Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Metropolitan Community College-Penn Valley Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read in the library or go to the gym

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria downstairs

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Busy but it can be done

    Tips for prospective students

    Be present in the class and pay attention

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school in the heart of Kansas City that offers good education for students who want transfer to a four year college or for their associates degree. It provides tutors for science, English and math.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than a 4 year school!

    Food and Dining

    Haven't ate there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that i have had, have not been that hard. But i'm sure there are some rigorous courses here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Balance your classes with some easy and some hard. Don't weigh yourself down too much. And do your homework in every area of college, not just the coursework!

    In three sentences

    Just started here so not must to say yet, but so far so good, i guess. Financial aid has been the biggest struggle.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is very visible. if at any time you want a escort to your car they are willing to do that.

    Bang for the buck

    the book store is doing everything possible to keep cost down. they offer a lot of the books on rental. which make your money go further.

    What to do for fun

    kansas city has a lot to offer. power and light district, sporting events, concerts and much more.

    Food and Dining

    there is a subway on site as well as a grill. reasonably priced.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are not to crowed to allow for students to ask questions during class time.

    Tips for prospective students

    look into all available assistance even if you think you do not quailify. always ask questions. talk to your instructors and classmates. form a study group if at all possible.

    In three sentences

    for the money that i am paying i am getting a quality education. the instructors are very knowledgeable on the subjects and are available for any questions that i might have.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Undecided. Random academic knowledge seekers. Someone looking to improve their skills in many different areas. Someone exploring many career possibilities and curiosities.

    Bang for the buck

    Great affordable online classes for me to jump into

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Penn Valley park. Also known as a dog park.

    Food and Dining

    Good resources for snacks.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college so there is no housing.

    Academic Rigor

    My online class is full of new information and the teacher and curriculum are easy to follow. Great organization on my teachers behalf including the extra information she posts for us to study on our own.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great for a starting college with the need to save on tuition. Surrounding colleges accept many transfer students from all Metropolitan Community College schools

    In three sentences

    Good online courses. Centered in a great, busy, affordable city. Constantly seeking to improve and please its students.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join committes or a group of your choice.

    In three sentences

    I would rate MCCKC a 6 out of 10, because the atmosphere is just like a high school instead of a college. They should have better food and a bigger campus to hang out in.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is safe. There is always some one there paroling the premises. They are friendly too.

    Greek Life

    Sad to say we do not have a Greek Life. We have Phi Theta Kappa, and academic organisation for the best of the best.

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

    Great for these types of students

    This college is diverse. I think that is why I am drawn to the school. I never know who I will meet there.

    Bang for the buck

    There are pretty fair. I do not have an issues with the way they run things. It is alright with me.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually something interesting to get involved in. There is something for everyone. The best part of it all was that all those activities are free!

    Food and Dining

    I love food. For us to be a small college, we have to great restaurants, subway, and the firehouse grill. Yum.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there are not any dorms here. It does sometimes feel like you live here. There are so many people who are here from open to close, it can feel like home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some things come easier for others. That is what college is about; getting to know yourself. I have learned my weaknesses.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is really a place where you have to be self-motivated. I had to be ready to make the grade because unlike high school there are not teacher here who follow students around checking behind them. It is very important to know what you want, but not necessarily where you want to be, time will help you with that.

    In three sentences

    While being here at this school you never know what you are going to get yourself into. It is something awesome, and scary, but I am glad to be here. I made the right choice.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Penn valley has a newly revised room where they work and you would see them around the school occasionally. Also, the campus security often drives around to make sure the parking lot is safe and sound.

    Greek Life

    At Penn valley, they have Upsilon Kappa Chapter, and there are few requirements. One must have at least a 3.5 and then keep at least a 3.0 to be in it and finally, a minimum of at least 12 credit hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have project hire, where they have a career search online, etc...to help you find a job. Also, they have different organizations that the campus leadership could explain more about.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students. Those in computer majors. Also, those who are into basketball. The basketball team is pretty well known around here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Penn valley has their known fashion show, where the current fashion students have a show where they get to showcase their designs. Also, the music division has in school performances for family and friends or whoever wants to go.

    Bang for the buck

    Penn Valley's food is really cheap and affordable. Also, all over the school, they have food and vending drink machines.

    What to do for fun

    There is always joining groups, such as the Campus Leadership. Also, if you play sports or just enjoy watching them, they have a basketball and soccer team, as well as, the Dazzler's dance squad.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway and a very big commons are where students can hang out and eat, study, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Penn valley actually does not have Dorms. However, their UMKC does.

    Academic Rigor

    They have very many different majors here. If you are into Nursing, this one is definately the place to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    I definately recommend this school. I have gone for my Associates of Arts, mainly in music, but they are mainly known for their Nursing Program. It's definately a great choice, and just don't forget to study among the fun college life.

    In three sentences

    Penn valley is a very accomadating school. It is very professional, and they help you with any financial need you have, whether it be for help doing your FAFSA or counseling, etc. Also, they have a broad degree list.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They give you campus safety reports for this school and others in the surrounding areas. Suburban school ALWAYS have more crime than this inner city school.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a wide variety of them! lots of focus on social justice, which I love.

    Great for these types of students

    who plan on transferring later

    Bang for the buck

    SO CHEAP

    What to do for fun

    SAGE- the sexual and gender equality group is awesome.

    Food and Dining

    You have Subway or the really terrible grease kitchen that is sponsored by the school. Its terrible.

    Dorm Life

    There are none.

    Academic Rigor

    I mean, it's overall pretty easy, as long as you do the work. They have massive amounts of help for students, which is super awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    DON'T take Deborah Scott for political science. She's a fool. Albert Lowe is the best history professor and the economics classes are totally interesting.

    In three sentences

    The school is diverse (and cheap!) The teachers care. Administrative tasks are impossible.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The teachers I have taken classes with are well worth my money.

    What to do for fun

    MCC-PV is located in the Penn Valley Park. This makes it easy to take walks between classes, and there are beautiful views of downtown KC.

    Food and Dining

    There are only two food options on campus. They are good, but I wish there were more.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MCC-PV.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of different ethnicities represented at MCC-PV. The academic rigor can be very good for anyone who is willing to go for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick your classes early!

    In three sentences

    MCC-PV has a diverse community. It has a caring staff. It also has a great history and biology department.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students working or with families or doing both working with families

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education for about 1/2 of the cost it would cost at a major university

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, play sports, attend events such as fashion shows, talent shows, open mic night, etc....

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes can be made around your work schedule. Have any questions don't hesitate to reach out to the academic advisors/counselors. There are no dumb questions.

    In three sentences

    Penn Valley is a very diverse college. It has many degree & certificate programs available. They also have the resources to assist in way possible such as financial aid, class schedules even testing.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just out of high school students. It's a community college. Gets you prepared for university.

    Food and Dining

    Subway. Eat fresh.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out ratemyprofessor.com

    In three sentences

    Best college to attend out of the MCCKC colleges.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple campus security officers around to help when needed. All cars must be registered with campus security in order to use campus parking spaces.

    Bang for the buck

    Phenomenal compared to state and private colleges.

    Food and Dining

    They have Subway on campus as well as another restaurant type diner. There are plenty of seating areas for the comfort of everyone.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are not difficult if you keep up on your studies. You get out of it what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to the college Fill out your FAFSA online Know or get help finding out what career you are working towards Don't let others discourage you from your dreams

    In three sentences

    MCC-Penn Valley is an excellent college that is geared towards students of all ages and nationalities. Once you decide to apply to college here, the staff will assist you every step of the way to get you on the road to success. There are multiple areas of study to meet everyone's needs.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go home

    Food and Dining

    subway on campus...yumm

    Dorm Life

    Community College...no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the research if you are going to transfer with the college you will transfer too. Don't trust everything Advising says.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers that really care and really help. Unfortunately financial aid and advising department are not at all helpful.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus always has patrolling officers, emergency phones, and the safety office is located in a very convenient location on any students walk to class. I have never felt unsafe at Penn Valley.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities happening on campus every week, for every different kind of student. The campus is great on bringing in people to educate students on money matters and things in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    At only $92 per credit hour, MCC-Penn Valley is a magnificent steal for those looking to not pay too much for their college education. Sometimes, a smaller price means a lesser education, but this is not the case at Penn Valley.

    Food and Dining

    The MCC-Penn Valley campus has a Subway on campus as well as a place that serves burgers, fries, and food of that sort. Both dining options are located in the same area and there is plenty of seating to sit and enjoy your meal. The dining options are also located near the area where most events on campus take place, making it easy for you to keep up with what is happening on campus between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on any of the MCC campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged in every class I have attended at MCC-Penn Valley. The professors care about helping you achieve your academic goals, and make sure that you are going to be a step ahead in whatever subject you are studying. They are going to teach you all that you need to know about a subject, plus some extra, and help you in understanding it all in a manner that each individual is accustomed to.

    In three sentences

    MCC-Penn Valley is a great community college for those looking to have access to a degree, while still needing to maintain a life outside of school because of work, a family, etc. The class sizes I have been in are never too big, and the professors are kind and considerate of all that you have going on in your life. The professors and advisers push you to do your best, and help you achieve your goals.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Join project success they will help you a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than a 4 year University

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe with great food and a Subway with great subs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teacher they are very understanding.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great beginner school so that you can found where you want to go. The teacher are encouraging.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable and reasonable.(CHEAP)

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of places to go and there are clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Right down the road, Main st and Broadway st are filled with fast food places and restaurants. McDonalds, Wendy's, Gates BBQ, Burger King, Taco Bell, etc.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms since it's community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know yet. I'm a full time student so I'm a little scared but I'm going to try my hardest. But from other reviews I think I'll be okay if i apply myself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pace yourself. Be prepared. Try to at least start work the same day after the class. Procrastinating will kill your grade. And go to class. Just show up.

    In three sentences

    I start next week but so far the people have been friendly and helpful. Financial aid may be a problem but everything is very reasonable. Shouldn't be too hard.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is a must in any school. Although the campus is located in the inner city the campus is well protected.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students that are not into big classes or big universities. It's a small scale school so students that need a little more attention then others would do better in this type of school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual tradition on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a community college is better cost efficient as opposed to going to a traditional school which is always a plus. And for the money being spent I say its a good bang for your Buck.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Penn me and some of my friends we like to hang out in the common area where we can play games, do home work, chill or what ever comes to mind that day. We also go to the gym and workout or play ball.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is pretty good. When I came i honestly did not think that the food would taste as well as it did, but I was absolutely wrong

    Dorm Life

    Penn Valley is a community college it does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Penn Valley is what you make it. If you study and prioritize your time you should not have a hard academic year. Although if you slack off and do not study you will find yourself failing college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that wish to join MCC-Penn Valley in the upcoming years I would advise you to study, manage your time very well, turn in all assignments, and study. (Studying is a major part of college where ever you go)

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan Community College is one of the best decisions I have made so far. It has given me a chance to get my general eds., out of the way so that I can get into a traditional college. Penn Valley is a great decision I think.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is nothing out of the ordinary happening that would not happen at another campus or public place. Campus Security has been trained by the KCPD and have the ability to make arrest on campus and patrol pretty regularly. They also send out campus alerts if something happens or if anything suspicious is going on.

    Greek Life

    No greek life at MCC as far as Soros or Frats, but There is a Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society. Who can go wrong with that? Can you say scholarships?!

    Clubs and Activities

    Spoke about this earlier. It is really good to network and join the clubs and orgs and participate in campus activities. The people you meet really become a great support system for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional First-time students (those graduating high school or never been to college) Returning students Professionals wanting to enhance or learn new skills

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, everyone's favorite hang out is ground level (Zero) where the food is, of course. Campus Life and Leadership holds various events throughout the year. They are also located on ground level.

    Bang for the buck

    If your focus is on getting all you can get out of your education, there are many opportunities for you to do just that. You can build a support system that makes you proud to be a student and future alumni of MCC-Penn Valley.

    What to do for fun

    Hello! Clubs and Organizations! You make so many connections through participating in Campus Life and Leadership events, and joining various organizations around campus. Definitely do this! Also join the Trio Program which is a great program that supports you from first time enrollment until you walk the stage. You have to meet at least one of these requirements: -Be a first generation college student -Have a documented disability -Low-Income

    Food and Dining

    We currently have Subway and Fire-Grill.

    Dorm Life

    This campus does not have dorms. There are apartments close to the school on all sides, making it very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    With anything you work for, what you put in is what you get out. My instructors and advisors supported and challenged me. It is a good balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get in early to take care of financial aid, counseling and advising needs. The later you wait the longer the lines get. Come with an open mind. The campus is very diverse which adds to the learning experience. You can do it! No matter what happens, talk it out with your advisor, and come up with a plan to keep you in the game.

    In three sentences

    Great for non-traditional students re-entering the college or attending college for the first time. Faculty and Staff members that care. Accessible to bus lines.