Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

MidAmerica Nazarene University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to be involved and to feel like part of a community because guess what you will be!

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip i can give students looking to come to MNU is to pray about it. If it is in Gods will for you to come here and study i think he will let you know and make it happen one way or another.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes MNU is very expensive but with working on campus student loans it's not that bad. This will be my third year here and i think i would have liked to go to a school cheaper and not be happy.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is my Home away from home i really love all the people and teachers. Not to mention the campus is beautiful. I personally am a music major and to have one of the best performing halls in the country make's me feel proud.

    Am learning a lot

    Of course you think well it's college you have to learn something but no! This is a fun and exciting university to be at whether I'm in the class room or working on campus I always fill like I have learned something at the end of the day.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much anyone who wants a good education. There are a lot of different majors that MNU offers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campuses that you think you may be interested in and go to the one that feels right for you. If cost is something that could keep you from going then pray about it and apply for lots of scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of MNU is high, but there are a lot of things that the cost covers. All of the regular sporting events are covered and the most of the campus wide events are too. During the winter months the maintenance guys shovel the sidewalks and put salt down.

    Am enjoying being here

    I grew up in the church so getting to go to chapel a couple times a week is very nice. There are so many awesome people that go to MNU and work at MNU. The first week of classes is dedicated to helping Freshmen and Transfer students get to mingle and know the other students so they can feel more at home.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the professors are AWESOME!!! They enjoy life and love teaching and they all want to see the students go far. Education is a very important thing and all of the professors are willing to help their students in groups or one-on-one.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe here.

    Greek Life

    We have a Greek Class lol

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone. And if there isn't, it's not hard to put something new into motion.

    Bang for the buck

    you want quality, you have to pay for it. there are cheaper solutions out there, but none that can match the professor to student relationships, the atmosphere, community, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a college event going on. However, if you are not a school spirited person, Olathe/Kansas City has a lot to offer in terms of dining, entertainment, church selection, and whatever you might want. Great city.

    Food and Dining

    Come on, it's college food. That being said, I think it's great food. The variety is good, though you will get bored of the repetitive choices. But hey, it's college. you are hear to learn, not get a 5 star dining experience. Stay Healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what you like, the community within the dorms is awesome. Lanbarger house is great if you like a lot of community, though I personally prefer Uphaus due to it's more isolated, quiet atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, the classes range from pretty easy to very difficult. I give it a 4.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is expensive, so make sure you know how you are going to pay for it. It may be a Christian school, but not everyone is there because of that fact. Your beliefs will clash. College is a time to grow, so focus on growing. This is a great place for that.

    In three sentences

    Great Professors who genuinely care about their students. Beautiful campus (your money goes to the grass upkeep hahaha jk) Great community to grow and flourish in your knowledge, both academically and internally.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses around!

    Great for these types of students

    Christian

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its not uncommon to pray before each class.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    There are shopping malls nearby equipped with theaters. Kansas City is within a 30 minute drive to enjoy various activities.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the courses to be challenging but achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Christian University dedicated to study. Beautiful campus with a great safety record!

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent university committed to student success. You can expect to find smaller classes which allow for more personalized instruction. The professors are genuinely interested in each students success!

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The neighborhood that MNU is in is very safe. You're in the middle of nice neighborhoods. Families ride their bike through campus. Students walk around campus late at night feel perfectly safe. I walked across campus as girl from the library to my dorm at 11PM with no concern for my well being. Our Campus Safety Security Guards are always on call and very helpful. They have keys to all the buildings and let you in if you ever forget anything. However, I would never leave any of my belongs alone, such as laptop or books or purse. I didn't forget a textbook in the cafe, and it was stolen.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at MNU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are intramural sports, student government, mission trips that you get involved with, choirs, band, theatre. There is also a missions effort that we sponsor each year. This year it was an intercity children's program in downtown Kansas City. The year before that it was building hospital in South America. Students are encouraged to get involved in these efforts.

    What to do for fun

    You're only 20 minutes from Kansas City, and a main attraction for a lot of people is shopping. I also attended a few concerts. Famous music attractions come through Kansas City. I ate out a lot for fun with friends. I went roller skating. Lazer tag. MNU also put on a lot of fun events such as the Black & White Formal, Homecoming, Thrift Store Prom (where we went rollerskating), Movie on the Mall (watching a movie on a projection screen out on the lawn), and those were all just in the first semester.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe was ok. There isn't a whole lot of options. You need to be creative though. There's plenty of fun food ideas if you just look around. The facility was average. There isn't a lot of other dining options on campus. There is Dewey's which is the coffee shop in the library and Land Gym Cafe, which is a cafe open till midnight serving stuff like nachos and personal pizzas. A plus size (or a downsize, depends on how you look at it) is that the meal plan is PLENTY of food. You would have to eat a lot to run out of scans. This left plenty of scans for me to get coffee in Dewey's almost daily.

    Dorm Life

    Leave your dorm room door open. This is a tip for every college student. This is one of the ways I made a lot of friends. Unless you really need to study, it's a good idea to leave the door open. You never know who might walk in. The freshman dorms have pretty strict guy/girl policy. Guys were only allowed in our dorm from 7-11PM Thursday-Sunday. You couldn't have the doors closed or be horizontal. No laying on the couch together or in a bed together. The community bathroom was ok if the girls on your hall respected it. Some people would try to stuff half eaten food down the sink. Sorry ladies. Bathroom sinks don't have disposables. Throw your trash away. The dorms are rather big compared to other dorms at different universities. My roommate and I had room for both beds, two large desks, two five foot tall dressers, a book shelf, a sectional couch, a mini fridge, microwave, and plenty of floor space. There is only one tiny window on the opposite side of the room from the door. There is a hall activity or party planned every Tuesday night. It was a great way to get to know the girls or guys on your hall or just get a break from studying.

    Academic Rigor

    Academia is important on campus, but so are sports. I found my classes to be average. Some of them were more time consuming than they were difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. There i plenty of ways to be a part of the MNU community. I am doing choir, and I have an on campus job. I made a good number of friends outside of my major by doing these two things. The library at MNU is the perfect place to work. I rarely had to do big amounts of studying or homework outside of my time at worked. I worked a couple hours a day, and I would get all my homework done. If I didn't have homework, I would read book, watch a movie on my computer, I did some random crafty things like made envelopes, talk to patrons in the library. And you get to do anything of these will getting paid.

    In three sentences

    MNU is a midwestern college in the suburbs of Kansas City, Kansas. It is a closely bonded and connected campus. The professors are great.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE!!

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't have a lot of tips for prospective college students except that they should expect a lot of friendly people!

    Am enjoying being here

    Life here is amazing. The community is very welcoming and a great place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that the overall education that I am receiving is amazing. I am learning so much about a lot of different topics.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Chapel and Kresge Center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and study for your classes.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    it is located in a good town with different shops and recreation around. the school hosts many activities throughout the year that are fun. they also have different things at the college church that go on that are fun.

    Food and Dining

    the dinning is very nice here. they have many options to choose from and other places through out campus to get food besides the dinning hall. they have many different meal plans to choose from that vary in price.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very nice. they are very spacious and clean. they are very good to think about to stay interacted with students.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics at mnu are amazing. they have top notch teachers and programs that are in place to help you succeed. the knowledge that you learn from this school is incredible.

    Tips for prospective students

    midamerica nazarene university is a great school to consider they have a lot of great programs to offer. make sure you utilize the student to teacher interaction and the tutor center. they want you to succeed so ask for help.

    In three sentences

    midamerica nazarene university is a great school and this school has so much to offer. they have excellent staff and teachers that put in extra time to help you succeed. the classrooms are a great size for learning to take place and there is teacher to student interaction which is nice so that you get one on one help.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is extremely safe. you are never worried that anything is going to happen.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    always something fun to do!

    Great for these types of students

    for chirstian students who love the church life. for students who have never been part of a church and simply want to learn. for athletes!

    Bang for the buck

    mnu is extremely over priced. they would get a lot more students if they lowered their prices and made it more affordable.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on on campus for fun. whether it is a sports event or a church event. there are festivals and intermerials. there is always something fun to do on campus!

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok. its not amazing but it isn't terrible. the one thing that does suck about it is that there isn't very much variation. if there is it isn't always appitizing. but overall the day to day food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    i never lived in the dorms so i'm not the person to ask about this.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are difficult but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your professors quickly, once you get to know them they become your family, they will help you with anything you need. the one person that you absolutely need to have as a friend is dennis troyer! he will help you with anything and is always there to talk or listen or cheer you on.

    In three sentences

    midamerica is a great institution that teaches its students the importance of finding a bigger purpose in life. it is a family like atmosphere where everybody knows each other.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always buzzing around, and they are just a phone call away!

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do up at MNU, some campus activity, something going on nearby in Olathe or KC, just hanging with friends. I really enjoy intramurals!

    Food and Dining

    I am a picky eater, but they do have quite a spread that is pretty decent. I think CC is a lot healthier than most other universities dining halls because we do not have fast food options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome at MNU, I just know that for me living with a bunch of girls is not my cup of tea. I also live on a pretty diverse hall, but overall it's pretty great.

    Academic Rigor

    The average class size for MNU is I want to say 17 people. At other universities and college's the class size is enormous! A small class provides a better opportunity for a higher quality learning, and a better relationship with your Prof.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about going to MNU, I would highly suggest checking out the campus and sitting in on a few classes. If you know anyone that already goes to MidAmerica, see if you can stay with them for a few days to try to get a better feel. It is a wonderful campus and the first year at any college is the toughest, but MNU has so many opportunities for you to become involved! My favorite thing about it are the Chapels that they put on every week, they are so amazing!

    In three sentences

    MidAmerica Nazarene University has a wonderful Christian community feel about it. It truly is a wonderful university that I hope I can stay at for all four years. Sometimes the small campus can be a blessing and a curse, but overall it is such a wonderful campus with small class sizes, and Profs. that care so much about the students!

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Great Football program

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Storms are a coming occurance

    Bang for the buck

    Try to purchase used books it is cheaper

    What to do for fun

    Sports/ Coaching/ Volunteering

    Food and Dining

    The food is better then my current college

    Dorm Life

    I will be sharing a apartment on campus with friends

    Academic Rigor

    Education/ Coaching

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships that you can. Each and eveyone helps

    In three sentences

    I am currently enrolled at MidAmerica Nazarene College in Kansas. They have a excellent Football program. The coaches are great. They have made me feel welcomed.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety office is located in a building near the music building, but the campus safety people are always wandering around campus. They'll not only look out for your well being but also get to know you. Phones are located randomly around campus that automatically connect to the campus safety office if picked up.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek system. Unless you take Greek as a foreign language, or hear bits of it in religion classes, Greek has nothing to do with MNU.

    Clubs and Activities

    Though MNU does not have a track team they do have many other activities students can do. Yearbook, Newspaper, ASG, football, baseball, soccer, basketball, volleyball, cheer leading, comic clubs, music clubs, art clubs...the list goes on and on.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student. Individuality is encouraged here and there is something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the 'unusual' traditions and locations on campus are mainly things like the Thrift Store Prom, Ugly Sweater Contest, No Shave November Beard Contest, and Mock Rock. All of theses events, though somewhat unusual, are a treat to attend. As for locations, there is a Prayer trail that leads to a forest like area, as well as a trail around the school.

    Bang for the buck

    MidAmerica is an expensive school, but it's worth every penny. You get to choose from many, many degrees, you have professors that love you, a great community of friends, and the school even offers free counseling to any student who needs it. This is a school that truly cares about your well being.

    What to do for fun

    Finding something fun to do is never an issue at MNU. Between dorm and campus events you can almost always find something coll going on around campus. If there isn't anything that interests you on campus though, you can always drive to the mall or head to Kansas City for a night at the Plaza.

    Food and Dining

    The university offers a variety of ways to get food. There is the main cafeteria (serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner), the coffee shop, an on campus cafe, and a place for students to pic up sack lunches if they are unable to make it to the cafeteria. The cafeteria also offers a to-go meal program for students who don't have time to sit and eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life of MidAmerica Nazarene University is one the best things there. You are encouraged to meet your hall/building mates and the Residential Assistants, as well as the Residential Educators, care about you as much as a big sister/brother would. Each dorm has scheduled activities that are optional to attend, but are a great way to form bounds with those on your hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficult of the academics depends on the classes you choose. Some classes require much more time, money, and off campus trips than others. However, if you find yourself having troubles in a subject the teachers are always willing to aid you anyway they possible can.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's easy for new students to get sucked into all of the events happened around campus and forget about their studies. Though the events are fun, and they are a wonderful way to meet your fellow students, you can't forget about your studies or work. Also, if you need a job, head over to the Lunn building and fill out an application because there are always jobs available for students.

    In three sentences

    MidAmerica Nazarene University is a place where one can truly feel at home. The Professors and other staff care about your well being (Physically, spiritually, and mentally) and would stop everything they are doing to speak with a student in need. The atmosphere of this college is very judgement free as everyone is encouraged to find their own way and stand up (as well as back up) their own beliefs.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Private school. More expensive than community colleges.

    In three sentences

    Great Christian based education. Have the opportunity of studying at a fully accredited school.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Above average.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities are available for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, Athletes, and Fine Arts make up most of the student body.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Land Gym is a great location for exercising, basketball pick up games, food, friends, fellowship, and parties.

    Bang for the buck

    Eat as much food as you can!

    What to do for fun

    I play a lot of ping pong. Getting involved with the many activities are a great way to meet friends. I like to watch our sports teams play.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is fine. The hours of available food is terrific! There are three different areas with food options.

    Dorm Life

    Do not bring everything you own to your dorm. Be nice to your roommate. Get involved with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic chooses are great. Be sure to study the lessons before your lectures. Plan to study with friends, it makes learning fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here is a good tip for incoming freshman. Introduce yourself to your professors. They are more than willing to help.

    In three sentences

    MidAmerica Nazarene University is a great small campus. Everything is within walking distance. The professors, staff, and other students are really helpful and friendly.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    MidAmerica is about a 30 minute drive from downtown KC and it's close to malls and other things that college kids like to do. Specifically on campus though there are always activities going on and people hanging out doing who knows what.

    Food and Dining

    Most people love the food on campus, but I definitely miss home cooking. It's not bad and there is a lot of variety but it all depends on how picky you are and what you will and won't eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are several different options for living arrangements here on campus from the usual 2 people to a room to 6 people sharing an apartment. There are tons of activities that go on within the dorms and within different campus clubs as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that this all depends on the major you intend to have. I know the nursing program is pretty tough here, and I'm sure all of the other majors this school offers is pretty challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are going to be able to live by the covenant that you sign and take it seriously, because the faculty definitely does. I like that though because it gave me accountability.

    In three sentences

    MidAmeria is a place where you can come and find a community of people who are ready and willing to build you up. It is Christ centered college so it's definitely a breath of fresh air for me coming from the high school I went to. I definitely wouldn't say that it's a perfect fit for everyone, but it's a great university and I absolutely love it here.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MNU has 24-hour campus police, who are always a phone call away. The dorms are always locked and outside students cannot get inside without permission from an MNU resident.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple opportunities to get involved on campus. There is Associate Student Government, Mission Trip opportunities for everyone, and off campus ministries to just name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, people who value Christian morals, anyone looking for a small campus feel, anyone who likes knowing most students and faculty on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MNU has an event called Mock Rock and it is a comedic talent show. Some examples of acts are a parody of Hey There Delilah called Dear Future Wife, and Napoleon Dynamite's vote for Pedro dance. Another tradition is the spelling bee: MNU hosts a spelling bee for any student to participate in and one of the judges is the national spelling bee champion.

    Bang for the buck

    MNU is not a cheap place to go to school, but it is worth every penny. The community lifestyle is a big priority on campus, and that's what makes it so special.

    What to do for fun

    MNU always has events going on for the students, so boredom is never an option. However, there are other things to do off campus including going to the movies or the mall or walking/ riding bikes on the nature trails.

    Food and Dining

    College food isn't the best you'll ever have, but the caf is always a good place for fellowship.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, especially if you like living with a bunch of other college students. It can get a little crazy every once in a while, but in the end, it is the best experience anyone can have.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging, but they are manageable. Professors are understanding, and are always available to help in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to a private school is expensive, but it is so worth it. I guarantee you can't get the same experience anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    MNU brings me a sense of belonging. I love the community feel here, everyone cares about you and wants to help you. I always have someone I can turn to when I need them, whether it be other students or my RA or any of my professors.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The students should be independent, goal-orientated, and motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    study and do not procrastinate

    In three sentences

    The school seems like it is in a safe environment with a reasonable program length

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good.

    Greek Life

    Zero.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to pursue religious ministries in Nazarene faith and nursing fields and math.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want a quality education and don't mind the mandatory chapel. this is a great school.

    What to do for fun

    Being near a big city(KC), there is lots to do and see.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food and cafeteria. Lots of choices near campus too.

    Dorm Life

    Not a lot of university related activities for students to do. Good location near Kansas City to offset the lack of on campus activities. Need more social events for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough classes. Too much emphasis on religious side of school. In need of more tutors for student athletes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check to see that MNU has what you want to study for your future. If you like small class sizes this is for you. Friendly people. Great academic support too.

    In three sentences

    Tough academics. Small town size in large suburban area. Limited areas of study.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the price, its great!

    What to do for fun

    Kansas City, theres so much to do!

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice and comfortable

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging enough to require thought, but easy enough to understand. Ask the professors for help if need be, they'll help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the admissions office, they'll help ;)

    In three sentences

    MidAmerica is a great school, with wonderful teachers and a welcoming campus. My sister is attending there and absolutely loves it. I've been as well, met everyone, it's great.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to KC

    Tips for prospective students

    Know you will be attending chapel.

    In three sentences

    Christ centered. Vibrant campus. Top programs.