Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Millikin University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting an academically-focused school Students wanting a small, personable campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely put your academics first. There will be plenty to do around campus, but it won't be nearly as fun if you're stressing out about classes all the time. You take out of college what you put into it. If you don't care and stay in your room 24/7, you won't take much out of it and probably won't have much fun. On the other hand, if you get involved with organizations galore, you will make plenty of new friends and have an amazing time.

    Bang for the buck

    In terms of education, I feel I am getting what I am paying for. Room and board is extremely expensive, and, although I have a nice-sized room for one person, there is some updating that could happen. I also feel the meal plan is too limiting, especially for the cost. We are paying upwards of $1,000 for the meal plan, yet there are only two places on campus that accept it, and one of them only accepts the meal exchange during a certain time period.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone I have met, faculty and students alike, are very personable and have made me feel welcome since day one. I met some of my best friends my freshmen year, and there is an ample supply of organizations on campus to keep students busy.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are extremely knowledgeable in their respected subject areas. I feel like I am at the best school for my major and will get a great education that will set me up for a successful career. Most classes are under thirty students, so each student is able to at least make an appointment for one-on-one time with the professor is there is a misunderstanding in the class.

  • 08/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Millikin is great if you love a fine arts atmosphere...where you can walk around outside singing and not get looked at like you're a weirdo. If you love to sing, act, or dance, you don't have to be majoring/minoring in those areas to get involved, there are ton of opportunities for non-majors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't bring a U-Haul on move-in day! The rooms aren't that big! Apply on time and stay in contact with your admission counselor! I was getting a lot of money from a different college, and called up my admin counselor, and while they couldn't match the money I was being offered, they gave me a little extra grant money.

    Bang for the buck

    With the small faculty-to-student ratio, it's so easy to get one-on-one help from teachers (one prefers to go by the nickname T-Dunk!). A traditional school will teach you formulaic answers, but at Millikin, you learn how to be a quick, analytical thinker...something all employers are looking for! However, it can get pretty pricey. If FAFSA screws you over and you don't receive a lot of financial aid, you might end up having a lot of loans upon graduation. If you're not going there for theater, music, nursing, or teaching, I'm not sure it's really worth it...

    Am enjoying being here

    I hated high school--the people there were so fake. At Millikin, I've made some friends that I know will be in my life forever. If you like the fine arts, there's always a concert, play, art show going on, and there's always people outside playing frisbee or wiffleball in the quad.

    Am learning a lot

    What I love about Millikin is the unique classes they offer. Yes, we all have to take a writing and research class as freshmen. But the professors create an interesting topic that you follow for the whole semester. One class studied the horror genre, while another was based around food. All the classes encourage you to be an analytical student, creating your own connections in order to apply what you learn to your daily life and future career.

  • 07/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music students

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a visit before you decide and picture yourself living there. If you don't like where you are, it's hard to enjoy being there, regardless of classes or friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course college is going to be expensive, but this was definitely one of my better options. With good grades, a merit scholarship can help drastically and over all, it's pretty decent as far as price goes.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is really pretty, and it's small but if that is what you're looking for, then it's perfect. Students are incredibly easy going and nice.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are small which I feel help to develop stronger relationships with teachers, who take the extra time to make sure everyone understands, and make learning easier.

  • 10/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Millikin is pretty well with reaching out to all kinds of students, but esp. theater and art majors, business majors, and sports education majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that you are going to an extremely small school, take an overnight visit to campus and see if it is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is really worth the tuition. However the room and board can get pretty pricey. Also, the meal plans for freshman is an extremely high amount that most people never use each week, leaving them with wasted meal plans. Millikin does pretty well with handing out scholarships to worthy students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though Decatur is a small city, Millikin creates enough activities to create a fun and new environment. Everyone here is really expressive and unique which allows even the shy quiet people to express themselves. Most people here are really excepting and welcoming.

    Am learning a lot

    The gen education classes seem a little pointless to take, esp. CWRR which you are required to take even if you passed the AP test, which I did. The classes pertaining to one's major are extremely beneficial. They are challenging and still intriguing. I can tell the education I am getting here is a lot more advanced than most other schools based on talking to people at different schools with the same major. Millikin is great with dealing with hands on activities.

  • 10/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those with an interest in nursing Athletes Those with an interest in fine arts Students from smaller high schools Students who enjoy making a lot of friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the neighborhood and the cost drive you away! They work well with financial packages and have top-notch safety. A smaller campus community has a huge advantage. The professors actually care about their students, you get to know pretty much everyone, and the classes are smaller among other perks!

    Bang for the buck

    It is rather expensive being a private school and all, and the nursing program is a bit more costly; however, everything is much nicer here than at Eastern Illinois University (where I attended college my freshman year).

    Am enjoying being here

    The only downfall of going to Millikin is that it is in Decatur. The neighborhood isn't that great and neither is the pollution but if you ignore those it's great!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a nursing student at Millikin! We have a very high ranked nursing program that is very competitive and provides an excellent education and hands-on learning!

  • 06/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    While Millikin is expensive, it is well worth the price. You will get the education that you are paying for, and the dorms are taken care of quite well. The food gets a little boring after a while, but it is still prepared well and tastes good. Millikin is worth going to for the education, the experience, and the friends you'll make.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the scenery and the buildings on campus. It is gorgeous, and I love walking around campus just to see the beauty of the outdoors. I have had a few problems here where I have slipped through the system, but I believe that everything is worked out now.

    Am learning a lot

    Millikin's professors are fantastic, and they are enthusiastic about what they teach. They know what they're talking about, and their passion is reflected when they are lecturing us or handing out assignments. I am getting a true education here.

  • 06/30/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious music students

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In a sketchy part of town. Robberies and scary things happen all around campus. Safety and Security isn't very pro-active about preventing these from happening.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Kind Life Club and The Environmental Affairs Council are excellent

    Great for these types of students

    Good for go-getters who like to work on projects.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Cookie Party the week before Christmas break - been going on for over 50 years. The campus stops classes for a day to eat cookies. THE BEST. Day of Scholarship - campus stops classes for a day to show long-term projects from all majors

    Food and Dining

    improving vastly to provide healthier options, lots of vegetarian and sometimes vegan options!

    Dorm Life

    horrid system of on campus residency.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live in the dorms or The Woods apartments, whatever you do!!!! Get out of it somehow! Residence Life is ran very poorly.

    In three sentences

    Excellent communal emphasis, and a great place for artistic opportunities (in terms of amount of independent student projects)

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I definitely believe that it's worth the money.

    Will learn a lot

    I absolutely love this school.

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Theater, Vocal, Business, Nursing, Science majors, any major

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that Millikin has the program that you are wanting to pursue. This helps so that you know that the university will work with you. Also, feel comfortable and happy at Millikin because it is where you will be spending the next four years of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    Millikin offers lots of help for students who are in need of it financially. The students can get a lot out of the university and the university is willing to work with the students so that their experience is even better.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many organizations on campus that can peak just about everyone's interest in some way. Students can join choirs or be apart of math club or even video game clubs. Here at Millikin there is a little something for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great at helping the students to understand the material if they will come in to office hours and ask questions. They are very understanding and help out as much as they can so that the students will and can succeed.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus and I think we have decent security... however it is not always the most reliable.

    Greek Life

    I don't know- I am not involved with Greek Life and therefore have nothing to compare it to.

    Clubs and Activities

    Soooooo many different options- you can find your nitch anywhere!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working. Intrinsically motivated.

    Bang for the buck

    Millikin is expensive... but in my opinion it is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    I run a private animal shelter with my fiancee- that takes up the majority of my time. I also love to make things by sewing, painting, sculpting. I am also very social and I deeply enjoy hanging with friends... and their dogs.

    Food and Dining

    There are some decent choices in the coffee shops however the cafeteria food is below par.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not in love with the choices and Millikin rearranged where the upperclassmen live... it has made a lot of people unhappy.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman in college, I was up in front of a classroom of children teaching music- that is extremely vigorous. The curriculum never lightens up- as a junior I have taught Kindergarten general music, fourth grade general music, fifth grade beginning band, junior high band, and eighth grade general music- very intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what major you want to be- Millikin is not cheap and it is extremely expensive to change your major. You get out what you put in-be prepared to work as hard as you can but you will be rewarded.

    In three sentences

    Millikin is a wonderful community of professors whose primary purpose is always to not only further your learning experience but also your life experience. In their education department, Millikin offers a hybrid of learning in the classroom as well as hands on learning teaching in front of the classroom. I firmly believe that Millikin always has my best interest in mind and is always willing to extend a helping hand.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Business, and Nursing

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty extra curricular activities offered by the university such as: intermural sports, UCB events such as magicians, comedians and movies. Cheap bowling around the campus and free Millikin sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and use the resources that are offered by the university.

    In three sentences

    I believe Millikin is a great school for my major. The student/teacher ratio is perfect for students who prefer hands on help. Not to mention the living environments are very homely.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are safe rides at night for anyone who needs to get around campus safely. the campus security is always available 24/7 and respond within minutes to a call.

    Greek Life

    we have a nice, organized greek life for both men and women. they are involved with the community and there is a choice for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is always an intermural sport going on for kids who like to participate or games hosted by the activities center. also, there are too many clubs to count, it is just a matter of having enough time to do them all!

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, fun, athletic, reserved, theater, and involved students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the old gymnasium on campus is supposedly haunted at night.

    Bang for the buck

    it may be a little more expensive than other schools, but it is a great return on your money. internships and early field work is accounted for every major and they school doesn't mess around with preparing their students and giving them the best resources in order to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    dorm life usually has many things to choose from in a master list each month. also, the main student activity center has many gaming systems and is brand new this year with the newest games to play!

    Food and Dining

    the campus has great selection for food, it's just deciding where to eat every day! the cafe has a great selections for the typical meat eater, vegetarian, and early birds. healthy choices for students are well balances and the chef is really involved with knowing the students and how they are doing!

    Dorm Life

    there is a dorm on campus for every persons likes. classic, modern, and new ones are the choices and each one is maintained very nicely with the staff in charge. dorm life is also very involved in the students life allowing them every opportunity for social success and they are there also when the student needs help. great ra's!

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are perfect. sometimes you think there is so much to do, but when it is laid out, everything prepares you for your career. everything you do in class is prepping you for the next step in the long run and there is many hands on things for your academic pursuit that many colleges do not offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    millikin has numerous majors and new ones that are so hard to choose from, but when looking at the daunting choices go with your gut and it won't lead you astray. also, the professors are there for you 24/7 and really want you to succeed as much as you don't think they do. so, when your in a tight situation they are there for you if you ever need help so don't neglect that help!

    In three sentences

    it is the best choice i've made in my life so far! the school is a tight-knit community focused on the student's success. it is like the missing puzzle piece you search forever for and finally, when you find it, everything is complete.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like any campus, Millikin has its problems, but Security is good about taking care of things and helping with anything they can. We have what are called safe rides where you can call security and they will send someone to pick you up and drop you off where ever you need to go on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are quite a few Greek organizations on campus. There are frats and sororities, and they are all involved around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities around campus. They have intramural sports, academic clubs, and many Greek organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Millikin is great for all kinds of students, but if you are interested in music or theater, they have a great program for that. They also have a great program for nursing and teaching.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a telescope on top of the science building that you can look out of and one of the dorms is supposedly haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    Millikin is a pretty pricey school, but I think that you get a lot out of Millikin. The classes and teachers are great, the campus is lively, and there are so many things to do.

    What to do for fun

    There are many ways to have fun on campus. You could join an organization, hang out with the new friends you make, read, listen to music, or there are things to do near campus like: bowling, ice skating, shopping, and movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of good food choices around campus and the cafeteria food is usually pretty good too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice. Some of them have air conditioning while others don't and they are all secure.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very highly regarded school academically. However, the professors are very willing to help in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in something and enjoy your time at Millikin while it lasts.

    In three sentences

    Millikin is a very diverse school with a lot of opportunities. There are many ways to get involved while you get a great education. The campus community is very friendly and helpful.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe Rides are offered from 5pm-6am. There are also emergency posts located at random locations throughout the campus. Safety and Security is available at all times to handle any situation.

    What to do for fun

    There is pretty much little to do for fun on campus. Unless an organization has a program or event, there won't be much to do outside of parties. There are things to do in the city of Decatur itself, but if you don't have a car that's not much of an option either.

    Food and Dining

    Millikn's dining services are similar to that of the dorm life. They don't have many options for dining and the prices for what they do offer is extremely to high! Overall, they have fairly decent quality of food and they try to diversify their options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at Millikin is a good option for those who can afford. Millikin's price to stay on campus is extremely high! They also don't allow students to have a single room. There also aren't many options for upperclassman either. Overall, they have very nice buildings that are up-to-date and fit every students needs, but the prices turn a lot of students away.

    Academic Rigor

    Millikin has so many different classes to offer in different fields. Professors are friendly and knowledgeable of their fields. However, there are some majors that I know are becoming of high demand that Millikin does not offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to work and meet new people, Try to make the best of what you are being offered, and STAY FOCUSED!

    In three sentences

    Millikin University is a good school as far a academics. The professors at Millikin University are very knowledgeable in their subject areas. Millikin is a campus friendly, for all ages.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not only do students have individual room keys, all residential buildings have swipe card security. If an ID card is lost or stolen campus security can deactivate the card preventing anyone from accessing the student's building and from using their meal plan. Security also has a Send Word Now system that is used to alert students by email, phone call, or text message about any happenings on campus. You can also request a free Saferide when traveling across campus after dark. If traveling shorter distances you can also request an officer to escort you as you walk to your destination. The security team is always reminding students to stay alert be aware of their surroundings, walk in groups, and report any suspicious activity or people immediately.

    Greek Life

    Greek groups for men include Tau Kappa Epsilon, Delta Sigma Phi, Alpha Tau Omega, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, and the newly founded Sigma Lambda Beta International Fraternity, Inc. Greek groups for women include Delta Delta Delta, Pi Beta Phi, Alpha Chi Omega, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., and Sigma Lambda Gamma Sorority, Inc. There is also a chapter of Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity which is co-ed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide variety of groups for students of different ethnic, religious, and social identities. There are also a wide variety of intramural sports and special intrest groups. There are so many opportunities that every student is sure to find something to enhance their college exerience.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small town feel with a high academic environment will feel right at home at Millikin. Millikin also boasts high diversity within the the student population including international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bronzeman is a bronze statue on campus and is the closest thing we have to a physical mascot. Taking many pictures with the Bronzeman is considered a must many students. Un Bit Butter is a tradition of the theatre students where a select group of students perform 30 skits in 60 minutes once per semester. Vespers is an annual holiday performance involving all levels of chior that is well known through out the local area. At the annual Holiday Cookie Event all members of the campus community can come together and enjoy holiday music and baked goods made by the staff and faculty. In the spring the theatre students organize a Quidditch tournament based on the fictional sport of the Harry Potter series.

    Bang for the buck

    At Millikin I feel that I am getting a high quality education that is preparing me to be competitive and well qualified within my chosen careerfield. I have professors and advisors that I feel comfortable turning to with any acedmic or career concerns. I get the one on one help that I need and personal feedback on what I have mastered and how I can improve further. Although Millikin's pricetag may initially seem intimidating the university has a strong financial aid support program to help students find scholarships through the university and make good financial plans.

    What to do for fun

    While Decatur doesn't offer much in the way of fun. The University Center Board and other organizations host and co-host many campus events such as bingo nights where you can win prizes, laser tag, salsa dance night, talent shows, and UCB's Big Event which featured Sara Bareilles in 2011 and All Time Low in 2012. There are also a variety of theatrical productions throughout each semester at Pipe Dreams Studio Theatre, Millikin's student-run theatre company.

    Food and Dining

    Besides a meal plan, students have Flex dollars which can be spent at places like the campus Einstein Bros. Bagels shop, the Big Blue Bistro, and the nearby Dominos and Subway. The cafeteria and the Bistro are the only places that accept the meal plan. The cafeteria is set up buffet style with a variety of choices including pizza, ethnic foods, and American classics. The Bistro offers a variety of sandwhiches, paninis, fruit smooties, and soups. Vegan and vegitarian options are available at both locations.

    Dorm Life

    All residents halls are swipe access only and you only have access to your own building. Life in a residence hall is really what you make of it. You can hide in your room and study in solitude or join others in the lounge areas. Often times students from the same floor or building will get together to attend campus events, hang out, participate in community service events, and compete in inter-resident hall competitions. Freshmen also have First Week, a one week orientation where the students can adjust to campus life and get to know each other before the upperclassmen arrive.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a HIGHLY academic school. You will have to work hard for your grades, but the knowledge you will gain is worth it. To the professors you are an individual and they take your perspective and ideas into account. As the years progress most majors transition from learning career skills to using and perfecting them in real-world situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and look into scholarships from the university as well as other sources. Look into applying for the Living-Learning Communities. These are residential halls geared towards grouping students of similar academic pursuits(i.e. business, fine arts, international studies) to create communities where students can provide acedemic support for one another. Also be sure to communicate well with your professors, a good relationship with your professors can help you reach greater academic heights as they will see just how serious you are about your education.

    In three sentences

    Millikin University is a prestigious, small, but beautiful campus with small class sizes, quality one on one instruction, and tight knit community. Most of the university's funds are put towards academic scholarships and students of all social identities and backgrounds are welcome. Millikin graduates are highly successful with 97% of 2010 graduates gaining permanent employment or entering graduate/professional school within 6 months of graduation.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe. Safety & Security provides Safe Rides (a call you can make where they come get you from on-campus locations and take you to other on-campus locations) when it gets dark.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is pretty cool if you're into that. Check the website for the list of fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like everything to be close by, who enjoy a close-knit environment and who want to have better access to professors and faculty when needed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First Week is usually great if you're open to it. There are some great events during the semester and it's usually better during Spring semester.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really expensive for no reason, honestly.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. There are parties on the weekends but not anything huge. Best to leave campus for clubs because there are none near Decatur. There's a bar but you obviously have to be 21 and all the natives go there.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot to choose from but you get tired of the Dining Hall and the Bistro after a few months. There are a few cafes on campus and there's Jimmy Johns, Dominos, Subway, and a hotdog place and a lot of restaurants in the neighboring town.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't terrible if you like living in one. Dolson and the New Halls are the best but after a while, you'll prefer an apartment or off-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Millikin is a great school academically. You really get your money's worth. You get plenty of work so staying focused is important but if you stay on task, it's not to hard to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come visit! It is best to do this with any school so that you know that it is what you want. I've seen people transfer from a school because it was too big or too small, but if they had visited first, they could've avoided all the hassle. And when you get here, STAY FOCUSED.

    In three sentences

    Millikin is a great school if you want a smaller, more familial feel in a school. It was not hard to make new friends during the first day of being here and that definitely is important. Millikin's small class sizes also insure that you can get help in whatever subject whenever you need it.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Even if you don't think of yourself as the kind of person who would join a fraternity or sorority, you may want to consider it at Millikin. Many of our Greek houses break the typical negative Greek stereotypes. There are three panhellenic sororities, four IFC fraternities, and a few multicultural groups. Millikin waits until the Spring for formal recruitment, so first year students have a lot of time to consider whether or not they want to go Greek, and can get acclimated to the campus first.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of clubs and activities. You will find your niche.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education for a reasonable cost--most students receive a good amount of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There are over a hundred student organization on campus, so pretty much everyone can find a way to get involved. Consider going Greek, you'll meet a lot of fun and outgoing people, and have plenty of parties and events to keep you busy. And here it is: there are parties. This is true for probably every college campus--if you look for the party scene, you'll find it. Even if you're not one to drink, pretty much everyone will be respectful of that, and you'll be able to have a good time anyway.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is not the greatest, and it is easy to get sick of after a few weeks. However, there are a lot of really great restaurants right around campus, many of them in very close walking distance--Donnie's Homespun Pizza, Lock Stock N Barrel, University Dogs, Mi Pueblito, and Einstien's Bagels--to name a few. There are also quite a few late night dining options on campus for all those night owls.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived in the dorms for one year, but it was a great experience. I became incredibly close with the other students in my dorm, and many of us have remained good friends. If I wasn't currently living in Greek housing, I honestly wouldn't mind continuing to live in the dorms as a upperclassman. If possible, try to get a dorm room in Hessler or Dolson--the rooms are bigger and nicer in these dorms. However, you'll find a strong community and a quality living experience in really any of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its possible to slide by without doing too much work at Millikin, as with many universities, but if you look to be challenged, you will be. You will receive a quality education from this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are offered a spot in the honors program, go for it. It's challenging and fun, but won't stress you out or load you up with more work than you can handle. The interview is much less intimidating than you may think--just have fun with it, and enjoy the opportunity to meet some of your future professors! Take advantage of visit days, go on tours, and stay overnight with a current student if you get the chance. This is a general tip for any school you might think about attending--find a place that feels like home, where you can see yourself living for four years.

    In three sentences

    Students at Millikin will find themselves bombarded with fantastic opportunities related to classwork and the many thriving student organizations. This school is great for anyone who is looking for a tight-knit community good faculty to student ratios, and a warm and friendly atmosphere. Millikin is a great school for students who are looking for academic challenges, as well as a welcoming environment that really does feel like home.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty small, so if you need security to help you they can get to you easily. There are hotlines for Safe Rides and Safe Walks if you feel uncomfortable walking around campus at night which are very helpful. Campus is in Decatur, Illinois which isn't the most safe area around but security tries their best to look out for students. If something is happening nearby in Decatur, Millikin students receive email notifications updating them on neighborhood activities and how you can protect yourself. If there is a threat to campus safety, Notify Me Now will send texts, phone calls, and emails to all students and parents who sign up for the notification. All in all, I have never felt unsafe on this campus.

    Greek Life

    The fraternity and sorority community at Millikin University currently consists of eleven fraternities and sororities; 5 men's fraternities and 6 women's sororities.The 11 Greek organizations that comprise the Millikin University fraternity and sorority community hold in membership approximately 27% of the Millikin University student body. Additionally, the fraternity/sorority community has maintained a grade point average higher than the all Millikin average since 2005. The main social fraternities are; Delta Sigma Phi, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Alpha Tau Omega, and Tau Kappa Epsilon. The main social sororities are; Alpha Chi Omega, Delta Delta Delta, and Pi Beta Phi. If you are interested in learning more.. look at the school's website.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is definitely something for everyone. Every fall there is a fair on the quad to learn about all 110+ organizations you can get involved with. For more information, see the website.

    Great for these types of students

    Students ready to learn! :D In all honesty, I have seen this school to be a great fit for students in all majors. Very few students dislike Millikin after attending for a few semesters.

    Bang for the buck

    -Lock Stock & Barrel -McDonalds -Subway (Flex Dollars Work HERE) -Dominoes (Flex Dollars Work HERE) -Lana's Cakewalk -Kroger -**There's a bowling alley, paint balling court and a mall nearby too**

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do! I never felt bored to tears on campus. The sky is the limit.

    Food and Dining

    I personally enjoyed the cafeteria. The cafeteria workers are sweet people who are very caring. The place is clean and there is ALWAYS something yummy to eat. There are lots of options for different types f eaters (especially vegetarians).

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Blackburn Hall, which in 2011-2012 was an all freshman girls dorm. In general, Mills and Blackburn are the two freshman dorms and they are the lower end dorm rooms on campus. Knowing that, I was still very pleased with dorm life. The RA's are very good about building community on the floors. I was always comfortable in my dorm, as you should be.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers know how much a student can handle and are willing to help however they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Make sure you know the size of the school and make sure you are comfortable being at a smaller school.

    In three sentences

    Millikin is where I am most happy. Academically, socially, environmentally this school is a fantastic fit for most students. The faculty and staff you meet and this school are all so friendly and caring.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are a very contained campus and S & S Dept. is top of the line. Crime always exists everywhere, its how well you take care of yourself and use your head.

    Greek Life

    We have several of the major social Greek orgs as well as several service oriented orgs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs and student organizations to even mention. Visit the website!

    Great for these types of students

    It is a liberal arts college, by name. But each college is fantastic. Tabor School of Business, Fine Arts, Professional Studies, Arts and Sciences.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college, so tuition is more than a state affiliated college. You definitely get more bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of student organizations to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is great. We have an Einstein Bagel Bros on campus! :) Lots of dining options on and around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Community is the best word to describe campus life in our residence halls. The community is very diverse and everyone is challenged to step outside the box and learn more about each other.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged to be a better critical thinker at MU. Professors engage every student by using practical learning and applying what you learn to every day life.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus environment at MU is like a big family. It is very comfortable and welcoming here. Please give it a try!

    In three sentences

    Millikin University is a great mid-sized liberal arts College. I love the hands on approach to learning here. The professors are very invested in helping you succeed.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always wise to be prepared but the university provides safe rides and safe walks for free from only campus location to another. Wait times vary but this is a great resource to take advantage!

    Greek Life

    Only about 18% greek. Very different from your typical University greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I believe the campus has over 100 current clubs and organizations. It is VERY easy to start a new one if they dont have what youre looking for!

    Great for these types of students

    Theater, arts, music, health and sciences, business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bun run- old tradition but freshman boys would take a naked run at the first years snowfall.

    Bang for the buck

    EXPENSIVE but financial aid really helps out. James Millikin founded the University to be affordable for all- if you need help, ask.

    What to do for fun

    the campus provides TONS of weekly events. Take advantage- they are free and there isnt much else to do in Decatur.

    Food and Dining

    not usually a wide variety from day to day but nutritional information is available for most entrees!

    Dorm Life

    fairly expensive but some of the best days of college!

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent education

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Always attend classes. Take all opportunities presented to you!!!

    In three sentences

    Millikin provides a very great educational opportunity. The campus is beautiful. Play sports at your own risk!

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and Security is available 24-7. 'Safe Rides' are given after 5:30pm.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great! Lots of options available!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lock Stock and Barrel is a popular bar here on campus for the older class men.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Einstein Bagels, the library and Scovil are all very popular places on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny! You get tons of free things.

    What to do for fun

    There is always events happening on campus. Last weekend there was an opera, this week there is an ice cream social and in two weeks it is family week. There is a calendar sent out to students stating what there is to do for fun in that month.

    Food and Dining

    Dining was great. There is many options for vegetarians and non vegetarians. There is also gluten free products, as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was great! It was a great welcoming community, accompanied by an always helpful resident assistant.

    Academic Rigor

    The classroom dynamic is small. I am currently in a class with 6 students. You get to really know your professors and engage in conversation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Chose Blackburn dorm (if you're a female) or Hessler (unisex). Don't ever leave the cafeteria hungry, great food is always available.

    In three sentences

    Millikin has great classroom dynamic and small teacher student ratios. It has support systems, not only socially but educational; tutors, writing centers and one on one support is available, for free. There are many opportunities for philanthropic and community service.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Department of Public Safety does a great job keeping students safe on campus. They're only a phone call away to help in any situation, and they also maintain emergency call stations located throughout campus. They offer a variety of services, whether it's opening a locked door to a rehearsal space or a safe ride/walk. All residence halls are controlled by swipe-card access, so only residents with their ID card and other authorized personnel can access residence halls. Although parts of Decatur may seem shifty, the Millikin campus is extremely safe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    -The Candlelight Ceremony is a fantastic experience that all first-year students will experience during First Week. -Many locations on campus are rumored to be haunted, including, but not limited to, Old Gym, Aston Hall, Blackburn Hall, and Albert Taylor Theater.

    Bang for the buck

    You are getting a very personalized education here, as well as many great opportunities for success in the professional world. Millikin also offers plenty of scholarships and financial aid to soften the blow.

    What to do for fun

    There are constantly student-run events going on, as well as service opportunities (a requirement for freshman students and LLC residents).

    Food and Dining

    Wornick Dining Hall is the one place on campus where you can use meals on your meal plan. They offer a good variety of food, and they offer traditional home-cooked specialties daily in addition to sandwiches, burgers, pizza, and a salad bar. Most vending machines accept Flex Dollars, as do Einstein Bros. Bagels in Shilling Hall, C3-X Convenience Shop in ADM-Scovill Hall, Big Blue Bistro in RTUC, and Subway and Domino's near The Woods Apartments. Other nearby dining options include Hardee's, McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Donnie's Homespun Pizza, Jimmie John's, Cherry Berry, and University Dogs. For groceries, there is a CVS, Dollar Tree, and a couple of convenience stores within walking distance and Walmart, Target, and Kroger within 15 minutes by car.

    Dorm Life

    Millikin is a very close community, and living in the residence halls is a fantastic experience! Most residence halls for first-year students have communal bathrooms, and all have a lounge space and kitchen and laundry areas available for use. The residence halls are a place where everyone keeps their door open (when they're in, of course) and friends just drop in whenever they want to hang out! For a freshman student, I recommend applying for a Living-Learning Community (LLC), which gathers students with similar interests to live on the same floor and share their passions. Plus, most LLCs are housed in Dolson Hall, which is one of the nicer residence halls on campus, featuring suite-style living, semi-private bathrooms, and air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman stage management major, I am assigned to two shows this year, with plenty of other opportunities in Kirkland Fine Arts Center and Pipe Dreams Studio Theater. Millikin will keep you busy in class, but all for a purpose. Also, you will receive more attention as an individual and your professors will always be willing to help you out any time of day.

    Tips for prospective students

    -APPLY EARLY! You will get the best scholarships this way! -Visit campus! It is a beautiful campus, and meeting a few professors in your major will help your chances of admission!

    In three sentences

    Millikin is a fantastic, tight-knit community. It is a small, private college, meaning smaller class sizes and more individualized education. The school is best known for its renowned and immersive theatre, business, and nursing programs.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    it depends what your major is.

    Tips for prospective students

    study, be yourself, and stay clam

    In three sentences

    it is the best experience of my life and everybody here is helpful. the teachers try to help you the best way they can.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great food choices

    Dorm Life

    Nice rooms

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to have a good balance

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign Up for a tour and have lunch with some one from your program

    In three sentences

    Nice Campus, Good Food, and Great People

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a small school so if you like that kind of atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    BP houses, woods, disc, frats, lsb

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not goof off too much.

    In three sentences

    Millikin University is a good school that provides one-on-one teacher to student opportunities. The faculty are very accommodating and you really learn a lot. The only thing that really needs improvement is the living communities.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Millikin University in one word: Homely.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We call it the Milli-bubble. It's in a kind of scary town, but campus is pretty safe!

    Greek Life

    We have a very active Greek Life, but it's more than just social. There's a greek organization for everything!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy folks or nursing students, we have an amazing nursing program!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a cookie party where there are literally thousands of cookies served before Christmas. We also have a midnight Pancake Breakfast the night before finals start every year and a comedian is always invited.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but they are really helpful when it comes to Financial Aid.

    What to do for fun

    There's almost always something to do on-campus, there are lots of organizations that host events, and many are free for Millikin Students.

    Food and Dining

    The caf food is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others, but the communities are pretty great!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    You cannot be homophobic,, biphobic, transphobic, or any kind of phobia against the LGBTQ community, as Millikin has a very open and present LGBTQ community, deal with it. Look into living in the LLCs (Living Learning Communities), they are the best places to live! Try not to overload yourself on organizations, you will burn yourself out.

    In three sentences

    Millikin is a great university, and I love it here. The teachers are really helpful and encouraging, the food isn't half bad, and the campus is beautiful. The students are also great!

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We call campus the Millibubble because even though we're situated in the middle of the ghetto, nothing bad ever actually seems to happen at Millikin. The only place you really have to be careful on campus is the D parking lot. It's about as far away from campus as possible, poorly lit, hard to get to/from.

    Greek Life

    We have an unusually high percentage of Greek students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many options, but the ones you have are surprisingly good.

    Great for these types of students

    Arts (music, theater, visual), Nursing, Biology. People who want a small school where they know everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a statue of a guy reading a book on a bench. We call him the Bronze Man. We take pictures with him. There's also a little known garden area on the side of the cafeteria building, and the Pit, another garden area recessed to basement level in front of the library.

    Bang for the buck

    Millikin offers excellent scholarships for academics and talent. I'm paying less to go here than my brother did for public school because of my combined scholarships for my grades and my portfolio. Makes it well worth looking at if you have good grades or are looking to major in an art.

    What to do for fun

    There are several on-campus clubs that host activities (mostly free). There are also movie theaters, restaurants, and shops in downtown Decatur and nearby Forsyth.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is your only option for breakfast and lunch. For dinner you can either eat in the caf (limited options, questionable quality), or go to the Bistro downstairs in the same building if it's past 7pm (currently a $7.50 limit if you want to use your meal plan; any extra cost goes on flex or is paid separately). You also get flex, which is money on your account you can only spend at certain food places. Currently, the only places you can use your flex are the caf, the Bistro, Domino's Pizza, Subway, and Einstein Bros.

    Dorm Life

    Because it's such a small campus, there isn't enough room in the dorms for all students. A lot of people are shoved into the university's affiliated appartment complex, notorious for making up problems so they can keep your security deposit, breakins and robberies, drug problems... In the dorms themselves, buildings are being increasingly divided into specialized learning communities of people in similar majors or with things in common. For isntance, I live on the Fine Arts floor with theater, music, and art majors. Exchange students live on the same floor; there's a business student floor, a floor for first year students, etc. It can make it a pain if you just want to live in a dorm that isn't also specialized.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are all excellent, and there are any number of great courses offered. However, you're required to take some truly pointless frosh level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to students in the major you're looking into before deciding on Millikin, not just admission staff or professors!

    In three sentences

    Millikin is a small school in Decatur, IL, known for its strong art and nursing programs. It has a diverse and tolerant student body, with many ethnicities, religions, orientations, and identities.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They are many thing to do for fun. There are parties, plays, concerts,etc. Find things to do is fairly easy.

    Food and Dining

    I can say sometimes they have good food to eat but something the food can use a little work. Subway and pizza hut is always good options when you are pulling an all nighter.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms gets better the longer you stay at the school. On campus and off campus can be find easily with residence life help. On campus can be a pain sometimes but it better to try to make thing better than worse.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor try to help as much as they can. They are tutors for every course on campus and the Writing center can be a great plus for the big papers. It's a great experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class because your grade can easily drop from an A to a D if you miss days from class. Take good notes because tests and quizzes are given in almost every class. Do the homework, it does count even if the professor just puts points in the grade book.

    In three sentences

    I would overall give Millikin a four out of five because everything is great but the cost is expensive. It does have a increase in tuition each year except for 2012-2013 because the president did not raise it. They do help out as much as they can.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good. You can get a safe ride or safe walk to anywhere on campus which is where the security guards come and take you to where ever you need to be. All dorms you have to swipe your school id to get in. The school is all about making you feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a club for everything and if they don't have it it's easy to just go to the Office of Student programs and start up a club. We have an Involvement fair every semester so you can see all the activities and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Millikin is good for students that want to have a personal relationship with their professors and not just be another number on the roster. Also, if you don't want to be on a big campus it is small enough to where you can walk everywhere on campus in about ten minutes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Condom Bingo is a tradition of the school which is really fun. It raises awareness on sex and party safety. There are a lot of other traditions that are really fun but there's so many its hard to name them all.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of admittance is pricey but you are getting a really good education and the school will help you find the money you need to cover tuition.

    What to do for fun

    The campus tries to have things to do for the students like The Valentines day party and Comedy Show or like Ice Skating, bowling, and bingo. Also, the parties are usually about a block away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good it;s the same sometimes but you can always exchange your meal at the bistro and they have the best food on campus. There are also a lot of places where you can use your meal plan like Domino's and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are good of course you might have a few problems but the Residential advisers and mentors try to make it as comfortable as possible. Every floor in the dorms have times that is just dedicated to bonding with the people you live with. We have lots of fun in our dorms and every dorm is different.

    Academic Rigor

    All professors make sure that you have everything that you need. They are flexible and really care about their field and students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind because this university will change you for the better. Don't stay in Mills Hall.

    In three sentences

    Millikin is home to me. Everyone here is friendly and helpful we are like a big family. The financial aid office will make sure you have the money to get the best education.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security does a good job and offers safe rides on campus from dusk to dawn. However, Millikin is not in the best of neighborhoods. A few students have had people try to mug them. If you go off campus at night, do not walk alone.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is fairly good. There are several fraternities and sororities on campus. All of them are active on campus. I am a member of the service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega and I love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. You just have to know where to look.

    Great for these types of students

    The arts are really prevalent at Millikin. It has a very strong fine arts presence. All walks of life are generally accepted.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the echo spot in Miller Quad and go to the God Spot at Pilling Chapel.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually something going on on campus. For most shows and events students are given a free ticket. However, if you don't have a car, off campus fun is a bit difficult to come by.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly decent. At the very least it is not awful. The selection just gets boring after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. Currently, I live in Jack Dolson Hall and I love it. Overall, if you don't lock yourself in your room the dorms are just fine. My biggest issue with it is that there is distinct lack of housing for sophomores up on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Millikin will definitely keep you busy. If you wait last minute to do anything you will have an awful time. I don't know how it is outside of the College of Fine Arts, but you will definitely learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Consider what you are looking for in a university and how it pertains to your major. Millikin is not a large school, but it has a lot to offer. This is especially true for the College of Fine Arts and the education department. -Keep in touch with your adviser. He or she can be endlessly helpful. -Be prepared to work -Work study jobs are easy to come by.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very nice campus, small and friendly.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus

    What to do for fun

    there's alot of stuff if you like sports or fine arts.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good options, I like the food alot.

    Dorm Life

    I like how they tell you your roomate early so you can figure out the things they are bringing and you are to plan approprietly.

    Academic Rigor

    I heard the teachers are great and they have the studies that I want to participate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for a tour on the bus after you go for a campus visit if it is avalible. you learn alot about the town.

    In three sentences

    Millikin is a friendly, small enviornment. I have met a few students and ones that will be freshman like me and I think I can really get used to this place. I cant wait to start.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decatur has higher crime rate than other college towns. Campus Security does a great job of doing what they can, but they are small in numbers and can't be everywhere. When traveling at night, even on campus and especially off campus, travel in groups, and make sure your phone is on and charged in case you need to call for help.

    Greek Life

    Many fraternities and sororities have chapters in Millikin, including Delta Delta Delta, Alpha Chi Omega, and Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia.

    Great for these types of students

    Those studying the fine arts, especially music, or anyone looking into becoming an educator should definitely consider Millikin University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many students say that several locations on campus, including one of the theaters and an empty dorm building, are haunted by various ghosts. The campus shares a city block with an old graveyard, so ghost hunts are not uncommon.

    What to do for fun

    Decatur does not have a bustling social scene, if that's what your looking for. Downtown Decatur has some good eateries, and the town has some okay shopping. The lake offers retreat in the warmer months, but I don't believe there is a beach for swimming. I hear the Decatur zoo is a great way to spend a day.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria offers a buffet'style selection that almost always has something for everyone, frrom stir-fry to pizza to salad and everything in between. The Bistro also offers quick meals for late nights after the Caf has closed.

    Dorm Life

    There are plenty of option to choose from, covering a variety of budgets. They even offer living and learning communities, where all of your neighbors study similar fields and have a similar devotion to their school work. This means you'll never have trouble finding someone to study with. Keep your distance from the Woods at Millikin, though. The rooms may seem luxurious, but the prices will soon drain your resources.

    Academic Rigor

    I have always considered myself an academically focused individual, and Millikin has posed certain challenges fro me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in campus activities, because it's the best way to meet people outside of those you know from class. You don't really have to go to parties, because the student organizations on campus hold plenty of events throughout the year.

    In three sentences

    While a very small school, Millikin have a lot to offer. I would highly recommend the school for those pursuing careers in the fine arts, especially music. From what I know, athletics leave a lot to be desired.

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball and football. ping pong. also work out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. cafe food is not. Flex is awesome because you can get subway and jimmy johns.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus my whole time at millikin. dorms are cool. close to everything and you can meet more people living in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not hard if you study.the teachers here are nice. Most of them are if you go to class daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Stay up on homework. stay away from negative people.

    In three sentences

    MIllikin is great for all people who is thinking about attending college. Nice atmosphere. Nice people here.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Millikin has the necessary Blue Lights for safety, but they also provide Safe Rides from dusk to dawn to and from anywhere on campus. It keeps the students safe, and it's nice to not always have to walk.

    Greek Life

    I love the Greek life at Millikin. I am a part of both social and honor fraternities. The Greek life here is prominent, but not over bearing. Greeks have an average higher GPA than non greeks. They also tend to graduate on time, despite their involvement in many other organizations. The Greeks hold many leadership roles within and outside their own community.

    Great for these types of students

    Millikin is well known for their Music, Education, Nursing, and Theatre program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year Millikin hosts it's annual cookie party. It is a tradition that has happened for over 75 years. The Millikin faculty and staff bake cookies and all of the students come and enjoy an evening of live music, cookies, and fellowship. It's a perfect example of the close knit community that Millikin creates.

    What to do for fun

    Decatur is a small town, but it packs a big punch. The school is minutes away from Downtown Decatur, which is a primarily small business square. There are various restaurants and boutiques. The campus often hosts free events to students: concerts, ice skating, game nights, movie nights, etc.to keep the students entertained. It's a great way to meet new people without traveling too far.

    Food and Dining

    This is probably one of the greatest things about Millikin. We have GREAT food!! Our chef, Chef Brian, is all about possibilities. There is a variety of options at the buffet style cafeteria. Everything is home cooked, never frozen. It gives students variety, but there's always the comfort food college students know and love. We also have flex, which is similar to a pre-paid food card. It can be used at vending machines, Einsteins Bagels, the Bistro, Domino's, Subway, and other cafe shops on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The on campus housing is fantastic. The resident staff works really hard to build a community within their walls. The housing is up to date with kitchens, laundry facilities, and a lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a part of the honors program so my plan of study varies from the average student. However, I have found that all the professors are incredibly passionate about what they do. They have the same expectations for non-majors as they do for majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    The wonderful thing about Millikin University is that you find what you are passionate about. The faculty here is excited about the students finding their own opportunities. If someone wants to do something, they will help to make it a reality.

    In three sentences

    Millikin provides a learning experience through personal and professional relationships. The school teaches us through experience, not just lectures. It creates professionals in all aspects through the search of a life of meaning and value.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe rides are great! Utilize them!!!! And also public safety is almost always friendly and helpful :)

    Greek Life

    it's there. It's not for everyone, but everyone I know in it loves it! There's not a lot boys and girls can choose from though. If you're in Greek life here, that's awesome. If you're not, it's not a huge deal at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Could have some more clubs and extracurricular activities. Something we lack is tons of school spirit, there is potential but we need more on campus to heighten it.

    Great for these types of students

    Musicians, athletes, theatre majors, small town folks, undecided majors, students who want to get involved!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I mean Millikin is supposedly one of the most haunted college campuses in the states, but I have not encountered anything remotely scary yet. I think the creepy ghost aspect is attractive to most but scary to others.

    What to do for fun

    Students have to be creative with this one. You can always find something fun to do and that not only applies to millikin, but life in general. There's the game room, dorm lounges, movie nights with friends, UCB events, parties, etc!

    Food and Dining

    The caf has delicious food once in a while, but there's a lot of the same. The friendly staff and chef makes up for it though. There is also the bistro where you can start using your meal plan swipes at 7pm on the weekdays and 6:30pm on the weekends if you don't feel like eating in the caf for dinner on some nights. Students can also use their Flex dollars at places like Einstein's (on campus), Dominos, and Subways.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you are housed. First year dorms are decently sized and most are air conditioned. Once you become an upperclassman, there are definitely more options such as the Woods, fraternity/sorority houses, off campus, and the New Halls with suite style bathrooms! For the most part, dorms here are spacious and cozy!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not as hard as other universities, but students are still swamped with a good amount of work every now and then. The Honors program is a tight knit community but everyone is basically on the same level. For the most part, the professors will try their best to help you though!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a school that welcomes all kinds of people and has a small yet lively community, this place is for you. It is what you make it. Millikin has so many great opportunities to offer as long as you are willing to go out there and seek them!

    In three sentences

    Millikin University is great if you want to wake up 10 minutes before a class and still have time to get ready and get breakfast and get to class on time. What I like most about this school is that the majority of the campus is super friendly and welcoming. I like being able to communicate with my professors and I like being able to know people as I walk from one end of the campus to the other.

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the campus and talk with current students. Ask lots of questions.

    In three sentences

    Looking for a smaller college with a good feel. Millikin has a beautiful campus, very midwestern feel to it. Students were very friendly on my visit. I could see myself attending here.