Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Middlesex County College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Middlesex County College is great for students who may not have graduated high schooling with a plan for the rest of their lives ready. There is really almost any class you can think of available and putting yourself into the environment is the best way to determine what you want. I left high school never wanting to go to school again and after Middlesex I have applied to a four-year University and am considering a Masters degree, in a different major than I thought I wanted when I first left high school. It is a great atmosphere in which to nurture the wandering soul.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to stay motivated. It is easy to not go to class and drop classes and stay an extra semester or a year. The biggest advantage I gave myself was take as many and all the classes I wanted. I started my first semester with five classes and continued that, also taking two summer classes and a winter class. I graduated with honors and transferred as a second-semester junior, with most of my credits accepted. MCC allowed me to get myself on track. I found a love for education at this college that I have never experienced before. It was the best decision I made for myself and I have recommended Middlesex County College to anyone considering it.

    Bang for the buck

    I was able to complete my first two years of college and graduate with an Associates degree without a penny of student loans. I have applied and been accepted to a private four year school, which are infamously expensive, and I am proud to say that I will graduate that with half the loans of my fellow students because I chose to attend MCC first. Also, because it is a highly accredited school, I was thrilled to find out that over 65 of my credits transferred, even though this university is private and out-of-state. That is very impressive and should show the high quality education you can receive in a smaller intimate setting, and for a fraction of the price.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed my time here because I found motivation that I had not previously seen in myself. I was surrounded by a wide variety of people and so I was able to realize that there were definitely more types of students than myself in the world. As an art major, I really got to know the faculty well and they were very helpful in my progress as a student. I also found that there were really incredible professors in every department because I took full advantage of the vast options of courses available.

    Did learn a lot

    I definitely feel that I learned a lot at MCC. I enrolled right after high school and it allowed me to really find my learning style which I had not thoroughly established in high school. My GPA almost doubled from that with which I graduated high school. I feel that I not only learned academically but the professors and counselors helped me learn things about myself that I needed to discover. Things like why was I really there and was did I expect from myself. I would never have done it and graduated in two years without the help of the MCC faculty and guidance staff.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if your the type of student that's not sure where to go or what you'd like to be in life yet, this college is best for you.why? because mcc provides great classes that may help you understand, how to run your own business. how to teach people how to enjoy the arts of photography,dance and theatre. and if your the type of student that has an idea of what you would like to do,then college life becomes slightly easier and less expensive.

    Food and Dining

    honestly... the food is not bad. deli sandwhiches and hot cooked meals. but i would bring my own food from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    for future students, do not be afraid to ask questions in and out of class. make use of the tutoring center, free library and extra professor assistance. #1 thing, this is your education, not your friends,not your parents or significant lover. this is your education and its important to recognize that. no one said college is easy; with hard work and the developed discipline,you can do anything you put your mind to...never forget that. love yourself enough to stay that you can do better for you and your future. -walia :)

    In three sentences

    4.5 out of 5 the best,best county college in new jersey.this college makes it their priority that every student seeks or have a chance at success. great resources such as, tutors and academic advisers.success can be achieved and at mcc they make sure you finish strong !

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a great deal of security on the campus as well as phones in the parking lots in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Middlesex has many opportunities to join clubs and participate in free classes and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a great value at only $109.00 a credit for in county residents.

    What to do for fun

    Middlesex has many activities and clubs that individuals can participate in for fun. In addition, they offer a large library with plenty of computers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is top quality and the restaurant is very pleasant to look at.

    Dorm Life

    Middlesex county college does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school can be viewed as difficult when compared to other county colleges, but it does a great job of preparing students for their undergraduate and graduate education as well as for the working world.

    Tips for prospective students

    All health technology applicants should apply early and get all required documents to admissions as early as possible to ease stress and have a better chance of being accepted to your program of choice.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex is a great school with top quality professors. Tuition is low priced for high quality education. In addition, the campus is very safe.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I go to school at various times of the evening and school saftey drives around often. Most people are going about their own business. I am very petite and I feel completely safe at Middlesex County College.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all students; Non-traditional and traditional alike; with various ethnicities you will never feel left out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    I personally use all the school has to offer. When I have to print out my paper, I bring my flash drive to their center and print out my documents. I use their computers and libraries when on campus instead of going to my local library. I go to tutoring anytime I need to, which is weekly so I can learn if things seem complicated.

    What to do for fun

    I personally haven't joined in any clubs, my main focus is school. I learn for fun, but when I do get a chance I am going to join something.

    Food and Dining

    Subways, muscle grill maker type restaurant, and Chinese. otherwise school cafeteria anyone?

    Dorm Life

    What Dorm? No dorms here that I see.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't been in school for a while so this was all new to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make time to study. School isn't just about the hours you spend in school, it is also about the time you make to study to keep your grades up.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College gets 5 stars from me. The courses are tough, but the school offers a variety of additional help for students who are in need. The teachers are knowledgeable and always ready to guide you in the right direction.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students majoring in accounting and business, it is important to do internships.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very important to complete all home work and class work. It looks very well on college transcripts to join on-campus clubs.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well there are many clubs, though most are not functional.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know i don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books somewhere else!

    In three sentences

    I love the school but the teacher can be extremely rude at times and the book are too expensive.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus police all over.

    Great for these types of students

    independent students. those who don't know what they want.

    Bang for the buck

    great value! i finished without any student loans.

    What to do for fun

    there are several clubs and activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    food is ok nothing crazy

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes can be extremely easy while others are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you see an advisor before, selecting classes. you might be taking classes that will not transfer to other schools.

    In three sentences

    middlesex allows students the opportunity to really find out what they want to do. the classes are small which allows the teachers to give more time to students.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a police station on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club fair Fall semester so there's a TON of clubs to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    I haven't had to take out any loans which shows how affordable the college is.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take and the amount of classes you take determine how much work load you get. But the professor are great and give you a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick classes in advanced and don't wait until the last minute or they will fill up.

    In three sentences

    Most classes have a maximum of size of 34 students but most classes have about 25 students in them. The college is generally small but has a lot to offer. Over all it's an awesome 2 year college compared to some out there.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many police officers present on campus. The police are seen and respected. The officers assure campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs include a range from Photography, College New Paper (Quo Vadis) Gay Alliance( Rainbow Coalition), Student affairs and government to the EOF (Educational Opportunity Funding) Club.

    Great for these types of students

    The Business students would enjoy the lectures of many professors from the Business, Accounting and Legal Studies department. The professors in those departments know tons about the business would because they are or have been a part of it. I have had a Certified Public Accountant and small business owners as professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual part of campus would be Rartain Hall which is where the English department is located. The building is an old structure, it is primarily a basement, the numbering on the rooms are not in any type of order therefore it is like a maze in there. The elevator also takes a long time, avoid using it.

    Bang for the buck

    Middlesex County College also has a partnership with colleges and Universities that enable you to complete a B.A in some degree areas.

    What to do for fun

    There are normally really good movies that are being played in the Student Center.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is not the best, but the food is really good. The food offered is delicious but not to much is offered on the menu.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered are satisfactory and will provide you with a lot of knowledge if you are registered for a good professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to study for the placement exam. Studying for the entrance exam will help avoid placement into remedial courses which are not counted as credits toward a degree or in the cumulative GPA. Check the professor you register for at ratemyprofessors.com

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College is one of the top leading community colleges in New Jersey as it offers up to par faculty in financial aid services, instructing, subject departments and academic advising. Middlesex is a good place to start if you are looking to transfer because it offers a more affordable education in obtainment of an associate degree. Middlesex over all is a great college that has had many success stories and many more success stories to come!

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There is a colourful array of students from around Edison that will meet up in the parking lots or benches after class. I will always see familiar faces.

    Food and Dining

    Affordable food and vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    I am given the work I need to pass. That's all I need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never back down from a grade that rubs you the wrong way. Fight for your education; You are the one in control now!

    In three sentences

    An affordable way for students to start their secondary education. Allows for students to decide on their intended major. Middlesex is flexible in schedule and open for students to learn about themselves.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are some activities

    Great for these types of students

    The college has different association for student like Asian or Indian students.

    What to do for fun

    I College Center building there are always activities such as movies, concert, speeches, art performance, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to get all information about the placement test, how to get high score and how to used it in order to have more progress in the next courses.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College has programs that help students in performing better grades and also, help them to be success in college and made the transfer process easier.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safety. No complaints at all.

    Great for these types of students

    Its a great place for those students who are still wondering where to go. Its a perfect start for your future academics.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around, you will find something to do. The Theater department is a must see and it would sure entertain you.

    Food and Dining

    Its decent, but would like more of a variety.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college. Efficient and helpful for those who need financial help. Awesome place to start.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus police all over. No complaints at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some different types of club's such as asian club. ESL club , Math club and so on.

    Great for these types of students

    Whoes parents has low income. Who is studying by him/her self. and wants better educaton.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we usually stay in the IRC building vending machine area

    Bang for the buck

    This college costs only around 102/credit for in county residents. Don't need to keep your self busy for working and you can study at an affordable priced classes.

    What to do for fun

    we have different playgrounds for sports, but I like to play tennis . so my friends always can find me there.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good. Affordable food and vending machines. I usually eat my lunch in the college cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm, so I don't have any idea about it.

    Academic Rigor

    This school can be viewed as difficult when compared to other university colleges. But it does a great job of preparing students for their undergraduate and graduate education and for their life.

    Tips for prospective students

    first of all get all information about the placement test, how to get high score.Pick classes in advanced and don't wait until the last minute or they will fill up.make sure you see an advisor before, selecting classes. you might be taking classes that will not transfer to other schools.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex is a great school with active professors. Tuition fees are low priced than any other colleges or universities for high quality education. In addition, the campus is very clean.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student!! I'd say especially for someone who isn't sure what they want to do yet. You're able to get a taste of things and find out what you like.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously, being a county college, it is a way cheaper option. But the great education you get for the low cost that you pay is a pretty sweet deal.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't eat at the school too often, but when I did, I was always surprised by how good it was. They don't have any big brand name restaurant type food, but what they have is good. What's cool though is that most of the food is made by the culinary students.

    Dorm Life

    MCC doesn't have any dorms, as of right now. I heard word on the street that they might be building some in the future, but that's really just a rumor.

    Academic Rigor

    When I first started, I had the idea of 13th grade in my head. What kind of education can you get at a county college, right? But I was totally wrong. MCC has a lot of great professors in all different areas of study, all of whom are willing to work with you and make sure you succeed.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would give a prospective student is go to the various workshops and orientations Middlesex has because, they want to help you succeed and they offer various things. Everyone should definitely take advantage of everything.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex Community College offers more degrees then other community colleges I have looked at. The campus is a beautiful sight and has the feeling of a 4 year school. I am very excited to start working on my degree because, all I have heard was great things about the various teachers.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College is a well organized college which helps students in their educational needs. Professors are well prepared and professional. Middlesex is a great option if you are planning to transfer to a four year institution.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not really know how the clubs are but I have been to the gym numerous times. Great gym, great racquet ball court, large pool.

    Bang for the buck

    Credits are credits. You can meet with an advisor to make sure the classes you're enrolling into transfer over to the university you plan on attending. Most credits transfer to Rutgers. If you take summer classes make sure you check if your university accepts those credits!!! Some four year schools will not accept 4 week summer courses in math or science.

    What to do for fun

    Racquetball, swimming, tennis, basketball.

    Food and Dining

    It's average.

    Dorm Life

    I guess I'll give this one star considering there are no dorms on campus. It's a county college!

    Academic Rigor

    I've had incredibly hard and rigorous classes and I've also had joke classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you must go to financial aid, get it done way before the semester starts otherwise you will wait hours. Use rate my professor to find the excellent professors and trust the site when it says the professor is not good!!!

    In three sentences

    There are some really great professors and classes here. The good classes with great professors fill up fast and the wait in financial aid is typically hours long.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    Not very healthy foods

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take college serious if you want to transfer to a 4 year.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College has a very clean campus. Middlesex County College has many opportunities for students to succeed. Middlesex County College has smaller classes for more personal attention.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College is one of the top county colleges around the New Jersey. It is surrounded by a great environment of Edison residents. Anyone can get their degree here without any circumstances.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe! There is a police station on campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many popular clubs on campus but the few that seem to be very entertaining are the biology club(fun field trips), Italian club (they study abroad every other year), and hip hop dance club. The acting drama portion seems to be very entertaining as well since they hold shows once or twice per semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Middlesex County College is very cheap and it will decrease your college debt considerably if you intend on going to a four year university. So save up!

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs for fun MCC has many clubs ranging from photography to martial arts.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is in the college center across the street from the Blue Colt book store. There is a salad bar, and other hot foods such as chicken, samosas, cheese macaroni, and nachos. If you want meals such as cheeseburgers, fries, or cheese-steaks there is an ordering area. If you choose to get subs instead there is an area with pre-packaged subs and an area where someone can make you a customized fresh sub. I recommend the samosas, cheese fries, and all the breakfast foods (they serve breakfast from 8-11 A.M.)

    Dorm Life

    No dorms it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It is relatively easy so long as all your work is completed in a timely fashion. Some professors provide lots of work and others only give 4 or so tests throughout the semester, which means that you must do well on those tests to succeed in the class. You should always read the syllabi and even go to a site known as ratemyprofessor.com to see what the professor ratings are so you could have a good semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not miss any assignments. Most professors are also not very lenient and do not give many assignments. Since there are fewer assignments they weigh more on your final grade. Remember, always refer to the syllabi, and if you have any questions ask the professors or go to there office hours if they have them.

    In three sentences

    The school is very small. As a result of this students get lots of one on one attention - but that's only if they seek it out.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always patrol cars going around so there is a high sense of safety while on campus

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of education you can't go wrong

    What to do for fun

    The college center is always doing things with students and there are a lot of clubs too.

    Food and Dining

    The college center does have many varieties of things to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    They put you to the test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because this is a community college, doesn't mean you don't have much work to do. There is a lot of things to study for.

    In three sentences

    The college is fairly close to where I live. Everything is easy to get to, and the staff is helpful. If there are any issues, professors will stay and help as much as they can.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Middlesex County College offers a variety of clubs and activities for students to be involved in. At the beginning of each semester they have an activities fair where students have the opportunity to meet and speak with clubs that they have interest in. They also have a range of sports students are given the opportunity to try out for.

    Food and Dining

    They cafateria food is excellent at Middlesex County College. Each day it is freshly prepared for the students. There are many options one has in food selection.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Middlesex County College, so everyone commutes. Though this is a commuting college they make it so that parking is not awful and unorganized. There is always campus police making sure that traffic to parking lots is not next to impossible.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Middlesex County College try their best to help you prepare for a. the real world and b. if planning to attend a university, what to expect and how to be prepared for it. The lectures are just like any university lecture is. The test, quizzes, and papers that are assigned here help challenge ones self to strive for the A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not look at this as just a county college, Middlesex County College has a lot to offer. The classes that are given here are the same classes that one would take if attending a university. Look at this as an opportunity to be ahead of students attending a university that take it for granted.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College is a good stepping stone for any student that is graduating high school an is not sure what he/ or she wants to do for the rest of their lives. It offers many majors, and have excellent academic advisors that are willing to help students find the right one for them. It also helps prepare students know what to expect when and if they decide to transfer to a university.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    save your money, watch your tuiotion, engage with teachers and other students

    In three sentences

    Helpgul, engaging, great first step

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well, I wasn't able to participate in after school activities due too my work schedule. If I was able too I would have been apart of Fashion Club

    Food and Dining

    I normally ate at home

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, I wish they had dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing in the life is easy and neither us work at MCC. work hard and stay focus and you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    spend as much time as possible in the library. Don't rush take your time, we all move at differently. Find a advisor that you like and stick with it .

    In three sentences

    I think that Middlesex is a great school with professor who are there too help student. I have had good time and bad at MCC but its what you make it. I learn a lot of academic material but I also learned who I am .

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station right next to the campus to assure the safety of the students at MCC. In every parking lot there is a call box in which individuals can page the station and they can be there within seconds.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek life at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities and clubs for the interests of students. For example, there are clubs for anime lovers, students interested in psychology, even clubs aimed for the coexistence of gay, straight and lesbian societies. There is also a student to student tutoring center right on campus for many of the classes available here.

    Great for these types of students

    Individuals that are trying to figure out their options are more than welcome here. There are guidance counselors aimed for transfer students as well as those who may not know what they would like to do yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Each individual that attends this college will be able to have a payment plan for their semester with or without the help of financial aid. Fortunately I was able to receive my associate's degree without having much debt. Even after switching majors one year in, I was still able to get the education I needed without having to sell limbs. I have learned it is okay to go to a community college first, I needed to figure out all of my many options.

    What to do for fun

    There is a substantial amount of activities to do at Middlesex County College. MCC offers many after class clubs, movie nights in the cafeteria and as well as an activity fair every semester.

    Food and Dining

    There are two different dining areas where students can get breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Students can have a fresh breakfast with bagels and omelets even a fresh fruit bar. Soup is served every day hot accompanies with assorted beverages and coffees as well as snacks. There are also vending machines in every building on campus for in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there is no form of dorm life at Middlesex County College.

    Academic Rigor

    Every professor has their own way of teaching. Syllabi are a great way of keeping track of what is needed in each class as well as what to expect early on. Many professors tell you the first week what they expect; by week five you already know whether you will pass or fail or if you need some extra help from the tutoring center available on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students unsure of what they want to major in should start off here. It is inexpensive compared to diving into a university and very helpful. Small classes are always the case here where students can have open communication with the professors and other students.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College offers many different majors, classes and programs. Here, students are never numbers and can have relationships with their professors to help their progress in education. Every individual at MCC is seen as someone who will one day do something great; my experience here has been a memorable one for me.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not only is Middlesex a smoke-free campus but campus police are always on the lookout. I have never heard about or seen any problems so MCC police do their job effectively.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Middlesex doesn't offer much but what they have many kids take advantage of.

    Great for these types of students

    Middlesex is great for students that want to stay close to home or want to pay less money their first couple years of college.

    Bang for the buck

    Middlesex is cheap credits but a great education.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best but there are places off campus that are quite appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Middlesex is a great academic county college and prepares you for the next step.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate community college, it might be smaller but it is still a challenge. Also, pace yourself with your work. Don't let it pile up and cause stress.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex is a great step to take out of high school. The professors are very helpful and dedicated. The school is supportive and helps you move forward in your future.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take volleyball/tennis class, was fun for me

    Dorm Life

    I don't live there.

    Academic Rigor

    Do all your hw and study, there is no reason why you won't get a B-A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time picking professors, it matters.

    In three sentences

    Many good professors here, a few bad ones. Website is easy to use; easy to pick your classes. I would like this college better if they allowed us use the gym for basketball more. (They currently only allow it for 1 hour Tues and Thurs 11-12 and somtimes its even closed on those days, can't see why they can't just leave it open all day everyday)

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With the security of on-campus officers Middlesex County College ensures Safety for every student.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the Fashion Club , it has been a great experience interacting with a group of individuals who all have a unique sense of fashion and individuality. During fall and spring semester we put on a fashion show inviting students, faculty, family, and friends. It is a great opportunity to engage everyone and display the latest trends on the runway. Fashion Club has been a great way for me to get to know a variety of people on campus. I have established great friendships, help to build self confidence among my peers, and I have also been exposed to various opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    Middlesex County College is a great choice if your looking to reduce the cost of higher education. The professors are reasonable and the courses are very in depth to ensure each student meets standard. There is a variety of assistance on campus to provide guidance and a great experience.

    Food and Dining

    Our Chefs do an awesome job with the meals available to the students. the are a variety of choices to suit every individuals appetite.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many enter a Community college with an undeclared major. I believe that it is best to find a field that may interest you to prevent taking random courses and wasting money.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    Because of my work schedule, I was unable to join any clubs or activities

    What to do for fun

    Play sports . I personally enjoy reading, so I spent a lot of time in the library.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food was pretty desent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but doable

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class, and do your homework.

    In three sentences

    As an older student, I found all the professors to be most helpful. Whenever the work became challenging because I also work fulltime, I got a lot of help.I never missed a class, and no matter how tired I was I always did my home work.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is patrolled by security during all hours of operation. The crime rate on campus is extremely low.

    Clubs and Activities

    Personally, I was not involved in many activities on campus, but there are quite a few clubs to choose from. These clubs range from academic to extracurricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Middlesex is great for students who require flexible school schedules. They provide classes on weekends/evenings/online during the fall and spring semester. Over the summer, they provide a wide selection of courses during the morning or evening.

    Bang for the buck

    Middlesex allows students to complete the first 2 years of a bachelor's degree at a fraction of the cost. While buying books from the on-campus bookstore is a bit pricey, try Amazon or Ebay to save a few bucks!

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus, but there are quite a few restaurants and malls in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides a variety of different foods. There's grab and go foods (yogurt and wrapped sandwiches) or even hot meals (burgers and omelets). Overall, the food is quite good, but it is the only eatery on campus and seating is limited.

    Dorm Life

    On campus living facilities are only available for international students.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of each course varies based on subject, course level, and the professor. Most professors are very helpful, but if you find yourself still struggling, there's plenty of tutoring services available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep up with your advisor and find out exactly what you need to do to graduate in 2 years. Most students take courses over the summer or winter semester to graduate on time. Also, be sure to arrive early on campus since parking can be a hassle!

    In three sentences

    Middlesex provides an environment where students can complete 2 years of their education, while keeping college costs at a minimum. Sometimes it is difficult to obtain information regarding transcripts/course selection, but be sure to be persistent and ask as many questions as possible. Finally, even through it is a community college, be sure to take your education seriously!

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police all around as well as school security

    Great for these types of students

    learning center very helpful

    Bang for the buck

    great way to get educated

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria has pretty decent food at good prices

    Dorm Life

    no dorming

    Academic Rigor

    if you put effort in--it will pay off

    Tips for prospective students

    learn your way around since campus is a little confusing at first

    In three sentences

    good education,,excellent caring professors,great environment

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and things to get involved in, looking for fun will not be a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the school and others you are interested in, then visit the school to see which one is best for you.

    In three sentences

    All in all this school is great! Especially if you have not decided exactly what your major is. It is cheap and extremely convenient.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a consistent security presence. I have never felt insecure at any point during my time at Middlesex County College. I have attended the school both very early in the morning and late at night(9:00pm+) and I have never once been concerned for my safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I have not participated in any clubs or activities I know that they are very good. My brother joined the Blue Colt radio club and has been working with them for over a year. He has a great time doing working with them and would recommend that people try to join a club that suits them to get a better experience out of the school.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people new to college life and for someone who is paying for school themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely worth the money. The classes are challenging but not overwhelming. They schedule is varied. It is very affordable to just about anyone. I am personally able to afford the school by working a part time job. The school is very clean and is constantly being upgraded. It also has a very nice job search program. I have been set up with 3 interviews in my field of study by signing into the program. The school also has lots of advancement opportunity and works closely with other state schools and universities such as NJIT and Rutgers University. It is an great entry level school and really gives you the opportunity to plan out your future.

    What to do for fun

    There are a great number of school activities available to everyone. There are many clubs and they often do shows at the Arts Center.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a cafeteria in the middle of the campus. It provides all sorts of food such as hamburgers, pizzas, salads, wraps, and other assortments of food. The dining hall is a typical high school cafeteria set up.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are located nearby the school but I have not used them personally so I can not say much about them.

    Academic Rigor

    The school provides some challenge but so far it has been nothing overwhelming. Most of the difficulty comes from dealing with multiple classes. Each class on its own is nothing to rough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to schedule for classes as early as possible. Many of the classes for the more popular majors get filled up within days. This can greatly hinder your progress to getting your degree.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex Country College is a great school to start with. It provides that enjoyable college experience while being very affordable at the same time. The classes are varied which allow for people of all fields to jump in.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you have a break between your class there are many stores around this area to go to. There are two malls about a 10 minute driving distance from this college.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options on where to get a snack or a meal from on this campus and around.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in Middlesex County College!

    Academic Rigor

    You must study for all your classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Before taking your college placement test, study for it! If you need help or have questions about certain situations, go to the ton of resources available on campus. Be active, participate in many different clubs and get involved!

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College, was a great start for my foundation as a successful college student. I would give Middlesex a 10 out of 10 for all the resources that are available on campus. Another reason for a perfect score, because of inexpensive tuition!

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Best campus for a safety perspective. There police is always on campus for any help or emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have number of clubs for all kind of students with great opportunity to be explored.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious and made by the best gourmet.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources and help from the faculty & staff.

    In three sentences

    The best academic resources. It has more opportunities for everyone for building bright future. Provides outstanding activities along with education.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    High.

    Bang for the buck

    It's quite expensive for a community college.

    Food and Dining

    Basic cafeteria with vending machines everywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on teachers. Some are really tough and some are pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for everything early.

    In three sentences

    In campus size it is excellent because you can get anywhere in ten minutes walking. You can create your class scheduled online and do not have to make an appointment to do so as long as you know which classes you need to take.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is beautiful but somewhat confusing. WHY are some of the buildings named similarly? That is not helpful to a new student. No, the map was not anymore clear than the directions given by the staff, however a student (who was in their 3rd year) was able to give accurate directions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There seems to be a slight lack of the ability to offer accurate information. People could not direct me to parking that was valid for visitors. I was lost looking for parking and I did not see any security anywhere to aid me in my search. I saw security in the buildings only.

    Food and Dining

    While waiting to be assisted and visiting the campus I ate. The food is fine.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems ok. I hear from friends that there is somewhat of a challenge offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all the admission and registration information before beginning. The will take you in what seems to be a thousand directions before allowing you to register and make a schedule.

    In three sentences

    The admission process is very complex and inconvenient for new young adult students. The process seems to be somewhat unfair for young adults with lives. It is a turnoff and if it wasn't for location I'd probably stop the attempts.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a wide variety of goods. I like the fact that they offer lots of healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    Middlesex County College doesn't have dorms, I wish.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students would be to manage their time wisely, because we come from high school a time where maybe we weren't so on top of finals, papers do, assignments do, etc. We might lack time management and one low grade can affect the final grade which will lower your GPA. Other then that, just stay on top of your work and don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County College is a great place to get started as a college student. I feel like the cost of tuition is affordable for must. For some like myself financial aid is very useful, the financial aid staff is very helpful when one has questions or doubt. I love that the size of the classes are average ranging in between 20 to 30 students, it gives us as students the opportunity to get involved as well as a chance to interact personally with the teachers. Teachers are understanding for the must part and they're very helpful in clearing any doubts one has.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For as cheap as Middlesex is it is a perfect start for anyone who is looking to further their schooling.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do there for fun unless you want to swim, weight lift, or go to the basketball court to play ball.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Middlesex could be a bit better. I found some of the food not as good as it should be.

    Dorm Life

    You can not dorm there.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise the school has some great professors if you can find the right ones to teach you. Some professors you have to watch out for otherwise you will have to teach yourself everything you need to know. The tutoring center should be your second choice of help if a teacher is not willing to help. Many tutors are there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Use Ratemyprofessor.com -Make sure you study hard for all test. - Ask you advisor about anything that is bothering you as far as professors or degrees are involved. -Go to the tutoring center if your teacher is not giving you the help you need. - Make sure you take classes that will transfer to your next college. Stay in contact with your next school.

    In three sentences

    I would give Middlesex County College a 7 out of 10 as my rating. The reason for the rating is because some professors are not willing to help out as much as they should be. Otherwise the school in general is not as bad if you fine the right professors to teach you.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Making friends is always a good choice, Signing up for clubs is also a good idea.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any college, put your best foot forward and aim to do well in your classes.

    In three sentences

    Classes are small sized. Very diverse community. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria sucks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Not as easy as the people who make fun of community college want you to think. Teachers are serious about the work you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wait to buy your textbooks!!

    In three sentences

    I surprisingly have found myself very happy with my time at Middlesex. It's a little bit quirky, but also small and homey. On a nice spring day walking to class is the best part of my day.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theres not many crimes committed on campus. Also the campus police really just let you do your own thing considering mostly all of students are commuters. When you do need the police they are willing to help you out to the best of your ability.

    Greek Life

    There is none

    Clubs and Activities

    We have like a little carnival where students can sign up for clubs. I personally chose not to join any but its nice the school gives you that option.

    Great for these types of students

    Its very down to earth type of students. I met many inspiring people during my two years here.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are worried about wasting money because you are unaware what you want to do with your life then MCC is the best place to start. Its a good place to get what you need to get done & transfer out.

    Food and Dining

    Food is available but I do not think it is worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Most students are commuters

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just attend class & you will get what you worked for. Its just that simple. You get what you earned.

    In three sentences

    Going to Middlesex County College was an eye opening experience. I truly feel that this school gave me the confidence to believe in myself. If I could restart I would definitely go to MCC.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see Campus police cars/ people and other campus staff in golf carts everywhere I go on campus and at night there are many street lamps to light the area, I feel pretty darn safe here!

    Clubs and Activities

    ~Think of something you're interested in and they probably have a club for it, if not, you are free to start your own! ~Sometimes there are free art exhibits and other free special events with free refreshments for the people who attend. Go. The food is good, the people are interesting and whatever is on display is usually pretty cool. What better way to procrastinate?

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for EVERYONE! Whether you aren't sure what you want to be when you grow up or if you have a very detailed plan, Middlesex is and excellent stepping-stone to your success in life. Also, if you were a loner through high school, you might just find yourself opening up a bit due to how friendly the students and even most of the staff are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is my first year here, but as far as interesting locations on campus...you eventually find your own nook that suits you well. I have a few places I like to sit and work on some things, eat, maybe catch up with a friend, or just people watch. One of my places in the downstairs of the Johnson Learning Center: There are a few small tables next to a huge window that looks out at the ivy crawling up the walls leading to the above wall area, it looks beautiful in the morning with the light fog over it.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus has grown into something wonderful and it feels like more than just a small community college it definitely has the feel of a larger, bustling college/university! Plus, everyone is so nice and friendly!

    What to do for fun

    ~One day, when you aren't in a rush, you need to just go into the Blue Colt Bookstore and simply browse everything in there. They have such an array of things in there that you might not expect. Everything from Burt's Bees shampoo for home to textbooks you need for class! ~I also like to go to the opening nights/days of art exhibits. I'm not sure if I go more for the yummy food or for the art...but it sure is a good time, especially if you bring a friend along!

    Food and Dining

    I typically bring my own food because it is cost effective but they do have a pretty decent dining area with a bunch of choices. There are also vending machine scattered around campus that operate 24/7, in places like the library, College Center, Edison hall, Main Hall--EVERYWHERE! And the Blue Colt Bookstore has some food you can heat up in their microwave as well as other snacks to fill your study-break cravings.

    Dorm Life

    Ahhhh nothing like commuting from home! ;)

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what professor you get! I would highly recommend searching professors online to see what past students specifically say about them, try RateMyProfessor.com! You could always do it the old fashioned way and ask around for opinions on professors too!

    Tips for prospective students

    ~There are ways to maximize what you get out of college without totally wringing out your wallet; to save on book costs for instance I bought my books online and if I could, I bought the e-book which saved me at the very LEAST $30 on each book. And some websites offer you the books for rent (sometimes you can rent e-books), which is a good idea if the price is right and you don't plan on using the particular book after this class. Don't be afraid to buy used, or ask around, chances are someone knows someone who has what you need! ~The book store has a buy-back program but I've heard they don't pay much...which sort of makes sense, since they still need to make a profit; you'll be better off reselling your books online directly to someone who wants it.

    In three sentences

    I great place to start out, it is full of friendly people and lots of opportunity. Middlesex is the best place I know to get a quality education for a great price. :)

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrol constantly and police reports are public-domain, posted on the campus website. If you need a ride to your car after dark or a jump for your dead battery, they are there for you to call and will be there in a timely manner.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theater, Dance ensemble, Cooking, Catholic, Hindu, School Newspaper- just to name a few!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, willing to learn, financial disability, wanting a taste of college-life, getting used to a college-workload

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a really cool abandoned building by the campus entrance where the old studio theater used to be called the Barn- it's really eerie but awesome to look at when you drive by. there is also a small wildlife preserve on campus- but watch for pedestrians! You will sometimes find deer and other wild animals crossing the roads.

    Bang for the buck

    You will receive a top-notch education in one of the top-100 community colleges in the United States and feel more than prepared to move on to your next educational endeavor.

    What to do for fun

    Drop by the theater and check for upcoming shows put on by the theater department or rentals using the state-of-the-art performing arts center! You can also check student activities for the many field trips, on-campus movie screenings, and various parties by clubs and organizations. There are also flexible library hours and plenty of tutoring time available.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't terrible if you are in a bind, but I would recommend that you plan ahead and bring your own food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms! Commute-only.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Middlesex County College are not difficult as long as you do your assignments and come to class. The professors try hard to make lectures easy to understand for all the students in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take your time at Middlesex County College for granted! It's a great place to get your feet on the ground and to get a fantastic education, and there are so many extra-curricular activities to take advantage that would help you find yourself and also look great on a transfer application.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex County college is a great choice for students who plan to go to a 4-year school but want to get a head start on their core requirements while saving a whole lot of money at the same time. It is also great if you are looking to earn just your associates, or a certificate in many categories such as Culinary Arts or Computer Programming. Overall, whatever your reason for choosing MCC, the high value of the education you will receive will far outweigh whatever cost you will have to pay.