Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Minneapolis College of Art and Design - MCAD Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In my opinion, MCAD is the perfect art school. It's small(ish) but concentrated on the arts; so if you know you would like a career in the arts, this school is the living end. Even if you don't know which specific field you want to be in, MCAD is good for developing talent and learning which type of art you would be most successful in. Also, many of my friends are not from the Midwest - people from all over the country come to MCAD. I know people from Texas, Oregon, California, all over the country. MCAD could stand for more diversity in race and ethnicity; but other than that, there are a lot of different personalities on campus. As for the student body itself, it's really hard to pinpoint one type of student to define the whole body. People are so different from each other - not everyone is a serious artist, and a lot of fun people come to MCAD. There are comic geeks, sculptors, illustrators, filmmakers, lazy people (me), crazy people, pretty much any kind of person could find a place for themself here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really love art, you should have no problem getting in to MCAD. There are also a lot of scholarships for good grades and talent, so the price tag of tuition can be reduced significantly.

    Bang for the buck

    MCAD is arts-accredited, which I hear is important; they also keep up with technology (for you film/graphic design/whatever major that works with computers out there). Some people feel that MCAD tries to instill a certain idea about art into its students; but in my opinion, the teachers all have different views they share with the students, which is interesting and important to developing your own ideas.

    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely enjoy MCAD - if I didn't, I wouldn't be going back for my second year. The classes are awesome, most of the teachers are great, Minneapolis is full of things to do, and the students are all friendly people.

    Am learning a lot

    MCAD is really great in its curriculum - freshmen have to take mostly foundation classes, but they all pertain to your major . . . meaning, there are no science or math courses you are required to take. Classes are small - usually less than 20 people, meaning you get a lot of one-on-one with the teacher. I found this especially helpful in my drawing classes, where pretty much every day I got a lot of advice on how to improve my technique and mindset toward drawing. Critiques can be especially helpful in developing.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety people patrol all the time, and if you ask they'll walk you back to a safe place like your dorm or your car or whatever. There are phones on campus for calling them, too. It's just really awesome and safe.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist. There's no sports or anything either, but I'm actually glad about that -- more focus is put on the arts and school that way, and if you really need it there are sports gigs out in town.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said, there's a million clubs, and you can start your own. I plan to join the Musical Club (which puts them on, twice a year, doesn't just watch them) and Comic Heads (holy crap they have booths at conventions, how cool is that) at the very least.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, organized, creative. Normal people will thrive too. Shy people will have a hard time because they're going to critique your stuff in front of everyone, and participation is important. But really, tough. This is too cool a school to let your shyness stop you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a free shelf on campus where you can leave things you don't want and take things you need. Every weekend, the school takes kids in vans to the store. The Comic Art majors have one big studio where they all work together (yes, they have a comics major). Oh, and every new student gets a laptop. Just saying.

    Bang for the buck

    I've been here less than a week and I've already learned how to make a movie in photoshop and a still life, not to mention learning stuff in my general classes as well. It is really expensive, but you learn a lot, and there are extensive scholarships. It's totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a million clubs, and if it doesn't exist (unlikely) you can start one. Housing organizes all sorts of fun parties, and there's a TV with cable in the workout room. Everyone has a personal computer. There's no shortage of fun things you can do. You just have to be careful and get the work done first.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad. There is no food. Well, there's a cafe kinda place, but it's just like a normal cafe, with normal prices. You can't eat there every day any more than you could go out to the pizza parlor every day. But you do have your own kitchen, and there are stores, and if you really need it a couple blocks down is Eat Street.

    Dorm Life

    The people are all really awesome, and the dorms are basically apartments. There's a kitchen, living room, dining room, bathroom, and bedrooms, just in your dorm (laundry facilities are downstairs). Weekly they take students to the store. You're set up with everything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    It won't kill you, but you do need to manage your time extremely well, especially if you're working. You're going to have big assignments from every class, often that will take five hours or more each. You have to work really hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your homework done as soon as you get it. Don't wait around and do it later, because your other classes will also assign huge projects and you won't be able to get them all done Sunday night. Just do them at the first opportunity, otherwise you'll be swamped.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is just really huge. People are going out and making art even outside of class, and you're being pushed harder than ever before, and it's just this amazing environment that pushes you to do your best. It's transformed me already.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security officers are normally patrolling around the campus at night, and the main building is locked past certain hours where you have to be let in, and you have to sign in. there are also call stations around the outside of the school, in case anything does happen. the campus itself is well lit and night, and the dorms are locked so only someone with a key can open the door from the outside.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs at mcad, all student run. clubs are easily made, and clubs are allowed so-much money to do activities and have prizes, too.

    Bang for the buck

    mcad is an expensive school, but what you learn, the experiences you have, and the connections you make are worth it.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of student run activities, clubs, plays, as well as school run dances and trips. it's not difficult to make a club, or find an already existing club that shares your interests. there are also lots of places close by to go to for fun.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe in the school has good food, that isn't super expensive. sometimes, the food is a little off, or really greasy, but they have a good selection of food for both for vegetarians and vegans, too. the food is cooked there on location, and specialized per what you order.

    Dorm Life

    personally, i've loved the dorm life at mcad. the dorms themselves are nice, come furnished and unfurnished, and are a comfortable size. they're basically small apartments. the ras have been friendly and helpful if any problems arise, and generally your neighbors are quiet when it becomes later in the night.

    Academic Rigor

    mcad isn't easy; you have to be devoted to your art, and really try. it's not like high school where you could just scoot on by. but the staff and students are very helpful, and do their best to make sure you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to work hard, and maybe not sleep as much as you're used to. not every class is going to be something that you love, but every class will teach you something that you'll use down the road! for instance, not doing your work at the last minute.

    In three sentences

    mcad has a nice environment and friendly staff and students. it encourages students to work hard and pushes them to their best to produce great work. it's certainly for people who are serious about their work.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety at mcad is very good. all buildings are secured and they patrol the campus regularly, including at night. they also offer a emergency number in case of any disturbances and offer to walk students to and from the campus if asked.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is a little pricy at mcad, but the education that you are receiving along with the connections you make, make it worth the money spent.

    What to do for fun

    there are numerous activities weekly at mcad ranging from movie and game nights, yoga, sports groups, crafts and many others. students are also encouraged to develop their own groups and get involved in as many as they can.

    Food and Dining

    mcad has a fantastic cafeteria that offers many options at reasonable prices for students. there are many healthy options including vegetarian menu items. all apartments are equipped with range ovens and students are also encouraged to cook on their own.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at mcad are secured buildings in the form of 1,2,3, or 4 bedroom apartments. they are older buildings but they are quite nice and students do not have to worry about maintenance or a monthly rent payment. laundry facilities are on site in each building as well.

    Academic Rigor

    mcad expects the best out of it's students and in return does it's best to help students in any way they can and challenge their knowledge as well as present relevant course content.

    Tips for prospective students

    students should always be on top of your work and projects, do not slack. as well you should always take advantage of what mcad has to offer; guest speakers, career services and in general your instructors are great to talk to.

    In three sentences

    mcad has absolutely amazing facilities for students to use for their benefit and great connections to clients. their instructors have knowledge about the courses they are teaching and are always available to talk with outside of class.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MCAD is for anyone who might think a little differently or want to learn how to think differently.

    Bang for the buck

    MCAD is worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    There are many events and guest speakers that come to MCAD. There are many clubs and other fun activities as well. If nothing is going on at MCAD, downtown Minneapolis is a few blocks away with many venues and clubs to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a good place to get food when you are hungry, and the prices are reasonable. If you don't like the cafeteria food there are plenty of restaurants around. Also, downtown Minneapolis is pretty close as well.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus. What I have heard though is that it's a good way to meet people. It's also right next to MCAD, so it's very convenient!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but you learn a lot. You also get real experience because most of the teachers are in your chosen field. Don't waste your time or your classmates' time if you don't have anything done, make sure you get something done. You also get rewarded for good grades so try hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Always try and you will get good grades. Take risks but make sure you follow the guidelines.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school to get exposure in the real world while in school. There are a lot of opportunities. You also make a lot of friends and get a lot of networking as well.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24/7 security. I love that about MCAD. Doesn't mean we haven't had our fair share of robberies and beatings.

    Greek Life

    none to speak of but I keep wanting to make a Sorority club for fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have TONS of clubs. Pokemon club, socialist club, music jammers, homestuck club, my little pony club, anime club, avatar the last air bender club, design club. You get my point. We have tons of events that go on through out the year. There's a new art show almost every week. We also have the art sale which makes a lot of money for MCAD.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are open minded. Anyone with artistic ability. Free thinkers. If you like art but also like business this is the perfect school for you. I'm a marketing major and I love it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a big thanksgiving dinner every year. We get tons of food from this fantastic place in Uptown. The college center suddenly turns into Hogwarts around that time. We have four tables set up and a fake fire on a projection screen. The women who illustrated the Harry Potter books actually went to MCAD.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth the money. MCAD is one of those places that you have to put in the effort to get what you want out of it. If you're being lazy and not getting involved in school events than you shouldn't be there.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out in the college center a lot. It's an art school so people are always working on something cool. It's nice to see what other people are working on.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria isn't great but it does it's job. There's restaurants on eat street which is like a block away.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't that bad. It's apartment style. We have had rats though. Also a lot of the apartments have bad lighting.

    Academic Rigor

    MCAD is extremely demanding. You get a lot projects. It's all worth it though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do on campus housing your first year.

    In three sentences

    MCAD is a fantastic institution. I have great professors. My classes are fantastic.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful. Between the security personnel of the school and of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts next door the school security sweeps a several block range around the school. Students can also request to be driven home, if they live within a determined range, if they have needed to stay late and have no other safe way home.

    Clubs and Activities

    MCAD has a full range of clubs and activities for students to do. From sports clubs to Pokemon fan clubs. Also you can pretty much make up your own club, you just need members and approval.

    Great for these types of students

    MCAD, being an art college, is obviously great for students who are artistically talented or artistically inclined. And it doesn't matter your background, religion, ethnicity, orientation, etc because you are guaranteed to find people you can relate to here and who relate to you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I myself am unaware if there are any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    MCAD is a private college, a private ART college so yes it is quite spend-y. But I do believe it is worth the price to go to a school like MCAD with it's staff and faculty who have worked in their respective fields who have hands on experience and can use that knowledge to teach their students, thus preparing them a little better. On top of the wonderful faculty the dorms for MCAD are all located on campus, there is a Bistro which has a wide range of delicious and nutritious food, there are several restaurants within walking distance of campus, the school provides weekly trips to nearby grocery stores for students living on campus. Also on several occasions the school provides free food during events held at MCAD.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun, depending on what you want to do. I would generally suggest searching for places within Minneapolis that interest you and go to or go do them. However MCAD does have an extensive list of clubs and activities you can participate in, either on or off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Within less than two blocks from campus you can come across a range of restaurants. From The Bad Waitress Coffee Shop to Pho Hoe Vietnamese Restaurant and Christos Greek Restaurant to A Slice Of New York. And along with food there's coffee at the Spyhouse Coffee Shop.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say I personally know much about dorm life being that I am a commuter student. However from hanging out with friends who live on campus I can say that the dorms are well kept up with and if any maintenance issues arise they are taken care of relatively quickly, as long as you notify the janitorial staff. Also, students who live on campus most often have an easier time than those who commute because they don't have to worry about traveling very far to get home. On the other hand when they need supplies which they need to buy off campus, then things get a little more difficult for them.

    Academic Rigor

    It's best for you and your teachers if you show up to class, put in an effort and prove that you want to be going to school at MCAD. The teachers at MCAD are obviously there to teach you and unlike high school that's all they're there for. They aren't meant to babysit you and send you and email asking why weren't you in class today?. If you can't show up to class and you don't take your personal time to either send an email or visit their offices in person then they are going to assume you don't care about their class and if you don't care why should they.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be too nervous. Sure it's basically a new school and you don't know anyone. But just be yourself and you'll find friends who you can get along with and who share your interests. Believe me, once you pick your major you'll have plenty of people to talk to and interact with. As long as you're not a jerk.

    In three sentences

    MCAD is a well known private art college. People that attend MCAD love art and love what they do. If you're not one of these people then MCAD isn't for you.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    MCAD doesn't have any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's clubs for anything, and if you don't find a club that's right for you, talk to a teacher and start one yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    Art students, of course! Open-minded thinkers and people from any and all backgrounds.

    Bang for the buck

    MCAD tuition is certainly very expensive, but I can personally assure you that you are getting quality education from people who are passionate about their art (and who currently work in their chosen field). The facilities are high-quality, and the studios are spacious and make excellent workspaces.

    What to do for fun

    MCAD holds weekly events and student-run clubs that are fun and more often than not have free snacks. In fact, I don't remember a week passing that didn't have at least four events going on! There are lots of parties, of course, and so much to do in the cities. It's difficult to get bored.

    Food and Dining

    If cooking in your dorm isn't for you, there is a nice cafeteria on-campus. It can get a little pricey, but you can buy a meal card ahead of time to help you out (plus, you always get a ticket that eventually gives you a free meal). The meal options aren't bad! There are also lots of local restaurants that are amazing. I recommend going to pho noodle soup restaurants in the winter.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are converted apartments, meaning you and your roommates get a lot of space to yourselves. Each dorm-apartment has a full kitchen and bathroom. The buildings have community laundry rooms. Your RA will always help you feel safe and comfortable in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    MCAD's classes are long and challenging. Homework is difficult but always helps you grow. Critiques from your teachers and peers are always enlightening, and your teachers will never hesitate to help you with anything you may need.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school for artists who are serious about pursuing their craft in the workspace and in the world. MCAD will help you appreciate all kinds of people, places, thoughts, processes, techniques and styles of work. Student life at MCAD is always fun and they do everything they can to keep you from stressing out too badly!

    In three sentences

    MCAD is home to a wonderful, tight-knit community of passionate artistic-minded individuals. Every day at MCAD, I feel accepted-- a part of a larger group-- and pushed to my fullest potential as an artist. MCAD will help you become the greatest artist, learner, and person that you can possibly be.

  • 07/12/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security center is on the ground floor and overlooks the gallery area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs for every signal type of person. There are events like the MCAD Art Sale and many others popping up.

    Great for these types of students

    Art lovers/Artists. Prospective film makers. Entrepreneurs. Really any student who is interested in creativity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The annual Black and White Ball

    Bang for the buck

    MCAD is a bit pricey but they're tons of merit based scholarships and financial aid when you apply, as well as while your attending.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple student lead clubs on campus. Everything from Anime Club to Movie Night Club, there's something for everyone. And if not you can start your own club! And it's on the same campus as the MIA.

    Food and Dining

    They have a sizable cafeteria. MCAD is a few blocks away from Nicolette Ave. (Aka Eat Street) with a wealth of food options from all around the world.

    Dorm Life

    There are apartment buildings on campus that are seconds away from class. You can literary spend an entire break in your dorm and not be late to class because it's just a short walk away. Apartments have kitchens too so you can cook your whole meals and save money by not going out to eat!

    Academic Rigor

    At MCAD they encouraged students put their all into their work, work with others in different degrees, and challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as possible to get merit scholarships. The staff are really helpful so if you have questions don't be afraid to ask. Definitely attend one of their campus visits. They're free and extremely informative. This is the best way to decide if this is the right school for you.

    In three sentences

    MCAD has an excellent selection of degrees and programs to choose from. It is a great way of making connections for internships and careers. It is one of the best art schools in the region.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study and hang out at the anime club, animation club, any art club in general.

    Food and Dining

    Good like any other school.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown to me.

    Academic Rigor

    They will keep you busy and have a lot of studio space to work in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your portfolio ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    The school i dreamed of going to before i even knew it existed. A school i'll be proud to say i am going to and will graduate from. Perfection.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    sketchy at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Seriously creative, unique visionaries, fine art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Black Forest Cafe close to campus

    Bang for the buck

    Small enough to focus. Make sure you find an internship early. You need experience and a great portfolio. Visual Art degrees don't get jobs with resumes, focus on building your portfolio. GET AN ADVISOR EARLY AND GET GUIDANCE.

    What to do for fun

    The Art Institute and Walker Art Center are very near. Downtown Minneapolis is just a mile away.

    Dorm Life

    Not bad, steer clear of too much socializing focus on work.

    Academic Rigor

    You can't learn this stuff from books. You will rack up studio time and lose hours of your life wiithout noticing. Class critiques of your work is where you will grow the most. Don't wear your heart on your sleeve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what field you want to pursue and research it. Contact people who are already employed doing what you want to. Contact the alumni department for suggestions.

    In three sentences

    Charles Shultz the creator of the Peanuts comic strip (Charlie Brown and Snoopy) was the most famous Minnesotan to graduate from MCAD. When I graduated it was ranked 5th in the nation. This school is for natural talents that want to develop a trained asthetic eye, they have great teachers and a wide variety of mediums.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety is very trustworthy and I feel very safe on campus. There is always at least two people on duty at the front desk everyday, where they keep the Main Building open 24 hours. Students have to check in to get in the building after 8 PM, which makes it seem very safe. If you need a ride anywhere late at night Campus Safety will take you if you need it. They are friendly-they smile and say hi to you.

    Greek Life

    There unfortunately is no Greek Life at MCAD.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a number of clubs to join on campus-from Zombie Appreciation Club, Gay+ Club, Animation Club, to Recess Club, Heckle the Movie Club...the list goes on and on. The school puts on a variety of events as well. They've had movie nights, a petting zoo, trips to an apple orchard, art exhibit openings, etc. Student Affairs keeps you updated weekly with events that are going on on and off campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MCAD has a lovely Thanksgiving feast right before Thanksgiving break. It feels like Hogwarts and it is simply lovely! The school hosts some great events!

    Bang for the buck

    MCAD is a private art school so it is spendy! But there are scholarships you can apply for and there is work study at this school too. Work study is very nice to have if you are eligible. I think the money is definitely worth going here-you learn so much, improve your skills and work, and you can meet some very inspiring artists!

    What to do for fun

    There a number of clubs to join on campus-from Zombie Appreciation Club, Gay + Club, Animation Club, to Recess Club, Heckle the Movie Club...the list goes on and on! The school puts on a variety of events as well. They've had movie nights, a petting zoo, trips to an apple orchard, art exhibit openings, etc. There is plenty to do! If you want to walk downtown, that is also possible...there's plenty of places to go eat! Also, you can take the bus to the Light Rail to go the MOA.

    Food and Dining

    There is a little bistro in the Main Building, a lot of people go there between classes. If you live on campus you pretty much provide your own food-the apartments have a small kitchen with a stove, oven, fridge, sink, etc. So factoring expenses for food is very important if you're considering this school. If you don't want to cook Eat Street is walking distance from campus, giving one a variety of foods to choose from. There is a really nice local coffee shop, The Nicollet, which has great sandwiches and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There are very nice apartments on campus and off campus. The on-campus apartments are close to the two main buildings-you do not have to walk far which is nice when you're carrying big drawing portfolios. The apartments are spacious-you can either get them unfurnished or furnished. You can actually have privacy compared to the average dorm by having your own personal bathroom, shared with your roommates. (Instead of twenty-some girls living on a dorm floor.)

    Academic Rigor

    I have never been more challenged and I love it! MCAD is very rigorous-you definitely need to manage your time wisely to keep ahead of things. There are weekly projects in almost every class. Papers, tests, projects, etc. All classes have a way of critiquing your work-whether it's a class critique or a test.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are undecided in what you want to major in, don't stress about it too much. MCAD doesn't have you declare your major until you have completed three semesters there. There are plenty of classes to take for you to explore what you're interested in!

    In three sentences

    I have only been at MCAD for one semester but I have learned so much already! You have to work very hard to keep up with all the projects but it's worth it. You will improve in your artwork!

  • 05/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The glorious Free Shelf. It's as close as we'll ever get to a school mascot. It is what it sounds like; people drop off things (clothes, kitchen supplies, books, etc.) for others to take. You can occasional find some pretty great items like expensive art supplies or nice clothes.

    What to do for fun

    Students are always gathering somewhere. Whether it be outside, in the college center, or in the auditoriums for movies. If you walk around campus, you'll inevitably find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The MCAD bistro is provides good quality food. The cost ranges from $2-8, depending if you get a full meal or just a snack. It's not the cheapest, and it is usually better to buy your own groceries (you have a kitchen, so why not?).

    Dorm Life

    I personally live off campus, but from what I have observed, the dorm life is pretty good. It is easier to create bonds and friendships while living on campus, plus the dorms are actually apartments, so they have kitchens and a good amount of space. Your friends are just steps away when you live on campus, and it's very easy to be involved in social activities.

    Academic Rigor

    What you get out of your classes here is truly what you put into it. You will only improve if you put effort into it. If you don't work hard, it isn't hard. But if you do work hard, you will benefit greatly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to participate in the yearly art sale and apply for as many scholarships and competitions as possible, it is worth the effort.

    In three sentences

    MCAD is a fantastic art school, I've improved in my practice from just two semesters here. The faculty and resources provided by MCAD are focused on landing you a job after school, which is incredibly important in the creative field. The community is fantastic and filled with fun people, you will not regret coming here.