Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Metropolitan Community College-Maple Woods Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Maple Woods is the college for everyone! especially the ones that would like to save money and get valuable education at the same time!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Maple Woods as your college -which you should- be sure that visit counselors at Maple Woods early. Meeting with the counselors is very important. They will let you know everything to be prepare as a prospective student. Another note is to do your financial aid early and stop by the financial aid office. The financial aid office is quite small at Maple Woods. If you wait to come in on the busy days, you would be waiting for hours to meet with them. Also, make sure you pick your classes early! Classes at Maple Woods filled very quick!

    Bang for the buck

    Maple Woods is definitely the place to go everyone! The school offers classes that would transfer to almost any university with only 1/3 of the price compared to other colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being a student at Maple Woods. Teachers at Maple Woods care about their students. It's a small college; therefore, I can meet with my teacher during their office hours almost any day. Maple woods have a lot of class times to fit my schedule. Besides the teachers and the class times, the campus looks great. It is clean! Maple Woods is also surrounded by good communities. I have been going here for two years and I've never heard about any crime around the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Some people may say that community colleges are not as good as universities; however, I found that at Maple Woods is as good, if not better than universities. I've been taking my general classes at Maple Woods. I learn so much in these classes. The teachers are very well prepared for class and assign the right amount of homework, which makes it easy for me to obtain information.

  • 03/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MCC-Maple Woods is a great school for everyone because of its low tuition rates and ability to transfer credits easily to other Missouri colleges. And by everyone I mean incoming freshmen, individuals returning to school, or anyone in-between.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to apply for your financial aid early. The financial aid office can get extremely busy near financial aid deadlines and it causes a lot of stress. Also, check to see if you can borrow or rent books from the school before purchasing. I was able to almost completely avoid buying books all three semesters I attended at MCC-Maple Woods.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has the benefit of being much cheaper than a four year institution. If you live in-district, you will only pay $82 per credit hour. For a full-time student at the minimum number of credit hours (12) your tuition will be around $984. Check out their website for more details: http://mcckc.edu/main.asp?L=EPTuitionFees

    Am enjoying being here

    I loved my classes at Maple Woods. My teachers were helpful and friendly whether for an online course or class on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes I took at MCC-Maple Woods were informative and well taught.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in a really safe area of Kansas City, near Gladstone, and has safety calling stands set up around campus, so if you ever are in need of help or do feel unsafe, all you have to do is find a blue stand and at the press of a button, security will be there.

    Great for these types of students

    Maple Woods is great for students who like a lot of attention from their instructors, ask lots of questions, or just like to join in on class discussions since the class sizes are usually around 20-40 students.

    Bang for the buck

    Maple Woods CC is really inexpensive, and getting your associates here before transferring to a university saves a ton of money. The A+ Program gives students a free two years of school here, which is awesome!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs at Maple Woods and there are always events for students like movie viewing, job fairs, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has all kinds of foods from pizza and burgers to Italian. It's convenient that the vending machines take debit cards for when you're out of cash! I'd say overall, the food is not fantastic but sufficient for when you need a quick lunch between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is non-existent at Maple Woods!

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of homework given out in most classes-- at least two hours a night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Maple Woods is great for getting your general education out of the way. If you like to ask questions and talk to your teachers one-on-one, then you'll love the environment here.

    In three sentences

    Maple Woods is a good school to get started on an education. The campus is a nice and clean environment, and all close together. The small classes at Maple are comfortable and make it easy to get one-on-one help from the teachers.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Close to zona rosa shopping center, 20 min drive from down town kc

    Food and Dining

    Never tried them

    Dorm Life

    I have never been in their dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They encourage you to push your self as a student

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to help get some recite before transferrin to a four year school

    In three sentences

    Great faculty in the art department. Friendly and encouraging towards urging my eduction a the art institute and helpful in writing letters of recommendation

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus.

    In three sentences

    I'm excited to go here because I don't think I am ready for the 4 year college life. Maple Woods will give me time to transition into the college life. And it doesn't hurt that Maple isn't too expensive.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never really an issue for me. We did have some bad weather in the winter, and they were easy to reach to find out if classes were cancelled.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    A great honor society, Phi Theta Kappa, is on campus. There are many scholarships available to members

    Great for these types of students

    I finances are an issue and you don't want huge student loans, Maplewoods is perfect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parking is tough...get there early for classes.

    Bang for the buck

    All of my tuition was paid for by the A+ program, but the value for the amout you pay can not be found anywere else!

    What to do for fun

    Great baseball and softball teams to watch. I did more social things in the city.

    Food and Dining

    Small facility on campus, but easy to find and meet up with other students.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life available at Maplewoods.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt like I was challenged at Maplewoods. I had to study to make the good grades that I wanted to make

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete the A+ program in the state of Missouri and they will pay for your associates degree. Stay on top of your school work by doing a some work everyday and you will do well at Maplewoods.

    In three sentences

    Maplewoods is a very good value for the money. You can earn an associates degree and classes are less than $100 per hour...at least half of many other colleges. Great school to start if finances are important to you.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. Everyone seems very friendly and there is campus security that scans the parking lots constantly.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students, people who work full time, parents, and those who want to work at their own pace.

    Bang for the buck

    It is all expensive to me because I don't make a lot of money, but community college is the way to go if you're looking to save money. I enjoy the fact that the class sizes are small, so you seem to get a better quality of education with more one on one attention.

    What to do for fun

    They have many campus activities for students to attend. I work full time so I have been unable to attend any of them, but it seems like the students have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had the food, but their coffee is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go into it expecting it to be like high school; it's not. You must be very self-motivated and willing to put in the time and work it takes to get good grades. Engage in classroom discussion; it really helps to retain the information and shows the instructor that you care.

    In three sentences

    I like the convenience of being able to work classes around my schedule. I enjoy the small class sizes and one on one attention. The instructors are very helpful and the campus is nice.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    tuition is cheap.

    What to do for fun

    weekly events for everyone, it varies.

    Food and Dining

    could be better and a bit cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus living that i know of.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like i learn what is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not a place to party. Ask previous or current students about what professors to take. DO NOT GET A LOAN.

    In three sentences

    Its a very open environment. Extremely friendly. Professional.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have emergency phones and box locations where you can pick up the phone and press a blue button and be connected with the local police. We also have at least one if not two campus police on campus everyday. It is a very safe campus. I have never felt threatened while on campus and have never heard of any threat that happened on campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life other than PTK.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I have said before there are many clubs and activities. We have Phi Theta Kappa on your campus as well. For those that don't know PTK is, it is an honors organization that you can earn scholarships through by having good grades and volunteering.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student that is looking for a cheaper way to get an associates degree or training in nursing, mehcanics or any other labor field. They do offer a vet tech program. The class sizes are small so you will get one on one time with your professor and your professor will know you by name. Also professors will stay after class to answer questions you may have or you can see them during office hours. There is no way not to be successful with professors like these.

    Bang for the buck

    They except A plus so I get my tuition paid for and all I have to pay for is books. They also offer scholarships so you do have the option of paying that way or being lucky and getting a full ride.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and organizations, homecoming activites, movie on the lawn, haunted barn every halloween. Every week there is something going on around campus at different times. Wether it is free food, free stuff or a concert you will always find something you want to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Very nice cafe. Serves a wide variety of food and drink. They do serve Starbucks coffee and often have companies bring in food such as Panera Bread.

    Dorm Life

    There are no droms on campus, you must commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Same as you expect at a four year University. Just because it is a community college does not mean they lack in their academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not buy your books from the bookstore and take advantage of the tutors and resources offered to you if you are having trouble in a certain subject.

    In three sentences

    Good selection of classes, and knowledgeable professors. Many ways to get involved on campus and with clubs and organizations. Flexible class times to fit around your schedule.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    100%, there are maple woods campus police on standby 24/7 in case anything should go wrong.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities to be found here!

    Clubs and Activities

    - Phi Theta Kappa - Computer Club - MW Monarchs (our soccer team) - Video Game Club - Engineer Club

    Great for these types of students

    - New to the College Experience - Native to Kansas City - Don't want to pay for dorms - Those seeking a veterinarian's degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Maple Woods is a great place to start your college career before transferring. The amount of help and the quality of the teachers is more than I could ask for for a tuition less than $2,000!

    What to do for fun

    the Student Center! There's games, free stuff, and a friendly environment to hang around with!

    Food and Dining

    Elite Cuisine, the main food service here, is pretty tasty, but the prices are less than satisfactory. Luckily there are many nearby dining places, like pizza street, or taco bell.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, as is the case with most community colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    Be sure to visit the library often, get a lot of studying in, then to cool off head to the student center! There is often a lot of free stuff in the Student Center to take advantage of, like snowcones, or free drinks.

    Tips for prospective students

    - You don't necessarily need ALL the books listed as needed. For example I never needed to open my COLL 100 book once. - Utilize the resources here! It will boost your GPA and connection with maple woods substantially - Have fun!

    In three sentences

    For the low tuition, this school really has some great benefits. The teachers are just as good, if not better than those you would find at state schools. The amount of help, tutoring, and student services offered at Maple Woods is incredible.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus has had one incident this year of an assault, but everything turned out to be okay and no one was hurt. Policemen are always around.

    Greek Life

    I do not know about the Greek life at Maple Woods.

    Clubs and Activities

    the CAB office always has something going on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure that I know of any. Although, I did hear about a monkey (guy in suit) running around chasing another guy (in a banana suit).

    Bang for the buck

    If you have received an A+ Award, Maple Woods, for you, is free for two full years, which is pretty nice in my opinion. (That's what I'm doing and then transferring to a University)

    What to do for fun

    I personally do not hang out at Maple Woods like some people do, but I can be a bit of a loner. I do have a few friends that go there though and the CAB committee has a lot to offer food-wise and game wise throughout the year. They are located in the cafeteria. (the CAB office)

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Maple is pretty good. I would not take someone on a date there, EVER, but it is decent food for a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Maple Woods. It is a community college. However, there are many apartment complexes surrounding Maple.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Maple Woods are there to help you, but mainly to do their job... and that is it. They will not spoon feed you and give you all the answers, you have to work sometimes, that's just how it goes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose classes that will be one after the other during the days you choose to take them and keep a planner in order to keep track of everything you need to do for all of your classes, especially if you are working as well as going to school.

    In three sentences

    Maple Woods is a good college to start out at, especially if you just graduated high school and are planning on transferring to another college. The class times are flexible and most of the teachers are very nice and helpful. It is a comfortable environment and easy to do homework there.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a recreational center.

    Food and Dining

    There are no dorms because it is a 2 year institution.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a 2 year institution.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very accurate with everything. They are very helpful in making sure that you get all the classes that you need for when you transfer to a 4-year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know if you really want to take a class online or in person. I would suggest not doing an online class if it isn't your favorite subject.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for your first two years. It is affordable. The professors are very nice and understanding.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great college for students that want to know what college is like before they go to a university.

    What to do for fun

    Maple Woods has a lot of activities throughout the week especially during the fall when its warm out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cheap and very good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to Maple Woods, use the free tutoring. Also just because it's a community college doesn't mean its easier, you still need to stay focused.

    In three sentences

    I love that they have free tutoring. It is cheaper than going to a university. It is a very nice campus for a community college.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police on campus throughout day and night classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs offered at maple woods.

    What to do for fun

    Malls, Downtown, Movies etc..

    Food and Dining

    Little cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Higher level classes are available at maple to students interested i them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not skip class teachers here will drop after second absence.

    In three sentences

    Teachers really cared about students. Counselors are very help full and very eager to help athletes.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I havent tried the food but I have friends who really enjoy it!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early to get the classes you want because they fill up quick! Also go get your books fast to save money!

    In three sentences

    Maple Woods is a great way to start your college education and I'm enjoying my time here. Most of the staff are understanding and friendly. They offer fun activities throughout the semester as well.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students transitioning to a larger university.

    Bang for the buck

    Most instructors are just as knowledgeable as ones at a larger university would be.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different clubs and organizations to become a part of. They also have quite a few activities for students set up each week.

    Food and Dining

    When I did eat in the cafe the food was acceptable.

    Dorm Life

    This is not really applicable since there are not dorms at Maple Woods.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes I have taken so far have been more than manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your FAFSA and all of your financial aid completed early or they will make it a nightmare for you. Use the labs and tutors they have available!

    In three sentences

    Maple Woods is a great college to start out at because it helps you slowly adjust to the college setting. It is very easy to slack off so make sure that you stay motivated and moving towards your goals. Get all of your basic classes out of the way for cheap!

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I honestly think the money I have put into my education has been well worth it, but there are some schools that are cheaper. I am very happy with the amount I have had to pay out of pocket, but applying for scholarship and grants never hurts.

    What to do for fun

    Pay attention to the signs advertising what will be going on during the week and you will never be bored between classes or if you have an extra moment. We sometimes have celebrity appearances or campus wide basketball tournaments!

    Food and Dining

    The food is like any other school's food, but here there is a wider variety. Vending machines can be found in any building on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, but professors are willing to do all they can to make sure you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and you will do well. Ask for help from any of your professors from the start and they will help you anytime you need it.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are definitely more helpful than those in high school, they will do anything and everything they can to make sure that you succeed in your degree even if the help you need doesn't directly coincide with their particular class. The campus is older, but very well maintained; you would never know how old it is since the technology is up to date. There is never a dull moment on campus, each and every week you can find some type of campus wide activity going on!

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with alot of police.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone to join.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus cares about students success.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of activities and clubs all around campus every week.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is okay. It is nothing great.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. Teachers are understandable and relateable.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college where most professors care and help students.

    In three sentences

    Maple Woods is a great college for begining freshman. It is also a great college for undecided students. They are great at helping you decide a major.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have ramps, cross walks, police officers on campus and help pillars with an assistance and help button. Speed bumps to stop traffic from going to fast and good signage for parking.

    Greek Life

    Pi Theta Cappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Art club, computer club, Improv Club, and The Writer's Society-the list goes on and on. Collegeate Activities Board or CAB plans an engaging activity or event almost every week and usually gives out free stuff or snacks. There are some sports teams and pi theta cappa to join.

    Bang for the buck

    Its about $90 a credit hour which is pretty good. They are rather inexpensive, but still have extras.

    What to do for fun

    There is a walking trail behind the campus and there is lots of open grass aeras for football, ultimate Frisbee, and pretty much any outdoor sport. There are many events and clubs to attend and be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    They dont have a lot to pick from, but the food staff are very helpful and kind. Prices are average.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here. This is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult, but others are an easy A. It depends on the subject and on the professor. Some teachers ought not to teach, while others should be paid more cause they do such a good job.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a community college, so no dorms. We nay not have the emotional link of living with each other on campus, but we sure have a community vibe. We know each other. That shy, first day of class feeling goes away once you realize that every one is in a similar situation. Get to know people; make friends. Having people to hang out with and doing things to de-stress is essential to being sucessful at college. Do your best, study, aim high, and pray alot. Make sure to use the restroom at college! There are weekly schedules posted in the stalls that have all of the events and club meeting times, rooms, and days.

    In three sentences

    Maple Woods is a place of Diversity with all different types of students, teachers, faculty, and staff that provides the environment necessary to acquire a college degree. It has many free groups, clubs, activities, and events to satisfy the social bug who wants to have something more to do at college than just classes.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are ton of police around campus. Not in a bad way but to protect us, They do a fantastic job at keeping us safe. They are also very nice and friendly.

    Greek Life

    I know we have some sororities. I also know that they are fun and high maintenance. But if your really into academics, then we have some for you!!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs on campus. I can only remember a few: Writers society, Environmental club, Gamer's club, etc. the list goes on and on, but the clubs are a lot of fun and help with your school life too!

    Great for these types of students

    Maple woods and MCC schools are great for all types of students. Academically driven students who enjoy working hard. To the average student who enjoys getting a good education and having fun too!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know if there are any odd traditions on campus. I haven't been there that long! Though the events that the hold do get a little crazy.

    Bang for the buck

    They have services that are beneficial to students. like the writing lab-to help improve writing skills. Math lab- to help with the problem we can't solve. and then we have the disabilities office- helps with students who have disabilites.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs to join. And random events held every day. You can also hang out at the student center, meeting with new people.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is cheep and delicious!! It really healthy and the staff is super friendly too! Also they don't mind feeding you if they are about to close.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Maple woods.You can get anywhere by walking. the distances between classes are short as well. .

    Academic Rigor

    You do still have to work hard it is different than high school! The teachers at Maple Woods do help you. But you need to take the time to study too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study, it may be a community college but they will still work you like a regular one. Use the resources they provide. Have fun, make new friends, and just enjoy life.

    In three sentences

    They have a great staff and service. The food their is cheep! Also classes are very cheep!

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    MCC is located all over the Kansas City metro area. This means that you are no more than 30 minutes away from downtown. Once downtown, there are hundreds of things to do. There are also great sights to visit in the neighboring towns around Kansas City.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are cheep and the food is pretty good. The people who work in the dining hall are extremely friendly and helpful.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MCC. All of the students commute from different towns around the Kansas City area.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the professor. A lot of professors want to see you succeed, so they will do whatever they can to make that happen. However, I have had a few professors at MCC that only care about the subject, so they don't try and make the material any easier for students who are struggling. This is another reason why ratemyprofessor.com is a great source to use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to an advisor so you know exactly what classes you need to be taking. Also, once you know the classes you need to take, go to ratemyprofessor.com and search the professors that you will have. It's good to see how other students rated them and it will help you to get an idea on their teaching style.

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan Community College is a great college for students who are needing to stay at home, but need to go to school at the same time. Every teacher on this campus wants the best for each of their students and is willing to put in the extra time and effort in order to have the students succeed. MCC also uses A+, which is a great way to help students pay for their college tuition.