Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Midway College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I never thought I would be attending an all-girls college, but I'm glad I enrolled. Professors are dedicated, staff are enthusiastic, and students are unprejudiced. Midway has a unique charm and students tend to be creative and make their own fun out of everyday things. The campus itself is superlative. The architecture of the buildings, inside and out, makes you feel as though you stepped back in time. Improvements need to be made, nonetheless, as with any college this grand in maturity. However, I would most definitely recommend Midway to any student aspiring to join the equine industry.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Midway is great for students who are career focused. The professors here all seem to be very willing to help, but if you need help it is important to go talk with your teachers. Being motivated to do well is a big bonus! Also, students who want a smaller, quiet atmosphere will love it here, even though there are places to go out nearby.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing you can do is come here with an open mind and a willingness to learn a lot! Not only will you be learning about the major you are interested in, you are going to find out so much about yourself and other people. As long as you are friendly and open to people different from yourself as well as new experiences you are almost guaranteed to enjoy your time here!

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lexington is only 10-15 minutes away and Frankfort is about 10 minutes so there are tons of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    On my tour I got a chance to eat in the dining hall and while the selection isn't huge it was very good.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms they are super spacious and I can't wait to move in.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't attended a class yet, but from what I have heard the school keeps up with its rigorous academic reputation.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions don't be afraid to e-mail the advisors. Mine even text me to help me out with my scholarship information and about registration.

    In three sentences

    Midway is an amazing school! The academic, financial aid, and admission counselors are great as far as keeping in touch and helping in any way that they can. I can't wait to attend this beautiful campus in August.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Midway is great for students who enjoy being in a tight knit small environment. It is also great for girls who are looking to compete in a high level competitive sports league.

    Tips for prospective students

    If i have to give prospective student tips for attending midway i would just say be ready to work hard and study. There is no room for slacking at midway. There is time to have fun, but in order to succeed you must be willing to put in the time to do your work.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy my time at midway. The campus is fairly small which makes it easier to get to know people around campus and make life long bonds. There are many on campus activities available that makes the experience even more enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at midway college i learn a lot. Class sizes are very small which gives you the opportunity for one on one sessions and class time with your professor. The coursework is challenging but with help from your professors and other educational based help around the campus helps me a lot. I am not only learning educational things but i have also learned life lessons as well.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security cares about the safety of their students, and respond promptly to any disturbances.

    Greek Life

    We do not have any Greek life. I think there may be one or two scientific or academic Greek clubs, such as Beta Beta Beta, but we do not have sororities/fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Midway has plenty of clubs and activities for students to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting hands on experience with horses; Nursing students; working adults/parents; pretty much anybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's the Night of Lights for graduating Seniors. Other than that there aren't really any major traditions. As far as locations, the Ampitheater is beautiful, and we have a fully operating horse farm on Campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Equine majors get a lot of bang for their buck. The program is very hands on, and you won't find another campus with as many school horses or with as much privately owned land as Midway.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't a whole lot of things in and around Midway to do for fun, but Lexington, Frankfort, Georgetown, and Versailles are all less than a half hour away.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be quite a bit better, but it's food, and mass produced food at that. It's healthy, but be prepared to gain weight anyway.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a lot of drama in the dorms, and the school tries to house you on floors with students that share your interests.

    Academic Rigor

    Midway's academic rigor could be a little bit more rigorous, but overall it is above average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a rigorous program that will challenge your knowledge, and don't be afraid to ask your professors questions.

    In three sentences

    Midway has a beautiful Campus. Midway has very hands-on programs. Midway cares about their students.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pre-vet,Teaching,Nursing

    What to do for fun

    Ride the horses and go to Lexington

    Food and Dining

    Great food all the time

    Dorm Life

    love my dorm room

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit, you will fall in love.

    In three sentences

    Midway is the best school for pre-vet. Love the student to teacher ratio. I would recommend Midway to ant one.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security is very nice and helpful.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have sports teams and what ever student life has going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Equine and Nursing students, Midway is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student life does a great job in creating activities to do in campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    I play soccer for Midway so that keeps me busy most of the school year. Lexington has many things to offer for weekend fun.

    Food and Dining

    The kitche staff are friendly and very good at thier jobs.

    Dorm Life

    Its pretty boring living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a social group to make new friends.

    In three sentences

    Midway is a great school for Nursing students. It is very expensive. I am enjoying my third semester.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is so quiet and crime is virtually non existent. There are security guards on campus at all times and the only crime I've seen is people not parking where they are supposed to park

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is willing to learn and do what needs to be done to get a great education. Also for people that like smaller class sizes and a quiet campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little pricey but for the education that you will receive from Midway it is worth it!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    This is the only downfall to Midway. There isn't much to do in town but you are 15 minutes aways from Lexington and Frankfort and only an hour away from Louisville. The student life center always tries to plan fun activities on campus and off campus trips as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. They have their own chef and pasty chef for desserts. There is also plenty of room to eat. Where you eat is pretty comfortable and they always have music playing which is fun.

    Dorm Life

    The buildings are a little outdated but for the most part dorm life it great.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work in your classes and your mind will be tested. You do not get a lot of homework but you have to make sure you study. But, that it what it takes to get the outstanding education that Midway offers.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an all girls school so make sure that you don't mind that and you will be put to the test. You have to do your work. This is not a party school so don't go there if you just want to party.

    In three sentences

    Midway has a great atmosphere and wonderful teachers. Midway is very quiet and in a safe location. Midway college has the most beautiful campus I have seen.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is available to provide escorts and are easily accessible.

    Great for these types of students

    Midway is great for students who are working and are trying to better themselves by going back and either finishing a degree or pursuing a different career.

    Bang for the buck

    Small classes give professors more time to help any students struggling in the subject. Also, several student aid, tutoring sessions, career development opportunities are available on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are several community events, as well as campus events, to occupy your time. Also, Lexington is only a half hour away, if you need shopping therapy!

    Food and Dining

    Cooking classes are available on a regular basis.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect your best, but are also helpful in helping you achieve that.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are transferring credits, make sure to check them against what the requirements are for the degree you will be pursuing.

    In three sentences

    Great place for non-traditional students to complete degrees. Professors are helpful to their students. Classes are small so that you can focus on what you need.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    No idea, I'm an online student.

    Food and Dining

    Once again, online student.

    Dorm Life

    I'm an online student; no idea what dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is tough! Be prepared to work hard in every class. Also, be prepared to struggle to get A's. Midway's grading scale is: A = 93-100, B = 86-92 and so on.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best tip is to change your advisor if you think the one you have isn't helping you. This will save you a lot of trouble and a lot of emails.

    In three sentences

    Not great when you're an online student. It seems like, being an online student, you are constantly left in the dark on what needs to be done (classes needed, selecting an emphasis, etc) in order to graduate. Getting questions answered, whether by your instructor or your advisor, is quite a chore; be prepared to send multiple emails.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being an all womens college coming into the college safety is stressed a lot. Especially with the dorms. Because the campus is so small, you constantly see the security guards and often are familiar with what they look like, and the are 24/7. Ive never been on campus and security isn't present somewhere. They even make all their rounds through the barns.

    Greek Life

    Because it is a private college Midway does not have greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    The list of sports and activities are endless. Horse riding basketball volleyball softball tennis and now archery

    Great for these types of students

    Horse lovers Aspiring nurses Athletes Teacher education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The barns are not something every college has, there are three. Two have areas, one is a full sized show arena and the other is a smaller practice arena and the third barn is for boarding and medical purposes.

    Bang for the buck

    Midway college has an amazing Equine program. They have Equine Health and Rehabilitation and Equine Management majors. There are three barns on campus and currently bording around 45 horses that we use for our Dressage, Huntseat, and Weastern riding teams. They also have introduction classes for people who are just starting out. Midway is also known for its excellent nursing school. But the classes are very difficult.

    What to do for fun

    I shoot on the archery team so that takes up a lot of my free time. But other than that, its spent with friends and studying.

    Food and Dining

    Due to budget cuts, we have switched from private chefs to the AMARK company. The food is not as healthy as it used to be and the staff are not as welcoming.

    Dorm Life

    There are two dorm halls. Buster Hall, and Belle Hall. I personally like buster hall better. It has communal bathrooms but the rooms are much bigger. Belle hall has private suitemate bathrooms, but instead of in room heaters, they have window units.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can range from really hard to really easy. But the best thing about it is the class sizes are very small, so you get more one on one attention from the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that before you decide Midway is where you want to go, explore the academics and listen to the stories from other students. Some programs are more beneficial than others.

    In three sentences

    Midway College is a private all women's college in Midway, Kentucky. The campus is small and extremely easy to navigate once you learn all the buildings. And the staff is really welcoming, they know you by name, not by number.