Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Milwaukee Area Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For anyone who is looking for a Associate Degree. This college is for students who are struggling, who is a parent or single parent, for someone who may need help with government assistance. For someone who likes to be in a diverse college.This college is great for students who is looking for employment, MATC has job fairs like every 2-3 times a month. MATC also help students that wants to further their education, MATC partners up with the 4 year colleges so once your done you will have no problem registering for the college you will be like pre-enrolled, they also have college fairs, healthcare fairs, blood drives etc. MATC have so much to offer for the students that attend the college. And they show you so much respect and love.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about attending MATC I will recommend that you know how to communicate in a professional manner, be responsible and mature.

    Bang for the buck

    MATC is very affordable. Most colleges have you in debt before you start. Most of the times you receive a refund from your pell grant at MATC. With other colleges they make sure you have nothing left. MATC don't get you for all you got, they try to give back, And I love that about MATC.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being there because you learn how to deal with different cultures and religions. The professors really do try to help those who really do want help and not just trying to get a check. MATC is college that treats you like an adult and not a child. They understand that in the real world you have to deal with mature responsible people,In the world they expect you to be responsible and mature.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot. We have wonderful teachers and a very diverse and affordable(cheap) college, MATC is a college that don't discriminates based on grades or ACT s or SAT s. They understand the lives of student, they know that we are not just students we are also parents, and not typical parents teen moms. They know that we are wives and husbands and they accommodate us because they know times are hard. They only thing that i do wish they improved was more help with scholarships and grants.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students with not alot of money,very cheap college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you have a place to live there is no dorms at this college. All ways bring money for food, there is no breakfast, lunch and dinner like universities or other colleges so it is pretty much every man/woman for them self.

    Bang for the buck

    YES IT IS!

    Am enjoying being here

    YES I AM!

    Am learning a lot

    YES I AM!

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's security patrolling daily.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to take cheap classes to transition into the college lifestyle. Also, if you don't know what you want to major in, general studies is cheaper than most places.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    What to do for fun

    There's sports you could join or clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't bought food from MATC.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Could be improved. Overall is decent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what program you want to get into then make sure MATC has it.

    In three sentences

    Milwaukee Area Technical College is a good place to go to get cheap classes in general studies. You can register quickly and get classes done. If you're looking more towards a bigger degree, I would advise transferring.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe there, due to the constant presence of security.

    Greek Life

    Greek life doesnt affect my school at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty to do and join.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to work for fun, or play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food is classic cafeteria food, such as the food at almost every high school.

    Dorm Life

    I do the commute to school everyday, thus I wouldnt know.

    Academic Rigor

    Its challenging compared to high school, yet I feel like it could be more fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really spend the time to look at schools and just because its cheaper does not mean it is a great school. Also try to visit your counselor as much as you can to get a grasp on your courses and goals.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten, I would rate MATC a six. I do this because I enjoy it, but the teachers are not as devoted as other colleges I have toured.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very secure and always makes students feel safe.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Horticulture club

    Great for these types of students

    Multi-cultural Active and Out-going

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafeteria and quad are always fun spots to socialize. MATC also provides a job center called the job shop which allows students to come in and job search, work on their resumes, and connect to a Milwaukee job-based website.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic clubs Campus Gymnasium Music clubs Multi-cultural events

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to: Keep in touch with your advisor throughout your semesters. avoid on-line classes, instructors are a big day-to-day help

    In three sentences

    Milwaukee Area Technical College is very student orientated and helpful with hands-on experience regarding your program. MATC, with all four campuses, serves Milwaukee by offering a variety of technical programs that will prepare us students for the real careers in the world. This school and its instructors have helped me alot with figuring out a caeer path.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is not in the best part of town. There is a large crime rate, as there is in any city; however, about a week ago, a girl got stabbed on the third floor. That was the only major crime I have heard about, but there are a lot of muggings in the city, so watch out!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who work, have children, or are planning on transferring will make perfect additions to Milwaukee Area Technical College!

    Bang for the buck

    It is defiantly worth the money to start at a 2 year school and transfer! Not only is my tuition only about $12,000 a year, but I also do not have to take a ridiculous amount of gen ed classes.

    What to do for fun

    MATC is in the heart of Downtown Milwaukee, so there is plenty to do between classes. There is tons of shopping, food, and entertainment. The campus is conveniently located across the street from The Bradley Center (home of the Milwaukee Bucks, Admirals and Wave) as well as the US Cellular Arena, the Milwaukee Theater, and the Milwaukee Public Museum.

    Food and Dining

    MATC has decided to cook up a healthier menu this year. Though I like the idea, I am going to miss the grilled cheese sandwich. They were the best!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but renting in areas like Riverwest are affordable for college students.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are always pushing their students, especially ones in their major. As a marketing major, my professors are constantly getting me involved in projects that I can add to my portfolio.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always talk with your counselor! I made that mistake at my first college and ended up taking classes I didn't need. The MATC educators are on top of helping their students get the most of their college experience.

    In three sentences

    I love this school! They don't make me take tedious general education classes and the professors are always available. They really do get you ready for the working world and are always there to help.

  • 06/26/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Definitely a good pick, especially if you aren't positive about what you want to do yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Beyond that, the gen-ed classes are much cheaper than the UW system and transfer.

    Will learn a lot

    The culinary program is amazing. I spoke to students and looked at both this program and the program for Art Institute of Wisconsin. The program at MATC is much better and costs much less.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join a sport team.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although is a technical school, it offers many degrees and diplomas. Is a comfortable school. Is a well-known school.

    In three sentences

    MATC is a small and comfortable school. I feel everyone is treating me equal. I love it.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is usually always some foolish person (usually very young) in the crowd but i have never felt unsafe...

    Greek Life

    phi beta kappa for honor students

    Great for these types of students

    all students, all ages....

    Bang for the buck

    reasonably priced education.

    What to do for fun

    lots

    Food and Dining

    excellent especially when it's done by the cooking/culinary school people.... special events, etc... great prices for really good food..

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    varies with the teacher. some good teachers....

    Tips for prospective students

    communicate with your teachers, they are generally very helpful. from my understanding the communication processes with the staff/teachers at matc are simple and the teachers accessible which makes it much easier to get feedback and information regarding your studies, etc... than at a larger school. matc is also a good place to restart the education process especially if you've been out of the loop for awhile.

    In three sentences

    matc milwaukee is a very interesting place. it is filled with students from various and multiple backgrounds. it you want a multi-cultural experience, you will experience multi-cultural diversity at the milwaukee campus.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    never ate much at school because i lives nearby.

    Dorm Life

    there is no housing on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure when you choose a major to see what is required for entering your program. many programs at matc have the petition process, which a lot of information is needed before you can start taking classes in your program.

    In three sentences

    milwaukee area technical college is a large school, but one that has multiple campuses and keeps the classroom size small. it has a low tuition cost but makes it easy for a student to succeed. matc has given me a great start to get back into school.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are instances of safety issues but I have never experience any issues here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities available at MATC if that is what you are looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get a great education for an extremely low cost compared to all other colleges and university prices.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs, programs, and a recreation center at the campus but MATC is structured for the working adult with families. For more fun you may have to seek outside of the family.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria, dining services, and a bakery.

    Dorm Life

    You have to find your own housing but there is information available to find affordable housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The instruction all help to make you successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    With all of the help available to you, you will still have to search for information concerning the program that you enter. You should seek out other students that are in or have completed the program you wish to enter.

    In three sentences

    MATC is an excellent start point to your educational goals with affordable college and technical courses. MATC provides everyone with the help one will need to succeed. Success starts here.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus and have heard of no one being hurt or any reports of danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not personally in any clubs but the student government is a good group to be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to save money and get a jump start on their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are often times groups of people that will come to the cafeteria around lunch to perform and entertain.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers and classes are better than the cost would portray.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool table in the cafeteria that many students use.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is definitely nothing to write home about.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the type and level of class you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend MATC if you are pursuing a technical career or just want to get some cheap credits out of the way.

    In three sentences

    I attend MATC at the Mequon campus and have enjoyed it so far. The teachers are outstanding and always willing to help. The campus is small but makes for short walks from class to class.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had an incident on any of the campuses I have attended (3/4 campuses).

    Great for these types of students

    Students a little low on cash, but would like to go to school. Also, great for starting out your college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    They give you just as much information as would a four-year school; except it's about half the price. Some may dismiss it, but they do a great job teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend classes regularly, do your assignments on time (don't let them start slipping), and participate in class/group work.

    In three sentences

    They have a wonderful faculty that are truly passionate about their fields. They also have a great curriculum, and ease of learning. Sadly, some of the students attending give the school a bad name.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. There are securities inside school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Be active and enjoy activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Be positive and exercise to keep your body in cook shape and be healthy. To not over stress or overwhelmed your brain. and no procrastination.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parking is very expensive. Be precise of parking your car and be aware of parking tickets.

    What to do for fun

    Exercise, and shopping, working, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Spend less by packing your own food. and don't eat out too often.

    Academic Rigor

    Always do your best and aim for 3.5 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be positive and be strong. Have good study skills and no procrastination. Ask questions when you do not understand the classes assignments or homework. Be organize.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are fantastic and helpful. Classrooms are pretty decent numbers of student. Classes are flexible and the tuition is cheap and affordable.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security almost everywhere on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Open mic

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, perform at open mic, watch performances in the cafeteria on certain days.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten two times at the food court they have, but when I did eat there, it was decent food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors that are there whether day or night love their job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always apply for your classes early. Always get to classes early and even just to go to the financial aid office. Never give up.

    In three sentences

    M.A.T.C. is a great school to start off your education. The people there are friendly. When you attend your first class, you will be ready to go back.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    ateend church

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are prospective student limit your time working and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Matc is in great location for attending school, however recent changes are effecting students ability to recieve financial assistance and there are stuff standards for getting into the nursing program.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Great education for a cheap price!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It can work for students that don't want to put fourth much effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel unchallenged, it's up to you to push the envelope.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school for starters or those that struggle. It does not always provide a challenge or feel worth the money. It provides that piece of paper that employers like to see.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has been safe for me.

    Bang for the buck

    Make sure you apply for financial aid on line.

    What to do for fun

    I like to work-out and spend time with my kids.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the college is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    When your doing your pre requisites for your degree make sure you take classes that will transfer to other colleges. For instance when taking an economics class, take the 200 level course that will transfer not the 100 level course.

    In three sentences

    I really like going to Milwaukee area Technical College. The classes are reasonable. I am getting a good education. The college is close to my house. Some of my classes in my degree I can do on line.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Too much into Downtown for you to be in danger Lbvs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over looking that MATC is a Tech College, you'll find yourself thinking that this is a university with how many Club and Organizations they have.

    Great for these types of students

    Get in and get out degree seeking people, who don't want the lack of education put in.

    Bang for the buck

    Its less exspensive and you recieve more finiancial aid which is ALWAYS a plus! Not saying blow the extra bucks you do get, of course! Lol

    Food and Dining

    Their isn't a cafeteria within MATC but theirs a TON of restaurants near by, and even The Grand Shopping mall.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms of course, Tech school.

    Academic Rigor

    One thing I learned and was often told later down the road of me signing up for MATC was to NEVER under estimate this school. Their is not Technical about this school but their Degree's, lol. They are just as hard as any other schools with teachers that's going to make you work just as hard as any 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you need and GET IT! MATC is wonderful but their telephone lines are SOOOOO not answerable its crazy! Plan to even go up there for any here and there questions as well, that one question may just save you some money, OR even open a window of many resources you hadn't known about, It did for me :)

    In three sentences

    I didn't exactly hope attending MATC. Considering the fact that this school was not my top choice, talking to very nice teachers and helpful faculty here I am now looking forward to going here at Milwaukee Area Technical College!

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has a lot of clubs, student activities, and sports programs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeterias have a decent selection, however hours vary for different locations.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the classes to be relatively easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to help yourself with your class choices and decisions about your majors. A student will get better advice on career choices and school goals with the professors rather than the scholl counselors.

    In three sentences

    M.A.T.C. is a good college to start your college career if you have to work and go to school or can not go full time. The school has a variety of courses and locations in the Milwaukee area. A great stepping stone for your career and achieving your Associates degree.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Going to this school is about half the cost of going to a university.

    What to do for fun

    The lake is nearby to take strolls or just relax and watch the sunset. The school is not to far from the Bradley Center which has many events.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch at M.A.T.C. is good. There is usually a variety to choose from. You can probably get a lunch for $5.

    Dorm Life

    M.A.T.C. does not offer dorms. If you live in the city, it would be cheaper to stay with your parents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not very hard. If you are involved, you will understand the work. Do not fall behind and miss assignment deadlines. Stay on task and be motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    To any students thinking about attending M.A.T.C., go for it. It is well worth your money. It is also a very good way to get your degree started if you plan on transferring to a 4 year college.

    In three sentences

    M.A.T.C. is a school that helps people persue a college degree. They have flexible classes including online. M.A.T.C is also very affordable.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe and I feel safe walking on campus every day. There is a no firearms policy and eveyone abides to this rule. There is a police station and a fire station within a two block radius of the downtown campus! My fellow classmates and the other students on campus are very kind and are willing to walk with you on campus. I feel safe while walking from my bus stop to campus and from campus to my bus stop. Milwaukee is a great city and I enjoy studying and learning at MATC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a new culinary arts section being built on the first floor of the main building just 3 floors down from where my classes are held. I can't wait to taste some of the delicious home-made lunches that the culinary arts students will make this upcoming semester! Also, MATC offers students the opportunity to participate in one of many Stormers teams, whether it's basketball, golf, or volleyball. There is also student council/student government, which anyone can participate in. Being a student at MATC requires a good balance between work and play! MATC also has one social dance each semester with a theme. Last semester's dance was the 80's. Fun times!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student should feel at home at Milwaukee Area Technical College. My fellow students are kind and helpful. I enjoy studying with them every day!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The lounge or study area is a great place to study. It's a semi-quiet study area, and the students are so nice. This area has two microwaves in case you need to warm up some eggs for breakfast or some soup for lunch. There are vending machines with affordable sandwiches or soups inside, available to everyone. I like studying in this space since there is optimal light entering the large area and there are comfortable chairs and tables. It's a wonderful place to eat lunch or conduct a group study session.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are great and well worth the money that I am paying for tuition. It's affordable and having a career as a Physical Therapist Assistant will be great! I'll be able to pay off my student loan within about 1.5 to 2 years after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Milwaukee's Public Museum just a block and a half south of the downtown Milwaukee campus. See a show at the giant IMAX Dome theatre at the museum. Travel by car or walk along the lakefront (about 7 to 8 blocks away) and stop at a quaint coffee shop (Alterra Coffee) for a quick pick-me-up between classes! The coffee there is incredibly delicious! Yumm!

    Food and Dining

    Pizza, salads, breakfast, yogurt, fresh fruit, you name it and MATC's cafeteria should have it! MATC's cooks provide healthy lunches, too. I enjoy eating the veggie burger! Yummm! There are also many places to eat right off of campus including Subway, Alterra Coffee Shop, Starbucks Coffee, Dunkin' Doughnuts, and one of my favorites ... Hot Flash, where you can get a warm pretzel as a snack between classes! These places are all within 3 blocks of MATC and are within about 5 to 10 minutes walking distance from the downtown campus. Go and see what tasty treats you can find!

    Academic Rigor

    High quality of academics and the text books are very helpful. Make sure to study a lot since this will result in high testing grades and high grades, too! It's worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Find time to study and review your notes every day. Make flashcards to help you study key terms. Feel free to see your professor during his or her office hours because they are there to help you and they love seeing you succeed!

    In three sentences

    Milwaukee Area Technical College in Milwaukee, Wisconsin has helpful professors. The quality of the education is exceptional. The classes prepare you to work in the real world, implementing skills you learned in class.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on campus is emaculent. They definitely look out for the well-being of all people on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any. Anyone who wants to learn. Whether it's pre-college or college corses.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an event in the hallways. Job fairs, student activities. The basketball games are a great way to keep the spirit.

    Food and Dining

    We have a restaurant and bakery ran by the culinary students. The school cafeteria has great food also.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms directly on campus, but many available places to live in close to campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to keep open ears and open minds because Milwaukee Area Technical College has the ability to help you through whatever may be going on in your life.

    In three sentences

    Milwaukee Area Technical College is wonderful. It's diversity helps all students of all ages and each ethnicity feel welcome. The teachers and staff are extremely caring and helpful.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they tried to keep the students safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Have great clubs and activites, but you have to pay for some of them.

    Great for these types of students

    yes, this is a good school to learn from.

    Bang for the buck

    They do give you a lot of stuff to do for the price of what you pay

    What to do for fun

    they have student gatherings, and you can get signed up through the bank.

    Food and Dining

    They could have better food and not cost to much.

    Dorm Life

    Don't have dorms there.

    Tips for prospective students

    MAKE SURE YOU ASK QUESTION

    In three sentences

    THEY HAVE GREAT TEACHER'S. DIVERSE COLLEGE SMALL CLASS ROOMS

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On site campus police on all campuses, and safety buttons that can be pushed anywhere throughout the building, and an officer will respond.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for easy classes to transfer to a different college.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for-cheap classes=somewhat easy A's.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in the areas that the campuses are in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has great food reasonably priced too! MATC offers a culinary class, so the Chefs are in there making home made dishes 3-4 times a week.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but apartments close to all of the campuses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get classes done here first, and then transfer to a different college, but make sure you choose classes that will transfer to whatever college you're looking at.

    In three sentences

    The classes are easy, and small. It's a good school for people looking to get their Gen Eds done cheap and easy. Sometimes the environment outside the classroom isn't the greatest though.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety guards on campus at all times day or night, inside and outside. Plus the school is right across the street from Milwaukee's Police Department and Court House

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many Club & Student Senators.

    Great for these types of students

    MATC does have a transfer program so like me not going to school for so long, you can get a refresher course, then take all your basic classes for you degree and move on to a big University to finish your degree. MATC does have a GED program as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is my first year so I will update this later.

    Bang for the buck

    You can take all your Basic Classes for your degree for almost half (money wise) less that a regualr college. You can get a hair cut, dental work or even your car worked on for next to nothing as well.

    What to do for fun

    MATC offers many types of sports Volley, Ball Basket Ball, Golf, Weight Lifting , and many more. As well asin the school the loction of MATC being right in the heart of Milwaukee's Downtown, & Lake Front area, there is everything from walking the lake front, to The Grand Ave Mall, I Maxx Theater to Summer Fest, and for the wild one we have about 60 bars & clubs within 5 minutes all ways.

    Food and Dining

    We have many places to get food sit down and on the go. The students sell all the bake goods in our Bakery, the Culiary Art students sell they food in a sit down restarant and there are also cafatireias located on the third floor of the Main Building. There are soda & juice & snacks machines located in many different areas of the school as well.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry I don't live on campass.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said I am getting good grades for, a person that hasn't been to school in 20 years. The teacher make sure everybody in the class stays all together, as far as the extra help: tutors for every subject from the time 7:30 am to 8:00 pm Monday-Friday and on Saturday too. You also can use the Online Programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to go to MATC you should sign up for Financial Aid as soon as possible. Before you take the Accuplacer Test go to your neighborhood library and get the book to help you study, that test is very important. Go all the orientations I can this will allow u to learn as much as you can about the school before your there lost on the first day. So even just a visit can help you to learn where classes are, where the advisors are and so-on.

    In three sentences

    MATC is a great school! I haven't been to school in about 20 years and I currently have 3-A's and 2-B's. The class sizes small there are lots of help with the admission process. The school is open to any race, gender, and level of educated people.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    read comics, take care of my kids and family

    Food and Dining

    Fodd is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics can be challenging but if you apply youreslf you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY< STUDY< STUDY

    In three sentences

    Milwaukee Area Technical College is a great university that gives you an opportunity

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is pretty good. dont ever have a problem

    Clubs and Activities

    Not so many interesting clubs/

    Great for these types of students

    Who wanna save some money before going to a 4 year collage

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    Food is worst than in a gas station.

    Dorm Life

    None existant

    Academic Rigor

    Depending of witch campus you go. You can tell students on the south campus are more challenged than any other campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only go to do your general classes, but wont recommend graduating in this inviroment

    In three sentences

    Students aren't being challenged enough. Downtown campus staff rude and not welcoming South campus the only nice and a bit challenging than the rest of its campuses

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, Dinner

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus

    In three sentences

    Great opportunity to get the feel of college, maintain a great gpa, and succeed.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non existent really.

    Clubs and Activities

    MATC strives to keep some kind of activity for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Suburban, those interested in smaller schools, those interested in Associates Degrees, Cosmetology, Working Individuals, Parents

    What to do for fun

    Join a club

    Food and Dining

    They have a pretty decent cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Not very challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on completing your work on time and absorbing as much as you can before you graduate. They provide so much information and it's completely up to you to keep your eyes open.

    In three sentences

    MATC is exactly what you make it. They have great staff and teachers that try their best to educate the students. They are very updated and professional.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of people to see, meet and interact with, at any time of the day during a Spring or Fall semester. They also have concerts, plays, and demonstrations to go see at various times in the year. Book and jewelry fairs are also sporadically placed throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The food tends to be pretty good; every once in a while you may get a bad chicken wrap or something, but for the most part the food is well cooked, seasoned and prepared.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think it depends on which class you're taking and with whom. Some of my classes have been extremely hard and others fairly easy, but all of my teachers expected me to get my work turned in on time with very little nonsense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know where the various buildings are and how to get to them. Get a stormer pass and always keep it on you while at school. Parking is cheapest and safest (from potential thieves and parking meter people) if you get a parking pass and park your car in the structure above the bookstore for $1.50 a day.

    In three sentences

    It is a well oiled machine, things seem to be down like clockwork, most of the time. It has a wonderful teaching staff, most of them are extremely caring about your academic journey. The students can become a bit bothersome, but nothing that security cannot handle.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is excellent at the school.

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about the Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have ample clubs and groups that students can be a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    I am currently going for Respiratory Therapy and will be saving a ton of money compared to going to a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun events going on at MATC. They also have sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    Their Culinary department is responsible for making amazing food for the students in the cafeteria area.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    In the time that I have spent at MATC I have only encountered 2 bad professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are organized and stay on top of deadlines. Missing a deadline could be the difference between you having thing run smoothly or having to delay starting school all together.

    In three sentences

    MATC is a great Technical College. They have helpful staff, and make it easy for students like myself to still get an education while balancing other obligations. They are a great springboard into a 4 year college.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It was a smart decision to go to a technical college for my gen eds. I wouldn't really recommend that campus though.

    What to do for fun

    Uh, there were like, little kiosks set up for ethnic days I guess you could call it that. They would have free little concerts from bands in the café. They tried to make it a fun campus

    Food and Dining

    Eh.. There was a café, which was cool. They had the best lattes and hot chocolate.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms!!

    Academic Rigor

    I've had teachers that were involved and others that were not. You would want the teachers that are involved because it makes for a better learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would look into attending the West Allis or Oak Creek campus.

    In three sentences

    It was very financial friendly although I wasn't able to receive grants. It was downtown and easy to get to. I had a lot of fun and met some incredible people.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    window shop at the mall near the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused classes can get intense

    In three sentences

    This college is great for transfer students on a budget. Classes are small and easier to focus. Also, you get a U-pass to travel on the bus.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun in West Allis! Theres always downtown Milwaukee. If your interested in the bar scene, there are plenty for you. If your interested in other activities there a great museums that hold some pretty interesting exhibits.

    Food and Dining

    I attend the west campus and the dining is better than nothing but definitely not great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to your advisor! Talk to other students about which teachers to choose for what class. It helps a lot.

    In three sentences

    Great place to attend school if you plan on transferring to a four year college.Classes are challenging but theres a great academic support center to help you all the way.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you are planning to transfer to a 4-year university this is the place to start. They have many transfer agreements to a lot of 4-year universities.

    Food and Dining

    MATC offers a cafeteria and bakery with food made right on the premise by the culinary students.

    Dorm Life

    MATC does not offer dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to take online classes make sure that you are a self-starter. Online classes can be your best friend or your worst enemy.

    In three sentences

    MATC has classes that will challenge you. The class sizes are small. Teachers are always willing to help.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a good campus security staff on hand to prevent problems, but don't leave your belongings uunattended. You've been warned.

    Greek Life

    What?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of clubs, activities and sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Economically strapped.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafeteria can be loaded with sketchy characters during the lunch rush.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    Sorry but I'm here to study, not for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on the 3rd floor of the S building. the food ther is a little pricey and can be unhealthy to eat every day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the moe challenging classes can have very time-consuming workloads.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for classes in ordeer to get the class days and times you desire.

    In three sentences

    MATC is an educational gem in the Milwaukee area. Tuition is quite economically priced. Overall it's a great school.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a tv/game room, I mean pool tables, foosball and such.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good step before going to a four year!

    In three sentences

    MATC is an AWESOME place the teachers are very nice and helpful. The foreign language community there is just plain amazing their nice their helpful. It's a good place too start.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Right in the middle of downtown milwaukee!

    Tips for prospective students

    Much cheaper than 4 year schools for the same classes and credits.

    In three sentences

    Welcoming for the returning student. Easy to figure thingsout. Easy located camps.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety here is not a problem i always felt safe..

    Food and Dining

    If coffee and some good sandwich is what your in to i bet you will love it here.

    Dorm Life

    Wee do not have dorms..

    Tips for prospective students

    Just the parking arrive early!!!!

    In three sentences

    Teacher are fun to learn with. Students are diverse. You get all the help you need.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    MATC has an open gym just for the MATC students. Since I haven't had time to go I dont have much to review.

    Food and Dining

    Almost everything possible is made by the culinary arts or baking students and then essembled by the lunch crew. They have a 6th street cafe and bakery that is ran by students. the cafe features soups, salads and sandwhiches which are prepared by the students in the culinary arts program.

    Dorm Life

    MATC does not have a dorm since it is a technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    When I first got accepted here, it was really difficult to schedule classes since it was my first year. I went to my counselor three, failed, time just for her to tell me that I need to apply for it online by myself. When I got everything sorted out and attended classes it turns out that I needed to take my generals which I should done this semester. I also asked my conselor if I needed to take any but she told me that I didnt need to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are planning to attend MATC should plan on checking up on their status frequently, whether it be taking other classes or their financial aid.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10 I would rate this a 6, due to a lot of confusion towards me and the conselor and the financial aid office. The staff there should be more friendly and engaging.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always an officer wandering the building aimlessly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a few, allows you to meet other students. Which is slightly more difficult in this setting then a traditional college.

    Great for these types of students

    People who dislike school. People that just want a degree so they can get a job. Students who need accommodations.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a technical college. It's pretty cheap and if you're full time, financial aid is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    Surprising quite a bit to do outside classes. Multiple clubs and events are held on academic and recreational levels. Check the MATC newspaper and bullion boards for more information.

    Food and Dining

    Eat else where.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes get the point through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to accomplish - It's a technical college. The courses move along quickly. There's no room for undecided majors. Pick the campus that specializes in your major. - They all carry the big ones, but sometimes one campus is better at one area then the other.

    In three sentences

    The school is basically a high school. It's fantastic for people who want to get a GED, or in and out of school quickly. Make sure you know what you want to get out of the school BEFORE you start.