Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Midlands Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Midland's Tech is great for any student who didn't have outstanding grades in high school but is willing to accept the challenges in order to make a name for themselves. There is a majority of older adults there trying to further their education, they seem to be the most determined students there and add a sense of maturity that brushes off on everyone else on campus. MTC is excellent for transfer students, like me :) if you are planning on transferring to USC they have a specific bridge program made for you that shows you what classes you need to take in order to qualify. MTC is USC's largest feeder school (even more than USC's branch schools such as USC Sumter, Spartanburg, etc.), meaning MTC gives USC the most transfer students out of any other college. Midlands Tech is also great for those who can't afford the high tution of other schools. Tuition is low at tech and they have many programs and degrees for you to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep the financial aid and cashier's office on a short leash: ask every question you can think of (try to keep it to yes or no questions, otherwise you might be run all over campus on a wild goose chase). Try to sign up for classes on the first day of registration: they fill up incredibly fast. Get a good adviser: if you don't feel comfortable with the information they've given you, get another adviser. You don't want to have to take unnecessary or nontransferable classes (if you intend on transferring). Use ratemyprofessor.com to find out which professors to take and which to avoid.

    Bang for the buck

    I could have gone straight into a 4 year school after I graduated high school, but tech seemed to be the more economical choice. I get the same level of education any 4 year school would give at a much lower cost. Last year I spent less than $3,000 on tuition and it was all covered by financial aid except for a few books.

    Am enjoying being here

    MTC is a community college, and no one lives on campus, therefore one doesn't feel the same bond with fellow students and professors and much as they would living on campus. Don't worry though, one can get a lot of study done when NOT living on campus. Its all how you look at it.

    Am learning a lot

    Like any college, you get your good and bad classes and professors. But at tech the classes are small and you really get to know your fellow students and professors. Most of the professors I've had privilege to study under have been excellent! I feel like MTC has given everything I need and more for when I transfer to a larger 4 year school for my bachelor's.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a subway.

    Dorm Life

    They dont have dorms at tech.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not hard, but its not easy either.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should attend here if you are trying to save money and then transfer.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Tech is a great place to start out at and get your GPA up so you can transfer to a four year college. Tuition is cheap as well.

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Again, Freshman Seminar....you will develop more skills to make your transition from life to college or high school to college a stress free process.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the Freshman Seminar your first semester. You not only get credit for it but you will leave the class with the productive skills you will need and enjoy to do throughout your tenure at MTC.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very reasonable compared to other schools

    Am enjoying being here

    I am really enjoying my classes at MTC. The things I am learning will be very valuable to my next career choice.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning more about subjects that I thought I knew from life experience.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bookstore

    What to do for fun

    USC Gamecock sports

    In three sentences

    Midlands tech has a campus in Lexington and in batesburg. The school is very cheap and easy to apply to. I have applied and am awaiting an answer

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is constantly patrolled and I have never heard on an incident happening on campus property.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working dedicated students who have an appetite to learn.

    What to do for fun

    There is a huge library and free high speed Internet for all students.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway and food at in the bookstore, but sadly no coffee place.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are willing to work hard and do your best you will find you can find you can achieve anything here.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Technical College is an amazing place. All the faculty and staff bend over backwards to help you be the best you can be. Attending this college has made me feel more confident about my educational future.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    i would assume students like me. parents work hard and do there best but still cannot afford a high class college, but are able to help me get into college.

    What to do for fun

    join groups, stay involved.

    Academic Rigor

    have not started yet so can not truly answer this.

    Tips for prospective students

    go for it and don't be afraid. i look at college as being a door for my life to be easier down the road so i don't have to be afraid of what life will hold for me.

    In three sentences

    i actually have not started. i start tomorrow. i am taking one class to get a start on how college feels. i am currently still enrolled in high school half days and will graduate in may.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have the best security.

    Great for these types of students

    students that are unsure of their major.

    Bang for the buck

    i think the price of tuition is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    go home.

    Food and Dining

    there is a subway at the beltline campus.

    Dorm Life

    midlands tecch only offers campus living at the greenville campus.

    Academic Rigor

    associate in science.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you go to your classes and study hard.

    In three sentences

    i attend the northeast campus. i enjoy this school and its teachers and all that it has to offer.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and transfer.

    In three sentences

    Great college to go to if you get the right help from the right people. Difficult classes. Also, hard to get the classes you want when registering each semester.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you made up your mind on your major, try to qualify as soon as possible. Healthcare students try to take all general education classes before you start the clinicals

    In three sentences

    Good Education and curriculum. Huge waiting list on healthcare majors.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Columbia isn't too far off.

    Food and Dining

    Good fare from the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms not offered.

    In three sentences

    They've got a great, clean campus at the Airport campus. Helpful staff are always willing to be of service. They're always willing to go the extra mile if you are.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus. I have taken a few night classes at the Airport campus and saw security patrolling and there is adequate light in the parking lots as well as emergency boxes.

    Clubs and Activities

    I understand there is a lot of them but I don't participate so I can't really speak on them.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who have other obligations outside of school like work or children. The classes are offered often enough so that you can take it any time of day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    You are getting the same education for a fraction of the cost. If you intend on going to a 4 year school save yourself some money school is very expensive now. I am going to school now and my pell grant covers everything.

    What to do for fun

    I would advised that you participate in activities on campus. I can't presently because of my employment however I have a lot of friends on campus who are involved and love them.

    Food and Dining

    Though they have a lot of vending machines and subway you are more or less getting the same thing. But it's not bad just your choices are limited.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though this is a 2 year school that does not mean that it is not difficult. I am studying the health sciences and I believe that the curriculum is rigorous one.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need to take the time and speak to a person because you may not be able to get through via phone. Also utilize the resources you have available there are great professors there who are willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Tech is a great school for getting a degree and pursing your profession. Some programs have a rather long wait list but you will learn what you need to be great at your job. Financial aid can give you the run around on occasion.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In between school and work, there is not much time to do much of anything besides study, so that is what I do.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, although to be honest, I have never eaten in it. I am sure it is okay though.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes here are very challenging, while others are almost simple. I think it all depends on your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework!! Always research and double check everything that you need to earn your degree. Don't just go off of what the advisor tells you - research it for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Overall this is a good school. There are plenty of nice and helpful teachers; however, there are also some teachers who should not be teaching. I think that may be in every school, but it seems to be spreading at this school.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never seen any problems on campus. people always seem to fallow the rules.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are organizations on campus and they help you decide which one you could fit into.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone. even if you have a learning disability they will work with you to make sure you have the right help you need.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    usually its a great deal I like it.

    What to do for fun

    I got to Theater and play in play and tutor international students.

    Food and Dining

    there is a sub way in the school and a student center there are also several canteens located threw out the school.

    Dorm Life

    this school is a great school but there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school was an amazing school not only did it challenge me but the teachers were friendly and would help you if you asked for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to always ask questions. They wont know how to help in less you ask first.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Technical College is an amazing program. To me a lot of great things come from this school . I believes that this journey can set you up for success any where you chose to go.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is excellent public safety on the campus that patrols and aid around the clock.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of great to join clubs, however, there are very few activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that are seeking an continuous education, a certificate, and a two-year degree. The school also assist you with transferring to state colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    Attending this school gives you the biggest bang for your buck.

    Food and Dining

    Most of the food is provided by Subway and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    National Technical Honor Society, and many more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, socialize and stay focus on your studies.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Technical College is a great start when considering a technical education.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers present on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Career clubs

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are small and credits are easily transferable.

    What to do for fun

    Ten minutes from downtown Columbia.

    Food and Dining

    No formal cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best on the placement test to hopefully skip the remedial classes.

    In three sentences

    Some professors are phenomenal and some you can tell would rather be anywhere but teaching at a two year school. The advising department is mediocre at best. The campus is small and it is very easy to get from class to class.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They subway is great wonderful cookies

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life two years school no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have very large and bright lights that cover the parking lots at night. There is always a police officer on duty, and at your new student orientation you are given a phone number that can be used at any time to request a police officer escort to your vehicle with no questions asked.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of clubs and activities. Information about them is easily accessed online.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students on a budget! I you are someone planning to obtain a four-year degree as there is an excellent bridge program with USC. It's also better for students who prefer smaller class sizes and more individual attention.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you are an in county resident it is incredibly affordable.

    Food and Dining

    You might want to pack a lunch.....The Beltline campus only has a Subway.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot accurately rate the dorm life as I am living in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started my first class yet so it is not possible to rate this yet in my opinion.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do have campus security.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, you get your bang for you buck it's just finding how to pay for it is the problem like most other college students on Earth.

    What to do for fun

    For fun while waiting for classes it is fun to hang out at smoking gazebos with friends or study or go to library and get on computer, etc. There are clubs usually set outside some where to look into also flyers to check out.

    Food and Dining

    In the cafe they have a subway and snack and drink machines as well as free wifi. Also snack and drink machines are available in every building. The bookstore sells these also in more variety.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus at all.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically most of the courses are challenging and will spark your learning. Other are relaxer courses that you can breathe through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have you financial aid requirement in ahead of time, stressing about this will only hurt you. Enjoy college. Do no procrastinate!!

    In three sentences

    Great public school for the area around it. Not an easy technical school very challenging but worthwhile. Very career orientated.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I tasted the food at the University of South Carolina when I went to tour and it was very good. There were a lot to choose from. It had a very nice environment.

    Dorm Life

    I hope to enjoy the dorm life. I am attending the Gamecock Gateway Program at the University of South Carolina. I chose to do the random roommate and praying that it works out. I am a very easy person to get a long with.

    Academic Rigor

    I struggle with testing. I pushed myself my senior year of high school to start studying more and harder so I do not have as much trouble getting used to it in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will be a freshman so I also need tips.

    In three sentences

    I will be attending Midlands Technical college in the Fall. As of what I have seen so far, the campus is very nice and well laid out. From my recent experience, it seems well organized and a wonderful place with a smaller environment than an university. I feel as if it will be less disruptive if there are less students in the classrooms.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much but there are clubs available.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a subway at MTC (Beltline Boulevard)

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm rooms at MTC.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay Focus!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to make their schedules wisely! If you are not a morning person, do not take your classes early and have time to rest in between classes.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Tech is a decent school with decent students and faculty. The teachers are great at their jobs and most are fully dedicated. Yet, some courses can be used as a credit and not all majors are able to transfer.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has a very nice campus! The staff is very friendly, and informative. Easy access to bus lines and highways.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and organizations for a lot of things, and if there isn't a club for your interest(s), you can create a new one by simply filling out a few forms and turn them in for approval.

    Food and Dining

    Sub-Way. Need I say more?

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are a bit above average than the other colleges and universities in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a calculator for the placement test! And studying doesn't hurt either!

    In three sentences

    Midlands Technical College is an overall good school. There is a good student life. There is a Sub-Way restaurant which is always good. :)

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Near Lake Murray, so there's always somewhere to fish.

    Food and Dining

    fair

    Academic Rigor

    Not bad

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Technical College is convenient for being able to go to school and work. I can take classes online making it easier to fit into my busy schedule. Tuition is less expensive than four year college.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    its great for students who didn't do so good in high school. And adults who wanna get ahead in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there isn't any.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot less then other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the mall and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of food choices.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and find out what you wanna do.

    In three sentences

    Midlands teach is great at helping you find what you want to do. They take you step by step to help you along. The teachers are very helpful.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to learn, study, and work hard!

    In three sentences

    Midlands Tech is very helpful in advising you on what classes to take. They take proud in their students to make sure lessons are learned and followed. Campus Communication is very outstanding by using text and email especially for emergencies.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is relatively safe. There are security guards that are easy to find if you should need them and they would be willing to escort you places if you have classes at night.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus but you will have to go to the school website to see what they offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to transfer to other schools or students from other colleges that would like to take a classes cheaper than it would have been at their home institution.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an inexpensive school and with about $5,000 or so you could potentially cover most, if not all, of you cost.

    What to do for fun

    It is located a few minutes away from downtown, five points and the vista and there are plenty of things to do there. You can meet plenty of students from other colleges if you hang around those areas.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, they only provide students with a Subway in their cafeteria but there are plenty of other restaurants and fast food places that you can go to grab a quick bite between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Midlands tech does not have any housing so you will have to stay somewhere else. There are students that live in other cities but still manage to attend this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Like other colleges, you might run into some classes that are harder than others. You would want to make sure that you pick a class with a good teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the Bridge program as soon as possible. It could really help you get into you target school. Also, always stay on top of what course will or will not transfer and your transfer requirements for the school you want to go to.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school for those students who want to transfer later on in their academic career. It has program specifically for this like the bridge program. It is an inexpensive school so you will always find students from other schools that will take a few classes here and then transfer their credits.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Healthcare students

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school, and majors are accredited.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and after school programs you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, although I have never been to it.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm on this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you at least have an idea of what you want to do for a career, so you do not waste your time or money.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Tech gives many great opportunities to returning students who haven't been back to school in a while. They are very helpful in providing information on your major, and have skillful teachers to help you achieve your goals. If you ever need help, there is someone there to help you.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a nice subway on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too hard. Just have to do the work and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

    In three sentences

    Good, friendly teachers. Nice campus. Small classroom sizes that help to learn better due to ability to ask more questions.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A few security guards stroll the area. The campus feels very safe whenever you walk around.

    Bang for the buck

    Exactly what I expected to get from a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Many concerts and events happen around the Columbia area. If you become involved in a extracurricular activity you will make many friends.

    Food and Dining

    They did not have a cafeteria where I attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you attend every class and put in effort you will easily excel here.

    In three sentences

    Midlands has offered many classes towards my major, and has been very helpful in the process of transferring to another college. The teachers vary from exceptional to ok. I suggest looking up your teacher's rating before you take the class.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is patrolled by campus security and they have emergency phones located throughout the campus.

    Greek Life

    MTC has a local chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Older adults, Single Parents, and those with full-time jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    MTC is worth what you pay for it and more.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student organizations to join also MTC is close to many other attractions in the city.

    Food and Dining

    MTC provides great food for the students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are challenging however the staff will do all they can to help you understand and to help you pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions when you want to know about anything and get to know your peers as well as the staff. Networking is key.

    In three sentences

    MTC is a great college for both traditional and non-traditional students. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They provide many resources that will help you as you continue your academic career.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    decent.

    Greek Life

    eh....

    Clubs and Activities

    most associations/clubs are within the desired field of study, once you've completed your certificate portion of a program (i.e. nursing, health sciences, etc.).

    Great for these types of students

    working adults, transfer students, vocational students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    affordable.

    Food and Dining

    selective options. more variety off campus.

    Dorm Life

    no campus residence available.

    Academic Rigor

    very diverse faculty/student population.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get connected to study groups; constant communication with your program advisors and the students/ your peers inside the programs are key to success. Ensure you MAKE TIME to study, whether it's independent or group study.

    In three sentences

    Do your own research and be thorough. Know the cost before you buy. Get connected on campus to be successful!

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Recreational soccer; watching sports on TV, attending USC sporting events; reading; hanging with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    Based on Midlands location in Columbia, SC, there are no shortages of food sources in the area.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable to me, as I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Midlands offers the challenges of transitioning from high school to the intensity of a college environment, on a smaller, more easily adopted scale than that of a large university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand what you want to do and build a plan to accomplish it. If you are not quite sure, take the time, at Midlands, to explore your interests in several areas while completing universally required credits and learning the routines of being a successful college student.

    In three sentences

    Midlands is a perfect fit for my needs. It allows me to build my foundation in a program structured for transfer to the University of South Carolina through a Bridge program. By virtue of its proximity to and association with USC, Midlands has enabled me an affordable path the earn a college education at a major university in the South, where I would not have otherwise had the opportunity.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend classes, work full time and a full time mommy.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one place on campus to eat, Subway. It is decent and clean.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. You either live at home with your parents or out in the world on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    Great instructors, faculty and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you take care of your financial aid and be proactive with your studies. It will pay off in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Technical College is a great place to start attending college. Midlands helps you with financial aid, class placements and possible child care. I would recommend this college, if you plan on transferring to a four year school.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the cheaper schools you will find, and it is very easy to find classes that will transfer to a larger university if you want.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There are difficult classes, but overall it isn't too demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to school and study what you actually care about. It makes the work a lot easier if its something you could see yourself doing when you graduate.

    In three sentences

    The professors for the most part are very passionate about what they teach. The content isn't as demanding as a larger university, so its a great transition from high school to college. The students overall don't seem to care too much, so it can get a little annoying at times.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They always have plenty of security. There are no fights or other dangerous activities.

    Greek Life

    None, besides for transfer colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the activities and most clubs are for Other schools you have to transfer to. They do give you a chance to join them if you want.

    Great for these types of students

    Kids that work hard, kids that don't none what major they want. It is really good for all Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Midlands technical schools have campuses all over South Carolina and are building more.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not really expensive for college terms, but it does charge for credit hours. They give you a really good education for amount of money you pay. The classes are smaller so you get more individual attention than a bigger college.

    What to do for fun

    Like to read, eat and play games. Most kids like to eat and play games, so it is easy to make quick friends.

    Food and Dining

    Only have one place to eat at on campus. There is a little strip mall down the road.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. They do have transfer students dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It does not start out really hard they easy you into the programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do you work. Take time every day to do work so it does not pile up.

    In three sentences

    One of the easiest schools to get use to. They adapt to your schedule. The school gives really good advice for upcoming classes and for future school choices, like transferring.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You're in Columbia- your options are endless. Everything is nearby, and if you're going to Midlands then you should live close enough to go home for lunch if you would like to.

    Dorm Life

    Midlands Tech has no dorms. Which means no you must live on campus your first year rules or anything like that. Live where you want, do what you want, just get to class on time.

    Academic Rigor

    I have several friends at Midlands and they all say the same thing. They say that it's a college, if you're taking chemistry then you're going to learn chemistry- it's pretty simple. You attend class, you learn the material, you take the tests and at the end of the semester you either know it or you don't. Plain and simple.

    In three sentences

    I like to go to school, do my work, and leave- I was never excited about living in a small space with several other people, or living with a bunch of 18-20 something years olds. Midlands is the easiest, most affordable and best place for me to attend . I'll get the same classes I would at any other college for a much lower cost, I'll be in a much smaller class and I'll still be close to home- I'm excited to go to Midlands.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have subway

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and be prepared to learn

    In three sentences

    Many of the professors there will try their best to help their students. Campus is quite but the people are friendly. Have great resources to help students succeed.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the most respected nursing programs in the Midlands for the cheapest price.

    Food and Dining

    They have Subway and that's it on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do all of your work and turn in all assignments on time and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    All of my professors so far have been wonderful.. As long as you do the work and establish a relationship with them based on respect, you will get rewarded. The school has been helpful with financial aid issues and have workshops to help you complete your FAFSA form appropriately.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is a very safe place. You will see security guards all around the school, and there are cameras every where that needs to be one, except bathrooms, of course.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is for EVERYONE! Does not matter race, age, or whatever you think it might interfere with your schooling. GO FOR IT!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ~People are always hanging out at the Gazebos.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the school. Read in the library, or go public places around the school.

    Food and Dining

    Not really any food in the school, just snack machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is really easy IF you do the work, and put the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the time at this school, before you transfer to an University. It is a very easy technical college to attend to. Do not worry about anything, the school is under control, just attend to class regularly and everything will flow.

    In three sentences

    This school is very open minded. I like how everyone is very diverse and different age. You can learn a lot from different kind of people around you in the classroom. And, the teachers are great and very comforting when it comes to an individual attention.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No on campus food but there is a place called china palace near by. A Mcdonalds, Moes, Smash burger and bojangles are in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing

    Tips for prospective students

    Always use ratemyproffesor.com before you sign up for a class. Avoid taking 8am classes if you are not a morning person, unless you have to. Make sure if you are taking major classes such as IT or Medical that you read the books, take notes, study hard and pay attention in class!

    In three sentences

    Midlands is a college good if you are here to save money on your college tuition fees. Most of the classes are an hour and 25 minutes. Some classes require you to take test in the testing center which can be a hassel but allows you to take the test on your own time at your leisure.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and secure.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    No idea.

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking pre med degrees, transfer students and those wanting certification in specialized areas (welding, irrigation, truck driving, etc) Tech has great programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Tech is rather cheap. This is the whole reason I started here to complete my lower level courses before I transfer back to the local university.

    What to do for fun

    As a transfer student, I am completely unaware of student activities.

    Food and Dining

    Student Center and the dining facility is decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Measures to community college expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are intending to transfer to a major university from Tech, please make sure you get a tour of the campus before you start classes there as well as ensure you have a good advisor since they are hard to come by.

    In three sentences

    Midlands Tech is a good school for continuing education, transfer students and technical specializations. For transfer students attending here can be challenging due to lack of support staff for this student population. As far as community colleges are concerned, Midlands Tech serves it's purpose well.