Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Middlesex Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Get an education, not a social life.

    What to do for fun

    On campus walks through the woods and along all the paths are nice, hidden in the woods you can find stone structures and statues from the nunnery that were once near where South Academic lies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research who your teachers are beforehand, take an awesome teacher, and hope that they teach a million other classes for your major.

    In three sentences

    If you get a wonderful teacher, you will have an amazing time regardless of the class. The Bedford has beautiful grounds and trails to walk, but no food besides some rarely stocked vending machines once 2 rolls around. Cheap with a bad reputation to some locals but overall worth the value, especially whereis it was voted best community college in MA.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Greek Life

    None that I'm aware of

    Clubs and Activities

    They post activities on bulletin boards and even the girls bathroom stalls for your convenience

    Great for these types of students

    Lots of diversity at this campus

    Bang for the buck

    You can make payments up to 5 months for classes without having your credit checked. I do hate the fact that they tack on a $100 late fee to struggling students, but there's no huge loan fees to pay back so I guess it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the Lowell Campus. There's lots of places to sit outside of restaurants, a Quilt museum. I've been to an an Art gallery close by. Things are within walking distance like a gym and the Lowell Memorial Auditorium where I just saw a concert for Blood, Sweat and Tears the other night.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is usually open with vending machines for the evening students, but no real food. you can walk to nearby places like dunkin donuts during breaks.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be tough, but if you do the reading and homework you'll be fine. My Stats teacher said YOU HAVE TO EARN AND F...... meaning that you get an F if you don't show up, but otherwise he's there to help you.

    In three sentences

    The MOST AWESOME school experience. Just fantastic professors! Great student body and good learning environment.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security all over watching in case of intruders.

    Greek Life

    Not a clue.

    Clubs and Activities

    A ton to choose from. I never did though.

    Great for these types of students

    Less social students, students who don't judge one another, high school drop outs, slackers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Center of campus is a smoking designated section.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny for an AS degree.

    What to do for fun

    Activities, events, movies, food, organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate at the cafe. I just go to class and then leave.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put time and effort in, it is easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school will save you thousands.

    In three sentences

    A small community college with two locations. Easy professors and a lot of resources on campus. Inexpensive to attend.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not really sure... never remember there being any issue at the bedford campus location

    Greek Life

    nope- none really.

    Clubs and Activities

    don't know...

    Great for these types of students

    -students with work or family obligations -non-traditional aged students -students that need a little more academic experience before committing to a four year program at a college or university -students that aren't sure what they want to do with their education yet but want to start earning credit toward a higher/more intensive program -those of us planning on becoming certified registered nurses, dental hygienists, or another tech profession

    Bang for the buck

    many of MCC's classes are 100-200 level courses; because of this, i was able to get what felt like a surface study of quite a few topics i was interested including art and psychology. this is good. i also learned a little bit about what it means to be a student. also good cause i have and am continuing education. lastly, i earned my AA with MCC which opened up doors for higher education and got me in to my top choice school.

    What to do for fun

    pretty little campus, sit outside under trees when the weather permits... 2D/drawing art classes sometimes get you outside to do landscape drawings. take a class with a friend... become friends with a professor and get great conversation! :)

    Food and Dining

    eh... comfort-like-fast food. i attended MCC (bedford campus) from 2005-2007 and the food wasn't all that great. who knows now.

    Dorm Life

    not a residential school. i made very few friends with other students... however, i did make friends with quite a few professors. day-class students are usually pretty young (and tend to be a little less focused on studies and are apt to socialize), night-class students tend to be a little bit older (and are more serious about their work)... i was a young student and took mostly day classes but a few evening classes. i found that pairing up with older students for study sessions was great cause i was interested in learning the material and it helped to be on the same page.

    Academic Rigor

    it's a community college... most professors dont completely overwhelm you with homework assignments. thank goodness! many of us have obligations outside of school. if you're looking for a challenge however, you can always share your passions and inquire about intensifying your study with your prof. MCC is a great place to get your feet wet with college experience... it's challenging enough to keep many of us engaged and not too much to turn us away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many of the students that attend Middlesex or other community colleges are interested in betting themselves through their education, potentially earning credentials that will help further them in a particular profession or field. Yet many of these students also feel or are underprepared to go to a college because of past limited academic successes or support, limited time because they are working a job or have family obligations, or don't have the financial reserves in place to make the commitment to start a four year degree program. Whether this doesn't and especially if this does apply to you there are many resources available to you at the school that can help make your academic career at Middlesex (and potentially beyond) a very rewarding one. Meet with an advisor to help get you started on making and fulfilling your academic goals as well as other faculty at the college that can help you get access to other realms of support. Ask lots of questions! Use your words! Share your ideas, concerns, and wishes. Putting yourself out there will pay off even if not at first!

    In three sentences

    Some of the advisors, professors, and other faculty at MCC are incredibly supportive. I have made life-long bonds with some of the teachers here. If you work hard, it's noticed AND you're likely to get great recommendations if you ask for them.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is extremely safe.

    Bang for the buck

    The faculty and professors that work here genuinely care about your well being and success! It feels great to know that you are supported and helps you to keep at it all semester long.

    What to do for fun

    This campus is quiet and has lots of lawns to study and trails to walk. There is a small men's hockey team which plays at Lowell and the school joins up with UMass Lowell for student programs and functions; speakers, concerts, sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    There is a little cafe in the student building. It is not too expensive and they offer homemade hot lunch, a sandwich bar, and yummy coffee!

    Dorm Life

    This school does not offer housing.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not the hardest college schedule, but it is what you make of it. Want to get a 4.0? You study much more! This school offers turning a regular class into an honors class.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is worth every penny! There is plenty to take advantage of if you want to and there is a true sense of community at this campus. Parking is not the best but there are shuttle vans if you don't feel like walking.

    In three sentences

    This school is perfect for anybody returning to school or just fresh out of high school. This school is excellent for getting extra free tutoring help and all the professors are underrated. Lots of them have a PhD and have taught at other Universities or have lots of life experience in their field.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are drug dealers all over the Bedford campus asking you if you want heavy drugs, I've had stuff stolen from me the security isn't trained and had to have the bedford police intervene. the students who were caught were allowed back on campus and still continue to steal from students. The head of security is very rude and belligerent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dont expect to find much

    Bang for the buck

    you dont get very much

    What to do for fun

    Get harassed by security for being on campus, spend time at a lounge you never get to use because it's being used for conferences.

    Food and Dining

    Extremely overpriced frozen food pay 6.99 for two chicken nuggets, and a dollar per utensil and 25 cents per condiment.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers that were fired from all over congest here, from highly inappropriate behaviors and comments,. To receiving unjust grades because of the professor mood. finish all your work and attend all classes and receive an F.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go somewhere else for your own good.

    In three sentences

    Constant disregard for your hard work and time put into each class, office staff who are rude and lose your information and will not help you, student advocate who will tell you to go away and that your a bother. Filthy campus with a poorly furnished building that you cant use because the security will tell you your not welcome on campus after class.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get an awesome education and you need an affordable school, go to Middlesex Community College. If you struggle at all they have free tutors to help you and there are always people around to help you. You get to meet so many different people and it is just an awesome experience for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try as hard as you can in school the better you do the better the outcome will be. This is such a wonderful school, take advantage of everything it has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Middlesex is so affordable. That is a major reason why I came to Middlesex, you get an awesome education and you save so much money! Such an awesome school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel so comfortable at Middlesex. It is a nice little campus and everything is easy to find. You meet a lot of people from all over the place too!

    Am learning a lot

    Middlesex Community College offers wonderful classes for people straight out of high school or for older people who want to go back to school and change careers. Every teacher I've had has taught me something valuable and there are great resources to make sure you do well and succeed.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their is security that periodically drives around, and they have an office that is easily accessible. The issues with them is that they don't seem to do much. The speed limit is 15 mph but people go like 30 through there and I've never seen someone get pulled over. The other issue is that they are hard to find when you need them. I thought someone had stolen from me so I went to their office but no one was there, and I couldn't find someone to help. It was all a misunderstanding, but security wasn't there when I was in need of their assistance.

    What to do for fun

    I don't know what there is to do for fun. The school plans a lot of cheap functions regularly that you can find out about by going to the Office of Student Activities. I don't know about the guys bathroom, but on the door in the girl's bathroom there is a paper that lists some of the activities going on and their times and price. The school also sends periodic emails to let the current students know what is happening in the community.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten in the cafeteria, but my friends seem to enjoy it. There are vending machines in practically every building and they have a nice variety of chips, cookies, and candy. Make sure you have coins though, because they have a tendency to be persnickety and not accept dollar bills.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms that I know of on this campus so this question is irrelevant.

    Academic Rigor

    Th academic rigor varies, depending on the class. There are some classes that are pointless and beyond easy, but there are also classes that are more on the difficult side. As long as you keep organized and do all the work you should be good.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a morning class you went to get to school before 8:30, before 8:00 would be better, to get good up close parking. I go to school 2 hours early to get a spot in the very front. The sign on the library says it opens at 8:00 but it actually opens at 7:30, so if you get there early you can go to the library and complete any homework you haven't already finished. Talk to other students about teachers they have had because some teachers are a lot better than others. No matter what classes you take, how busy your schedule is, or how prepared you think you are; the one thing I would suggest more than anything is to have and use a daily planner.

    In three sentences

    This college has a gorgeous campus. It is small and easy to navigate. And the teachers are knowledgeable in their fields of study.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The acfeteria actually has amazing food and its a great place to hangout during classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms so you're on your own for housing if you aren't from around here.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes have teachers that care and want you to do well so they push you. Others have no idea what they're doing and don't care whether you show up and do work or not. It really depends on the teacher you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what you want to do for the rest of your life, Middlesex is the place to go. If you know what you want to do, you will have an awful experience at Middlesex. They don't help much at all with any of your needs.

    In three sentences

    I am currently finishing my second semester at the Lowell campus and do not plan on returning. Middlesex in Lowell is extremely easygoing on their teacher selection so I barely learned anything in my classes. The area is also an awful area to have a school.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High school grads, full-time workers, parents and return students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Umm... None that I know of so far.

    Bang for the buck

    The pricing is a lot cheaper than other colleges in the area.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a student lounge and fitness center. Needing alone time, go for a walk along the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe on site and close to coffee shops and restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come join the fun!

    In three sentences

    Fun and diverse, just like me.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe at both campuses. The faculty has always seemed trustworthy, and it is easy to park close to the campus (at least the Bedford one) on dark nights.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs tend to have a hard time finding days to match with everyone's schedules. Besides that, the clubs are very active and enthusiastic. The clubs do not just stay behind the scenes - they often have bake sales, hand out free stuff, and make posters and such around the campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    Middlesex is great for students with jobs or otherwise just need to take their time with their degree. Many students take several years to earn their Associates Degree and Middlesex makes that very possible and easy. Middlesex is great for students who like to have the option of being very involved or minimally involved, as their schedule allows.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions that I know of with Middlesex. However, it is very welcoming and laid back. It is also nice to have a campus in Lowell and in Bedford.

    Bang for the buck

    Middlesex really delivers a lot to its students. The clubs are very active, the faculty is involved, and the bulletin boards are always full of ads for cool clubs, events, and general information. For the tuition and price of classes, Middlesex gives a lot to its students. Students can still have a well-rounded college experience with Middlesex even without living on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are an appreciable amount of events and such to attend. In Bedford, the campus has a basketball court, a courtyard where people often play volleyball, and an activity room with tabletennis, a television, and videogames. Lowell is a very fun town to be in anyways, so though it does not have the same things (at least that I know of) it is still a great campus to go to because of the city-like area it is in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is overpriced in the cafeteiras. You really pay for the convenience. However, there are healthy options and the money is worth it if you need some food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know of any dorms at Middlesex. To my knowledge, everybody at Middlesex lives off-campus. Both campuses are very accessible and easy to get to though so it is not a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers give a heavier workload than others. I had a very strenuous high school senior year and found Middlesex to be much more manageble. There was a good amount of homework altogether and you won't do well if you completely slack, but you will still be able to have a life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to arrange carpooling with classmates so you can get the carpooling lot. Also, online classes are a good option, I've found that the professors are very good with those. Also, stay organized and it will be a lot easier to keep track of everything when you're taking several classes.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex Community College has a very clean campus in both Bedford and Lowell. It has a good atmosphere and there's a lot of events to go to. It has convenient parking and the Bedford campus even has a special lot for carpoolers.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great, I have seen a few situations occur where security is always on the ball and react in amazing fashion and time. Top notch security from the security group employed at MCC

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    both clubs and activities are in great abundance at MCC and you would be hard pressed to not find something geared towards you or your interests.

    Food and Dining

    The food that I have had, although a little on the high side price wise, is still delicious and well prepared. Some things are made fresh in house while most are made from not so scratch recipes, but they are made quite well. I have yet to find something food related that I did not like from Middlesex Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Middlesex Community College is a commuter school only, Unless you are in the Connections program with UMass Lowell, then you are given UMass housing while getting the grades or classes needed to transfer into UMass Lowell.

    Academic Rigor

    The work at Middlesex should not be thought of as easy just because it is a community college. It is just the opposite. Having friends at the nearby UMass Lowell, our homework and coursework loads are rather similar in size and difficulty. This should also not discourage you, with an avg class size of 25-30 students you can always receive help and direction from your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say be sure to get involved in the Student Lounges at either campus, there are a lot of great people and students at the Lowell Student Lounge and try to get involved with a club or two. The extra events and things going on at Middlesex will be found with these two places and believe it or not even in the active Cafeterias.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex CC is great because of the amazing faculty and staff on hand, both at the Bedford campus and the Lowell campus. Middlesex CC Bedford campus is amazing because it comes complete with a fitness center, fitness trails, has a close community feel between campus buildings, and is near Route 3 in Bedford. Middlesex CC Lowell Campus is equally amazing and is set in Historic Downtown Lowell, right off of many shop and restaurant filled streets.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no one has ever gotten hurt, I have herd of one late night care break in.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of clubs, and various activities, from yoga to meditation to support and Graphic Design (FGDA!)

    Great for these types of students

    Graphic design and art students. the ramp up math is superb for those who struggled and those who just need to freshen up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are speakers that come and speak on a variety of different subjects, and the school has a sister school in cambodia whom their helping fund for musical instruments.

    Bang for the buck

    As a graphic design student having access to the mac lab and the lab techs to help me with all my projects is EXTREMELY invaluable, I've achieved so much thanks to them.

    What to do for fun

    The student lounge changes daily from video games to magic tournaments, to just hanging out and study sessions.

    Food and Dining

    small cafeteria, but nice food, and vending machines in all the buildings.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers share a passion for teaching and getting the best out of their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    arrive early, parking after 7:20 am usually means the VA lot, luckily they have a student shuttle. take advantage of the learning center and the mac lab, they are great resources!

    In three sentences

    Middlesex will work hard to help you achieve success. I have had a fun learning experience while I have been here. I feel like I've learned more than was possible.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe campus!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities for all types of students. Many people are involved in clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The lowell campus is within the city of lowell and up the street their a Dunkin Donuts

    Bang for the buck

    the school is respectively cheap

    What to do for fun

    They are always posting activities on the bulletin board and email

    Food and Dining

    food not so bad, all hand made right infront of you

    Dorm Life

    The college has two campus, Bedford and Lowell. I attend the Lowell campus and it does not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses you take

    In three sentences

    Overall is a good college. It help me defined what career I wanted to focus on and the level i want to reach. Teachers are nice and willing to help

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea

    Clubs and Activities

    quite a few.

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    its alright, you overpay a bit.

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Just hand in your work and you'll pass.

    In three sentences

    its a good school for people who don't have a lot of time for school. Classes are pretty flexible and most of the staff are good. There are a lot of good people here.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a very safe campus, we have a great security team.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm part of student government and Middlesex activity crew which are awesome clubs. Everyone is so nice and you get so much fun things and knowledges out of it.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and make friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is my favorite part of this school, they have a great variety of meals.

    Dorm Life

    We currently do not have dorms in MCC, sadly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic in MCC is very good, we have very smart and well prepared professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students are to always get all your homework done on time, make sure you always attend to class, get to know your professors and classmates and also to always study for your test.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex is a great community college. It has people from everywhere around the country, which makes it very interesting. The faculty and staff are very friendly and helpful, they are always there for you whenever you need them.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around, and they'll also do things like help you if your car breaks down.

    Greek Life

    Not really much Greek life going on here, although I think there is a phi theta kappa honors society.

    Great for these types of students

    Dual enrollment students do especially well here. All the professors love them because even though they are younger, they have a reputation for being reliable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hmm...they have a garden and a bunch of students grow veggies in the Spring. Usually a bunch of students go on a disaster relief trip during Spring break. Spring '13 they went down south somewhere, I think.

    Bang for the buck

    As a dual enrollment student (took classes here for my Junior-Senior years of high school) there was an enormous discount. Definitely a good deal! :)

    What to do for fun

    There are some good restaurants in the area, and also a lot of cool events on campus (i.e. movie nights, talent shows, game nights, contests).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is wicked expensive, and the food is so-so. Mostly burgers, fries, and vending machines. I usually bring my own lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    The class material can be challenging; it's just that most students don't even bother. If you actually do all the homework, the workload can be heavy sometimes. I've had some professors that thought their class was the ONLY one I had...but mostly it's doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    MCC is what you make of it. There are a lot of kids here who goof off, don't come to class, and never do homework. But, if you are willing to work hard, you will stand out, and do very well.

    In three sentences

    MCC has lots of great classes and professors. The students tend to be very low-motivated, but that means that students who put in effort are able to be at the top of all their classes. One negative is that parking is terrible, but as long as you come 30 minutes early, you should make it.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Can't say. I do not think there is any dorm life to speak of.

    Academic Rigor

    The school expects you to put forth as much effort as they put into you. The classes are tough but fair and you really gain a lot from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here is the best way to accomplish your desire for a four year degree without spending a small fortune. Get all of your GENED classes out of the way here at Middlesex where the teachers and staff have the time to help you complete your class in the best way for you to reach your goals. Then take these to any University to complete your four year degree and only spend two years of the high cost.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex is a great community college. It is one I should have gone through before attempting to do this on my own. The faculty and staff are truly interested in helping the student achieve their goals.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those working full time and looking not to spend a ton on school.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of great clubs you can join and they often have activities going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Never eaten on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficult!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and pass in all your assignments and you'll do great! Teachers here really want you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex is a very good school. There are a lot of opportunities for students that work full time. Online and hybrid classes are great and convenient!

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone looking for a health care degree, or complete prerequisites for a 4-year college.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around historic downtown Lowell, go out to eat, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Never had food from the school; I'm not even sure if they have a cafeteria. Located right in downtown Lowell ther are plenty of stores, restaurants, and coffee shops to grab a bite to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Fair classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books somewhere else, other than the school bookstore; you can get them for cheaper online.

    In three sentences

    Affordable classes, knowledgeable professors, and a convenient location. A great place to start off, or earn a degree from. Right in downtown Lowell.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love hanging out by the river behind the city building. Lowell is a beautiful city.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable. Unless you need to get health insurance from them because that's a hassle and it is very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    I would recommend getting involved with school activities for sure!

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe on the main floor in the City building. I usually used the vending machines but I have had a few things from the cafe. It was okay food but it is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The school doesn't offer dorms and I live in Lowell so it would make no sense to try to dorm if there was that option.

    Academic Rigor

    Middlesex classes were challenging but I did have some classes that were very easy and basic. It all depends on the specific class and professor. The hardest class I have took was Microbiology. It was very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend you go down to the school and get a tour. If you are not from the city have a school employee show you around so you can get familiar with downtown Lowell. I would also recommend getting involved with any special school clubs you are interested in. They have so many of them!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Middlesex Community College a 7 out of 10. They have small class sizes, cheaper than any university locally and convenient. I didn't like the parking situation but overall it is a great school.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. It's a cheap college so you get shitty teachers. In my case, I didn't even have real teachers. The only real teacher I had was John Smith who taught math and physics. He was the only one I learned from. He is a teacher. Let me just say I had a 4.0 all throughout high school. I've been a straight A student since I was young. When I hit this college the 'teachers' i had were so bad that for the first time I was getting B's and C's. That just goes to show you that you learn nothing in class. Reading from powerpoints is not teaching. I went to MCPHS and got my straight A's back. learned so much more than I did at middlesex by teachers who actually cared if I was understanding the material. If I made a mistake, it wasn't the end of the world. That's how middlesex's rad tech program should be.

    Food and Dining

    The food is gross.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at mcc

    Academic Rigor

    THEY WONDER WHY SO MANY STUDENTS DROP OUT OF THE PROGRAM EVERY YEAR. THIS IS WHY. WE ARE TREATED LIKE CRAP! THE SAD PART IS NO ONE FEELS LIKE THEY CAN SAY ANYTHING BECAUSE THEY THREATEN US SAYING, IT'S A SMALL WORLD IN RADIOLOGY AND EVERYONE KNOWS EVERYONE. AND IF YOU THINK ABOUT IT THEY ARE OUR REFERENCE TO GET A JOB. SO PEOPLE ARE AFRAID TO STAND UP TO THESE BULLIES. BUT I'M NOT. THE REASON WHY I AM TAKING THE TIME TO WRITE THIS REVIEW IS BECAUSE I WISH SOMEONE HAD TOLD ME THE TRUTH ABOUT IT. I WANT TO SEE THINGS CHANGE FOR THE FUTURE STUDENTS IN THIS PROGRAM. HOWEVER, AS LONG AS BILL DARMODY IS THE DIRECTOR, THE PROGRAM WILL CONTINUE TO GO DOWNHILL.

    Tips for prospective students

    I was accepted into the radiology program at middlesex and let me just say it was the worst thing I ever did in my life. I loved radiology, but was treated extremely bad by the teachers. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL TO ANYONE WHO IS LOOKING TO TAKE THE RADIOLOGY PROGRAM. The director does absolutely nothing to help you as well as the teachers if you are struggling. The teachers are not even 'teachers' all they are is Rad techs. They don't know the first thing when it comes to teaching. Not one of them has a teaching degree. If you want a real education in radiologic technology go to mass college of pharmacy and health sciences. Those are the real teachers who will help you when you're struggling and actually make a difference in your life. The 'teachers' in this program put you down constantly if you don't get things right away they will embarrass you in front of others and humiliate you in front of patients. I am so astounded that they can get away with the things they do. I hold the director accountable for this whole mess and I would hate to see anyone else go thru what I had to. SO PLEASE STAY AWAY! There are so many other schools who have this program. Save yourself the trouble, it's not worth it.

    In three sentences

    DO NOT APPLY TO THE RADIOLOGY PROGRAM AT MIDDLESEX. YOU WILL REGRET IT. I'M SPEAKING ON BEHALF OF ME AND MY CLASS.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never bought food from MCC because I always bring my own food. It's healthier :)

    Dorm Life

    I really have no say because I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what the teacher is like for your classes you are taking. Some give a lot of work and some give just the right amount.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the amount of classes you can handle. But when you are there take it seriously and honestly do your best!

    In three sentences

    Not bad, the teachers are mostly really nice. Administration is helpful. The only downfall is the financial aid counselors.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many options are the campuses. The dining areas on campus offer different types of food and have healthy options as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    At Middlesex you are challenged to do your very best and learn all there is to learn. If you are struggling the professors are more then happy to assist you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    Middlesex has great scholarship opportunities. Middlesex gives you a great education for half the price. Both campuses are clean and everyone is friendly.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its very safe at the Lowell campus the Lowell police academy is there also

    Clubs and Activities

    theirs lotts to chose from.

    Bang for the buck

    a lot cheaper the lots of colleges.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs and go out and see people

    Food and Dining

    there is several restaurants near the Lowell campus and the food is not bad from the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Changes depending on the class and the professor and there is also honers classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet a advisory to see what classes you need to take. buy you course supplies as soon as you can they get sold out quick.

    In three sentences

    It is an good school, there is two campuses one in Bedford and one in Lowell. All the people there including the professors are very helpful. there is lots of activities to do.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Much cheaper per credit than the local UMass Lowell, with learning the same information in similar classes.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities group has many fun events planned throughout the semester, so check it out.

    Food and Dining

    Food is typical cafeteria food, nothing to write home about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun, and absorb everything you can.

    In three sentences

    It is an affordable option for schooling, with a great emphasis on making the college student experience enjoyable. There is high expectations of the students, but also fun activities to help de-stress. I would recommend the college to anyone looking to take classes/pursue a degree.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The courtyard always has something going on. Whether people are playing volleyball, reading books, conversing. Also, the campus has movie nights often in the spring and summer. At the beginning of fall they throw a campus party as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has an EXCELLENT variety of delicious foods.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is small and easy to get around and MCC.

    In three sentences

    It has a great staff with many helpful and caring professors. It is a very clean, and beautiful campus. It is very exciting to attend.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, yes. There have been nights while walking to a parking garage in Lowell after class that I have felt unsafe walking alone. The garages tend to be a few blocks away and in the process of walking to them you are bypassing some interesting corners. Walk with others or avoid taking class that lets out after dark in Lowell. I have always felt safe in Bedford regardless of time and where I've parked.

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear there are a lot. I don't have time for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, students working full-time, students trying to pay as they go/ avoid taking out loans, students who learn better in smaller classroom settings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To get better parking, set classes/ first class for early morning. Bonus: due to less people, extra study time.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer scholarships and study-abroad opportunities. All of my professors have been helpful and want you to learn. They have no problem spending extra time with you and typically offer convenient office hours if not information about study sessions on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I did not do any extracurricular activities, but I hear there are plenty.

    Food and Dining

    Average price for college food. Nothing special. Save some more money by packing something yourself.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Sure

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy books from the college prior to your first day of class. From my experience not all books are always necessary and they can almost always be purchased or rented from other online resources for less.

    In three sentences

    I've had a great experience here so far as a non-traditional student. Knowledgeable and enthusiastic teachers as well as reasonable prices compared to other schools have made the past couple of years studying part time fly by.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs that go hand by hand with the students: Latinos Unidos Club The National Society of Leadership and Success Trio Program Suga Mapp African Club and so on.

    What to do for fun

    Become member of the different clubs that offer many opportunities for personal growth, leadership, socialization and so on.

    Academic Rigor

    Excelent!

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting involved on the clubs offered is important because you gain leadership, experience, and many advantages.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex Community College is a great place to start education where everyone teaches and everyone learns. This college opened the door of my future by providing me with great education. MCC a good place to start!