Financially it is a very wise decision to go here. The instructors are also great and you learn the same here as you would at a 4 year college. The campus is nice and there are always people there to help you with your problems, whatever they may be.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe at this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs such as the gamer's club and many more to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to attend a small, yet affordable school.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is small, yet comforting. You really get a chance to know your teachers, which allows them to help your more.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs to join on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food was amazing!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Pushing yourself past your limits would be an academic rigor. Also, taking extra time to study and visiting the tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. make conferences with teachers 2. use the tutoring center, for it is free 3. take part in the activities that are present on campus

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan Community College-Blue River is a small, yet caring facility. The workers really take pride in their students by helping them get to where they want and need to be. Attending this college allows those with extra opportunities to really excel.