Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Longview is great for quite frankly any type of student. We offer everything, if not more then any typical four year university school even in better quality. We have a large student body and personable teachers. A nice cafeteria with delicious food. A new recreation center with a giant lap pool. We have a huge multicultural student body do any new student will fit right in.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those students who are actually planning on coming to Longview I am going to give some facts and perks about our school. First, like any college be prepared, you are making a big change from high school to college stay on your game keep your grades up and study and the good grades will follow. Next, we offer free tutoring here and for those who need extra help that is perfect. Also, beautiful scenery lovely lake behind the school and next to a extravagant 100 acre gulf course.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is for lack of better word cheap, especially Longview. Longview is a perfect school for any student out there who is looking for the great quality education for a low price. We also have two great libraries with free printing and computers for those who may not be able to afford a computer. Like I stated Longview is a perfect school for the student for those looking for a great quality education for a low price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending Longview. Most people have a stereotypical view about community colleges; their boring, small, lower quality education. All of those views are completely wrong. Longview is a fun, multicultural community college and it actually has a big campus, so one still gets the four year university experience. We also have sports for those interested, and many extracurricular activities. I have joined the college debate team and became the rookie of the year on the team, we travel a lot and experience many other cities. I love it.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at Longview Community College. Actually, I am currently a freshmen going into my second semester and my previous English course I took first semester was actually my most challenging class I have ever took. The teachers love to challenge their students in a way that not only the students learn, but they build strong relationships with each other and the professor.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want an education at a lower price, have weird hours because of work or other obligations and those who want an easy commute.

    Bang for the buck

    I have an A+ scholarship from high school but even if I didn't their fees aren't high and tuition is cheap at $82 per credit hour.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part I like going there. I took some classes there while in high school and taking classes here another year. It's convenient to where I live and I know some people from high school.

    Am learning a lot

    Each teacher is different and there are many to choose from. Ask around campus from other students to see what they think of them and see if the teacher is right for you. Some teachers I learn from others not so much.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I start in August and am looking forward to attending Longview community college

    Tips for prospective students

    new student

    Bang for the buck

    looking forward to starting in August.

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope so.

    Will learn a lot

    Not really sure yet because I start August 18, 2009.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its pretty much for any student able to get in. If not I'm willing to welcome you and show you around to prove so.

    Tips for prospective students

    All i got to say is this is a big step from high school. Teachers are stricter and class time have to be met. Other than it pretty much is easy sailing. The student are great and they love to interact with others. The girls are hotter to so what can you ask of besides more free time?

    Bang for the buck

    I think it's affordable if you have fafsa working with you or some kind of scholarship. Without something like that it can be a little pricey if your not rolling in the money. Compared to a normal college paying for longview or any of the mcc schools is pretty decent for what we learn.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love driving to school and back home. It makes me feel like I had accomplished something divine. I especially like how they have a room for gamers in the cafeteria where people can bring in games and play. I'm usually found in there eating fried chicken and fries.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning just as much as anybody at any college. The teachers are very one on one with students and when you stuck on a problem there is free tutoring. Most colleges don't have free tutoring so why pay when you can get it for free. The work load is pretty decent, but you can always get through them with time.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who have a packed schedule. If you have to deal with things other than school, this is a great school for you. There are many different classes and so many different hours to take them. Instructors are usually understanding if you miss a class, letting you sit in on another class so that you are filled in on what when on during the time you missed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a nice community college to start out at this would be a great one. Don't let the community in front of its name fool you, I have learned a lot here that will help me when I switch to a university.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a fun atmosphere while also being a great learning atmosphere. I also love the way the school supports diversity, it makes me feel a lot more comfortable.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning more than in High School, as expected and I really enjoy all of the things my instructors are teaching me.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    good education for low cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class and study.

    In three sentences

    i've really enjoyed continuing my education at longivew community college. it has been a good place to experience the transition between high school and college. you do have to work for your grades and attend class but it gives you a taste of the real world.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not bad as far as colleges go.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs you can join and a lot of activity on campus for students and non-students.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive

    Dorm Life

    Does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the teachers teach as if it were an actual university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think just because it is a community college that you don't have to study!

    In three sentences

    The teachers are interesting. I like that it is a small school with small class sizes. The teacher-student interaction is good.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cops on campus through out school times. The campus is really safe.

    Greek Life

    There is any Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from. Its just easy, choose the clubs that have the same interests as you.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students, there isn't any discrimination here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are any traditions really for the campus as a whole, just more in select groups.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable and you will save a lot rather than going to a University for four years.

    What to do for fun

    Join Student Government or Phi Theta Kappa. They are always having fun activities to do either on campus or around Lee Summit.

    Food and Dining

    The food presented in the cafeteria is good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms at Long-view

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't difficult if you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    To not be intimidated by this school. To get involved and if they study they should have no problems at all passing classes.

    In three sentences

    I think Long-view is a very pleasant college to attend for beginners. The teachers are friendly. Also there are many chances to get involved on the campus to meet many different people.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Longview has a very tightly handled security base. There is a private section in front of the business building. The security patrols around the premises in order to secure the grounds of Longview for everyone!

    Greek Life

    Longview has a Greek Life called Phi Theta Cappa. Phi Theta Cappa is a sorority based on academics and grades. You must achieve a 3.5 grade point average and maintain a 3.0 to remain in the sorority. Phi Theta Cappa provides students to be involved in the community and on campus. They could be considered The Leaders on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range and variety of clubs. For instance, there is a cultures club, an engineering club, a gaming club, a Longview Bible Study, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Longview is great for returning students, students with disabilities, foreign transfer students, and students that wish to start their college experience off on a slower pace.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    At Longview, the instructors, faculty, security, and whomever else, make sure you get the highest qualities and services for the price you have paid to attend the school!

    What to do for fun

    There are many sororities like the Phi Beta Cappa. Longview has many shows and plays broadcasted by their preforming arts centers. Longview also invites many important guests and speakers that educates on different areas of studies and occupations.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is very good. Longview provides a pleasant dining experience with a variety of foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Longview is very strict about their academics! Longview provides assistance for each individual area of study. In order to help you succeed, Longview provides academic assistance as learning aids, tutors, and academic counseling!

    Tips for prospective students

    The first tip is to choose your classes and teachers wisely. Second, be able to form study groups. Third, take math courses back to back.

    In three sentences

    When asked to rate the Metropolitan Community College-Longview, I would give it an eight out of ten! It is one, a great community that provides the opportunity of learning, two, they have fabulous teachers,and three through eight they set out to promote and maximize excellence! Longview is a great school because it welcomes and accommodates to all!

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always great, they send out alerts, security is on campus and they have phone you can use.

    Clubs and Activities

    several

    Great for these types of students

    students who are preparing for a four year school, I would recommend taking some general studies classes there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus is large looks like a huge golf course you sometimes may see deer

    Bang for the buck

    the bang for the buck is the cost of the college

    What to do for fun

    they always have something positive going on, and they have a monthly calendar with events that go on.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is great. and there are dining places not far from the school that are cool.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great there, because many professors prepare you for a four year university. They make sure you understand the subject. Always willing to help or make an office appointment to discuss any issues the student has

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to experience college before going to a large university, Longview would be a great place to attend. Small class sizes and very friendly people. Free parking and student id and they also have a rec center, sports and other clubs to join. Great school.

    In three sentences

    Longview is a great campus to attend for an affordable price. They have great labs and tutoring available. As well as great professors to help with your studies.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe at this school. The parking lot is decently lit, and there is always an officer patrolling it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs to peak almost anyones interest. The best, in my opinion, is Phi Theta Kappa. It's an 2 year college honors society. They can help you get scholarships and help students transfer to four year schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally I feel that education should be free, however, at Longview you definitely get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    The Cafeteria is definitely the hotspot of the school. However, their is a fairly decent collection of science odds and ends inside the science building. If that isn't your thing, there is also some really great local shopping hot spots.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is always bustling and there are some fantastic vending machines, and they take debit cards.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm at Longview.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes I have taken at Longview are very academically challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to use the resources available at the school. If you're undecided about anything, schedule an appointment with an Academic Advisor - I recommend Matthew Heck.

    In three sentences

    MCC-Longview is a really great school that offers a great deal of diversity. It's outfitted with great resources to help students do the best they can. All in all Longview is a great school to attend.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police and campus security patrol Longview every day of the week and I never feel unsafe when I'm on campus.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek entity at MCC is Phi Theta Kappa which is similar to an honors and volunteerism club. From what I can tell they are very open to new members and friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Longview is unfortunately lacking in the club department, but you can always look at other MCC campuses or start your own :)

    Great for these types of students

    Longview has a lot of classes for people looking into degrees in programming, engineering, or certifications like nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    Longview is great if you want to get rid of your gen eds and it's really cheap as far as higher education goes. If you are in the area it's a great buy, and even better if you use A+.

    What to do for fun

    Lees Summit is a big place and pretty much anywhere you could want to go is within an easy driving distance :)

    Food and Dining

    Haven't had any yet, but as long as it's edible it works for me :) And I've never heard of a mass outbreak of food poisoning in Longview students, so it's a pretty safe bet it's good dining!

    Dorm Life

    Oh yes, their lodging is fantastic ;)

    Academic Rigor

    School hasn't started yet, but not having had any college class experience, AP classes aside, I think that the academics will be just as good if not better than my expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though school hasn't started yet, I can tell you that the people at Longview really do try their best to help you move on to bigger and better things. So if you have a question or need some help, don't be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    Longview is a great value for people who have bad financial situations. The staff will always do what they can to help you out. There are plenty of opportunities to get involved as long as you go looking for them :)

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety seems to be very good. I have seen multiple campus offices around Longview. The dean also gives a speech about the security on campus to new students.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am really not involved in any clubs or activities at Longview. I do not have time because I also work part time. I do see a lot of advertisements for clubs and activities around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Longview is a great college to start your degree. They make it easy to find schools to transfer to and they are helpful when trying to transfer credits.

    Food and Dining

    I really do not use the food and dining. From what I hear, the food is over-priced. Althoug, the cafeteria and dining area does always look clean and it is always busy when I walk by.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, so I do not know anything about the dorm life. It is not something I am interested in.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academic rigor depends on what level of classes you are taking and what type of classed you are taking. Some classes are more advanced than others. Overall, I think any class can be challenging, it just depends on what a students puts into their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that all of your financial aid or scholarships go through as soon as possible. It can be a long and stressful process. Students need to stay on top of thing in the financial aid department.

    In three sentences

    The financial aid offices need improvement. There is a lack of communication in the offices. It is more stressful than helpful at times.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have real police on campus. The security office is located in our business building.

    Greek Life

    They have a phi theta kappa club.

    Clubs and Activities

    They could have a bit more of a variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Automotive-pursing students, reserved and outgoing students. Undecided-major students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a bible study group that meets every Wednesday.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definately worth your money if you apply yourself and study hard.

    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs and go to the student events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has good food at decent prices for students.

    Dorm Life

    Two year community college(doesn't have on-campus living).

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    *Go to all your classes. *Turn in all your assignments. *Utilize the resources they offer to students. *Communicate with your instructors frequently.

    In three sentences

    Longview community college is a wonderful starter school. They offer a variety of classes. This school will definitely prepare you for a four-year university!

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue posts everywhere that allows people to easily access security. Also, with police out and about every so often, it makes everything seem safer.

    Greek Life

    There are none on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are fun and enjoyable, with quite the range of selections. From student government, to gamers, to engineers, to a christian club, they have a great variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student is welcome here. Anybody is available. No if, and's or but's.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As it is a community college, I have not noticed any traditions what may be considered unusual. Also, no special locations as well.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of learning is fantastic. With this being a community college, the price is very low and affordable. There are plenty of resources available on campus and it is all free for students. The bang for the buck is absolutely amazing.

    What to do for fun

    There is a games room in the student center along with many clubs to sign up for. And you can sign up for free text messages to learn about everything going taking place on campus!

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria in the student center. It is meant for the people that need a meal but don't have the time to go off campus. There is no real food plan here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of work needed to put into the classes are very well balanced. Not too strenuous, but you still need to put some effort into it. This fits most every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. Do your best to learn who the teacher is. Let them know you on a personal level; they love that. They will always help you strive to learn what you need to. Also, use the resources given to you! The learning center on campus will be glad to help you get extra attention on most every subject.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Metropolitan Community College of Lee's Summit is a great college system. The teachers are always helpful and willing to know the students on a personal level, so they can help you achieve. The people in advising will always help students working on transferring to four year colleges, thus living up to its standards of having one of the best transfer programs.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't eat here so I don't know.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all your required courses as soon as possible. Enroll the day classes open.

    In three sentences

    The school is pretty good. The work is not hard. The professors are not very strict.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe. There are guards circulating constantly and there are stations across campus that are specifically there for if anything goes wrong, you press the button and the security guards come running.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of sports and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who need to transition from high school to college life, those who want to spend less on courses that cost double at universities, those who want small classes so they can understand the subject better; this is the school for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a number of random snack days. There is also events like tie dye day where students get to tie dye their own shirts and put it up to dry making rows of tie dye shirts hanging across campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I love MCC Longview's set-up. It's fun yet still educationally centered, it's gorgeous and has so much to offer when it comes to scenery, and it's small so you can transition from high school to college easier.

    What to do for fun

    I love the fact the MCC Longview look over Longview lake. Going to the picnic sites to have lunch or just to watch the lake is a great way to spend your time. It is absolutely beautiful. On warm days you can find people boating or jet skiing as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has good food as well as good company. The prices aren't bad either. If campus food isn't to your liking, there is a number of restaurants across the street, not to mention a pharmacy and gas station.

    Dorm Life

    I wasn't living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    MCC Longview is a great school but that doesn't mean it's perfect, it is pretty close though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take too much on too soon. Ease into college, it isn't about who finished first, it's about graduating with the knowledge to make a difference.

    In three sentences

    MCC Longview is a great school. It has professors who care, great scenery, and provides great degree programs. MCC Longview has a great atmosphere that makes you feel at home.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Phones around campus. Security on site.

    Greek Life

    Does not apply

    Clubs and Activities

    Does not apply

    Great for these types of students

    All. Nontraditional as well as traditional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is now a smoke free facility.

    Bang for the buck

    I never had a bad experience there and the counselors gives good advice on how to pass the class

    What to do for fun

    visit the local eateries or movie theater nearby.

    Food and Dining

    Student's lounge food is good

    Dorm Life

    does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tough but for the most part the instructors will help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you decide to move on to your next college see what classes you need or don't need so you don't have to take any unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    Faculty is great, the atmosphere is that of a small town and students are nice too.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    no knowlege

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm 64 and haven't fopund one that fits for me/

    Great for these types of students

    stay at home and no rent and utilities to pay while you start your college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none to share

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges always cheaper

    What to do for fun

    I've seen the musical productions every semester for several years. They do great shows and I always come away from them happy an smiling.

    Food and Dining

    no experience

    Dorm Life

    no experience

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent group of teacher in the music dept.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to negotiate the admission process.

    In three sentences

    Super personalized help due to small classes.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As a community college, classes are cheaper than at other colleges or universities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus as well as many people who hang out between classes. Check the cafeteria. You can always find something to do there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good! I always get a buffalo chicken wrap with American cheese, bacon, pickles and other sauces. You will not miss the taste of high school food.

    Dorm Life

    Metropolitan Community College - Longivew has no dorms. However just outside of campus, there is a mini-city with apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard only if you don't do the work and don't study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study throughout the course; not just close to quizzes and exams. There are morning, evening, night and online classes to fit whatever schedule you have. Come to school early to get good parking.

    In three sentences

    The college has very knowledgeable teachers. It's resources are easy to access. It's scholarships and classes are very easy to apply for and enroll in.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is absolutely safe. I am taking many evening classes, and I feel safe when many sercurites take care this college.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for international student because it does not cost much money.

    What to do for fun

    I go out with my friends and discuss the homework with them

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorm

    Academic Rigor

    My fall semester lasted easily with a lot of supporting from writing center and tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe effort is the most important component of success.

    In three sentences

    Longview Community College is the most suitable place for me to achive my dream as a nurse. All the staffs and professors here are very friendly and responsible to help students. I got a lot of help as studying here as the first time I came to United State

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards driving around the parking lot and walking around on campus. I have never had a moment where I felt unsafe on campus even while taking night classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs at Longview that it would be impossible not to find something you were interested in with people that share the same interests.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally went to Longview on an A+ scholarship I received in high school, but if i were to have paid out of pocket I'd say it was money well spent.

    What to do for fun

    Longview offers all sorts of different clubs and they also really try to get their students involved by having games and activities in the cafe. It really is a lot of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining tends to remind me of a high school cafeteria with less noise. The food may not be the best but it is much better than high school ever was. The cafe is full of interesting and enjoyable people and is worth visiting at least a few times each semester.

    Academic Rigor

    I have very few complaints about any of the learning styles at Longview. If you communicate with your teachers they will do their best to accommodate you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Longview was not rated one of the top community college in the nation within the past decade for easy academics. You have to study hard and ask questions. You will meet a lot of amazing people and learn so many things if you apply yourself.

    In three sentences

    I have loved my experience here at Longview. I feel as if it were a good stepping stone for me in my life and the professors I have had the honor of being taught by are wonderful. I would suggest Longview to anyone who may consider it.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    $92 a credit hour (in district)! I attend Longview solely because of the price to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Longview is a community college, so there is not much done through the school for fun. The school does has several organizations that have regularly scheduled events throughout the semester.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria, with a large dining area. The food is not terrible - better than high school cafeteria food definitely. The coffee and drinks are rather expensive, and the food is fairly generic.

    Dorm Life

    MCC Longview does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are much harder than others - as with any university. Most teachers give opportunities to raise previous test scores with the final test grade - so it has been generally easy to maintain a hight GPA. Most classes require nightly homework in order to be successful in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    MCC Longview is not a hard school to get into, just prepare for everything early as classes do fill up rather quickly.

    In three sentences

    MCC Longview is great for the price. The college environment is not prevalent, but that leads to less distraction from schoolwork. I have completed three semesters so far, and am currently working toward the fourth - I haven't yet had a professor that I would not strongly recommend.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very nicely set up at all mcckc. If there are any problems at any of the mcckc locations than a mass text goes out to all students, warning/explaining detail of what happen.

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and groups there, I couldn't list them, but I recommend going to the mcckc web site.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are just trying to get they're career and get. Its not a school to go to if your looking for that college experience people talk about.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really strange about it just your usual community college.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheap, a great option to get your General Eds over with before you move on to your degree.

    What to do for fun

    I know there is a gamer section by the cafeteria, if your into that kind of thing.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't been to the cafeteria, but I've heard from others that it's over priced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for mcckc schools.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers aren't bad, but alittle more personality wouldn't hurt.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your planning on attending this school make sure all your stuff is togther finacially and transcripts more than 6 months in advance.

    In three sentences

    I would rate longview a 6.5 out of 10. It's not the easiest school to get your stuff set up at. They students there also make the whole meeting new people, making new friends kind of unpleasurable.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of sports and many, many clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Coffee shop is really yummy but their isn't an actual lunch room.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Slightly higher than high school but not too bad I hear.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class early, it shows that you are interested in the course.

    In three sentences

    Easy to navigate campus. They have very friendly advisors who are very helpful in choosing courses that are best for you. They have a very wide variety of low cost products in their book store.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has had minimal reported assaults. Any student who chooses to receive messages about any reported assaults on all MCC campuses will be informed via text immanently after the incident has happened. There is also a highly enforced tobacco policy that prevents everyone on the campus grounds to use or consume tobacco products.

    Greek Life

    They only have one on campus, Phi Thetta Cappa, open to all students who have a 4.0 GPA when entering and maintain a 3.5 GPA to stay in. They are also noted for being highly active in the surrounding communities and the student body on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities that are on campus should be used as an example for other campuses. The leading students are supportive and charismatic for students who are looking into the clubs. All clubs on campus also support each other; meaning they will advertise for each other when they go out to public events.

    Great for these types of students

    Every student, young or old, should try this community college. The younger students find a way to include the older or returning students with open arms. The age difference is almost unnoticiable when listening to the students interact among each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is consistently finding ways to include all ethnicities in activities together. They have multiple clubs that involve all peoples and the student body is highly open to different and new experiences.

    Bang for the buck

    In Missouri they offer a students the chance to tutor in schools to pay for their college. I used this to my advantage so my college is free with the exception of lab fee's for the science classes and my books.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers many extra curricular activities that are advertised every day in the common congregation spots. They hold a movie night once a month; have multiple clubs you can join; and try to include the entire campus body by obtaining student cabinet members who are the age of the majority of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are offered in the cafeteria. The selection is limited but, the food they serve is four-star quality and served by the friendliest cafeteria workers I have had the pleasure to meet to date.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on the longview campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Longview is a community college that takes pride in challenging their students. If you find yourself struggling with the material they have easily accessible resources that are available to all students who attend school. The library holds multiple classrooms filled with student-tutors who are experiencing the classes and offer another view of the material given.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try going to a community college before entering a University. Longview is a great start for students who know their majors or students who have not decided. Be prepared to study like a college student and take their College 100 course to get a better understanding of what colleges will expect from you.

    In three sentences

    This college is an excellent transition from high school to college for students returning or trying college for the first time. The classes are hard enough to qualify for college credit with staff members who are still dedicated to seeing the students succeed. This is a college I would recommend for any body interested in getting their associates on a budget.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities to do on campus. The recreational center is great for fitness activities and sports. Joining school groups and extracurricular activities can also add more fun to your school life.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very nice selection of food to chose from on campus, but if you are not satisfied with what Longview has to offer, there is a coffee shop and a Subway across the street.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on the Longview campus, but there are apartments across the street that I believe many students reside in for convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes mostly depends on how hard the student makes it. If you are always early and/or right on time with studying and turning in assignments, classes should not seem that difficult(unless you just happen to get one of *italicized*those*italicized* instructors, which is very rare).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending MCCKC - Longview, one tip that I cannot stress enough is to be early in everything that you do. Get up early. Be early for parking spaces. Be early with class assignments.(especially)

    In three sentences

    MCCKC - Longview is a great school to attend for either those planning on transferring to a 4-year, graduating with just an Associates degree, or there just to learn new things. The campus is very clean and a very secure environment to learn and study.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Average

    Dorm Life

    Do Not Provide Dorms

    In three sentences

    I believe the selected teacher I have had don't care about their students. Although I have had one out of the six truly care about my education. I believe that the teachers here should put a little more effort into getting to know the students better and help their needs.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several officers on campus who are all very nice. Make sure you get your free car sticker the first time you are there, you don't want to get a ticket for being parked in the wrong area. The buildings and parking lots are all well lit and the officers do walk and drive around during the day to make sure things are alright.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, an honors group for two year colleges

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs. To hear about most of them you would have to go to the campus center for the student involvement office.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to take classes, whether pursuing a degree or just having fun.

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college, if you are going for the Associates then this will be a place to get what you need close to home and you can take online and in person classes. They will work with you to get your degree. The teachers really care about working with you if you have a problem and approach them civilly. If you are just leaving high school and want to attend a four year school but don't know what your major is, this would also be good since tuition is incredibly reduced compared to a four year school. You can get the majority of your general education requirements done before transferring and still graduate on time as if you had gone straight to a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    It's on Longview Lake and there is a golf course across the street. There are a few sports teams you can participate in and a theatre. If you drive a few minutes from campus you will be at 291 and there are various stores there.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines in most buildings. The Campus Center has the main dining area and the food is pretty good. Salad bar, chicken and fries, and wraps are offered daily. The staff are nice and will change what goes into each order if you ask.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. There are apartments nearby but most people commute from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class or the teacher, you may feel at times you are in high school but don't let that feeling fool you. As cliche as it is, your teachers do expect a bit more than previous teachers. If you took college credit in high school you will be prepared. If not, just expect to study a little more and do a few more papers and projects than before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes for most of the general education credits are offered at numerous times on all days. If you take all your classes back-to-back you can be in and out with enough time to go to work or meet with friends. If you want to graduate in two years, you will need to take 15-17 credits each semester. The academic advisors don't require you to schedule an appointment to talk with them, but if you want there are also reports online you can use to keep up with the classes you need to graduate.

    In three sentences

    Longview is an accepting campus of all ages, races, religions, and types of students; this can be seen on a daily basis. As a commuter college, if you don't want to do anything other than classes you don't have to, but if you want to be involved there are opportunities waiting. This is a good place to take general education classes or get a first degree.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are usually roaming around campus, I see a car at least once a day. The vibe is really good, I don't feel like I'm going to be mugged. Most areas are well lit at night. There are emergency police buttons all over campus, which is really good.

    Greek Life

    There is Phi Theta Kappa, and that's it. It's community college, after all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a whopping 5 clubs, and I don't know much about any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are laid back and appreciate teachers who are also laid back. People on a budget. People who need night classes, or like me, prefer to work in the day and then go to school at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual location is the Fit Trail. It's a sort of decrepit old area with some pipes and other stuff that's fun, but maybe not safe, to play on.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like the teachers give me a good education. I'm opening my mind to a lot of new concepts, and it's really a great experience. For the money, I'm really glad I didn't go to a university.

    What to do for fun

    The coffee shop is nearby. There's a few clubs on campus, though I'm not in any. The Lee's Summit shopping center is really close, and there's a lot to go see and look around at if you haven't ever been to the area. On campus, there's a sort of outdated, not maintained Fit Trail, which is kind of neat to go look at.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty mediocre. It's really hit or miss. There's an okay coffee shop, a Subway and a McDonald's just across the street, and the Lee's Summit shopping center is not too far, so there's decent food within easy access. On campus, I don't eat the food from the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, the classes aren't too hard. Most of the teachers are laid back, but they expect work, and college quality work at that. Don't slack, just do the work and do it well. Most stuff isn't too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    The studying isn't that bad. It depends on the class. Show up early if you want good parking. Use Ratemyprofessor.com, it can be helpful. College 100 is no fun, take the 8 week version, it goes by much quicker. If you're in high school now, take as many AP or College Credit courses as you can, ESPECIALLY College Algebra and College Stat. Those two are known killers. AP Sciences help too, because they're the most expensive class.

    In three sentences

    Longview was far more cost effective than a university. I'd choose it again in a heartbeat because it makes more sense and is a good place to be. The teachers are good, the campus is well designed and not dated and I really enjoy it.