Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Minneapolis Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who like smaller schools, cheap tuition, teachers who are willing to help you, and just an all around great college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a community college and get your fine arts degree (it's your generals) then transfer to the university you want to attend. You will save yourself or your family a lot of money!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is highly affordable, as I'm sure you have already heard. The most amazing program i have heard of and am apart of is the Power of You. It's a program only offered at MCTC and it is for students right out of high school. What this program essentially is, is two years of college at MCTC free! They cover whatever tuition your financial aid does not! All your responsible for is paying for books, unless you have grants or scholarships. This program is based on your family income. Once you are accepted all you have to do is maintain a 2.0 or higher GPA and be taking 6 or more credits. They will only cover 6-14 credits so if you take more or less than that you will have to pay for it. This is truly an amazing program and i am really grateful i was accepted. College is no joke and it is very pricey so for a program to offer you 2 years free is remarkable!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy my school very much. I don't feel washed out and isolated like i might have been in a big university. People are easy to talk to and open to helping you, students and staff. The counselors are amazing, very intelligent and informed. Tell them your problem and they can and will help! The environment is safe and easy to get to. There are multiple bus lines that will take you directly in front of the school. The school store had everything you could need, except electronics. The school itself is a good size, not to big or to small. so you are able to find all your classes and get there on time without being late. I definitely recommend going to this school!

    Am learning a lot

    I am indeed learning a lot! I found out that the things you hear about community colleges are not accurate. I love it at Minneapolis Community and Technical College! Yes, it is somewhat like a high school setting but i think that is a positive thing. The teachers are willing to give you personal help anytime you need it. They don't shrug you off and say I'm busy, they say what can i do to help and here is what you need to do. The classes are not any harder or easier than other colleges or university's. It is easier to afford though. in my opinion everyone should go to a community college first for there liberal arts degree. Especially at MCTC there credits transfer almost anywhere.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a dining room and a mock-restaurant that is used as a practice setting for culinary arts students.

    Dorm Life

    Currently there is no dorm in this institution, but housing is affordable and the college is nested on the edge of downtown Minneapolis, making it extremely accessible.

    Academic Rigor

    While the myth exists that community colleges are far easier than an institution like a state university, Minneapolis Community and Technical College has provided me with an education that pushes to my limit and makes me interested in the topics I learn about. The instructors care about teaching students, not about solely seeking grants or for school rankings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FAFSA early and seek counseling when registering for courses. The advisors offer many options for people that include 2-year, 4-year and certificate diplomas. The advisors have your future in their interest and work to find the most pragmatic and encompassing route for you to follow.

    In three sentences

    This institution values an in-depth opportunity to provide students of all income classes with a well-rounded education. The student population is one of the most diverse that I have seen, which only enriches my education. The instructors and administration work to bring out the fullest of a student's potential and to put them onto a path for success.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It provides diverse clubs and great activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This particular college is great for students who have difficulty in financial support, or desired to save ones budget for later education. It is a great beginning to start from a scarp to a bigger profession.

    What to do for fun

    My hobby is photographer, reading, cooking, volunteering, and dancing.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is affordable and convenience to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    It has great academic rigor in medical which is where I want to pursue in. So, all this well.

    Tips for prospective students

    When considering college, calculate the tuition and how much financial aid you have received, and check the location. Most importantly, check if it has major where you want to pursue in.

    In three sentences

    I consider to continue my education at Minneapolis Community and Technical College because it is affordable, great location, and good reputation. It offers what I want to pursue in. I will take generals there then transfer to University.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much information as you possibly can. Start taking personality, and future job placement assessments to get you in the right career path. YOUR ADVISOR is to be your HOMEY. Stay in contact, nothings better then a support system.

    In three sentences

    Really great school for returning, or students that didn't do so well in High School. MCTC, has a really great support system that will assist you in completing an A.S. and graduating.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is not a big issue at MCTC but if you ever feel threatened or unsafe, you can always call campus security to escort you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs you can join - which you can learn more about from the school website. http://www.minneapolis.edu/

    What to do for fun

    Right behind the Minneapolis Community and Technical College is Loring park where you can always go for a stroll with your friends. Or you can walk/hop on a city bus and head downtown to the watch shows, eat, and shop. You can also get on the light rail from downtown and head to the Mall of America.

    Food and Dining

    The Minneapolis Community and Technical College doesn�t have a Meal Package but it does has a cafeteria in the T-Building, that you can buy by using cash or upload money onto your student ID card. MCTC also has a cafe on the second floor of the T-Building, along with multiple vending machines all around the campus. There�s also a newly opened convenience store and smoothie bar in the Helland Center.

    Dorm Life

    The Minneapolis Community and Technical College doesn't have any on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    As with all academic institutions, the rigor is based on your mind set. If you find your classes too hard for you, you can always ask your teacher and classmates for help. MCTC also offers walk-in tutoring in the Writing Center.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Minneapolis Community and Technical College may not be for everyone - but there are ways to find out. - Check your educational plan. Does this college fit in with your plans? (Ex: Going to a community College for 2-years to save you money before transferring to a 4-year college) - Can you afford the tuition? Apply for the college and check your financial aid package. Also, check the MCTC website for scholarships: http://www.minneapolis.edu/Paying-for-College/Financial-Aid/Scholarships -Consider if you want to live on or off campus. If you want to live on campus then this college may not be for you since MCTC doesn�t have on-campus housing. BUT there are apartments nearby that you can rent. -Consider how you�re going to commute. The Minneapolis Community and Technical College has a parking ramp that you can purchase a parking card for. Or, if you prefer taking public transportation, you can buy a bus card from the book store which will last you the whole semester! -Find out some of the benefits of the college that you like. (Ex: Free health clinic services!)

    In three sentences

    The Minneapolis Community and Technical college is a small, cozy college located on the outskirts of Downtown Minneapolis. It doesn�t have dorms but it does have a great, newly renovated, Student Center where you can just hang out, study, buy snacks, and check in the the doctor FOR FREE! This is an affordable college, averaging at only $4,000 a semester, and if you�re applying as a high school senior, you can always apply for the Power of You scholarship - which will cover your two year tuition.

  • 11/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who enjoys the small class sizes and hands on learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour before applying. They're offered every week and it'll make you fall in love with the school. MCTC has a lot to offer and I don't know any students who aren't happy they choose to go here. A good blend of people take classes so you'll inevitably meet fun people here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's quite affordable and offers special classes through the Student Senate to help you with scholarships and grants. No complaints here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is quite large for a Technical College. It includes 6 buildings I believe. It's also right next to a park which makes for some pretty awesome walks on nice days. I've fallen asleep in the park many times while studying under a shaded tree. Most building are well kept.

    Am learning a lot

    I have thoroughly increased my knowledge since starting at MCTC. The classes are very detailed with small numbers in each class, usually 20-25. Teachers are easy to get along with and well educated.

  • 03/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who don't want to go far from home. People are who are low income families. I think it's always good for people who want to learn, I have seen many people come back after 30 years. I think it's good for older people who want to renew their education or do something different. It's good for people who tried a university/private college but can't afford it anymore.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a really nice school. The counselors are always willing to help you with anything you need. I needed help with some study tips and my counselor was there for me. The teachers have great attitudes and they are always there to answer any questions I have. Don't let people get you down about going to a community college, it's just as good as a private college or the U of M. Make sure you stay on top of your studies, go to class and don't fall behind. Make a connection with your teacher and one main thing keep your phone in your backpack, texting does get distracting and can bring your grades down in a matter of a few tests.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it's a community college, but for the money it's good. It isn't expensive, it's affordable and the financial aid office is always willing to help you get loans, and scholarships. All in all for the money that you way to go here, you get the help and education you need to fulfill your dreams of becoming whatever you want.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to MCTC. The buildings are warm and comforting, and the people there treat you with lots of respect. The cafeteria is nice and has really good food for its price. The seating/study areas are cozy and depending on where you are, its quiet.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning beyond a lot. I thought college would be hard but if you have the right teacher you can learn anything. I didn't know as much about kids as I do now, even though some of the tests can be hard my teachers are always teaching me something new.

  • 11/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People planning to Transfer

    Bang for the buck

    MCTC is a very affordable college compared to many others in the area. I'm planning on transferring next year but getting all of my generals out of the way here has saved me an arm and a leg!

    Am enjoying being here

    MCTC has a great atmosphere. Right in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, it's just blocks away from just about anything you'd ever need or want to see. The facilities are also very nice. They are always renovating and making the school a better place to be!

    Am learning a lot

    I have been at MCTC for the past two years and I have really enjoyed it. I have learned a lot and have been able to put it to use out in the real world. All of my teachers have been very helpful and accommodating.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe there. there are safety people on staff to escort you to your car in the parking ramp at night if you feel nervous about being alone.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs available. i joined the glbt&friends club 2 years ago.

    Great for these types of students

    for everyone! if you are nervous about being an older age student--have no fear. mctc has every age group. you are sure to make friends and find good study partners!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the learning center is a great tool. go there for a quiet place to study, or get some tutoring.

    Bang for the buck

    there are tons of awesome elective classes available. take your generals, do your required courses, but try to throw in at least one class that is of personal interest to you. for example, i have taken native american cultures, intro to lesbian culture, intro to women's studies, eco feminism... great classes to expand your mind! something new and different that you probably didn't learn in high school.

    What to do for fun

    mctc is right next to loring park. if you have a break, i recommend a nice walk by the pond! the fresh air is very rejuvenating and can help you de-stress. also, the school is located downtown so there are plenty of fun places to check out for lunch or shopping.

    Food and Dining

    a new, larger cafeteria has been a big hit. good food at the cafe on the skyway level as well.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    the classes can be challenging, but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get a good adviser. i've seen a few different ones, and i didn't have such great experiences with them.

    In three sentences

    great location--easy to find, easy to navigate around. very diverse--lots of different backgrounds all coming together. down-to-earth teachers (for the most part)

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for the most part it's been safe. be wary though- hennepin avenue can get pretty bad sometimes, especially close to nighttime.

    Clubs and Activities

    haven't gotten involved with any, but i've heard they're great.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for people who like smaller schools, cheap tuition, teachers who are willing to help you, and just an all around great college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely worth every dollar! especially if you just want to take some fun classes. i know a few people who are currently working full-time but decided that they just wanted to take a class for fun. saved them an awful lot of money!

    What to do for fun

    lots of extracurriculars and clubs offered on campus, lots of involvement and taking extra classes just for fun is easy too. loring park is also next to where mctc is located. great for a relaxing walk or a quiet place to de-stress or enjoy the sunshine in the spring/early fall. and, since you're close to downtown there are plenty of places to go out and do your shopping and meals at!

    Food and Dining

    excellent culinary program offered here, and the food is always delicious! it can be fairly cheap too, for being in the cities.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here. lots of apartments around though.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes here are no harder or easier than classes at other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    you should go here first instead of a four-year college to get your 2-year/generals done, that way you save yourself and your family lots of money. :) plus, there is already a pretty awesome four-year university (metro state university) that shares the campus with mctc, so it makes it even easier to transfer, and if you live close to this campus in order to go to school and like where you are, then you don't really have to go anywhere!

    In three sentences

    this college is great, education and all! i failed my first year of college at a different college and decided to transfer here. the professors are fantastic and the school looks great too! credits transfer anywhere, and other colleges are close by so if you have friends that are at other universities it's easy to visit them! it's also not any harder or easier than other colleges, so you're getting a great education for a great price! ($4000some less than u of mn? awesome!)

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    playing soccer

    Food and Dining

    rice

    Dorm Life

    good accomodation

    Academic Rigor

    am one of the best student

    Tips for prospective students

    best school

    In three sentences

    i cant my school as one of the best school in the word and being a student in this school, i have gain a lot of knowledge in my field, all the teacher we have in this school are qualified.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Trio Programs had great extra curriculum opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is Good.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for TRIO program and get to know the student services and find tutors and others students that are great in different subjects .

    In three sentences

    I love MCTC the teachers are very helpful. There many helpful student programs that help with tutors and homework. I excelled the best in my college experience at MCTC with a GPA of 4.0.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food can be actually really good sometimes a little pricey. There are many places by the school to dine at though.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life due to it being a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics many graduate from and have a succesful career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your resources and the study guides the instructors give you.

    In three sentences

    This school is overall very good. They have many programs to help you with anything you need. Eveyone is very informational as students and sometimes can tell you more than the student services department. There are good and bad instructors, but than again that can happen at any college.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lately there have been a lot of various incidents. Mostly people are taking various things, but sometimes there are fights. I don't believe any shootings/other violent crimes have taken place.

    Clubs and Activities

    What they do have is great, but sometimes it doesn't feel like a lot. The best thing is they try to have career fairs all the time and usually it results in some of employers attending. Among other things they have a lot of very diverse clubs and other various activities to improve yourself professionally.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for those who like being around all sorts of different people. You will see people from 16-17 (PSEO people) to 60 maybe even older. You will see every culture from all sorts of places.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than going to a University, but of the Minnesota Community Colleges it is considered the most expensive at $10k per year. I haven't toured many other schools, but I feel this one is worth the value in terms of ambiance and teaching.

    What to do for fun

    It's pretty much in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. There is plenty of clubs, restaurants, theater, etc. around the area.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten in it, I feel it's too expensive. I'm told the food is decent though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not much harder than high school, as long as you go to class you'll do fine usually. Most of the work is challenging, but just get to class and read the books.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to find your classes early, often teachers end up in different rooms and it can be frustrating to try to find rooms on your first day. Don't buy books from the school as they're pretty expensive compared to internet sites. You pay extra for the various resources so use them.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse school population. Most of the teachers are in the field they're teaching or have been in it so they know what the deal is. There are quite a few clubs so being social is easy as it is something MCTC strives to be.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's no reason to feel insecure here,

    Greek Life

    Some days, the cafeteria will serve gyros, but that's about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    No club is without its problems, but overall, they are fantastic.

    Great for these types of students

    lost, unsure, confused... there's a lot of open-minded people here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't quite anything unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    You really can't argue with an education at this price that could propel you to become something better.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student life activities and clubs that one may participate in. To know more, go on a campus tour. I am proud to say that our student senate is recognized for their rigorous participation.

    Food and Dining

    You have the option of the in-school cafeteria or the myriad of cafes and restaurants along the street.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It truly depends on how you learn and how the instructor likes to teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're still not sure about where you'd like to go for your major, start off at a community college. There's no need to spend thousands of dollars on a liberal arts education when one from a community college can suffice, especially when you're considering a 4+ year degree.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking for diversity at a lower price while still receiving quality education, I recommend all prospective students to come here. Here, you will find a rich myriad of students from different age groups and professions whom seek to expand their range of opportunities. Never in my life would I have expected such a stellar experience from a community college.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a very active security force that does a good job of protecting students on campus. However, crime is still an issue here. The college newspaper usually has a crime summary each month.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities for everyone! With a huge variety of clubs and activities almost daily in the skyway level, there is always something happening on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    As a 2 year community college MCTC will always strive for low, competitive tuition rates to help those who want to earn their degree.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs! There is a club for everyone at MCTC. In addition to that, there is a new Helland student center with smoothie bar, student center, rec equipment for outdoors and indoors and more. With access to downtown Minneapolis as well as Loring park, there are plenty of things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food has long since been provided by Sodexo. As a reporter, I was able to investigate and learn about Sodexo, and uncovered many things that confirmed theories students already had. Hopefully the college will choose a better food provider in the future.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existant. As a large community college in the heart of downtown Minneapolis, there is no room for dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most courses are fairly simple. The only course that challenged me here was math, which I have always struggled with. There are plenty of resources available for those in need of academic assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! You'll care far more about your education as well as your current institution. With nearly 50 clubs, there are plenty of ways to get involved at MCTC.

    In three sentences

    A good two year college in a great location. MCTC has all the opportunities you need to transition to a 4 year college. Make sure to network and explore your options.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One star for campus safety because a girl was raped in the main building on campus last semester.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who can advocate for themselves and have the attitude to learn the syllabus on their own to keep their GPA up even if they don't learn anything from the professor. Good for the self-motivated, strong types. I'm this way, but I'm thinking of leaving because I'm sick of the administrative nonsense. They really don't care about students there.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other community colleges in the Twin Cities, it seems to be about average. It's definitely cheaper than a 4-year university. But I have to be honest. I took Intro to Cultural Anthropology, and the professor assigned us articles to read on Wikipedia instead of having us get a textbook. I took Painting 1 because I wanted to learn how to paint, and I thought I would learn technique in a beginner painting class, but it was basically free time and we were supposed to produce paintings for assignments but we were not taught how to paint, so I ended up asking her a lot of questions about how to do things. This is not what I would call good bang for the buck. BUT, I had a great philosophy teacher, and a great geography teacher, and I would take any of their other classes in a heartbeat. So I would consider their classes to be good bang for the buck. It's really hit or miss at this school... check ratemyprofessor.com and look at the departments that you want to take classes in and see if the ratings are good for that department. If they're not, I would suggest looking at other community colleges in the Twin Cities for better rated professors.

    What to do for fun

    It's fun to relax in the courtyard on a nice day and read or study, or catch up with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food vendor that they use is Sodexo... it's not horrible, but it's not good enough for the price. $3 for a fruit cup of melons and grapes. I don't buy anything there unless I'm desperate.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of the better classes I have taken is generally what I would expect at a community college. You have to study on your own before class and make sure you know the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to advocate for yourself a lot with Student Services to the point where you have to know everything about the topic so you don't get screwed. Student Services is not very helpful. Also, you have to be prepared to teach yourself the content in some classes so you can make sure you do well on tests and keep your GPA up.

    In three sentences

    This is not what I would call a good school. I'm seriously considering transferring next semester.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are open gym days like twice a week at certain hours of the day. They have all sorts of clubs. The computer labs are usually open and I guess you can spend time on there. They have a large enough park to hang out and sit out in. MCTC is near a shopping mall and there are a variety of restaurants in walking distance or bus transit.

    Food and Dining

    I have never set foot into the cafeteria. But from what I've seen, the food isn't too bad at a decent price. The believe the culinary students have a role in the food provided. The dining area is beautiful with wide open windows providing a lot of light. The tables become limited as so many people eat, and it becomes crowded very fast. I usually just bring my own lunch because it is cheaper and I don't have to deal with a crowd to get my food. They also have a new small cafeteria apart from the main one and the dining is more private with newer furniture. There is also a smoothie bar that is pretty popular, along with the usual vending machines. There are also a variety of restaurants in walking distance or bus transit.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms provided for MCTC.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have only taken a semester at MCTC, and so far it was very stress-free for me. There was not a lot of work required, but I believe that part of the reason was because of my chosen classes. Friends from MCTC had a lot more assignments than me. But I would say, the work isn't too harsh. 4 Stars for not being harsh, but not harsh enough either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get all your financial aid in ASAP because the school may ask for more information that you may have missed. Also, sign up for classes early. I procrastinated and didn't sign up for my classes until a few days before the semester. You'd rather have a lot of options than nothing at all.

    In three sentences

    I love that campus is located in the heart of Downtown Minneapolis. There is a good range of classes to sign up for but there are usually more classes available in the fall. Campus isn't too big, and everything is within a 5 minute walking distance.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards present all the time

    Clubs and Activities

    TRiO

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a sister school in Somalia

    Bang for the buck

    Like all schools it depends on the teacher. I have had some good and some not so good.

    What to do for fun

    They have great outings if you are a TRiO member.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join TRiO right away if you qualify

    In three sentences

    MCTC is an acceptable school. They are helpful as far as helping students with disabilities. TRiO is great

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since it is a school in the heart of downtown, there are police and security monitoring the halls and parking lots, both via numerous video cameras placed throughout the buildings, and by walking on foot. I've never had any issues there though, nor have I seen or heard of any violence/gang related issues/robberies/vandalism, etc.,. Once I even left my wallet in the women's bathroom w/ $100 cash in it, my DL and 3 credit cards, and it was returned to security without anyone tampering with it.

    Greek Life

    There is a honor society Phi Theta Kappa (sp?), however I don't really have time to participate, so I can't give much feedback on the group. Past that, there aren't really sororities or fraternities in the area associated with the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I haven't joined any clubs or participated in any school activities, the college does do an excellent job of promoting these social activities, and there are dozens of clubs depending on what you're looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone working full time, or with kids, who has a fairly inflexible schedule, but would still like to take classes to get/finish a degree. I've been attending MCTC for a year now, and I've never had a problem getting the courses I wanted/needed during a time frame that I can attend, and I work 40 hours a week, Mon-Fri 8am-5pm, so it's not like I have a lot of free time!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is usually known for being a cheaper option with a mostly comparable education in regards to what you would receive from another public university. MCTC in my opinion far outranks Normandale, Century College, North Hennepin CC, and Inver Hills in terms of class options offered, class schedules offered, and rigorous curriculum that truly prepares you for transferring to a 4-year college later on.

    What to do for fun

    Not really sure what to put here? I don't spend much time on campus other than going to classes. It's in the heart of downtown, so there's lots to do when you get out of class, but I don't know if that would typically be grouped in with this section?

    Food and Dining

    I haven't actually ever purchased food at the campus diner, so I'll assume it's about average?

    Dorm Life

    The campus does not have dorms, so there's really nothing to rate here unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    When compared to other community colleges in the area, I'd give it a 4. When compared to public or private four year universities, I'd give it a 3.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial Aid paperwork is a huge pain, but if you qualify, it's worth it. If you ever have questions, Students Services staff in the Financial Aid office is extremely helpful. Also, if you take night classes, park by one of the meters on the street versus using the ramp, the meters shut off at six pm, so you end up paying $1.00 at most for parking. Lastly, always buy textbooks used online, and save yourself $100's each semester.

    In three sentences

    MCTC offers a plethora of night and online class options for students who also have to balance work with school. They also have many excellent PhD holding professors on their faculty that are truly passionate about teaching. I've taken classes at many local community colleges in an attempt to find schedules that fit my needs, but eventually transferred all my credits to MCTC because it is by far the best community college I've attended.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Drama Club, Math Club, Spanish Club, ect..

    Great for these types of students

    very, very diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    not that expensive

    What to do for fun

    They have free plays that students can go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious. They have burgers, sandwiches and a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    You have to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Social work, but its not at MCTC, yet MCTC has Human Service. Most classes you take can transfer to a four year college/university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books two weeks early to avoid long lines. Also if you get financial aid, keep a copy of your taxes.

    In three sentences

    MCTC(Minneapolis community & technical College), is a 10 out of 10, very reasonable financially, and over all great atmosphere,

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are the occasional robberies and assaults. Campus safety walks around with us through out the day, and will always escort you to the parking ramp if you feel unsafe. Girls, it is not a bad idea to carry mace.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is constantly being updated and is huge. The classes are not terribly expensive either.

    What to do for fun

    We have a lot of places to hang out on campus, you can pretty much go anywhere and someone will start talking to you. The school also has many clubs and activities. If you get bored on campus, go walk around. It is right downtown so there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! There is a little coffee bar in the main building, as well as a cafeteria downstairs and a convenience store in some part of the campus I have not found yet.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are good, but if you don't make the most out of your class time you will not learn much. The professors don't have time to force you to learn, and there are often disruptions from people fighting. We do have a lot of classes to choose from, and there are always tutors available for people needing help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if you do choose this school you get your books early! The lines for the book store are ridiculous, order them off the schools website. Also, bring a lunch or change from the vending machine, food is great, but expensive. The most important thing you need to know is the advisers are not the best. Make sure you are on top of your degree and where you are going, they will not help you with it!

    In three sentences

    Minneapolis Community and Technical College is a blast! The professors are fun and intelligent, and the students are diverse and friendly. I would suggest checking this school out.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    MCTC is located in downtown Minneapolis, you can find lots of fun things to do and see within short walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    Splendid. The food is cooked to perfection, the cafeteria portions will fill you right up.

    Dorm Life

    None. I live off-campus, and so does everyone else, since MCTC does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, and study as much as you can. Ask for help whenever you may think you need it, it won't hurt. Keep a can-do attitude, be respectful and come to learn.

    In three sentences

    It is awesome! A small school in the big city, MCTC has it all. The best thing is the teachers, they are just so knowledgeable and helpful!

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a public safety that takes suggestions to make our learning environment safer all the time. Though, every once in a while, there will be an occurrence of assault. I do feel very safe at MCTC and I believe everyone here is here for the purpose of learning.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any Greek life at MCTC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life; Writing Club, Art Club... and much, much more.

    Great for these types of students

    To be honest, this school is great for all types of students. It IS a community college, meaning two years, meaning a limited list of classes available; however it's definitely a great place to START. That's what this school is for.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    H-building was just remodeled last year, and, well, there seems to be a tradition of a bunch of students playing card games and pushing all the tables together on the first floor.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition wise, it's about as cheap as you can get, considering is a community college. Food and books and things, well, it will burn a gigantic hole in your pocket. However, I feel that professors at a community college are much more available and willing to help you when you need it. It's what you're paying them for, but they genuinely care about your success.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on! Go try out for for shows at the school Theatre or join the Technical crew. There's also a writing club called W.A.N.D.A. I'm taking arts classes and there's TONS of studio time. There's also the art club, and much more to choose from. Go talk to the Student Life people and they can find something for you that matches your interests.

    Food and Dining

    It depends on how picky you are. I really like the cafeteria food, and there are about three different places you can buy food. There are also vending machines all over the place, not to mention the little restaurant that's run by the culinary arts students.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here that I am aware of, however there is a housing office that can help students find cheap housing nearby the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes really challenge you, but it doesn't get to the point that it's overwhelming. Being adaptable to your classes and your professors is a very practical skill-set to have.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get your financial aid done and processing by mid June at THE latest! -Get your books before the first of August and skim through them. -Take the leadership role as often as you can in any group project. -Set your standards high for yourself BEFORE classes start! You'll end up setting yourself up for huge success! -Get involved! Student Life is a huge part of MCTC, but there are many many clubs that are involved. Look for posters and flyers and attend events when you have the time!

    In three sentences

    The majority of the professors that I've had have all challenged me in many different ways, but they were also there for me when I needed help. There's a community feel to the environment and I feel comfortable with my fellow students. MCTC has been and continues to be a smart financial choice, as well as I feel that the atmosphere between students and the professors is very casual and comfortable.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life, but Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society on campus. Looks awesome on transfer applications and opens up a lot of scholarship opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many options!

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a small campus on the edge of Downtown. Loring park is right next to the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different campus activities and student organizations to join. That keeps a lot of people busy. And Minneapolis has everything to offer a person! Great nightlife, music scene, fair housing, nice parks and trails, and a greenway connecting the whole metro area!

    Food and Dining

    No the worst, but not healthy and not worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms! Everyone has to find housing for themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are very difficult and I've learned a lot. I've had some amazing teachers too, with highest degrees in their field. Go to class and pay attention and you're grades will be good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't rely on counselors to help you much with... well anything. Keep track of your requirements and take advantage of all the workshops available. Check for scholarships every now and then because there are quite a few that go under the radar.

    In three sentences

    The school is strict on attendance for a good reason, so that they aren't giving financial aid to students who aren't serious about school. It's an awesomely diverse school where you can make great friends if you keep an open mind. For a community college it's great and the location is awesome.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very good with keeping us safe and I like how I get emails when any crime happens within a specific radius of the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons although I don't have time to join any.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love diversity. . . .you can learn so much from so many different people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Some of the instructors, in my opinion are not as available as I think they should be to their students. Some online classes are simply poorly operated and should be or need to be lecture classes.

    What to do for fun

    In the non-winter seasons you can rent the Go Bikes and hop on the Green-way bike trial that goes all over Minneapolis and located right behind the school. You can take a 15 min ride to Lake Calhoun in uptown, ride around Lake Harriet & Lake of the Isles. . . or go to the Wheels for Fun booth and rent a canoe or paddle boat. .plus there is lots to do in uptown. Or just go for a walk downtown. The Sculpture Garden is behind the school. The Guthrie Theater isn't far and is an amazing piece of art work formed into a great theater. There are tons of rooftop restaurants that in great weather is very enjoyable to be at. Or hop the light rail train to for a 25 min train ride to Mall of America or stop short of there at Minnehaha Falls, have lunch, see the waterfall, rent a deuce coupe two seater bike, hear live music, picnic or just let your feet rest in the rivers waters while the fishes swim by your toes. And if you like the club scene, MCTC is actually located 7 blocks from the nigh scene. . a variety of clubs and bars that light the town up on weekends. (Try Pizza Luce, Seven and Rosa Mexicana)

    Food and Dining

    YUM! I actually love the cafeteria food. When I am there all day I can get a good breakfast, a tasty lunch and healthy dinner. Lots of food choices from salads to pizza to freshly made sushi daily. But let's say you don't want whats on the menu that day, a block up is a Lund's grocery store that has awesome fresh made foods, plus its a grocery store so tons of things to get and it has a Caribou inside. (I go crazy for the Minnesota Macaroni.)

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus living but the area is full of apartments to room with someone. It's also close to uptown which is still expensive but not as expensive living downtown.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a fairly easy school academically. Don't get me wrong the work is hard but what I love about the instructors is that they literally give you every tool and opportunity fairly to succeed. If you don't pass a Mike Smiths class. . I would be worried : )

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have the most diverse classes ever. It's amazing to be learning in a class with ages ranging from 18-60. The cafeteria is actually pretty good.. . . .save yourself the frustration and just take the stairs and know that parking will anger you.

    In three sentences

    A diverse community college that is in the perfect location, close to the parks & lots of great restaurants. The curriculum is diverse enough to please many students. It's a feel-like-home kind of school.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always around and available when needed.

    Greek Life

    Never heard of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to join and activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    All is welcome to participate in all the activities and clubs the College offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think any thing is unusual traditions or locations on campus because of the diverse ethnic group.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition costs is definitely a bang for the buck when you compare the cost to a University or Private College.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in all the activities they have going on at the College by joining a group.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe offers a variety of food choices at reasonable rates.

    Dorm Life

    Does not exist.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, the classes curriculum can be challenging, but is well worth the effort if you want to attain the degree in the field you have chosen.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a diverse cultural background College , Minneapolis Community and Technical College is definitely a good choice. If you are looking for small classes that offer challenging curriculum, Minneapolis Community Technical College is a good place to start your education.

    In three sentences

    Minneapolis Community and Technical College is in a great location accessible by anyone looking to attend. Minneapolis Community and Technical College has a friendly staff always looking to help you attain your goals while attending school there. Minneapolis Community and Technical College offers classes per credit hour at a affordable rate for all those looking to gain some extra knowledge.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Of course it's a little bit downtown, but there are the campus and state police/security 24/7. The campus security make rounds so it's safe. If anything is suspicious, the school will send out e-mails of any suspicious activities going on, within the campus or within 7 blocks of the campus (that I have received, 7 blocks is the highest so far).

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on, just like any other colleges/universities. If after, your first semester, are invited to join the Phi Beta Kappa (I believe), you should join it. It's good for your resume and it's good to be able to converse with other current students.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, I don't really like to spend money. But my sister does buy sushi for me to eat; they are made by student, in culinary arts program, and they're not bad.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but has near-by apartment buildings if you would like to rent a place with a friend.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have been taking are both rigorous and easy-going at the same time. But don't slack off just because you think it's a community college. The teachers still care about your education, they want you to succeed in the future. Don't miss out on lessons just because it was warm in the bed, so I couldn't get up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other current students Talk to advisers, they're there to help Hopefully know what your intended major is.

    In three sentences

    This school is very diversified. This school is welcoming. This school is open.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    read books, study math. Answer Math questions that are really challenging

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers make sure students are aware of what's waiting for them. The provide and look for necessary tools for students. They also make sure students are on track on the material they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask a question because teachers at Minneapolis Community and Technical College love students with questions. The school is as well culturally diverse, and students are friendly.

    In three sentences

    This is the most amazing school i have ever seen. the school is diverse, students can easily ask questions. The teachers do the best they can, and make office hours based on students schedules.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety officers do their best to protect the students, they are always on guard and will escort you to your vehicle if necessary.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities, and if there isn't one for you start one!

    What to do for fun

    By just being on campus there are so many random events going on a lot of the times. It just takes the stress level way down when you can go outside and see a random bounce machine or food.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great! The prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but if there was it would probably be an amazing experience.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on what you are taking. If you work hard you will typically do very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in something there may it be a club or just work study. I found I wish I spent more time being on campus.

    In three sentences

    MCTC is the best place to start out and makes the transition from high school to college easier. Its cheaper, has a great environment to learn in, with small class sizes and the greatest teaching styles. The community is amazing, accepting and open, I have never felt so happy to attend school in my life.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Excellent

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all people

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable, can work part time if you are single with no kids You can pay tuition out of pocket if you save for a few months you can pay all tuition and books instead of taking out loans. If you have a family, you can apply for up to $12,000 a year in Fin Aid to attend and have money left over for life expenses as well.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym to work out in. the H building has a juice bar, a rec center with games you can rent out the equipment and countless clubs on campus means you will never be board.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive, I pack a lunch daily to save money.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging work but satisfying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please follow the guidelines for getting in to school 1. Apply for Financial aid if needed at least 3 months before you plan to attend. 2. Come to a tour of and orientation for college 3.pay you $20 fee for college ID 4.Meet with you personal Advisor to pick your 1st classes. If you have attended any other schools and earned credit there you will nee to transfer this over as well, if not you will not qualify for Minnesota state grants. Lastly Have fun and stay focused and you will succeed!!

    In three sentences

    I was lost and I found myself at Minneapolis Community College. Here I am a person and not just a number or cash flow . MCTC Is a great college to be who you are and learn new skills for the world.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the best in the state. Tell them what you need like an escort to your car and will be more than happy to accommodate.

    Greek Life

    I don't know what that is, sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities going on almost weekly and more clubs than I can count. Notifications are sent out by way of the school sponsored email system and everyone is invited.

    Great for these types of students

    All types: just out high school and looking for a smaller campus experience. People looking for a career or a change of one. Older people looking to get that first degree. I see them all here working and growing together.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know how to answer that seeing as I have nothing to compare it with. This is the first time I have been to college.

    Bang for the buck

    I can here more out of need to deal with the current socioeconomic situation and to do something more with my life, I was so nervous. I had a lot of doubts and fears but, now that I am here I am just sorry I let it take me as long it did to get here.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on hosted by student life committee. All students are welcome, those just starting, soon to finish and already graduated coming back for a visit.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning room is a pretty good size. The staff try their best to offer a little bit of everything that they can. Meal breaks are another good way to meet people from other courses.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but doable and people are more than willing to help. Keep your eyes on the prize, what you want to be when you finish. What challenges you changes you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Believe that you can do it and you can. Never give up, look for reasons to go on. What you look for you will find, remember that.

    In three sentences

    The courses are challenging. Instructors are helpful. An overall good experience.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    An email is generated when anything happens at MCTC, and in the two years I've attended, I've only received three emails. And of those emails, two were a stolen purse or phone. Very safe place to be.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone from anywhere is welcome at MCTC, which makes for a wonderful global environment.

    Bang for the buck

    MCTC is a very affordable place to go to explore your options of education.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with classmates or tour downtown Minneapolis.

    Food and Dining

    I think there needs to be more choices for affordable, healthful food items.

    Academic Rigor

    It has been a whirlwind the last two years, trying to keep up with all the demands of the different classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to challenge yourself! Some sewing skills are challenging to learn, but so satisfying when you execute them correctly.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school to go to learn the basics of Apparel Design, and I believe that they have prepared me for additional schooling as well as success in any apparel job.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    its downtown, quite a bit to do.

    Food and Dining

    close to a lot of places

    Dorm Life

    No options

    Academic Rigor

    Great Opptions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment with your advisor and make a game-plan.

    In three sentences

    I love the diversity here. The advisors care about your future and success. Really great that after 2 years you can transfer to a 4 year college.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is available but we have had 1 incident in the year I have been here that was communicated via email as well as a lock down drill.

    Greek Life

    nothing to my knowledge

    Clubs and Activities

    Student life for sure. I just saw a posting for a prayer meeting every Tuesday.

    Great for these types of students

    any I think. We have a range: just out of high school, single moms', older generation like parents, students with disabilities. Races: Somali, Caucasian, African.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I mentioned it above. They like to post the work of students, which I enjoy. Art work, paintings, jewelery, tag board assignments, research assignments. It's fun seeing what others talents are.

    Bang for the buck

    there is a bullitin board posted for all to see where you can place postings for selling books, looking for housing, jobs. It's nice to read and be informed of what others are asking for.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Minneapolis has many places just in distance.. We are located near the heart of downtown. Lots of restaurants, bars, clubs, and a park.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and prices. I think it fits a students life financially.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The math homework can be pretty strenuous. It is a 5 credit class and the instructor is not the greatest for my learning style. Questions are not easily answered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study groups are good. There are lots of opportunities to get involved on campus. I like that MCTC posts the work of students and has community involvement designed for certain days.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere. The students are helpful and caring. I have not had a great time with my adviser but have had by others that were helpful to take up the slack.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i usually hang around the skyway area. During the summer you will catch people playing soccer outside and during the winter they host basketball tournaments.

    Food and Dining

    food is not the best quality. The food is not only expensive but also given in really small portions. There are a couple of restaurants that are in the schools area.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms by school.

    Academic Rigor

    class loads are really workable. i worked part-time and did very well in my academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    interact with your teachers and other students and you will make good connections.

    In three sentences

    I have learned many new things in the few years i have attended MCTC. Besides my education i have learned to make new connections and also how to interact with different people from different cultures

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cameras are everywhere and there is always security

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students/nontraditional

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than a big university, but better quality since its smaller classes.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food in the cafeteria, but being located downtown Minneapolis gives you many more options.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough classes, but if you put the time in you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the tutoring resources and keep communication with your teachers.

    In three sentences

    There are may diverse classes to take towards your major. The teachers actually care about teaching their students. The location is nice.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is number one on campus. There are always patrols on duty around campus and also emergency call poles inside and outside of the college to ensure safety of students and other community members.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are study forming around campus. A few new clubs include the African American sisterhood and brotherhood club that support aAfrican American minorities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy smaller college settings students who want to spend less money on post-secondary education students not looking to live on campus as this college does not currently offer this.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always alot going on on campus. From Indian pow wows to student seminars with food and drinks included.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get a BANG for your BUCK!!! This Community college is very affordable and also has easy transfer credits to Metro State and Augsburg Colleges. You learn so much in your courses that you would think it was a University.

    What to do for fun

    There is a new student activity room where students can check out activities such as games and outdoor fun during their break or just to have some college campus fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are four food areas in this college. The food is great and also the structure of the cafeteria provides for a great way to meet new people.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, This college does not have any room on board, but is an awesome place to chill and hang after or before classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very easy and most professors will work with you no matter your situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your Accuplacer Placement Tests serious because they determine what classes you have to take and possibly how long you'd attend college. Also connect connect conncect with your academic advisors every semester to ensure that your on track for your major/degree.

    In three sentences

    This college is the most best diverse college in the Twin Cities. They provide academic resources to help every student reach their success and they also provide new majors every year for potential interested students.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I sometimes hang out in the computer lab.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but somewhat expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Not the right person to ask about dorm life because this school is a two year college, so there's no dorm, and I don't live very close to MCTC.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors at MCTC are mostly friendly and helpful to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek a degree that right for you and get help when you needed.

    In three sentences

    Affordable and Helpful

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though I wasn't on campus much, I know campus safety is very important to MCTC. There were always officers on campus who could address problems and escort people, and alerts were sent out whenever there was a crime in the area. The school is in a large city, and there are some risks, but it seems to do a lot to keep students safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Again, I think this college is great for distance learning students. It can also be a good fit for adult and nontraditional students. Nearly everyone in my classes worked regularly, like I did, and some of them even worked full time while in school. Also, there are quite a few students from the area's Somali and Hmong populations, so this could be a great school for those kinds of students and for students interested in getting to know them.

    Bang for the buck

    Basically all colleges seem expensive, but this turned out to be an affordable option for me. I did receive some grants, but I was able to pay for the rest of my college expenses out of my savings, so I finished my associates degree without taking out any loans. The education was definitely helpful as I pursued library work.

    What to do for fun

    I was a distance learning student and working, so unfortunately I wasn't able to be very involved. However, I know that some of my classmates really enjoyed participating in organizations like student government or the student newspaper. MCTC is a very diverse school, so if you do have a chance to be on campus often, it could be a great way to meet new people and learn about new cultures.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes I took were challenging in some way, including generals. Instructors really encouraged students to be committed to their work. This was especially true in the classes I took for my major (library information technology). It was only a two-year degree, but the courses were really designed to get us into both theoretical and practical aspects of the field, and I learned a great deal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the resources available to you. Professors usually do an excellent job of explaining things, but they are also very willing to help if you have questions. Other students can be helpful as well, as can advisors. This college's online programs are wonderful, at least in my experience. I did not live in Minneapolis while I was attending this school, so I took all of my classes online, and it really worked out much better than I was expecting. Online classes aren't for everyone, but I thought MCTC did an excellent job with their offerings.

    In three sentences

    Personally, I thought this was an excellent college to attend. Classes were focused and often filled with practical information, professors were knowledgeable and committed, and the student population is very diverse. My education here definitely helped me find my current job and succeed at it.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Love the choices.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are pretty on it sometimes things happen on the campus quit a bit but the campus security catches it every time.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    They are legit the clubs and activities are organized pretty well there is always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    for student who are looking for vocational careers or transfer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    2nd floor is usually the place to hang.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no real bang for buck things are usually over priced.

    What to do for fun

    3rd floor computer lab partisipate in college choir

    Food and Dining

    Food is not that great and it is very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dormitory on this campus it is a junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are ok i would say take challenging courses and instructors so you can be prepared for university academics verses junior college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework on the school that you will be attgending, like check out there diferent resources or perks for that college. Be prepared with documents for student services because you want to get everything done at the same time so that you can start on time.

    In three sentences

    My college experience was informational and encouraging. i didn't know a whole lot about college as far as the different processes. I enjoyed the people who took the initiative to help. Sometimes you do have those moments where you cant believe you are here.