Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Miami University Regional Campuses Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I've met so many types of people at Miami University Hamilton, I think it would be great for anyone. It is especially good for people returning to college, because many of the people here are adults looking into new careers or furthering their knowledge in their current career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Miami Hamilton is a great place to start of your college education. Miami University is ranked 15th in the nation for top colleges so their credits transfer easily. The Hamilton location has many of the same professors as the Oxford location and is nearly a third of the cost. It is a great money saver to start off at the Hamilton branch and you can always relocate to the main campus in Oxford later in you career as a student.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Returning from a period of being off -Commuters -Working student -Active students -Students not wanting to live in a dorm

    Bang for the buck

    The Hamilton and Middletown campuses of Miami offer great tuition rates at only a fraction of what Oxford is and you can get many of your core classes out of the way before moving on.

    Am enjoying being here

    The attitude of Hamilton's campus is very relaxing, people are so friendly and there is always something going on whether it is a free concert or a poetry reading, there is always something to do in between classes. The food in the Harriers Nest is quite good and Heaven Scent the coffee shop is delicious, they always have something new to try.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are awesome on this campus they really know their subjects and are very helpful. Also, there is a large student base on this campus full of tutors and the friendliest people who will certainly help you if you have a problem. Not only do you learn in your courses you also learn by the different speakers and events that are held on campus.

  • 10/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are not quite ready to leave home or have issues as I do, mine is Asperger's Syndrome, then this is the college for you. Great college life, while staying at home. Between classes you can hang out in a few different study areas, go over trouble spots with professors, see an advisor easily, get a tutor quickly, or just chill till your next class, without going home in between. This really is the place for YOU!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get in on the Harrison Scholarship. It is for the brightest students and well worth the effort. If your grades aren't quite up to that, there are still plenty of scholarships to go around, so don't hesitate to apply. They are handed out in the spring after the FAFSA is evaluated and transcripts of your senior year are sent. They also have super Honors Program.

    Bang for the buck

    If your high school transcript is good, Miami scholarships abound. I received two in my freshman year which was enough to pay for classes and books. My sophomore year, where I am now, has also been paid for by one scholarship from Miami. It will continue as long as I continue to do my part and keep my grades up. It doesn't get any better than that!! After checking out many colleges, Miami Hamilton was the most reasonably priced. Same great teachers, same degree as in Oxford, but 1/3 the cost!

    Am enjoying being here

    Student activities are going on all the time. You can enjoy free ice cream and hot dogs on occasion as well as getting involved in collections for local charities. In the fall there are coat drives, and drives for food, old cell phones, and anything you have outgrown, are going on continually. There are very many clubs in which to belong and be active. Study groups are everywhere and tutors are available when you need them. It is an overall great place to learn.

    Am learning a lot

    Each professor I have had does everything in his/her power to help the students achieve a superior grade and knowledge in the class. They all are willing to take personal phone calls, e-mails, office visits to discuss any problem or question. As a result, I am doing very well in all my classes because I utilize the professor's knowledge almost daily.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Great student government club, members seem really interested in what students say.

    Great for these types of students

    Single parent's and non traditional students

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities in the student commons going on, from condom campaigning to local musicians

    Dorm Life

    Do not lie on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with school activites.

    In three sentences

    Miami University Hamilton is a well diverse school. With plenty of opportunities, there is a variety of students on this campus. The professors are very involved with students and care about there outcome in college.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Small local restaurants around the Hamilton area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as you can.

    In three sentences

    Its a nice quiet campus. Everyone knows everyone. It has plenty of parking.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who can't afford a high priced college. Those that need a little extra help getting acquainted with the college work load.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, but if you go everyday it will cost a good deal of money. So I recommend packing some.

    Dorm Life

    This is not a dorm college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships even if you don't think you qualify. Also get involved.

    In three sentences

    Great school at a great price. The teachers are very helpful and there is always something to do. I give it 4 stars

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Miami University-Hamilton there is always an officer from campus security walking the grounds.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are loads of activities to do each and every week. There are also countless clubs to join! There is no way for anyone at Miami University-Hamilton to not be apart of nothing!

    Great for these types of students

    If you love to interact with a whole bunch of people that you just met, this is definitely the college for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Miami University-Hamilton provides an affordable way for you to earn degree in the major you desire.

    What to do for fun

    Miami University-Hamilton provides all kinds of activities that take place daily, and everyone on campus is welcome! Miami strives to have its students interact and get to know one another. With the many activities they have, it's hard to not know everyone!

    Food and Dining

    Miami University-Hamilton provides all kinds of food options. Not only do they have burgers and fries, but they also have healthy food like salads, fruit, etc. It provides you with great nutrition throughout the day!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dormitories on the campus of Miami University-Hamilton.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff at Miami University-Hamilton knows how to push you to try your personal best. The professors are willing and able to help out with whatever you need. They challenge you every day with new ways of thinking and learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Miami University-Hamilton is a very safe and fun environment to pursue your major in. The students and staff provide a very good learning environment for everyone. College isn't as scary as you think!

    In three sentences

    Miami University-Hamilton is a great environment for students just starting out with college. The staff is ready and willing to help out whenever you need it. Miami University-Hamilton also provides tons of ways for the student body to get together and get to know one another with clubs and fun activities.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security walking around campus and never any crimes on the campus. I feel very safe after a late class walking back to my car.

    Greek Life

    There's no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs that you can join. Student Life always has something planned for each week that a fun and usually free. Each semester there is a fair that each club sets up a booth and gives away free stuff.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining area. They have sandwiches, hamburgers, hotdogs, salads, etc. The food is pretty good. There is also a coffee shop that has everything you could want. All of the buildings have vending machines also. All of the food is cheap and quick.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MUH.

    Academic Rigor

    Miami University Hamilton is held to the same standards as Miami University. You get the same education here as you would at main campus.

    In three sentences

    Miami University Hamilton is very easy to get around and all of the buildings are very close to each other. I enjoy going to MUH because it is smaller but if you still want to get the bigger college feel you can take classes up at Miami University Oxford too. MUH has nice facilities that are only getting better with upgrades happening every year.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though Hamilton has a bad rap, I have never felt in danger. There is constant security driving between all the buildings. It is very well lit, and always students around. I have left my car there over night with valuable items inside, and it wasn't touched.

    Greek Life

    You are able to join the Greek Life at the main campus in Oxford, but it is difficult to get connected up there unless you take a few classes at Oxford, live up there, or know people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and availability for leadership.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students who are parents, older than college age, and who have to focus on making a living while going to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students love to hang out in Schwarm to socialize and hang out in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely love Miami Hamilton, even though I am a college aged student. I have taken full advantage of the small classes, club leadership opportunities, and campus jobs.

    What to do for fun

    You get the most college experience nightlife by driving 30 minutes away to the main campus in Oxford.Although there is a Pool Hall nearby along with a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    Miami Hamilton has a small food cafeteria you can purchase school lunch type food at. Although, I pack my lunch to avoid constant chicken sandwiches and fries.

    Dorm Life

    You cannot live on campus at Miami Hamilton. But I live very near the main campus, giving me the college experience, without being in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is not too difficult, but you are challenged where you want to for your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the opportunities available at Hamilton, and don't hesitate to talk and meet with people who are different than you.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere of the Hamilton regional campus. It is diverse with all ages, ethnicity, and socio-economic statuses creating a rich environment that you are driven to make a difference in your lifetime. The professors all understand that your Hamilton students are traditional, and often work, have kids, and may be struggling to get by along with going to school full time.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There isn't much in the way of campus security. They have officers who drive around the place in gold carts. It is a pretty safe, small campus where not much really happens.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of clubs and activities. They have several fairs throughout the year to promote clubs. They make it very easy to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional, planning on transferring, have no idea what you want to do, don't want to go to college but your parents are making you, students who want to save money, people who are already thinking of graduate school

    What to do for fun

    They have several student organized events each week. I'd sign up for the events list at the beginning of the year to get monthly event listings. Also, they advertise in the commons area really well the different events going on. It's a small school so you'll hear about the events quickly.

    Food and Dining

    Over priced, unhealthy, with very little variety. They have a very small cafe and an even smaller coffee shop. The coffee shop is awesome though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Just don't take the philosophy class at Miami Hamilton. Take that class up in Oxford if it's a requirement to graduate. I highly recommend Gina Patterson and Jonathan Rylander for english teachers if they are still there. I highly recommend looking up the teachers on ratemyprofessor first because it's usually hit or miss.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan for when you graduate. You'll most likely have to transfer to Oxford if you plan on completing your degree at this school. You can still be registered for Miami Hamilton and pay Hamilton prices, you'll just have to commute to Oxford which is a pain.

    In three sentences

    If you have no idea what you want to do or if you plan on attending graduate school/transferring to the main campus, then Miami University Hamilton is the way to go. If you live in the area, chances are you'll know quite a few people there. It's like high school continued.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always someone on patrol. I feel very safe there at any time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Affairs always tries to make sure there is always something available. I have attended anywhere from making your own sweatpants, to taste testing, to the annual fair, scrap booking, and casino night. It is always a lot of fun and they never skimp on prizes!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to get an education while also attaining a social life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a voice board where you can state your opinion about a topic. Everyone is considerate and loves to read what is written on it.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus is defiantly worth going to.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on around campus as well as a lot of groups to join. If there is not a group you are interested in, you can also develop one.

    Food and Dining

    The fries are not all that great at all but they have a good selection for a regional campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors know what they are doing and the classes are actually interesting. The smaller class sizes also helps with the learning process. More one on one time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look around online for your books. The bookstore is insanely steep. Also, learn how to read your DARS because class scheduling will be so much easier.

    In three sentences

    I am a transfer student to this school but Miami is an amazing school. Everybody is so nice and helpful as well as the classes being interesting. The only thing I have bad to say is the price of textbooks, but that will be the same anywhere.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    dont procrastinate

    In three sentences

    its a good small school. its a lot like high school. i love the small atmosphere

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually go in and out of the campus doors, so I can't really say what people do for fun. I have, however, seen events like campus carnivals happen. I've also seen people playing frisbee out on the clear parts of the campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    What can I say about the food on campus? I've heard some bad things about some of the other items on the menu, but the stuff I usually get from the school cafeteria is delicious and keeps me full until I get home for dinner. My usual order is so usual that the workers there always seem to know precisely what I want without me saying anything. The campus is not too close to many fast food places outside of school property, though, so it might be a problem for students that want to eat some Burger King or something like that during their break.

    Dorm Life

    I technically can't give this section a rating since there are no dorms on this campus. I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I give this section a five out of five. The professors I have had since going to this campus all have a passion for what they teach. Some professors more than others have their own unique quirks and teaching styles that make them stand out. I have not had any crippling problems assimilating the knowledge they have dished out in their lessons. Some professors more than others will require you to be more social, but that's not a problem for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to look for scholarships earlier on than I did in my college career. Always look for ways to get ahead, academically, financially, and socially. Don't give up, no matter what the courses throw your way. And be sure to make sure your college experience is a fun one.

    In three sentences

    It is a great campus for students just starting their college life. The classes offered here give a broad range of selections no matter what your chosen major is. However, some majors require you to transfer to the Oxford campus to finish it up, so it's not meant for everyone.