Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mineral Area College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/25/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, the website for the school is good but visiting is always better. Don't ever be afraid to ask questions or speak up; learning about the college, is half the journey to earning your degree there.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable and the teachers there are wonderful to be around, inside or outside of the classroom.

    Will enjoy being here

    The quadrangle is the best place to hang out, and the students are usually always friendly. The fact that there's a Subway (currently, anyway) on campus is definitely a bonus.

    Will learn a lot

    The teachers are wonderful and if you ever need any help with work that's too difficult, or doesn't make sense, there's always someone there to help you out with tutoring whether it's a fellow classmate or someone in the EXCEL/SSS office.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i do feel safe at this college.

    Greek Life

    sorority?

    Clubs and Activities

    sororities are available to those with a qualifying gpa.

    Great for these types of students

    hard-working and motivated students are offered an excellent opportunity to excel at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    the nursing program!

    Food and Dining

    the food is good but a little on the expensive side.

    Dorm Life

    the college dorms are a little pricey in my eyes.

    Academic Rigor

    they expect you to work for a grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to work to get ahead in life. get an education, and mac is a good place to start and become well-rounded.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are professional and intelligent. they demonstrate patience and competence. the school as a whole helps you to be the best you can be.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The Nursing/Allied Health dept is amazing! Wonderful staff for the nursing, radiology, and EMS services.

    What to do for fun

    The college does offer several events on monthly/semi-monthly basis. They are usually hosted by the campus clubs, so there is always a good turnout. MAC theater usually presents several good plays throughout the year as well.

    Food and Dining

    Decent variety for a junior college. They recently renovated the cafeteria and cut the seating area in half. Better food= no place to comfortably sit.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived there. But they are too expensive when there are decent apartments within a 5 minute driving distance from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    I received my AA in Biology, and I was in the nursing program. The AA workload was not very difficult as long as you study. The nursing program however was difficult and will test your sanity, but will make you a good nurse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please utilize the Excel/SSS program, writing and math labs, and the counselors. You will find that they are invaluable.

    In three sentences

    The teachers that I had were always respectful, available, and positive. Classes were not over-crowded which allowed teachers to be prompt in preparing for and returning assignments/tests. Its personable staff was always committed to my success.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located in a very safe community and does have securty as well

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great variety of groups and activities available

    Great for these types of students

    allied health, two year degree, pre- med, business, etc...

    Bang for the buck

    Mineral area is a great community college and it is affordable

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups and sororities to join

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is superb

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but have heard they are set up as apartments, with a pool grill area club house and sand volleyball

    Academic Rigor

    Staff is very helpful in meeting the needs of those who feel challenged academically

    Tips for prospective students

    I urge you to attend

    In three sentences

    Mineral area College is a spectacular community college. It provides a variety of degrees and partners with two other universities to provide advanced education in a small community

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A great college to begin the college experience. Instructors are very helpful and willing to contribute to my success. A solid affordable school.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mineral Area offers movie night, various clubs, athletics (everything but football), pool parties (campus housing)

    Food and Dining

    The food is nothing to brag about. The food is bland and not much variety. Basically the food and cafeteria are similar to what high school had to offer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are mini apartments equipped with a stove and refrigerator. I stay in a 2 bedroom apartment, but would highly suggest that freshmen stay in the 4 bedroom apartments to meet friends faster.

    Academic Rigor

    Mineral Area is a great college for people who are looking for the small college scene. The instructors are very helpful and are available along with other resources to ensure the student is successful. Mineral Area has a partnership with Mizzou and Rolla. A number of the students at Mineral Area transfer to Miszzou or Rolla after they have completed requirements at Mineral Area. I am told the transfer students are at the top of their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If staying in campus housing, the cafeteria is not open on the weekends. I would also suggest new students bring a car. Walmart is not in walking distance.

    In three sentences

    Mineral Area is a small college in a rural area. If you are not serious about obtaining your degree there is no point in attending Mineral Area College. Mineral Area is a small college town and there isn't much to do off campus.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Pick one night a week to do something for yourself, spend time with family, and have some fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good on campus, but gets expensive quick so pack a lunch.

    Dorm Life

    dont live in the dorms so I dont know

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing progams are a lot of work, but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make time to study.

    In three sentences

    I have been going to Mineral Area for three years. I was accepted into the nursing program. I love the college and my instructors.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    For being such a small college MAC offers a wide variety of clubs. Academic and otherwise.

    What to do for fun

    Park Hills doesn't have too much to offer. In the area there is a bowling alley and a movie theater and plenty of bars and parks. Saint Louis is only about an hour away though.

    Food and Dining

    On campus we have AFV. There is a create your own wrap part, a pizza part, salads, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms but I've been in them. They are just apartment style dorms. Nothing fancy, but nice enough.

    Academic Rigor

    I found that all the classes I took were pretty well structured. Most of the gen ed classes were enough to keep you interested but not so much that you hated the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    When dealing with the business office or the financial aid office, always ask the same question to two different people.

    In three sentences

    MAC has very good teachers. It is a small and it is easy to get around campus. They have one of the best nursing programs in the state.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is completely safe! I don't know of any unsafe incidents on this campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs mac has to offer. I participate in the National Student Nurse's Association and Mineral Area College pays my membership fees since I am in the Nursing Program!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fairly cheap at this school and there are a lot of instructors that are really amazing! These teachers care about the quality of your education!

    What to do for fun

    My favorite thing at Mineral Area College is the socials held once a month. There is a free snack and super fun games that help to encourage students to meet new people!

    Dorm Life

    I am not really familiar with dorm life but I hear it is really great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Mineral Area College if you live near it because it is a great school to go to right out of high school. Visit their website www.mineralarea.edu to see what degree programs they offer and determine if it is right for you!

    In three sentences

    Mineral Area College is a great college to start your career in any degree path. Mineral Area College has a highly rated Nursing Program. The nursing instructors here are absolutely amazing!

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mineral Area College is one of the safest school locations I can think of. When creating a SWOT analysis in a class discussion we proclaimed that campus safety was one of major strengths of Mineral Area College.

    Great for these types of students

    Mineral Area College is great for any student who is just starting out after high school. Mineral Area College is also well know for non-traditional students returning to school after several years.

    Bang for the buck

    Mineral Area College is fairly inexpensive compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    The idea of a small town life is very desirable for some. There is a lot of school spirit at MAC so school activities are important.

    Food and Dining

    Mineral Area is a smaller school so then need for several restaurants is not nescessary. MAC has a fantastic location. It is right between the two largest towns in the local area.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are extraordinary compared to other schools. The dorms are more like clean apartments. They are unbelievably close to the campus. On top of the convenience of the dorms they are relaxing for the student life with the swimming pool and athletic courts.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes are a major advantage to Mineral Area College. The teacher take great pride in ensuring that the students are well educated. The teachers seem to enjoy their careers and actually want to inspire their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mineral Area College is a fantastic two year school. I believe that it is a great place to start college. The classes are fairly small so the teachers have more one on one time to ensure the students do well.

    In three sentences

    Mineral Area College is a phenomenal two year college. The school takes great pride in preparing students for society. Mineral Area College is safe and convenient.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always things posted about safety and maps of safe places to re locate to in the event of some type of emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Personally I don't have much free time for these things, but I always know what's going on with Phi Theta Kappa, and all the other clubs as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Ice Cream Social is so much fun. I'm sure that there are comparable events at other colleges, but this is somewhere you can go to just have good, clean, down to earth fun, and meet some awesome people!

    Bang for the buck

    The average cost of attendance is reasonable. However, prices at the bookstore are ridiculous! They know we're poor college students, right?

    What to do for fun

    There are always sporting events to go to! If games just aren't your thing, then there's always art shows, or theater events going on as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a wide variety, and plenty of selections. Whether you want something green, or something greasy, it's available. My only concern is prices, they are relatively high.

    Dorm Life

    I am unable to rate Dorm Life due to the fact that I live off of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be challenging, but you have to be very picky about who your professor is, some pose quite a challenge, and some seem to just go through the motions semester after semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind, and you'll be pleasantly surprised. Talk to people about which teachers to take, chances are they'll have some good suggestions for you. Don't be shy, everyone is always ready and willing to help in any way that they ca.

    In three sentences

    Advisors are friendly and willing to give genuine advice. Campus is nice, open, and inviting. Peers are good hearted, seemingly non judgmental people.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus offers outstanding safety and enforcement in our learning environment. As far as I know, nothing that drastic has happened on the campus, it is pretty safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    MAC has a wide variety of clubs and activities for you to join or get involved in. You can get invited to join honor societies, if you have the GPA. Also, there are clubs that meet your interests and hobbies.

    Bang for the buck

    I currently used A+ Incentive to pay for my tuition. No way to pay for it right now? NO PROBLEM! MAC offers great payment options that fit your budget, just make sure you pay it on time.

    What to do for fun

    I am involved in a great variety of activities and clubs. MAC encourages you to be involved while your work hard for your degree. I am members of the Honor Society on campus, the movie fan club, and the community service club.

    Food and Dining

    Great selection of food at the Cardinal's Nest Cafe! You don't even need a food plan to eat at MAC, you can pay cash if you want to. You can have anything from the day's specials to whatever satisfies your hunger.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is like you are living in an actual apartment. I have never went to the dorms because I live 5 minutes away from the school, but I heard they are definitely a plus at MAC.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are always there to help you, DO NOT BE AFRAID TO ASK FOR HELP. Also, MAC offers tutoring service that is free of charge. Basically, set for you to succeed, there should be no reason why you should not fall behind unless you are not doing the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay focused and take notes at all times. Most instructors give you the outline of what will be on tests or quizzes, ALWAYS STUDY! Also, get involved in Mineral Area, there are many opportunities and clubs where you can join and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Mineral Area College is a great college to go to if you live in the St. Francois County Area. The instructors understand and are there to really help you succeed in your classes, as well as the advisers, they help you create a flexible schedule that suits your daily needs. Overall, Mineral Area helps you gain a college experience close to your home or in a matter of miles.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Its going to be a fun new experience. it seem like its going to be fun. all I know is that im ready

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just have fun, don't be afraid to try something new or ask questions. The students and teachers are nice and helpful.

    In three sentences

    It is a great starter school. It has manny different majors and extracurricular activities. It is local, and has given me plenty of the tools I will need to continue my education at a higher level.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a guide on campus safety. It lets you know what to when something happens and what to do when something may happen to you or someone else. It also gives emergency numbers and non- emergency. There is also a section that can helps prevent crimes while walking or driving.

    Greek Life

    I haven't heard to much on the Greek Life there.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have Allied Health, Business, Community Service, Education, Fine Arts, Honorary Society, Sports, and more like Christian Student Union and Redbird Revolution Dance Squad.

    What to do for fun

    Mineral Area College has sports to choose from, clubs, and so much more to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    They food and dining is great a lot to choose from and room to eat anywhere.

    Dorm Life

    The college dorm community includes a swimming pool, club house with big screen TV, laundry facility, computer lab, sand volleyball court, barbeque pavilion, and private mailboxes. These amenities add to the benefits received when leasing a College Park Residence. The benefits College Park provides to residents have increased with the new lease program, they now include: water, sewer, trash, electric, Charter internet access and basic cable TV. The individual lease allows each resident to be responsible for their portion of the lease agreement and not risk loss of electricity or other service because someone does not pay their portion. You are never responsible for your roommate's portion. The room and board does include meals. And here are the pricing on the college dorms for August 2013- May 2014. 4 Bedroom w/12 mpw $2,834/sem 4 bedroom w/15 mpw $2,991/sem 2 bedroom w/12 mpw $3,059/sem 2 bedroom w/15 mpw $3,216/sem

    Academic Rigor

    Not everything is easy in college classes will be harder than high school so that means you will have to push yourself to do better in college. But there are programs at Mineral area college that can help you if you are struggling in some classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have tons of classes to choose from. Tons of activities and clubs to join.

    In three sentences

    So far in my research of this college they have a lot of different classes you can choose from. Mineral area college also has big library which is great for me. Last, the people there are so nice.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't been in the dorms, as I live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early to make sure your paperwork is in order, and exceed the minimum requirements.

    In three sentences

    I am a new student at MAC, they have streamlined the registration process and are incredibly helpful. A large portion of the details can be dealt with online, which is a big advantage for me. They have many nontraditional students, which is appealing.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I strongly suggest not living on campus. I am being charged for a whole semester of housing even though I am not attending college. I do not even have a key to the room, but I am still having to pay for it unfortunately.

    In three sentences

    Mineral Area College is a good school. However, I would suggest not living on campus. The director of housing is charging me for a second semester dorm even though I am not enrolled in school anymore.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you first walk in the doors at Mineral Area College, you feel safe. The security office is right when you walk in and if at any time you feel unsafe, you can call them and they will come help you. Living at the dorms is also safe because security is always driving around looking for anything suspicious or anyone who could cause harm to the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs you can join at Miner Area College if you are going to school for education, business, or even fine arts.

    Great for these types of students

    Mineral Area College is great for students any age looking for a place where they can learn and not be judged on how much you already know.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs at Mineral Area College are always putting on some kind of activity for you to participate in. If you are looking for something outside to do, there is a quarry on campus that you can walk to. The quarry is a great place to fish, walk around, and even sit on the dock to finish doing homework.

    Food and Dining

    The staff serves delicious food and are willing to make you just about anything you could imagine in the cafe. They care about your opinion on the food that they make and are always doing their best to make everyone happy. There are many different options that will fit anyone's taste buds.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived in the dorm for one semester and I love it! When living at the dorms, I feel safe and I also have a lot of fun. Once a month they have an activity for students and its a great time to get to know all the people you live next too. In the clubhouse, which is open 24 hours a day, they have computers you can use, a pool, and a laundry facility. I highly recommend living at the dorms if you want to stay focused on school and also have a lot of fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty at Mineral Area College push you to be the best you can be and do the best you can do. They will help you with your homework and answer any questions you have. There are many different levels of classes you can take, so its easy to find classes that you fit into.

    Tips for prospective students

    *sign up early for classes (to get the classes you need) *get to know your admissions counselor (they will help you )

    In three sentences

    Mineral Are College is a great place to start your college career and even finish with the education you need to succeed. Mineral Area is a small college so you get the chance to know all your teachers and meet some amazing people who can help you down the path you want. I recommend this college for people of all ages who would like the chance to learn new things and have fun in the process.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE! Living in a small town we don't have many things going on, but there is still campus security.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and organizations, but since I work a lot in my hometown I don't take part in a lot of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small college settings, who want to go into nursing, who like small towns, small class settings, teachers who really care, and students who haven't figured out exactly what they want to do in the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Mineral Area College is the place where I finally found out that I wanted to do something with business. I love fashion so I started to look into degrees with Fashion. Fashion Merchandising was one of them. I got accepted into Fontbonne University and before I transfer I am taking a lot of business classes and I LOVE THEM! MAC is really preparing me for my move to a bigger university. NOT only that, but I am getting a free education here with the A+ program while staying in my home town. It is a great option for students who are still trying to figure out their future.

    What to do for fun

    Go to basketball games, club meetings, watch music and theater performances.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good! I eat there all the time and I don't even have a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms because MAC is located five minutes from my house, but I have visited the dorms and they are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on what classes you take. Some classes are really easy while some can really kick your butt! You just have to study a little more in the harder classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions and participate in class! Also, join clubs and get involved as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Mineral Area College is a good community college that prepares you for larger Universities while keeping you close to home. The teachers are excellent and love to help their students. I would recommend MAC to anyone.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Park Hills isn't exactly a college town. There really isn't much to do here. However, just 8 miles away is Farmington, which has your necessities (WalMart, restaurants, etc), other than that its a pretty boring town, but you make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    I would describe the cafeteria as being a step above high school food. But the dorms have stoves and ovens, so I typically just cook my own food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are more like apartments, and compared to other schools they are probably the least expensive that I've seen. Being a community college, most people live off campus and drive, but its nice to be able to walk to class in less than 5 minutes. Living in the dorms, you meet some great people that you live right next to, and since you are in such a small vicinity its rare that you'll get time alone (whether you like that or not is up to you).

    Academic Rigor

    As stated previously, the classes aren't as in depth as they would be at a university, but some weeks you will have a pretty full work load (depending on the classes that you are taking. Of course, teachers expect assignments to be done on time, but are generally pretty understanding if emergencies come up and you aren't able to attend class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It would be a great place to receive your associates degree relatively inexpensively, and then move on to a four-year college (if that interests you).

    In three sentences

    MAC is a community college, and really, you get what you pay for. Though you won't get the in-depth education that you would receive from a university, I would say that it is one of the best schools in the region. The classes are small and personal; the teachers are actually there to teach you, and care about your success.