Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Miles College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're the type of student that likes to talk to your teachers one on one then I recommend Miles College. The school is very family oriented. The teachers are always there when you need them and if they're not there, feel free to call them and they'll be on their way.!

    Tips for prospective students

    Incomers, when you get here, DON'T GET LAZY. Especially if you are on the Honor's Curriculum. The best way to keep your grades up is through attendance and diligence. If you show the professors that you are willing to work with a positive attitude, they will help you succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    To be a private HBCU, the price is very reasonable.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are always in sight

    Greek Life

    i am not greek but i am looking forward to becoming greek.

    What to do for fun

    sga plan alot of events for sudents throughout the year from fashion shows, to concerts and cookouts.

    Dorm Life

    i never stayed in a dorm a miles college but i hear its very liveable.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply at miles if you're looking for outstanding professors, great tutors, a supportive college and a successful career.

    In three sentences

    miles college is a great and positive environment. i would reccommend anyone to attend this prestigious college. i rate miles college 10.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who need a second chance

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music students, theater, criminal justice,social workers

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your financial aide stuff

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently enrolled here but the classes that I need for my major are only offered doing spring and fall. I want to take some doing the summer also

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a private college so you know before applying tuition will be expensive. I

    What to do for fun

    I would leave campus really other than football, and other sports for fun you have to get out and enjoy the city of Birmingham.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Cafe that serves pretty much the same thing every day. The Bear's Den serves pretty good food but is only open for certain times.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on campus, but many students complain about the dorms. Really the ones who live in the older dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very helpful and good. They nurture you and make sure you walk away not only with a great education but with life experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on school, don't get caught up in the things that will not show up on your resume or GPA.

    In three sentences

    A small one-on-one experience type college. Teachers are exceptional and it is a life changing experience.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is a safe place at times, but security can be better.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life has its ups and down, im currently non greek but i plan on joining very soon. Great and positive organizations, wish they are a like more involved with campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activites are very positive and wouldn't be a bad thing to join at all.

    What to do for fun

    You have to personally entertain yourself, unless you are involved in clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is fair, always room for improvement. I rather eat off campus more so than on

    Dorm Life

    Newmens Dormitory where I live is has great quality and very suitable to my liking. Murchinson Dormitory is a place i would not want to live in during the school semester. Newmens compared to Murchinson are a completely difference.

    Tips for prospective students

    Simply go to class and handle your business. Maintain your work ethic and always remind yourself work before enjoyment. College is your last serious step so it is important to maintain a good average and do the right things.

    In three sentences

    Miles college is a great institution to be apart of. Miles College environment is well rounded and a wonderful place to be. Last but not least, Miles College will lead you in all the correct paths you need to be in.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has 24 hour security.

    Greek Life

    There is a wide rage of greeks to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama club is a personal favorite of mine we also offer acting classes instructed by the famous actress Robin Givens

    Great for these types of students

    Buisness, Criminal jsutice, Communications & Law

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    M- day is the miles homecoming day for fun and festivities.

    Bang for the buck

    Miles is a rather expensive school selection.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the extra curriculum activities occur at our on site student union.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe serves great down home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all clean and newly renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    Miles pushes all its students for academic excellence and provides you with a great counselor success.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a personal learning environment with administrators who actually care schedule a tour at Miles college we are minutes away and miles ahead.

    In three sentences

    Miles college is a great Historical black college. Our president is firmly involved with his students and teachers. We have great teacher to student ratio and Miles is an great overall personal learning experience.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get the whole HBCU experience, but isn't overwhelmed by it.

    Bang for the buck

    With a tuiton of $14, 902, yeah you get you bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    GO to the football and basketball games!

    Food and Dining

    Fairfield has your standard McDonald's and Burger Kings. But there are also you variations of soul food restaurants, asiain cuisine, and more.

    Dorm Life

    SInce everyone knows everybody, life is so fun! There are great parties and the sports life is amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    Miles is pretty even. Not too tough, but its not an easy A school either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your GPA up to a 3.7; you'll get their presidential scholarship worth a full ride for all four years!

    In three sentences

    Miles is a close knit family. The staff are caring. You get a sense of community here.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshmen have to attend our Vesper Service.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous things to do for fun on campus. There are movie nights, game days, and prep rallies. There are many Non-Greek as well as Greek organizations on campus you can join that will always be filled with amazement and fun filled activities. You can join our Student Government Association and they travel all around the country.

    Food and Dining

    On campus we have the cafeteria and the Bears Den. They are both great places to eat. They both are not open 24 hours but they are delicious places to dine during the day.

    Dorm Life

    I am a male that stays in Murchison Hall. The dorm life is great because you as well as your roommate can re-arrange your room to your liking, so that you guys will be comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are stressed at Miles College and it is a must that you get in Honors Curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say get to know your professors. Go to study hours in the library. I would advise you use your time wisely and join as many campus organizations as possible, because they can help you as well.

    In three sentences

    Miles College is a great institution for students who love one on one teacher participation. I am currently an freshmen and I love the peer tutoring. Miles is a 9 on a scale of 1-10.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life will be AMAZING come Fall 2013. We will have each member of the Divine 9(Kappas,Omegas,Alphas,Sigmas,Iotas,Deltas,AKAs,Sigma Gamma Rhos, and Zetas) on the yard in the yard in the Fall.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm still a Freshman so I'm still learning some of the traditions and locations.

    What to do for fun

    We have a new student activity center being built which will be open Fall 2013. The basketball court is very popular for some students. Depending on who you meet you will have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is fair. Nothing too much to complain about. But we have a new dining center being built and will be open Fall of 2013.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is growing. We have new buildings being built. We also have off-campus student apartments. The new dormitory will be open Fall 2013.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are comparable to any school. I wouldn't say that it's too hard or too easy. If you go to class and do what is asked of you. You will excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with an open mind. Be very aware of your surroundings and the people whom you meet socially. Take advantage of each opportunity.

    In three sentences

    Miles is a very nice school for academics. Miles is a good place for any student that wants to continue their Matriculation. Miles is an very opportunistic school.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hours, 7 days a week campus security. There has been little incidents to take place on Miles College campus because our security officers make it their duty to watch over the campus entrance, exit and students.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is what makes the yard so fun to be on. The Greeks are always ready to stroll and have a good time. The Greek life is the best at Miles College not only do they make time for their studies, personal life, but they make time for volunteering. Our Greeks are huge on giving back to the community and students.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many associations for every individual and their interest, there are so many to name so I will name a few. The Student Government Association, United Negro College Fund, The Spanish Club, The Center of Academic Excellence and that is just to name a few. If you like to sing, dance, science, act we have plenty of clubs for you to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Miles College is great for students you are not so use to being around 10, 000 people, the campus is expanding but the enrollment is small and the class sizes are smaller so you won't feel like just a number. Miles College is a Southern traditional campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a wall entitled The Wall of Ignorance story goes that if you seat on this wall that you will flunk out of college. The reason being is because in college you have no time to sit around and lollygag, your there for an education and if your not studying you should be engaging in some campus activity.

    Bang for the buck

    Miles College Homecoming week is the best week of college that you will every have. All of the Greeks are on the yard, alumni's come back and show love, the atmosphere is a joyous atmosphere to be in. The Band parading on campus, the dancers dancing to the beat of the drums and everyone smiling and having a great time. Miles College homecoming week is one to remember.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun on campus. things such as; playing volleyball, kickball, football, building an obstacle course, running around the track, going to the SUB parties, enjoying the Greek Life and etc... There is never a dull moment at Miles College.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria staff provides meals that are hearty and healthy for all. The menu has various items to choose from and provides everything fresh, hot, cold and pleasurable.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus but I wish that I did because I hear so many great things about the living arrangements. the Dorms are your home away from home and the staff is so friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Miles College offers you the best of the best, our Honors Curriculum Program help those who excels academically stay on track. This program seeks out those who are willing to be apart of a positive, intellectual and career enhancing environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend Miles College make sure you know your purpose for going to college and stay focus. There are a lot of activities that one can engage in while attending college and some tend to lose focus of what they came to college for. Therefore, I repeat know your purpose for going to college, maintain a positive relationship with her peers and instructors and become involved on and off campus. Your campus and community involvement goes along way and will help with your future.

    In three sentences

    Miles College is a prestigious institute that offers higher learning to those you are willing to be challenged. Miles offer programs that will help you succeed in the corporate world and give you the skills needed for grad school. Miles College has a family oriented atmosphere that makes you feel at home because at Miles College we are your family and we care about your future endeavors.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always campus activies going on. Everything from probate shows to stage plays. It is a wonderful experience, much better than other schools that I have attended.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study. There are more than enough opportunities to succeed at Miles College. Come to learn.

    In three sentences

    Miles College is a great school. I love the academic curriculum. We represent culture, class, and civility.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security. Make sure you have a decal because they will boot you lol. Their nice though. Once I needed a jump off and they helped me out. Whenever they think something is about to go down they put the campus on lockdown to keep us students safe.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks have parties on and off campus that are very fun. I've never went to a part that I didn't enjoy myself.

    What to do for fun

    Football and basketball games are always fun. I was a cheerleader so of course I enjoyed it.

    Food and Dining

    I love the cafe especially on chicken render Wednesdays lol. The cafe staff members are friendly and always wear a style. My favorite was ms Liola. They also rewarded us with cake and ice cream randomly just because. They make sure that there's enough HOT food for everyone. There's also the best cave you can purchase food when the cave closes. Great prices and good food.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in Pitts my freshman year and Basd my sophomore year. Pitts have community bathrooms, Bass you and your roommate have your own bathroom. Bass is better than Pitts but their both ate safe. All my neighbors in both dorms were nice. The dormitory workers are nice and friendly plus they will make sure your safe and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Miles College have great teachers and the classes are not that hard if you just apply yourself and talk to your teachers. It doesn't hurt to try your best and you will become a scholar.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused , stay positive and enjoy yourself. If you are having any problems please go to your counselor they are very helpful and will help you to your best ability.

    In three sentences

    Miles college is a very religious college. The teachers, counselors, and students are very helpful. I'll give miles a 10 on a scale of 10. It's small but it's as fun as a university. Any college is all about what you make of it. Miles is such a friendly and helpful college. My first year I thought I wasn't going to enjoy it because its small but I LOVE my HBCU !

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you stay and do what you are supposed to do you won't have any issues with violence. stay away from people and mind your own business and you will be safe and ok.

    Greek Life

    If you like it MC Loves it. They might even love it a lil to much. People change and allow the Letters for pride to destroy their lives. be mindful that when you do something never let it change you. but the greek life is big on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    At Miles college you will have to know how to talk to certain people. once you learn that and dont mess up your impression you will be fine and welcomed to join all the clubs etc.

    Great for these types of students

    LRC is great for the ones who want to get work done.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Miles is min away but miles ahead.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do at MC. They have step shows, probates, fun activities, we do things tows modiconnition and other activities Miles college will keep you busy, to keep you out of trouble.

    Food and Dining

    It may not be the best food in the world but Its something to eat. Be thankful for what you have because others wish they were in your shoes.

    Dorm Life

    If you choose to live in the dorm, make sure you and your roommate have an understanding, don't let your living space feel like you're in a cage and you can only do things when you are alone. have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the student teacher ratio is a plus. Any and mostly all of the instructor you will have will know your name. They will make am impression on you and same with them. The classes are not hard, however they can become hard if you do not do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never let peer pressure have the best of you. Always think of what will i feel after i do or don't complete the tasks at hand. If you choose Miles College Please Chooses it for the right reasons and never let anything or anyone stop you from achieving your goals.

    In three sentences

    Through all the ups and downs of attending Miles college, I am finally 1 year away from completing my matriculation here at miles college. My experience here has made me stronger, and has helped me make better decisions for my future.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    when you call them they are right there on time

    Greek Life

    they have greek life if you want to join

    Clubs and Activities

    tennis club engish ect..

    What to do for fun

    there is not a lot to do around besides play basketball and run track play in the band and be of the football team and also the new student hall

    Food and Dining

    if you like soul food they have it here at miles college fish well good am always trying new schools

    Dorm Life

    miles college just bulid 3 new buildings and two of them are droms and a new student hall dinning area

    Academic Rigor

    they only graduate 20% of there students

    Tips for prospective students

    the tips that i would give a prospective student is always look at what a college offers before u say I oh I want to go here cause my friend or girlfriend or boyfriend is go to the same college do whats best for you and always put your best foot foward in everything you do

    In three sentences

    Miles College on a scal to 1-10 is a 6

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    homework.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play football at Miles College. I play my PSP3. I attend college parties.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should apply themselves and stay focus. Students should attend class. Students should participate in campus activities.

    In three sentences

    Miles is an awesome college. The faculty and staff are student centered. The campus is up-to-date with technology.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Growing process

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its not that bad only had a few issues but nothing major a few things happen here but not alot

    Greek Life

    nothing much to say about them

    Clubs and Activities

    they are pretty boring childish club goers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none its pretty boring

    Bang for the buck

    its an okay school you love and hate them the teachers are good one on one hands on whatever you need they are there for you with out a doubt...the president of the school is always around walking the campus speaking you cant miss him if your a milean you will see your president and can even stop and talk to him.... everything else financial aid, business office and registers office all those things are horrible they will drive you crazy and have you sapping and cursing them out REALLY you gotta pray to deal with those people.

    What to do for fun

    really nothing much a few parties and clubs thats mainly it pretty boring

    Dorm Life

    ive only stayed in one dorm pitts and it was horrible

    Academic Rigor

    its ok

    Tips for prospective students

    do your financial aid information in advance if not it will take them forever to get your aid done i dont recommend miles i have a love hate relationship with the school they waited till my last three classes to screw me over so always look at your student course hours yourself and if they dont offer your classes dont settle for anything else

    In three sentences

    not good horrible

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Uzuir Weusi Malikia Sorority, Inc., SGA

    What to do for fun

    Attend any activitiest are on campus.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Miles College has been very rewarding. The instructors and students are wonderful.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot

    Food and Dining

    Could get better

    Dorm Life

    Hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus

    In three sentences

    A small campus Well put together Small class rooms

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Miles College is a HBCU that takes a lot of pride in its history and talks about it all of the time. It can be boring at times but what school can't. Three new buildings are being built including a new dormitory, a new student union building, and a new admissions center. Greek organizations are probably the most attractive on campus, but there are plenty of other activities and clubs to be involved in. Just like every other college the rigorousness of the academics depends on the instructor.