Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Midwestern State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type really!

    Tips for prospective students

    Need money? Join the Honors program, you'll get 1500 a year if you're in good standing with the program. Come check it out, it's a great campus!

    Bang for the buck

    School was in some big magazine about being #1 in Texas for the Bang for your buck. And currently, I think so too.

    Am enjoying being here

    Very enjoyable, everyone is friendly, upper classmen are helpful. Food is pretty good too!

    Am learning a lot

    My professors/instructors are really great at what they do! None of them make the classroom boring and they keep the information fresh with new ways of presenting it to you.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention to scholarship deadlines. If you live off campus, make sure you come to class early because you will not find a parking spot close to your building otherwise!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition rates are lower at MSU than all the other school I considered attending.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful & I have made some amazing friends at this school.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of my teachers have been great! I have learned a lot from my classes, especially sociology with Dr. Packard! It was an interesting class.

  • 06/14/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to sign up in time for scholarships through Midwestern to receive free money!!

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone I met while I visited the campus was super friendly and very helpful.

    Will learn a lot

    I have met some of the counselors at Midwestern and they are totally willing to help you get into the right classes with the BEST of their teachers. To get a spot with the great teachers, be sure to attend spirit days which is an early registration program they have.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is willing to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to any student wanting to come here is get on your professors good side. Do ALL the work assigned because they hold a high expectation. Have fun but make sure you are passing all your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Midwestern is totally the bang for the buck. Great price for a great education. I love it. You don't have to pay outrageous amounts of money to go to school and the benefits of the campus are amazing.

    Am enjoying being here

    Midwestern is a great environment if you do not want to go to a huge school. They have just the right amount of students. They also have a variety of different activities each month so you can be active and meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so many new things that you don't learn in high school! The thing is you learn different things depending on your major. For example my major is theatre education. So i have had to help build set for upcoming plays. I will also be taking a shop class. This will help me so much in the future. The Teachers here are wonderful and if you ask most of them will be glad to help you with anything.

  • 11/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for any type of students. So much stuff to do, that anyone can find entertainment, or even make it themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure when scheduling classes you pay attention to which buildings they are in because even though the campus is not huge, you still can end up sprinting if you are on opposite ends with only ten minutes in between. You should also try to learn about the Professors you plan to take, before you pick them, so that you know you can learn to the best of your ability. Your learning style does not match the professors teaching style it may not end well.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is at a great rate, so much cheaper than any other schools I looked at even for out of state.

    Am enjoying being here

    Is really easy to meet new people and make great friendships. Like the closeness of the business without it being to urban/metropolitan, also like the smaller town atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are great and the ratio of students to professor allows you so much more face to face time.

  • 01/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great if you want a small campus with a big campus feel. If you are willing to learn and do the work it is great for you. These professors hold a high standard and don't expect any less than your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there! Join a club, make new friends in your dorm or apartment. Hey even join Greek life I will see you there! :)

    Bang for the buck

    I never thought I would be able to afford college because my parents are not helping me, at all. I repeat at all. So it was up to me and MSU is very cheap but you get SO much more than you are paying for!

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love attending here and what has made it ten times better is being in a sorority! Campus life is amazing and I have made friends for a lifetime already!

    Am learning a lot

    I have had the best experience being a student at MSU. I love the fact that I wasn't a number in a classroom I was a student, and I had a name!

  • 04/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to get to know their teachers! Its a small campus very close! Its really good for the people who do not want a huge campus or a lot of students

    Bang for the buck

    The price for Midwestern compared to many other school is fantastic! Its definitely more affordable than most schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something to do here, the school holds movie nights, and all sorts of stuff through out the semester

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at this school are really good. They are willing to help you if you have a problem in the class!! I am learning a ton!

  • 10/03/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I've heard it will be not only cheaper but more rewarding to go here and so far their estimated costs HAVE been lower than any of my other college choices.

    Will enjoy being here

    It seems like a nice, decent sized campus and an enjoyable atmosphere.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Ranked the best value in the nation among public universities by Consumer's Digest Magazine.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out in the student center with good friends, or the game room. Go to the gym, always a bunch of pickup basketball and soccer games, and you never get sick of beach volleyball by the pool.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty much the biggest social area on campus. The food is very good, and always a big variety. And it is all you can eat, so if you are a very hungry person, it is much cheaper than eating out.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the dorms! The RAs are very friendly and helpful, and were able to remain behind the scenes and only step in to remind people when things need to be done.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging as you would expect from any university, but due to the small class sizes professors are better able to explain the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern State has a very nice campus, small yet spread out, with well maintained buildings and lawns. The small class sizes give students a chance to connect with their professors. It was rated the best value in the nation among public universities by Consumer's Digest Magazine.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    especially athletes

    Tips for prospective students

    Nursing department is tough but study hard and the instructors will work with yo

    Am learning a lot

    i am really learning a lot. the instructors work with you.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is so so on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice at MSU, the girls dorms have recently been redone.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors seem caring and understanding

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's usually a party maybe every other weekend or so by some on campus organization so I'm usually there. I like hitting the gym as well and have made lots of friends there. The mall of course about a 2 minute drive from the university so i'm there most of the time, if i'm not going to basketball games, football games and just chilling with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    I usually hate cafeteria food cause it usually tastes like crap but I must say that MSU's cafeteria is definitely the exception. I don't have a meal plan and I pay to use the cafeteria when i'm hungry and on campus cause the food is good and they have a great variety for everyone, whether you want to veg out on pizza, have a hearty meal or go heavy on your greens.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but I did work as a resident assistant in the dorms and we've never had any complaints except for the occasional student locking themselves out their room lol.

    Academic Rigor

    The first month at any university can be confusing and sometimes frustrating to any new student but the professors thoroughly go through the syllabus in that first class and don't mind if students still have questions throughout the semester. This is a university that cares about its students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to put yourself out there and speak up. The professors welcome student interaction and opinions and its makes you stand out in organizations as well. You don't need to say much to make friends, a simple hello and smile will get you there. There people here are generally really friendly.

    In three sentences

    MSU is a smaller university but that's a major part of its charm, not to mention that the business school does have ACSB accreditation and can compete with the likes of any ivy league school. As a student you have direct access to your professors, and the classes are smaller so you never feel lost, or as though your just another face in a crowd of students. Student life is AWESOME with tons of Greek and other social organizations your sure to find one that fits you.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe at Midwestern. I never feel like anyone is going to attack me or get away with steeling anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of activities to take part in at the school. There are clubs like the spanish club and sports like football and soccer. We take class trips and have a lot of fun together.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a good campus for people who like smaller towns and those who may have a tougher time meeting people.

    Bang for the buck

    Midwestern is a bit expensive for a public university, but it makes up for that in its smaller class sizes, many fun activities, and a great living environment.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities to take part in at the school. There are clubs like the spanish club and sports like football and soccer. We take class trips and have a lot of fun together.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good at Midwestern. Its not as good as at home, but its still pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in a dorm and having a roommate. I like having a friend with me so I don't miss home too much.

    Academic Rigor

    Midwestern State University provides many challenges and working through those challenges is what makes you a better student and a better person.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that you find out who your roommate will be and get to know them since you will be living with them for the next academic year.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Midwestern as a 9 of 10. It is a great school with good teachers, living quarters, and on campus jobs. It is easy to find your way around the campus and is a great learning experience.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't look down on this on this school, its great

    In three sentences

    Midwestern State University is a great school striving for the best. Everything about Midwestern is Great , the Food ,the Teachers , The Students. Midwestern State University is a perfect school for sports.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every one, especially international students

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to work hard and play just as hard.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is rather cheap and there are very many scholarship opportunities available all you have to do is look, plus it's an accredited institution and that's always a good thing.

    Am enjoying being here

    The University Programming Board (UPB) goes above and beyond to ensure that the school always have activities for the students to participate in. This board consists of both students, faculty, and staff who meet and plan fun filled events for the university students and friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Lecturers are very detailed with the information they provide and if you miss something in class they are always willing to assist you during their office hrs.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Country town, about 2 hrs from Dallas Fort Worth. Really cheap Nursing Engineering

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the academic scholarship: $1000 per academic year apply early and look for department scholarships.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great campus police force

    Greek Life

    so so not very noticeble.

    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bonfire!

    Bang for the buck

    yes if you paying in state

    What to do for fun

    what ever upb plans. there are also plays and lecture series with very interesting people.

    Food and Dining

    good cafeteria food.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are choosing sciences work hard and find a help lab or the professor if you get stuck.

    In three sentences

    located in the middle of a small town and contains a lot of locals. the professors i have encountered so far are cool. all in all its a good college and tuition is good for people paying in state,

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus community

    Greek Life

    Growing greek community. Sigma Alpha Epsilon - Texas Omega

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing & Business

    Bang for the buck

    Hard to find a better school for the money in the state or even nation

    What to do for fun

    clubs, bars, bowling, mini golf, go carts, fishing, any outdoors activities

    Food and Dining

    pretty decent variety

    Dorm Life

    dorms are maintained well but its still a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be tough sometimes but as long as you apply yourself and study it's something anyone can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and become as involved in the campus as possible inorder to gain greater connections and also friends while you get your education.

    In three sentences

    Small town feel with big city dreams. A good education for your money. Easy college transition.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    unknown

    Academic Rigor

    unknown

    In three sentences

    I have never visited MSU. I dont know what it is like there. Im sure its a great campus.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They provide lots of events throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    They have Quizno's, burgers, starbucks, another coffee shop, pizza, mexican, and smoothies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to university functions around campus. Use all the resources they give you (writing lab, study tips seminars).

    In three sentences

    Its a good cheap local university. Cheating standards are low and if they do want to kick you out just threaten to get a lawyer. Besides the cheating though not a bad school.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, police always on campus watching over.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have Caribbean fest, very interesting and fun!

    What to do for fun

    Go to parties, cookouts, cultural events, join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Not too bad, but its like cafeteria food. Dont expect 5 star restaurant food.

    Dorm Life

    Like any other school, something you have to adjust to, but it becomes homey and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    They should focus on their studies but they could easily be distracted. There are so many things that are going on, you could forget your main purpose.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small university with many good amenities. The people there are quite friendly and the courses offered at this school varies. It is a multi- cultural school, it has many people from around the world who makes the school very interesting. It is a good school and i would recommend it to incoming freshman.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus officers are constantly patrolling and monitoring what goes on around school. Secure access to buildings and dorms.

    Greek Life

    It is very involved with the school and community. Opportunities to meet new people and gain life long friends. Good environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of opportunities. Flexible with school schedules. Involved with the community.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are colorful horses everywhere...literally.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of intramural sports, clubs and organizations to get involved with. Games and sporting events. Plenty of movies and food events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The cooks are very friendly and prepare the food as if they would for their own family. There are varieties of healthy food choices.

    Dorm Life

    Safe and secure. Location is very convenient and close to school. Great way to meet new people, get involved, and gain friends.

    Academic Rigor

    High standards set in each department program. Highly certified professors and graduate students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and talk with an advisor before making your decision. Register for classes as early as possible. Get involved!

    In three sentences

    It is a really great diverse university with multiple opportunites open to the students. The campus is beautiful and the classes are within close range. Overall, it has highly certified professors and the university is much involved with the community in serving the people of Wichita Falls.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police drive around the campus even at night so it is relatively safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition rates go up every year.

    What to do for fun

    The town is very small and as I have said before there are very dew opportunities for school activities offered.

    Food and Dining

    I cook my own meals, so I cannot say much about the food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The on campus apartments are very nice and only a few years old but there are few activities for students to get together and do.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends which major you pick but most of the classes are extremely hard depending on your instructor. (The science department, is extremely difficult)

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a really good advisor, which generally I have found will be your professors over the main advisor that they will send you to.

    In three sentences

    I am not very impressed with this college, there is very little as far as student activities. The rate of tuition and housing goes up every year without warning. The head of the departments are not very knowledgeable or organized, so you are never up to date with information regarding your major or graduation.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Find something or group to keep you engaged because it tends to get boring after a while.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern state is a nice school in a beautiful neighbourhood. Everything is conveniently located around the school including public buses.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    many campus activities, football, basketball, baseball,chess, golf, anime club, etc

    Tips for prospective students

    study and make good networking connections

    In three sentences

    Midwestern University offers convenience and reliable sources. Although being a complex campus, the friendly staff will make you feel at home and deserving.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police patrol 24hours

    Greek Life

    lots greek life group

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fain fine arts for places Bornfire night for events

    What to do for fun

    Lots of student activities organized by the students and the school. There are lots of places to visit; however, because wichita falls is a small city, these places are modest

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and attend mustang rallies.

    In three sentences

    The environment is student friendly. Most of the professors are approachable and interested in your progress. The location of the school is good for learning as there are few side attractions.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not too sure.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a transfer student so I havent actually tried their food.

    Dorm Life

    I'm really trying to get an apartment but money is very tight. My dad is paying for everything out of pocket.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very comfortable and quiet. The campus in a whole is quiet and is not a school where I will be very distracted. They seem very welcoming.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    study study school's your buddy

    In three sentences

    Fantastic staff Great student life Town is a fun place

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school would be perfect who loves to lead a quiet life.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to eat, go to a VERY small club called Stage, or go singing.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a very small town so make sure your the type of person who can think of different ways to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern has very limited classes that you can take, so if your looking for variety I wouldn't suggest this school. However, in the classes that are offered the professors really know what they are sharing knowledge about and are excited to teach. The student programs are often a failure because barely anybody attends!

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Midwestern State has an easily accessible police station and two police vehiclles that circle the campus often. They are quick to respond to parking lot wrecks and guarantee the safety of their students.

    What to do for fun

    There are always athletic events going on and provide an exciting campus experience. A Wellness Center just opened for free gym workouts, yoga, swimming, zumba, abs, spin, and the list goes on. It is simple to sign up for recreational sports which have games a couple of times a week. There is a game room with pool tables in the student center for all students to meet and have fun with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Midwestern State University cooks should be called chefs. They make the most delicious food and keep a very clean cafeteria. The meal plan is affordable and the food it pays for is very much worth the money. The cafeteria is easy to get to and is surrounded by classroom buildings and dorms.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in a dorm once, but was in an apartment on campus for a couple of years. The classroom buildings are all easily accessible from all dorms and apartments. It is quick to walk or ride a bike to classes. Dorms have many activities every semester and are like a family. Having roommates is an awesome experience. It is great to learn about other people and to create a small family during the school year.

    Academic Rigor

    Midwestern State University is known for it's great academics. Classes are not always simple and require a lot of work, but in the long run the work definitely pays off. Professors WANT the students to understand the information and pass the classes. The education at Midwestern State University is beneficial and top of the line.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on task and complete your work before you play. Getting an education is something many college students take for granted, but going to college is a huge accomplishment that a lot of people do not have the advantage to do. Take interesting classes if undecided on a major. Midwestern State University has a broad spectrum of opportunities to choose from. Always take advantage of professor's office hours because they are there to help and enjoy doing so. There are many free help labs for struggling students and professors encourage attendance. Midwestern State University has many organizations to join which allows many social interactions and a lot of new friendships.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern State University is the perfect size for student and teacher interaction. The campus has a lot of history behind it, but also creates new history everyday. Midwestern State University is the perfect place to enjoy the feeling of a community and a great place to call home.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This university offers many degrees and super easy to enroll.

    Dorm Life

    Not on campus...

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are top notch. Teachers are awesome!!

    In three sentences

    I think that this University is Awesome!!! I have never had any bad experiences here. All the staff are super sweet. Very knowledgeable about their jobs. Always ready to assist you in whatever you need. The classes are great. I am a distance Education student and I have never had any difficulty reaching any staff member or entering into my classes online. They offer a wide variety of distance education classes. Also, the tuition rates are lower than any other universities. I Love this Place.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police patrol 24 hrs and also nice to students

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very heavy on this campus

    Clubs and Activities

    vast clubs and activities too choose from

    Great for these types of students

    That like teacher interacting with there students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We like to take all the shirts from other schools and burn them in a bonfire to become a real msu mustang

    Bang for the buck

    Midwestern is one of the cheapest colleges around while you still receive an excellent education

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities to do everyday plus new gym

    Food and Dining

    buffet style lunch room with a vast selection

    Dorm Life

    A lot of activties and event to do inside of the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will help you all they can if you so initiative

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in Midwestern activities, sit in the front and talk with your teachers

    In three sentences

    Midwestern has an uplifting environment. Heavy student and teacher interaction. Fun and safe campus.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police just recently got brand new trucks to drive around in. The campus is generally pretty safe, but I feel that it has more to do with the students being good people rather than the campus police protection. The police seem to spend more time writing tickets than anything else.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone going into the medical field would enjoy MWSU. Art students are also a big part of Midwestern, but majors such as radiology and nursing offer the most to their students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many of the buildings on campus are in good condition, but very old. Some of these older buildings have very large trees surrounding them. If you walk underneath, you will see that they are full of squirrels!

    Bang for the buck

    For the price that one pays, Midwestern is not a bad choice at all. It's a good place for people coming from out of state to attend college. The dorms are a little rough and could use some work. Sunwatcher apartments are overpriced as well. However, Sundance apartments are nice and there are many nice apartments around campus to choice from. As far as education goes, I have learned a lot in my classes. The professors generally have been very knowledgeable and very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot to do for fun at Midwestern State. I'm really active so much of my time was spent in the wellness center or watching recreational league sports. The focus usually revolves around men's basketball and football. However, the art program at MWSU is pretty amazing. Going to the art museum or to the fine arts building is a good place to view the students' art.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is average at best. It's pretty much pizza, sandwiches, and hamburgers everyday. The only plus about the cafeteria is that it was usually pretty clean.

    Dorm Life

    The girls' dorms are fairly clean and spacious. There are six floors and each floor has an RA. I lived on the sixth floor my first semester at MWSU and used the stairs everyday. I did this because the one elevator that the dorm has is extremely slow. I then moved to the second floor. I loved my new roommate. I also loved not climbing six flights of stairs everyday. The boys' dorms are a different story. Only three floors and not nearly as clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Like any university, there are hard classes and easy classes depending on the professors. I have really enjoyed all of my psychology classes. I struggled some my freshman year, but who doesn't? Once I acquired good study habits, the classes at MWSU were still challenging, but not anything that one couldn't handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for students planning to attend: use the wellness center as much as you can! Midwestern State has a beautiful fitness center. You may find exercise boring or unnecessary, but the MWSU wellness center will make you feel differently! They offer tons of classes such as yoga and stationary biking. Also, always go to the bonfires that are held during football season. They are tons of fun.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern State University has a small community feel. The campus feels less like a college and more like a close-knit neighborhood. The squirrels on campus are by far the best animals of any school campus I have ever been to.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have awesome campus police that really do keep our campus safe. Rarely do incidents ever occur.

    Greek Life

    Very active Greek life on campus, with multiple sororities and fraternities for students to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition is really low compared to many other Texas schools and you still get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    Go to any of the athletic games that happen during the year. We are all very dedicated to cheering for our teams!

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options for eating in the dining hall. It's like your very own buffet restaurant!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are nice and clean and there are always a lot of events going on around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes, great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of on-campus housing and get a feel for things. Also be sure to check out the degrees that MSU offers and learn about the opportunities that await you!

    In three sentences

    The student life makes the school really fun because of all the great events on campus. The teaching and programs offered on campus are really good. You'll definitely love the education you get when you're here.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't need campus security but always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Football thats all .

    Great for these types of students

    Keep in touch with your family because you will need them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The coaches Im going to leave It there.

    What to do for fun

    Not much I'm a football player we are always practicing.

    Food and Dining

    its a meal.Notb much

    Dorm Life

    It's a hard thing if you have always had your own room .

    Academic Rigor

    Haven' t received my grades but I know that I'm doing great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get plenty of rest.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school to attend my teachers are great .They are willing to help you as much as they can.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The stars say it all! Expense is the name of the game and as an Engineering student on the Ten year plan with three children a wife and a job. I can tell you that MSU is a place where you can feel free to pinch Abraham Lincoln so hard that you will leave a bruise on the copper!

    What to do for fun

    I would consider Wichita Falls to be sort of a quite country town. It is a place where you make your own fun. Dallas is a hr and a half away if you really miss the night life of clubs and bars and such. Wichita Falls has only and handful of establishments to call night life and everything is closed by two am.

    Food and Dining

    Wichita Falls is literally 3 miles across and the nice thing about the location of MSU is that on all sides there is eating establishments everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    I do plan to live in the dorms. I have, however, looked into the prices and compared to living expenses of other campuses across Texas it really is not an unexpected hit in the wallet.

    Academic Rigor

    The thing about MSU is that even though the student body is growing, administration is a strong believer in keeping classes smaller. This, in itself, increases academic performance and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    The neat thing about Wichita Falls, Tx is the fact that it is a shrinking town. The school systems and industry are always looking for a way to bring people in and keep them here. Look into the financial aid section of MSU and you will find that at this school they offer little incentives for coming.

    In three sentences

    I have spent most of my college career just trying to avoid MSU! It turns out that MSU is just what I need at this point in my life. Cheap tuition, cheap cost of living in the surrounding area and great education are the three things that I should have been running towards this whole time!

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I plan on running a lot around the campus and outside because of the scenery.

    Food and Dining

    I have not heard anything about the food or dining facilities but I do expect it to be better than military grade!

    Dorm Life

    I have heard from current students that the all female dorms are nicer than the co-ed dorms. This was encouraging because my boy friend who does not go to Midwestern feels comfortable with me living around girls more so than guys.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet taken any classes at Midwestern yet, but I expect it to be less busy and demanding than the Air Force Academy.

    In three sentences

    It was a beautiful campus! I loved the colors and the layout of buildings. Also, I like that the all-female dorms are nicer than the co-ed dorms.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency stations scattered around campus, and the MSU police are constantly patrolling the campus as well.

    What to do for fun

    I hope you have no problems with small town living! There's one mall, two movie theaters, and a small water park. Other than that, there's not too much to do here; however it's great that Dallas is only two hours away!

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten in the cafeteria; however I've heard it's much better than high school food, and the fact that it's all you can eat is a huge bonus!

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are extremely tiny which is expected, but the apartments on campus are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course some classes are more rigorous than others, which really depends on the teacher you have. So overall I'd say it's about average.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern is a great school for those on a budget. Most of the faculty are helpful and approachable. However, there isn't much to do in the small city of Wichita Falls.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    football games, hanging out with room/dorm mates, and shopping

    Tips for prospective students

    make friends you will have so much fun.

    In three sentences

    MSU is a awesome university the people are friendly. The instructors have worked or work in the field they are teaching, so they are knowledgeable in the field of study. The on campus dorms and apartments are cozy and very livable.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I was walking around campus, I felt extremely safe. There weren't strange looking people walking around and there was plenty of security.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to go to a school with smaller class sizes, I'd suggest looking into this school. It is a pretty small campus so it doesn't take long to walk from place to place.

    Food and Dining

    I like how they have a variety of different things to eat every day. There are plenty of places to eat at. And they have things that aren't cafeteria food that are on campus like Quiznos.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are kind of small but they are nice. There are six bathrooms on every floor but they are private so you don't have to worry about taking a shower with another girl in the bathroom with you.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely loved it here when I visited it a couple weeks ago. Everyone was super nice and very helpful. I really like the campus and how close everything is. There are plenty of places to eat out if you don't want to eat the food in the cafeteria.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe.

    Greek Life

    Never see any Greek life really.

    Great for these types of students

    Country people, who want to go to school in a small town and that's affordable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bonfire was nice.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Um...nothing. It's what you make it I guess.

    Food and Dining

    Nasty.

    Dorm Life

    Very nice dorms in killingsworth. Fortunately, I didn't have to see my roommate because of the way the room is set up. Sharing bathrooms is not bad at all because there's always a restroom open. RA's are pretty cool. Visitation hours kind of suck though.

    Academic Rigor

    It's ok. Had a bunch of boring, hard, and couldn't speak English teachers. School needs to invest in some new staff. S.I. (Supplementary instructors) are really helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Im a very outgoing person but i couldn't find much to do in the small town. GET TO KNOW YOUR PROFESSORS. I felt like a lot of mine had picks. Just stay on top of things and do your work. Don't believe the hype on the food, just like any other college, the food gets nasty after a while. Plus, the cafe hours suck, especially around dinner time, I'm starving around 7:30. Not a lot to do around the campus, especially if you're from the city and you a use to doing things. Friendly but weird people. Advisors don't do a lot. Not a party school at all. Dead on weekends, well pretty much every night. If you're from Dallas/Fort Worth, DO NOT come. The dorms are really nice but NO WIFI!!!! You will make friends quickly though, everyone's friendly. The percentage of returning students from other cities is low. Mostly athletes and commuters.

    In three sentences

    Country town. Boring People. But beautiful campus

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Most of the professors I have taken classes with are willing to help with any difficulties one has with the course. So you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern State University is a pretty good school. If you are someone like me who loves a small classroom environment, and personal interaction with your professor, then you should consider this college.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Not very expensive!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't the best, but not the worst. If all else fails there is always a good salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus, either in the dorms or the apartments, is the best!

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are easy, but you do need to spend time studying. The professors are willing to help if you ask for it.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern State is a great university, as long as you get involved in some way. The size is perfect, small enough you always see someone you know, and yet big enough you don't know everyone. Plus it's a beautiful campus!

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There seemed like plenty of activities to do as far as on campus concerts, motivational speakers every month, and movie screenings; but not many students show up to these events.

    What to do for fun

    Wichita Falls is a very small city, be aware of that. Yes it is true Dallas and other major cities are only 2-4 hours away but it's not that easy to go whenever you feel to.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is usually the only option at times, but it is unfortunate that it closes at 7pm.

    Academic Rigor

    Being an out of state student I found that the classes were very simple but may be for every college. The best way to pass with a good grade is to follow the professor's syllabus, show up to class, and be prepared for tests.

    In three sentences

    MSU is more of a commuter school because so many students leave over the weekend. As a freshman you see the same people all the time and eventually it feels like high school because you know everyone in your class. I am an athlete which allowed me to stay busy, I don't know what it's like to be a normal student.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around and on the lookout.

    Greek Life

    Greek life exists on campus and it seems slightly popular if you are not an athlete.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty activities for students who want to join anything. It is very diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for athletes who do not quite make it to division 1 schools. This school is also great for students who like small communities.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here is low, yet the school is pretty decent.

    What to do for fun

    Midwestern State has a board of students who help plan events for the student body during the year. There are so many events that most of student body partakes in, making almost every event fun, whether it is the homecoming bonfire or finals frenzy week.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is a little iffy. It is good because it is a buffet, but I can't say my stomach has felt great after eating there.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is small and confining but also good because this is where everyone meets each other for the first time.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are pretty difficult but manageable here. The teachers work well with you because there are smaller classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to go through good classes. Since the classes are smaller, the teachers will be able to pay attention to you more.

    In three sentences

    MIdwestern State University has a great community of young adults who can spend time with each other, but also encourage each other to do well in school. The athletics are amazing, with great support from this community. Midwestern State University encourages community, uniting the school, making it homely for the students.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are ok; I am still looking for more places to eat other than the student center. It would be helpful to have food places labeled on the campus map

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus; if you have financial aid, then go for it!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is pretty standard; get to know the teachers and see if study groups are for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded, enjoy the scenery. The school has some beautiful buildings!

    In three sentences

    Its a good school, most everything is within walking distance. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Still learning about the school, but nothing bad to say yet.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school always offers nice activities for students to partake in and it's FREE! Mostly. Aside from that Wichita offers many attractions outside of the college.

    Food and Dining

    The food is edible but would like to see a better variety of healthy foods. Aside from that I am pleased with the dining here at MSU.

    Dorm Life

    Being in the boys dorm wasn't too bad. Although the other students proved to be annoying disturbing the halls and sometimes vandilizing the building. Force needs to be shown by staff.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff are great at making you feel included. You aren't just a face in the crowd. The smaller class sizes provide the student to get teacher one on one a lot of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really consider your ideal college size. Coming from a small town this college was a perfect fit for me. It didn't overwhelm me upon arrival.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful along with the town. Staff and facilities are all excellent. The campus does a great job making you feel welcome and at home.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym. Go to Denim and Diamonds, The Mix, or Stage. Join organizations. Participate in the campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    If you are not a cooker, get a meal plan! It's quick, easy food. Most of it is actually pretty decent tasting as well.

    Dorm Life

    The only downside of dorm life is having to share bathrooms with others in Trigg, Killingsworth, and Pierce.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest researching professors and always having a meal plan. The campus always has events going on, they may not be in the interest of some, but there is always something to participate in. Getting active and leaving your dorm room is the best way to meet friends. JOIN ORGANIZATIONS!

    In three sentences

    This school is a very close knit school. Its' education and nursing programs are top notch. Many people travel the globe to participate in its' nursing program.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe. By far i have not heard of anyone getting hurt or any dangerous activity's around the town.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends is always fun. There are a few night clubs around and those are pretty popular.

    Food and Dining

    I like the food. They always have something i like, and if i don't like anything i just go and have a bowl of cereal.

    Dorm Life

    Its nice living in the dorms, that's how you get to meet most of your friends. I like how the dorms are semi private. If you want your space you go to your side of the room. Its like two separate rooms, but just with out a door in between.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult, but it all depends on what your interest are. If you like a subject you will do good in the class. If you are having trouble, the professors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books ahead of time. Keep up with the reading, make sure you have read the chapters for the exams.

    In three sentences

    Midwestern is a great school. I love that it is a small campus, we get to know our professors. It is such a friendly environment.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The program is ideal and quite accommodating for working professionals.

    In three sentences

    The Program fits my needs. The program is online, and suitable for me as a working professional mother. The program allows me to use my professional experience as credits towards my degree.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always patrolling.

    Greek Life

    There are many different Greek organizations that are on campus that go along with almost anyone's interests.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek, inter mural sports, various clubs and organizations, and TONS of free activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the social and friendly student who is eager to learn as well as make lasting friendship with others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People like to play a pick up game of frisbee or football on the green space between Killingsworth and the student center.

    Bang for the buck

    There are lots of resources on campus including wellness center, health clinic, advising, counseling, computer labs, and lounges.

    What to do for fun

    You can hit up the mall which is within a mile of campus. You can go workout and shoot some hoops in the wellness center as well as swim when it's warmer. There is also plenty of space to create a pick up game of frisbee or soccer.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty decent. There are various lines to choose from depending on your mood.

    Dorm Life

    There's always something going on in the dorms. Our dorms have two kitchens and four out of six floors (in the girls) have laundry rooms. Each floor also has at least one lounge and study room. The RAs are always there to help you out and support you if you just ask.

    Academic Rigor

    College is not easy and this is no exception. Science classes are no joke.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for both admission and financial aid as soon as you can. College is not cheap.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, but easy to get around. The people are very friendly and easy to talk to. Professors really care about helping you.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police don't do much besides give tickets and warnings. But they are trying to start up a campus watch type program.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and frats are pretty good. My favorite is the Christian sorority on campus though, Sigma Phi Lambda!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like all of the different diversity options available.

    Bang for the buck

    A good school for your buck!! Worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Wichita Falls is a small town so there is not much to do besides hang out with your friends and join organizations to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has pretty bad food. But don't let that you affect your decision.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good for your first year. After a while they get boring because sharing a room is hard. There are pretty cool on campus apartment housing options, you just have to be competitive to get into one.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging. Most of them require you to apply yourself and do work on your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about Midwestern come walk around before going here. You'll want to get a feel of the town and the types of students you see walking around. There is a lot of diversity here and its cool to learn about new cultures. Classes are good as long as you know what professors to take!

    In three sentences

    Midwestern is a great school for people who like a small school, diverse students and good teachers. The town is tiny and you get to know people fast. There are a lot of commuters.