Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mid-South Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great of students that procrastinate and dont have a mission for life, and have not made up their mind and just want to go by a day by day method.

    Tips for prospective students

    One piece of advice I have for prospective college students is never give up on your dreams. The point I want to make is that you don't have to be afraid to make a change in your life. College is your choice, not anyone else's, so if you are unhappy, take the first step, and do something about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Your education is priceless. You determine what make yourself out to be in life. And going forward with your education can lead up to big BUCKS.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at MSCC because its not just learning about academically but in life as well. And plus i've got to meet new people and my values have changed.

    Am learning a lot

    Am learing a lot of self-discipline. I'm learning how to learn, how to think, and how to communicate effectively.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining area is immaculate and excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say much about the dorm life seeing that I stayed at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Always be on top of your academics. You should come up with a study plan that would allow time for studying and pleasure. Never go into a test with a plan to wing it. ALWAYS BE PREPARED!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always research before picking a major. Though it's nice to be able to say that you went to college, it's bad to have to pay for a student loan in a field that you're not working in!

    In three sentences

    I've graduated from here and it's a great school. I'm going here just to get one class so that I can transfer out. I had an exceptional time at this school.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MSCC is a secure campus with security on duty during all campus hours.

    What to do for fun

    Mid-South Community College offers a lot of fun activities. If you're a fitness junkie there's a gym you can go to at any time during campus hours. If you like sports, recreational flag football is offered. We also have a softball team. If you're more into the academic aspect you can join the honor society.

    Food and Dining

    MSCC has a Cafe Grill located on the main campus. The food is very tasty but it is a little expensive. The cafe offers seating inside and there's also tables and seating outside the back entrance.

    Dorm Life

    Mid-South Community College does not offer on campus or off campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    MSCC expects superior performance and behavior from their students. The classes they offer are challenging, as the should be. To help with the challenges, MSCC offers free tutoring on a number of subjects any time one needs a little help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student looking to attend Mid-South Community college, you have made a good choice. Mid-South offers all the classes you need to earn your General Ed AA and they also offer teaching, nursing, and mechanical programs that you can complete at the college. The tuition the college charges is steep, but fair. It is on the cheaper side of college tuitions.

    In three sentences

    Mid-South Community College is a great college for those looking to be close to home in the Crittenden county area. The staff is excellent and willing to help any student at any time. The college offers many great fun activities to get students involved with each other.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are basketball teams and other activities in which students can get together and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe at the community college is awesome and not very expensive!

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, dorms are not yet available. But with it being a growing school I could see it becoming a potential 4 year college.

    Academic Rigor

    Great place to get a further education and achieve career goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is a community college doesn't make it any easier than any other college.

    In three sentences

    Mid-South Community College is a growing and great campus to be on. It is close to home for those who cannot breakaway, It is also available to those older generation who want a second chance at schooling.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police officer on duty all day

    Clubs and Activities

    great clubs

    Great for these types of students

    disablities and students wtih children

    What to do for fun

    we watch movies and go to games also have bolling tournements

    Food and Dining

    the school has the best cooks

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i am learn alot i give 4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    do work before party and use the tours on campus they are free.

    In three sentences

    I think that mid south is an amazing school. the atmoshere is good and home like. the teacher are very understanding.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    camera's everywhere. I feel very very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Always things to do in the college

    Great for these types of students

    students that are interested in learning

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is near a park.. wow!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of people in lounges for social interactions

    Food and Dining

    Love It!!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. its a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Be Early for class!

    In three sentences

    Mid-South community college is perfect for me. It has a great staff and nice people. it is also cheap in tuition!!

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrol all day and there are many camera on the campus and they respond very quickly.

    Great for these types of students

    mid-South Community College is great school for non-traditional students such as myself, because like I have a child at home and I do not have to go far to get my education and still be her mother.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of clubs that a student can join. Student activites are promoted all semester long rather if it's something at the school or going on some kind of trip.

    Food and Dining

    Mid-South Community College have the Cafe Grill where students can go lounge and dine in and chat with their friends. The food is of good quality also.

    Dorm Life

    Mid-South Community College does not offer dorms and I guess that is one of the reasons the tuition is very affordable verses going to another college or universities.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is all about academics, and if you have any troubles in any subject area there are tutors in the Learning Success Center to assist in whatever subjuect area that you would need help in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get a quality, then you should consider Mid-South Community College first. Starting off at Mid-South Community College you do not have to worry about a student loan once you finish school. Your main concern is finishing school and jumping into the work world.

    In three sentences

    Mid-South Community College is a great school to start off if you do not have enough money to pay for a university. The tuition is very inexpensive and it is centered around some people's homes, so it same time and gas. The also offer different kinds of programs to help with the offset of tuition for the people that need a little more cash or does not receive financial aid.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good.

    Greek Life

    I really don't know about the greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join TRIO, they help you with scholarships and with your classes. If your having trouble with anything their there to help.

    Great for these types of students

    School acitivities and getting involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love going to the cafe grill.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school. Excellent staff. Great atomsphere.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang with my friends in the lounge area. Get involved in the school activities.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe Grill has delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    Mid-South Community College isn't a university, so they don't have dorms. But maybe in the future they will.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its great school to start at if you don't want to go off to college right away. It gives you great opportunities. Great life experience.

    In three sentences

    Mid-South Community College is a great school. It has great programs. It gets you involved in campus activities.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great security staff, their is always one on-site and visible for help whenever you need one.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Career Pathways are great for single parents that need child care assistance and mileage reimbursements.

    Great for these types of students

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and Fees are low to fit your monthly budget.

    What to do for fun

    I love computers I am usually doing something that involves computer activity.

    Food and Dining

    The Food and Dining is great and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Not Applicaple

    Academic Rigor

    Five Stars

    Tips for prospective students

    To a prospective student I would say research the school of choice. Make sure that you do not become a statistic for the drop out rate when you find the average graduates for your college choice and be prepared to overcome the barriers that will come your way.

    In three sentences

    Mid-South Community has a great staff. The instructors are very creative to learning skills of each student. This college is a great place to learn and the tuition and fees are very affordable.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. I have not had any problems whatsoever.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life. You would have to try other schools in the area. The only thing that is Greek is the Phi Theta Honor Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many activities. The list is too long for me to share.

    Great for these types of students

    Mid-South Community College is great for all types of students.

    What to do for fun

    Now, I can not say what to do for fun, because my ideal of fun might be totally different to someone else. Let's just say; you will not get bored to death.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many places. Keep in mind, you are only minutes from Downtown Memphis.

    Dorm Life

    Mid South does not have dorms. You would have to live off campus which there are a lot of places to choose from in th the area.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are a discipline individual and very determine, the academic rigor is not that bad. If you like to party and a slacker, this is not the college for you. The faculty will not hold your hand. Remember, you are consider an adult (over age 18).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to get in a program ( nursing, respiratory therapy, medical assisting, pharmacy technician, etc.), please take your required courses first. For example, take College Algebra, English I and II, and Microbiology before getting accepted in a program. You really want to focus on the core courses require for you to graduate from that program. Second, do not take science courses during the Summer. It is too fast and too much information cram at you in one semester. You will get a headache.

    In three sentences

    Mid- South Community College has many different career pathways to choose from to better yourself. There are so many opportunities. You don't have to wait til after graduation to get a head start.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is frisbee/disc golf park,and there is athletics.

    Food and Dining

    The grill is great

    Dorm Life

    No dorms for two year college

    Academic Rigor

    So far in looking my classes,they are strict share they should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask a question.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus,the teachers are open and don't mind repeating a question ic asked. The classrooms students to teacher ratio is great everyone can see and hear.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a cop or campus security within eye cite. I take night classes and there is always someone to walk you to your car at night.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds!! They have classes to fit anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    It's not as expensive as a university and with financial Aid, you should be covered.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do at MSCC! Bowling, flag football, and disc golf are just to name a few. Oh and don't forget to cheer on the gray hounds in basketball!!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is a great place to eat and catch up on homework or friends.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school, with caring instructors.

    In three sentences

    MSCC is a great school with quality education. The teachers and staff are very caring and want to see you excel at what you do. Grate place to start or end you college career.