Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Miami University-Middletown Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security everywhere and also emergency texting if your class is cancelled or due to snow, very organized!

    Bang for the buck

    Miami is a very prestigious school, at Mum you will get the best education there is at a regional price that you can't get anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Many activities to get involved in!

    Food and Dining

    There is Hawk Haven which is great and multiple restaurants close.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, most students are local and live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is dependent on what classes you take, however if you are an ambitious student you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Think about how much you want to go in debt, Mum is low cost. -Register for classes early -Buy books early

    In three sentences

    Miami Middletown is very awarding and prestigious to the student who will take advantage of it in a positive way. Miami Middletown is a great place for many opportunities and extra curricular activities. If you're an organized, smart person, you will love Mum.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are busy with jobs or children, they have a daycare center, and classes at all times of the day. Including weekend and online classes. It is a smaller campus therefore, the classes are smaller which works to your benefit.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a near by college that is inexpensive, Miami will be a great match. Especially if you are planning to later transfer to the Oxford campus. You can save money this way, and still live at home if you need to.

    Bang for the buck

    It all depends on if I can get help from some scholarships. Though Miami is a relatively inexpensive school, I could use all the help I could get.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being at the Middletown campus because it is so close to home, and i have a lot of friends and my boyfriend who goes there so I am very familiar with the campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I think furthering my education past a high school level means that I will have to learn a lot.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Miami is a good school for students who want to take a few basic classes a transfer to the Oxford campus or another larger university. There are a lot of non-traditional students that attend the Miami Middletown campus which makes each class diverse and you meet a lot of unique students. Miami Middletown is now offering several Bachelor's degree programs and two-year degrees as well. This campus really does have something for everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in campus activities! Miami Middletown has a lot of clubs and organizations to join. There is always something going on. Meet with advisers to schedule classes and make sure you are fulfilling your Miami plan requirements. Come to class and be prepared so that you will be successful. Many students think it is ok to only show up for exam day, but your grade can really suffer. Once your GPA is hurt, it takes a long time to build it back up.

    Bang for the buck

    You will not find a better price for a college with a reputation like Miami has. I am a nursing student going for my Bachelor's of Science. My tuition is around $7,000 for two semesters compared to $20,000 at other colleges who offer the same degree. It is a smart choice for students who want to complete prerequisites and transfer to a 4-year college later on.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is surrounded by trees which makes it very peaceful and secluded. There are always student activities going on in Johnston Hall such as crafts,games, cook outs, and many other fun activities, most of which are free. All of the buildings are within walking distance from one another which makes it very convenient if you have classes in several buildings.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken a variety of classes at the Miami Middletown campus. Most of which are challenging in a good way and encourage critical thinking skills. I have not had a professor that I didn't like yet and I have been here for two years. I feel like I have developed better test taking skills, and learned how to better study and prepare for exams. There are a lot of resources available to students such as peer tutoring, counseling, and workshops for test taking strategies. The faculty and staff are there to help you succeed in every way possible!

  • 09/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditional students, non traditional students, parents with kids, and anyone else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and be on a first name basis with your guidance counselors. No one can help you unless you ask, so don't be afraid to seek help if you need it. Don't procrastinate, it'll get you every single time.

    Bang for the buck

    It has all the educational options of a bigger school, access to the main campus and a choice of several different locations all for the price of one satellite campus.

    Did enjoy being here

    I did enjoy Miami. They had interesting classes and student activities. They had massages, different cultures, games, movies, and speakers. Also, because many of the students are non traditional students, any student benefits from the experiences of others. One kid came from an African country and his father had three wives and he discussed how that worked vs. American ideas of how that worked. Some of the students were grandparents and they always had an interesting perspective.

    Did learn a lot

    They have a wide variety of classes in many different subjects. The instructors are very knowledgeable about their subjects. Two of my favorite professors were Richelle Fabrotta and Starla Evilsizor. Richelle taught human sexuality and she really knew her stuff. She came from working with Planned Parenthood and taught us forms of birth control that I'd never even heard of. She worked hard to answer students' questions on the subject and if she didn't know the answer she'd find someone who did. Starla teaches a Women in Antiquity class that I just loved. She really tied in the stories with modern themes and ideas and made it relevant. She gave interesting and informative assignments and worked with the students to make sure everyone got what they needed out of the course.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Miami is a very well lit school at all hours of the night. There are plenty of call boxes and the police station is only blocks away. Security is constantly on the move as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Miami offers an exceptional education at a fraction of the cost of most your big name schools.

    What to do for fun

    No real parties in Middletown. Oxford is definitely a blast on the weekends though.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing to really rave about, but it's a small town. There is a Cracker Barrel in Middletown though. And Lee's Famous Recipe has the best chicken tenders and wedges around. You can never go wrong with Jimmy John's at the main campus in Oxford.

    Dorm Life

    I can not rate dorm life as I have never stayed in a dorm. I am a full-time student, full-time parent, have a full-time job, and serve my country in the Army National Guard. I could rate dorm life under these circumstances because I all would do at the dorm is sleep. 5 stars because it has a bed.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't come to Miami University and think for one second that it is going to be easy. It's college and not the type were you go online and cheat your way to an degree. Miami is hard but only as hard as you make it. Just like anything in life, you will get out of it what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending the main Miami University campus in Oxford, take your foundation courses at a regional campus. Smaller class sizes and less distance from class to class. There is a bus that travels to and from the regional campuses which will give you time to study as well. Last time I checked it was around four dollars for a round trip. Can't beat it.

    In three sentences

    It provides a good start for people with a low GPA out of high school who may not get accepted into a large college. This regional campus gives people the opportunity to prove to the college that, regardless of their high school GPA, they have what it takes to go to college. It is a great college to knock out all of your foundation courses without having to deal with the large campus atmosphere.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has officers to watch and make sure everything is okay.

    Greek Life

    I'm not one hundred percent on that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of club and activities on campus. Student government, F.A.C.E.S, Miami radio station, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    We have a lot of things that are great for every type for student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes we have spirit week, which is a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get a bang for your buck, life is what you make it, and so is school!

    What to do for fun

    We have a TV section, for to chill and relax around. Eat some food at our cafeteria. Play basketball in the rec room or work out.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but sometimes expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have a dorm. There aren't any located on this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be hungry! Stay focused! Think big!

    In three sentences

    It is probably one guy for every four girls. The classes are small 15-40 people in each, just depends on what it is. The faculty takes an interest in you as much as you do.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any issues with the safety with regional campus it is so small and there is always people around and security guards if you need.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer lots of clubs and activities and ones that relate to your major as well.

    Great for these types of students

    If you prefer to live at home and not have to deal with parties and the typical college experience then regional campus is where to go.

    Food and Dining

    Regional campus doesn't offer a lot of options on the campus but there are lots of places close by and the food is cheaper of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Regional campuses don't offer dorm life unless you commute from main to regional.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are awesome I have only had like two that I didn't like and most know that you have other classes and try to understand but you also learn a lot at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy textbooks from the bookstore unless you have to, much cheaper somewhere else. Always meet with an adviser every semester to make sure you are on track with your degree.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always there when you need someone to walk you to your car after dark. They also help with broken down cars.

    Bang for the buck

    MUM is very inexpensive. You get more than what you're paying for.

    What to do for fun

    Hawk-Haven has a ping pong table that is never empty. There are often tournaments between many of the students. If you don't play, it's fun to watch!

    Food and Dining

    The little cafe and coffee stand was exactly where you could find me between classes. The food is cooked right in front of you. They also had excellent meal deals.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuting student.

    Academic Rigor

    Scheduling at MUM is the easiest process! The new DARS interactive report makes knowing what classes you need very simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you find a professor you connect with, ask them for their opinions on classes and campus related activities. Often, they can be more informative than the academic advisers.

    In three sentences

    MUM fits my lifestyle because I have more options with multiple campuses available to me. MUM has offered every class I have needed. The professors are more understanding of commuting students.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can join clubs, groups, organizations, or even get a job. There's a lot to do in the campus so I think nobody gets bored.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. A little expensive but great cookers in the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very straight up forward and helpful in anyway.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for new students is if you get lost ask a student or most importantly the Information Desk. And also don't hesitate to ask the Professor questions if you don't understand a subject. The professors are very helpful at this campus.

    In three sentences

    Miami University-Middletown is a clean, tranquil environment. The professors and students are all very nice and helpful. I haven't met anyone who hasn't helped me with a problem. Miami University-Middletown is also very easy to follow, you don't get lost at all.