Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mid-America Christian University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/11/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that all students shall follow the Lord and go for their dreams. It is a great oppurtunity.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have hopes and plans for the future.

    Bang for the buck

    Price is good for being a Christian college.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will definetely enjoy going to this college because it is a christian organization. This school has classes that will help me pursue my career plans.

    Will learn a lot

    I have learned quit a bit already from Ms Mitchell who is helping me get in as soon as 8/29/10

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study,study,study and get everything turned in early! (:

    Bang for the buck

    definitely a reasonable price!

    Will enjoy being here

    I was on campus for 2 minutes, and already felt welcomed!!

    Will learn a lot

    Everyone is SUPER friendly and if they don't know the answer to something, they definitely find out.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On-duty cops available 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    Posted at the school and on Facebook, there's a lot of religious events and other types of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Who like smaller schools and require assistance in school work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For non-athletics, Inter-morals are available for late night volleyball and basketball competition. There's even a faculty team!

    Bang for the buck

    Try to get as much scholarship money as possible. This school is a little pricey for basic classes but I've found that it was worth the expense. In a few years MACU's south OKC location will be building a new library and Student Center. It's going to be really cool and awesome for future students!

    What to do for fun

    Student Life does a good job with events for MACU students. There's bond fires and Admission works hard for Open House events. There are also religious group meetings at night and mission work that can be included into a students community service hours.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. Anyone is able to provide feedback on the food and the kitchen staff are always replying. A salad bar and fruit are always availble, along with soy milk. They could make some more changes every now and then, but most people there don't mind the food much.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus, but played basketball there so sleeping on the couch was convenient because I didn't have to wake up early to drive. The main building is close. The rooms are fairly small without kitchen appliances, but its almost impossible to not make a friend there and worth the stay.

    Academic Rigor

    MACU has fairly easy classes. Challenged assignments depend on the class level and professor. No matter what though, each professor there will direct any concerns you may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as possible! There are plenty of events. Use Academic Success Center's provided tutoring for every class to guarantee good grades. It is proven that you'll make up a 10% better grade overall. I went to tutoring for every test and did 80% or better.

    In three sentences

    MACU is small. MACU is fun. MACU is very helpful.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of christian study student would love this school.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price i would like to have a bigger dorm room and a better student center and a few more degree options.

    What to do for fun

    In the men's dorms we will come up with different games in our courtyard to do. I workout a lot so i went to the YMCA everyday literally right across the street. There are a lot of sporting events to go to as well and events the school puts on from time to time.

    Food and Dining

    The food at MACU is actually really good. They do give you a lot of choices to pick from. They're lunch is really good but i normally always eat salads and it was always good.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is great actually. They will pair you up with like minded people and do their best to assist you any way possible. The dorms are kinda small though for some reason there is only one large bedroom to the other three small ones to each dorm. But for me i wasn't in there enough for to make a difference to be honest.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes they have are very challenging but fair. The professors will help you as much as you want them to, they're so helpful. You will get out of the classes what you put into them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and visit the school at their MACU Mash-up event they have in October it's great. Be willing to open up and try new things and meet some amazing people. Go there with an open mind and open heart and your just might get changed.

    In three sentences

    MACU is a very small but personable college. The teachers and staff are very helpful and great at what they do. There focus is to help you learn as much as possible and for you to get as close to God as possible which i love.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, Cheerleading, Student Ministries Fellowship (SMF), Student Gov't, lots of music opportunities

    What to do for fun

    Go skating, to the Warren to catch a movie, visit a coffee shop, work out at the YMCA for FREE!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved...you earn scholarships!!

    In three sentences

    Great academic programs. The teachers are very personable. The curriculum is both challenging and rewarding.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was previously attending the University of Phoenix and the approximate cost was around 14,000 year whereas attending Mid-America Christian University will save me around 6,000 dollars in the end.

    What to do for fun

    Once again I do not live in that area and cannot speak on that subject.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live in the area of the school to have experienced this.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak on the dorm life because I am an online student and do not live on the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have a Christian foundation of course but they also hit the most valued and needed points of the major being studied. The classes go in depth in their course work and if enough dedication is attributed by the student than there is no reason for anyone not to excel in whatever field of study they chose.

    Tips for prospective students

    The main tip I would give a prospective student is to carefully listen to their academic advisor and take into full account what that person has to say. Their advise will help to make your experience with this school a wonderful one and could also help to keep you from going to far into financial debt.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great strong Christian foundation and ethical background. This institution also has extremely thoughtful and helpful staff members that do their best to meet their pupil's needs in any way possible. This university also not only offers traditional means of schooling but online schooling as well for those working adults and parents who wish to further their education.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stay at home moms, people that have not been to school in a while.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if you are going to take online classes that you are able to keep up with the work load.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They do travel to other countries for credit.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a caferia on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't have the privilege to go on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a five star school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call Mid America Christian University ahead of time and ask for a preview of the school classroom and portal. It's simple, easy, and affordable. I enjoyed the online classes as well as the meeting the other students through the discussion board.

    In three sentences

    Mid America Christian University is a great school to attend if you like real Christian outlook on the Bible, Leadership in the churches, understanding people on the spiritual point of view. Mid America Christian University professors, instructors, and student success coaches are advanced in Theology and Leaderhip as well as Pastoral knowledge. You can attend this affordable school online as well as on campus.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They always have events going on campus. Just get plugged in and you will have a wonderful college experience!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. It is not five star cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. You have a living room area with four bedrooms. You get a room all to yourself. You also have a bathroom you share with your dormmates.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are well taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the campus and it makes things so much funner!

    In three sentences

    Mid-America is a wonderful school. The teachers encourage you with your school work and your walk with Christ. You are not a number' to them, they actually care about you.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can't answer

    Greek Life

    I don't attend

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't attend campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who desires to pursue a degree while keeping in touch with their Christian lifestyle should attend here. The college is non-denominational which is one reason I chose to transfer here from the Catholic university I attended before. Every class has a strong Biblical base while never veering off topic. For ministry students this is a wonderful way to learn to incorporate Biblical teachings and scripture into everyday life while not having the more narrow mind set that some set denomination universities have.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't currently attend classes on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Mid-America, to my knowledge, has one of the most affordable adult continuing education opportunities in the state. I attended another private university before and it was about $400 more per credit hour than MACU so in this sense I can tell you that it is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I don't attend the university physically, but there are plenty of wholesome things to do in Okc. The downtown area is really up and coming and with the new basketball and hockey teams there is usually always a game to catch.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the school so I also can't answer this question.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay at the dorms so I am not able to answer this question.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging without being defeating. All the tools you need to succeed are given to you and if you get stuck the professors will never hesitate to offer a helping hand. This does NOT mean they will give you answers, rather they will guide you where you need to be to find the answers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mid-America offers many different degree options so even if you're unsure at the start, jump in. Let the counselors guide you and don't try to make every decision on your own. It's ok to just take basic education credits your first semester or two and then decide on a major, this is the rest of your life and the staff here understands that.

    In three sentences

    They are very flexible with their adult program making it easy and efficient to earn a degree while juggling children etc. The staff is very caring and it shows the Christian nature of the university; they can put your mind at ease without making you feel inept. I love that I can choose whether to go to campus or take my classes online, if I feel like I need to be able to see the teacher for a particular class then I can choose to attend the campus course for that particular class, if I feel that I am strong enough to do it online then I choose that option.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am an on-line student.

    Dorm Life

    I am an on-line student.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had any struggles.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of question9you will be satisfied with respond.

    In three sentences

    I am very thankful and grateful to attend Mid-America Christian University. The staff is very helpful they treat you like family instead of a student. We (the students) have very good success coaches, professor and program chair, when ever I had a problem it was solved immediately.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This is a private university, therefore the prices are a little higher than a local college.

    In three sentences

    Good for persons that are working full-time. The professors are wonderful and the staff is great.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's been one crime that happened in summer 2013 with trespassers hiding on school ground. We do public safety check.

    Greek Life

    There are none.

    Clubs and Activities

    It has C.A.B, campus activities board, Missions Club to join other organzations and go on missions trips like South Dakota or Mexico, SGA, Student Government Assoiciation, Choir and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to attend an out of state school, join the sports' team on schalorship, or wants to attend a cheap but nice school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has a Kennedy Hall Building where the library is at, 3 main dorm buildings, the main building and the student center. Chapel is required every weds and fridays. It's also a Christian school.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty afforable, with a meal plan and the dorm room, plus tuition. Just save a couple money and check your bill!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, go to the gym nearby the school, join the school's events like the Spring banquet, sports games, hang out on campus, watch or play games in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    Not a whole lot of variety of food, less vegetables and breakfast are the same every morning except lunch and dinner. Less fruit and dessert treats. You can make your own waffles, eat cereal, and toast bagels at any time!

    Dorm Life

    It's like an apartment with four rooms and a small living room and a bathroom with a shower, of course. You can bring food in the dorm with a microwave, a small fridge, and a little toaster oven. You can watch TV but bring your own, free WI-FI, couches are provided.

    Academic Rigor

    They have some great courses for both Graduate and Undergraduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to major in the Music program, whether for Music and Worship, Music Business, Music Education or Performance, it is a llot of work! And you will have to learn to play the paino to pass the profiancy piano exam and do community service as part of the graduation requirements.

    In three sentences

    It's a school and a small community and you're very welcome and even professors knows your name! It's a small school with about 2,000 students both on campus and commuter students. They also offer a Graduate studies program.