Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Metropolitan State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    -st. paul campus is a bit on the unsafe side. nothing to be overly cautious about, but awareness never hurt. however, the area is constantly patrolled by local authorities.

    Great for these types of students

    -frugal -busy lifestyle

    What to do for fun

    the twin cities have a collection of places to eat, view art, and listen to local music. the nightlife might not be akin to, say, new york or california, but our music scene is actually quite good if you're into such activities.

    Food and Dining

    there are many places to dine at with a vast array of choices! whether that be fast food, fine delicacies, or exotic, the twin cities have it all.

    Dorm Life

    so far, i have not come across any living circumstances; there isn't much opportunity here except for apartments. even here, you're still at a disadvantage as there are multiple campuses spread across the twin cities.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes can be less intensive, however there are quite a few classes where a grade isn't given to you. sometimes, you have to earn that 'b'. i believe this is a great motivator to conquer classes and show others just how to be an 'a'.

    Tips for prospective students

    metropolitan state university is a great university to get generals completed and its a perfect gateway to graduate schools.

    In three sentences

    metropolitan state university in minnesota is a great opportunity college for potential or currently enrolled students. what i mean by opportunity is simple: it's an opportunity for everyone, not just the financially adept. although economical, metropolitan state university does not sacrifice educational mastery for the dollar as the faculty comes from a collection of experience and education.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the location it is very safe however if anything happens near or on campus you are alerted but you really need to make safe choices like parking in the school lots

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    PSYC club

    Great for these types of students

    Older students 25+

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school president is very involved in the success of her students

    Bang for the buck

    This school is cheaper than the U of M

    What to do for fun

    You can attend groups, seminars and join labs.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive but other places are available to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm all off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are hard graders although some will tell you what they expect and allow you to grow in the classroom

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to do your best when attending and to ask as many questions as possible from the teachers if you don't understand something. Use resources that are available the writing center, and tutoring programs.

    In three sentences

    All of the I counters I have had with staff and students have been very pleasant. I love the atmosphere and it really caters to the busy and older student.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Midway campus is pretty safe, however, the main campus and the downtown campus experience theft and assault from time to time. I suggest you walk with someone at night when leaving class or get a security guard to walk with you.

    What to do for fun

    I honestly do not have time for fun when I'm attending college and working, so this subject is nonapplicable for me.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much to speak of. I was surprised to see that the dining hall for the main St. Paul campus is very small, and there are not very many vending machines. The Midway campus offers more for vending, but you'll have to drive somewhere to get anything off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus in my own home, so this subject is nonapplicable.

    Academic Rigor

    This is the third college I've attended, but it is the first university, and the amount of work expected far outweighs anything I encountered at my two previous colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prioritize your schedule and study, study, study. Also, if you find yourself having trouble, get help from your instructor or a tutor or fellow student as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    You get out of it the effort you yourself put into it. I've only taken 5 classes so far and I've had 3 less than desirable instructors (all general courses - two were math instructors). They have been absent-minded and unorganized.

  • 09/29/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a great four year college that offers hard work, improvement, and a great career starter then this is the right college for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend this college I advise you to be prepared for the intellectuality, and know what you're getting yourself into.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is definately cheaper than most of the other state colleges and universities that I have researched. You get more which is excellent education, & you get a great quality and quanity of learning while having a great time for low.

    Will enjoy being here

    I would love to attend this college, I really think I would enjoy being here because of the simple fact of the diversity and size of the campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I think that I would learn a lot from this school because I've been doing major research and this school has great priorities, and provide excellent education to students.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I volunteer for big brother big sister of the Twin Cities. I love to read, walk around the lake, listen to music, go to museums, go to the movies, hang out with family, and shop!

    Food and Dining

    This school does offer a cafeteria, however, since I commute to school I usually eat or bring my own food. Therefore, I have never eaten in the cafeteria. My fellow classmates have said the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, this school does have dorms. This school is great for students who want to comment to school. It also helps to tend college without having to pay extra money to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has great professor's that are educated and experience in their field of study. The class sizes are small which allows you to be comfortable with your peers and have one on one time with the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Picking a small college like Metro State allows you to stay focused on your studies. Therefore, you are not distracted by sports, fraternities/sororities, parties, dorm life, etc. It is also one of the most affordable schools in Minnesota and still allows you to graduate with a good education.

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan State University is a great school. It is small, therefore, allows you to focus on what you need to do (study and attend class). This is a great school for someone just looking to graduate and move on into the real world.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe while on campus, but there are occassional car break-ins.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many different ones and if there isn't one you like, then create one!

    Great for these types of students

    A wide variety! Offer on campuse classes for those that need a little more structure and many online or independent classes for those that need less structure. Lots of different cultures and backgrounds on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    The education you get here is worth it in comparison to other places! Overall, all tuition is too expensive everywhere!

    What to do for fun

    So many different groups and organizations! Also different exercise events and traveling events!

    Food and Dining

    Have only ate here a couple times, usually bring my own food, but what I have ate was good!

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics! Can be tough, but teaching is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus! Get in, get your work done, be on time, and make sure you like your advisor! Advisors are there to help! If yours is not helpful, ask for a different one!

    In three sentences

    Very easily to get around and understand processes for applying, registering for classes, etc. One of the advisors, however, is very rude and not the greatest help.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good, but being that the two main campuses are in downtown locations, you're always going to have to be mindful of where you are and who's around. Especially when taking evening classes or walking alone.

    Greek Life

    I don't think this is an option.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not involved in any, but I've seen a lot of options on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Metro State is a wonderful option for adult students that are going back to school while working full time. They really understand the workload that you are taking on and try to be mindful of that.

    Bang for the buck

    Metro State is an EXCELLENT education for the price. I have not seen many places that come in cheaper, but the professors are great and I've even had professors tell me that they teach the same text as much more expensive schools. They do go out and check to see that they are staying competitive with other schools to ensure that we're getting a good education.

    What to do for fun

    There's lots of stuff nearby as the two main campuses are near downtown Minneapolis and Saint Paul. So, there is plenty to do in either downtown area.

    Food and Dining

    There are options nearby, but not a lot of options within the campus buildings.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think that there is a dorm life at Metro State. I'm a full time worker who owns their own house, so I'm not real sure on this aspect of the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, but I work full time and go to school full time, so finding time to get homework done is not easy. If you can apply yourself and focus, you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what you want to do before you start. If you don't have a clue, focus on generals rather than wasting a bunch of money on classes that you may not need for your major. Also, don't take out loan money that you don't need. You will have to pay it back and it sucks.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Metro State. The professors are very experienced and helpful. The work load is tough, but doable if you put your mind to it.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is normal, but do be aware that once you passed East 6th St you're entering a danger zone.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of vending machines within of Metropolitan State University. Some places may have more convenient stores or fast food restaurant than others. There is a cafe located in the Saint Paul campus on a lower level in the New Main.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for Metropolitan State University. There are only four campuses located Saint Paul, Midway, Minneapolis and Brooklyn Park. Prepare and plan ahead where you'll be staying whether with parents or not for your classes and schedules whether.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty intense depending on the professors. Classes may require group work and community involvement which will cause difficultly for some. Some class are held once a week others may be two or three days, so make sure to catch if you're sure to miss a class.

    In three sentences

    Metropolitan is a very quiet school. It is kept clean on the inside and outside.

  • 09/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the working student. or adult. You can choose classes to fit your schedule and some online courses too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check to see where your degree may be located before applying.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a part of the MnSCU branch, its resistively cheap for a 4-year university.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great teachers and a interesting classes are a good combination for motivation.

    Am learning a lot

    With professors that work in the field you get a different experience and first had insight to what your career actually is like.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are working full-time or just don't want to spend a lot of money to get a quality education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know how you learn best so that you know what types of classes you should sign up for.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely one of the cheapest options for getting a degree while paying for it all on my own.

    Am enjoying being here

    As all of my classes were online and I had mixed results I can't say I am really liking it. However I also do not dislike it.

    Am learning a lot

    I took all my classes online last semester. Each instructor set up their class differently and some were definitely harder to learn from than others.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    expensive food, go off campus (all of them) to eat.

    Dorm Life

    don't have any dorms. i have my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teachers/instructors, you may get really good ones or really bad ones. ask around or check the website ratemyprofessor.com

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go into Accounting at this school, the advisors are no help what so ever. I'm currently a student, thought i was graduating this summer, turns out my advisor didn't tell me about my 3 extra (requeired) classes UNTIL the DAY OF SUMMER session, (after months of communication with her). The accounting program is so backwards i don't even know why i am finifhing my degree here (maybe because it's the cheapest place to get my degree).

    In three sentences

    The Accounting program sucks here!!!!! don't know about the other programs in the schools.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 30 clubs to joing and leadership skills to develope

    Great for these types of students

    Parents

    Bang for the buck

    its affodable but rising.

    What to do for fun

    Join a student organization. Attend student org events

    Food and Dining

    Really bad. not enough options

    Dorm Life

    Doesnt exist

    Academic Rigor

    This is a non-traditional school. Professors are there to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If they dont have what you want go somewhere that does.

    In three sentences

    The school every every resource for a parent to continue there degree. But they do need to have more educational side of things rather than business. I have been going here for 4 years and have seen so many changes.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Full time workers

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    To be ready for a fast pace classes because most classes are only once a week and at night and classes are all over the city.

    In three sentences

    Is a very flexible school made for the working adult. Teachers understand that you have a full time job and work you the best they can. The tuition is very inexpensive.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have a lot of student organizations, events, workshops. travel abroad, internships and so much more.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, it's a commuter campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek on-campus resources as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    I like metropolitan state university's flixble class schedule. It's allso located in cities. The classes are great for my work schedule. I can work and go to classes at the same time.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many things in the cities to do

    Food and Dining

    Big dining room

    Academic Rigor

    Hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what college campus you would be attending first. There are about 4 so you might not go to the main campus.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult students, non-traditional students, those needing online/hybrid courses, and those working full time.

    Bang for the buck

    Much less expensive than private schools.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria at the St. Paul campus that has ok fare and vending machines, but the offerings are even better at the Energy Park campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I've seen some students skate through with mediocre grammar and writing skills, but it's harder to do that once you get to the upper-level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Undecided or individualized studies students should not miss the Perspectives course, and take it seriously when it talks about the drive to get a job not being the only or even most important factor in why you're getting an education or degree.

    In three sentences

    Great for adult students working full time. Convenient campus locations and evening classes. Easy to transfer throughout the MNSCU system.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who work full-time or have a family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of quiet study areas. The IT department is very helpful!!

    Bang for the buck

    The standards are set high in attendance, participation and deadlines. Most teachers don't accept late homework and some deduct points for being late or leaving early.

    What to do for fun

    Meet up for coffee or pizza with my study groups before class.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes pursue excellence through learning experiences and team work.

    Tips for prospective students

    When planning out classes always check the location of each class. I didn't the first semester and I was traveling to 2 locations twice a week.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending classes at Metro State. The teachers have always treated everyone with respect. I also appreciate the options of taking a class online.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety has many aspects and keeping track of your surroundings is the most important. Otherwise they are average when it comes to security.

    Greek Life

    They just have clubs and groups. Since there is no housing the Greek life is nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college has a lot of different groups you can join. They also have a great volunteer program.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is perfect for the working student. It is also generous to transfer students since they gave me all of my credits. The atmosphere seems more focused and no nonsense kind of vibe. Yet it is still fun and easy going.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one thing I did find interesting is the fireplace in the library. I love the irony in that.

    Bang for the buck

    I was recommended to this college by another college advisor. This is a great choice for someone looking to get the hands on technical side of a degree. Plus it is easy going and quick to correct any issues you have.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few options to get involved with the community. They have many volunteer programs and different types of groups that you can sign up for. Since you are in the city there are the usual bowling and billiards around outside of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Since the campus is located in the city there are many options available. It's easy to find something to your liking.

    Dorm Life

    None. This university doesn't have housing on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the professor and the level of class you are taking. For the most part it is like any other college but the best part is the free tutoring and additional help from the professors. Then again I am an over achiever ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    Be respectful and on top of things when it comes to your professors. They are usually more forgiving if you give them fair warning about not making a dead line or if you need an extension. The syllabus is one of the most important things the professor gives you. Keep it close!

    In three sentences

    I find it to be a great school! The atmosphere is welcoming and the professors for the most part are flexible. It is friendly for ones like me that are working a full time job and going back to school!

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can join the drama club

    Tips for prospective students

    the school doesn't isn't a live on campus kind of school There are two locations, the saint Paul location and the Midway location

    In three sentences

    I would rate this school on 1 to 10 an 8! This school is great and has a nice atmosphere The school has wonderful teachers

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's no tradition i know of.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the library for fun but other than that there's not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy college and don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    I'm enjoying my college years here because it's convenient when it comes to getting to know your professor due to classroom size. But when it comes to meeting with a counselor, I find the help hard to find. Other than that it's pretty awesome.

  • 05/26/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No idea what kind of food and drinks they have.

    Dorm Life

    Will not be in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure if it is hard or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student.

    In three sentences

    I hope its good.I am excited to be apart of this college. It should be a fun experience.