Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Midland College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Although Midland is not the most exciting town in the world, it is perfect for students coming straight out of high school. It is not overwhelming in regard to size or pressure. But it does challenge students to go the extra mile and to be the best student they can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most impacting suggestion I give to current and potential students at any college is to develop sufficient study habits and to go to class. Everyone is different which means everyone learns differently. Find your study niche and stick to it! Also, go to class even if it means showing up in your pajamas!

    Bang for the buck

    Midland College is, for now, a community college. While tuition may not exceed that of a four year university, the textbooks, room, and board definitely add up. I believe I paid a fair amount for the education I have received. I wish to attend a four year university that will best prepare me in my field of study and do not want financial difficulties to stand in the way of a promising future.

    Am enjoying being here

    Midland College is an incredible academic institution. It's learning environment invites students to learn and encourages them to succeed. Although I am excited to continue my education elsewhere, I will miss Midland College's friendly and familiar campus.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors are extremely educated and very successful. They have so much to bring to the table. They're teaching styles and personalities are all noticeably different; I've learned so much these past semesters. I feel more than prepared in my field of study and I am excited to continue my education.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the cops are overbearing, power hungry, and mostly just complete jerks.

    Greek Life

    have not participated.

    Clubs and Activities

    have not been part of any at this particular school.

    Great for these types of students

    its a good environment for most people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not too many traditions at this small school. the sports teams are very important to the administration for publicity however most of the student body is indifferent.

    Bang for the buck

    the prices are starting to be raised and it is not quite as good of a value. they try to charge you for everything possible. however if you can get a local scholarship its not that bad of a deal.

    What to do for fun

    all in all the only things to do that are actually on the campus are workout, play tennis, play volleyball, play basketball or study.

    Food and Dining

    for around three dollars you can get a very nice meal from the on campus cafeteria. not a bad deal at all!

    Dorm Life

    i did not live in the dorms so i do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    for the most part the classes are not incredibly challenging, but present just the right amount of mental strain. this is exactly how it should be at a junior or community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely knock out your basics here; it is a good environment with fairly easy classes. the geology department is especially good and the entry level classes are easy a's. do not try to approach dean morris for any help; he treats students as if they were trash.

    In three sentences

    the campus is overall a very nice and well kept piece of land. the majority of the staff is very caring and actually wants to help. there is quite a bit of inter departmental politics; the deans are not generally willing to spend time helping students.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small college a lot of security, good to go.

    What to do for fun

    Just study and exercise like running and walking to cool off from studying.

    Food and Dining

    Have a lot of the same meals every month. Thank goodness for the choices they give us to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    IIt can be very quiet during the day, but extra loud at night. With everyone running in the hallways and not. Small dorm rooms, but at least they have the separate bathroom in the dorm room, which is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly well teaching teachers.

    In three sentences

    I like Midland College. Their a simple quiet college.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Volleyball court in front of the dorms are always a cool spot to hangout.

    Food and Dining

    Bland.

    Dorm Life

    Boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very careful about who you choose for your math professor. While some are really nice and easy to understand, others will belittle you in front of the class for asking a simple question.

    In three sentences

    Performance arts is outstanding. Math department is lacking big time. Overall, an okay campus.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you decide before you attend where you would like to transfer so you do not take the wrong classes or classes that aren't needed!

    In three sentences

    It is a good community college to attend. The organization of the college as far as helping students transfer is not ran very smoothly. I have had an overall good experience.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Worst thing that happend here is a parking violation. There are rough neighborhoods within the community but they pretty far away. Even then, all one has to do is mind thier P's and Q's

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is shot. There is only Phi Theta Kappa and that is it. For those interested in this area, Midland College needs improvement.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are few. They do have sports events, intramurals, and student government but that's about it. A lot of activities are actually inside the community.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those beginning college or taking little extra classes to further education. It sort of provides a home base for moving off to another school and earning various small degrees. it also helps build a strong academic background

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus in a large part does not have very many traditions. They engage in anything that comes of interest. The only pet peeve is do not step on to the lawn.

    Bang for the buck

    The community at large is very friendly. Many famous individuals from across the nation have praised it's people for thier hospitality. Many people around are always willing to lend help.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there is a game room and a gymnasium. However, around the city, there's movies, bowling, and a mall which can be accessed pretty quickly. At night, various music venues offer a night life that is pretty safe and still fun to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is good. They have a well equipped salad and sandwiche bar and two different lines for cooked meals. Perfectly fit for those who choose to stay healthy and still have taste

    Dorm Life

    This will be my first year in the actual dorms but I heard living in them was alright. I took a tour and the actual room is not spectacular. However, with a few personal touches, they would probably be better

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not extremely difficult but studing is required. Missing just a little information can really mess up your grade. They also have courses from other universities on campus for those pursueing a transfer

    Tips for prospective students

    Your Syllabus for your class will contian everything you need to know so you can gain help and plan ahead. Many professors mainly use test and quizzes to determine your grade but they also give practice work and reviews which help a lot to prepare if you do them. Only other thing is that it is wise to not skip class which I have seen others do and get hurt for thier actions

    In three sentences

    Midland College is great for a starting point in pursueing one's ambitions for his or her life. It is a small college with great instructors who challange you and aid you at the same time. For anybody willing to put work into thier studies, I highly recommend this college.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I would hang out with friends and go walk around campus to be active.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, I would not know.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes do have tough spots but other than that the classes are understandable and easy to learn. Homework isn't horrible and teachers seem to love their jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure to study because it is college now and to make time for school. It is not like high school and the work is harder when you don't have a teacher breathing down your neck to get things done. You have to look out for yourself its not all handed to you anymore.

    In three sentences

    Midland College is a fun, easy and wonderful college. It was a very enjoyable experience and I am so happy to have the chance to go there for my first two years of college. It has given me what I need to prepare myself for a bigger university.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get more for your dollar here!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student activities!

    Food and Dining

    There food is pretty good. I would recommend the chaparral grill!

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life! You get that out of the house feel, but not for that much.

    Academic Rigor

    Sciences are pretty hard but excellent teachers! All other courses are not bad at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teacher they are pretty cool and will work with you as long as you show interest.

    In three sentences

    Midland College is an amazing community college that is really centered around helping the students who attend. The teachers and staff work with you to make things possible. I would recommend Midland College to every one looking to get higher education!

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The Gaming Club is very active and has events often.

    Bang for the buck

    Midland College has a very good price for the learning experience they provide.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Center always has some kind of entertainment, and the Gaming Club is very active.

    Food and Dining

    The kitchen staff is great and I love getting something to eat everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers often pass out relevant homework in order to ensure our learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become familiar with your teachers. They can't help you if they don't know you need help.

    In three sentences

    Midland College has made me excited about school, and anxious about further education. The teachers are very welcoming and knowledgeable about their subjects. On top of regular classes, I learn a tremendous amount from interacting with teachers and doing undergraduate research.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some activities and they have a game room for entertainment

    Food and Dining

    Really good

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I am not sure about it

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding

    Tips for prospective students

    To never drop a class (depending on the situation) , but never give up and always ask for help.

    In three sentences

    It is a good choice for taking basics and completing a 2 year-degree. Teachers are willing to work with you and most of them are very friendly. The college is very organized and it is equipped with all you need to enjoy your day in there.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Library location is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    Sport

    Tips for prospective students

    Enrol and apply for scholarship early.

    In three sentences

    1) Midland College fees are cheaper compared to other Colleges and University. 2) Midland College has varieties of scholarship for students. 3) Midland College is an academically sound college that boasts of high percentage of graduate student yearly.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see the campus police on the premises.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They usually have events that are part of the community. Students are asked to participate for extra credit.

    What to do for fun

    The college has several clubs to join. They also have several events throughout the year to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There is always enough to pick from when it comes to eating. Cafeteria is clean and employees are friendly.

    Dorm Life

    My colleagues like living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on how many classes your taking and what your major is, it can be pretty stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    They must be ready to try their best and always have an open mind.

    In three sentences

    This is a friendly place to farther you career. It has many programs to pick from. Professors,staff and colleagues are always ready to help upon request.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports

    In three sentences

    Small and Quiet campus, great facilities, great teachers.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a good place and safe to be at.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs to join.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do on campus. You just got to go and get involved. There are sports, game rooms, study rooms, fairs, clubs, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food that the school provides is good. They do not serve anything that kids would not eat. Throughout the day you have different foods to eat. There is not only a dinning room to eat at but also little snack shops and coffee shops you can go to. Everything there is at a reasonable price to where students can afford.

    Dorm Life

    I myself have not lived in the dorms, but what others say it is pretty fun. You get to have a place to go to and not worry about anyone telling you to do anything. You can study and what you please. It is a clean and good place to stay at if one does not want to live at home anymore.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are all about due dates. Some are willing to work with you if you just communicate with them. The work is easy if one studies and does not goof of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help if you are in need. If a teacher can not help there is someone around always to help. Such as labs and other students. Don't be afraid to communicate and participate in class, teachers love it when you get involved with the lecture.

    In three sentences

    Midland College is a great place to get started if one does not have a degree in mind. If any students are struggling or does not know what to do there are always friendly people around to help. Don't be afraid to ask anyone for help. Midland College is a clean and safe place to go to.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police cars riding around and they make sure we're always safe. They also send out amber alerts to your phone letting you know of an emergency, or just to tell you of events happening at the College.

    What to do for fun

    They have a ton of clubs to join. As as well as activities such as Open Mic Night, Homecoming as well as regular basketball games and baseball games.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give would be to make sure you keep up with your assignments, ask if you need help, and get an advisor if you can.

    In three sentences

    Midland College has a small campus where it's easy to get around. The teachers are always willing to help if you ask. And it's great that you can take classes online as well as in person.